Series: Cedar Ridge

Guest Review: Nobody But You by Jill Shalvis

Posted April 27, 2016 by Tracy in Reviews | 0 Comments

Guest Review: Nobody But You by Jill ShalvisReviewer: Tracy
Nobody But You by Jill Shalvis
Series: Cedar Ridge #3
Also in this series: Second Chance Summer, My Kind of Wonderful, My Kind of Wonderful, Nobody but You
Published by Grand Central Publishing
Publication Date: March 29th 2016
Genres: Contemporary Romance
Buy on Amazon | Barnes & Noble
Goodreads
four-stars

After an overseas mission goes wrong, Army Special Forces officer Jacob Kincaid knows where he must go to make things right: back home to the tiny town of Cedar Ridge, Colorado. All he needs to scrub away his dark past is fresh mountain air, a lakeside cabin, and quiet solitude. But what he discovers is a gorgeous woman living on a boat at his dock.

Sophie Marren has nowhere else to go. She's broke, intermittently seasick, and fighting a serious attraction to the dark, dishy, I'm-too-sexy-for-myself guy who's now claiming her dock. Something about Jacob's dark intensity makes her want to tease - and tempt - him beyond measure. Neither one wants to give any ground...until they realize the only true home they have is with each other.

When Jacob was 18 years old and he’d just graduated from high school he packed his bags and was ready to leave town. He and his twin Hudson had planned to leave Cedar Ridge the minute they graduated but when it came time to leave Hud didn’t want to. He felt at home in Cedar Ridge and planned to stay on. This caused a major argument between the twins and harsh words were spoken. Jacob left without looking back and was gone for 10 years. He’s back now after having lived through an IED attack on his unit in the Army. He’s had to look at life and those he loves differently as he lost his best friend in the attack. He’s come home to try to make amends but that’s not going to be easy as both Jacob and Hud are quite stubborn.

Jacob meets Sophie almost the day he gets to Cedar Ridge and he’s captivated by her. He attempts to start a relationship with her that is strictly sexual but the he knows he’s just fooling himself as he’s sunk the minute he talks to her. Sophie is trying to find her footing after her divorce and subsequent fallout. She’s living on her ex-husband’s boat, now hers, just to spite him and hates every minute of it. She meets Jacob and thinks he’s part of the lake patrol. When she finds out he’s in Cedar Ridge on leave she thinks she can have a fling with the sexy man without her heart getting involved but she soon finds out there’s more than sex on the table and she’s not ever going to be ready to give Jacob up.

This was such a good book in that it was fun and sexy and so easy to read. I immediately was immersed in the story and was rooting for Sophie and Jacob from page one. I was also completely captivated by the relationship with Jacob and his family as that played just as much a part of the story as the romance did, and that really worked. Jill Shalvis blended the two parts together seamlessly and I really enjoyed the end result.

Jacob was a strong man who had been hurt by his brothers words, his own stupidity and the death of his friend. He had returned to Cedar Ridge to make amends because he loved his family but it was just as much for him as it was for them. He was a deeply caring person and that showed in so many different ways throughout the story. He was perfect for Sophie and they played off each other perfectly.

Sophie was in a bad place in her life but she was a fighter and I loved that about her. She wasn’t afraid to work hard for what she wanted and that included working for Jacob and their relationship. I was so happy when they got their HEA – it was a good one.

This was another great book in the series and I’m looking forward to reading more about the Kincaid family.

Rating: 4 out of 5

four-stars

0 Comments
Tags: , , , , , , ,


Review: Nobody but You by Jill Shalvis

Posted April 13, 2016 by Rowena in Reviews | 0 Comments

Review: Nobody but You by Jill ShalvisReviewer: Rowena
Nobody but You by Jill Shalvis
Series: Cedar Ridge #3
Also in this series: Second Chance Summer, My Kind of Wonderful, My Kind of Wonderful, Nobody But You
Published by Grand Central Publishing
Publication Date: March 29, 2016
Genres: Contemporary, Romance
Pages: 368
Buy on Amazon | Barnes & Noble
Goodreads
four-stars

SOMETIMES YOU CAN GO HOME AGAIN…

After an overseas mission goes wrong, Army Special Forces officer Jacob Kincaid knows where he must go to make things right: back home to the tiny town of Cedar Ridge, Colorado. All he needs to scrub away his painful past is fresh mountain air, a lakeside cabin, and quiet solitude. But what he discovers is a gorgeous woman living on a boat at his dock.

Sophie Marren has nowhere else to go. She’s broke, intermittently seasick, and fighting a serious attraction to the brooding, dishy, I’m-too-sexy-for-myself guy who’s now claiming her dock. Something about Jacob’s dark intensity makes her want to tease—and tempt—him beyond measure. Neither one wants to give any ground . . . until they realize the only true home they have is with each other.

Nobody but You is the third book in the Cedar Ridge series by Jill Shalvis and it was my favorite read of the series. It follows the long, lost brother Jacob as he comes back home to Cedar Ridge to fix things with his family and after meeting Sophie Marren, getting the girl.

Sophie Marren is off of men, she’s newly divorced and wants nothing to do with them. She gave up everything for a fresh start and her payback to her cheating bastard of an ex? The only thing she took in the divorce settlement was the one thing that her ex-husband loved above anything else. His boat. The boat proves to be too much for Sophia and when she finds out that the abandoned cabin that comes complete with its own dock is no longer abandoned but inhabited by hottie Jacob Kincaid, she believes her luck has run out.

Jacob is back in town to right some wrongs that has been weighing him down ever since his closest friend in the military is killed in action. He’s never forgotten that long ago fight with his twin brother Hudson, the time and distance kept getting bigger and bigger until they’re both at a loss as to how to fix their estranged relationship right now. He’s back in town and is around his family again but Hud is keeping him at a distance and the hostility is still there for all to see.

There was a lot going on in this book and I liked it. I liked that we weren’t bogged down with the internal struggles between the hero and the heroine. I liked that they had an adult relationship that changed as the time went on and that no matter what was happening between them emotionally, they were still able to be there for each other. Jacob being there for Sophie and the boat and giving her a hot shower to use every day. Sophie being there for Jacob by telling his siblings about Chris and just everything else she did for him. Their relationship was a real one and they had ups and they had downs but in the end, they got it right and I liked being a part of their emotional journey.

Shalvis fans will enjoy this one, I’m sure of it. It was a satisfying contemporary romance with a freaking hot ass military hero. Yum.

Grade: 4 out of 5

Reading Order:

Second Chance Summer
My Kind of Wonderful
Nobody but You

four-stars

0 Comments
Tags: , , , , , ,


Review: My Kind of Wonderful by Jill Shalvis

Posted January 12, 2016 by Rowena in Reviews | 4 Comments

Review: My Kind of Wonderful by Jill ShalvisReviewer: Rowena
My Kind of Wonderful by Jill Shalvis
Series: Cedar Ridge #2
Also in this series: Second Chance Summer, My Kind of Wonderful, Nobody but You, Nobody But You
Published by Headline
Publication Date: December 22nd 2015
Genres: Romance, Contemporary
Pages: 384
Buy on Amazon | Barnes & Noble
Goodreads
three-stars

Fans of Jill Mansell, Debbie Macomber, Nora Roberts and Marie Force will fall head over heels for the new Cedar Ridge series from New York Times bestselling author Jill Shalvis, featuring her trademark gift for humour, warmth and romance.

If you'd been given a second chance at life, what's the first thing you would do?

Now that artist Bailey is finally healthy for the first time in forever, she's living life to the full. First on her wishlist is skiing in the Rockies - at least it will be if she can get down the mountain in one piece...

Luckily, a ski patrolling Prince Charming comes to Bailey's aid. Learning that her mysterious rescuer, Hudson Kincaid, is also the subject of the mural she's been commissioned to paint in Cedar Ridge, Bailey is intrigued.

As she uncovers the real man behind Hudson's strong, silent facade, Bailey begins to realise that the life of adventure she has always dreamed of could be closer to home than she ever imagined.

Want more warm, funny romance? Don't miss the first Cedar Ridge novel, Second Chance Summer, visit spellbinding Lucky Harbor or experience some Animal Magnetism in Sunshine, Idaho in Jill's other unforgettable series.

My Kind of Wonderful is the second book in the Cedar Ridge series by Jill Shalvis and in this book, we got Hudson Kincaid’s story.

Hudson is a man with a million jobs. He takes care of everyone around him, including his employees, siblings and his mother and I think he kept himself so busy so that he didn’t give himself time to worry about the brother missing from his life. His twin brother, Jacob. You see, Hudson and Jacob are half-siblings to the other Kincaids (Gray, Aidan and Makenna) and before they all became the Brady Bunch, Hudson and Jacob were on their own. They took care of their mother because she lived in a fantasy world and for as long as they could remember, it was them against the world. They had plans but when they moved to Cedar Ridge, to be close to their new-found family, Hudson forgot all about the plan to skip town and see the world once they turned eighteen.

Hudson liked being a part of a family unit. He liked his siblings and wanted to be around them. He wanted to be accepted and wanted a stable life where he didn’t have to worry about putting food on the table and he wanted help in taking care of his Mom. He got all of that when he came to Cedar Ridge and he wasn’t in a rush to leave all that behind. So after a huge blowout with Jacob, Hudson stays behind and a rift grows with each passing year that Jacob is away.

I was intrigued by Hudson’s character in the last book in this series and I was pretty excited to jump into this story and get to know him better. When he meets Bailey Moore, I thought their meet cute was…cute.

Bailey was an interesting heroine. She had non-Hodgkin lymphoma and survived to tell the story. After she gets the all-clear after her three month checkup, she’s stoked. She’s finally got a future to look forward to and she’s not about to waste it. She’s got a list of things she wants to do and she’s going to do them. First up? Paint a mural for the ski resort run by the Kincaids.

Hudson and Bailey circled each other for a little bit and I’ve never encountered a heroine quite like Bailey before. She wasn’t sick anymore but she was still a bit frail and she was regaining her confidence in herself and I liked her attitude toward her scars and her past. I loved that she wasn’t embarrassed to face Hudson. I liked her.

The romance between Hudson and Bailey was, I’m not quite sure what. I liked the both of them but I can’t say that I was in love with their coming together…with their story. I don’t know what it was but their romance fell a bit flat for me. It felt like I’d read this story before and the more I dug in, the more I felt it. I get that romances recycle stories and plots but it’s normally the characters that can sell me on a story and while I liked Hudson and Bailey, I didn’t absolutely love either of them.

I’ll definitely read the next book in the series but a little of my excitement is down. This book had Shalvis’ standard humor and cuteness but I was left wanting more from the romance and the book itself so I’m giving this one a 3 out of 5. There was enough to keep me satisfied but not enough to make me fall in absolute love.

Grade: 3 out of 5

three-stars

4 Comments
Tags: , , , , , , ,


Guest Review (+ Giveaway): My Kind of Wonderful by Jill Shalvis

Posted December 15, 2015 by Tracy in Reviews | 4 Comments

Guest Review (+ Giveaway): My Kind of Wonderful by Jill ShalvisReviewer: Tracy
My Kind of Wonderful by Jill Shalvis
Series: Cedar Ridge #2
Also in this series: Second Chance Summer, My Kind of Wonderful, Nobody but You, Nobody But You
Published by Grand Central Publishing
Publication Date: December 22, 2015
Genres: Contemporary
Buy on Amazon | Barnes & Noble
Goodreads
four-half-stars

Bailey Moore has an agenda: skiing in the Rockies, exploring castles in Europe, ballroom dancing in Argentina. Now that she has a second lease on life, she's determined not to miss a thing. What she doesn't realize is that item #1 comes with a six-foot-one ski god hot enough to melt a polar ice cap. She doesn't want to miss out on him either, but Hudson Kincaid isn't the type of guy to love and let go. And as gorgeous as Cedar Ridge is, she's not planning to stick around.

As head of ski patrol at his family's resort, Hud thinks he's seen it all. But never has he run into someone like Bailey. She might look delicate, but her attitude is all firecracker. And her infectious joy touches something deep within him that he's been missing far too long. Now he'll just have to convince Bailey to take a chance on her biggest adventure yet . . . something rare and all kinds of wonderful.

Bailey is living life to the fullest. She has been sick for the past 10 years of her life and now that she’s gotten almost 6 months under her belt with clear scans she’s excited and ready to try all the things she was too sick to try before. She does have her loving but slightly over-protective mother to deal with, and an ex-fiance that doesn’t seem to want to let go, but she deals with them pretty well.

When she’s commissioned to do a mural on the wall of Cedar Ridge Resort by Hudson’s mom, who doesn’t always have her brain working correctly, she’s excited. Hudson is against it from moment one. He’s outvoted by his siblings however so Bailey starts work on the mural, making it look like a large tree – representing a family tree – and then paints in all the family members of Cedar Ridge.

Hudson is head of the Ski Patrol and is an extremely busy guy. He doesn’t have time to watch over Bailey and is frustrated because he can’t seem to stay away from her. Despite his best efforts he finds himself seeking her out more and more. Pretty soon Bailey has decided that she wants a one night stand with Hudson. Their sexual tension is off the charts so she’s going for it. They each discover that one night isn’t enough but Bailey’s not sure Hudson can open himself up enough to let her stay in his heart for good.

My Kind of Wonderful is a great book. I found the characters to be interesting and fun and there was a great dose of humor in there too.

It was difficult reading about what Bailey had been through but Shalvis didn’t get too into detail. Bailey didn’t want pity so she didn’t talk about it much. She was a strong character and I loved her to death. She had such a great outlook on life and pretty much always had a smile on her face. She was really perfect for Hudson and brought out the best in him – the one he’d locked away.

Hudson had immense guilt about so many things that had happened in his life. His mom being mentally ill (like he could control that) and having a fight with his brother that he felt drove him away. He didn’t want to let anyone in to his life other than his siblings and mom but Bailey had a way about her that he couldn’t resist. I liked seeing how he slowly started to confide in and trust her more each day. Yes, he pulled the typical dick move near the end of the book that almost broke them up but luckily Bailey was a smart woman and took it for what it was – fear.

This book made me laugh and tear up and have all sorts of emotions while reading it. When it was finished I loved almost everything about it and I definitely recommend it.

Rating: 4.5 out of 5

My-Kind-of-Wonderful-Blog-Tour

Giveaway*: Use the Rafflecopter widget below to enter for a chance to win one of ten copies of My Kind of Wonderful (US Only)!

a Rafflecopter giveaway

 

JillShalviscroppedAbout the author:
New York Times bestselling author Jill Shalvis lives in a small town in the Sierras full of quirky characters. Any resemblance to the quirky characters in her books is mostly coincidental. Look for Jill’s bestselling, award-winning books wherever romances are sold and visit her website for a complete book list and daily blog detailing her city-girl-living-in-the-mountains adventures.
Connect with the author!

*Please note: This is not a Book Binge sponsored giveaway. The publisher will contact you direct if you win.

four-half-stars

4 Comments
Tags: , , , , , , ,


Guest Review: Second Chance Summer by Jill Shalvis

Posted July 14, 2015 by Tracy in Reviews | 0 Comments

Guest Review: Second Chance Summer by Jill ShalvisReviewer: Tracy
Second Chance Summer by Jill Shalvis
Series: Cedar Ridge #1
Also in this series: My Kind of Wonderful, My Kind of Wonderful, Nobody but You, Nobody But You
Published by Grand Central Publishing
Publication Date: June 30th 2015
Genres: Contemporary
Buy on Amazon | Barnes & Noble
Goodreads
four-stars

RESCUE ME
Cedar Ridge, Colorado, is famous for crisp mountain air, clear blue skies, and pine-scented breezes. And it's the last place Lily Danville wants to be. But she needs a job, and there's an opening at the hottest resort in her hometown. What has her concerned is the other hot property in Cedar Ridge: Aidan Kincaid-firefighter, rescue worker, and heartbreaker. She never could resist that devastating smile . . .

The Kincaid brothers are as rough and rugged as the Rocky Mountains they call home. Aidan has always done things his own way, by his own rules. And never has he regretted anything more than letting Lily walk out of his life ten years ago. If anyone has ever been in need of rescuing, she has. What she needs more than anything are long hikes, slow dances, and sizzling kisses. But that can only happen if he can get her to give Cedar Ridge-and this bad boy-a second chance . . .

Tracy’s review of Second Chance Summer (Cedar Ridge #1) by Jill Shalvis

Aidan is completely surprised to hear that Lily Danville is coming back to town. He had a thing for her 10 years earlier but after the deaths of her sister and father she left town. Now she’s back and Aidan, as much as he tells himself he doesn’t, wants to know if he can finally make something of a relationship with Lily.

Lily isn’t thrilled to be back in Cedar Ridge but circumstances in San Diego changed to the point that she had to take her best friends offer to work in the resort salon with him. Returning to town brings up a whole bunch of memories that Lily’s done a great job of stuffing down and she’s not ready to face them. On top of that she really likes Aidan but she’s got so much guilt about her sister’s death that she doesn’t feel that she deserves love. On top of that she’s anxious to get out of town when a better job comes along – which never happens.

Aidan is a persuasive guy and is pretty much relentless with Lily – but in a thoroughly good way. She tries to stay away from the man but she finally realizes that she cares about him too much to ever let go.

Although this story definitely included some angst it wasn’t between the MC’s and I really liked that. I thought that the overall tone of the book was pretty light-hearted even though there were some serious issues happening in the story.

I adored the relationship that Aidan had with his family – Gray (+ his wife Penny), Hudson, Kenna and his mother, Char. Overprotective, yes, but I always felt the love even when they were arguing and disagreeing. The pranks the guys played on each other were pretty classic and I loved the good natured way they handled it all.

Lily had had such a lonely life, really. Yes, her mother was still alive but rarely around as she was travelling quite a bit. Lily tried to deal with the deaths of her sister and father the best way she knew how – which was to run away from everything and try to ignore her feelings. This worked for a while but when she came back to Cedar Ridge Aidan forced her to see A) how she’d been ignoring her feelings and B) how to deal with them. I just loved them as a couple and loved their HEA as well.

A great start to a new series. I can’t wait to read Hudson’s book next.

Rating: 4 out of 5

This title is available from Grand Central Publishing. You can buy it here or here in e-format. This book was provided by the publisher in exchange for an honest review.

four-stars

0 Comments
Tags: , , , , , , ,