Series: Brooklyn Bruisers

Joint Review: Hard Hitter by Sarina Bowen

Posted January 31, 2017 by Holly in Reviews | 4 Comments

Joint Review: Hard Hitter by Sarina BowenReviewer: Holly and Rowena
Hard Hitter (Brooklyn Bruisers #2) by Sarina Bowen
Series: Brooklyn Bruisers #2
Also in this series: Rookie Move, Rookie Move, Hard Hitter, Rookie Move
Published by Berkley Books
Publication Date: January 3rd 2017
Genres: Contemporary Romance
Pages: 336
Buy on Amazon | Barnes & Noble
Goodreads
four-stars

From the USA Today bestselling author of Rookie Move comes the second novel in the series that s hot enough to melt the ice.
He s a fighter in the rink, but he s about to learn that playing nice can help you score...
As team captain and enforcer, Patrick O'Doul puts the bruise in the Brooklyn Bruisers. But after years of hard hits, O'Doul is feeling the burn, both physically and mentally. He conceals his pain from his coach and trainers, but when his chronic hip injury becomes too obvious to ignore, they send him for sessions with the team s massage therapist. After breaking up with her long-term boyfriend, Ari Bettini is in need of peace of mind. For now, she s decided to focus on her work: rehabilitating the Bruisers MVP. O'Doul is easy on the eyes, but his reaction to her touch is ice cold. Ari is determined to help O'Doul heal, but as the tension between them turns red hot, they both learn that a little TLC does the body good..."

Rowena: Hard Hitter is the second book in Sarina Bowen’s Brooklyn Bruisers series and it features Captain Patrick O’Doul. We first met Patrick O’Doul in Rookie Move. He was one of Leo’s new teammates and he hit on Georgia, Leo’s girl. I don’t remember much else about Patrick, aside from he helped make Leo feel more comfortable transitioning to a new team.

Patrick is the team enforcer and over the years, his body has taken some beatings. He’s coming off a wrist injury and his hip is acting up but every night, he goes out on that rink and he fights whoever needs fighting.

I’ll admit that when I first heard that Patrick was getting his story told next, I wasn’t all that excited. I’m not sure why that was since I didn’t hate Patrick, I just didn’t really think much about him.

Well…I love him now. Ha!

What about you? What did you think of Patrick and the rest of his book?

Holly: I really liked Patrick. He was quiet and intense and private. I kind of expected some deep dark secret or tortured past after the way he acted about being touched.

Rowena: Something more than the deep, dark secret about his parents? I liked the way that Bowen handled Patrick’s issues in this book. He’s had a pretty rough childhood and he had some hangups about them but he wasn’t saddled with those issues. He was an adult. He wasn’t this angsty hot head who lashed out at every turn or anything like that. He ignored them for as long as he can and then he fixed them. I dug it.

Holly: No, I just meant that I expected there to be something, and I was right. I dug the way his issues were handled, too. I thought there might be more angst over it, but he just handled his business.

I’m kind of on the fence about the heroine.I didn’t dislike her, but she isn’t my favorite Bowen heroine.

Rowena: Ari isn’t my favorite heroine either and she got on my nerves throughout the book but not nearly as much as Georgia did in Rookie Move. My thing with Ari was that she taught all not judging and how to listen with your heart in her yoga classes but holy cow did she turn into the biggest judger of all judges when Patrick lands himself in trouble. That annoyed the snot out of me…even if she did buy him a coffee maker.

Holly: I didn’t like how she turned her back on him either. I get being angry, but her reaction was over the top.

Rowena: What did you think about all of the crap that Ari went through with her ex-boyfriend?

Holly: I don’t know how I felt about Ari’s boyfriend troubles. It didn’t seem like she made very good choices when it came to him. Not calling the cops on him, agreeing to meet him alone, etc. I wasn’t impressed.

Rowena: I think that was part of my gripe with Ari. How dumb she was where Vince was. Why did she wait so long to tell the Security guys at the Bruisers about everything that was going on? For someone so smart, she sure was dumb a lot.

View Spoiler »

Rowena: I’m not all that into yoga so I didn’t think that I would care much about Ari and what she did for a living but damn…can you imagine working as a masseuse to all of those hot guys? Getting paid to rub down all of those yummy hockey players every day? I’m low key jealous. Ha!

Holly: Omg, girl. I need some of that in my life.

Rowena: I would have married all of them if they asked me…and I would start every appointment with a foot rub so those marriage proposals would keep rolling in.

Are you looking forward to Beacon and Lauren’s story?

Holly: I am looking forward to Beacon and Lauren’s story. I like this world and I’m definitely glad we’ll see more.

Rowena: Overall, I enjoyed the story and the romance between Patrick and Ari. At least, when Ari wasn’t being a dumbass and I really liked Patrick. He was a complete dreamboat.

My grade for this one is 4 out of 5.

Holly: I liked the romance, too, as well as the additional time with the team. I didn’t love Ari on her own, but I did like her with Patrick.

I’m giving it a 4 out of 5 as well.

Final Grades

Holly: 4/5
Rowena: 4/5

four-stars

4 Comments
Tags: , , , , , , , , ,


Review: Rookie Move by Sarina Bowen

Posted January 5, 2017 by Holly in Reviews | 1 Comment

Review: Rookie Move by Sarina BowenReviewer: Holly
Rookie Move by Sarina Bowen
Series: Brooklyn Bruisers #1
Also in this series: Rookie Move, Rookie Move, Hard Hitter, Hard Hitter (Brooklyn Bruisers #2)
Published by Penguin
Publication Date: September 6th 2016
Genres: Fiction, Romance, Contemporary, General, Sports
Pages: 336
Buy on Amazon | Barnes & Noble
Goodreads
four-stars

The first novel in a sexy new series featuring the hockey players of the Brooklyn Bruisers and the women who win their hearts—from the USA Today bestselling author of the Ivy Years series.   In high school they were the perfect couple—until the day Georgia left Leo in the cold...   Hockey player Leo Trevi has spent the last six years trying to do two things: get over the girl who broke his heart, and succeed in the NHL. But on the first day he’s called up to the newly franchised Brooklyn Bruisers, Leo gets checked on both sides, first by the team’s coach—who has a long simmering grudge, and then by the Bruisers’ sexy, icy publicist—his former girlfriend Georgia Worthington.   Saying goodbye to Leo was one of the hardest things Georgia ever had to do—and saying hello again isn’t much easier. Georgia is determined to keep their relationship strictly professional, but when a press conference microphone catches Leo declaring his feelings for her, things get really personal, really fast....

Rookie Move is a spin-off of Bowen’s wildly popular Ivy Years series. It features Leo Trevi, older brother to the hero, DJ, of The Fifteenth Minute. We learned about Leo and his broken heart in DJ’s book. I was anxious to get the dirty details of his breakup with his high school sweetheart, and to see how things were progressing with him in the NHL.

Leo finally got called up from the minors to play in the NHL with the Brooklyn Bruisers. He’s excited to take his shot and prove himself, until he realizes the new coach is none other than his ex-girlfriend’s father, who hates him and wants Leo gone from the team, like yesterday. The owner of the team won’t let the coach fire him, but Leo knows he can be sent back to the minors at any time, so he has to keep his head down and his goals in line. There’s just one problem with that..the team’s acting senior publicist is none other than said ex-girlfriend. Georgia broke up with him in high school and broke his heart. Yet even so, he knows he isn’t over her, and he’d love the chance to win her back.

The last thing Georgia needs is to be reunited with her ex while she’s trying to prove herself to the team as the head publicist. Especially since her father is set against him and she’s on thin ice in her position as is. If only he weren’t so much sexier than she remembered..and so determined to get her back. But for all her warm feelings toward him, she hasn’t forgotten that Leo lost interest in her once. Her heart couldn’t take it if it happened again.

I absolutely adored Leo. He was strong, loyal and loving to the point of being adorable. I wanted to put him in my pocket and carry him around. His absolute devotion to Georgia made me melt. I loved his drive and determination when it came to hockey, too. Georgia was great for Leo. I fully bought their romance, both in the past and in the present. These two were simply meant to be together.

I did not like her as a publicist. She fell down on the job on more than one occasion. Her actions were immature and, quite frankly, she didn’t deserve the position she was clamoring for. I spent a good portion of the book thoroughly pissed off at her for her dumb actions at work. I loved her with Leo and outside of work, but I definitely had problem with her as a professional.

Georgia’s actions at work detracted from my overall enjoyment, but Leo and the romance more than made up for it. Sweet, sexy and fast-paced, Rookie Move had me from page one.

3.75 out of 5

four-stars

1 Comment
Tags: , , , , , ,


Guest Review: Hard Hitter by Sarina Bowen

Posted January 3, 2017 by Tracy in Reviews | 1 Comment

Guest Review: Hard Hitter by Sarina BowenReviewer: Tracy
Hard Hitter by Sarina Bowen
Series: Brooklyn Bruisers #2
Also in this series: Rookie Move, Rookie Move, Rookie Move, Hard Hitter (Brooklyn Bruisers #2)
Published by Berkley
Publication Date: January 3rd 2017
Genres: Contemporary Romance
Buy on Amazon | Barnes & Noble
Goodreads
four-half-stars

He s a fighter in the rink, but he s about to learn that playing nice can help you score...

As team captain and enforcer, Patrick O'Doul puts the bruise in the Brooklyn Bruisers. But after years of hard hits, O'Doul is feeling the burn, both physically and mentally. He conceals his pain from his coach and trainers, but when his chronic hip injury becomes too obvious to ignore, they send him for sessions with the team s massage therapist.

After breaking up with her long-term boyfriend, Ari Bettini is in need of peace of mind. For now, she s decided to focus on her work: rehabilitating the Bruisers MVP. O'Doul is easy on the eyes, but his reaction to her touch is ice cold. Ari is determined to help O'Doul heal, but as the tension between them turns red hot, they both learn that a little TLC does the body good..."

Patrick O’Doul is the enforcer of the Brooklyn Bruisers hockey team.  He’s been playing for them for the past 10 years and he’d good at what he does.  He is afraid, however, of being thought to be incapable of doing his job because of injury or his age.  When he gets a hip flexor injury the trainers want him to see the team massage therapist but he hates being touched so he puts that off until they force him into it.  ‘

Ari is the team massage therapist and yoga instructor.  She loves her job and all the guys seem to love their massages so she can’t understand why Patrick has such an aversion to his appointments.  She has an inkling that he hates being touched but it’s not confirmed until she gets him on her table.  They have a rapport and Patrick seems to start to actually enjoy his time on Ari’s table.  He certainly likes her hands on him.

Patrick would love for there to be a relationship between him and Ari but her ex-boyfriend is a complete douche and treated her badly the last few years of their relationship.  She’s never been on her own and she thinks she needs to try it rather than jump into a relationship with Patrick.  Of course her head says one thing and her heart says another.

This was another great book by Sarina Bowen.  I love her books and look forward to opening one and getting involved in the characters lives.  After reading book one in the Brooklyn Bruisers series I was really looking forward to this one and I wasn’t disappointed.

Patrick was a really great guy.  Had he made some stupid mistakes that got him into trouble? Yes, but it didn’t make him a bad person. He was so good for Ari and she was so good for him I loved seeing the two together as they played off of each other so well.  They were also hotter than hell in bed which is always a plus (for them and the reader :)).

The story line that had to do with Ari’s ex was well done in my opinion.  It brought just enough tension to the story and to Ari and Patrick’s relationship but it didn’t go too far.  I also loved Patrick’s fellow hockey players. Their camaraderie and support of each other really brought a great feel to the book – more of a hockey family.  There was once scene when Patrick asks for team’s advice for romantic gestures – I about spit out my coffee I was laughing so hard when the suggestions were read.  The players as well as the suggestions were hilarious and I loved the friendship they shared.  Even if they weren’t all great friends at least they respected each other a great deal and that was awesome.

The love story is wonderful – Patrick’s quiet alpha maleness with Ari’s bouncy, out-going personality made for great reading.  This is a fabulous book and one I definitely recommend that you not miss.

Rating: 4.5 out of 5

four-half-stars

1 Comment
Tags: , , , , , , ,


Guest Review: Rookie Move by Sarina Bowen

Posted September 28, 2016 by Tracy in Reviews | 2 Comments

Guest Review: Rookie Move by Sarina BowenReviewer: Tracy
Rookie Move by Sarina Bowen
Series: Brooklyn Bruisers #1
Also in this series: Rookie Move, Hard Hitter, Rookie Move, Hard Hitter (Brooklyn Bruisers #2)
Published by Berkley
Publication Date: September 6th 2016
Genres: Contemporary Romance
Buy on Amazon | Barnes & Noble
Goodreads
four-stars

The first novel in a sexy new series featuring the hockey players of the Brooklyn Bruisers and the women who win their hearts—from the USA Today bestselling author of the Ivy Years series.

In high school they were the perfect couple—until the day Georgia left Leo in the cold...

Hockey player Leo Trevi has spent the last six years trying to do two things: get over the girl who broke his heart, and succeed in the NHL. But on the first day he’s called up to the newly franchised Brooklyn Bruisers, Leo gets checked on both sides, first by the team’s coach—who has a long simmering grudge, and then by the Bruisers’ sexy, icy publicist—his former girlfriend Georgia Worthington.

Saying goodbye to Leo was one of the hardest things Georgia ever had to do—and saying hello again isn’t much easier. Georgia is determined to keep their relationship strictly professional, but when a press conference microphone catches Leo declaring his feelings for her, things get really personal, really fast....

When Georgia Worthington was almost done with high school she was raped.  She’d been dating Leo Trevi since she was a sophomore and they were deeply in love.  Unfortunately George the rape changed the relationship between her and Leo so when graduation came along she broke up with him.  Now it’s six years later and Georgia is shocked when she finds out that Leo is now going to be the new Rookie on the Brooklyn Bruisers hockey team – the team that she works for in the publicity department.

Leo is guy who has spent the last six years trying to get over his one true love – and not succeeding.  He’s dated a bunch of brainless bimbos because they were nothing like Georgia and therefore he wouldn’t get emotionally involved.  He is so excited to be the new rookie so that he can finally play in the NHL but also so he can be around Georgia again.  Unfortunately for him the new coach is Georgia’s father and while they used to be close Coach Worthington now hates Leo because…well, Leo has no idea why he hates him.

Things don’t start off well for Leo as he almost immediately becomes a media sensation (not for the right reasons) and then coach is making his life hell.  He does make a huge effort with Georgia and he’s determined to get her back.

I loved this story.  I loved Sarina Bowen’s The Ivy Years series and knew Leo Trevi from that series.  He was still a great guy and a fabulous hero in this book.  He was a stand-up man and one I was sure that Georgia would be happy to call hers.  She had lived through some pretty serious shit in high school and while she had dealt with it there were still things to move through emotionally for both Georgia and Leo.  I loved how Bowen brought them back together.  She has a wonderful way with characters and makes me love all of her heroes and heroines.

I also loved getting to know the other guys on the Bruisers team.  They all seemed like good guys and I am really looking forward to reading their stories.

Overall a great book that I highly recommend.  The first book in the Brooklyn Bruisers series was a hit with me and I definitely recommend it.

Rating: 4 out of 5

four-stars

2 Comments
Tags: , , , , , , ,


Review: Rookie Move by Sarina Bowen

Posted September 6, 2016 by Rowena in Reviews | 2 Comments

Review: Rookie Move by Sarina BowenReviewer: Rowena
Rookie Move by Sarina Bowen
Series: Brooklyn Bruisers #1
Also in this series: Rookie Move, Hard Hitter, Rookie Move, Hard Hitter (Brooklyn Bruisers #2)
Published by Berkley
Publication Date: September 6th 2016
Genres: Contemporary, Romance
Pages: 336
Buy on Amazon | Barnes & Noble
Goodreads
four-stars

The first novel in a sexy new series featuring the hockey players of the Brooklyn Bruisers and the women who win their hearts—from the USA Today bestselling author of the Ivy Years series.

In high school they were the perfect couple—until the day Georgia left Leo in the cold...

Hockey player Leo Trevi has spent the last six years trying to do two things: get over the girl who broke his heart, and succeed in the NHL. But on the first day he’s called up to the newly franchised Brooklyn Bruisers, Leo gets checked on both sides, first by the team’s coach—who has a long simmering grudge, and then by the Bruisers’ sexy, icy publicist—his former girlfriend Georgia Worthington.

Saying goodbye to Leo was one of the hardest things Georgia ever had to do—and saying hello again isn’t much easier. Georgia is determined to keep their relationship strictly professional, but when a press conference microphone catches Leo declaring his feelings for her, things get really personal, really fast....

Rookie Move is the first book in Sarina Bowen’s Brooklyn Bruisers series and it’s a spin off from her Ivy Years series as the hero for this book, Leo Trevi was a recurring character in the Ivy Years books. Leo is also the older brother of the hero from The Fifteenth Minute, DJ.

In the Ivy Year books, we know that Leo had a high school girlfriend who dumped him after she was attacked. We also know that she was the only girl that Leo has ever loved so when we meet up with Leo after he graduates from Harkness, he’s just been given his shot at the big leagues and the head of PR for his new team is none other than Georgia Worthington. The love of his life.

I’ve been pretty anxious to read this book because I love Sarina Bowen’s books. She writes the kind of contemporary romances that I adore and while I did end up enjoying this book a whole bunch, there were things that I struggled with.

Mainly, Georgia and her punk ass Dad.

I was so excited for this story because I wanted Leo to finally get his girl. The girl that he wanted and I was glad that he was far away from that awful girlfriend he had in college. Amy. But it took me a while to warm up to Georgia because for a hot shot professional career woman, she behaved quite immaturely where Leo was concerned. She ran away a lot, instead of dealing with the problems at hand. She shied away a lot too and she assumed a lot where Leo was concerned. Their whole romance was one misunderstanding after another and after a while, I wanted to shake some sense into her.

Then there was the issue of her father. What a complete dickhead that guy was! He was so unprofessional and while I could understand why he hated Leo so much, the way that Leo was treated right from the jump by Coach Worthington was completely unfair and I don’t understand why he wasn’t suspended for punching Leo in the face. Whether Leo pressed charges or not, had the player punched the coach the way that Worthington did Leo, you bet your ass he would have been fined and suspended but I didn’t feel like much happened to Coach for his actions. It was like it just rolled off his back and that soured his character to me. Sure, he makes up for it in the end but holy cow did he drive me right up the wall during the entire book.

But holy cow. Leo freaking Trevi made this book completely swoonable. I loved every little thing about him. From the moment he sees Georgia again, he was all in. He loved that girl since he asked her to Homecoming Sophomore year of high school and he was going to figure out how to win her over again because ..she tasted like his. There were so many things about him that I loved. His fierce determination to earn a spot on the team. His attitude toward his rookie duties and the friendship that blossoms between him, Silas and O’Doul. Theirs was a bromance that I could totally get behind. Leo made this book for me and in the end, I absolutely loved that he got his happy ending because he deserved it. He was worthy of it.

This was me whenever Leo was on the scene:

So despite some frustration with the heroine and her father, I still really enjoyed this book. I’m so looking forward to the next book, Hard Hitter. Bring on the Patrick O’Doul goodness. Does anyone know who the third book is going to be about? I’m kind of dying to know if it’s Silas but I can’t find anything online about it. I’ll have to do some more digging on that.

Grade: 4 out of 5

four-stars

2 Comments
Tags: , , , , , ,