Series: Boston Fire

Guest Review: Controlled Burn by Shannon Stacy

Posted April 4, 2016 by Judith in Reviews | 1 Comment

Guest Review: Controlled Burn by Shannon StacyReviewer: Judith
Controlled Burn by Shannon Stacey
Series: Boston Fire #2
Also in this series: Heat Exchange, Controlled Burn, Heat Exchange, Controlled Burn, Fully Ignited, Fully Ignited
Published by Carina Press
Publication Date: November 25, 2015
Genres: Contemporary, Romance
Pages: 384
Buy on Amazon | Barnes & Noble
Goodreads
four-stars

Rick Gullotti lives the good life. He fights fires, dates beautiful women—though none long enough so they cast wistful glances at jewelry stores—and has great friends. And thanks to helping out the elderly couple who own his building, his rent is low. But when concerns about their health lead him to contact their only son, his life starts getting away from him.

Jessica Broussard has no interest in leaving sunny San Diego or her cushy corner office for Boston, but her father—who happens to be her boss—dispatches her to deal with the grandparents she's never met. She's unprepared for the frigid winter, loving relatives who aren't the monsters she's been led to believe, and the hot, scruffy firefighter who lives upstairs.

At first, Jessica is determined to get back to her comfortable life as quickly as possible. All she has to do is talk her grandparents into selling their monstrosity of a house and moving to a retirement community. But she underestimates Rick's dedication—and his considerable charm. Nobody's taking advantage of his friends on his watch, even if that makes the tempting southern California girl with the long legs his adversary. Unfortunately for them both, the only thing more urgent than the matter at hand is their sizzling chemistry, and it's quickly becoming too strong to resist.

Anyone who is a serious consumer of romance fiction is familiar with Shannon Stacey and her wonderful stories.  This is the second book in her Boston Fire series and as I have found to be the case, her characters are strong and often unusual and therefore they pique the reader’s interest right from the start.  This book is no exception.

Nothing unusual about Rick and his free for all lifestyle.  He loves what he does, he loves the ladies–lots of them–and he loves the elderly folks over whom he keeps watch, almost as if they were his own grandparents.  He’s a genuine caring man who has not yet decided to settle down with a family of his own, but that doesn’t keep him from caring deeply about this couple who have mourned the estrangement between them and their only son.  Now they are beginning to show signs of serious problems related to aging and Rick knows that family needs to step in.  His contacting their son has an unusual effect:  it brings their granddaughter–a woman they have never met–to Boston.  She has her marching orders from her dad, but when she encounters Rick and begins to get to know her grandparents for who they are and not the people she believes them to be, her marching orders get laid aside.

This is a very emotional story as their is lots of hurt here, lots of tension that comes from bad communication, old wounds, misunderstanding, time, and long distance.  There is also deep caring, the kind of concern that puts one’s own interests aside, and people who are willing to acknowledge that they have been apart way too long.  Add in that this is a love story between two people who would have initially preferred to be the metaphorical two ships in the night, maybe hooking up and then moving on.  Fate or life or chance had different plans, and as their story develops, the heat of loving, the warmth of caring, and the emotions of becoming involved in one another’s lives ramps up the heat and emotional content.

I enjoyed this book a whole lot, but then again, I don’t remember a Shannon Stacey book I didn’t like.  I was such an absorbing story, one that just grabbed my feelings deep down, possibly more than some I have read recently.  It is well written and edited, put together in a skillful way, and is a great addition to Ms Stacey’s writing resume.  She has given us a good one here, folks.  It is well worth the time and effort to read and enjoy.  I give it a rating of 4 out of 5.

You can read more from Judith at http://www.drjsbookplace.blogspot.com.

Reading Order:

Heated Exchange
Controlled Burn
Fully Ignited

four-stars

1 Comment
Tags: , , , , , , ,


Review: Fully Ignited by Shannon Stacey

Posted March 17, 2016 by Rowena in Reviews | 1 Comment

Review: Fully Ignited by Shannon StaceyReviewer: Rowena
Fully Ignited by Shannon Stacey
Series: Boston Fire #3
Also in this series: Heat Exchange, Controlled Burn, Heat Exchange, Controlled Burn, Fully Ignited, Controlled Burn
Published by Carina Press
Publication Date: March 1st 2016
Genres: Romance, Contemporary
Pages: 182
Buy on Amazon | Barnes & Noble
Goodreads
three-half-stars

When Jamie Rutherford takes a temporary assignment as lieutenant of Boston Fire's Engine 59, she doesn't anticipate any problems. She's been in the fire service for a long time and, even though she's fairly new to Boston, she knows how to make any firehouse her home. What she's not prepared for is her reaction to firefighter Scott Kincaid.

Scott is looking for a wife. It's been a fun ride as a single guy, but he's tired of being the third wheel, and nearly losing his brother-in-law finally made him realize just how much he wants a family of his own. When the new guy at the firehouse turns out to be a capable, confident and very attractive woman, his plan is completely derailed.

Hooking up with a fellow firefighter has never been part of Jamie's plan, but she's tempted by Scott—even though getting involved with him could tarnish the reputation she's worked so hard for. And Scott can't stop thinking about Jamie, despite the fact that she's his superior and not sticking around. Chemistry can crush the best-laid plans, though, and while Jamie and Scott might not be each other's future…there's no resisting the right now.

When we first meet Scotty Kincaid, he was a hot head that went about his business fists flying. Two books later and he’s working on his anger issues and making changes in his life because he’s decided he wants to settle down and not bang a new woman every week. He wants something more stable, he wants to start a family soon and he can’t do any of that living the way that he’s been living.

He wasn’t expecting the fierce attraction that came on when Jamie Rutherford started work at his fire house.

Jamie Rutherford is on a temporary gig in Boston, filling in for an injured firefighting officer and it’s her job to run herd over Danny Walsh’s team and make sure everything is running smoothly until he gets back. Everything is going well until she meets Scotty Kincaid and the strangest thing happens. For the first time in her career, she’s attracted to someone she works with. So this should be interesting, right?

Right.

Scott was everything I hoped he would be by the time we got to his book. On top of being smokin’ hot, he was a family man and I really dug that. I loved the way that he was with his sisters and his brothers in law. He had a good relationship with everyone in his family and I adored the dynamic in their family. They were a close family that joked around with each other, made each other mad but loved the hell out of each other at the end of the day. Seeing Jamie accepted and pulled into their family was sweet too.

Jamie was a great heroine, probably my favorite of the bunch. She was independent, strong and she had a good head on her shoulders. I liked that even though she was the only woman working in an entire fire house of men, she didn’t mother hen anyone around and she wasn’t portrayed as stubborn and didn’t have that my way or the high way attitude. She fit right in at the fire house and I liked seeing her grow closer and closer with each guy in the house…even Danny.

There were times that I wanted to bean Scott in the head for being dumb and there were only a handful of times when I wanted to pull Jamie’s hair but overall, this was good reading.

The romance between Scott and Jamie was sweet and it wasn’t complicated, which I appreciated. It was a straight contemporary romance about two people who met, fell in love and then figured out how to be together. The cast of characters were fun to get to know, the romance was pretty steamy and the two main leads were likable characters.

I liked that this wasn’t one of those drag you through the emotional mud kind of romances. I liked seeing two characters fall in love and figure their shit out together. It didn’t take itself too seriously and sometimes, you just need that kind of romance. This was perfect for that.

Grade: 3.5 out of 5

three-half-stars

1 Comment
Tags: , , , , , , ,


Guest Review: Fully Ignited by Shannon Stacey

Posted February 5, 2016 by Tracy in Reviews | 1 Comment

Guest Review: Fully Ignited by Shannon StaceyReviewer: Tracy
Fully Ignited by Shannon Stacey
Series: Boston Fire #3
Also in this series: Heat Exchange, Controlled Burn, Heat Exchange, Controlled Burn, Fully Ignited, Controlled Burn
Published by Carina Press
Publication Date: February 23rd 2016
Genres: Contemporary
Buy on Amazon | Barnes & Noble
Goodreads
four-stars

When Jamie Rutherford takes a temporary assignment as lieutenant of Boston Fire’s Engine 59, she doesn’t anticipate any problems. She’s been in the fire service for a long time and, even though she’s fairly new to Boston, she knows how to make any firehouse her home. What she’s not prepared for is her reaction to firefighter Scott Kincaid.

Scott is looking for a wife. It’s been a fun ride as a single guy, but he’s tired of being the third wheel, and nearly losing his brother-in-law finally made him realize just how much he wants a family of his own. When the new guy at the firehouse turns out to be a capable, confident and very attractive woman, his plan is completely derailed.

Hooking up with a fellow firefighter has never been part of Jamie’s plan, but she’s tempted by Scott—even though getting involved with him could tarnish the reputation she’s worked so hard for. And Scott can’t stop thinking about Jamie, despite the fact that she’s his superior and not sticking around. Chemistry can crush the best-laid plans, though, and while Jamie and Scott might not be each other’s future…there’s no resisting the right now.

Jamie is a woman in a man’s world. There are so few female firefighters and when she heads to Engine 59 in Boston to cover for the Lieutenant who is hurt she’s not sure what to expect. What she finds is a well-run station with men who are understanding of her personal space and respectful of her and her position. What she doesn’t expect is the incredible attraction she has to one of Engine 59’s men. She knows that she should stop thinking about Scott but she finds she just can’t.

Scott knows it’s a bad idea for him and Jamie to get involved but they go about it with the thought that it will only be for fun and end when she moves on to her next assignment. Neither of them plan on having feelings for the other but it’s their connection to each other is truly undeniable. There’s problems, however, in that neither wants to speak of a future first and Scott has issues with the danger Jamie is in on a daily basis. He knows she does her job well and is incredibly safe but for a man who lost his mother when he was young he knows that any kids he has he doesn’t want growing up without a mother. How can he go into a relationship with Jamie knowing that her chances of getting hurt are huge? It’s an issue and one they might not be able to a solution for.

I really like the Boston Fire series. The guys in the station are awesome and crazy and funny and, and, and… I could go on but suffice it to say they are guys I like reading about. When it came to Scott I loved reading his story. He was so set on the kind of woman he wanted based on his own life and growing up without a mother and that idea was just turned completely on its head after meeting Jamie. He was so into her and I loved how he treated her and generally their whole relationship.

Jamie was incredible as well. A strong woman who knew what she wanted in life and wasn’t willing to compromise. I loved how tough and strong she was but that she wasn’t a ball-buster. She was obviously the minority in the station but she did her job and did it well. Her relationship with Scott was sweet and I admired her for sticking to her guns with him despite it breaking her heart to do so. I was really happy when they finally got their HEA.

Like I said I really like this series so far and hope there’s more in store for us in the future.

Reading Order:

Heat Exchange
Controlled Burn
Fully Ignited

Rating: 4 out of 5

four-stars

1 Comment
Tags: , , , , , , ,


Review: Controlled Burn by Shannon Stacey

Posted January 8, 2016 by Rowena in Reviews | 4 Comments

Review: Controlled Burn by Shannon StaceyReviewer: Rowena
Controlled Burn by Shannon Stacey
Series: Boston Fire #2
Also in this series: Heat Exchange, Controlled Burn, Heat Exchange, Fully Ignited, Fully Ignited, Controlled Burn
Published by Carina Press
Publication Date: November 24, 2015
Genres: Contemporary, Romance
Pages: 384
Buy on Amazon | Barnes & Noble
Goodreads
three-half-stars

Rick Gullotti lives the good life. He fights fires, dates beautiful women—though none long enough so they cast wistful glances at jewelry stores—and has great friends. And thanks to helping out the elderly couple who own his building, his rent is low. But when concerns about their health lead him to contact their only son, his life starts getting away from him.

Jessica Broussard has no interest in leaving sunny San Diego or her cushy corner office for Boston, but her father—who happens to be her boss—dispatches her to deal with the grandparents she's never met. She's unprepared for the frigid winter, loving relatives who aren't the monsters she's been led to believe, and the hot, scruffy firefighter who lives upstairs.

At first, Jessica is determined to get back to her comfortable life as quickly as possible. All she has to do is talk her grandparents into selling their monstrosity of a house and moving to a retirement community. But she underestimates Rick's dedication—and his considerable charm. Nobody's taking advantage of his friends on his watch, even if that makes the tempting southern California girl with the long legs his adversary. Unfortunately for them both, the only thing more urgent than the matter at hand is their sizzling chemistry, and it's quickly becoming too strong to resist.

This is the second book in the Boston Fire series by Shannon Stacey and it was a sweet romance. Very cute.

Rick Gulotti is a firefighter that works with Aidan Hunt from the last book and Scotty Kincaid from the next book. Rick is a ladies man who is has a long string of ex-girlfriends. He’s starting to wonder why he’s not the marrying kind since his last girlfriend moved on from him fairly quickly and is getting married. Rick lives a pretty laid back lifestyle. He works as a firefighter and on his off time, he helps his elderly landlords out with whatever they need his help with. He clears the driveway out, he handles all of the handy man work around the house and he takes good care of them.

But he’s not family in the sense that the government acknowledges so when his landlord Joe, takes a nasty spill, the doctors call their estranged son clear across the United States. The son that doesn’t acknowledge them, the son that they haven’t spoken to in so many years, the son that kept a grand-daughter from them.

Enter Jessica Broussard.

Jessica is filling in for her father at work when she receives the phone call that lets her know about her grandfather’s nasty fall. She’s taken aback by the call because she’s never met her grandparents before and every time she tried to talk to her father about them, he closed up. She learned over the years to stop asking about them but with her father missing in action, she decides to fly out to Boston and help them out, hopefully get to know them.

When Jessica gets to Boston and meets both her grandparents and then Rick, the story really took off for me. It wasn’t one of those stories that is filled to the brim with angst and intense chemistry but it was a story that I couldn’t put down. I thought the romance between Rick and Jessica was real and it was interesting. I liked seeing them get to know each other, I loved seeing them circle each other while they try to figure out what the other was up to. I loved that their romance wasn’t rushed. I thought Shannon Stacey did a great job of bringing them together. Seeing Jessica get to know her grandparents and build a relationship with them was another wonderful addition to the story.

I will say that while the entire story slowly unravels (which worked for me), there were a few things that bothered me. First, there were times when I wanted to pull Jessica’s hair and I blamed those things on her upbringing. She was raised by a guy that was just truly unlikable so I tried to keep that in mind whenever Jessica would think or say something that made me want to kick her. Especially when the distance starts to get to the both of them. Jessica really tried my nerves then but all in all, I came around with her.

Another thing that I wasn’t a real fan of was that ending. What in the world?? That’s all we got? I wanted more from that ending and my grade for the book reflects what I thought of that ending. Ending aside, the characters were charming and won me over in this book (yeah, even Jess) and I’m looking forward to Scotty’s book.

Grade: 3.5 out of 5

three-half-stars

4 Comments
Tags: , , , , , ,


Review: Heat Exchange by Shannon Stacey

Posted December 22, 2015 by Rowena in Reviews | 6 Comments

Review: Heat Exchange by Shannon StaceyReviewer: Rowena
Heat Exchange by Shannon Stacey
Series: Boston Fire #1
Also in this series: Heat Exchange, Controlled Burn, Controlled Burn, Fully Ignited, Fully Ignited, Controlled Burn
Published by Carina Press
Publication Date: August 25, 2015
Genres: Contemporary, Romance
Pages: 336
Buy on Amazon | Barnes & Noble
Goodreads
three-stars

Lydia Kincaid's shipping back to Boston, but she's not happy about it. She left to get away from the firefighting community—her father was a firefighter, her brother's a firefighter and, more important, her ex is a firefighter. But family is number one, and her father needs her help running the pub he bought when he retired. Soon, Lydia finds it hard to resist the familiar comfort and routine, and even harder to resist her brother's handsome friend Aidan.

Aidan Hunt is a firefighter because of the Kincaid family. He's had the hots for Lydia for years, but if ever a woman was off-limits to him, it's her. Aside from being his mentor's daughter, she's his best friend's sister. The ex-wife of a fellow firefighter. But his plan to play it cool until she leaves town again fails, and soon he and Lydia have crossed a line they can't uncross.

As Aidan and Lydia's flirtation turns into something more serious, Lydia knows she should be planning her escape. Being a firefighter's wife was the hardest thing she's ever done, and she doesn't know if she has the strength to do it again. Aidan can't imagine walking away from Boston Fire—even for Lydia. The job and the brotherhood are his life; but if he wants Lydia in it, he'll have to decide who's first in his heart.

I haven’t read too many books by Shannon Stacey but the couple that I have read, were solid reads. I was mighty interested in reading this series because I love firefighters and this series featured three of them. Count me in!

So Heat Exchange is the first book in the Boston Fire series and it follows Lydia Kincaid and Aidan Hunt as they fall in love. Lydia Kincaid is no stranger to the Firefighters wives club. She grew up with a firefighter father then later on, a firefighter brother and then she married and divorced a firefighter. Right about now? She’s all firefighter’d out. After divorcing her cheating, no good ex-husband, she moves away from Boston and starts fresh in a new town, with new neighbors and a new job. Gone are the days of her working in her father’s bar but when her sister needs her to fill in for her at the bar, Lydia finds herself back home, tending bar at her father’s pub and sliding right back into her old life.

The only thing different this time around is Aidan Hunt, her brother’s best friend and another freaking firefighter. Aidan is all grown up and is looking good…really good and Lydia notices. Aidan notices that Lydia notices and like a moth to a flame, burned by the fire, their love is blind and everyone can see their desire cause that’s the way love goes. LOL.

Aidan has always had a crush on Lydia but hasn’t ever tried going down that road because a) she wasn’t interested in him and 2) it goes against the firefighter brotherhood and best friend code. You don’t bang your brother’s sister, mother, ex, etc…and he fully intended to stay away from Lydia but then she looked at him. Like, really looked at him and he was gone. All intentions he had of staying away went up in smoke.

Lydia was done with firefighters. She was done with the all of the worrying so she has no idea what she’s doing with Aidan. She’s not planning on sticking around and the more time she spends with Aidan, the harder it’s getting for her to go back home.

Because Lydia is the daughter of the firefighter that Aidan thinks of as a father and the sister of his best friend, instead of coming clean about their relationship from the jump, Aidan and Lydia start a secret romance like they were in freaking high school and to be honest, I wasn’t a fan of that. At all.

Their whole secret romance left me scratching my head because that is the kind of shit you do in high school because your parents still have a say in what you can do. It would have been one thing if they were just being discreet but they lied and kept up lies, all in the name of having sex with each other. I thought Aidan’s lies to Scott were dumb and I thought Scott’s reaction to Aidan and Lydia’s relationship was ridiculous too.

I’m a total West Coast girl. Born and raised in Southern California so I know nothing about cold and the snow and don’t really care to. I love my California sunshine and I love the laid back lifestyle that California is known for. While I was reading this book, my California laid back lifestyle didn’t really connect with the Boston intensity that these characters showed. I did enjoy the family mentality that these guys had but all of the other crap with the secret romance, the don’t tell Scott what we’re doing, the lies…didn’t work for me.

I did enjoy the secondary romance between Ashley and Dan. I liked seeing their love for each other being tested and the show down between these two was great. Oh man, I loved Dan and understood where Ashley was coming from and thought that Stacey did a great job of writing their romance. I just wish that they had gotten a full length novel.

So while I had issues with the main romance, there was still enough of everything else for me to enjoy. I’m looking forward to reading the next book because I’m mighty curious about Rick Giulotti and hell, I’m even planning on reading Scott’s book. I’m curious to see who he ends up with.

Grade: 3 out of 5

three-stars

6 Comments
Tags: , , , , , ,