Series: Boston Fire

Sunday Spotlight: Hot Response by Shannon Stacey

Posted April 29, 2018 by Rowena in Features | 1 Comment

Sunday Spotlight is a feature we began in 2016. This year we’re spotlighting our favorite books, old and new. We’ll be raving about the books we love and being total fangirls. You’ve been warned. 🙂

Sunday Spotlight

The Boston Fire series by Shannon Stacey follows a team of firefighters who take that journey to true love. Each story follows a different firefighter and Hot Response follows Gavin Boudreau as he falls in love with Cait Tasker. Their story is super cute and you should definitely check it out. You can read my review here. Today we’re sharing an excerpt from the book provided to us by the lovely, Shannon Stacey herself.

Sunday Spotlight: Hot Response by Shannon StaceyHot Response (Boston Fire, #4) by Shannon Stacey
Series: Boston Fire #4
Also in this series: Heat Exchange, Controlled Burn, Heat Exchange, Controlled Burn, Fully Ignited, Fully Ignited, Controlled Burn, Hot Response, Hot Response (Boston Fire, #4)
Published by Carina Press
Publication Date: April 24, 2018
Genres: Contemporary Romance
Pages: 288
Amazon | Barnes & Noble | The Ripped Bodice | Google Play Books
Goodreads

The men of Boston Fire are back and hotter than ever! Don’t miss this brand-new novel from New York Times bestselling author Shannon Stacey.

Gavin Boudreau lives for the job, but he also believes in “work hard, play harder.” As the youngest guy in Ladder 37, he figures he’s got plenty of time before settling down becomes a priority. Soft, pretty women who aren’t looking for promises are exactly his type, and he’s comfortable with that. Working with a gorgeous EMT isn’t going to change who he is.

The last thing Cait Tasker needs in her personal life is a firefighter whose challenges on-scene have been a thorn in her side from minute one. Her plate’s too full for a man anyway. Back in her childhood home to help her family cope with an unexpected tragedy, she’s got enough to handle without throwing a hot, testosterone-laden fireman into the mix.

As long days on the job lead to long nights together, Gavin and Cait will discover how far temptation can take them—and what happens when the one you thought was all wrong for you turns out to be the person you can’t live without.

Order the Book:

AMAZON || BARNES AND NOBLE || GOOGLE PLAY || KOBO

Excerpt

“I wanted to talk to you about something, and I thought…” She paused, and then made herself say it. “Maybe over breakfast.”

He looked confused for a few seconds, not that she could blame him. Nothing in their past interactions indicated she’d ever have an interest in sharing a meal with him, and the incident in the hallway after delivering the baby had probably made him believe she didn’t like him at all.

“Or just a coffee or something,” she said when he didn’t respond right away. “It won’t take long.”

“I could go for breakfast right about now. I was going to go around the corner if you want to join me?”

“Sure.”

They walked in silence to the tiny restaurant only locals would know was even there and took a table in the back. There were a few other diners, but nobody that she recognized as somebody she wouldn’t want eavesdropping. Most of the firefighters probably went straight home to crash in their beds for a while, she thought. Or maybe Gavin hadn’t given them the heads-up on the good food to be had. Cait had grabbed coffee and pastries there a few times, but she’d never sat and had a meal.

“This is a bit of a surprise,” he said once they had their coffees and had ordered the veggie-filled omelets the place was famous for, minus onions for Gavin and both with bacon and wheat toast on the side.

She couldn’t tell if he was pleasantly surprised or unpleasantly surprised. “Yeah. It was kind of a spur-of-the-moment thing.”

After tossing and turning all night.

“You okay? From yesterday, I mean?”

“I’m good, really. But it’s the kind of situation that gets you thinking about things, and I was thinking about the things I said after delivering that baby the other day.”

He leaned back in his chair and grinned. “You mean the part where you implied I don’t take my job seriously?”

Yeah, that part. And why did he have to have such a great smile? “See, you’re doing it right now.”

“Doing what?”

“That smile that probably makes women’s pants fall off.”

The eyebrow went up before he pushed his chair back a few inches. Then he bent over, as if he was picking up a dropped fork. A second later, he sat up and pulled his chair back in.

“What are you doing?”

“I was just checking to see if your pants fell off.” The lift of his left shoulder matched the curve of his mouth. “I guess I’ll have to try harder.”

Oh god, please don’t. Cait had never been so thankful she wasn’t prone to blushing because if she was, her face would be as red as the ketchup bottle. She’d come here to apologize for being a bitch to him and, before she’d even addressed her hostility toward him—or at least the part she was willing to admit to—he was implying he’d like to get her out of her pants.

It was obviously just a habit, she told herself. Gavin was probably just a natural charmer who never had to try. And if he did have to try harder…well, what man could resist a challenge?

She tried to focus on that assumption about his character so she wouldn’t be able to focus on the fact he could probably make her pants fall off without too much of an effort at all. Of all the people she came across on a daily basis, she would have bet he was the last person who had a shot, but there was something about his carefree confidence that might grate on her nerves when they were at a scene, but was sexy as hell when he was sitting across a table from her. And between the added stress and reduced privacy that moving back home had brought, she was barely managing to have a social life, never mind a sex life.

She needed to get this conversation back on track, though, before he tried to up his game. “I want to apologize to you.”

“There’s no need for an apology. Believe it or not, the pants don’t always fall down. It happens. Not often, but it happens.” The expression on his face was almost as cocky as the words, and she was about to tell him to forget it—he was exactly who she’d originally thought he was—when he dimmed the high-wattage grin to a sheepish smile and shook his head. “I’m joking. And yes, I do that too much.”

“Why?”

“Why not? I like to laugh. This is the only life I know for sure I’m getting, so I’m going to have fun while I’m living it.” He looked at her, his expression more sincerely thoughtful than she’d thought him capable of. “Maybe sometimes I take it too far. I don’t even know how many times in my life my mom’s told me I don’t know when to quit. But that doesn’t mean I’m not doing my job.”

Cait forced herself not to look away from his direct gaze. “That’s what I wanted to apologize for. What I said the other day, when we delivered that baby, was out of line. You obviously take your job seriously and rumor has it you’re good at it. I’m sorry I said that.”

She half-expected him to make some kind of smart-ass remark or gloat in some way, but the smile he gave her was warm and genuine. “Thank you. I accept your apology. And I’m sorry, too. I might have pushed your buttons a little on purpose because you’re so easy to rile up.”

“I am not.”

“You’re getting riled right now.”

He wasn’t wrong, but he hopefully hadn’t guessed on how many levels he got her wound up. She was going to say something about being sensitive to him pushing her buttons, but she couldn’t figure out how to say it without the possibility of the conversation spinning into innuendo.

“So tell me something, Cait. Since we’re on the subject, why don’t you like me?”

“I don’t know you well enough to not like you.”

“Okay.” He fiddled with his coffee mug, turning it in his hands. “I’ll put it another way. I’ve wondered why you react to me in a way that makes other people ask me what I did to piss you off.”

“They do not.” When he just stared at her, one eyebrow raised, she looked away first. “What did you say?”

“You mean what I tell them I did to piss you off? I breathed.”

Ouch. But that was why she’d invited him to breakfast in the first place—to apologize and talk through whatever their problem was. Whatever her problem was. “I don’t know what it is about you that rubs me the wrong way.”

So much for keeping the conversation innuendo-free, she thought, barely stopping herself from slapping her palm over her face.

“Pent-up sexual tension between us?”

She laughed, because she knew he was joking. Or she was fairly sure he was, at least. “You’re cocky.”

“I’m confident.”

“Same thing.”

He shook his head. “Nope.”

She propped her chin on her hands. “Tell me the difference, then.”

Boston Fire

Giveaway Alert

We’re giving one lucky winner their choice of one of our Sunday Spotlight books. Use the Rafflecopter widget below to enter for one of this month’s features.

a Rafflecopter giveaway

Are you as excited for this release as we are? Let us know how excited you are and what other books you’re looking forward to this year!

About the Author

Shannon Stacey

WEBSITE | TWITTER | FACEBOOK | INSTAGRAM | PINTEREST | TUMBLR | GOODREADS

New York Times and USA Today bestselling author Shannon Stacey lives with her husband and two sons in New England, where her favorite activities are writing romance and really random tweets when she’s not riding her ATV. She loves mud, books, football & watching way too much TV.


Tagged: , , , , ,

Review: Hot Response by Shannon Stacey

Posted April 24, 2018 by Rowena in Reviews | 1 Comment

Review: Hot Response by Shannon StaceyReviewer: Rowena
Hot Response (Boston Fire, #4) by Shannon Stacey
Series: Boston Fire #4
Also in this series: Heat Exchange, Controlled Burn, Heat Exchange, Controlled Burn, Fully Ignited, Fully Ignited, Controlled Burn, Hot Response
Published by Carina Press
Publication Date: April 24th 2018
Point-of-View: Third Person
Genres: Contemporary Romance
Pages: 288
Amazon | Barnes & Noble | The Ripped Bodice | Google Play Books
Goodreads
four-stars

The men of Boston Fire are back and hotter than ever! Don’t miss this brand-new novel from New York Times bestselling author Shannon Stacey.

Gavin Boudreau lives for the job, but he also believes in “work hard, play harder.” As the youngest guy in Ladder 37, he figures he’s got plenty of time before settling down becomes a priority. Soft, pretty women who aren’t looking for promises are exactly his type, and he’s comfortable with that. Working with a gorgeous EMT isn’t going to change who he is.

The last thing Cait Tasker needs in her personal life is a firefighter whose challenges on-scene have been a thorn in her side from minute one. Her plate’s too full for a man anyway. Back in her childhood home to help her family cope with an unexpected tragedy, she’s got enough to handle without throwing a hot, testosterone-laden fireman into the mix.

As long days on the job lead to long nights together, Gavin and Cait will discover how far temptation can take them—and what happens when the one you thought was all wrong for you turns out to be the person you can’t live without.

Hot Response by Shannon Stacey is the fourth book in her Boston Fire series and it’s another great straight up contemporary romance. It was the perfect romance for me to read after coming out some very complicated magical worlds and stories. I was in the mood for a straight up romance and this one fit the bill. Gavin and Cait were a fabulous couple that I really enjoyed getting to know.

Gavin and Cait work in the first responder’s world and they see each other from time to time. Gavin is a firefighter and Cait is an EMT. They don’t know each other all that well and back when they first met, Cait entertained the idea of asking Gavin out until he called her ma’am and she changed her mind. Someone that calls you ma’am does not want to bang you. All these weeks later and Cait is annoyed that she is still attracted to Gavin so she cops an attitude every time he’s around. She can’t help it and he’s confused about it but it is what it is until…they’re thrown together on a call and they run hot and then cold with each other.

Gavin has no idea what he did to make Cait hate him and he’s low key sorry about that because Cait Tasker is good looking and he’s definitely noticed her before. After the last call they were on together, he’s thinking about her and her attitude and when his shift is over, he is surprised to see her waiting for him outside the firehouse. She’s there to apologize over apology bacon and he’s in.

I really liked the way that Shannon Stacey handled the telling of this story. You see Gavin and Cait before they became Gavin and Cait. You see them become friends, get to know each other and fall in love while trying to figure out how to make room for each other in their lives. Cait is dealing with some stuff at home and it’s hard for her to see past her home life and she’s feeling the pressure of trying to keep everyone in her life happy and when Gavin start to push for more, she has to deal with how she feels about a future with him without being her family’s crutch.

This story revolves around two people going through real-life problems and trying to figure themselves out. I loved how straightforward this romance was. There’s no magical kingdom to save, no complicated background to sort through. It’s just two people falling in love and trying to figure out how to be together and merge their lives. I loved seeing everyone from the previous books in this series in the background and I really enjoyed both Cait’s family but Gavin’s as well. I connected with both Cait and Gavin and was rooting for them from the very beginning.

I’ve got my fingers crossed that we’ll get a book for Grant and Wren as I’m mighty curious about them but I’m ready for Derek’s story too.

This is a solid romance with two likable main characters and a supporting cast that readers will come to love. The romance was sweet and there are plenty of hot firefighters to fall in love with so what are you waiting for? Get this book and read it!

4 out of 5

Boston Fire Series

4 out of 5

four-stars


Tagged: , , , , , , ,

Guest Review: Hot Response by Shannon Stacey

Posted April 17, 2018 by Tracy in Reviews | 2 Comments

Guest Review: Hot Response by Shannon StaceyReviewer: Tracy
Hot Response by Shannon Stacey
Series: Boston Fire #4
Also in this series: Heat Exchange, Controlled Burn, Heat Exchange, Controlled Burn, Fully Ignited, Fully Ignited, Controlled Burn, Hot Response (Boston Fire, #4)
Published by Carina Press
Publication Date: April 24th 2018
Genres: Contemporary Romance
Pages: 288
Amazon | Barnes & Noble | The Ripped Bodice | Google Play Books
Goodreads
four-stars

The men of Boston Fire are back and hotter than ever! Don’t miss this brand-new novel from New York Times bestselling author Shannon Stacey.

Gavin Boudreau lives for the job, but he also believes in “work hard, play harder.” As the youngest guy in Ladder 37, he figures he’s got plenty of time before settling down becomes a priority. Soft, pretty women who aren’t looking for promises are exactly his type, and he’s comfortable with that. Working with a gorgeous EMT isn’t going to change who he is.

The last thing Cait Tasker needs in her personal life is a firefighter whose challenges on-scene have been a thorn in her side from minute one. Her plate’s too full for a man anyway. Back in her childhood home to help her family cope with an unexpected tragedy, she’s got enough to handle without throwing a hot, testosterone-laden fireman into the mix.

As long days on the job lead to long nights together, Gavin and Cait will discover how far temptation can take them—and what happens when the one you thought was all wrong for you turns out to be the person you can’t live without.

EMT Cait Tasker doesn’t feel like she’s living her own life.  Her mother’s second husband suddenly died six months ago and after a frantic call from her teenage half-brother fearing that his mother was going to do something drastic, Cait moved in.  She’s now been taking care of the family and giving emotional support while still working.  She doesn’t go out with any but one friend now, and she certainly doesn’t date.  She thought about asking firefighter Gavin Boudreau out but when she was about to do so he called her “ma’am” and made her feel a hundred years old.  Needless to say she never asked. Since then Cait’s been giving Gavin a bit of attitude and he can’t understand why.

Gaving thinks that Cait is pretty hot but he can’t figure out why she doesn’t like him.  He can’t stop thinking about her and even gets caught by her teenage brother checking out her ass.  Oops.  When Cait finally tells him about the “ma’am” issue he just looks at her like she’s crazy.  He calls every woman ma’am!  Once the pair actually start dating they can’t get enough of each other.  Gavin wants Cait with him all the time and hates that whenever they’re in bed she has to get up and leave to take care of her family.  Gavin thinks it’s been long enough and Cait needs to break away but Cait’s not ready to do that and it may be the point of contention that neither can get past.

I really like this series.  I was so happy to see that Stacey had written another book set in this world.  Gavin was a good man who was raised right (with manners) and that’s why he called every woman ma’am.  It was actually pretty cute, imho.  He was kind, giving and loyal and had a wonderful sense of humor.  I liked him, a lot.

I liked Cait a lot too but since she was in such a stressful time in her life, with a lot going on, it was hard to see the true Cait. She was a good daughter for taking care of her mother and brother but I was with Gavin, she needed to start easing away from them and start letting them live their lives.  It really took Gavin coming into her life for Cait, and her mother, to see this.

Overall a pretty great book.  Love, lust, humor, family, firefighters…what more could I ask for? 🙂  If you haven’t read any books in this series you’re missing out on some great contemporary reads.

Boston Fire Series

Rating: 4 out of 5

four-stars


Tagged: , , , , , , ,

Guest Review: Controlled Burn by Shannon Stacy

Posted April 4, 2016 by Judith in Reviews | 1 Comment

Guest Review: Controlled Burn by Shannon StacyReviewer: Judith
Controlled Burn by Shannon Stacey
Series: Boston Fire #2
Also in this series: Heat Exchange, Controlled Burn, Heat Exchange, Controlled Burn, Fully Ignited, Fully Ignited, Hot Response, Hot Response (Boston Fire, #4)
Published by Carina Press
Publication Date: November 25, 2015
Pages: 384
Amazon | Barnes & Noble | The Ripped Bodice | Google Play Books
Goodreads
four-stars

Rick Gullotti lives the good life. He fights fires, dates beautiful women—though none long enough so they cast wistful glances at jewelry stores—and has great friends. And thanks to helping out the elderly couple who own his building, his rent is low. But when concerns about their health lead him to contact their only son, his life starts getting away from him.

Jessica Broussard has no interest in leaving sunny San Diego or her cushy corner office for Boston, but her father—who happens to be her boss—dispatches her to deal with the grandparents she's never met. She's unprepared for the frigid winter, loving relatives who aren't the monsters she's been led to believe, and the hot, scruffy firefighter who lives upstairs.

At first, Jessica is determined to get back to her comfortable life as quickly as possible. All she has to do is talk her grandparents into selling their monstrosity of a house and moving to a retirement community. But she underestimates Rick's dedication—and his considerable charm. Nobody's taking advantage of his friends on his watch, even if that makes the tempting southern California girl with the long legs his adversary. Unfortunately for them both, the only thing more urgent than the matter at hand is their sizzling chemistry, and it's quickly becoming too strong to resist.

Anyone who is a serious consumer of romance fiction is familiar with Shannon Stacey and her wonderful stories.  This is the second book in her Boston Fire series and as I have found to be the case, her characters are strong and often unusual and therefore they pique the reader’s interest right from the start.  This book is no exception.

Nothing unusual about Rick and his free for all lifestyle.  He loves what he does, he loves the ladies–lots of them–and he loves the elderly folks over whom he keeps watch, almost as if they were his own grandparents.  He’s a genuine caring man who has not yet decided to settle down with a family of his own, but that doesn’t keep him from caring deeply about this couple who have mourned the estrangement between them and their only son.  Now they are beginning to show signs of serious problems related to aging and Rick knows that family needs to step in.  His contacting their son has an unusual effect:  it brings their granddaughter–a woman they have never met–to Boston.  She has her marching orders from her dad, but when she encounters Rick and begins to get to know her grandparents for who they are and not the people she believes them to be, her marching orders get laid aside.

This is a very emotional story as their is lots of hurt here, lots of tension that comes from bad communication, old wounds, misunderstanding, time, and long distance.  There is also deep caring, the kind of concern that puts one’s own interests aside, and people who are willing to acknowledge that they have been apart way too long.  Add in that this is a love story between two people who would have initially preferred to be the metaphorical two ships in the night, maybe hooking up and then moving on.  Fate or life or chance had different plans, and as their story develops, the heat of loving, the warmth of caring, and the emotions of becoming involved in one another’s lives ramps up the heat and emotional content.

I enjoyed this book a whole lot, but then again, I don’t remember a Shannon Stacey book I didn’t like.  I was such an absorbing story, one that just grabbed my feelings deep down, possibly more than some I have read recently.  It is well written and edited, put together in a skillful way, and is a great addition to Ms Stacey’s writing resume.  She has given us a good one here, folks.  It is well worth the time and effort to read and enjoy.  I give it a rating of 4 out of 5.

You can read more from Judith at http://www.drjsbookplace.blogspot.com.

Reading Order:

Heated Exchange
Controlled Burn
Fully Ignited

four-stars


Tagged: , , , , , , ,

Review: Fully Ignited by Shannon Stacey

Posted March 17, 2016 by Rowena in Reviews | 1 Comment

Review: Fully Ignited by Shannon StaceyReviewer: Rowena
Fully Ignited by Shannon Stacey
Series: Boston Fire #3
Also in this series: Heat Exchange, Controlled Burn, Heat Exchange, Controlled Burn, Fully Ignited, Controlled Burn, Hot Response, Hot Response (Boston Fire, #4)
Published by Carina Press
Publication Date: March 1st 2016
Pages: 182
Amazon | Barnes & Noble | The Ripped Bodice | Google Play Books
Goodreads
three-half-stars

When Jamie Rutherford takes a temporary assignment as lieutenant of Boston Fire's Engine 59, she doesn't anticipate any problems. She's been in the fire service for a long time and, even though she's fairly new to Boston, she knows how to make any firehouse her home. What she's not prepared for is her reaction to firefighter Scott Kincaid.

Scott is looking for a wife. It's been a fun ride as a single guy, but he's tired of being the third wheel, and nearly losing his brother-in-law finally made him realize just how much he wants a family of his own. When the new guy at the firehouse turns out to be a capable, confident and very attractive woman, his plan is completely derailed.

Hooking up with a fellow firefighter has never been part of Jamie's plan, but she's tempted by Scott—even though getting involved with him could tarnish the reputation she's worked so hard for. And Scott can't stop thinking about Jamie, despite the fact that she's his superior and not sticking around. Chemistry can crush the best-laid plans, though, and while Jamie and Scott might not be each other's future…there's no resisting the right now.

When we first meet Scotty Kincaid, he was a hot head that went about his business fists flying. Two books later and he’s working on his anger issues and making changes in his life because he’s decided he wants to settle down and not bang a new woman every week. He wants something more stable, he wants to start a family soon and he can’t do any of that living the way that he’s been living.

He wasn’t expecting the fierce attraction that came on when Jamie Rutherford started work at his fire house.

Jamie Rutherford is on a temporary gig in Boston, filling in for an injured firefighting officer and it’s her job to run herd over Danny Walsh’s team and make sure everything is running smoothly until he gets back. Everything is going well until she meets Scotty Kincaid and the strangest thing happens. For the first time in her career, she’s attracted to someone she works with. So this should be interesting, right?

Right.

Scott was everything I hoped he would be by the time we got to his book. On top of being smokin’ hot, he was a family man and I really dug that. I loved the way that he was with his sisters and his brothers in law. He had a good relationship with everyone in his family and I adored the dynamic in their family. They were a close family that joked around with each other, made each other mad but loved the hell out of each other at the end of the day. Seeing Jamie accepted and pulled into their family was sweet too.

Jamie was a great heroine, probably my favorite of the bunch. She was independent, strong and she had a good head on her shoulders. I liked that even though she was the only woman working in an entire fire house of men, she didn’t mother hen anyone around and she wasn’t portrayed as stubborn and didn’t have that my way or the high way attitude. She fit right in at the fire house and I liked seeing her grow closer and closer with each guy in the house…even Danny.

There were times that I wanted to bean Scott in the head for being dumb and there were only a handful of times when I wanted to pull Jamie’s hair but overall, this was good reading.

The romance between Scott and Jamie was sweet and it wasn’t complicated, which I appreciated. It was a straight contemporary romance about two people who met, fell in love and then figured out how to be together. The cast of characters were fun to get to know, the romance was pretty steamy and the two main leads were likable characters.

I liked that this wasn’t one of those drag you through the emotional mud kind of romances. I liked seeing two characters fall in love and figure their shit out together. It didn’t take itself too seriously and sometimes, you just need that kind of romance. This was perfect for that.

Grade: 3.5 out of 5

three-half-stars


Tagged: , , , , , , ,