Series: Alpha and Omega

Summer Reading Challenge Review: Cry Wolf by Patricia Briggs

Posted September 10, 2018 by Casee in Reviews | 1 Comment

Summer Reading Challenge Review: Cry Wolf by Patricia BriggsReviewer: Casee
Cry Wolf (Alpha & Omega, #1) by Patricia Briggs
Series: Alpha and Omega #1
Also in this series: Hunting Ground (Alpha & Omega, #2), Fair Game (Alpha & Omega, #3), Cry Wolf (Alpha & Omega, #1), Dead Heat (Alpha & Omega, #4), Alpha & Omega (Alpha & Omega, #0.5), Cry Wolf (Alpha & Omega, #1), Hunting Ground (Alpha & Omega, #2), Burn Bright (Alpha & Omega, #5), Burn Bright (Alpha & Omega, #5), Alpha & Omega (Alpha & Omega, #0.5)

Publication Date: August 1, 2008
Point-of-View: Third
Genres: Paranormal Romance
Pages: 294
Amazon | Barnes & Noble | The Ripped Bodice | Google Play Books
Goodreads
four-stars

Anna never knew werewolves existed, until the night she survived a violent attack... and became one herself. After three years at the bottom of the pack, she'd learned to keep her head down and never, ever trust dominant males. Then Charles Cornick, the enforcer—and son—of the leader of the North American werewolves, came into her life.

Charles insists that not only is Anna his mate, but she is also a rare and valued Omega wolf. And it is Anna's inner strength and calming presence that will prove invaluable as she and Charles go on the hunt in search of a rogue werewolf—a creature bound in magic so dark that it could threaten all of the pack.

It is recommended you read the prequel "Alpha & Omega" before reading Cry Wolf.

Patricia Briggs, where have you been all my life? Okay, I take full responsibility for not listening to Holly & Rowena discovering you sooner. I mean, what is wrong with me? You write exactly what I love to read. Intense paranormal romance with really interesting secondary characters as well as a raging bitch thrown in for good measure. What’s not to love about this series? Well there is one thing, but it’s not that big of a deal because this particular situation is fluid. Organic. Every changing.

In Cry Wolf, we pick up right where we left off in Alpha & Omega. The Marrok has brought Charles and Anna home to Montana. Charles is severely injured after being shot in Chicago. He took a bullet to save Anna’s life and uncovered a conspiracy that left one of the Chicago packs in ruins. He also discovered his mate. A brutalized omega wolf, Anna has zero self-confidence, self-esteem, self-anything really. She thinks she’s a waste of the air she breathes. That was my main problem with the book. Anna’s timidity got tiresome. Girl, you’re a kick ass omega werewolf with a bad ass mate. Chin up. Well, chin up she did but it didn’t happen until toward the end of the book.

I actually messaged Holly when I was about halfway through the book and asked her if the whole book was as slow was the first half was. Because it was slow. Lots of world building and people meeting. It wasn’t bad per se, it was just…slow. I loved meeting Asil, Sage, and getting to know Bran (The Marrok & Charles’ father) better. It was so clear that the people of the Marrok’s Montana pack were extremely close. The responsibility of being the Marrok weighed heavily on Bran and Bran leaned heavily on Charles. Charles was his enforcer. When there was a rogue werewolf, Charles would go after the rogue and dispense justice if so needed.

Now there is a rogue in the mountains of Montana. Too close to home for Charles’ comfort. He doesn’t think it’s a fluke that there is a rogue wolf in the Marrok’s backyard. This wouldn’t be the first time that someone made a play for his father’s power. It also wouldn’t be the last. Against his own wishes, his father orders him to take Anna with him. Taking Anna with him is the last thing he wants to do, but he can’t turn down a direct order from his father. What they discover in the mountains is truly something far more evil that Charles expected to find and he’s not sure either he or Anna will make it out alive. However he’s never been more determined to try.

Anna is calmed when she is in Charles presence. She and her wolf. The memory of the rapes and beatings that happened while she was a member of her former pack were hazy. Her wolf protected her by coming to the forefront. Still, Anna knows to keep her eyes down and opinions to herself. That’s until Charles. Something happens when she’s with him. Even when he loses his temper, Anna knows that he would never hurt her. She knows he doesn’t want her help hunting down the rogue, but it immediately apparent that the situation isn’t what it first seemed to be. Not only that, but it’s only Anna that can save Charles and possibly the Marrok’s entire North American pack from the black witch that has come to play.

Oh, my heart broke for Anna. When she realized she had no other place to go? clutching heart I felt for her so hard. This book had all the feels, even if it didn’t have all the action. There was plenty of action about the last 15-20% (Kindle reader here) of the book.

So why haven’t you picked this book up yet?

Rating: 4 out of 5.

Alpha & Omega

four-stars


Tagged: , , , , , , ,

Summer Reading Challenge Review: Alpha & Omega by Patricia Briggs

Posted September 5, 2018 by Casee in Reviews | 3 Comments

Summer Reading Challenge Review: Alpha & Omega by Patricia BriggsReviewer: Casee
Alpha & Omega (Alpha & Omega, #0.5) by Patricia Briggs
Series: Alpha and Omega #0.5
Also in this series: Hunting Ground (Alpha & Omega, #2), Fair Game (Alpha & Omega, #3), Cry Wolf (Alpha & Omega, #1), Dead Heat (Alpha & Omega, #4), Alpha & Omega (Alpha & Omega, #0.5), Cry Wolf (Alpha & Omega, #1), Hunting Ground (Alpha & Omega, #2), Burn Bright (Alpha & Omega, #5), Burn Bright (Alpha & Omega, #5), Cry Wolf (Alpha & Omega, #1)
Publisher: Berkley Books
Publication Date: October 1, 2008
Point-of-View: Third
Genres: Paranormal Romance
Pages: 86
Amazon | Barnes & Noble | The Ripped Bodice | Google Play Books
Goodreads
four-half-stars

In "Cry Wolf," New York Times bestselling author Patricia Briggs started a new urban fantasy series set in the world of Mercy Thompson but with rules of it's own. Now, read the eSpecial, Alpha and Omega, the novella that inspired the new series, and see how it all began. Anna Latham never knew werewolves existed, until the night she survived a violent attack and became one herself. After three years at the bottom of the Chicago pack, she's learned to keep her head down and never, ever trust dominant males. But when she discovers wrongdoing in her pack, she has to go above her Alpha's head to ask for help. Charles Cornick is the son and enforcer of the leader of the North American werewolves. Now his father has sent him to Chicago to clean up a problem there. Charles never expected to find Anna, a rare Omega wolf and he certainly never expected to recognize her as his mate

This is a short little review to go with a short little book.

I must have been living under a rock to have missed this author. I know the Mercy Thompson series is in first person and that is most likely the reason that I missed this series entirely. I really liked this book. It was the perfect beginning to a really good series.

Anna is a werewolf that hates being a werewolf. She’s been a werewolf for three years and those three years have been hell. She’s a submissive wolf and her alpha has taken it upon himself to pass her around his pack at his discretion. It’s only when Anna decides she can’t take it any longer and tries to take her own life that Leo puts out the word to keep hands off Anna.

When Anna sees a news article about a missing person, she knows she saw the person at Leo’s house. As a werewolf. Which is against werewolf law. She calls the Marrok, who is the alpha of all North America werewolves and reports what’s happening. He, in turn, sends his son Charles. Charles is his father’s enforcer, also known as his pet killer. Charles recognizes Anna for who she really is the second he’s in her vicinity. She’s an Omega. A rare werewolf that can calm the emotions of even a rogue. She’s also his mate.

I just really liked this book. I liked how it introduced me into this world of Charles and Anna. I wasn’t a big fan of Anna because she’s such a wimp, but it was with good reason which is why it was acceptable.

Rating: 4.5 out of 5.

Alpha & Omega

four-half-stars


Tagged: , , , , , , ,

Guest Review: Burn Bright by Patricia Briggs

Posted April 11, 2018 by Tracy in Reviews | 6 Comments

Guest Review: Burn Bright by Patricia BriggsReviewer: Tracy
Burn Bright (Alpha & Omega, #5) by Patricia Briggs
Series: Alpha and Omega #5
Also in this series: Hunting Ground (Alpha & Omega, #2), Fair Game (Alpha & Omega, #3), Cry Wolf (Alpha & Omega, #1), Dead Heat (Alpha & Omega, #4), Alpha & Omega (Alpha & Omega, #0.5), Cry Wolf (Alpha & Omega, #1), Hunting Ground (Alpha & Omega, #2), Burn Bright (Alpha & Omega, #5), Alpha & Omega (Alpha & Omega, #0.5), Cry Wolf (Alpha & Omega, #1)
Publisher: Ace
Publication Date: March 6th 2018
Format: eARC
Genres: Urban Fantasy
Pages: 336
Amazon | Barnes & Noble | The Ripped Bodice | Google Play Books
Goodreads
four-stars

They are the wild and the broken. The werewolves too damaged to live safely among their own kind. For their own good, they have been exiled to the outskirts of Aspen Creek, Montana. Close enough to the Marrok’s pack to have its support; far enough away to not cause any harm.

With their Alpha out of the country, Charles and Anna are on call when an SOS comes in from the fae mate of one such wildling. Heading into the mountainous wilderness, they interrupt the abduction of the wolf–but can’t stop blood from being shed. Now Charles and Anna must use their skills–his as enforcer, hers as peacemaker–to track down the attackers, reopening a painful chapter in the past that springs from the darkest magic of the witchborn…

Charles and Anna are in charge of the Aspen Creek pack while Bran is away.  When Charles gets a cryptic call from one of the pack they call “the wildlings” he and Anna head off to discover what the issue is.  When they arrive they find Jonesy, the husband of one of their wolves beside himself as his wife Hester has been kidnapped and is being held in a cage awaiting transport.  Charles and Anna manage to free the wife, but her captors end up killing her anyway and her husband follows her into death.  While the pack is cleaning up they discover major surveillance on Hester and Jonesy’s home and figure out that someone is after the wildlings.  They also figure out that someone in the pack is a traitor.

Charles, Ann, and a few others head out in pairs to warn the wildlings about Hester and Jonesy’s deaths and the fact that people may be coming for them.  Of course they don’t know if the traitor is a wildling so it’s all pretty sensitive.

I wish that I could give you a bit more information about this book but anything further I tell you would be giving things away and believe me when I tell you that part of the greatness of this book is watching things unfold little by little.  Just an aside: This book runs pretty concurrently with the Mercy Thompson series so if you read that series as well you’ll know exactly when this book takes place as you’re reading.

In Burn Bright, not only do we get wonderful Charles and Anna time, and their werewolf awesomeness, but we also get to see a lot of the pack dynamic at work – especially with Bran gone.  With Charles and Anna we get to see, once again, the incredible bond that has been created between these two and the ease with which they now live.  I loved seeing these two work their magic with each other.  Briggs did an amazing thing when she thought up this pair and she’s not let us down yet.

We also got to see some great pack dynamics and how those worked.  We got a big dose of Asil, which is always good, and I even started to like Leah (Bran’s mate) a tiny, tiny bit. Lol  She still has a long way to go. 🙂

Overall this was a really good read and once I started it, I couldn’t put it down.  Hopefully we won’t have to wait quite as long for the next C & A book.

Rating 4 out of 5  

Alpha & Omega

four-stars


Tagged: , , , , , , ,

Review: Burn Bright by Patricia Briggs

Posted March 6, 2018 by Holly in Reviews | 0 Comments

Review: Burn Bright by Patricia BriggsReviewer: Holly
Burn Bright (Alpha & Omega, #5) by Patricia Briggs
Series: Alpha and Omega #5
Also in this series: Hunting Ground (Alpha & Omega, #2), Fair Game (Alpha & Omega, #3), Cry Wolf (Alpha & Omega, #1), Dead Heat (Alpha & Omega, #4), Alpha & Omega (Alpha & Omega, #0.5), Cry Wolf (Alpha & Omega, #1), Hunting Ground (Alpha & Omega, #2), Burn Bright (Alpha & Omega, #5), Alpha & Omega (Alpha & Omega, #0.5), Cry Wolf (Alpha & Omega, #1)
Publisher: Ace
Publication Date: March 6th 2018
Genres: Urban Fantasy
Pages: 336
Amazon | Barnes & Noble | The Ripped Bodice | Google Play Books
Goodreads
four-stars

In her bestselling Alpha and Omega series, Patricia Briggs “spins tales of werewolves, coyote shifters, and magic and, my, does she do it well” (USATODAY.com). Now mated werewolves Charles Cornick and Anna Latham face a threat like no other–one that lurks too close to home…

They are the wild and the broken. The werewolves too damaged to live safely among their own kind. For their own good, they have been exiled to the outskirts of Aspen Creek, Montana. Close enough to the Marrok’s pack to have its support; far enough away to not cause any harm.

With their Alpha out of the country, Charles and Anna are on call when an SOS comes in from the fae mate of one such wildling. Heading into the mountainous wilderness, they interrupt the abduction of the wolf–but can’t stop blood from being shed. Now Charles and Anna must use their skills–his as enforcer, hers as peacemaker–to track down the attackers, reopening a painful chapter in the past that springs from the darkest magic of the witchborn…

This series runs parallel to the Mercy Thompson series. The events of Burn Bright take place shortly after the events in Silence Fallen, the most recent Mercy Thompson release.

With Bran out of the country, Charles is in charge. When a call comes in from one of the Wildlings – the misfits who aren’t part of the Aspen Creek pack but still fall under the Marrok – asking for help, Charles and Anna head into the mountains to see what they can do. What they find is worse than they could have imagined; Someone is targeting the Wildlings, yes, but it seems to be part of a larger conspiracy that hints at a traitor in the pack. As Charles and Anna work to uncover the details, all signs are pointing to a betrayal that will rock the very foundations of the pack.

I love Charles and Anna. They have a great couple dynamic. They’re supportive of each other, and honest in their dealing with one another. I love that, despite his dominance – or maybe in spite of it – Charles recognizes Anna’s strengths and never tries to stifle her. They’re at their best here as a couple.

The Wildlings have been mentioned in other books, but we didn’t know much about them. I enjoyed stepping outside of the normal pack structure to see some of the misfits Bran has collected over the years. I’ll be honest, I didn’t guess the villain. I knew it wasn’t who was presented as a red herring, but the truth surprised me.

The pack politics and mystery surrounding who’s after the pack was intriguing and kept me engaged. The way Charles and Anna worked together melted my heart. This is definitely another winner from Briggs.

Alpha & Omega Series

Grade: 4.25 out of 5

four-stars


Tagged: , , , , , ,

Review: Hunting Ground by Patricia Briggs

Posted February 18, 2016 by Rowena in Reviews | 0 Comments

Review: Hunting Ground by Patricia BriggsReviewer: Rowena
Hunting Ground (Alpha & Omega, #2) by Patricia Briggs
Series: Alpha and Omega #2
Also in this series: Hunting Ground (Alpha & Omega, #2), Fair Game (Alpha & Omega, #3), Cry Wolf (Alpha & Omega, #1), Dead Heat (Alpha & Omega, #4), Alpha & Omega (Alpha & Omega, #0.5), Cry Wolf (Alpha & Omega, #1), Burn Bright (Alpha & Omega, #5), Burn Bright (Alpha & Omega, #5), Alpha & Omega (Alpha & Omega, #0.5), Cry Wolf (Alpha & Omega, #1)
Publisher: Penguin
Publication Date: August 25th 2009
Point-of-View: Third
Genres: Paranormal Romance
Pages: 304
Amazon | Barnes & Noble | The Ripped Bodice | Google Play Books
Goodreads
four-stars

The first Alpha and Omega novel, Cry Wolf, unlocked the doors to a unique urban landscape in “a great…new werewolf series” (Darque Reviews). In Hunting Ground, #1 New York Times bestselling author Patricia Briggs invites readers to follow her even deeper into that seductive realm of the unknown…

Anna Latham didn’t know how complicated life could be until she became a werewolf. And until she was mated to Charles Cornick, the son—and enforcer—of Bran, the leader of the North American werewolves, she didn’t know how dangerous it could be, either…

Anna and Charles have just been enlisted to attend a summit to present Bran’s controversial proposition: that the wolves should finally reveal themselves to humans. But the most feared Alpha in Europe is dead set against the plan—and it seems like someone else might be, too. When Anna is attacked by vampires using pack magic, the kind of power only werewolves should be able to draw on, Charles and Anna must combine their talents to hunt down whoever is behind it all—or risk losing everything…

I’m reading a lot of Patricia Briggs these days and I can’t say that I’m mad about it. I’m really liking the Alpha & Omega world and Briggs definitely kept the party going in Hunting Ground. Reading these books is like watching my favorite crime show every week. We get the same characters, living in the same world but they’re fighting through something different, fighting a new bad guy every week. I’m kind of addicted to this series.

This book follows Charles and Anna out to Seattle where they’re on business for the Marrok. The Marrok is bringing the werewolves out in the public and he’s the big boss so he can make those kinds of decisions. The Alphas from around the world are coming together in Seattle so that they can voice their concerns and vent their frustrations to Charles who is there on behalf of the Marrok. That’s a lot of Alphas under one roof and with that many dominant wolves together, you know there’s going to be drama.

Charles was prepared for the drama that came with a bunch of Alphas together under one roof. He was also prepared for all of the anger and frustrations about the werewolves coming out to the public. He wasn’t prepared for the vampire attack on Anna and then the other werewolves that followed.

Charles continued to make me all swoony with how Alpha and hot he is in this book and his love for Anna makes me want to hug him for the rest of my life. I adore seeing these two grow in their love for each other in small doses. They’re mated and they both love each other but they’re still learning new things about each other every day and trying to fix their issues …together. I really enjoy the sweet moments between these two because it balances the intense-ness of everything else going on around them.

I love how one moment Charles will say something like this:

“If it would benefit you, I would kill every wolf here. But there are things that you need to do — and interfering with that is not protecting, not in my book. The best way for me to protect you is to encourage you to be able to protect yourself.”

…and then he’ll make me laugh with shit like this:

“Your woman tells me you will hunt me down and eat my marrow while I live.”

“Did she?” Charles looked at her, and she saw the approval in his face. She doubted anyone else would have read anything at all. His voice was a caress, just for her. “Would you like that, love?”

Keeping the romance alive is real between Charles and Anna and I’m so here for that. I’m also here for everything else going on. I really enjoyed trying to figure out who was behind the vampire attacks and I’m happy to say that I knew early on who the big bad was. My senses were tingling from the first but I didn’t guess the motivations behind their actions so there was still loads for me to figure out. I liked how everything came together and I liked all of the new characters that we met in this one.

I’m trying to remember if there was anything that didn’t work for me in this book but I can’t think of anything. This book was another great addition to this series and I immediately started the next book in the series so Briggs did good with this one.

Grade: 4.25 out of 5

Alpha & Omega

four-stars


Tagged: , , , , , , ,