Series: Alpha and Omega

Review: Burn Bright by Patricia Briggs

Posted November 15, 2018 by Rowena in Reviews | 2 Comments

Review: Burn Bright by Patricia BriggsReviewer: Rowena
Burn Bright (Alpha and Omega #5) by Patricia Briggs
Series: Alpha and Omega #5
Also in this series: Hunting Ground (Alpha & Omega, #2), Fair Game (Alpha & Omega, #3), Cry Wolf (Alpha & Omega, #1), Dead Heat (Alpha & Omega, #4), Alpha & Omega (Alpha & Omega, #0.5), Cry Wolf (Alpha & Omega, #1), Hunting Ground (Alpha & Omega, #2), Burn Bright (Alpha & Omega, #5), Burn Bright (Alpha & Omega, #5), Alpha & Omega (Alpha & Omega, #0.5), Cry Wolf (Alpha & Omega, #1)
Publisher: Penguin, Ace
Publication Date: March 6, 2018
Format: eBook
Source: Purchased
Point-of-View: Alternating Third
Genres: Urban Fantasy
Pages: 336
Amazon | Barnes & Noble | The Ripped Bodice | Google Play Books
Goodreads
four-stars

Mated werewolves Charles Cornick and Anna Latham face a threat like no other--one that lurks too close to home...

They are the wild and the broken. The werewolves too damaged to live safely among their own kind. For their own good, they have been exiled to the outskirts of Aspen Creek, Montana. Close enough to the Marrok's pack to have its support; far enough away to not cause any harm.

With their Alpha out of the country, Charles and Anna are on call when an SOS comes in from the fae mate of one such wildling. Heading into the mountainous wilderness, they interrupt the abduction of the wolf--but can't stop blood from being shed. Now Charles and Anna must use their skills--his as enforcer, hers as peacemaker--to track down the attackers, reopening a painful chapter in the past that springs from the darkest magic of the witchborn...

Patricia Briggs keeps delivering fabulously suspenseful stories for this series and I am so here for it all. Burn Bright is the fifth book in the Alpha & Omega series and it follows Charles and Anna as they try to figure out who is trying to harm their own.

When the Marrock goes out of town, Charles and Anna are on duty so they’re there when an SOS goes out for one of their own. Someone is out for the wild and the broken wolves who don’t live with the rest of the pack. The ones that are too dangerous to keep close. Charles and Anna get to work on trying to figure out what’s going on, who’s gunning for these wildling wolves, all while trying to hold their pack together with the Marrock away. Things prove to be a bit much for them because the more they find out, the more they need their fearless leader and with him not being available to help, Charles and Anna must keep it together for everyone.

Charles and Anna are probably my favorite couple from this world. I love Mercy and Adam but Charles and Anna really get my heart pounding. I love how fiercely the love each other and how well they work together. They don’t need to be in each other’s pocket all the time and their bond is an interesting one. I love that they can talk to each other in their minds and that there is nothing that they wouldn’t do for each other. I love that they will each drop whatever they’re doing if the other needs them and I love that Anna is comfortable reaching out to Charles for help.

This book was super interesting because we get more from Leah, the Marrock’s mate that nobody likes and though I still didn’t like her in the end, I was glad to know more about her. I couldn’t read this book fast enough to find out who the bad guy was. I liked how Patricia Briggs pulled on one string throughout the entire book and just kept right on pulling on that string until everything finally unraveled. I was kept guessing throughout the whole story and in the end, I was relieved and satisfied with how everything turned out. This was another great addition to this series and I low key don’t want this series to ever end. Charles and Anna forever!

Grade: 4.25 out of 5

Alpha & Omega

four-stars


Tagged: , , , , , , ,

Summer Reading Challenge Review: Cry Wolf by Patricia Briggs

Posted September 10, 2018 by Casee in Reviews | 1 Comment

Summer Reading Challenge Review: Cry Wolf by Patricia BriggsReviewer: Casee
Cry Wolf (Alpha & Omega, #1) by Patricia Briggs
Series: Alpha and Omega #1
Also in this series: Hunting Ground (Alpha & Omega, #2), Fair Game (Alpha & Omega, #3), Cry Wolf (Alpha & Omega, #1), Dead Heat (Alpha & Omega, #4), Alpha & Omega (Alpha & Omega, #0.5), Cry Wolf (Alpha & Omega, #1), Hunting Ground (Alpha & Omega, #2), Burn Bright (Alpha & Omega, #5), Burn Bright (Alpha & Omega, #5), Alpha & Omega (Alpha & Omega, #0.5), Burn Bright (Alpha and Omega #5)
Publisher: Ace Books
Publication Date: August 1, 2008
Point-of-View: Third
Genres: Paranormal Romance
Pages: 294
Amazon | Barnes & Noble | The Ripped Bodice | Google Play Books
Goodreads
four-stars

Anna never knew werewolves existed, until the night she survived a violent attack... and became one herself. After three years at the bottom of the pack, she'd learned to keep her head down and never, ever trust dominant males. Then Charles Cornick, the enforcer—and son—of the leader of the North American werewolves, came into her life.

Charles insists that not only is Anna his mate, but she is also a rare and valued Omega wolf. And it is Anna's inner strength and calming presence that will prove invaluable as she and Charles go on the hunt in search of a rogue werewolf—a creature bound in magic so dark that it could threaten all of the pack.

It is recommended you read the prequel "Alpha & Omega" before reading Cry Wolf.

Patricia Briggs, where have you been all my life? Okay, I take full responsibility for not listening to Holly & Rowena discovering you sooner. I mean, what is wrong with me? You write exactly what I love to read. Intense paranormal romance with really interesting secondary characters as well as a raging bitch thrown in for good measure. What’s not to love about this series? Well there is one thing, but it’s not that big of a deal because this particular situation is fluid. Organic. Every changing.

In Cry Wolf, we pick up right where we left off in Alpha & Omega. The Marrok has brought Charles and Anna home to Montana. Charles is severely injured after being shot in Chicago. He took a bullet to save Anna’s life and uncovered a conspiracy that left one of the Chicago packs in ruins. He also discovered his mate. A brutalized omega wolf, Anna has zero self-confidence, self-esteem, self-anything really. She thinks she’s a waste of the air she breathes. That was my main problem with the book. Anna’s timidity got tiresome. Girl, you’re a kick ass omega werewolf with a bad ass mate. Chin up. Well, chin up she did but it didn’t happen until toward the end of the book.

I actually messaged Holly when I was about halfway through the book and asked her if the whole book was as slow was the first half was. Because it was slow. Lots of world building and people meeting. It wasn’t bad per se, it was just…slow. I loved meeting Asil, Sage, and getting to know Bran (The Marrok & Charles’ father) better. It was so clear that the people of the Marrok’s Montana pack were extremely close. The responsibility of being the Marrok weighed heavily on Bran and Bran leaned heavily on Charles. Charles was his enforcer. When there was a rogue werewolf, Charles would go after the rogue and dispense justice if so needed.

Now there is a rogue in the mountains of Montana. Too close to home for Charles’ comfort. He doesn’t think it’s a fluke that there is a rogue wolf in the Marrok’s backyard. This wouldn’t be the first time that someone made a play for his father’s power. It also wouldn’t be the last. Against his own wishes, his father orders him to take Anna with him. Taking Anna with him is the last thing he wants to do, but he can’t turn down a direct order from his father. What they discover in the mountains is truly something far more evil that Charles expected to find and he’s not sure either he or Anna will make it out alive. However he’s never been more determined to try.

Anna is calmed when she is in Charles presence. She and her wolf. The memory of the rapes and beatings that happened while she was a member of her former pack were hazy. Her wolf protected her by coming to the forefront. Still, Anna knows to keep her eyes down and opinions to herself. That’s until Charles. Something happens when she’s with him. Even when he loses his temper, Anna knows that he would never hurt her. She knows he doesn’t want her help hunting down the rogue, but it immediately apparent that the situation isn’t what it first seemed to be. Not only that, but it’s only Anna that can save Charles and possibly the Marrok’s entire North American pack from the black witch that has come to play.

Oh, my heart broke for Anna. When she realized she had no other place to go? clutching heart I felt for her so hard. This book had all the feels, even if it didn’t have all the action. There was plenty of action about the last 15-20% (Kindle reader here) of the book.

So why haven’t you picked this book up yet?

Rating: 4 out of 5.

Alpha & Omega

four-stars


Tagged: , , , , , , ,

Summer Reading Challenge Review: Alpha & Omega by Patricia Briggs

Posted September 5, 2018 by Casee in Reviews | 3 Comments

Summer Reading Challenge Review: Alpha & Omega by Patricia BriggsReviewer: Casee
Alpha & Omega (Alpha & Omega, #0.5) by Patricia Briggs
Series: Alpha and Omega #0.5
Also in this series: Hunting Ground (Alpha & Omega, #2), Fair Game (Alpha & Omega, #3), Cry Wolf (Alpha & Omega, #1), Dead Heat (Alpha & Omega, #4), Alpha & Omega (Alpha & Omega, #0.5), Cry Wolf (Alpha & Omega, #1), Hunting Ground (Alpha & Omega, #2), Burn Bright (Alpha & Omega, #5), Burn Bright (Alpha & Omega, #5), Cry Wolf (Alpha & Omega, #1), Burn Bright (Alpha and Omega #5)
Publisher: Berkley Books
Publication Date: October 1, 2008
Point-of-View: Third
Genres: Paranormal Romance
Pages: 86
Amazon | Barnes & Noble | The Ripped Bodice | Google Play Books
Goodreads
four-half-stars

In "Cry Wolf," New York Times bestselling author Patricia Briggs started a new urban fantasy series set in the world of Mercy Thompson but with rules of it's own. Now, read the eSpecial, Alpha and Omega, the novella that inspired the new series, and see how it all began. Anna Latham never knew werewolves existed, until the night she survived a violent attack and became one herself. After three years at the bottom of the Chicago pack, she's learned to keep her head down and never, ever trust dominant males. But when she discovers wrongdoing in her pack, she has to go above her Alpha's head to ask for help. Charles Cornick is the son and enforcer of the leader of the North American werewolves. Now his father has sent him to Chicago to clean up a problem there. Charles never expected to find Anna, a rare Omega wolf and he certainly never expected to recognize her as his mate

This is a short little review to go with a short little book.

I must have been living under a rock to have missed this author. I know the Mercy Thompson series is in first person and that is most likely the reason that I missed this series entirely. I really liked this book. It was the perfect beginning to a really good series.

Anna is a werewolf that hates being a werewolf. She’s been a werewolf for three years and those three years have been hell. She’s a submissive wolf and her alpha has taken it upon himself to pass her around his pack at his discretion. It’s only when Anna decides she can’t take it any longer and tries to take her own life that Leo puts out the word to keep hands off Anna.

When Anna sees a news article about a missing person, she knows she saw the person at Leo’s house. As a werewolf. Which is against werewolf law. She calls the Marrok, who is the alpha of all North America werewolves and reports what’s happening. He, in turn, sends his son Charles. Charles is his father’s enforcer, also known as his pet killer. Charles recognizes Anna for who she really is the second he’s in her vicinity. She’s an Omega. A rare werewolf that can calm the emotions of even a rogue. She’s also his mate.

I just really liked this book. I liked how it introduced me into this world of Charles and Anna. I wasn’t a big fan of Anna because she’s such a wimp, but it was with good reason which is why it was acceptable.

Rating: 4.5 out of 5.

Alpha & Omega

four-half-stars


Tagged: , , , , , , ,

Guest Review: Burn Bright by Patricia Briggs

Posted April 11, 2018 by Tracy in Reviews | 6 Comments

Guest Review: Burn Bright by Patricia BriggsReviewer: Tracy
Burn Bright (Alpha & Omega, #5) by Patricia Briggs
Series: Alpha and Omega #5
Also in this series: Hunting Ground (Alpha & Omega, #2), Fair Game (Alpha & Omega, #3), Cry Wolf (Alpha & Omega, #1), Dead Heat (Alpha & Omega, #4), Alpha & Omega (Alpha & Omega, #0.5), Cry Wolf (Alpha & Omega, #1), Hunting Ground (Alpha & Omega, #2), Burn Bright (Alpha & Omega, #5), Alpha & Omega (Alpha & Omega, #0.5), Cry Wolf (Alpha & Omega, #1), Burn Bright (Alpha and Omega #5)
Publisher: Ace
Publication Date: March 6th 2018
Format: eARC
Genres: Urban Fantasy
Pages: 336
Amazon | Barnes & Noble | The Ripped Bodice | Google Play Books
Goodreads
four-stars

They are the wild and the broken. The werewolves too damaged to live safely among their own kind. For their own good, they have been exiled to the outskirts of Aspen Creek, Montana. Close enough to the Marrok’s pack to have its support; far enough away to not cause any harm.

With their Alpha out of the country, Charles and Anna are on call when an SOS comes in from the fae mate of one such wildling. Heading into the mountainous wilderness, they interrupt the abduction of the wolf–but can’t stop blood from being shed. Now Charles and Anna must use their skills–his as enforcer, hers as peacemaker–to track down the attackers, reopening a painful chapter in the past that springs from the darkest magic of the witchborn…

Charles and Anna are in charge of the Aspen Creek pack while Bran is away.  When Charles gets a cryptic call from one of the pack they call “the wildlings” he and Anna head off to discover what the issue is.  When they arrive they find Jonesy, the husband of one of their wolves beside himself as his wife Hester has been kidnapped and is being held in a cage awaiting transport.  Charles and Anna manage to free the wife, but her captors end up killing her anyway and her husband follows her into death.  While the pack is cleaning up they discover major surveillance on Hester and Jonesy’s home and figure out that someone is after the wildlings.  They also figure out that someone in the pack is a traitor.

Charles, Ann, and a few others head out in pairs to warn the wildlings about Hester and Jonesy’s deaths and the fact that people may be coming for them.  Of course they don’t know if the traitor is a wildling so it’s all pretty sensitive.

I wish that I could give you a bit more information about this book but anything further I tell you would be giving things away and believe me when I tell you that part of the greatness of this book is watching things unfold little by little.  Just an aside: This book runs pretty concurrently with the Mercy Thompson series so if you read that series as well you’ll know exactly when this book takes place as you’re reading.

In Burn Bright, not only do we get wonderful Charles and Anna time, and their werewolf awesomeness, but we also get to see a lot of the pack dynamic at work – especially with Bran gone.  With Charles and Anna we get to see, once again, the incredible bond that has been created between these two and the ease with which they now live.  I loved seeing these two work their magic with each other.  Briggs did an amazing thing when she thought up this pair and she’s not let us down yet.

We also got to see some great pack dynamics and how those worked.  We got a big dose of Asil, which is always good, and I even started to like Leah (Bran’s mate) a tiny, tiny bit. Lol  She still has a long way to go. 🙂

Overall this was a really good read and once I started it, I couldn’t put it down.  Hopefully we won’t have to wait quite as long for the next C & A book.

Rating 4 out of 5  

Alpha & Omega

four-stars


Tagged: , , , , , , ,

Review: Burn Bright by Patricia Briggs

Posted March 6, 2018 by Holly in Reviews | 0 Comments

Review: Burn Bright by Patricia BriggsReviewer: Holly
Burn Bright (Alpha & Omega, #5) by Patricia Briggs
Series: Alpha and Omega #5
Also in this series: Hunting Ground (Alpha & Omega, #2), Fair Game (Alpha & Omega, #3), Cry Wolf (Alpha & Omega, #1), Dead Heat (Alpha & Omega, #4), Alpha & Omega (Alpha & Omega, #0.5), Cry Wolf (Alpha & Omega, #1), Hunting Ground (Alpha & Omega, #2), Burn Bright (Alpha & Omega, #5), Alpha & Omega (Alpha & Omega, #0.5), Cry Wolf (Alpha & Omega, #1), Burn Bright (Alpha and Omega #5)
Publisher: Ace
Publication Date: March 6th 2018
Genres: Urban Fantasy
Pages: 336
Amazon | Barnes & Noble | The Ripped Bodice | Google Play Books
Goodreads
four-stars

In her bestselling Alpha and Omega series, Patricia Briggs “spins tales of werewolves, coyote shifters, and magic and, my, does she do it well” (USATODAY.com). Now mated werewolves Charles Cornick and Anna Latham face a threat like no other–one that lurks too close to home…

They are the wild and the broken. The werewolves too damaged to live safely among their own kind. For their own good, they have been exiled to the outskirts of Aspen Creek, Montana. Close enough to the Marrok’s pack to have its support; far enough away to not cause any harm.

With their Alpha out of the country, Charles and Anna are on call when an SOS comes in from the fae mate of one such wildling. Heading into the mountainous wilderness, they interrupt the abduction of the wolf–but can’t stop blood from being shed. Now Charles and Anna must use their skills–his as enforcer, hers as peacemaker–to track down the attackers, reopening a painful chapter in the past that springs from the darkest magic of the witchborn…

This series runs parallel to the Mercy Thompson series. The events of Burn Bright take place shortly after the events in Silence Fallen, the most recent Mercy Thompson release.

With Bran out of the country, Charles is in charge. When a call comes in from one of the Wildlings – the misfits who aren’t part of the Aspen Creek pack but still fall under the Marrok – asking for help, Charles and Anna head into the mountains to see what they can do. What they find is worse than they could have imagined; Someone is targeting the Wildlings, yes, but it seems to be part of a larger conspiracy that hints at a traitor in the pack. As Charles and Anna work to uncover the details, all signs are pointing to a betrayal that will rock the very foundations of the pack.

I love Charles and Anna. They have a great couple dynamic. They’re supportive of each other, and honest in their dealing with one another. I love that, despite his dominance – or maybe in spite of it – Charles recognizes Anna’s strengths and never tries to stifle her. They’re at their best here as a couple.

The Wildlings have been mentioned in other books, but we didn’t know much about them. I enjoyed stepping outside of the normal pack structure to see some of the misfits Bran has collected over the years. I’ll be honest, I didn’t guess the villain. I knew it wasn’t who was presented as a red herring, but the truth surprised me.

The pack politics and mystery surrounding who’s after the pack was intriguing and kept me engaged. The way Charles and Anna worked together melted my heart. This is definitely another winner from Briggs.

Alpha & Omega Series

Grade: 4.25 out of 5

four-stars


Tagged: , , , , , ,