Publisher: St. Martin's Press

What Are You Reading? (+ Anna Bennett Giveaway)

Posted February 15, 2019 by Holly in Features, Giveaways | 12 Comments

Casee: I’m currently reading Keep Me Safe (Slow Burn #1) by Maya Banks. This is the 7th book that I’ve read by Maya Banks in the last two weeks or so. I have no idea why I have been glomming her, but it’s happening nonetheless. I haven’t really come up with anything else I want to read. I was thinking about trying Kristen Ashley. I’m more into contemporaries right now rather than paranormals. Then again, I was also thinking about start the Ravenels by Lisa Kleypas. Shocking, right?

I’ve been listening to some amazing books. I listened to Sweet Sinful Nights by Lauren Blakely. I am really loving this author. I also listened to The Madness of Lord Ian Mackenzie by Jennifer Ashley. Holy shit, that book is amazing. It’s been a long, long time since I’ve read a historical and I am so glad that I started back up with this one. It was a reread, but considering it’s been 10 years since I read it, it was like a new read. I’m currently listening to Repeat by Kylie Scott. I’m almost halfway through and am very much enjoying it. Next up is Lady Isabella’s Scandalous Marriage by Jennifer Ashley. I can’t wait.

Holly: I have a book hangover from Repeat by Kylie Scott. I picked it up on a whim and it was so good I’ve been telling everyone about it. It’s my first 5 star read in several years. I just want to listen to it on repeat (you see what I did there?). Aside from that I finished my re-read of The Madness of Lord Ian Mackenzie by Jennifer Ashley and I re-read Sweet Dreams (currently $1.99 for Kindle) and Fairytale Come Alive by Kristen Ashley.

I’m currently listening to Dirty by Kylie Scott and reading The Risk by Elle Kennedy.

Rowena: It’s been such a long week for me. It’s been pretty slow at work so I’m getting a lot of blog work done and I’ve actually been doing a lot of reading there as well. I read The Assist (Smart Jocks #1) by Rebecca Jenshak and that was a good one though there were things that were problematic for me then I jumped right into Huge Deal (21 Wall Street #3) by Lauren Layne the minute it jumped onto my kindle because how could I not? It’s Kennedy and Kate’s book! Needless to say, I freaking loved it.

After that, I read River Marked (Mercy Thompson #6) by Patricia Briggs and really enjoyed that one, I listened to The Madness of Lord Ian Mackenzie (Mackenzies & McBrides #1) by Jennifer Ashley and enjoyed that one as well. Now, I’m reading Only a Breath Apart by Katie McGarry to finish out my January review pile (I got this one after I finished my January review books) and then I’ll be moving on to Bad Bachelor (Bad Bachelor #1) by Stefanie London.

Giveaway Alert

We are very fortunate here at Book Binge. We have loads and loads of books to read and we want to share the wealth so each week, we’ll be tacking on a Freebie Friday giveaway to our What Are You Reading posts. This week, we’re giving away…

What Are You Reading? (+ Anna Bennett Giveaway)The Rogue Is Back in Town by Anna Bennett
Series: The Wayward Wallflowers #3
Also in this series: My Brown-Eyed Earl, The Rogue Is Back in Town
Publisher: St. Martin's Press
Publication Date: January 2, 2018
Format: Print
Genres: Historical Romance
Pages: 352
Add It: Goodreads
Amazon | Barnes & Noble | The Ripped Bodice | Google Play Books
Series Rating: four-stars

Hide your daughters and your maiden aunts…Lord Samuel Travis is back.―The London Hearsay, special society edition

Equal parts scoundrel and seducer, he’s returned to London determined to mend the rift with his older brother. All Sam must do is take possession of a tumbledown town house. A seemingly simple task, except the house is occupied—by an infuriating, whip-smart beauty who refuses to do his bidding.

Miss Juliette Lacey’s wallflower days are over. She has a plan to turn her eccentric family into the toast of the ton—but the devilishly handsome rake trying to oust them from their home thwarts her at every turn. How can one man be so vexing and make her simmer with desire?

As her attraction to Sam deepens, Julie’s problems grow—she may have, once upon a time, secretly shared a kiss with his honorable older brother. Suddenly, Julie’s caught between a rogue and a marquess, between passion and respectability. Torn between two brothers, what’s a girl to do?

What Are You Reading: The Rogue is Back in Town

What are you reading this week? Any new favorites or books that drove you crazy? Share!


Tagged: , , , ,

What Are You Reading? (+ Suzanne Enoch Giveaway)

Posted February 8, 2019 by Rowena in Features, Giveaways | 12 Comments

Casee: I’m on a Maya Banks kick right now. I finished her Enforcers series and am now reading the Breathless series. I’m reading Fever, which is the second book. What’s weird is that I’m pretty sure I’ve read the first two books, but I don’t remember reading the third. Then again I didn’t think I read the second one so who knows.

I just finished Sweet Sinful Seduction by Lauren Blakely on audio. I started listening to The Madness of Lord Ian Mackenzie by Jennifer Ashley and am really enjoying it. I haven’t read a historical is years. This one is a great one to get me back into them.

Holly: I didn’t read much this week. It seemed to take forever for me to get through Free by Kristen Ashley. The book was a hot mess. I was really looking forward to Rush’s story, and seeing how the series was wrapped up. Sadly, it was just a collection of chapters that made little sense to the overall storyarc but gave us glimpses at the couples and/or villains from previous books. I almost DNF’d it, but I wanted to see it through. Had it been about 300 pages shorter, with 5 less POV changes, it would have been a pretty decent book.

I DNF’d the audio of Wild Irish Heart by Tricia O’Malley. I ended up downloading the ebook (currently free for Kindle) because I think I’ll like the story. I kept getting frustrated with the heroine, but I’m pretty sure it’s because of the inflection and emphasis the narrator used. We shall see.

I’m currently about halfway through Devil’s Daughter by Lisa Kleypas, and it.is.amazing. I’m already in love with West, Phoebe and her son Justin. SO.MUCH.LOVE. I’m listening to The Madness of Lord Ian Mackenzie by Jennifer Ashley.

Rowena: I got some reading done this week so that’s always a good thing. I finished Devil’s Daughter by Lisa Kleypas and that was just as delightful as I was expecting. West and Phoebe were a bomb ass couple and I adored every minute of their romance. While I was reading Devil’s Daughter, an eARC of The Risk by Elle Kennedy showed up on my Kindle so I immediately jumped on that mess once I finished with West and Phoebe. Like, immediately jumped into it. I finished Devil’s Daughter around midnight and stayed up for another couple of hours to make some headway into The Risk before taking my ass to sleep. I finished Jake and Bren’s book that same day and just like with Phoebe and West, I loved the hell out of Jake and Bren, even when I wanted to kick Jake in the balls.

Now, I’m reading The Assist by Rebecca Jenshak and so far, it’s okay. I hope it picks up some though. Wish me luck!

Giveaway Alert

We are very fortunate here at Book Binge. We have loads and loads of books to read and we want to share the wealth so each week, we’ll be tacking on a Freebie Friday giveaway to our What Are You Reading posts. This week, we’re giving away…

What Are You Reading? (+ Suzanne Enoch Giveaway)A Devil in Scotland (No Ordinary Hero, #3) by Suzanne Enoch
Series: No Ordinary Hero #3
Also in this series: Hero in the Highlands, My One True Highlander, A Devil in Scotland
Publisher: St. Martin's Press
Publication Date: January 30, 2018
Format: Print
Source: Publisher
Point-of-View: Alternating Third
Genres: Historical Romance
Pages: 311
Add It: Goodreads
Amazon | Barnes & Noble | The Ripped Bodice | Google Play Books
Series Rating: four-stars

The dawning of desire...

1806, Scotland: Wild, reckless Callum MacCreath is in no hurry to become someone’s husband. But when his responsible, steady older brother Ian announces his engagement to their childhood friend Rebecca, Callum makes a startling discovery: he wants the lovely young lass for himself. But it’s too late, and when Ian banishes him for his duplicity, he’s only too happy to leave Scotland forever…

...is delicious and dangerous.

1816: Marrying Ian was the practical, logical thing for Becca to do. But once Callum sailed away to America, she missed his rakish charm and lust for life. Now, ten years later, Becca is a widow when a much-changed Callum returns to his Scottish homeland. Will he remember their spirited, fiery connection, or does he blame her for his brother’s unexpected death? This time neither of them can deny their scorching attraction, but will their hearts be burned in the blazing heat of scandal?

What Are You Reading: A Devil in Scotland

What are you reading this week? Any new favorites or books that drove you crazy? Share!


Tagged: , , ,

Guest Review: Kiss the Girl by Tara Sivec

Posted February 6, 2019 by Tracy in Reviews | 3 Comments

Guest Review: Kiss the Girl by Tara SivecReviewer: Tracy
Kiss the Girl by Tara Sivec
Series: Naughty Princess Club #3
Also in this series: At the Stroke of Midnight, In Bed with the Beast
Publisher: Swerve
Publication Date: September 4, 2018
Format: eBook
Source: Library
Point-of-View: First Person
Genres: Contemporary Romance
Pages: 304
Add It: Goodreads
Amazon | Barnes & Noble | The Ripped Bodice | Google Play Books
four-stars
Series Rating: four-stars

A struggling antiques collector finds herself falling in love with a millionaire playboy; but can she ever be a part of his world?

Meet the Naughty Princess Club, a series from USA Today bestselling author Tara Sivec that brings readers to Fairytale Lane and the hilarity—and romance—that three women fall into once they decide to strut their stuff and bring on their own happily ever after.

While her friends have broken free of their insecurities, Ariel Waters is struggling to come out of her shell. Her ex-husband took away her voice and her self-confidence, and Ariel is drowning under a sea of debt to afford the alimony she has to pay him. She refuses to ever fall for a man’s charms again, and is determined to make her own way.

When her house and her beloved antiques are taken by the bank after too many missed payments, Ariel finds herself adrift until the infuriatingly charming Eric Sailor comes to her rescue. Although she can’t stand the millionaire playboy, Eric’s kindness and unconditional support reveal hidden depths and a love that Ariel never imagined she could find.

But there are outside influences who will stop at nothing to keep them apart; can Ariel and Eric weather the storm and find a way to be together?

Ariel is part owner of the Naughty Princess Club.  It’s a stripping business that’s doing very well.  The other two partners, Cindy and Belle, are stripping constantly, but Ariel hasn’t exactly found her stripping mojo yet.

Ariel had been married and her ex-husband turned out to be a complete bastard.  He’d taken Ariel’s self-confidence and stomped it into the ground, then left her.  Not only that, but then he made her pay him alimony!  Because of Ariel’s debts she loses her house – with all of her wonderful antiques inside.  Luckily her friends and their husbands help her out – along with Eric.  Eric rubs Ariel the wrong way, but when he gives her one of his yachts to live on, she’s incredibly grateful.  If she has a wonderfully nasty dream about him a time or two, it’s only understandable since he’s in the yacht right next door, right?

When Ariel’s house woes were happening she was supposed to be filing the Naughty Princess Club’s business license.  Since she missed the deadline, it has to go to committee.  The horrible woman she talks to at the licensing office, Ursula, doesn’t give her much hope that their license will be approved.  Especially when she finds out there’s more to Ursula’s venom than Ariel firsts thought.  Can Ariel save the NPC and can she do it while falling in love with Eric?

This was just as cute as the first two books in the series.  It didn’t have as much to do with actual stripping as books 1 and 2, but it was still good.

I LOVED Ariel!  She was mouthy and irreverent, and I adored it.  Is that always a good thing? No, but in this story, it absolutely worked for the character. She made me laugh out loud more than once, that’s for sure. I also loved that Eric loved her mouthiness, fire and passion as well.  He was such a good guy and so very patient.

The conflict with Ursula, I felt, was well done and a bit unexpected.  The fact that Eric never hesitated to take Ariel’s side just endeared him to me ever more.

Overall this was a good story and it was a great series.  Fun, light-hearted, and full of girl power.

Rating: 4 out of 5

Naughty Princess Club

four-stars


Tagged: , , , , , , ,

What Are You Reading? (+ Laura Trentham Giveaway)

Posted February 1, 2019 by Casee in Features, Giveaways | 11 Comments

Casee: I’m on a Maya Banks kick right now. I’m almost finished with the last book in The Enforcers series. Kept may be my favorite book in the series. After I finish that (which I plan to do today) I’m going to read Rush which is the first book in her Breathless series.

I’m still listening to Fireworks by Sarina Bowen. I’m really enjoying it. I have about three hours left and plan to finish it today as well. I haven’t decided what to listen to next. I’m either going to go with The Madness of Lord Ian Mackenzie by Jennifer Ashley or another Lauren Blakely. I haven’t read a historical for years, but someone talked me into getting back into them. (H: You’re welcome!)

Holly: I had another slow reading week. I wanted to read, I just didn’t have time. I usually re-read when I’m pressed for time, but I’m trying to re-read less this year, so I kept it to one book this week. Heart of Obsidian by Nalini Singh. For new books, I read Three Little Words by Jenny Holiday, a new-to-me author. I really enjoyed it. I’ll be searching out more of her books soon.

I listened to Never Deal with Dragons by Lorenda Christensen, another new-to-me author. I enjoyed the narrator and the story, though it was kind of slow in the second half. I tried listening to Ready to Were by Robyn Peterman, but it was way too campy for me. I had to give up when the heroine and her 80 year-old granny got into an actual physical alternation (Granny pulled heroine’s belly button ring out). I can do humor in PNR, but not that level of camp. I also listened to Charming by Dannika Dark, a spin-off of the Seven series. It’s been years since I read the Seven series, so the details were hazy, but most everything came back to me as I read. The heroine frustrated me at times – and all her one-liners got old after awhile – but I enjoyed it for the most part.

I’m currently reading Free by Kristen Ashley, the final book in the Chaos MC series. I’m about 1/4 in and I’m not impressed with all the POV hopping up to this point. The story isn’t bad, but all the jumping around is bothersome. I’m listening to Wild Irish Heart by Tricia O’Malley. It’s a contemporary novel full of Irish mysticism. So far I’m really enjoying it.

Rowena: This week was an okay reading week for me. I listened to From Lukov with Love by Mariana Zapata, which was another fabulous contemporary romance that had me giggly and just happy. I also listened to Thirty Day Boyfriend by Whitney G, which wasn’t nearly as good as Lukov but still enjoyable for the short read that it was. I also read Fame, Fate, and the First Kiss by Kasie West, which wasn’t my favorite from her but still a cute read. Then I read The Scoundrel in Her Bed by Lorraine Heath and that was my favorite read of the week. Finn and Lavinia were great!

Now, I’m jumping into my eARC of Devil’s Daughter by Lisa Kleypas because…West! Yay!! After this, I’ll dive into my TBR pile for this month. We made it out of January everyone, yippy!!

Giveaway Alert

We are very fortunate here at Book Binge. We have loads and loads of books to read and we want to share the wealth so each week, we’ll be tacking on a Freebie Friday giveaway to our What Are You Reading posts. This week, we’re giving away…

What Are You Reading? (+ Laura Trentham Giveaway)When the Stars Come Out (Cottonbloom, #5) by Laura Trentham
Series: Cottonbloom #5
Publisher: St. Martin's Press
Publication Date: January 30, 2018
Format: Print
Genres: Contemporary Romance
Pages: 310
Add It: Goodreads
Amazon | Barnes & Noble | The Ripped Bodice | Google Play Books

Cottonbloom. A beautiful, faraway place where a woman can escape her past—and find reason to stay forever. . .

Willa Brown never planned to stay in Cottonbloom. She was on the way to somewhere else when she landed there and found work at the Abbot brothers’ garage. . .and a sense of comfort and safety that she had never known. The same holds true for Jackson Abbott himself. With one glance in her direction, he can make Willa’s heart melt. But what begins as an unrequited crush turns into something far more powerful than Willa could have ever imagined. . .

Jackson’s most meaningful relationship has always been with his car—and he’s not afraid to admit it. Still, he can’t help but become emotionally entangled with his new star mechanic Willa, who is definitely hiding some dark secrets of her own beneath the hood. Jackson desperately wants Willa to trust him, and to seek protection in his arms. But even as the two slowly surrender to their shared attraction, the danger lurking in Willa’s past remains a stubborn obstacle. Can she open up enough to give them both a chance at having real and lasting love?

What Are You Reading: When the Stars Come Out

What are you reading this week? Any new favorites or books that drove you crazy? Share!


Tagged: , , , ,

Guest Review: The Duke I Once Knew by Olivia Drake

Posted January 29, 2019 by Tracy in Reviews | 0 Comments

Guest Review: The Duke I Once Knew by Olivia DrakeReviewer: Tracy
The Duke I Once Knew by Olivia Drake
Series: Unlikely Duchesses #1
Publisher: St. Martin's Paperbacks
Publication Date: December 31, 2018
Format: eBook
Source: Publisher
Point-of-View: Third Person
Genres: Historical Romance
Pages: 336
Add It: Goodreads
Amazon | Barnes & Noble | The Ripped Bodice | Google Play Books
three-stars
Series Rating: three-stars

When two childhood sweethearts find themselves together after years apart, does their romance have a chance to be rekindled now that he’s a duke and she’s a governess? Olivia Drake’s new Unlikely Duchesses series begins with The Duke I Once Knew, where first love is always the sweetest...

For years, Abigail Linton devoted herself to caring for her parents and her siblings’ children. Now, eager to create a life of her own, Abby seizes upon a position as a governess on a neighboring estate. Unfortunately, her absentee employer is Maxwell Bryce, the Duke of Rothwell, the notorious rake who once broke her youthful heart. But since he hasn’t set foot on his estate for fifteen years, Abby assumes she’ll never have to lay eyes on him ever again. Then, from out of nowhere, Max appears. He is stunned to come face to face with the girl next door he fell for years ago—before he went away, and she stopped writing to him. . .even though Abby swears that he is the one who left her without a word. Could it be that this spirited, witty spinster has won Max’s heart all over again—and that they may have a second chance at love?

Abby and Max were once in love. Abby was 15 and Max just 16 years old.  Unfortunately, after the death of Max’s mother, his father took Max and his sister to live in London.  It’s been 15 years and Max only came back for a very short time to bury his father. Abby though they’d be together forever but since she wrote multiple times and received no reply she got on with her life.

Abby is the youngest of 5 siblings. They were all older and out of the house by the time she was born and it was her pleasure and duty to take care of her aging parents.  She loved them to pieces!  Now that they’re gone, her siblings are all gathered to decide who Abby should live with – basically planning her life.  Abby isn’t having it.  She was happy to take care of her parents but she’s now 30 years old and knows that she’ll never have a husband or family.  It hurts that she can’t control that, but there is something she can control – where she lives.  She heads to the estate next door and applies for the job of governess to Max’s younger sister, Gwen, and gets the position.  She has no fear of Max showing up because he hasn’t been there in 15 years. Of course, he shows up.

Max is on his way to a friends house so that is pugilist champion can have a match with America’s champion.  Unfortunately when they arrive at the friend’s estate they discover that all of the servants have the measles.  Since Max’s estate is so nearby, they decide to stay there.  Max isn’t thrilled to see Abby as he doesn’t have fond memories from 15 years ago. He also wanted to seduce a woman he’d brought with him but he suddenly is only interested in Abby.  The pair soon start to talk and discover a few things about their past.  The question is, can those revelations make a difference for their future?

While I always find Drake’s books enjoyable, this one wasn’t my favorite.  From the moment that the letters are mentioned I knew immediately what had happened.  Despite this misunderstanding there wasn’t much angst except on Max’ part. I felt his reasons for not falling in love again were weak, but maybe that’s just me.  The story was more to the tune of Max and Abby getting to know one another again and rekindling the love they once shared.  It was cute but pretty basic.

Overall a decent read but nothing I haven’t read before.

Rating: 3 out of 5

Unlikely Duchesses

three-stars


Tagged: , , , , , , ,