Publisher: St. Martin's Press

What Are You Reading? (+ Christine Warren Giveaway)

Posted August 10, 2018 by Casee in Features, Giveaways | 5 Comments

WAYR-New

Casee: I just finished Alpha and Omega, which is the prequel to Cry Wolf by Patricia Briggs. I started Cry Wolf last night and am really enjoying it so far. These are two of the books Holly picked for me in the Summer Reading Challenge. I’ve been really lucky with most of the books Holly and Rowena picked for me so I almost feel bad that Holly hated disliked Raphael by D.B. Reynolds. (H: You should feel bad for the JRW book. Shudder)

Holly: I did a lot of re-reading this week. I didn’t have a lot of dedicated reading time and I prefer re-reads when I know I own’t be able to focus. I re-read Play it Safe, Complicated, The Time in Between and Wild Man by Kristen Ashley and The Hook Up by Kristen Callihan. The only new-to-me book I read this week was The Chase by Elle Kennedy. I didn’t love it as much as I thought I would, but it was really good to get back to Briar U.

I’m currently listening to When a Scot Ties the Knot by Tessa Dare. I fell behind in my Tessa Dare reading during my historical hiatus. I’m excited I have so many of her books to look forward to.

Rowena: This week, I finished up Midnight Rainbow by Linda Howard and really enjoyed that one even though it’s hella dated and then I read The Other Side of Lost by Jessi Kirby and enjoyed that one too. The Other Side of Lost made me cry but boy did it also make me take stock of my life and how I’m living. It was a great coming of age novel by Jessi Kirby and I’m super glad that I read it.

Now, I’m reading Down with Love by Kate Meader and I’m not far into it but I’m looking forward to getting it read so that I can keep chugging along on my review pile. I’m so behind and I’m scrambling to keep up. Wish me luck!

Giveaway Alert

We are very fortunate here at Book Binge. We have loads and loads of books to read and we want to share the wealth so each week, we’ll be tacking on a Freebie Friday giveaway to our What Are You Reading posts. This week, we’re giving away…

What Are You Reading? (+ Christine Warren Giveaway)Hard Breaker (Gargoyles #6) by Christine Warren
Series: Gargoyles #6
Published by St. Martin's Press
Publication Date: October 31, 2017
Point-of-View: Third
Genres: Paranormal Romance
Pages: 336
Amazon | Barnes & Noble | The Ripped Bodice | Google Play Books
Goodreads

From New York Times bestselling author Christine Warren comes the sixth book in her red-hot romance series in which even the most beastly gargoyle is able to win the heart of a beautiful human woman.

Ivy Beckett has a special gift. She can hear voices, feel events, and receive messages from great distances. Which is also a curse. The moment her family is killed by the servants of the Darkness, she knows it. And the only way to fight these evil forces is to align her powers with a Guardian. A legendary warrior of stone who strikes fear in her heart―and fire in her soul…

Baen is a fierce and powerful gargoyle who has sworn to protect all humans from the Darkness. But when this mighty winged warrior swoops down to rescue Ivy from the jaws of death, he is drawn into a battle that is more dangerous―and more intimate―than he ever bargained for. The beautiful, gifted Ivy touches something deep within him, an all-consuming passion that puts both their lives at risk. Can he conquer the armies of evil itself . . . without losing the woman he loves?

 
 
 

What Are You Reading: Hard Breaker

What are you reading this week? Any new favorites or books that drove you crazy? Share!


Tagged: , , , ,

Review: Every Time You Go Away by Beth Harbison

Posted August 7, 2018 by Rowena in Reviews | 1 Comment

Review: Every Time You Go Away by Beth HarbisonReviewer: Rowena
Every Time You Go Away by Beth Harbison
Published by St. Martin's Press
Publication Date: July 25, 2017
Point-of-View: First, Third
Genres: Women's Fiction
Pages: 336
Amazon | Barnes & Noble | The Ripped Bodice | Google Play Books
Goodreads
three-stars

In New York Times bestselling author Beth Harbison's most emotional novel ever, a fractured family must come together at a beach house haunted by the past.

Willa has never fully recovered from the sudden death of her husband, Ben. She became an absent mother to her young son, Jamie, unable to comfort him while reeling from her own grief.

Now, years after Ben’s death, Willa finally decides to return to the beach house where he passed. It’s time to move on and put the Ocean City, Maryland house on the market.

When Willa arrives, the house is in worse shape than she could have imagined, and the memories of her time with Ben are overwhelming. They met at this house and she sees him around every corner. Literally. Ben’s ghost keeps reappearing, trying to start conversations with Willa. And she can’t help talking back.

To protect her sanity, Willa enlists Jamie, her best friend Kristin, and Kristin’s daughter Kelsey to join her for one last summer at the beach. As they explore their old haunts, buried feelings come to the surface, Jamie and Kelsey rekindle their childhood friendship, and Willa searches for the chance to finally say goodbye to her husband and to reconnect with her son.

Every Time You Go Away is a heartfelt, emotional story about healing a tragic loss, letting go, and coming together as a family.

This book was a very emotional book and I was expecting emotion but not the drag me down in the pits of despair kind. I was expecting and really wanting a more romantic story where we see a lot of reflection and growth on Willa’s part but this wasn’t that kind of story and that bummed me out. Actually, it was that kind of story but it was a lot more Debbie Downer than I hoped.

So this story is told through Willa and her son Jamie’s POV’s and Willa’s part of the story is told in first person while Jamie’s is in third. That took some getting used to but it did get easier, the more I read so that wasn’t really an issue for me but my romantic heart wanted some kind of romance for Willa but sadly, this is all Women’s Fiction so none of that.

Willa’s husband died and he was the love of her life. Her life is not the same and she’s kind of wandering from day to day with no real idea of what to do now. She’s trying to hold it together for her son Jamie but she’s so consumed with grief that it’s hard for her. She hasn’t returned to the place where he died and doesn’t really want to until the time comes for her to clean that place up and get it sold off so that she can put the past to rest and finally move on toward the future. She enlists her best friend’s help and Jamie and her best friend’s daughter come through to help as well.

This book reminded me of the movie Ghost because Ben shows up to help Willa move on and while I thought it was sweet, the story moved too slow for my liking. I found myself browsing through chapters before digging in to read and normally, I could just jump right in and fall right in but that wasn’t the case with this one. I’m sure that it was probably a mood thing where I wasn’t in the mood for a really heavy, emotional story but I did finish it so that was something. I enjoyed the way that everything came together and I did like the characters and the small romance that we got for Jamie but because the book moved slow and was so heavy, my grade for this one is firmly set in the 3 out of 5 stars camp.

Grade: 3 out of 5

three-stars


Tagged: , , , , ,

Sunday Spotlight: Dark Alpha’s Hunger by Donna Grant

Posted August 5, 2018 by Holly in Features, Giveaways | 1 Comment

Sunday Spotlight is a feature we began in 2016. This year we’re spotlighting our favorite books, old and new. We’ll be raving about the books we love and being total fangirls. You’ve been warned. 🙂

Sunday Spotlight

Sunday Spotlight: Dark Alpha’s Hunger by Donna GrantDark Alpha's Hunger (Reapers) by Donna Grant
Series: Reaper #6
Published by St. Martin's Press
Publication Date: August 7, 2018
Point-of-View: Third
Genres: Paranormal Romance
Amazon | Barnes & Noble | The Ripped Bodice | Google Play Books
Goodreads

Dark Alpha's Hunger is the sixth paranormal romance novel in New York Times bestselling author Donna Grant's Reapers series featuring a brotherhood of elite assassins who wage war on the Fae at Death's behest--and the women who change their hearts.

There is no escaping a Reaper. I am an elite assassin, part of a brotherhood that only answers to Death. And when Death says your time is up, I’m coming for you…

Where Death leads, I follow. Nothing will stop me from my duty – not even the darkness that claims me. It’s the music that leads me from the dark, returning me to my brethren and a new foe that has risen. Learning who hunts Thea could be the key to unraveling what we need to know to defeat our enemy. The Half-Fae’s music stirs a passion within me that I’ve never known. For her, I will break my vow of silence. For her…I will risk everything.

Order the Book:

AMAZON || BARNES AND NOBLE || KOBO

Excerpt

Chapter Two

The bombardment to his senses slowly pulled Eoghan back to consciousness. He dug his fingers into the cool grass and dirt. The soft rush of a breeze over his face cooled his flesh and caused a strand of hair to tickle his cheek.

He remained on his back and took it all in. The beast that had chased him was gone, left behind on that horrendous realm of darkness. It was the music that had lured Eoghan to freedom.

His eyes snapped open as he recalled the woman. He stared at the stars above him in the night sky as he remembered how she had pulled him through the portal. It was by sheer luck alone that he managed to close the portal before the beast got out.

He sat up and looked around. His gaze clashed with the broken dolmen. There were few portal stones left intact – and for very good reason. They were exactly as they were named. Thanks to a few Half-Fae who used what magic they had, mortals had begun crossing into other realms for centuries.

Most were never seen or heard from again.

Eoghan’s thoughts returned to the woman. His head swiveled as he searched for her. Spotting something shining in the grass, he pushed to his knees and leaned forward to grasp the item. He lifted it, staring in confusion at the black cat face earring.

He stilled as he felt something behind him, a stir in the air that sent a warning through his body. He rose to his feet and spun around, his magic ready to launch at his enemy.

But the petite woman standing before him in a black dress with full skirts halted his movements.

“Eoghan,” she said, a slow smiling pulling at her lips.

He dropped to his knees and bowed his head in deference.

A slim finger lifted his chin so he was staring into her lavender eyes. Her long black hair was pulled over her left shoulder into a fishtail braid. “We’ve been searching everywhere for you. I felt powerful magic and came to investigate. I’m delighted to find you. But how did you return?”

He glanced back at the dolman before returning his gaze to Death. There was something different about her. Almost as if she were…diminished.

Her smile was sad as she dropped her hand, her gaze holding his. “I’m dying. Bran is stealing not just my magic, but my life force as well.”

Fury ripped through Eoghan as he got to his feet. How could he have forgotten about Bran? He had to find the other Reapers so they could finish him once and for all.

Erith’s hand on his arm stopped not just his body, but his thoughts as well. He frowned as he looked at her, waiting to hear what she had to say.

Death blew out a soft breath and released him. “I know it was what happened in your past that made you take a vow of silence. You’ve been an invaluable warrior for me and the other Reapers. I don’t know how much time I have left. I no longer have the energy to keep everything going. I have need of you, Eoghan.”

He frowned, not liking her words or her tone. But he waited for her to continue. He owed Erith much, and serving her for eternity was just a small part of it. After his betrayal and death, she gave him life and a reason to continue.

He nodded, letting her know that he was listening.

“I never pushed you to do more than you were willing,” she said. “You were a general in the Light Fae army. You – just like Cael – were born to lead. And that’s what I need you to do now.”

Eoghan shook his head. There was no way he would push Cael out of being leader of the Reapers. Besides, Eoghan had no desire to lead.

“You misunderstand. Cael’s position isn’t in question.” She briefly closed her eyes. “I allowed you and your team to believe you were my only Reapers. Over the years, I’ve been accumulating more betrayed warriors. They work in the shadows as my spies and to back the seven of you, if needed.”

Eoghan was so shocked that he took a step back.

“These Reapers need a leader. They are very good at what they do, but they lack a cohesiveness to work as a group. What they need is you,” she stated.

It was the first time in years that Eoghan wanted to talk. The words jumbled in his head in a mass as he tried to sort out a way to get them out without speaking.

“Bran is about to win,” Death continued in a harsh tone. “I can’t stop him from taking my magic. He’s going to eventually assume my position. And he’s going to wipe out all the Reapers. For now, he has no idea of the other group. I’ve kept them hidden because of this. He believes you’re gone. With you leading the others, you have an advantage over Bran that could stop him.”

How could Eoghan refuse? But not to return to his brethren was going to kill him. Cael and the others were his brothers, his family.

As if reading his mind, she said, “Find Cael. Tell him what you’re doing.”

Eoghan gawked at her. Him? Why wasn’t Death going to fill Cael in?

Her face fell, a flash of regret passing over her features quickly. “You saved Cael from Bran’s magic, but the battle didn’t end. Bran turned Neve’s brother who betrayed and killed her.”

Eoghan nodded in understanding. Talin had fallen hard for the Light Fae, and with Neve’s betrayal and death, she had taken Eoghan’s spot with the Reapers.

“Your brethren have never stopped looking for you. They need to know you’ve returned.” Death gave him a smile. “I knew you would find your way back.”

In the next instant, Erith was gone. Eoghan stared at the spot she had been in for several minutes thinking over all Death had shared – and wondering what she left out.

He fisted his hand that held the cat earring, the back poking into his palm. There was a deep, profound longing to hear the music that had called him back to Earth. Was it the woman who pulled him through the portal that played the music?

He’d only gotten a quick look at her before passing out. Shoulder length blue hair, sienna brown eyes, and a tiny diamond stud in her nose. But even with that brief glimpse, he’d recognized her as a Halfling.

A frown formed when he recalled that he’d spoken to her. He told her to run. And it appeared as if she had done just that. It was for the best. She was much better off far away from him and the war.

Eoghan began walking. It didn’t take him long to realize he was in Ireland. He briefly thought of going to Inchmickery, the small isle off the coast of
Scotland near Edinburgh that the Reapers used as a base, but he wasn’t ready to be among them just yet.

Instead, he veiled himself and teleported to outside of the Light Castle in a copse of trees. And he watched the castle. At one time it had been a beacon for him, a place that he believed would outshine the Dark Fae in all ways. It didn’t matter if it was the castle on Earth or the one on the Fae Realm that was destroyed.

Just because a Fae was Light didn’t mean they couldn’t turn Dark. His wife was a prime example. How had he ever been so blind as to not see that she wanted power? His position had given her just that, but it wasn’t enough for her.

The pain of her betrayal no longer cut as deep after so many thousands of years. It was a dull ache now. But it would never leave him.

Perhaps it was time to put aside his silence. He couldn’t lead the Reapers if he didn’t talk. Damn. This was going to be harder than he thought.

He was about to teleport away when he spotted Rhi off to his left hiding in the trees not far from him. The infamous Light Fae who fell in love with a Dragon King was of interest to Death. So much so that Erith had Daire follow Rhi.

Yet, as Eoghan sought a glimpse of his friend, there was no sign of Daire. A Reaper could see any Fae – veiled or not. Without a second’s thought, Eoghan dropped his veil. Immediately, Rhi’s head jerked to him.

“Eoghan,” she said as she released her veil and walked to him. She looked him over, a grin forming, as she tossed back her long black hair. “We didn’t know what happened to you.” Her smile froze when she looked into his eyes.

He frowned, wondering what caused such a reaction.

“Look, hunky, I’m not a mind reader. I know the human adage of ‘silence is golden’, but not in this instance. I need you to talk to me.”

Eoghan hesitated. He swallowed twice before he asked, “What’s…wrong…with…me?”

“You’re eyes. They’re silver but…different.”

He formed a mirror in his hand and looked into it. Rhi was right. His eyes were silver, but no longer did he have a pupil showing. All that he saw was metallic silver staring back at him.

Rhi wrinkled her nose. “You might want to think of using glamour or wearing sunglasses when around humans.”

He made the mirror vanish and gave her a nod.

“Are you going to tell me how you got back? Where were you?”

“Tonight. Not sure.”

Rhi sighed dramatically. “Well, I guess I should be happy that I’m getting answers. Have you seen the others?”

Eoghan shook his head. “Where’s Daire?”

She shrugged indifferently, but she couldn’t quite hide her pain. “I don’t know. One day he was following me, and then he wasn’t.” Rhi suddenly put her hand on his arm. “I’m glad you’re back. Cael and the others have been beside themselves with worry.”

He didn’t get a chance to reply because she teleported away. Eoghan blew out a breath. It was time he spoke with Cael. He teleported to a cliff on the east side of Ireland and said his old friend’s name.

Within moments, Cael was standing before him. Their gazes met. The relief on Cael’s face made emotion well up in Eoghan’s throat. He’d never had a brother, despite wishing for one. The Reapers were his family, but Cael was like a true brother in every sense of the word.

They embraced before Cael grabbed his shoulders and stepped away to look at him. There was a slight frown when Cael saw his eyes. “Where have you been? How did you get back? When did you get back?”

“One at a time.”

Cael’s smile vanished as he dropped his arms and stared in shock. “You’re speaking?”

“Death said I must.”

All emotion was wiped from Cael’s face. “She spoke with you?”

Copyright © 2018 by Donna Grant in Dark Alpha’s Hunger and reprinted by permission of Swerve.

Reaper

Giveaway Alert

We’re giving one lucky winner their choice of one of our Sunday Spotlight books. Use the Rafflecopter widget below to enter for one of this month’s features.

Sunday Spotlight: August 2018

Are you as excited for this release as we are? Let us know how excited you are and what other books you’re looking forward to this year!

About the Author

Donna Grant Author Photo

Donna Grant

WEBSITE | TWITTER | FACEBOOK | INSTAGRAM | PINTEREST | TUMBLR | GOODREADS

Donna is the New York Times and USA Today bestselling author of over forty-five novels. Her most popular series is the breathtaking Dark King (aka Dragon King) series featuring dragons, immortal Highlanders, and the Fae.

In addition to her novels, Donna has written over forty short stories, novellas, and novelettes for digital-first and print release. She has been dubbed as giving the “paranormal genre a burst of fresh air” by the San Francisco Book Review. Her work has been hailed as having “deft plotting and expert characterization” by Publisher’s Weekly and “sizzling” by RT Book Reviews.

She has been recognized with awards from both bookseller and reader contests including the National Reader’s Choice Award, Booksellers Best Award, as well as the coveted K.I.S.S. Award from RT Book Reviews.

Donna travels often for various speaking engagements, conferences, and book signings. She is also a frequent workshop presenter at national conferences such as RT Book Lovers Convention and Thrillerfest, as well as local chapters.

Born and raised in Texas, she also has ties across the border in Louisiana. Growing up with two such vibrant cultures, her Cajun side of the family taught her the “spicy” side of life while her Texas roots gave her two-steppin’ and bareback riding. She is never far from her faithful 80 pound dog, Sisko, or her three cats. She can often be found at the movies or bookstore with her children. Or buying makeup. And shoes.


Tagged: , , , , ,

Review: The Real Deal by Lauren Blakely

Posted August 2, 2018 by Rowena in Reviews | 2 Comments

Review: The Real Deal by Lauren BlakelyReviewer: Rowena
The Real Deal by Lauren Blakely
Published by St. Martin's Griffin
Publication Date: July 10, 2018
Point-of-View: First
Genres: Contemporary Romance
Pages: 368
Amazon | Barnes & Noble | The Ripped Bodice | Google Play Books
Goodreads
four-stars

Get ready for your next favorite romantic comedy, THE REAL DEAL!

April Hamilton wants you to know she hasn't been on Craigslist since that time she sold her futon after college. She doesn't even spend that much time online. And even if she did, she would not be looking up personal ads. But going home alone for her family's summer reunion is an invitation for every single relative to butt into her personal life. She simply can't handle another blind date with the butcher, the baker or the candlestick maker from her hometown. So when she finds the Craigslist ad for a boyfriend-for-hire, she's ready to pay to play.

Heading Home and Need a Buffer? I'm the REAL DEAL.

Theo Banks has been running from the past for years. He's this close to finally settling all his debts, and one more job as a boyfriend-for-hire will do the trick. He's no gigolo. Please. He's something of an actor, and he knows how to slip into any role, including pretending to be April's new beau -- the bad boy with the heart of gold.

Even if it means sleeping in close quarters in that tiny little bed in her parents' inn. Even if it means spinning tales of a romance that starts to feel all too true. What neither one of them counts on is that amid the egg toss, the arm wrestling, and a fierce game of Lawn Twister that has them tangled up together, they might be feeling the real deal.

She only wanted to show her family once and for all that she had no need to settle down.

He didn't expect to have the time of his life at her parent's home.

They didn't plan on loving every single second of the game.

But can a masterful game of pretend result in true love?

This is the first book that I’ve read by Lauren Blakley and it was a good one. Her writing style was comfortable and easy to follow along with and her characters charmed me right out of my socks, especially Theo.

So April and Theo meet when April hires Theo to be her boyfriend for her family reunion. She loves her family but their matchmaking shenanigans are driving her crazy so she figures if she brings a boyfriend to the family reunion, everyone will lay off. They mean well but they want her to move back home to their small town but she loves being in the big city and she loves the job that they don’t understand so she brings a buffer who ends up being way more than she thought.

Theo has bills to pay and his bill-collector is breathing down his neck so he bartends and does a lot of odds and ends jobs to keep everything together. This next job of pretending to be the bad boy boyfriend at a family reunion will make him enough to finally get over this hump he’s been and he’s eager to get started. He was expecting to play nice and he was expecting to be whatever the client needed but he wasn’t expecting to be so attracted to his client but when he meets April, he keeps forgetting that she’s a client. They’re so in tune with each other that their relationship feels real from the very beginning.

Overall, this story was sweet and I enjoyed getting to know both Theo and April. April’s personality really shined and I thought she was a great heroine. I adored Theo as well and wanted very much to hear his sexy voice. LOL. This book was a lot of fun and if I had a gripe, it would be that their romance never felt fake. Right up at the beginning when they showed up at the family reunion, sparks flew and they just fell in line with their story but even in the privacy of their bedroom, they acted like a real couple. They slept in the same bed like it wasn’t a big deal like it didn’t register with either of them that they were strangers. It was all, good night sweetie, I call first dibs on the shower in the morning. I was able to get over that (I do enjoy a fake romance story) because I was enjoying the chemistry and just them as people so it ended up not being a big deal but still…

This was a solid romance and I enjoyed it.

Grade: 4 out of 5

four-stars


Tagged: , , , , ,

What Are You Reading? (+ Emma Douglas Giveaway)

Posted July 27, 2018 by Casee in Features, Giveaways | 6 Comments

WAYR-New

Casee: Aloha from the beautiful island of Kauai, where I’ve been reading…almost nothing. I’ve been here for seven days and today is the first day that I’ve really sat at the beach and read. The book I’m reading is The Deal by Elle Kennedy and I’m really enjoying it. It was one of Rowena’s picks for me in our Summer Reading Challenge and I have to admit that she really nailed this one.

Holly: I spent the last two weeks on vacation. I had a great time in Alaska, but I didn’t have a lot of reading time. I reread Burn for Me by Ilona Andrews and Heart of Obsidian by Nalini Singh, but that’s it. I hope to finish my Summer Reading Challenge books before the month ends, though. Wish me luck.

Rowena: It’s been a busy week for me so I haven’t read anything or finished anything. I’m hoping that picks up over the weekend though. Pray for me.

Giveaway Alert

We are very fortunate here at Book Binge. We have loads and loads of books to read and we want to share the wealth so each week, we’ll be tacking on a Freebie Friday giveaway to our What Are You Reading posts. This week, we’re giving away…

What Are You Reading? (+ Emma Douglas Giveaway)A Season of You (Cloud Bay, #2) by Emma Douglas
Series: Cloud Bay #2
Published by St. Martin's Press
Publication Date: October 3, 2017
Point-of-View: Third
Genres: Contemporary Romance
Pages: 293
Amazon | Barnes & Noble | The Ripped Bodice | Google Play Books
Goodreads

It's Christmastime in the quaint island town of Cloud Bay, where love is always in season... Will Fraser has believed in love at first sight since the day he first laid eyes on Mina Harper five years ago. There was only one problem: She was happily married. Then, when Mina's husband was killed by a drunk driver, Will figured she'd want nothing to do with a guy who owns a whiskey distillery. So he's kept his feelings locked away, knowing that not even a Christmas miracle would be enough to melt Mina's heart. . . Mina believes her days of true love are behind her. Since losing her husband she's kept to herself, content to do her own painting and stay out of the limelight that comes with her famous family. But when, after a freak accident, Will comes to her rescue, Mina can't quite get him out of her mind. As curiosity turns into a fling during Cloud Bay's first Christmas Festival, she finds it harder to convince herself that her feelings for Will are just mistletoe-inspired. Could Mina be ready to lay the past to rest and finally admit that what she really wants for Christmas--and forever--is Will?

What Are You Reading: A Season of You

What are you reading this week? Any new favorites or books that drove you crazy? Share!


Tagged: , , , ,