Publisher: St. Martin's Press

Throwback Thursday Review: Mine Till Midnight by Lisa Kleypas

Posted April 18, 2019 by Rowena in Reviews | 6 Comments

Throwback Thursday Review: Mine Till Midnight by Lisa KleypasReviewer: Rowena
Mine Till Midnight by Lisa Kleypas
Series: The Hathaways #1
Also in this series: Tempt Me at Twilight, Married By Morning, Love In The Afternoon
Publisher: St. Martin's Press
Publication Date: October 2nd 2007
Format: Print
Source: Purchased
Point-of-View: Alternating Third
Cliffhanger: View Spoiler »
Content Warning: View Spoiler »
Genres: Historical Romance
Pages: 376
Add It: Goodreads
Amazon | Barnes & Noble | The Ripped Bodice | Google Play Books
four-stars
Series Rating: four-stars

When an unexpected inheritance elevates her family to the ranks of the aristocracy, Amelia Hathaway discovers that tending to her younger sisters and wayward brother was easy compared to navigating the intricacies of the ton. Even more challenging: the attraction she feels for the tall, dark, and dangerously handsome Cam Rohan.

Wealthy beyond most men’s dreams, Cam has tired of society’s petty restrictions and longs to return to his “uncivilized” Gypsy roots. When the delectable Amelia appeals to him for help, he intends to offer only friendship—but intentions are no match for the desire that blindsides them both. But can a man who spurns tradition be tempted into that most time-honored arrangement: marriage? Life in London society is about to get a whole lot hotter...

Every Thursday, we’ll be posting throwback reviews of our favorite and not-so-favorite books. Enjoy!

This review was originally posted on October 24, 2007.

In Mine till Midnight, Cam Rohan, the sexy Gypsy man from Devil in Winter get his happily ever after. I remember meeting Cam in DIW, trying to seduce my favorite Wallflower, Daisy. I knew that Cam wasn’t right for Daisy but I knew that he was a man that I wanted to read about in a later book…and that book came a few weeks ago when I picked up this book for Holly and myself at our So Cal Blogger Meet Up. Man, but I was a happy camper when I finally got to sit down and read another Lisa Kleypas book.

Like Meg Cabot, I heart Lisa Kleypas.

She totally rocks my socks.

Lisa scores again big time in my book because she wrote a wonderfully entertaining story about two characters who were so perfect for each other.

Casee already reviewed this book and gave a rundown of the book, here so check hers out, here, I’m going to just jump right into the review…

I already knew I was going to love Cam Rohan and I totally did in this book. I mean, Cam was everything a hero should be. Strong and dependable, sexy as all get out and charming too. I loved the way he loved Amelia, the sweet things he would whisper to her in bed in his native language. I loved the way he took care of her, whisked her problems off of her shoulders and just handled it. He was a man’s man and he took care of his woman and hot damn that is just so effing sexy. I loved the way he was with Amelia’s sisters and most especially, Amelia’s brother, Leo. He dragged Leo where Leo needed to and I just loved how he swooped right into this family and took care of them as if they were already his family. I loved that he did all of that, simply for Amelia.

Say it with me now…..Awwwwwwwwwwwwwwww!

I loved Cam’s jealousy over Christopher Frost, I loved the way Cam was always around to take care of Amelia but also to show her how sexy she was because she totally didn’t see herself the way others did and it was good that Cam brought out her inner wanton wench, hehe. I seriously loved these two.

Amelia was a bossy bit of goods with the weight of the world on her shoulders. She took it upon herself to take care of her younger sisters and to look out for her grieving brother after her parents died and when her brother inherited the Ramsey title. She was so perfect for Cam because he needed a family to take care of, a family to call his own and she, well she needed someone to take care of her for once…and that’s where Cam came in.

I enjoyed the heck out of the Hathaway clan and even though Leo was a major pain in the behind, I liked him. I would enjoy a story between Merripen or “Kev” and Win. They deserve a bit of happiness together, don’t you think? I also rather enjoyed the younger sisters, Beatrix and Poppy, although I did feel bad for Poppy because what kind of name is that? It makes me think of muffins for breakfast, not a beautiful young debutante…but hey, whatever rocks your socks, Amelia’s parents.

Anyway, Lisa Kleypas did a great job of pulling me into this story and taking me on an enjoyable ride. I enjoyed the story, the banter between the hero and the heroine, I enjoyed the secondary characters and storylines and really, I just enjoyed the hell out of this book and I totally recommend this book to those of you guys who have read the Wallflower series, it’s a great addition and lots of fun to read. It was also great to see some recurring characters from the other books in this story as well, even if it wasn’t Derek….hehe.

Kudos to LK for a job well done on this book because it’s a keeper for me for sure!

Grade: 4 out of 5

The Hathaways

four-stars


Tagged: , , , , , , ,

What Are You Reading? (+ Eva Langlais Giveaway)

Posted April 5, 2019 by Rowena in Features, Giveaways | 8 Comments

Casee: I’m reading Mystery Man by Kristen Ashley. Hawk Delgado tho. He’s alpha beyond all alpha. I’m really liking it so far. Even though I am liking it, I am trying to finish it quickly so I can get to The Savior by J.R. Ward. Then I am going to finish that quickly so I can get back to Kristen Ashley. I’m hooked. Addicted. There is no hope for me.

I just finished listening to Magic Bleeds by Ilona Andrews and holy hell. I love this series. I decided I’m going to take a break and go back to it even though I love it. I’m currently listening to Fair Game by Patricia Briggs. It is the third book in the Alpha & Omega series. I’m also loving this series. Audiobooks have been really good to me lately.

Holly: This week I finished Gunmetal Magic and Magic Slays by Ilona Andrews on audio. I’m taking a break from that series now and branching out into some sci-fi. I’m currently reading Dark Planet Warriors by Anna Carven. I started the audiobook, but I wasn’t feeling it so I switched to the KU version instead. So far it’s just okay. I’m about 30% in. I have hope it’ll pick up. I’m currently listening to Touch of Frost by S.E. Smith. I’m only a few chapters in by I’m really intrigued.

Rowena: So this week, I finished When We Left Cuba by Chanel Cleeton and that was another emotional journey that I was super glad to be on. Beatriz Perez was just as awesome as I knew she was going to be and Cleeton continued to impress me with the adventure and angst of Beatriz’s story. So good. I also finished You’d be Mine by Erin Hahn, which was a pretty great debut by Erin Hahn and I’m stoked for that release.

I jumped into The Key to Happily Ever After by Tif Marcelo and Fumbled (The Playbook #2) by Alexa Martin so that’s what I’m reading right now.

Giveaway Alert

We are very fortunate here at Book Binge. We have loads and loads of books to read and we want to share the wealth so each week, we’ll be tacking on a Freebie Friday giveaway to our What Are You Reading posts. This week, we’re giving away…

What Are You Reading? (+ Eva Langlais Giveaway)The Big Alpha in Town by Eve Langlais
Series: Their Furever Mates #5
Publisher: St. Martin's Press
Publication Date: May 15, 2018
Format: Print
Source: Publisher
Genres: Paranormal Romance
Pages: 384
Add It: Goodreads
Amazon | Barnes & Noble | The Ripped Bodice | Google Play Books

Three hot stories about three sexy shifters from a trio of today's hottest paranormal romance authors, headlined by bestselling authors Eve Langlais and Milly Taiden!

Bearing His Name

Meeting his mate should have been cause for celebration. There’s just one teeny tiny problem. Jade thinks Ark might have impregnated her sister. He didn’t, but convincing Jade is going to take a bit of honey.

Owned by the Lion

Keir’s been told to stop playing the field and settle down—difficult advice for a hard and hot man with a lion’s heart to follow. But his sights have always been set on Ally. She’s his mate, plain and simple. With her sweet and delicious curves, she’s nothing but sugar and trouble all rolled into one. But he’s known her and sparred with her for years. She’s his best friend’s little sister, and it’s going to take a whole new level of convincing that he’s the mate for her.

No Need Fur Love

Moving with his pack to the tiny town of Stanley, Idaho has Owen Courtney a little on edge. With literally no women in sight, Owen will be lucky to find a date, let alone his true mate. But you know the saying about a werewolf walking into a bar…Gorgeous wood nymph Mia Oliver is on a mission: Find a suitable male to get her good ‘n pregnant and provide her with an heir. But when Mia decides to pick up a gorgeous and oh-so-willing werewolf at the bar, she realizes she might be in over her head...

What Are You Reading: The Big Alpha in Town

What are you reading this week? Any new favorites or books that drove you crazy? Share!


Tagged: , , ,

What Are You Reading? (+ Keiran Kramer Giveaway)

Posted March 8, 2019 by Casee in Features, Giveaways | 9 Comments

Casee: I am reading Shadow Warrior by Christine Feehan. It’s really good so far and may surpass Shadow Rider as my favorite book of the series. I think that this series may have also surpassed the GhostWalker series as my favorite of Feehan’s series. I’m hoping to finish it today.

I’m listening to Murder of Crows by Anne Bishop which is the second book in The Others series. Holy hell, but this series is amazing. Holly turned me onto it and I was a little hesitant because of the lack of romance. The thing is, there is romance, just not in the way I’m used to. The world that surrounds this series is simply amazing and instantly drew me in. The narrator is phenomenal, possibly one of the best I’ve listened to. I can’t want to get further into the series.

Holly: I had another slow reading week. I don’t know what my problem is, but I can’t seem to focus on reading for very long right now. Let’s hope I get over this soon. I read Wolf Rain by Nalini Singh. It was so good! I also did a re-read of Own the Wind by Kristen Ashley so I can review it with Casee. I started listening to Dane’s Storm by Mia Sheridan on audio, but I didn’t care for the narrators so I downloaded the ebook instead. I’m looking forward to reading it.

I’m currently reading Overnight Sensation by Sarina Bowen. I tried listening to the audio, but the narrators didn’t work for me at all. So far I’m enjoying the story. I’m listening to Matchmacking for Beginners by Maddie Dawson (the Audiobook is currently $1.99 at Amazon!).

Rowena: I got some books read this week and I’m going to count that as a win because my reading has been really slow to start this year. I read Overnight Sensation by Sarina Bowen for my buddy read with Holly and I loved it. Sarina Bowen just keeps writing these winners and I’m going to continue to read them all. After that, I jumped into Team Player by Julianna Keyes since it’s due for review soon and it’s got a baseball player hero so I was all over that one. I really enjoyed it too. I can’t wait for baseball to come back!

Right after I finished Team Player, I jumped into Magic Bites by Ilona Andrews cause that’s our feature review book of the month and I’m so stinkin’ happy to finally start the Kate Daniels series. Ilona Andrews has taken such good care of me in all the other books I’ve read by them that I’m stoked to finally be digging into this one. So yeah, that’s what I’m reading. After I finish that one, my plan is to read You’d be Mine by Erin Hahn. We’ll see how that goes.

Giveaway Alert

We are very fortunate here at Book Binge. We have loads and loads of books to read and we want to share the wealth so each week, we’ll be tacking on a Freebie Friday giveaway to our What Are You Reading posts. This week, we’re giving away…

What Are You Reading? (+ Keiran Kramer Giveaway)A Wedding at Two Love Lane (Two Love Lane #2) by Kieran Kramer
Series: Two Love Lane #2
Publisher: St. Martin's Press
Publication Date: January 2, 2018
Format: Print
Genres: Contemporary Romance
Pages: 340
Add It: Goodreads
Amazon | Barnes & Noble | The Ripped Bodice | Google Play Books

Never say never when it comes to love.

Greer Jones has made a real name for herself at the elegant matchmaking agency Two Love Lane. For a lot of reasons -- including a past engagement she broke off -- practical tech expert Greer is more interested in the business of love than the experience of it, but she can't help but covet a gorgeous wedding gown that's the prize in an upcoming cocktail-party contest. In a moment of brazen inspiration, Greer asks a handsome Brit she's only just met to accompany her to the party. He agrees -- and Greer believes her date is a starving artist. Little does she know the truth...

Ford Smith, as he calls himself, is actually Stanford Elliott Wentworth Smythe, the Eighth Baron of Wickshire. Fresh off a breakup with a money-grubbing siren who deceived him all the way to the altar, Ford has no desire to fall in love -- especially with Greer who, like the desired wedding gown, is beautiful but only skin-deep. But soon Ford realizes that there's more to Greer than meets the eye. Her professionalism is matched only by her passion for life and love... and, best of all, she has no idea that he's to the manor born. Could it be that true love is priceless after all?

What Are You Reading: A Wedding at Two Love Lane

What are you reading this week? Any new favorites or books that drove you crazy? Share!


Tagged: , , , ,

Review: Dirty by Kylie Scott

Posted March 7, 2019 by Holly in Reviews | 3 Comments

Review: Dirty by Kylie ScottReviewer: Holly
Dirty by Kylie Scott
Narrator: Andi Arndt
Series: Dive Bar #1
Also in this series: Dirty, Dirty, Twist
Publisher: St. Martin's Griffin
Publication Date: April 19, 2016
Format: Audiobook, eBook
Source: Library
Point-of-View: First Person
Genres: Contemporary Romance
Pages: 275
Length: 8 hours and 17 minutes
Add It: Goodreads
Reading Challenges: GoodReads Challenge, Holly's 2019 GoodReads Challenge
Amazon | Barnes & Noble | The Ripped Bodice | Google Play Books
two-stars
Series Rating: four-stars


Love—on the rocks….

The last thing Vaughan Hewson expects to find when he returns to his childhood home is a broken hearted bride in his shower, let alone the drama and chaos that come with her.

Lydia Green doesn't know whether to scream or cry in a corner. Discovering the love of your life is having an affair on your wedding day is bad enough. Finding out it's with his best man is another thing all together.

Just when this runaway bride has nowhere left to turn, a handsome stranger offers her a broad, muscular shoulder to cry on. Vaughan is the exact opposite of the picture perfect, respected businessmen she's normally drawn to. This former musician-turned-bartender is rough around the edges and is facing his own crossroads. But Lydia's already tried Mr. Right and discovered he's all wrong--maybe it's time to give Mr. Right Now a chance.

After all, what's wrong with getting dirty?

Dirty is the first book in the Dive Bar series from bestselling author Kylie Scott.

I read the Stage Dive series the year it was released, but somehow I never read this spinoff series. After finishing Repeat on audio, I was in the mood for something else by Kylie Scott and decided to try this one. Sadly, it didn’t work for me at all. The short time frame of the story – two weeks total – really worked against it.

Lydia Green freaks out on her wedding day when she’s emailed a video of her groom having sex with his best man. She’s supposed to walk down the aisle in minutes, but she panics and runs instead. She hops over the neighbor’s fence and ends up crying in the bathtub..where Vaughn Hewson, the owner of the house, finds her.

Vaughn is down on his luck. His band recently split up and he’s broke. He’s come home to sell his parents’ house to his sister, but no way is he prepared to find a weeping woman in a wedding dress in his shower. Despite the circumstances – or maybe because of them – Vaughn and Lydia end up supporting each other as they deal with their own stuff. But Vaughn is only in town long enough to sell his house, and Lydia wants to settle down.

I had a lot of problems with this book. 1) Lydia made a lot of really questionable choices. She’d only been with her fiance 4 months, which even she acknowledges was rushing things. Yet within 48 hours she’s all in with Vaughn? Then she’s ready to make major life changes on whim? 2) Vaughn was a jerk to her half the time, but she still felt like she was falling for him? 3) The short time frame meant I didn’t believe for a minute they were actually solid enough to go the distance. 4) Vaughn’s decision at the end was ridiculous and made no sense.

I wanted to like this book, but I just couldn’t.

Rating: 2 out of 5

Dive Bar

two-stars


Tagged: , , , , , ,

What Are You Reading? (+ Sara Castille Giveaway)

Posted February 22, 2019 by Casee in Features, Giveaways | 5 Comments

Casee: I am over Maya Banks. Like seriously over. I finished Keep Me Safe earlier this week, but it was hard. Really hard. I’m told that I still need to read the McCabe trilogy, but that won’t be anytime soon. So a few days ago I told Holly that I really can’t wait until The Savior (BDB #17) by J.R. Ward comes out. And I hate that I can’t wait for it. We agreed that everyone has their book crack. Hers is Kristen Ashley. We both decided that I need to give KA a try, so last night I read the first two pages of Own the Wind (Chaos #1). I’m looking forward to getting further into it today.

I’ve listened to several audiobooks this week. Today I’m listening to Say You’re Sorry by Karen Rose. I was so incredibly impressed with the narrator of Monster in the Closet, so I was really looking forward to listening to SRS. Unfortunately, this narrator is really, really weak. Actually, not just weak. Awful. Yep, the narrator is awful. Still, I’m plugging along. I always forget how much I enjoy KR.

Holly: I started listening to Anne Bishop’s The Others series over the weekend with Tracy. We listened to Written in Red, Murder of Crows and Vision in Silver together. I just finished Marked in Flesh, the fourth book, and started Etched in Bone, the 5th. This series is so amazing. I remembered loving it, but I hadn’t remembered just how much I loved it. I’m glad to be doing a reread before I read Wild Country, which comes out in March. The narrator for the audiobooks is amazing. Generally with longer audiobooks I listen and read, but in this case I just want to listen.

Prior to starting Written in Red, I was listening to Dirty by Kylie Scott. The audiobook seemed to be taking me forever, so I switched to reading around the 3/4 mark. Sadly that book didn’t work for me on a number of levels. The heroine made a lot of questionable decisions and the hero was a jerk for the majority of the book. I don’t think I’ll be continuing the series.

Rowena: I’m not in a reading slump per se, but I’m not reading all that much right now. I’m just not in the mood. I’m watching basketball, watching Star and working on blog projects instead of reading. I did finish Only a Breath Apart by Katie McGarry though and I really enjoyed it. I also started Bad Bachelor by Stefanie London but I haven’t gotten very far into it and I’m on day 3, I need to get it together already. Wish me luck!

Giveaway Alert

We are very fortunate here at Book Binge. We have loads and loads of books to read and we want to share the wealth so each week, we’ll be tacking on a Freebie Friday giveaway to our What Are You Reading posts. This week, we’re giving away…

What Are You Reading? (+ Sara Castille Giveaway)Rocco (Ruin & Revenge, #3) by Sarah Castille
Series: Ruin & Revenge #3
Publisher: St. Martin's Press
Publication Date: January 2, 2018
Format: Print
Genres: Romantic Suspense
Pages: 384
Add It: Goodreads
Amazon | Barnes & Noble | The Ripped Bodice | Google Play Books

Mafia enforcer, Rocco De Lucchi is the best in the business.

Cold, hard and utterly ruthless, Rocco is the most dangerous of men. Feelings are a luxury he cannot afford—until a chance encounter brings him face to face with the only woman who found her way into his heart and touched his soul.

Grace Mantini has spent her whole life running from the mob. Daughter of the boss's right hand man, she is both a prize and a target. When Rocco walks back into her life, she wants nothing to do with the man who betrayed her and broke her heart. But only Rocco can protect her from the dangerous forces that seek to destroy her family. Can they escape the hands of fate closing around them? Or will love be the kiss of death for them both?

 
 
 
 

What Are You Reading: Rocco by Sarah Castille

What are you reading this week? Any new favorites or books that drove you crazy? Share!


Tagged: , , , ,