Publisher: St. Martin's Griffin

What Are You Reading? (+ Paranormal Giveaway)

Posted February 16, 2018 by Casee in Features, Giveaways | 11 Comments

WAYR-New

Casee: I’ve had a pretty good reading month so far. Well, compared to the past two month. I finished Blood Fury by JRW, which I really enjoyed. I am finally reading Archangel’s Viper by Nalini Singh. I can’t believe this book got buried so far down in my TBR pile. I am not ashamed to admit that the Guild Hunter series is my favorite series by Nalini. I usually devour everything she releases right when it comes out, but I missed this one somehow. I am really enjoying Venom and Holly’s story.

Next up is either Storm Gathering by Rebecca Zanetti or Kato: The Stone Warriors by D.B. Reynolds. I haven’t decided yet.

Holly: I had a book hangover from The Others series this week. Nothing I picked up after them really appealed, so I ended up going back and re-reading the series. I feel like I really zipped through them the first time, so it was good to go back and take my time with the stories. I also re-read Sweep in Peace by Ilona Andrews for a joint review with Rowena.

I’m currently reading The Darkling Bride by Laura Andersen (which is fabulous so far) and listening to Lord of Scoundrels by Loretta Chase.

Rowena: This week was for reading The Wedding Date by Jasmine Guillory. I heard so many good things about it and I really zipped through the book the first time that I read it because there were things that annoyed me in that read that I didn’t think were a big deal until I started writing down my thoughts for my review. The things that annoyed me became much bigger and so I had to read it again, slowly to figure my mind out about it. In the end, I didn’t like it. There were parts that showed promise but overall? It wasn’t for me.

After reading The Wedding Date, I started and finished Runaway Groom by Lauren Layne and loved the hell out of that book. Gage and Ellie entertained the socks right off of me and I was wearing socks because it was cold that night. That was such a great book. I enjoyed it so much more than I enjoyed the first book in the series, Ready to Run. After that, I jumped into Sweep in Peace by Ilona Andrews and I’m finishing that up today so that I can jump into Living Out Loud by Staci Hart.

Giveaway Alert

We are very fortunate here at Book Binge. We have loads and loads of books to read and we want to share the wealth so each week, we’ll be tacking on a Freebie Friday giveaway to our What Are You Reading posts. This week, we’re giving away…

What Are You Reading? (+ Paranormal Giveaway)Thanks Fur Last Night by Eve Langlais, Milly Taiden, Kate Baxter
Series: Fur #1
Published by St. Martin's Griffin
Publication Date: January 30, 2018
Genres: Paranormal Romance
Pages: 400
Amazon | Barnes & Noble | The Ripped Bodice | Google Play Books
Goodreads

Bearing His Sin
Cole should have killed Anja the moment he realized she was his mate. Instead, he let her live and now they’re on the hunt, chasing the morons who think they can force her to marry another man. Like hell. And while this shapeshifting bear might have his share of sins, he’s not going to let little things like murder and mayhem prevent him from having the woman meant to be the keeper of his heart.

Bought by the Bear
Josilyn Martinez just needed the money to help raise her nephew. That's it. There's no other reason she would take a job posing as a shifter's mate so he can assure his grandmother he's settled down. There's no reason to stay at his place so they learn "more about each other." And there's definitely no good reason she should get involved with the hard, hot, and handsome shifter that's hired her.
Xander just needs a fake mate for a week to get his grandmother off his back. But what's a bear shifter to do when the impostor mate he hired turns out to be his actual mate? All sweet, luscious curves and a heart of gold, Xander's not going to let his mate get away. Now all he has to do is show her that they belong together, one kiss and touch at a time...

a Rafflecopter giveaway

What are you reading this week? Any new favorites or books that drove you crazy? Share!


Tagged: , , , ,

Guest Review: Twist by Kylie Scott

Posted April 19, 2017 by Tracy in Reviews | 2 Comments

Guest Review: Twist by Kylie ScottReviewer: Tracy
Twist by Kylie Scott
Series: Dive Bar #2
Also in this series: Dirty, Dirty
Published by St. Martin's Griffin
Publication Date: April 11th 2017
Pages: 288
Amazon | Barnes & Noble | The Ripped Bodice | Google Play Books
Goodreads
four-stars

When his younger brother loses interest in online dating, hot, bearded, bartender extraordinaire, Joe Collins, only intends to log into his account and shut it down. Until he reads about her.

Alex Parks is funny, friendly, and pretty much everything he's been looking for in a woman. And in no time at all they're emailing up a storm, telling each other their deepest darkest secrets... apart from the one that really matters.

And when it comes to love, serving it straight up works better than with a twist.

Alex Parks works from home in Seattle.  She signed up on an online dating site and has been emailing back and forth with a super-hot guy named Eric.  She’s knows it’s his birthday and that he’ll have a get-together with friends and family at Dive Bar, where he is part owner.  Alex hadn’t heard from Eric for a few weeks so decides to fly to Coeur d’Alene, Idaho to surprise him.  Eric’s incredibly surprised when she arrives because he has absolutely no idea who she is.  It turns out that Alex had been getting catfished by Eric’s brother, Joe.

Joe had helped Eric sign up for the dating site but Eric quickly lost interest.  Joe planned on shutting Eric’s account down but when he saw a message from Alex he answered her…as Eric.  Six months had gone by and Joe still hadn’t come clean about the fact that he wasn’t who he said he was.  When he sees Alex he’s more than freaked out that she’s in Dive Bar but truly wants to talk to he and get to know her.  She’s mad at both Joe for being an idiot and herself for falling for someone online.  Joe is persistent and doesn’t give up trying with Alex.  Eventually Alex decides to hear him out but instead of heading home to Seattle after their talk, she gets the flu.  She’s miserable but Joe is there to help her.  As the two get to know each other they become friends for real and then so much more.

This was a great book.  I really loved both Alex and Joe and together they made me laugh, a lot.  They worked together so well and played off each other’s strengths.  Alex was a snarky woman and I loved that.  The fact that Joe could not only keep up but give it back to her made me like them even more.

The friends to lovers aspect of the book was done well, I thought, especially in light of Joe’s catfishing.  Once they became lovers I thought nothing could break them apart but of course the author proved me wrong.  Fortunately they got their HEA and I was quite pleased with the outcome of the book.

If you haven’t read either Dirty or Twist, you really need to as they’re darned good books.

Rating: 4 out of 5

Oh, and this cover? Yum. 🙂

four-stars


Tagged: , , , , , , , ,

Review: Dirty by Kylie Scott

Posted May 10, 2016 by Rowena in Reviews | 0 Comments

Review: Dirty by Kylie ScottReviewer: Rowena
Dirty by Kylie Scott
Series: Dive Bar #1
Also in this series: Dirty, Twist
Published by St. Martin's Griffin
Publication Date: April 19, 2016
Genres: New Adult
Pages: 288
Amazon | Barnes & Noble | The Ripped Bodice | Google Play Books
Goodreads
four-stars

The last thing Vaughan Hewson expects to find when he returns to his childhood home is a broken hearted bride in his shower, let alone the drama and chaos that comes with her.

Lydia Green doesn't know whether to burn down the church or sit and cry in a corner. Discovering the love of your life is having an affair on your wedding day is bad enough. Finding out it's with his best man is another thing all together. She narrowly escapes tying the knot and meets Vaughan only hours later.

Vaughan is the exact opposite of the picture perfect, respected businessman she thought she'd marry. This former musician-turned-bartender is rough around the edges and unsettled. But she already tried Mr. Right and discovered he's all wrong-maybe it's time to give Mr. Right Now a chance.

After all, what's wrong with getting dirty?

This is the first book in a new Dive Bar series by Kylie Scott and it was also my first book read by Scott. I’ve read nothing but good things about her Stage Dive series and I’ve been meaning to read those books but never got around to it. That didn’t stop me from jumping into this book and I’m glad that I did give this book a shot because it was an enjoyable read.

Lydia Greene thought she was marrying Chris but when she sees a video of her fiance getting down and dirty with his best man, she jumps the fence and hides out in the neighbors bathtub. She’s so lost in thought that she doesn’t hear anyone come into the house until the guy is in the bathroom, taking a leak and turning the shower on with her still in the tub.

Vaughan Hewson’s band broke up, he’s broke and he’s back in his hometown. He needs to hit the reset button, get a plan together and then make it happen. He was expecting to get some grief from his sister for not visiting often, for not keeping in contact but what he was not expecting was a woman sitting in his bathtub in a wedding dress. He also wasn’t expecting all the drama that would follow that woman on his first day home. But the woman needs someone in her corner and before Vaughan knows what’s what, he finds himself in her corner.

Nobody is more surprised than both Vaughan and Lydia at how quickly they get close. The chemistry between them sizzles and I found their romance completely charming.

Vaughan was a solid hero whose tattoos I wanted to lick at the same time that I wanted to hug him close and tell him that everything would work itself out. I loved the easy way that he was with Lydia but also with everyone in his circle of friends and his family. There’s a wealth of love between all of the characters in this series and I felt it. I’m pretty anxious to see who gets their story told next. I think it’s too soon for Nell and Pat (they are going to get their story told, right?) but I wouldn’t be mad about Eric getting his book next.

There’s a Mal sighting in this book and even though I don’t know who he is (haven’t read his book), I remember Holly reading and loving him so I’m pretty anxious to dig into his series. This was a great start to a new series and I enjoyed this book enough to be thirsty for the next book.

4 out of 5

four-stars


Tagged: , , , , , , ,

Guest Review: Dirty by Kylie Scott

Posted April 18, 2016 by Tracy in Reviews | 0 Comments

Guest Review: Dirty by Kylie ScottReviewer: Tracy
Dirty by Kylie Scott
Series: Dive Bar #1
Also in this series: Dirty, Twist
Published by St. Martin's Griffin
Publication Date: April 19th 2016
Amazon | Barnes & Noble | The Ripped Bodice | Google Play Books
Goodreads
four-stars

Love—on the rocks....

The last thing Vaughan Hewson expects to find when he returns to his childhood home is a brokenhearted bride in his shower, let alone the drama and chaos that come with her.

Lydia Green doesn't know whether to scream or cry in a corner. Discovering the love of your life is having an affair on your wedding day is bad enough. Finding out it's with his best man is another thing all together.

Just when this runaway bride has nowhere left to turn, a handsome stranger offers her a broad, muscular shoulder to cry on. Vaughan is the exact opposite of the picture perfect, respected businessmen she's normally drawn to. This former musician-turned-bartender is rough around the edges and is facing his own crossroads. But Lydia's already tried Mr. Right and discovered he's all wrong--maybe it's time to give Mr. Right Now a chance.

After all, what's wrong with getting dirty?

Dirty is the first book in the Dive Bar series from bestselling author Kylie Scott.

Lydia is quite upset, to say the least, when she is getting ready to walk down the aisle, literally, and she’s sent a video showing her bridegroom having sex with his best man.  She makes an instant decision to run rather than face her fiance’s snobbish and judgmental family.  She heads out the back door, crosses the lawn and climbs over the back fence.  She finds the yard she’s fallen into has a house with an open window.  She climbs in – gets into the tub and cries her eyes out.  Yes, she’s distraught about the wedding but when she thinks about it there were clues to this and she ignored them.

A while later the homeowner, Vaughan Hewson, arrives and starts the shower.  When he pulls back the curtain and finds Lydia he’s shocked but handles it well.  After hearing her story he ends up taking care of her a bit and even eventually offers her a place to stay while she finds a place to stay.

Vaughan is recovering from a band tour that ended with his band breaking up.  He’s trying to get a new one back together so that he can continue his music career but needs the money from the sale of the house to support himself.  Lydia being a real estate agent helps him and they both end up helping his sister in her bar/restaurant, The Dive Bar. While Vaughan and Lydia are getting back on their feet their finding themselves crazy about each other but both with the thought that what they’ve started will end soon as she’ll be moving and he’ll be back in LA with a new band.  Neither of them are thrilled with that thought but they know that it will happen eventually.

Meanwhile, Nell, Vaughan’s sister, has her own share of problems.  She’s separated from her husband but he owns a third of The Dive Bar along with her friend Eric.  She wants to buy him out but doesn’t have the money.  She’s slept with the third owner, Eric, and that’s made both Vaughan and Nell’s husband, Pat (yes, they’re still technically married) pissed off. Then there’s co-worker and friend Joe who’s got something up his sleeve but we never find out what that is.

The story is fun and funny as well as heart-wrenching in places.  Vaughan’s parents had died and he had never come to terms with it all.  He was avoiding dealing with it emotionally as it was just too hard for him.  That was one of the things that Lydia helped him with and I loved seeing her bluntness with him about it.  It was what he needed to hear as everyone else had just beat around the bush and avoided the subject with him.

The relationship with Lydia and Vaughan happens very quickly.  Major life decisions are made on the basis of knowing each other for a week.  While you would think that it couldn’t happen – it really did – and Kylie Scott made me believe that it could.  The story ended with what most would say was an HEA but I liked to think of it more of a HFN with a definite HEA on the horizon.  The pair knew where they were going and planned it together but they knew that life wasn’t easy and there were be obstacles.  They just planned on tackling them together.

Dirty is a great book and while I did have a few questions about Lydia that were never answered, it didn’t take away from my overall enjoyment of the story.

Rating: 4 out of 5

four-stars


Tagged: , , , , , , ,

Guest Review: Last Light by M. Pierce

Posted May 28, 2015 by Tracy in Reviews | 0 Comments

Guest Review: Last Light by M. PierceReviewer: Tracy
Last Light by M. Pierce
Series: Night Owl Trilogy #2
Also in this series: Night Owl
Published by St. Martin's Griffin
Publication Date: October 28th 2014
Genres: Erotica
Amazon | Barnes & Noble | The Ripped Bodice | Google Play Books
Goodreads
two-stars

Matt Sky is missing. After a solo ascent of Longs Peak that left only a large blood stain, tatters of climbing clothing, and the tracks of an animal in the snow, he is presumed dead.

Hannah Catalano is guarding a secret: she knows Matt is alive. After Matt's memorial service, she lingers on the East Coast with his family, but it soon becomes clear that his brothers' motives are less than gracious. Nate Sky is bent on tracking down the author of Night Owl, a book that charts the last days of Matt's life with uncanny and scandalous accuracy, and which appeared only after his death. Seth Sky is bent on getting Hannah into his bed.

Hidden away in the woods, Matt and Hannah strive desperately to maintain their ruse and their relationship-but their web of lies only tightens as Matt struggles with the consequences of his decision, and Hannah tries to escape Nate's libel suit and fend off Seth's advances...until Hannah is put in danger, and Matt must make a life or death choice.

Tracy’s review of Last Light (Night Owl Trilogy #2) by M. Pierce

When we closed the cover on book one in the Night Owl Trilogy we left Matt and Hannah together and doing well…until the epilogue. That lovely short epilogue led us to believe that Matt had died. Not true.

Matt had taken enough of being hounded by fans and reporters after his identity had been revealed. He couldn’t even seem to walk down the street without being accosted. He decided to take matters into his own hands and faked his own death. He holes up in a cabin 2 hours from Hannah and deals with his loneliness by writing. He wants Hannah to disappear with him but she likes her life, her family and her job. Yes, she misses Matt horribly but sees him on the weekends.

In book one he had written a book, called Night Owl, about his life with Hannah. It was very detailed about their life and was incredibly explicit with the sex scenes. Matt ends up posting it on a forum where someone else picks it up and starts publishing it under the name W. Pierce (Matt published under the name M. Pierce). Matt eventually finds out who published it and actually becomes friends with the person. Which is weird as Hannah is supposedly the only one who knows he’s truly alive.

While Matt is having his neurotic breakdowns and keeping secrets, Hannah is trying to figure out how to live the secretive life she now has to endure. She’s upset about a lawsuit that Matt’s brother Nate started surrounding the publication of Night Owl (which she has no idea that Matt posted online); having to attend a memorial service for Matt when she knows he’s not dead and fending off advances from Seth, Matt’s rockstar brother.

Matt continues to lie to Hannah about a multitude of things – just like in book one – and his house of lies comes crumbling down around him. Hannah decides she can’t take the deception any longer and calls it quits.

This book was good when it came to being well put together with good grammar and punctuation. You know a book can’t be all that and a bag of chips when that’s about the only good that a reviewer can say about it. That’s what I’m sayin’.

The love story – if I can even call it that – was so incredibly dysfunctional I couldn’t handle it half the time. Matt is a neurotic nutbag and Hannah ends up being his enabler. She tries to make a stand at one point in the book (as she did in book 1) and of course that doesn’t work because she LUUUUVS him. Puuuhlease. Spare me. They’re both whacked in the head if they think that they can keep doing the same things time and again and expecting a different outcome. Matt lies like he breathes. He’s honest with the people he shouldn’t be honest with and the people he should love and be truthful with he keeps in the dark and is constantly chasing his own tail to try to cover one lie with another.

Hannah seems like a decent character but as the story went on I started to lose all respect for her. She kept believing Matt’s lies and coming back for more.   I wanted her to grow up and show some self-respect but that was a pipe dream on my part.

The story is an erotic romance in the fact that it’s a book of sex with a story added in for good measure. The characters are weak, narcissistic, enabling and just all around crazy. The story ends with the couple getting back together but with Hannah giving Matt certain stipulations – which he agrees to but we know he will never follow. I’m definitely not interested in reading any more of this series. I’m done with Hannah and Matt and wish them luck and just hope they don’t ever have children because I’m pretty sure they’d be psychopaths. Just sayin’.

Rating: 2 out of 5 (and I think that’s stretching it a bit)

This title is available from St. Martin’s Griffin. You can buy it here or here in e-format. This book was provided by the publisher in exchange for an honest review.

two-stars


Tagged: , , , , , , , ,