Publisher: St. Martin's Griffin

Guest Review: Twist by Kylie Scott

Posted April 19, 2017 by Tracy in Reviews | 2 Comments

Guest Review: Twist by Kylie ScottReviewer: Tracy
Twist by Kylie Scott
Series: Dive Bar #2
Also in this series: Dirty, Dirty
Published by St. Martin's Griffin
Publication Date: April 11th 2017
Genres: Contemporary, Romance
Pages: 288
Buy on Amazon | Barnes & Noble
Goodreads
four-stars

When his younger brother loses interest in online dating, hot, bearded, bartender extraordinaire, Joe Collins, only intends to log into his account and shut it down. Until he reads about her.

Alex Parks is funny, friendly, and pretty much everything he's been looking for in a woman. And in no time at all they're emailing up a storm, telling each other their deepest darkest secrets... apart from the one that really matters.

And when it comes to love, serving it straight up works better than with a twist.

Alex Parks works from home in Seattle.  She signed up on an online dating site and has been emailing back and forth with a super-hot guy named Eric.  She’s knows it’s his birthday and that he’ll have a get-together with friends and family at Dive Bar, where he is part owner.  Alex hadn’t heard from Eric for a few weeks so decides to fly to Coeur d’Alene, Idaho to surprise him.  Eric’s incredibly surprised when she arrives because he has absolutely no idea who she is.  It turns out that Alex had been getting catfished by Eric’s brother, Joe.

Joe had helped Eric sign up for the dating site but Eric quickly lost interest.  Joe planned on shutting Eric’s account down but when he saw a message from Alex he answered her…as Eric.  Six months had gone by and Joe still hadn’t come clean about the fact that he wasn’t who he said he was.  When he sees Alex he’s more than freaked out that she’s in Dive Bar but truly wants to talk to he and get to know her.  She’s mad at both Joe for being an idiot and herself for falling for someone online.  Joe is persistent and doesn’t give up trying with Alex.  Eventually Alex decides to hear him out but instead of heading home to Seattle after their talk, she gets the flu.  She’s miserable but Joe is there to help her.  As the two get to know each other they become friends for real and then so much more.

This was a great book.  I really loved both Alex and Joe and together they made me laugh, a lot.  They worked together so well and played off each other’s strengths.  Alex was a snarky woman and I loved that.  The fact that Joe could not only keep up but give it back to her made me like them even more.

The friends to lovers aspect of the book was done well, I thought, especially in light of Joe’s catfishing.  Once they became lovers I thought nothing could break them apart but of course the author proved me wrong.  Fortunately they got their HEA and I was quite pleased with the outcome of the book.

If you haven’t read either Dirty or Twist, you really need to as they’re darned good books.

Rating: 4 out of 5

Oh, and this cover? Yum. 🙂

four-stars


Tagged: , , , , , , , ,

Review: Dirty by Kylie Scott

Posted May 10, 2016 by Rowena in Reviews | 0 Comments

Review: Dirty by Kylie ScottReviewer: Rowena
Dirty by Kylie Scott
Series: Dive Bar #1
Also in this series: Dirty, Twist
Published by St. Martin's Griffin
Publication Date: April 19, 2016
Genres: Contemporary, New Adult, Romance
Pages: 288
Buy on Amazon | Barnes & Noble
Goodreads
four-stars

The last thing Vaughan Hewson expects to find when he returns to his childhood home is a broken hearted bride in his shower, let alone the drama and chaos that comes with her.

Lydia Green doesn't know whether to burn down the church or sit and cry in a corner. Discovering the love of your life is having an affair on your wedding day is bad enough. Finding out it's with his best man is another thing all together. She narrowly escapes tying the knot and meets Vaughan only hours later.

Vaughan is the exact opposite of the picture perfect, respected businessman she thought she'd marry. This former musician-turned-bartender is rough around the edges and unsettled. But she already tried Mr. Right and discovered he's all wrong-maybe it's time to give Mr. Right Now a chance.

After all, what's wrong with getting dirty?

This is the first book in a new Dive Bar series by Kylie Scott and it was also my first book read by Scott. I’ve read nothing but good things about her Stage Dive series and I’ve been meaning to read those books but never got around to it. That didn’t stop me from jumping into this book and I’m glad that I did give this book a shot because it was an enjoyable read.

Lydia Greene thought she was marrying Chris but when she sees a video of her fiance getting down and dirty with his best man, she jumps the fence and hides out in the neighbors bathtub. She’s so lost in thought that she doesn’t hear anyone come into the house until the guy is in the bathroom, taking a leak and turning the shower on with her still in the tub.

Vaughan Hewson’s band broke up, he’s broke and he’s back in his hometown. He needs to hit the reset button, get a plan together and then make it happen. He was expecting to get some grief from his sister for not visiting often, for not keeping in contact but what he was not expecting was a woman sitting in his bathtub in a wedding dress. He also wasn’t expecting all the drama that would follow that woman on his first day home. But the woman needs someone in her corner and before Vaughan knows what’s what, he finds himself in her corner.

Nobody is more surprised than both Vaughan and Lydia at how quickly they get close. The chemistry between them sizzles and I found their romance completely charming.

Vaughan was a solid hero whose tattoos I wanted to lick at the same time that I wanted to hug him close and tell him that everything would work itself out. I loved the easy way that he was with Lydia but also with everyone in his circle of friends and his family. There’s a wealth of love between all of the characters in this series and I felt it. I’m pretty anxious to see who gets their story told next. I think it’s too soon for Nell and Pat (they are going to get their story told, right?) but I wouldn’t be mad about Eric getting his book next.

There’s a Mal sighting in this book and even though I don’t know who he is (haven’t read his book), I remember Holly reading and loving him so I’m pretty anxious to dig into his series. This was a great start to a new series and I enjoyed this book enough to be thirsty for the next book.

4 out of 5

four-stars


Tagged: , , , , , , ,

Guest Review: Dirty by Kylie Scott

Posted April 18, 2016 by Tracy in Reviews | 0 Comments

Guest Review: Dirty by Kylie ScottReviewer: Tracy
Dirty by Kylie Scott
Series: Dive Bar #1
Also in this series: Dirty, Twist
Published by St. Martin's Griffin
Publication Date: April 19th 2016
Genres: Romance, Contemporary
Buy on Amazon | Barnes & Noble
Goodreads
four-stars

Love—on the rocks....

The last thing Vaughan Hewson expects to find when he returns to his childhood home is a brokenhearted bride in his shower, let alone the drama and chaos that come with her.

Lydia Green doesn't know whether to scream or cry in a corner. Discovering the love of your life is having an affair on your wedding day is bad enough. Finding out it's with his best man is another thing all together.

Just when this runaway bride has nowhere left to turn, a handsome stranger offers her a broad, muscular shoulder to cry on. Vaughan is the exact opposite of the picture perfect, respected businessmen she's normally drawn to. This former musician-turned-bartender is rough around the edges and is facing his own crossroads. But Lydia's already tried Mr. Right and discovered he's all wrong--maybe it's time to give Mr. Right Now a chance.

After all, what's wrong with getting dirty?

Dirty is the first book in the Dive Bar series from bestselling author Kylie Scott.

Lydia is quite upset, to say the least, when she is getting ready to walk down the aisle, literally, and she’s sent a video showing her bridegroom having sex with his best man.  She makes an instant decision to run rather than face her fiance’s snobbish and judgmental family.  She heads out the back door, crosses the lawn and climbs over the back fence.  She finds the yard she’s fallen into has a house with an open window.  She climbs in – gets into the tub and cries her eyes out.  Yes, she’s distraught about the wedding but when she thinks about it there were clues to this and she ignored them.

A while later the homeowner, Vaughan Hewson, arrives and starts the shower.  When he pulls back the curtain and finds Lydia he’s shocked but handles it well.  After hearing her story he ends up taking care of her a bit and even eventually offers her a place to stay while she finds a place to stay.

Vaughan is recovering from a band tour that ended with his band breaking up.  He’s trying to get a new one back together so that he can continue his music career but needs the money from the sale of the house to support himself.  Lydia being a real estate agent helps him and they both end up helping his sister in her bar/restaurant, The Dive Bar. While Vaughan and Lydia are getting back on their feet their finding themselves crazy about each other but both with the thought that what they’ve started will end soon as she’ll be moving and he’ll be back in LA with a new band.  Neither of them are thrilled with that thought but they know that it will happen eventually.

Meanwhile, Nell, Vaughan’s sister, has her own share of problems.  She’s separated from her husband but he owns a third of The Dive Bar along with her friend Eric.  She wants to buy him out but doesn’t have the money.  She’s slept with the third owner, Eric, and that’s made both Vaughan and Nell’s husband, Pat (yes, they’re still technically married) pissed off. Then there’s co-worker and friend Joe who’s got something up his sleeve but we never find out what that is.

The story is fun and funny as well as heart-wrenching in places.  Vaughan’s parents had died and he had never come to terms with it all.  He was avoiding dealing with it emotionally as it was just too hard for him.  That was one of the things that Lydia helped him with and I loved seeing her bluntness with him about it.  It was what he needed to hear as everyone else had just beat around the bush and avoided the subject with him.

The relationship with Lydia and Vaughan happens very quickly.  Major life decisions are made on the basis of knowing each other for a week.  While you would think that it couldn’t happen – it really did – and Kylie Scott made me believe that it could.  The story ended with what most would say was an HEA but I liked to think of it more of a HFN with a definite HEA on the horizon.  The pair knew where they were going and planned it together but they knew that life wasn’t easy and there were be obstacles.  They just planned on tackling them together.

Dirty is a great book and while I did have a few questions about Lydia that were never answered, it didn’t take away from my overall enjoyment of the story.

Rating: 4 out of 5

four-stars


Tagged: , , , , , , ,

Guest Review: Last Light by M. Pierce

Posted May 28, 2015 by Tracy in Reviews | 0 Comments

Guest Review: Last Light by M. PierceReviewer: Tracy
Last Light by M. Pierce
Series: Night Owl Trilogy #2
Also in this series: Night Owl
Published by St. Martin's Griffin
Publication Date: October 28th 2014
Genres: Contemporary, Erotica
Buy on Amazon | Barnes & Noble
Goodreads
two-stars

Matt Sky is missing. After a solo ascent of Longs Peak that left only a large blood stain, tatters of climbing clothing, and the tracks of an animal in the snow, he is presumed dead.

Hannah Catalano is guarding a secret: she knows Matt is alive. After Matt's memorial service, she lingers on the East Coast with his family, but it soon becomes clear that his brothers' motives are less than gracious. Nate Sky is bent on tracking down the author of Night Owl, a book that charts the last days of Matt's life with uncanny and scandalous accuracy, and which appeared only after his death. Seth Sky is bent on getting Hannah into his bed.

Hidden away in the woods, Matt and Hannah strive desperately to maintain their ruse and their relationship-but their web of lies only tightens as Matt struggles with the consequences of his decision, and Hannah tries to escape Nate's libel suit and fend off Seth's advances...until Hannah is put in danger, and Matt must make a life or death choice.

Tracy’s review of Last Light (Night Owl Trilogy #2) by M. Pierce

When we closed the cover on book one in the Night Owl Trilogy we left Matt and Hannah together and doing well…until the epilogue. That lovely short epilogue led us to believe that Matt had died. Not true.

Matt had taken enough of being hounded by fans and reporters after his identity had been revealed. He couldn’t even seem to walk down the street without being accosted. He decided to take matters into his own hands and faked his own death. He holes up in a cabin 2 hours from Hannah and deals with his loneliness by writing. He wants Hannah to disappear with him but she likes her life, her family and her job. Yes, she misses Matt horribly but sees him on the weekends.

In book one he had written a book, called Night Owl, about his life with Hannah. It was very detailed about their life and was incredibly explicit with the sex scenes. Matt ends up posting it on a forum where someone else picks it up and starts publishing it under the name W. Pierce (Matt published under the name M. Pierce). Matt eventually finds out who published it and actually becomes friends with the person. Which is weird as Hannah is supposedly the only one who knows he’s truly alive.

While Matt is having his neurotic breakdowns and keeping secrets, Hannah is trying to figure out how to live the secretive life she now has to endure. She’s upset about a lawsuit that Matt’s brother Nate started surrounding the publication of Night Owl (which she has no idea that Matt posted online); having to attend a memorial service for Matt when she knows he’s not dead and fending off advances from Seth, Matt’s rockstar brother.

Matt continues to lie to Hannah about a multitude of things – just like in book one – and his house of lies comes crumbling down around him. Hannah decides she can’t take the deception any longer and calls it quits.

This book was good when it came to being well put together with good grammar and punctuation. You know a book can’t be all that and a bag of chips when that’s about the only good that a reviewer can say about it. That’s what I’m sayin’.

The love story – if I can even call it that – was so incredibly dysfunctional I couldn’t handle it half the time. Matt is a neurotic nutbag and Hannah ends up being his enabler. She tries to make a stand at one point in the book (as she did in book 1) and of course that doesn’t work because she LUUUUVS him. Puuuhlease. Spare me. They’re both whacked in the head if they think that they can keep doing the same things time and again and expecting a different outcome. Matt lies like he breathes. He’s honest with the people he shouldn’t be honest with and the people he should love and be truthful with he keeps in the dark and is constantly chasing his own tail to try to cover one lie with another.

Hannah seems like a decent character but as the story went on I started to lose all respect for her. She kept believing Matt’s lies and coming back for more.   I wanted her to grow up and show some self-respect but that was a pipe dream on my part.

The story is an erotic romance in the fact that it’s a book of sex with a story added in for good measure. The characters are weak, narcissistic, enabling and just all around crazy. The story ends with the couple getting back together but with Hannah giving Matt certain stipulations – which he agrees to but we know he will never follow. I’m definitely not interested in reading any more of this series. I’m done with Hannah and Matt and wish them luck and just hope they don’t ever have children because I’m pretty sure they’d be psychopaths. Just sayin’.

Rating: 2 out of 5 (and I think that’s stretching it a bit)

This title is available from St. Martin’s Griffin. You can buy it here or here in e-format. This book was provided by the publisher in exchange for an honest review.

two-stars


Tagged: , , , , , , , ,

Guest Review: Held Against You by Season Vining

Posted January 6, 2015 by Tracy in Reviews | 1 Comment

Guest Review: Held Against You by Season ViningReviewer: Tracy
Held Against You by Season Vining
Published by St. Martin's Griffin
Publication Date: January 13th 2015
Genres: Contemporary, New Adult
Buy on Amazon | Barnes & Noble
Goodreads
four-stars

A gorgeous bounty hunter. A wanted woman. A passion they can't deny.

Accused of a horrific crime and on the run, Kat has been rejected by everyone she loves. She's a fugitive from her past, flitting from town to town with nothing but the clothes on her back—until she meets a man who literally stops her in her tracks.

A notorious bounty hunter with powerful instincts, he never fails to capture his prey. But there's something about Kat that gets under his skin–and it's not just the naked innocence he sees in her pretty eyes. Behind his ice cold demeanor, he has his own darkness... and now his lively, vulnerable mark is about to crack him wide open.As they travel across the country together, both captor and captive are unable to deny the spark of attraction between them. Will their journey bring them together...or will their dangerous secrets tear them apart?

Tracy’s review of Held Against You by Season Vining

Kat is on the run. She’s been running from the law for the past 4 weeks and she hates the person she’s had to become – a liar and a thief – but it beats life in prison.

She’s finally apprehended in Seattle by a bounty hunter who is determined to get her back to San Antonio. He’s attracted to her but tries to ignore it. The problem seems to be that Kat keeps getting under his skin and he can’t find a way to get her out. No matter how he tries to keep the emotional walls he’s built up and strong, Kat seems to keep tearing them down.

Between running from a guy that the bounty hunter says is a hit man and fighting their own attraction, Kat and the man that she has named Steel (as he won’t give her his true name) end up on a journey that will change both of their lives forever.

I wasn’t quite sure what to expect from this book when I read the blurb. I knew it sounded incredibly interesting and I loved the cover but beyond that I didn’t have a clue what would happen. In the end it was so much more than I anticipated.

Kat is a woman who would do just about anything for those she loves. We find that she’s accused of murdering her step-father but when we found out the reasons behind it all – and that it was an accident – I couldn’t hate the girl too much. Kat was trying to save her mother and ended up screwing up her own life. Once she’s caught, she wants away from Steel, yet…there’s something about the man that draws her and she can’t seem to make herself hate him. I loved how their relationship wasn’t smooth sailing and ebbed and flowed as I thought it should. I mean, hello, the guy is there to turn her in so she can serve time in prison. There are ISSUES!

Steel (we do eventually learn his first name) is a man who has all he’s ever wanted and is the best in his business – but he’s not happy. He wanted what his mentor had – money and notoriety – and he got it to a certain extent but he was lonely. I loved how he didn’t just open up to Kat – in fact she annoyed the crap outta him at first. He was a hard nut to crack but once he cracked he was a good guy that I thought was perfect for strong-willed Kat.

The story took us places I never thought we’d go when the story began and I was glued to the pages from the minute I started. This is SO not your typical romance! It was a love story, however, just with a rougher and grittier twist to it that I really enjoyed reading.

Rating: 4 out of 5

 

This title is available from St. Martin’s Griffin. You can buy it here or here in e-format. This book was provided by the publisher in exchange for an honest review.

four-stars


Tagged: , , , , , ,