Publisher: Sourcebooks

Guest Review: The One You Can’t Forget by Roni Loren

Posted June 8, 2018 by Tracy in Reviews | 1 Comment

Guest Review: The One You Can’t Forget by Roni LorenReviewer: Tracy
The One You Can't Forget by Roni Loren
Series: The Ones Who Got Away #2
Also in this series: The Ones Who Got Away
Published by Sourcebooks Casablanca
Publication Date: June 5, 2018
Point-of-View: Third
Genres: Contemporary Romance
Pages: 416
Amazon | Barnes & Noble | The Ripped Bodice | Google Play Books
Goodreads
four-stars

Most days Rebecca Lindt feels like an imposter...The world admires her as a survivor. But that impression would crumble if people knew her secret. She didn't deserve to be the one who got away. But nothing can change the past, so she's thrown herself into her work. She can't dwell if she never slows down.

Wes Garrett is trying to get back on his feet after losing his dream restaurant, his money, and half his damn mind in a vicious divorce. But when he intervenes in a mugging and saves Rebecca―the attorney who helped his ex ruin him―his simple life gets complicated.

Their attraction is inconvenient and neither wants more than a fling. But when Rebecca's secret is put at risk, both discover they could lose everything, including what they never realized they needed: each other

She laughed and kissed him. This morning she'd melted down. But somehow this man had her laughing and turned on only a few hours later. Everything inside her felt buoyed.


She felt...light.


She'd forgotten what that felt like.

Rebecca is a successful divorce lawyer.  She’s also one of the survivors of a mass high school shooting – one she blames herself for.  She keeps her guilt and secret to herself, however.  The only person who knows is her father.  When Rebecca is mugged one night on her way home from work she freezes when the attacker puts a gun to her head.  Luckily she’s saved by a stray dog and a man who happened to be passing by.

The man, Wes Garrett, is someone that she’s incredibly attracted to, until she finds out his name and realizes that she fought against him in court when she represented his ex-wife in their divorce.  She knows his story and wants nothing to do with him. Except…when she gets to know him and his story, and the truth about his ex-wife and the lies she told, Rebecca can’t help but admire him.

Wes is just getting by in life.  He teaches cooking at an after-school program but that wasn’t always his life. He was opening a restaurant and the world was in the palm of his hand – until his ex-wife took it all away from him. Yes, he’s bitter but he manages to hide that bitterness from Rebecca.  He sees in her someone that is kind, giving and someone he wants to emulate.  The more time he spends with her the harder he starts to fall, but Rebecca doesn’t plan on ever getting into a serious relationship and Wes is no different, or is he?

I’ve loved every Roni Loren book that I’ve read, and this was no different.  She has a way with characters that makes me want to get to know them better.  They’re three dimensional and very real – I love that.  In this story Wes and Rebecca lived imperfect lives and each had some serious issues.  Working through those issues together changed both of them for the better and made this romance that much more intense.

I loved both Wes and Rebecca even though they were flawed.  I felt so badly for Rebecca that she’d carried the guilt of the shooting with her all those years.  She didn’t do anything worse than be a teenager – the shooting wasn’t her fault at all.  Wes had to deal with his anger toward the world and see that while his life might not look how he wanted it to look, it still looked good.

Overall I really enjoyed this book and can’t wait to read the next story in the series.

Rating: 4 out of 5

four-stars


Tagged: , , , , , , ,

Guest Review: The Last Wolf by Maria Vale

Posted February 13, 2018 by Tracy in Reviews | 1 Comment

Guest Review: The Last Wolf by Maria ValeReviewer: Tracy
The Last Wolf (The Legend of All Wolves #1) by Maria Vale
Series: The Legend of All Wolves #1
Published by Sourcebooks, Sourcebooks Casablanca
Publication Date: February 6th 2018
Genres: Paranormal Romance
Pages: 320
Amazon | Barnes & Noble | The Ripped Bodice | Google Play Books
Goodreads
three-stars

For three days out of thirty, when the moon is full and her law is iron, the Great North Pack must be wild.

If she returns to her Pack, the stranger will die. But if she stays…

Silver Nilsdottir is at the bottom of her Pack’s social order, with little chance for a decent mate and a better life. Until the day a stranger stumbles into their territory, wounded and beaten, and Silver decides to risk everything on Tiberius Leveraux. But Tiberius isn’t all he seems, and in the fragile balance of the Pack and wild, he may tip the destiny of all wolves…

Silver is on the cusp of becoming a slave when a wounded stranger stumbles into her pack’s territory.  She decides to help him and as time goes on they become closer.  Ti (short for Tiberius) is half Pack and half Shifter.  Pack and Shifters don’t mix but Silver is optimistic about Ti.  She tries to help him but he’s a really horrible wolf – not really even knowing how to walk in wolf form.  When outsiders try to hurt the pack some truths come out about Ti and Silver’s not sure she can stay with Ti.

There were many things I liked about this book.  I liked the pack characters for the most part – especially the head Alpha, John (there were other Alpha’s as well).  I liked how the author set up the pack with different levels or echelons.  The sense of family in the book was good and I liked reading about that as well.

The romance in this story, as well as the “suspense” portion of the book is what didn’t do it for me.  Because the story is told in first person POV I think that the lack of Ti’s side of things and his insight into the relationship really impacted the overall story for me.  There just felt like there was something missing.  The suspense or intrigue part of the story where the outsiders were trying to get in to the pack didn’t do anything for me either.  I ended the book wondering if the reason they were attacked was all about greed or was there a bigger issue.

Despite my issues with the book I am interested to see where the series goes next.  I’m not giving up on it yet. 🙂

Rating: 3 out of 5

three-stars


Tagged: , , , , , , ,

Guest Review: The Ones Who Got Away by Roni Loren

Posted January 11, 2018 by Tracy in Reviews | 2 Comments

Guest Review: The Ones Who Got Away by Roni LorenReviewer: Tracy
The Ones Who Got Away by Roni Loren
Series: The Ones Who Got Away #1
Also in this series: The One You Can't Forget
Published by Sourcebooks Casablanca
Publication Date: January 2nd 2018
Genres: Contemporary Romance
Pages: 384
Amazon | Barnes & Noble | The Ripped Bodice | Google Play Books
Goodreads
five-stars

Liv's words cut off as Finn got closer. The man approaching was nothing like the boy she'd known. The bulky football muscles had streamlined into a harder, leaner package and the look in his deep green eyes held no trace of boyish innocence.

It's been twelve years since tragedy struck the senior class of Long Acre High School. Only a few students survived that fateful night—a group the media dubbed The Ones Who Got Away.

Liv Arias thought she'd never return to Long Acre—until a documentary brings her and the other survivors back home. Suddenly her old flame, Finn Dorsey, is closer than ever, and their attraction is still white-hot. When a searing kiss reignites their passion, Liv realizes this rough-around-the-edges cop might be exactly what she needs...

Liv has been living her life day by day since she survived a mass murder at her high school – the night of the prom.  She thought she was happy with her life but when the survivors of the shooting get together at the HS to give interviews 12 years after it happened, she finds that maybe she’s not as happy as she thought.  She gets together with the friends that got her through the year following the shooting and they dig up the time capsule that they planted.  In it are letters that say what they will do with their lives.  When Liv reads her letter she realizes she’s done nothing she planned and that makes her stop and think about how she’s been living her life.  The other thing that makes her stop and take notice is Finn Dorsey.  She hasn’t seen him since the night of the shooting.  They had secretly dated in HS but since his family was rich and her family wasn’t he tried to hide it from his father.  Their teenage love didn’t survive the massacre but now that they’re adults, things have definitely changed.

Finn is an FBI agent who has been undercover for the past 2 years.  He agreed to the interview (off camera) but he’s not thrilled about being back in his hometown.  When he sees Liv, all of the feelings that he thought were gone come crashing to the surface.  He can’t seem to stop thinking about her and events manage to push the two together.  Instead of spending the summer isolated in a lake house trying to readjust to society, Finn spends the summer with Liv and they both figure out what real living is all about.

This book was awesome.  It was so very sad because of the whole premise of the story but I love the way Loren handled the transitioning from HS to the present.  The hero and heroine in this book were facing their fears in so many different ways and they ended up finding love while doing it.  The book was incredibly relatable (even though I’ve never been involved in a tragedy like this) because the plans we made when we were in HS didn’t necessarily come to fruition.  It even made me take a look at life and see how things have changed from HS to now.

I loved Finn and Liv together and how they worked out their issues.  They hadn’t talked since the night of the shooting and needed to clear the air.  On top of that the sexual tension between them was explosive and Loren wrote some extremely hot scenes, let me tell ya!

The secondary characters in this story play a huge role and the book wouldn’t have been the same without them.  I’m very much looking forward to reading their stories as well.

Roni Loren has written a wonderful book that I highly recommend.  It’s definitely highly emotional but so worth reading – even if that’s not normally your type of romance.

Rating: 5 out of 5

five-stars


Tagged: , , , , , , ,

Review: The Ones that Got Away by Roni Loren

Posted January 3, 2018 by Rowena in Reviews | 4 Comments

Review: The Ones that Got Away by Roni LorenReviewer: Rowena
The Ones Who Got Away (The Ones Who Got Away, #1) by Roni Loren
Series: The Ones that Got Away #1
Published by Sourcebooks Casablanca
Publication Date: January 2nd 2018
Genres: Contemporary Romance
Pages: 384
Amazon | Barnes & Noble | The Ripped Bodice | Google Play Books
Goodreads
four-stars

Liv's words cut off as Finn got closer. The man approaching was nothing like the boy she'd known. The bulky football muscles had streamlined into a harder, leaner package and the look in his deep green eyes held no trace of boyish innocence.

It's been twelve years since tragedy struck the senior class of Long Acre High School. Only a few students survived that fateful night—a group the media dubbed The Ones Who Got Away.

Liv Arias thought she'd never return to Long Acre—until a documentary brings her and the other survivors back home. Suddenly her old flame, Finn Dorsey, is closer than ever, and their attraction is still white-hot. When a searing kiss reignites their passion, Liv realizes this rough-around-the-edges cop might be exactly what she needs...

I’ve been pretty anxious to read this book ever since I read the blurb. What an interesting concept for a series and I’m totally glad to report that Roni Loren did a fantastic job setting this series up. This was my first book read by Loren and it won’t be my last.

Liv Arias and Finn Dorsey are two students that survived a school shooting and they’re back in the town to take part in a charity documentary that will benefit the families of the victims. It’s not going to be an easy thing to be back at the scene of the crime but for charity, they’ll go back. For any of the survivors, it would be hard to go back to the scene of the crime but for both Liv and Finn, their memories seriously broke my heart.

They were high school sweethearts. They were in love but Liv’s father was Finn’s father’s gardener and because of that, they kept their love a secret. Finn broke Liv’s heart when he asked Rebecca Lindt to prom because he wasn’t strong enough to love Liv out in the open and then he stomped on her heart in the janitor’s closet at prom when the shooting started and he left her in the closet to go and save Bec, leading the shooters right to Liv.

Talk about some angsty romance drama, right? Holy cow, the more I read into this story, the more my heart hurt for Liv but then there was Finn. Finn carries a lot of guilt over everything and seeing Liv again is stirring up the guilt all over again but the connection they had in high school is still alive and beating between them now so how do they move on from the memories? Where do they go from here?

I really enjoyed the romance between Finn and Liv. I thought they handled their coming together again really well. There was so much between them and seeing them struggle to find common ground after all of these years was heartbreaking but boy was I rooting them on. I don’t know that I would have been as forgiving as Liv was but who knows, when you love someone the way that Liv loved Finn, maybe I would.

Another thing that I really enjoyed was that Roni Loren didn’t shy away from making Finn own up to what he did back in high school. I’m glad that he really struggled with his actions back then and how that shaped him into the man that he was now. I liked that Loren made him work for his happy ending. I liked that Liv had to forgive him and they had to work through their past to get to their future.

There’s a lot to enjoy in this book and even more to look forward to. It was so nice to meet some of the other survivors and I liked Liv’s friends. I’m looking forward to more Kincaid, Rebecca and Taryn in future books. I will definitely be back for more so yes, I recommend this book to anyone in the mood for an emotional read about two survivors who find their way back to each other.

Grade: 4 out of 5

four-stars


Tagged: , , , , , , ,

Guest Review: Drop Dead Gorgeous by Juliet Lyons

Posted October 3, 2017 by Tracy in Reviews | 0 Comments

Guest Review: Drop Dead Gorgeous by Juliet LyonsReviewer: Tracy
Drop Dead Gorgeous (Bite Nights #2) by Juliet Lyons
Series: Bite Nights #2
Also in this series: Dating the Undead
Published by Sourcebooks Casablanca
Publication Date: October 3rd 2017
Genres: Paranormal Romance
Pages: 352
Amazon | Barnes & Noble | The Ripped Bodice | Google Play Books
Goodreads
four-stars

SWIPE RIGHT FOR MR. BITE

Mila Hart’s first experience with the hot new vampire dating site is a complete disaster. Turns out, her date is wanted for murder! But things turn around when she’s rescued by dashing vampire cop Vincent Ferrer. Dangerous and drop dead gorgeous, he’s just the vampire hottie Mila was hoping for.

Haunted by his past, Vincent can’t risk falling in love again, even if Mila charms him more than anyone he’s ever met. But when the killer from Mila’s first date seeks her out, Vincent is the only one who can protect her. Protecting his heart is a different story...

Mila Hart signed up for V-Date for a bit of an adventure.  She had been living in Australia and dating the same guy for two years when he announced he was going back to Brazil to live with his wife, an ex-lingerie model, and his two kids.  WTF?  Poor Mila.  Anyway, it’s her first V-Date and though it’s interesting she finds she’s not attracted to the guy, Jeremiah, at all.  She’s having an awkward conversation with him when he mesmerizes/compels her to go outside with him where he almost kills her!  She’s saved by Inspector Vincent Ferrar.  While she didn’t have any attraction to her V-Date she is extremely attracted to the Inspector.  Despite the attraction, after her initial interview at Scotland Yard, she decides not to assist them any further.  Her “almost” killer is wanted for a few other deaths as well and Mila figures they’ll catch him without her help.

Mila changes her mind about her would-be killer when she comes home and finds that he’s tossed her apartment.  This is especially scary because she never told him where she lived.  She ends up staying temporarily at Vincent’s apartment and this ends up being the close quarters they needed to act on their attraction to one another.  In fact, they can hardly be in each other’s company without ripping their clothes off.

When Vincent figures out there’s a lot more to the killer then just random killings he’s determined to stay with Mila 24/7 until the killer is caught.

This was another cute book by Juliet Lyons.  I really liked book one in this series so I was excited when I got the chance to read book two.  I did find that Drop Dead Gorgeous didn’t have the same humor in it that Dating the Undead did.  This was a little disappointing as I really liked that about DtU.

I really like Vincent and Mila both separately and together.  I was happy that they found each other and liked that they got their HEA.  I didn’t care for the excessive amount of sex scenes in the book.  I got that that’s what was pulling them together initially but after a while it just got incredibly old.

Despite that issue with the book I liked it and recommend it.  I will definitely keep reading this series to see what happens next.

Rating: 3.75/4 out of 5

four-stars


Tagged: , , , , , , , ,