Publisher: Self-Published

What Are You Reading? (+ autographed Alyssa Day Giveaway)

Posted July 6, 2018 by Casee in Features, Giveaways | 6 Comments

WAYR-New

Casee: I just started Vampire’s Faith by Rebecca Zanetti which is the final book in the Dark Protectors series. I didn’t realize that there was a four year gap between the seventh and eighth book. It does make me wonder if this series is going to continue. I so adore it and I will be crushed if it doesn’t. It always works out that way, though, doesn’t it?

After I’m done with this book I have to start the books in the Summer Reading Challenge. Unfortunately.

Holly: I finished listening to Diamond Bay by Linda Howard. I enjoyed the narrator and the story itself is always wonderful. It’s surprising how well it holds up considering it was first published in the early 90s. I also re-read Saving Grace by Julie Garwood. I’m currently rereading Cry No More by Linda Howard. I forced talked Tracy into reading it for the first time and said I’d read along with her. I love this book so much, but man does it hurt to read it.

For new reads this week, I finished Midnight Valentine by J.T. Geissinger finally. I started it weeks ago but kept getting distracted by other things. I really loved the first 3/4 of the book, but it took a dark turn there at the end I didn’t really expect. It was a good book overall, but that last 1/4 was…kind of a lot. I didn’t finish it feeling as warm and fuzzy as I thought I would. I also finished Iron and Magic by Ilona Andrews. I kept putting off reading it because I was afraid of how Hugh’s story would turn out. He’s a villain. Kind of. Definitely an anti-hero. In the end I loved it, though. He’ll always be bad, but the story was really good.

For our Summer Reading Challenge, I read Raphael by D.B. Reynolds and The Trouble with Love by Lauren Layne. I did’t care for Raphael at all. Why Casee thought I’d enjoy that TSTL heroine is beyond me. I did enjoy the Layne, however. It was a cute contemporary romance. Now Rowena is trying to convince me I need to read all the other books in the series. Like my TBR pile isn’t big enough? I did start listening to Someone Like You, though.

I think I’m going to start Archangel’s Prophecy by Nalini Singh next. I got an ARC yesterday. I was hoping to save it until next week when I’m on vacation, but I don’t think it’s going to happen. I can’t wait that long.

Rowena: It’s been a busy week for me so my reading suffered a bit but I did get some books read. I finished The Accidentals by Sarina Bowen and enjoyed it. I knew that I’d enjoy it because Sarina Bowen is always fire. After that, I started my first book in our Summer Reading Challenge. I read Coming Undone by Lauren Dane from Holly’s list and I’m happy to report that I thoroughly enjoyed that one and have put the rest of the series on my TBR list.

I’m getting ready to start The Real Deal by Lauren Blakely and I’m hopeful that it will be good. Oh, I’m also listening to The Hate U Give by Angie Thomas because I want to watch the movie (my Samoan boy KJ Apa is in this one). This book is intense. After this, I’ll be reading Every Time You Go Away by Beth Harbison and A Duke by Default by Alyssa Cole. I’m excited.

Giveaway Alert

We are very fortunate here at Book Binge. We have loads and loads of books to read and we want to share the wealth so each week, we’ll be tacking on a Freebie Friday giveaway to our What Are You Reading posts. This week, we’re giving away…

What Are You Reading? (+ autographed Alyssa Day Giveaway)January in Atlantis (Poseidon's Warriors #1) by Alyssa Day
Series: Poseidon's Warriors #1
Published by Alesia Holliday
Publication Date: January 30, 2018
Genres: Paranormal Romance
Pages: 172
Amazon | Barnes & Noble | The Ripped Bodice | Google Play Books
Goodreads

When Poseidon’s elite warriors gear up to train a new generation of fighters, they have no idea that Atlantean Queen Riley has secretly taken on a new role: Matchmaker. By the end of the year, she plans to find soul mates for all twelve of Atlantis’s fiercest warriors... whether they like it or not.

Twelve all-new adventures in the hotly anticipated world of Poseidon's Warriors, coming once a month from New York Times bestselling author Alyssa Day. These books are sexy, romantic, and wickedly addictive —welcome to 2018! And welcome to: A Year in Atlantis!

 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

What Are You Reading: January in Atlantis by Alyssa Day

What are you reading this week? Any new favorites or books that drove you crazy? Share!


Tagged: , , , ,

Review: Chosen by K.F. Breene

Posted June 11, 2018 by Holly in Reviews | 0 Comments

Review: Chosen by K.F. BreeneReviewer: Holly
Chosen (The Warrior Chronicles, #1) by K.F. Breene
Series: The Warrior Chronicles #1
Published by Self-Published
Publication Date: July 15, 2014
Point-of-View: Third
Genres: Fantasy
Pages: 412
Amazon | Barnes & Noble | The Ripped Bodice | Google Play Books
Goodreads
three-half-stars

It is said that when war threatens the world, one individual will be selected by prophecy to lead the Shadow Warriors out of the Land of Mist and reclaim the freedom which has been stolen.

Shanti has grown up under the constant threat of war. Since she helped her people defeat a raiding party by using a special power, she's been a hunted woman. Carrying rare abilities and an uncanny fighting aptitude, Shanti is the only hope of salvation for her people. The problem is, she doesn't believe in her own divinity, and when she flounders, she nearly fails in the duty hanging so heavy on her shoulders.

It seems like any other day when Sanders and his band of misfit boys find a foreign woman clinging to life in the wastelands. Oblivious to the weapon they now have in their possession, they are content to harbor the mysterious woman until she is well enough to continue her journey. But when the war spreads its arms and lands on her borrowed doorstep, Shanti has no choice but to reveal her secrets, plunging her saviors into danger.

If they band with her, they will face certain death. But to trade her to Xandre, the warlord desperate to add her to his war machine, would be to give up their entire way of life.

I read and enjoyed the Fire and Ice/Magical Mayhem series by K.F. Breene. When I saw this series on KU I figured I’d give it a try. It’s darker than the previous books I’ve read by the author, but I enjoyed the world and the main characters.

Shanti is a badass warrior. Her people have all been murdered and she’s trying to get to her extended family to fulfill the prophesy that will reunite her people and bring peace to the land. When she’s found half-dead and brought to a new land, she’ll have to fight to get her strength back up and try to earn the trust of the Captain so he doesn’t turn her over to her enemies.

I really enjoyed Shanti and her interactions with her saviors. The story did drag on quite a bit in the middle, but the anticipation of what was to come kept me reading. There’s potential for a romance that really worked, and I’m curious to see what happens with Shanti’s quest in the future.

3.5 out of 5

Warrior Chronicles

three-half-stars


Tagged: , , , , , ,

Guest Review: Brennus by Hazel Hunter

Posted May 22, 2018 by Tracy in Reviews | 0 Comments

Guest Review: Brennus by Hazel HunterReviewer: Tracy
Brennus (Immortal Highlander: Clan Skaraven #1) by Hazel Hunter
Published by Hazel Hunter
Publication Date: March 26, 2018
Point-of-View: Third Person
Genres: Historical Romance, Paranormal Romance, Time Travel
Pages: 386
Amazon | Barnes & Noble | The Ripped Bodice | Google Play Books
Goodreads
three-half-stars

An ancient highlander who’s never been allowed to love. A modern woman who keeps men at arm’s length. Can their passion overcome their pasts?

Althea Jarden’s botanical fieldwork keeps her happily busy, but it has kept her from relationships as well—by design. Because deep passions can overwhelm her, she concluded long ago that a conventional life was not for her. Instead she’s learned to depend on herself. But all the self-reliance in the world can’t prepare her for being to abducted to ancient Scotland and what she finds there.

Chieftain Brennus Skaraven would like nothing better than to remain dead, his legendary clan buried and forgotten. Anything would be preferable to suffering the manipulations of the druids. But when a strange lass comes crashing into his life, he discovers more than a reason to live. He finds the one thing that had always been denied to him and his kind—love.

Brennus is a Skaraven warrior.  He and his fellow warriors were slaves to the druids until they died 12 centuries ago.  They’ve been brought back to life and made immortal by the druids to help fight evil druids who are planning on decimating the planet.  Brennus, the Chieftain of the clan, refuses to let his men be pawns in the druid’s games any longer.

Althea and 4 other women are sucked through time by the evil druids and held captive.  Starved and tortured, Althea knows that she must escape and find help. She receives that help from Brennus and while they’re plotting to save the other women, they spend a lot of time together.  They get closer and soon are falling for each other.  Brennus, however, was never allowed near a woman unless he was tied to a bed for fear that he would hurt her.  He’s concerned about Althea, but he’s not willing to be without her.

This is a related book to the Immortal Highlander series.  I enjoyed that series so when I saw this book I was definitely interested.  In the previous series each of the “mates” came through at different times.  This is different as all five women are pulled through time at once.

I enjoyed the world that Hunter created for the Skaraven clan.  They’ve been brought back to life and basically pulled through time as well so it’s an adjustment for them as well as Althea – just in a different way.  They seemed to be good men, for the most part and cared about each other.  As they’d never even been allowed to speak with a female before they died, having Althea there was a big change for them.

Althea and Brennus’s romance was more of a falling in love then a romance per se.  I enjoyed them getting to know each other I just wish they’d had more time. With the women being held, and their focus on getting them free, it was difficult for Brennus and Althea to get to know each other thoroughly, imho, and that rushed things a bit, in my mind.

I was a little confused at first as to what was going on with the evil druids but soon caught up.  I wish their history would have been more obvious to me – I think I would have understood things better throughout the book.

Overall it was a decent read and I will read the next book when it comes out to see what happens next.

3.5 out of 5

Immortal Highlander: Clan Skaraven

three-half-stars


Tagged: , , , , , , , ,

Review: Planet Dragos by Thea Harrison

Posted May 14, 2018 by Holly in Reviews | 6 Comments

Review: Planet Dragos by Thea HarrisonReviewer: Holly
Planet Dragos (Elder Races, #9.8) by Thea Harrison
Series: Elder Races #9.8
Also in this series: Lord's Fall, Pia Saves the Day & Peanut Goes to School, Dragos Takes a Holiday, Night's Honor, Night's Honor, Dragon Bound, Midnight's Kiss, Midnight's Kiss, Dragos Goes to Washington, Shadow's End, Pia Does Hollywood, Liam Takes Manhattan, Pia Does Hollywood, The Chosen: A Novella of the Elder Races, Planet Dragos (Elder Races, #9.8)
Published by Self-Published
Publication Date: May 14, 2018
Point-of-View: Third
Genres: Urban Fantasy
Pages: 130
Amazon | Barnes & Noble | The Ripped Bodice | Google Play Books
Goodreads
four-half-stars

From New York Times and USA Today bestselling author Thea Harrison comes the final novella featuring Pia and Dragos…

Pia’s latest pregnancy has become a daily challenge, her relationship with Dragos strained with argument. That hasn’t stopped them from achieving a compromise and traveling to Las Vegas to celebrate their friend Rune’s wedding to his mate Carling.

From the moment they arrive, the trip goes awry. Death walks in Vegas, and Pia is kidnapped as an ancient enemy makes a move to destroy the Great Beast once and for all.

But the Great Beast has other plans.

On Planet Dragos everything goes the way he arranges it—unless someone decides to cross him, and God help them then, because he doesn’t know how to back down, and he doesn’t ever, ever let up….

I love Dragos and Pia. The Elder Races series is wonderful all around, but every time we return to Pia and Dragos I cheer a little on the inside.

These slice-of-life novellas are lovely. It’s great seeing where the Lord of the Wyr is, and how things are going with his family. In the previous book, Moonshadow, we met a new character who reappears here. I’m curious about him and hope we see more.

Aside from that, I loved seeing Pia and Dragos come to another turning point in their lives together. I was surprised at the choice they made at first, but it makes so much sense now that I think about it. I can’t wait for the next installment. I won’t lie, I’m anxious to see what happens with Liam.

4.25 out of 5

Elder Races

four-half-stars


Tagged: , , , , , , ,

Sunday Spotlight: Planet Dragos by Thea Harrison

Posted May 13, 2018 by Holly in Reviews | 4 Comments

Sunday Spotlight is a feature we began in 2016. This year we’re spotlighting our favorite books, old and new. We’ll be raving about the books we love and being total fangirls. You’ve been warned. 🙂

Sunday Spotlight

Pia and Dragos are easily one of my favorite UF couples. I adore these little slices-of-life novellas where they’re just living their lives. Planet Dragos ties up some loose ends from other novellas and opens up a brand new direction for them as a couple. It was so good.

Sunday Spotlight: Planet Dragos by Thea HarrisonPlanet Dragos (Elder Races, #9.8) by Thea Harrison
Series: Elder Races #9.8
Also in this series: Lord's Fall, Pia Saves the Day & Peanut Goes to School, Dragos Takes a Holiday, Night's Honor, Night's Honor, Dragon Bound, Midnight's Kiss, Midnight's Kiss, Dragos Goes to Washington, Shadow's End, Pia Does Hollywood, Liam Takes Manhattan, Pia Does Hollywood, The Chosen: A Novella of the Elder Races, Planet Dragos (Elder Races, #9.8)
Published by Self-Published
Publication Date: May 14, 2018
Point-of-View: Third
Genres: Urban Fantasy
Pages: 130
Amazon | Barnes & Noble | The Ripped Bodice | Google Play Books
Goodreads

From New York Times and USA Today bestselling author Thea Harrison comes the final novella featuring Pia and Dragos…

Pia’s latest pregnancy has become a daily challenge, her relationship with Dragos strained with argument. That hasn’t stopped them from achieving a compromise and traveling to Las Vegas to celebrate their friend Rune’s wedding to his mate Carling.

From the moment they arrive, the trip goes awry. Death walks in Vegas, and Pia is kidnapped as an ancient enemy makes a move to destroy the Great Beast once and for all.

But the Great Beast has other plans.

On Planet Dragos everything goes the way he arranges it—unless someone decides to cross him, and God help them then, because he doesn’t know how to back down, and he doesn’t ever, ever let up….

Order the Book:

AMAZON || BARNES AND NOBLE || KOBO

Excerpt

As they approached the main doors of the casino, she allowed herself to believe everything really would be okay.

Until several people strode through the main doors and approached them.

The leader was a tall, powerfully built Elven woman. A jagged white scar split her splendid features. She was accompanied by six soldier types, all of them wearing flak jackets and weapons.

“I really don’t like this,” Eva muttered under her breath. “Okay, Pia, back up now onto the gambling floor. We need to flag security.”

Pia moved to obey, feeling as though she were swimming through mud. Whatever this impending confrontation was about, she and Eva weren’t going to escape it. Out of the corner of her eye, she caught sight of the logo on the nearest soldier type. Devil’s Gate Security.

Quickly the soldier types fanned out until she and Eva were surrounded. Smiling, the Elven woman said, “Pia Cuelebre? Oh, look how pregnant you are. That’s just precious. My day keeps getting better and better.”

Moving so fast she blurred, Eva pulled her Glock and aimed for the Elven woman’s head. “Back up, asshole.”

Instantly the soldiers that surrounded them pulled their weapons too, all aiming at Eva. Dread drove like a spike into Pia’s chest. They weren’t bluffing.

“Eva,” Pia whispered, “put your gun down.”

“Not a chance.” Eva’s expression had turned ruthless. She bared her teeth at the Elven woman. “You want to go there? Let’s all go at once. They shoot me, I shoot you. Sure, I’ll be dead, but so will you. I don’t know who you are, and I don’t give a shit. We’re backing up onto the gambling floor, so get yourself out of my face.”

“We don’t have time for suicidal heroics,” the Elven woman said. Her gaze switched to Pia, and her smile widened. She said to the soldiers, “Holster your weapons.”

They did. Pia glanced quickly around. They stood at attention, watching the Elven woman, who said to Pia, “There, see? We’re not going to have any violence here, only choices.”

Choices – just as Azrael had warned. Pia’s heart pounded harder.

Ignoring Eva, who had not lowered her gun, the woman held out a phone to Pia as she strode closer. “I’ve taken a friend of yours, Carling Severan. Here, you can see her for yourself.”

She hadn’t thought she could feel more fear than she already did, but it spiked again. Dragging her gaze from the Elf’s face, she looked at the phone’s screen.

The scene was no static photo. It was live footage. She stared at the beautiful unconscious woman sprawled on the desert ground. It was indisputably Carling, her short auburn hair tousled. She was bound with strands of what looked like shining silver wire, and a silver arrow protruded from her chest.

There were at least two people with Carling. One stood visible from the waist down, holding a crossbow pointed at Carling’s head, while the other unseen person held the phone that filmed the scene.

“If you don’t come with me right now,” the Elven woman said softly, “he’s going to shoot. Are you going to save Carling’s life, or are you going to watch her die?”

No ordinary arrow would bring down a Vampyre of Carling’s age and strength, nor would ordinary silver bind her. Carling was one of the most powerful sorceresses in the world, yet this woman had captured her.

And Rune was mated to her, indisputably mated for life. Their Las Vegas wedding was nothing more than putting icing on the proverbial cake. If Carling died, Rune died. It was as simple as that.

Pia looked up to meet the Elven woman’s fearless, tigerish gaze. The Elf was a dead woman, of course, but some pretty important questions still remained. How would she die and how many casualties would she take down with her when she did?

Pia told her, “Of course I’ll come.”

“No,” Eva snapped, tightening her arm around Pia’s shoulders. “No, you will not!

Even as she protested, one of the soldiers walked up to slam the butt of his gun into the side of her head. Eva dropped like a stone.

“Okay, maybe we’ll have just a little violence,” the Elven woman said, hitching one shoulder up in a quick shrug. She said into her phone, “Don’t shoot her yet. Drain her so she’ll be weakened if she wakes up.”

As Pia tried to drop to her knees to check on Eva, two of the soldier types grabbed her arms, forcing her to remain on her feet. She wanted to scream in fury.

Instead, she said as steadily as she could, “This is not going to go well for you.”

The Elven woman laughed. “We’ll see how well it goes. When in Vegas you just have to roll the dice, know what I mean? Get to the roof,” she said to the others. “Move it!”

The roof. That meant they had a helicopter waiting. Pia hadn’t thought her heart could sink any further, but it did.

As they marched to a bank of elevators, she looked behind her. A couple of people were running over to Eva’s crumpled figure. One of them stood and shouted for help, and uniformed security guards appeared on the scene. As the elevator doors closed, the last thing she saw was one of the casino guards talking into a walkie-talkie.

The entire confrontation had taken a minute or less, and none of the guards had yet realized a kidnapping was in progress.

Pia looked at the logo on one of her kidnapper’s jackets. She asked, “What’s in Devil’s Gate?”

The Elven woman replied, “Your future.”

Elder Races

Giveaway Alert

We’re giving one lucky winner their choice of one of our Sunday Spotlight books. Use the Rafflecopter widget below to enter for one of this month’s features.

a Rafflecopter giveaway

Are you as excited for this release as we are? Let us know how excited you are and what other books you’re looking forward to this year!

About the Author

Thea Harrison

WEBSITE | TWITTER | FACEBOOK | GOODREADS

New York Times and USA TODAY bestselling author Thea Harrison resides in Colorado. She wrote her first book, a romance, when she was nineteen, and had sixteen romances published under the name Amanda Carpenter. She took a break from writing to collect a couple of graduate degrees and a grown child.

Thea writes in a variety of genres, including the award-winning paranormal Elder Races series and the Game of Shadows novels, and is currently at work on various new projects in sci-fi fantasy, paranormal and contemporary romance.

She adores animals and currently resides with two small dogs that have very large personalities.


Tagged: , , , ,