Publisher: Samhain Publishing

Throwback Thursday Review: Sabine by Moira Rogers

Posted September 6, 2018 by Holly in Reviews | 1 Comment

Throwback Thursday Review: Sabine by Moira RogersReviewer: Holly
Sabine (And the Beast, #1) by Moira Rogers
Series: And the Beast #1
Publisher: Samhain Publishing
Publication Date: May 3, 2011
Format: eBook
Point-of-View: Third
Genres: Paranormal Romance
Pages: 68
Add It: Goodreads
Amazon | Barnes & Noble | The Ripped Bodice | Google Play Books
three-half-stars
Series Rating: four-stars

A curse can erase her from his mind, but never from his heart.

" and the Beast, Book 1"

After three years at war, the High Lord of the Forest returns to his lands, a victorious wolf leader intent on claiming his mate. Instead Ciar finds an empty bed and a court with no recollection of the woman he loved. Following her long-cold trail proves far easier than facing what awaits him at the end.

Sabine s first instinct is to beg her beloved to leave. The High Lord s mother hired a witch to curse Sabine, desperate to wipe the lowborn wolf from her son s mind. But the spell worked too well, and Sabine has vanished from the thoughts of everyone who sees her. Including her own family.

The edges of his memory already blurring, Ciar and Sabine must race to find a way to reverse the spell. Yet every searing moment together is not enough to stop the curse s inexorable progress. His only chance is to bind Sabine to him too tightly to be forgotten, before she disappears once and for all.

Warning: This story contains cruel betrayal, destined love, vile curses, smoldering reunions, wicked deeds between wanton shapeshifters and a happily-ever-after worthy of any fairy tale. "

Every Thursday, we’ll be posting throwback reviews of our favorite and not-so-favorite books. Enjoy!

This review was originally posted on May 6, 2011.

This is a very short read, clocking in at just 41 pages. For such a short novella this really packs an emotional punch. Sabine and Ciar were going to be mated (this was personal choice – they were very much in love) when Ciar got called away to war. While he was gone, Sabine was cursed by her lover’s mother. Now no one remembers her – not even her mother.

When Ciar returns from war to find Sabine gone from his home, he immediately searches her out. He’s surprised to find her living in a cabin in the woods, cutoff from everyone and everything. Once she shares with him what happened, he determines to fix it by getting the witch to remove the curse. But..will he remember?

I loved the connection between Ciar and Sabine. Ciar loved Sabine just as much as she loved him. I can’t imagine how solitary and depressing it would be to not be remembered by anyone. Ciar remembers Sabine when he first returns, but forgets her soon after. While I would have liked to see this explored further (I think the emotional impact could have been much harder) I think Rogers did a credible job of making it work considering the page count.

I wish there had been more on the final resolution. Especially more about Ciar’s mother, and her part in what happened to Sabine. In the end it seemed too abrupt. I also want to read more about Ciar’s 2nd and his new wife. I’m hoping there will be another entry in the series featuring them.

3.5 out of 5

…and the Beast

three-half-stars


Tagged: , , , , , ,

Throwback Thursday Review: Memories of Us by Linda Winfree

Posted February 1, 2018 by Casee in Reviews | 4 Comments

Throwback Thursday Review: Memories of Us by Linda WinfreeReviewer: Casee
Memories of Us (Hearts of the South #5) by Linda Winfree
Series: Hearts of the South #5
Also in this series: Truth and Consequences, What Mattered Most, His Ordinary Life, Uncovered, Fall Into Me, Memories of Us (Hearts of the South #5), Hearts Awakened, Facing It, Hold On To Me, Gone From Me (Hearts of the South, #10)
Publisher: Samhain Publishing
Publication Date: June 10th 2008
Genres: Romantic Suspense
Add It: Goodreads
Amazon | Barnes & Noble | The Ripped Bodice | Google Play Books
four-half-stars
Series Rating: four-stars

Beneath the lies is truth—and temptation that neither of them can resist.

Book Five of the Hearts of the South series.

Investigator Celia St. John is hopelessly attracted to the one man she shouldn’t want, district attorney Tom McMillian. Arrogant and completely alpha, McMillian is the type of man she likes—a tough son of a bitch. The problem? He’s her boss, and he’s still hung up on his ex-wife.

Since his marriage to a law enforcement agent failed after the death of his infant son, Tom has avoided emotional involvement with any woman. Despite his attraction to Celia, he refuses to get involved with another cop.

Their no-strings affair quickly becomes a tangled web of intrigue as they investigate an illegal baby adoption ring and more than one murder, one of which points to Tom as a suspect. The more they dig under the lies, the higher the risk, not only to their relationship, but their lives.

***Every Thursday in 2018 we will be posting throwback reviews of our favorite and not-so-favorite books.

This review was originally posted on August 5, 2009.

At the time of this review, I have completed the Hearts of the South series. So I can say with complete conviction that Tom and Celia are my favorite couple of the series. I don’t know if it was Tom w/ the heartbreaking tragedy of his son dying or Celia with her unequivocal understanding and empathy for him.

Celia has lusted for Tom since she started working at the DA’s office. Knowing him as well as she does, she knows that there is no chance for them. Tom is still hung up on his ex-wife and Celia will never get involved with someone she works with again. When a dead baby is found in a car that was pulled over for a traffic stop, Celia and Tom get much closer than expected.

Babies’ deaths always hit Tom hard. With his ex-wife remarried and now expecting her own child, this case hits even harder. With his emotions going every which way, he finds himself instead concentrating on Celia. He has always known that she’s a good Investigator, he has just never looked at her as a woman. Now that he has, he can’t get her out of his head.

Following the trail to the person(s) responsible for the baby’s death takes Celia and Tom to a place they’re ill prepared to go. Not only that, but it makes Celia a target. Someone doesn’t want her finding the answers to the questions she’s been asking and they’ll do anything to prevent it.

The relationship between Tom and Celia was just so real. I can’t think of another way to describe it. I continued to be amazed by the characters that Linda Winfree writes.

Hearts of the South Series

4.5 out of 5

four-half-stars


Tagged: , , , , , ,

Review: Memories of Us by Linda Winfree

Posted January 27, 2015 by Holly in Reviews | 0 Comments

Review: Memories of Us by Linda WinfreeReviewer: Holly
Memories of Us (Hearts of the South #5) by Linda Winfree
Series: Hearts of the South #5
Also in this series: Truth and Consequences, What Mattered Most, His Ordinary Life, Uncovered, Fall Into Me, Hearts Awakened, Facing It, Hold On To Me, Gone From Me (Hearts of the South, #10), Memories of Us (Hearts of the South #5)
Publisher: Samhain Publishing
Publication Date: June 10th 2008
Genres: Romantic Suspense
Pages: 248
Add It: Goodreads
Amazon | Barnes & Noble | The Ripped Bodice | Google Play Books
four-half-stars
Series Rating: four-stars

Beneath the lies is truth—and temptation that neither of them can resist.

Book Five of the Hearts of the South series.

Investigator Celia St. John is hopelessly attracted to the one man she shouldn’t want, district attorney Tom McMillian. Arrogant and completely alpha, McMillian is the type of man she likes—a tough son of a bitch. The problem? He’s her boss, and he’s still hung up on his ex-wife.

Since his marriage to a law enforcement agent failed after the death of his infant son, Tom has avoided emotional involvement with any woman. Despite his attraction to Celia, he refuses to get involved with another cop.

Their no-strings affair quickly becomes a tangled web of intrigue as they investigate an illegal baby adoption ring and more than one murder, one of which points to Tom as a suspect. The more they dig under the lies, the higher the risk, not only to their relationship but their lives.

Memories of Us is book 5 in Linda Winfree’s Hearts of the South Series. I’ve read all the previous books and enjoyed them for the most part. I feel like I’ve been watching a new author blossom and grow as I follow along with these novels, and I have to say, she gets better with each subsequent release.

I think the thing I love best about this novel is how the main protagonists stick together and support each other, despite issues they both had from the past. I thought Celia was a very believable character. She was tough, but evenly balanced. She had vulnerabilities and fears, and with Tom’s help she was able to face them and then move on.

Tom was wonderful in that he wasn’t at all what I expected him to be from seeing him in the previous novels. I expected a somewhat staid, kind of straight-laced guy, but he was much more than that. I absolutely love that he was the one with the psychic gift. The way he dealt with it was awesome too. So much like a man.

I did have a few issues with his feelings towards his ex-wife and the way they were resolved. I would much rather have seen the author focus on his feelings for his dead son. I felt that had the potential to be much more deep and powerful. I didn’t believe for a second that after years of pining for his ex-wife and feeling guilty for his son’s death he was just magically healed.

Still, I adored Celia and Tom together. The had wonderful sexual chemistry, and I really felt their emotional bond. I love the way they supported each other and stood by each other. It was wonderfully done. I especially loved the way they just accepted each other as they were.

Though I had a few issues, I highly recommend this. It was an excellent read.

4.5 out of 5

*This review was originally published in 2008. For some reason it disappeared from our database when we switched to our new site.

four-half-stars


Tagged: , , , , , , ,

Guest Review: When It’s Right by Jeanette Grey

Posted January 7, 2014 by Ames in Reviews | 1 Comment

Guest Review:  When It’s Right by Jeanette GreyReviewer: Ames
When It's Right by Jeanette Grey
Publisher: Samhain Publishing
Publication Date: December 1, 2013
Format: eBook
Source: Publisher
Point-of-View: Alternating Third
Genres: Contemporary Romance
Pages: 79
Add It: Goodreads
Amazon | Barnes & Noble | The Ripped Bodice | Google Play Books
three-half-stars

"He's the last resolution she intends to break. "

Still licking his wounds after a messy breakup, Nate is at loose ends for New Year's Eve and itching for a wild and crazy adventure to jolt him out of his rut. Now if he could only convince his best friend, Cassie, to break away for an impromptu road trip to Times Square.

Fun as it sounds, Cassie is reluctant to accept Nate's invitation. Little does he know, she's made resolutions of her own-resolutions about finally getting over her long-standing crush on him. Telling herself this trip will be the perfect "last hurrah," she packs her bag.

The trip is a fiasco from the outset. A car that won't start, a freak storm that strands them on the side of the road, and a long drive with too much time for true confessions. Cassie's rocks Nate to the core, leaving him wondering if the best thing that ever happened to him has been right in front of him all along.

Warning: Contains two best friends, a secret crush, and a road trip that leads to tow trucks, unexpected hotel-room sharing, epiphanies, sex, and more.

I love the friends-to-lovers trope and this short novella did not disappoint.

Nate wants to go on a road trip and his timing couldn’t be worse. First, he hasn’t given himself a lot of time to get there – Nate and Cassie live in North Carolina, and it two days before New Years. Also, Cassie has just decided that she needs to get over her secret crush on Nate and move on…and spending time with him in close proximity will not help her achieve that goal. But Cassie gives in and away they go, except his car doesn’t work and they have to use her beater, and then all of a sudden, Nate is noticing things about Cassie and there’s a tension in the air. And then she tells him she used to have a crush on him and now Nate is all kinds of confused, about things about Cassie. The road trip from hell kind of just gets worse from there. LOL

I liked When It’s Right. It was long enough that we get to know our characters and understand them. Cassie and Nate became friends because when she first met him, she saw how all the ladies threw themselves at him and she didn’t want to compete, so she was just herself. And it killed her whenever she’d see Nate hook up with his bobble-head socialite girlfriends that he didn’t really care for.

After his latest breakup, Nate realizes he needs to change. He was going to move in with his girlfriend because they were compatible. He didn’t love her. And it eats him when he thinks about Cassie possibly pulling away from him. So when she admits to her crush, he’s flabbergasted.

I don’t want to say anything more, because things get really cute on their hellish road trip and then when they get to New York it made me happy. LOL This is a New Years’ themed-romance and it definitely leaves you with a smile on your face.

3.75 out of 5

This book is available from Samhain. You can buy it here or here in e-format.

three-half-stars


Tagged: , , , , , , ,

Lightning Review: True Colors by Thea Harrison

Posted March 28, 2012 by Holly in Reviews | 0 Comments

Lightning Review: True Colors by Thea HarrisonReviewer: Holly
True Colors (Elder Races, #3.5) by Thea Harrison
Series: Elder Races #3.5
Also in this series: Dragon Bound (Elder Races, #1), Storm's Heart (Elder Races, #2), Serpent's Kiss (Elder Races, #3), Oracle's Moon (Elder Races, #4), Oracle's Moon (Elder Races, #4), Lord's Fall (Elder Races, #5), Kinked, Lord's Fall, Kinked (Elder Races, #6), Pia Saves the Day & Peanut Goes to School, Dragos Takes a Holiday, Night's Honor, Night's Honor, Dragon Bound, Midnight's Kiss, Midnight's Kiss, Dragos Goes to Washington, Shadow's End, Pia Does Hollywood, Liam Takes Manhattan, Pia Does Hollywood, The Chosen: A Novella of the Elder Races, Planet Dragos (Elder Races, #9.8), Planet Dragos (Elder Races, #9.8), Lionheart (Moonshadow, #3)
Publisher: Samhain Publishing
Publication Date: December 13, 2011
Format: eBook
Source: Purchased
Genres: Paranormal Romance
Pages: 93
Add It: Goodreads
Amazon | Barnes & Noble | The Ripped Bodice | Google Play Books
Series Rating: four-stars

Meeting your soulmate? Great. Preventing your possible murder? Even better.

Alice Clark, a Wyr and schoolteacher, has had two friends murdered in as many days, and she's just found the body of a third. She arrives at the scene only minutes before Gideon Riehl, a wolf Wyr and current detective in the Wyr Division of Violent Crime—and, as Alice oh-so-inconveniently recognizes at first sight, her mate.

But the sudden connection Riehl and Alice feel is complicated when the murders are linked to a serial killer who last struck seven years ago, killing seven people in seven days. They have just one night before the killer strikes again. And every sign points to Alice as the next victim.

Product WarningsThis book contains a hot police detective, a violent murderer on the hunt, and a heroine that can blend in anywhere...

This short story is set in the same world as her Elder Races series, available now from Berkley. While I enjoyed reading about something outside the main storyarc of the series, I don’t think it packed the same punch as her full length novels.

The villain wasn’t too hard to figure out. I think it was pretty obvious from the beginning whodunit. But the romance was entertaining enough that I wasn’t bored with the story. I like the idea of an unusual Wyr, which is what Alice is.

A quick, light read. Especially since the next release in the series is so far away…

3.5 out of 5 

Elder Races


Tagged: , , , , , , ,