Publisher: Pocket Star

Retro Review: A Hunger Like No Other by Kresley Cole.

Posted October 11, 2017 by Rowena in Reviews | 6 Comments

Retro Review: A Hunger Like No Other by Kresley Cole.Reviewer: Rowena
A Hunger Like No Other (Immortals After Dark #2) by Kresley Cole
Series: Immortals After Dark #2
Published by Pocket Star
Publication Date: April 1st 2006
Genres: Paranormal Romance
Pages: 356
Buy on Amazon | Barnes & Noble
Goodreads

Acclaimed author Kresley Cole introduces a sizzling new series with this tale of a fierce werewolf and a bewitching vampire—unlikely soul mates whose passion will test the boundaries of life and death.

A mythic warrior who'll stop at nothing to possess her...

After enduring years of torture from the vampire horde, Lachlain MacRieve, leader of the Lykae Clan, is enraged to find the predestined mate he's waited millennia for is a vampire. Or partly one. This Emmaline is a small, ethereal half Valkyrie/half vampire, who somehow begins to soothe the fury burning within him.

A vampire captured by her wildest fantasy...

Sheltered Emmaline Troy finally sets out to uncover the truth about her deceased parents—until a powerful Lykae claims her as his mate and forces her back to his ancestral Scottish castle. There, her fear of the Lykae—and their notorious dark desires—ebbs as he begins a slow, wicked seduction to sate her own dark cravings.

An all-consuming desire...

Yet when an ancient evil from her past resurfaces, will their desire deepen into a love that can bring a proud warrior to his knees and turn a gentle beauty into the fighter she was born to be?

*****As part of our 10 year anniversary celebration, we’ll be re-posting old reviews and posts that make us cringe, laugh or sigh all over again.

This review was originally posted on June 4, 2007.

So I took a break from the Crazy series because I left the next book at home and I had this one with me so I started reading it and man, I’ve got to publicly thank Lori for pimping this book to me a couple of weeks ago, because man did I devour this book on Saturday. This is the first book in the Immortals After Dark series by Kresley Cole.

The book is about the Lykae King who was captured and held captive by these mean bad ass vampires and tortured like you can’t even imagine and his never-ending quest to find his true mate. He’s searched high and low for this woman for the last roughly like 1100 years, to no avail until one day, he’s in chains and he scents her, above him and the guy goes a little crazy. He breaks his chains and rushes to find her, only to find out that his mate, his beloved mate is one of the things he detests most in this world…a vampire.

So you can only imagine how pissed off he was. I mean, he’s caught and held captive and then tortured within an inch of his life and then the one thing that gets him out of this mess, his mate turns out to be one of …them.

It’s been hundreds of years that he’s searched for her and he’s not going to let one little thing like her being a vampire stand in the way of him and his mate. Although he’s pissed to high heaven about this turn of events, he still kidnaps Emma and forces her to his will. He’s consumed with hatred for vampires and everything they’ve done to him and his family. He vows to never let her go back to her family and even though he hates everything she turned out to be, timid, shy and well, vampire …he still catches himself before actually hurting her because, there’s something about her…

He askes her to drive him to his family home, where he can finally get back to his own people and on the way, he softens toward her like it was no thang, by the time they’re home, she becomes so much more than just his mate. So now, he’s got to convince her to stay with him because she loves him and not because she’s too scared to leave. He’s got to convince her to stay before her Aunts come calling on them for a war, since he refuses to give her up.

Tempers flair and people change, but will it be enough for this Lykae King to finally be at peace with the mate he’s searched his whole life for?

You bet your bottom dollar it is, this is romance of course. =)

Man, this book was really good. I liked the passion with which Lachlain did everything. He never did anything by half measure, if he hated your guts, he hated you with everything that he was and made no move to hide his displeasure or hatred. If he loved you, he did all he could to keep you around and went to any lengths to make you see things his way. He was very demanding at the same time he was very patient. He was a man of his word and he was not to be taken lightly…ever. Lachlain was passionate and just so hot damn hot even with his regenerating leg, he was yum yum yum…even when he was being an ass. He did a lot of stupid things that I hated in the beginning but as he got to know Emma and care for her, I started to forgive him for all his wrongdoings in the beginning of the book.

Emma learned that Lachlain was a man who wasn’t above lying, cheating and using whatever was at his disposal to get what he wants and though she softened toward him at the end, he still had a lot to prove to her and I was so happy that she grew a pair to finally tell him where to shove his crap. I loved that each time she drank from him, she got so strong and she would smack the shit out of him and be all like, “Thats for pissing me off” and whatever else she would say, I loved it!

I loved how she stood up for herself and did the one thing that would unite her with the people she knows and loves. I loved that she took it upon herself to do that thing and it endeared her to me greatly.

The world that Kresley Cole created with all these demons and vampires, Lykae and Valkyrie intrigued me right from the very beginning, I couldn’t help but be pulled into the world with each word that I read in the beginning, I felt Lachlain’s hatred and I felt his haunted past trying to ruin everything he had with Emma and I love love loved how he fought to keep Emma by his side, regardless of who and what she was.

It was a true romance in every sense of the word and I just ate it all up. There were things in the beginning that I didn’t really care for but other than the way Lachlain and Emma meet and the way he treated her in the beginning, I really enjoyed this story. It was smooth reading and Kresley Cole’s voice in this story makes me look forward to more from her, this was a definite delight!

Read it!

Grade: 4 out of 5


Tagged: , , , , , , , , , ,

Review: All I Ever Wanted by Luann McLane

Posted August 14, 2017 by Holly in Reviews | 1 Comment

Review: All I Ever Wanted by Luann McLaneReviewer: Holly
All I Ever Wanted (Heartthrob #1) by LuAnn McLane
Series: Heartthrob #1
Published by Pocket Star
Publication Date: July 24th 2017
Genres: Contemporary Romance
Pages: 288
Buy on Amazon | Barnes & Noble
Goodreads
two-half-stars

From author LuAnn McLane comes the first in a brand new series featuring the sexy Heart brothers: formerly the members of the cult-phenomenon boy band Heartbeat, they’re all grown up and back together for one last reunion tour….

When Grady Heart, former lead singer of the cult-phenomenon boy band Heartbeat and eldest of the brothers, decides to bring the group back together for a highly anticipated reunion concert, he doesn’t expect to be met with so much resistance from his brothers. He also doesn’t expect them to hire his ex-girlfriend and ex-Heartbeat choreographer Arabella York to help the band rock some new dance moves.

Back in Heartbeat’s glory days the brooding bad boy fell hard for Arabella; the studious, stable dance teacher tamed Grady’s wild side but her lack of trust in him eventually drove them apart. Although their chemistry burns hotter than ever, Grady tries to keep his relationship with Arabella strictly professional this time around but in his heart, he might just still long to find out what could have been.

Grady Heart and his brothers were a wildly popular teen boy band. They quit performing when their mother got sick. Now that she’s gone, Grady is organizing a benefit reunion concert in her memory. All his brothers are on board, but there’s a problem…the slick dance moves they used as teens just aren’t possible now that they’re adults. Grady wants everything to be perfect since this is such an important cause. Even so, when his brothers suggest they contact their old choreographer, Arabella, Grady refuses. She broke his heart once. He isn’t willing to give her a second chance. Too bad for him, his brothers go behind his back and call her. Faced with the prospect of spending time with the woman who disappeared without backward glance, Grady admits he still isn’t over her. But he’s not going to give her his heart again.

Arabella is in a financial pickle. She opened a string of successful fitness studios, but she got in over her head and expanded too quickly. Now she either needs a serious infusion of cash or she’s going to be forced to take on a demanding partner who wants to rebrand her entire operation. But facing bad boy Grady Heart again after he ruined her for love isn’t high on her list of fun things to do. Still, she doesn’t have much choice if she wants to save her studios. Now she just needs to keep a calm head around Grady. There’s no way she’s going to risk falling for him again. She learned the hard way the rockstar life is not for her.

I really struggled with this book. I like rock star romances and figured a light boy band second chance love story was right up my alley. Sadly the brothers seemed to suffer from Peter Pan Syndrome. Despite all being in their late 20’s-early 30’s, they still acted like teenagers. The heroine was just as bad. Between her refusal to talk things out like an adult and the way she ran every time something got hard, I had a hard time buying that she was an adult with a successful string of dance studios under her.

I really believed Grady cared for her, but I wasn’t as convinced of Arabella’s feelings. She was closed off and ran at the first sign of trouble or drama. Because she didn’t stick with him, despite her saying she loved Grady, I didn’t buy it.

The premise was good, and I enjoyed some of it. I may continue on with the series.

2.75 out of 5

two-half-stars


Tagged: , , , , , , ,

Guest Lightning Review: Miss Goodhue Lives for a Night by Kate Noble

Posted September 22, 2016 by Tracy in Reviews | 0 Comments

Guest Lightning Review: Miss Goodhue Lives for a Night by Kate NobleReviewer: Tracy
Miss Goodhue Lives for a Night by Kate Noble
Series: Winner Takes All #2.5
Also in this series: The Dare and the Doctor
Published by Pocket Star
Publication Date: September 19th 2016
Buy on Amazon | Barnes & Noble
Goodreads
three-half-stars

Cecilia Goodhue is a schoolteacher with a past, living with her sister and her husband in a tiny English village. Resigned to a quiet life, Cecilia is surprised when she finds out that her young cousin has run off with a man of no means.

Cecilia had once been a teenaged girl who also fell for a young man’s charms—only to be devastated by his betrayal. Determined to not let her cousin meet the same fate, she heads off to London to but is shocked when her investigation leads her right to the front door of the very man who broke her heart: Theo Hudson.

Together, they reluctantly embark on finding her cousin and returning her to her family. During their searching in London, it soon becomes clear that they both remember their short-lived romance differently and perhaps now, years later, they have a fresh chance at love.

There’s not much to say about the premise of the story as the blurb says it so well.  This was a cute story though. There wasn’t a lot of angst, there wasn’t a lot of drama and it was a sweet reunion story.  Once Cecilia and Theo had figured out that they’d been lied to by their fathers ten years earlier about why the other wanted to marry them, all was well.

Parts of the story were pretty funny and I enjoyed laughing throughout the book.  I haven’t read books 1 & 2 in this series but I didn’t feel that I needed to in order to enjoy this novella.

Rating: 3.5 out of 5

three-half-stars


Tagged: , , , , , , ,

Review: From this Day Forward by Lauren Layne

Posted June 7, 2016 by Rowena in Reviews | 1 Comment

Review: From this Day Forward by Lauren LayneReviewer: Rowena
From This Day Forward (Wedding Belles #0.5) by Lauren Layne
Series: Wedding Belles #0.5
Also in this series: To Have and to Hold (Wedding Belles #1), For Better or Worse (Wedding Belles #2), To Love and to Cherish (Wedding Belles #3)
Published by Simon & Schuster, Pocket Star
Publication Date: June 6th 2016
Pages: 128
Buy on Amazon | Barnes & Noble
Goodreads

Sex and the City meets The Wedding Planner in this prequel to USA TODAY bestselling author Lauren Layne’s The Wedding Belles series about three high-powered New York City women who can plan any wedding—but their own.

Up-and-coming wedding photographer Leah McHale’s career is on the rise–thanks in no small part to the Wedding Belles, the elite New York wedding planning agency that always throws top-tier business Leah’s way. So when one of the Belles asks Leah to fill in at the former First Daughter's wedding, Leah is overjoyed to say yes–until she finds out who she’ll be working with.

Jason Rhodes is the one man who was able to capture Leah’s heart and, once he had it, promptly stepped all over it and left her broken. Now he’s working side-by-side with her at the biggest wedding of the season and Leah is determined to give him the cold shoulder. Despite his persistence, she is not going to fall for his charming, impish ways again. Not even if he still has that killer, irresistible smile...

This was a quick but enjoyable romance that set up the Wedding Belles series pretty darned well. For such a short story, I didn’t feel like Jason and Leah were robbed of a full length novel. Their story was short but sweet and I’m looking forward to more from these characters.

Jason Rhodes and Leah McHale had a thing good thing going last year but when Leah shows up at Jason’s house and a woman answers the door wearing the shirt that Leah bought for Jason, she bolts because she aint no fool and Jason is obviously cheating on her!

Jason tries to explain but Leah doesn’t want to hear it. There’s nothing he can say that will change what she saw with her own eyes so Leah dodges his phone calls, his messages and she tries to move on with her life but when they’re thrown together on a work project, Leah can’t avoid him. Jason still wants Leah as much as he’s always wanted her but he’s pissed at her for bolting without hearing him out. He thought they had a good thing going but she wouldn’t even let him explain anything and he’s tired of being the guy that everyone suspects of all bad things first.

I thought Jason did a great job of winning Leah back and even though I was a little peeved at Leah for not even trying to hear him out (for over a year!), the way that they came together was sweet and for such a short romance, the romance was just as steamy as if this was a full length story. It was a delightful introduction to a series that I’m looking forward to. I recommend!

Grade: 4 out of 5


Tagged: , , , , , ,

Review: Saving Grace by Kristen Proby

Posted January 6, 2016 by Rowena in Reviews | 0 Comments

Review: Saving Grace by Kristen ProbyReviewer: Rowena
Saving Grace by Kristen Proby
Published by Pocket Star
Publication Date: November 30, 2015
Buy on Amazon | Barnes & Noble
Goodreads
two-half-stars

Sparks fly like snowflakes when a klutzy but gorgeous novice crosses skis with a hot resort owner in this tempting tie-in to New York Times bestselling author Kristen Proby’s popular Love Under the Big Sky series!

Grace Douglas is on a practice run for her friend Cara Donovan’s bachelorette party ski weekend in Aspen. The problem is, despite living in rugged and picturesque Cunningham Falls, Montana, Grace is the clumsiest person ever born. To prepare for the trip, she is taking lessons at a local ski resort. She just prays that they have an ambulance on standby.

Sexy hotelier Jacob Berkley is ready to play ski instructor, but he quickly discovers that the best place on the mountain for Grace is in the lodge with a hot toddy. Her sense of humor and easy laugh quickly pull him in, and soon he’s determined to help her get off the bunny slope for a fun vacation with her friends. He just didn’t expect their steamy chemistry to trigger an avalanche of desire straight to his heart.

This was a short contemporary romance that didn’t take me very long to dig in to.

The story starts out with the heroine and a bunch of her friends are hanging out and her friends have gotten the klutzy heroine some ski lessons at the local resort so that she can learn how to ski from a professional before they turn her loose in Aspen for one of their bachelorette weekend away.

So our heroine, Grace heads up the mountain for her weekend ski lessons and is really impressed with her ski instructor. He’s hot, he’s got good hands and he’s really helping her get a hold on this skiing business. She’s just about ready for that trip to Aspen.

When Bax asks her out to dinner, Grace is hesitant because she really shouldn’t but he’s sexy and he’s mighty interested in her so she caves because….why not?

Bax is intrigued with the girl who mistakes him for her ski instructor. Right from the very beginning, he’s interested in everything about this girl so when he asks her out and she turns him down, he’s bummed. But she changes her mind and Bax realizes that he doesn’t want to stop seeing this girl so he ups the charm.

I’m not really sure where to begin with this review. I mean, I liked it but I didn’t love it. I’m not sure if I couldn’t connect with both Grace and Bax because there wasn’t enough page time to do it or what but for some reason, Grace’s clumsiness and her sassy personality made me roll my eyes and then there was Bax. He’s a super rich guy who owns the resort and some hot to trot lady comes up and he’s so taken with her that he immediately wants in…on everything.

Things just happened so fast and the cheese came on so strong with this story that I spent pretty much the entire book rolling my eyes. I just didn’t buy the instant romance, the clumsy/sassy heroine didn’t do it for me and while it wasn’t a bad premise, I feel like this book would have been so much better with a longer story. Everything was too wham, bam, thank you ma’am for me.

Grade: 2.5 out of 5

two-half-stars


Tagged: , , , , ,