Publisher: Penguin

Joint Review: Dead Heat by Patricia Briggs

Posted December 6, 2018 by Rowena in Reviews | 1 Comment

Joint Review: Dead Heat by Patricia BriggsReviewer: Holly & Rowena
Dead Heat (Alpha & Omega #4) by Patricia Briggs
Series: Alpha & Omega #4
Publisher: Ace
Publication Date: March 3, 2015
Format: eBook
Source: Purchased
Point-of-View: Third
Genres: Paranormal Romance
Pages: 324
Amazon | Barnes & Noble | The Ripped Bodice | Google Play Books
Goodreads
four-half-stars

For once, mated werewolves Charles and Anna are not traveling because of Charles’s role as his father’s enforcer. This time, their trip to Arizona is purely personal--or at least it starts out that way...Charles and Anna soon discover that a dangerous Fae being is on the loose, replacing human children with simulacrums. The Fae’s cold war with humanity is about to heat up—and Charles and Anna are in the cross fire.

Holly: Last year I forced Rowena to read the Alpha and Omega series by Patricia Briggs because I love Charles and Anna and I knew she would, too. She read books 1-3, but stalled out before reading book 4, Dead Heat. I’ve been telling her all year she needs to read it and I was finally able to convince her.

I know a lot of people didn’t care for this book, but I loved it. It moved kind of slow in the middle, but I absolutely adored the way Charles and Anna worked together. What did you think?

Rowena: People thought this book moved slowly? I didn’t think that at any time during my reading of this book. I loved it all. Charles and Anna working together should have been boring with Anna doing whatever Charles needed without him telling her to do it. Charles being overly protective of Anna at every turn but holy cow, their dynamic together is anything but boring or slow, at least for me. I’m not going to get into how hot I thought it was that Charles would drop anything at the drop of a hat if he felt Anna needed him.

Holly: I heard a lot of complaints about this book when it was first released, but like you, I loved it. I especially loved the way Charles and Anna take care of each other. I was glad to see Anna dealing with some of her trauma here. I feel like she’s overcome a lot since she first mated with Charles, but as with all true abuse victims, there are going to be moments for her. This book really highlighted those, yet still showed her inner strength.

Rowena: On top of loving how great Charles and Anna worked together, I really enjoyed the overall story going on. The reunion between Charles and his second family, with Joe and Joe’s family. I loved seeing that Charles had people who loved and cared about him that weren’t Anna and Bran and Sam. I loved seeing Charles deal with past hurts and face what’s become of his human best friend. Joe is a lot older now and when Joe’s family is put in danger, I was so glad that Charles and Anna were on hand to find out what was going on and protect everyone. It’s what they’re good at. It’s what Charles is good at.

I also really liked how Hosteen reacted to Anna’s magic. LMAO! Served him right!

Holly: Oh man, I about died when Hosteen got drunk on Anna’s magic. Served him right indeed.

I also really loved the story featuring Chelsea, Hosteen’s daughter-in-law. Her fierceness as a mother and the way she did everything she could to keep her kids safe really got me in the feels.

Rowena: Yeah, Chelsea was awesome. I loved how fiercely protective she was over her kids. How she had the frame of mind to protect them from what was going on with her and man, that brings me back to more Anna love because I really loved the way that Anna handled watching over Chelsea’s kids. She was honest and forthcoming with whatever she could with Max and I appreciated that she didn’t try to hide what was going on because he had to deal with it and she was there to help him figure things out until his parents returned and took over the reins. With everything going on, Anna just kept right on rolling with the punches.

I thought that Patricia Briggs wrote another fabulously suspenseful novel with characters that I have come to love so much and introduced some other characters that warmed me right up. I cried in the end when the spirits boosted Joe up so that he can protect his grand-daughter until Charles got there to take over. I really love all of the faith everyone had in Charle’s abilities. I mean, I have the same faith but it was just so nice.

I give this book a 5 out of 5. You?

Holly: I agree. This was a wonderful novel, full of suspense and strong characters I came to love. I was sad to see it end. 4.5 out of 5

Holly: 4.5 out of 5
Rowena: 5 out of 5

Alpha & Omega

four-half-stars


Tagged: , , , , , , , , , ,

Review: Magic Triumphs by Ilona Andrews

Posted November 29, 2018 by Holly in Reviews | 1 Comment

Review: Magic Triumphs by Ilona AndrewsReviewer: Holly
Magic Triumphs (Kate Daniels, #10) by Ilona Andrews
Series: Kate Daniels #10
Also in this series: Magic Shifts, Magic Shifts, Magic Binds (Kate Daniels, #9), Magic Bites (Kate Daniels, #1), Magic Strikes (Kate Daniels, #3), Iron and Magic (The Iron Covenant, #1)
Publisher: Ace
Publication Date: August 28, 2018
Format: eARC
Source: Publisher
Point-of-View: First
Genres: Urban Fantasy
Pages: 352
Amazon | Barnes & Noble | The Ripped Bodice | Google Play Books
Goodreads
four-stars

Mercenary Kate Daniels must risk all to protect everything she holds dear in this epic, can't-miss entry in the thrilling #1 New York Times bestselling urban fantasy series.

Kate has come a long way from her origins as a loner taking care of paranormal problems in post-Shift Atlanta. She's made friends and enemies. She's found love and started a family with Curran Lennart, the former Beast Lord. But her magic is too strong for the power players of the world to let her be.

Kate and her father, Roland, currently have an uneasy truce, but when he starts testing her defenses again, she knows that sooner or later, a confrontation is inevitable. The Witch Oracle has begun seeing visions of blood, fire, and human bones. And when a mysterious box is delivered to Kate's doorstep, a threat of war from the ancient enemy who nearly destroyed her family, she knows their time is up.

Kate Daniels sees no other choice but to combine forces with the unlikeliest of allies. She knows betrayal is inevitable. She knows she may not survive the coming battle. But she has to try.

For her child.

For Atlanta.

For the world.

I’m so sad to see the end of the Kate Daniels series. Saying goodbye to these characters is hard! My only consolation is there are still at least 2 more books due in the Iron Covenant series. Speaking of, I really think reading Iron and Magic before reading Magic Triumphs is a good idea. The events of this book start in I&M, plus…other stuff (no spoilers!). Not to mention, Ilona Andrews recommends reading I&M before MT.

Kate has grown and changed a lot of the course of this series. When we first started, she was a killer, alone in the world. Now she’s a wife and mother, and has strong family ties and far-ranging friendships. I’ve loved seeing her grow and change. Some of those changes are for the better, and some for the worse.

For months, Kate and her father have had an uneasy truce. He pokes at her and she pokes back, but nothing major has come between them. They both know the fight is coming, and both are gearing up for it, but for now things are cautiously quiet. She still has to deal with Pack politics – even though she and Curran are no longer part of the Pack – and dealing with being a mother to a shapeshifter the likes of which the world has never seen. Curran is changing in strange ways and things with her adopted daughter, Julie, are strained. When a powerful, ancient enemy returns, Kate realizes she’s in over her head. She may have to form alliances in unexpected places if she’s going to come out of this alive.

I loved the scenes with Conlan. He was adorable. There were quite a few times I laughed out loud while reading. I really like Erra. I hope we see more of her and Julie. I struggled with the way Kate and Curran deal with each other at times. Why they can’t communicate like adults is beyond me. They’ve been together long enough to know how the other is, so why not just be honest? I wasn’t quite satisfied with the ending. It felt rushed and too easy. I kept expecting more…something. More action, more angst..just more. I hope we’ll see a spin-off in the very near future.

Despite my issues, Kate and her merry band of deadly killers has lived up to my expectations for all these years. This book is just as fresh as book one. I love the world and each and every characters. I’m sad to say goodbye to Kate and Curran, but very much look forward to seeing more from this world in the future.

4 out of 5

Kate Daniels

four-stars


Tagged: , , , , , ,

Review: Archangel’s Consort by Nalini Singh

Posted November 27, 2018 by Rowena in Reviews | 0 Comments

Review: Archangel’s Consort by Nalini SinghReviewer: Rowena
Archangel's Consort (Guild Hunter, #3) by Nalini Singh
Narrator: Justine Eyre
Series: Guild Hunter #3
Also in this series: Archangel's Kiss, Archangel's Consort, Archangel's Storm (Guild Hunter #5), Archangel's Legion, Archangel's Legion (Guild Hunter #6), Archangel's Shadows, Archangel's Shadows, Archangel's Enigma (Guild Hunter, #8), Angels' Blood (Guild Hunter #1), Archangel's Heart, Archangel's Heart, Archangel's Heart (Guild Hunter, #9), Archangel's Kiss, Angels' Blood, Archangel's Viper (Guild Hunter, #10), Archangel's Viper, Archangel's Prophecy (Guild Hunter, #11), Archangel's Prophecy (Guild Hunter, #11)
Publisher: Penguin, Berkley
Publication Date: January 25, 2011
Format: Audiobook
Source: Audible Romance Package
Point-of-View: Alternating Third
Genres: Paranormal Romance
Pages: 377
Length: 10 hours, 21 minutes
Amazon | Barnes & Noble | The Ripped Bodice | Google Play Books
Goodreads
four-stars

Vampire hunter Elena Deveraux and her lover, the lethally beautiful archangel Raphael, have returned home to New York only to face an uncompromising new evil…

A vampire has attacked a girls’ school—the assault one of sheer, vicious madness—and it is only the first act. Rampant bloodlust takes vampire after vampire, threatening to make the streets run with blood. Then Raphael himself begins to show signs of an uncontrolled rage, as inexplicable storms darken the city skyline and the earth itself shudders.

The omens are suddenly terrifyingly clear.

An ancient and malevolent immortal is rising. The violent winds whisper her name: Caliane. She has returned to reclaim her son, Raphael. Only one thing stands in her way: Elena, the consort who must be destroyed…

Archangel’s Consort is the third book in the Guild Hunter’s series by Nalini Singh, and it’s another Raphael and Elena book so they’re heavily featured in this one. A vampire is on the attack, and when he hits a girls school, Elena, the Hunter is brought in to find him and bring him in. Elena is still pretty new to the life of an immortal but she’s got a lot of help in Raphael and his Seven. She’s still learning everything and I thought it was an interesting part of this book. I liked seeing her relationship with not just Raphael, but with each of the Seven grow. They’re not perfect, but holy cow, they entertaining.

I really like the way that Nalini Singh wrote Elena’s character. She’s going through so much right now, dealing with so much and yet she just keeps right on taking on more. She’s dealing with everything that comes with being an Angel made, she’s dealing with a new relationship with an Archangel, the changes in her personal life that came with being an immortal and then a vampire attacks at the school that her younger half sisters attend and she jumps right into the thick of tracking this monster down. I couldn’t help but admire the hell out of Elena because I don’t think I would have handled that much change AND been any good at finding the bad guys.

I also really liked seeing Raphael and Elena together. They’re so new at being together and there’s a lot going on emotionally for both of them but their bond, their feelings for each other were solid. I liked seeing that they were both vulnerable to each other and not one more than the other. Raphael is so sure of himself in every aspect of his life and then he gets around Elena and you see a different, softer side to him and man, I just loved it.

I will say that the beginning of this book was a little on the slow side but the deeper I got into the story, the more invested I became and well, it’s Elena and Raphael, they do a great job of sucking readers in because their world is all kinds of crazy. I’m looking forward to continuing this series so that I can fall as deeply in love with it as Casee and Holly are. This was a pretty quick listen and I enjoyed it so I’m here for more from these guys.

Grade: 4 out of 5

Guild Hunters

four-stars


Tagged: , , , , , , ,

Joint Review: Iron Kissed by Patricia Briggs

Posted November 23, 2018 by Rowena in Reviews | 1 Comment

Joint Review: Iron Kissed by Patricia BriggsReviewer: Holly & Rowena
Iron Kissed (Mercy Thompson, #3) by Patricia Briggs
Series: Mercy Thompson #3
Also in this series: Frost Burned (Mercy Thompson, #7), Night Broken, Shifting Shadows, Blood Bound, Fire Touched, Silence Fallen (Mercy Thompson, #10), Moon Called, Blood Bound (Mercy Thompson, #2)
Publisher: Ace
Publication Date: January 2, 2008
Format: eBook
Source: Purchased
Point-of-View: First
Genres: Paranormal Romance
Pages: 287
Amazon | Barnes & Noble | The Ripped Bodice | Google Play Books
Goodreads
four-half-stars

I could smell her fear, and it satisfied something deep inside me that had been writhing under her cool, superior gaze. I curled my upper lip so she could get a good look at my sharp teeth. I might only weigh thirty or so pounds in my coyote shape, but I was a predator...

Mechanic Mercy Thompson can shift her shape - but not her loyalty. When her former boss and mentor is arrested for murder and left to rot behind bars by his own kind, it's up to Mercy to clear his name, whether he wants her to or not.

Mercy's loyalty is under pressure from other directions, too. Werewolves are not known for their patience, and if Mercy can't decide between the two she cares for, Sam and Adam may make the choice for her...

In Iron Kissed, we are back in Mercy Thompson’s world and the fae need her help. When Zee, the fae that Mercy bought her mechanic shop from, needs Mercy’s help in sniffing out a murderer, Mercy doesn’t hesitate to help out. When that help turns into trouble for Zee, Mercy can’t and won’t turn away from a friend in need, no matter that he doesn’t want her help. Mercy is going to find out what’s going on and she’s going to clear Zee’s name and get him out of jail. The fae? Well, they can be pissed off all they want, but Mercy is going to do what she feels is right no matter what. Her friend is innocent, so let the investigation begin…

Rowena: Holy cow, I knew that this was going to be an emotional read for me because both you and Ames told me that you guys cried but I wasn’t expecting this book. Not, at all. I couldn’t stop reading the book either. I was engaged from beginning to end. My emotions were involved because my heart broke for Mercy, for Adam, for Ben. For everyone. This book, man…gah.

What did you think?

Holly: This is such a rough, emotional book. I always get swept up in Briggs’ books, but this one grabbed me right away. My emotions were all over the place. I ugly cried.

Rowena: So did I. I mean, how could you not?

I thought the entire story was well written. It was rough to get through but the beginning definitely led to the end and Briggs really takes the reader on an emotional journey.

Holly: I thought the beginning was a little slow, too, but it picked up quickly and I easily fell into it. I loved all the Fae stuff and how we saw more of Mercy’s relationship with Bran through what Samuel said. Mercy has always felt like she was just barely tolerated, and I loved it when Samuel was like “My dad will wage war for Mercy” and she was all surprised. <3

Rowena: The fae stuff was interesting, too. I wondered what the hell was up with that walking stick that kept showing up wherever Mercy went. I was also curious about who the hell the murderer was. I also really loved that though Mercy was a bit of a loner, she was never alone and I loved how Samuel and Adam made that known to whoever wished her harm. Then there was Zee. Oh man, I loved Zee too.

I bonded with Mercy’s character in this story and with Ben. I didn’t really care for Ben in the other books but I love the hell out of him now. Tears streaked down my face as he pled with Adam to understand.

Holly: I didn’t care for Ben in the previous books either, but he really came through here. We learned more about his past, too, which I thought was good. I loved how he stood up for Mercy in the end. It was touching because it was so unexpected from him, you know?

I think it’s so wonderful how Mercy’s relationships grow over the course of the series. She was alone for so long and now she’s developing all these tight connections.

Rowena: Yes, seeing Mercy realize that she really is loved was good. I hope we get more from the other wolves in Adam’s pack because I’m really soft for Ben, Warren and Kyle, Honey and her husband, and Jessie. I love everyone in Adam’s pack. When Mercy and Ben take care of that Jessie business at the end, I was glad that Mercy was able to get some of her confidence back.

Holly: I loved when Mercy and Ben took care of the Jesse thing at the end. They played it just right and it added some balance to the novel, I think.

I have to say, I knew who the murderer was, but I did not expect things to go the way they did for Mercy. I was shocked at what happened to her. I just didn’t see it coming.

Rowena: This book was just flat out good and though it was hard to get through, I’m glad that I read it and I’m pretty anxious to keep the Mercy Thompson reading adventure going. So, so good.

There is much to love in this book and I’m glad that you made me finally read this one. Mercy Thompson is one of my favorite characters and I’m super anxious to see what happens next. I give this a 4.5 out of 5 rating. You?

Holly: Mercy and those in her sphere really work for me as a whole. This novel was such a punch to the gut, even after several rereads. I was sucked right in. I’m really excited you’re continuing on.

I’m giving this 4.5 out of 5 as well.

Grade: 4.5 out of 5

Mercy Thompson

four-half-stars


Tagged: , , , , , , , , ,

Review: Burn Bright by Patricia Briggs

Posted November 15, 2018 by Rowena in Reviews | 2 Comments

Review: Burn Bright by Patricia BriggsReviewer: Rowena
Burn Bright (Alpha and Omega #5) by Patricia Briggs
Series: Alpha and Omega #5
Also in this series: Hunting Ground (Alpha & Omega, #2), Fair Game (Alpha & Omega, #3), Cry Wolf (Alpha & Omega, #1), Dead Heat (Alpha & Omega, #4), Alpha & Omega (Alpha & Omega, #0.5), Cry Wolf (Alpha & Omega, #1), Hunting Ground (Alpha & Omega, #2), Burn Bright (Alpha & Omega, #5), Burn Bright (Alpha & Omega, #5), Alpha & Omega (Alpha & Omega, #0.5), Cry Wolf (Alpha & Omega, #1)
Publisher: Penguin, Ace
Publication Date: March 6, 2018
Format: eBook
Source: Purchased
Point-of-View: Alternating Third
Genres: Urban Fantasy
Pages: 336
Amazon | Barnes & Noble | The Ripped Bodice | Google Play Books
Goodreads
four-stars

Mated werewolves Charles Cornick and Anna Latham face a threat like no other--one that lurks too close to home...

They are the wild and the broken. The werewolves too damaged to live safely among their own kind. For their own good, they have been exiled to the outskirts of Aspen Creek, Montana. Close enough to the Marrok's pack to have its support; far enough away to not cause any harm.

With their Alpha out of the country, Charles and Anna are on call when an SOS comes in from the fae mate of one such wildling. Heading into the mountainous wilderness, they interrupt the abduction of the wolf--but can't stop blood from being shed. Now Charles and Anna must use their skills--his as enforcer, hers as peacemaker--to track down the attackers, reopening a painful chapter in the past that springs from the darkest magic of the witchborn...

Patricia Briggs keeps delivering fabulously suspenseful stories for this series and I am so here for it all. Burn Bright is the fifth book in the Alpha & Omega series and it follows Charles and Anna as they try to figure out who is trying to harm their own.

When the Marrock goes out of town, Charles and Anna are on duty so they’re there when an SOS goes out for one of their own. Someone is out for the wild and the broken wolves who don’t live with the rest of the pack. The ones that are too dangerous to keep close. Charles and Anna get to work on trying to figure out what’s going on, who’s gunning for these wildling wolves, all while trying to hold their pack together with the Marrock away. Things prove to be a bit much for them because the more they find out, the more they need their fearless leader and with him not being available to help, Charles and Anna must keep it together for everyone.

Charles and Anna are probably my favorite couple from this world. I love Mercy and Adam but Charles and Anna really get my heart pounding. I love how fiercely the love each other and how well they work together. They don’t need to be in each other’s pocket all the time and their bond is an interesting one. I love that they can talk to each other in their minds and that there is nothing that they wouldn’t do for each other. I love that they will each drop whatever they’re doing if the other needs them and I love that Anna is comfortable reaching out to Charles for help.

This book was super interesting because we get more from Leah, the Marrock’s mate that nobody likes and though I still didn’t like her in the end, I was glad to know more about her. I couldn’t read this book fast enough to find out who the bad guy was. I liked how Patricia Briggs pulled on one string throughout the entire book and just kept right on pulling on that string until everything finally unraveled. I was kept guessing throughout the whole story and in the end, I was relieved and satisfied with how everything turned out. This was another great addition to this series and I low key don’t want this series to ever end. Charles and Anna forever!

Grade: 4.25 out of 5

Alpha & Omega

four-stars


Tagged: , , , , , , ,