Publisher: Loveswept

Review: The Hookup by Erin McCarthy

Posted June 6, 2018 by Holly in Reviews | 0 Comments

Review: The Hookup by Erin McCarthyReviewer: Holly
The Hookup (The Jordan Brothers, #1) by Erin McCarthy
Series: The Jordan Brothers #1
Also in this series: The Hookup (The Jordan Brothers #1)
Published by Loveswept
Publication Date: May 8, 2018
Point-of-View: Alternating First
Genres: Contemporary Romance, New Adult
Pages: 218
Amazon | Barnes & Noble | The Ripped Bodice | Google Play Books
Goodreads
three-half-stars

Is there an equation for the perfect hookup? Turns out it’s a lot more complicated than one plus one. . . .


Sophie: Numbers are my comfort zone, which explains why my sex life is a big fat zero. Then again, if I’m smart enough to earn a PhD, why can’t I calculate a way to get a guy into bed, just to see what all the fuss is about? With my prima donna sister, Bella, getting married in Maine, I figure her wedding is the perfect opportunity for my little experiment. And Cain Jordan seems hot enough—he’s certainly drunk enough—to show me what I’ve been missing. Judging by the body of evidence, it’s a lot. . . .


Cain:
Being stuck in the same town as my lying SOB twin brother, Christian—who may or may not be the father of the son I’m not allowed to see—is a hell of a reason to drink myself silly after the lobster boat docks each day. Any port in a storm. . . . But Sophie’s different. She doesn’t play around. And she’s becoming a habit I don’t want to break. Because the smartest woman I’ve ever met is also the sexiest—and the only one who makes me want to change.

Don’t miss Bella and Christian’s story in The Breakup!

Sophie is on a break from school – where she’s working on her masters – for her sister’s wedding. She’s still a virgin, mostly because she’s been so focused on school she hasn’t had time for a relationship. She figures being in town for a week is the perfect time to take care of that little problem. Cain is drowning his pain and sorrow in alcohol after his twin brother betrayed him in the worst way. Booze and a new woman every night allow him to escape for at least a little while. He’s actually interested in Sophie’s sister at first, until Sophie’s unabashed honesty and blunt manners suck him in. He isn’t looking for any kind of entanglement, but he can’t just have her once. He keeps coming back for more. With Sophie leaving to go back to school soon, and Cain’s self-destructive bent, there’s no future for them. But neither of them can stay away….

I was concerned about the “I need to lose my virginity” angle at first, but it’s a small part of the story, rather than the major conflict. Sophie is so practical about it (and everything else), it wasn’t as big a deal as I expected it to be.

I think the romance moved a little fast for me. I know it ended in a HFN, but they were talking about getting married some day. Considering the entirety of their relationship was like 5 days, I don’t know if I buy they’ll go the distance.

View Spoiler »

I liked both Cain and Sophie. I liked how blunt and honest Sophie was. I loved her, period. She was fabulous from beginning to end. I think Cain had good reason to be angry (though I’m still salty we didn’t get to hear the brother’s explanation for why he did what he did). I feel like his personal growth and his decision at the end worked. He recognized he had a problem and took steps to fix it. I really liked them together, too. But to say 5 days of sleeping together, plus 1 date and then a drunken brawl makes for wuv, twu wuv? Not so much.

If I don’t think about it too much or focus on the short time frame, I loved this. Once I start thinking about it I struggle.

3.25 out of 5

three-half-stars


Tagged: , , , , , , ,

Review: Rumor Has It by Jessica Lemmon

Posted May 30, 2018 by Rowena in Reviews | 0 Comments

Review: Rumor Has It by Jessica LemmonReviewer: Rowena
Rumor Has It (Real Love, #4) by Jessica Lemmon
Series: Real Love #4
Also in this series: Eye Candy, Eye Candy (Real Love, #1), Arm Candy, Man Candy (Real Love, #3)
Published by Random House Publishing Group, Loveswept
Publication Date: May 15th, 2018
Point-of-View: First Person
Genres: Contemporary Romance
Pages: 212
Amazon | Barnes & Noble | The Ripped Bodice | Google Play Books
Goodreads
four-stars

This is one bad boy who’s fit to print. A notorious jock tackles life—and love—after football with a type-A journalist in this sexy standalone from the author of Eye Candy.  

Barrett:

As a former pro football star, I’m used to playing the field. After injuries cut my NFL career short, my second act as a broadcaster ended on live television when a hot mic picked up a little verbal . . . indiscretion. But this latest publicity stunt might just land me back on top—much to the chagrin of Catarina Everhart, the prissy, beautiful journalist who’s been assigned to date a bad boy (i.e., me) and write about it. Catarina swears I’ll never touch her, let alone kiss those full lips of hers. Based on our chemistry, I’m not buying it. . . .

Catarina: Barrett Fox seems to be doing everything in his power to make me hate him. The cocky egomaniac is infamous for his bad behavior, and now, thanks to my boss’s harebrained schemes, he’s apparently my problem. As one fake date leads to another, I start to see a different side of Barrett. He’s close with his family. He does volunteer work. And, okay, he kisses like a dream. Am I really dating Barrett Fox? Or is he playing me? Because suddenly I’m risking my reputation—and my heart.

Real Love is the fourth book in Jessica Lemmon’s Real Love series and it’s another enjoyable contemporary romance that I ate right up. You’ll remember Barrett Fox from book 3, Man Candy as Dax Vaughn’s best friend who was crashing on his couch while Dax went off for some alone time. Barrett Fox is an ex-NFL player who is trying to get his job as a sports broadcaster back after the “incident” that pissed everyone off. His new job as a reporter puts him in the world of fake dating and his fake girlfriend is Catarina Everhart and she makes sure he knows exactly what she thinks of him.

Barrett is trying to clean up his image so that he can return to the world of broadcasting. Catarina is a writer and her boss wants to sell papers so fake dating Barrett is her assignment. She’s not all that happy about having a fake boyfriend when she already has a real one, especially when the fake boyfriend brings out a side of her that her real boyfriend has never done before. The more time they spend fake dating, the harder it gets to keep acting…especially when the fake dating is starting to feel so real.

Jessica Lemmon writes great contemporary romances and this was one of them. I had a good ol’ time getting to know Barrett and Catarina. Their banter, their chemistry was a lot of fun and I ate their story right up. One of the things that did bum me out is that Barrett has a friend that he knew from his football days named Jackson Burke and man, I thought he was the same Jackson Burke from Lauren Layne’s book I Wish You Were Mine but sigh, it’s not the same guy. From what I remember, Layne’s Jackson Burke was from Texas and this one is from Columbus, OH. Gah. Still, it would have been nice.

Barrett wasn’t the easiest hero to like because he did a lot of stupid shit in the beginning but the payoff is great if you stick it out with him. Catarina was stubborn and she was strong and I enjoyed her character very much. She was a great match for Barrett and while this isn’t my favorite book in this series, it’s still a good one. A totally solid romance that I definitely recommend.

Real Love

four-stars


Tagged: , , , , , , ,

Review: The Hookup by Erin McCarthy

Posted May 9, 2018 by Rowena in Reviews | 0 Comments

Review: The Hookup by Erin McCarthyReviewer: Rowena
The Hookup (Jordan Brothers, #1) by Erin McCarthy
Series: Jordan Brothers #1
Published by Random House Publishing Group, Loveswept
Publication Date: May 8th, 2018
Point-of-View: First Person
Genres: Contemporary Romance, New Adult
Pages: 255
Amazon | Barnes & Noble | The Ripped Bodice | Google Play Books
Goodreads
four-stars

Is there an equation for the perfect hookup? Turns out it’s a lot more complicated than one plus one. . . .

Sophie: Numbers are my comfort zone, which explains why my sex life is a big fat zero. Then again, if I’m smart enough to earn a PhD, why can’t I calculate a way to get a guy into bed, just to see what all the fuss is about? With my prima donna sister, Bella, getting married in Maine, I figure her wedding is the perfect opportunity for my little experiment. And Cain Jordan seems hot enough—he’s certainly drunk enough—to show me what I’ve been missing. Judging by the body of evidence, it’s a lot. . . .

Cain:

Being stuck in the same town as my lying SOB twin brother, Christian—who may or may not be the father of the son I’m not allowed to see—is a hell of a reason to drink myself silly after the lobster boat docks each day. Any port in a storm. . . . But Sophie’s different. She doesn’t play around. And she’s becoming a habit I don’t want to break. Because the smartest woman I’ve ever met is also the sexiest—and the only one who makes me want to change.

Don’t miss Bella and Christian’s story in The Breakup!

The Hookup is the first book in Erin McCarthy’s new Jordan Brothers series and it follows the first Jordan Brother, Cain.

Cain spends his days on the water at work as a lobster fisherman and his nights in the bars, getting himself super drunk so that he can forget his brother’s betrayal. He’s an alcoholic for sure but he doesn’t care because drinking makes him forget that the little boy he thought might be his son is actually his nephew because his twin brother slept with his girlfriend. It’s a betrayal that he hasn’t gotten over and I couldn’t say I didn’t understand what drove him to forget. How could you not? So when Cain is in the bar, getting his drink on, he meets Sophie and man does she help him forget.

Sophie is in town for her sister’s wedding and she’s on a mission to get rid of her virginity because it’s become a thing and she wants to get rid of it. She wasn’t waiting for Mr. Right. She just got caught up in school and learning that she never took the time to let loose and lose it. So the time is now and when the guy in the bar that her body zeroes in on accepts her invitation, she thinks she’ll just bang it out and they’ll go their separate ways but what started as a one night stand ends up being a vacation fling and then they do the inevitable and fall in love thing.

Seeing the romance between Sophie and Cain go from hookup buddies to okay, just one more time to many more times after that and not being able to walk away from each other was fun. I enjoyed seeing them together and I really liked that Sophie could be her nerdy, logic before anything else self with Cain and it was okay. Cain liked her just the way that she was and that was great. On the other hand, Sophie didn’t pry too much into Cain’s life even when he spent most of the time that they were together, drunk. So that was a bone of contention that is dealt with and I thought McCarthy did a great job of writing that part of the story into the conflict.

The whole thing with Cain’s twin brother wasn’t really dealt with in this book so I’m hoping that we get more from that in Christian’s book because I’m mighty curious about how Christian ended up betraying his twin brother. Cain is so pissed off at Christian and we see it, I need to find out what that whole deal is before I can even contemplate forgiving Christian so I’m all aboard for reading the next one.

This was a really quick read that I read in one sitting and it was a lot of fun. Sure, the hero is an alcoholic and does a lot of sloppy things over the course of the story but things work themselves out and he does right by Sophie in the end which made me happy. I was left with a whole lot of questions that I’m sure we’ll get answers to in the next book so I’m hooked.

Grade: 4 out of 5

Jordan Brothers

four-stars


Tagged: , , , , , , , ,

Guest Review: The Hookup by Erin McCarthy

Posted May 7, 2018 by Tracy in Reviews | 2 Comments

Guest Review: The Hookup by Erin McCarthyReviewer: Tracy
The Hookup (The Jordan Brothers #1) by Erin McCarthy
Series: The Jordan Brothers #1
Also in this series: The Hookup (The Jordan Brothers, #1)
Published by Loveswept
Publication Date: May 8th 2018
Point-of-View: First Person
Genres: Contemporary Romance
Pages: 255
Amazon | Barnes & Noble | The Ripped Bodice | Google Play Books
Goodreads
three-half-stars

Is there an equation for the perfect hookup? Turns out it’s a lot more complicated than one plus one. . . .

Sophie:
Numbers are my comfort zone, which explains why my sex life is a big fat zero. Then again, if I’m smart enough to earn a PhD, why can’t I calculate a way to get a guy into bed, just to see what all the fuss is about? With my prima donna sister, Bella, getting married in Maine, I figure her wedding is the perfect opportunity for my little experiment. And Cain Jordan seems hot enough—he’s certainly drunk enough—to show me what I’ve been missing. Judging by the body of evidence, it’s a lot. . . .

Cain:
Being stuck in the same town as my lying SOB twin brother, Christian—who may or may not be the father of the son I’m not allowed to see—is a hell of a reason to drink myself silly after the lobster boat docks each day. Any port in a storm. . . . But Sophie’s different. She doesn’t play around. And she’s becoming a habit I don’t want to break. Because the smartest woman I’ve ever met is also the sexiest—and the only one who makes me want to change.

Cain was betrayed by his twin brother and girlfriend at one point.  Since that time he’s been drinking his life away the minute he gets off the lobster boat he works on.  He doesn’t stop until he’s good and drunk.  He’s on his way to tying one on when Sophie and her sister Bella walk into the bar.  He is immediately attracted to Bella but the more he talks to Sophie the more he likes her and thinks she’s way prettier than Bella.  They have a one-night stand and that was supposed to be it.  But Sophie gets under Cain’s skin and soon he’s finding he can’t get through the day without her.

Sophie is a nerd, plain and simple.  She’s working on her master’s degree at Harvard and wouldn’t have left school if it wasn’t for her sister Bella’s wedding.  She’s off for a week and then she’s back to the numbers game.  Sophie is determined to get rid of her virginity.  When she sees Cain she knows he’s the one that she’ll sleep with.  She never imagined that she’d like the guy and want to spend more time with him. They each figure they’ll spend the week together and then go their separate ways.  Things don’t always work out the way we plan, however.

This was a cute book.  I liked Sophie and her nerdishness so much.  She cracked me up throughout the book.  Cain took a bit of time for me to like as he was an alcoholic.  I realized that he’d been betrayed but instead of fighting for the son that may or not be his, he chose to drink himself to death.  I can’t really respect that, ya know? (I’m also aware that there is a way to tell if the boy is Cain’s son, they just have to delve deeper into the DNA. It irritated me that it was never mentioned. but that’s just me :)) However, he did grow on me and he did try to be a better man for Sophie during the week they were together and I had to admire him for trying.

The book gets a bit darker as the story moves on and it’s not so light-hearted which was a bit strange, but it was what it was.  The alcoholism became a huge issues, obviously, and I was happy with what happened at the very end of the book, even though it felt rushed.  There is an HEA in the book, so don’t worry about that, it just takes some time to get there.

Overall I liked the book and will read book 2 when it comes out, despite not really liking Christian (the twin) all that much.  I have to admit that McCarthy got me curious about him so there’s that.

Rating: 3.5 out of 5

The Jordan Brothers

three-half-stars


Tagged: , , , , , , ,

Cover Reveal: Down with Love by Kate Meader

Posted March 16, 2018 by Rowena in Promotions | 2 Comments

Cover Reveal

Kate Meader is a new to me author that I tried last month at the recommendation of many of my favorite book bloggers. I read and enjoyed the heck out of her Chicago Rebels series and was super excited to find out about her new series, the Love Wars series. I’m all thrilled to reveal the brand-spankin’ new cover for this book with you guys.

Check it out and happy Friday!

Cover Reveal: Down with Love by Kate MeaderDown with Love (Love Wars, #1) by Kate Meader
Series: Love Wars #1
Published by Random House Publishing Group, Loveswept
Publication Date: August 7th 2018
Genres: Contemporary Romance
Amazon | Barnes & Noble | The Ripped Bodice | Google Play Books
Goodreads

Sparks fly when the hot-shot divorce lawyer meets the high-powered wedding planner. The only question is, what kind?

If you ever get married, remember my name: Max Henderson. In my line of work, you acquire a certain perspective on supposedly everlasting unions. . . .

1. Pre-nups are your friend.
2. The person you married is not the person you’re divorcing.
3. And I hope you didn’t spend much on the wedding because that was one helluva waste of hard-earned cash, wasn’t it?

But some guys are willing to take a chance. Like my brother, who thinks he’s going to ride off into the sunset with the woman of his dreams in a haze of glitter on unicorns. And the wedding planner—the green-eyed beauty who makes a living convincing suckers to shell out thousands of dollars on centerpieces—is raking it in on this matrimonial monstrosity.

The thing is, Charlie Love is not unlike me. We’re both cogs in the wedding-industrial complex. As the best man, I know her game—and I can play it better than her. But after one scorching, unexpected kiss, I’m thinking I might just want to get played.

The first book is called Down with Love and it features a wedding planner and a divorce attorney. I just know that Kate Meader is going to work her writing magic and write one hell of a romantic comedy and I cannot wait. How fabulous is this cover, too?

Down with Love by Kate Meader comes out on August 7th, 2018 and will be available wherever eBooks are sold so we’ve got a little bit of a wait but go on ahead and get your copy pre-ordered with the links provided below. Mark your calendars!

Pre-Order the Book:

AMAZON || BARNES AND NOBLE || GOOGLE || KOBO

Teaser

About the Author

Kate Meader

WEBSITE | TWITTER | FACEBOOK | INSTAGRAM | PINTEREST | GOODREADS

Originally from Ireland, USA Today bestselling author Kate Meader cut her romance reader teeth on Maeve Binchy and Jilly Cooper novels, with some Harlequins thrown in for variety. Give her tales about brooding mill owners, oversexed equestrians, and men who can rock an apron or a fire hose, and she’s there. Now based in Chicago, she writes sexy contemporary romance with alpha heroes and strong heroines who can match their men quip for quip.


Tagged: , , , ,