Publisher: Loveswept

Review: Man Candy by Jessica Lemmon

Posted January 9, 2018 by Rowena in Reviews | 0 Comments

Review: Man Candy by Jessica LemmonReviewer: Rowena
Man Candy (Real Love, #3) by Jessica Lemmon
Series: Real Love #3
Also in this series: Eye Candy, Eye Candy (Real Love, #1), Arm Candy
Published by Random House Publishing Group, Loveswept
Publication Date: January 9th, 2018
Genres: Contemporary Romance
Pages: 213
Buy on Amazon | Barnes & Noble
Goodreads
four-stars

Dax:

After spending the summer buried up to my eyeballs in my family’s affairs, I’m ready for a break. The kind of break where I can spend two solid weeks camping and fishing in the company of absolutely no one. Then I find myself directly in the path of a drop-dead gorgeous tornado by the name of Becca Stone. Who can resist a night with a damsel in distress? Especially when she happens to be a leggy blonde? The last thing I expect is for Becca to show up on my cabin doorstep the next night, shivering in the rain and ready for seconds.

Becca: One minute I’m admiring the rock-hard jaw of the Magic Mike lookalike who walks into my bar, and the next I’m getting fired by my own brother. Loudly. In front of everyone. Luckily Dax Vaughn is a gentleman who aims his white-hot smile at me. Oh, it’s on. Wham, bam, thank you ma’am. Then a torrential storm washes out the main road and causes a massive power outage, giving us two whole weeks to enjoy each other’s company. At which point Dax will go back home, leaving “us” in the rearview mirror. That’s the plan. Or it was . . . until I started falling for him.

This standalone novel includes an excerpt from another Loveswept title.

Man Candy is the third book in Jessica Lemmon’s Real Love series and it features Grace from book 2’s boss, Dax Vaughn.

Dax Vaughn owns two bars and is grieving the passing of his father and the only thing he wants right now is peace and quiet. After making sure his Mom was okay and leaving his best friend on his couch, Dax takes off for Tennessee for some outdoorsy along time. He had every intention of spending his days hiking and fishing and being one with nature until he meets Becca Stone.

Becca Stone works with her brother at the Grand Larks and Dax is in town, renting one of the cabins there and she likes what she sees when she walks into the bar and sees him enjoying a beer. She’s drawn to him, knows that if she doesn’t approach him, she’ll regret it so with a pep in her step, she walks right up to him and her life is forever changed.

What was supposed to be a one night stand becomes much more than either of them were prepared for and I adored watching the two of them come together.

Dax was a lot more than I was expecting. We didn’t get to see much of him in Arm Candy so I was picturing a, — I don’t know what I was picturing but whatever it was, it wasn’t Dax. Dax was one of those swoonworthy heroes who is good to his Mom and knows what he wants. He was a man’s man who wanted to be in an adult relationship. I loved how he took care of Becca, even when she disappointed him and I really loved how much faith he had in her abilities…even after only two weeks of sleeping together. I enjoyed getting to know him and finding him to be my favorite hero of the series.

Becca was a great heroine too, only there were times when I wanted to smack some sense into her because I felt like she took too long to come around. Dax really opened up to her and so she knew about his hangups with his ex-girlfriend, a story that he shared with nobody but Becca and when things get a little crazy, I wanted her to wise up and take a chance on Dax. I wanted her to not disappoint Dax but to not disappoint me and…she came up a little short. I also wanted to smack the shit out of her brother because he was a shitty brother to her. I didn’t stay disappointed with Becca for long so I’m glad that she got her shit together.

The romance, the scenery and just, the whole story worked for me. I enjoyed Dax, I liked Becca and I really liked seeing them come together in love. This book was cute, funny and had a lot of heart so I definitely recommend.

Grade: 4 out of 5

Real Love Series

four-stars


Tagged: , , , , , , ,

Review: Taking a Chance by Maggie McGinnis

Posted December 14, 2017 by Rowena in Reviews | 1 Comment

Review: Taking a Chance by Maggie McGinnisReviewer: Rowena
Taking a Chance (Whisper Creek, #6) by Maggie McGinnis
Series: Whisper Creek #2
Published by Random House Publishing Group, Loveswept
Publication Date: November 7th, 2017
Genres: Contemporary Romance
Pages: 261
Buy on Amazon | Barnes & Noble
Goodreads
four-stars

A fun-loving troublemaker gives a workaholic Southern gal a real taste of Montana magic at the one and only Whisper Creek Ranch.

A rising star in the corporate world, Emma Winthrop enjoys the view from her cubicle in sunny Florida. But when she’s dispatched to a nursing home in Whisper Creek for three months of field experience, she discovers a slice of heaven made of mountains and mayhem—mostly in the form of rugged, drop-dead gorgeous Jasper Stone, who grinds his specialty beans at the town’s best coffee shop in between organizing dodge-ball games and wheelchair races in Emma’s hallways.

When Jasper walks in on this beautiful angel in silky purple underwear trying to rinse out her blouse, it’s a breathtaking view—even for a Montana native. Wreaking havoc here at Shady Acres keeps his dad in good spirits, but getting under Emma’s skin is proving to be even more fun. Jasper knows that he’s falling faster than a man with his past has any right to, but his body and his heart have a mind of their own. And Emma appears to be claiming both.

Maggie McGinnis is a new to me author and I hadn’t heard of the Whisper Creek series before picking this one up but I’m thinking that I need to add the entire series to my wish list because Taking a Chance was an enjoyable story. I enjoyed the heck out of Jasper’s nursing home shenanigans and Emma was pretty great, too.

The story starts off with Jasper Stone meeting with the director of the nursing home that his father lives in and the director has her stern face on which means she means business. She’s taking leave to take care of some medical issues and she needs Jasper to take it easy on the temporary director being sent to take over while she’s out. Jasper is well known for his lively activities that rile up the old folks but the new director isn’t from around town so he needs to pipe things down.

Emma Winthrop thought she was on her way to a promotion that she’s been working her tail off for. So when she gets transferred from Florida to Montana to run a nursing home for three months, she’s thrown for a loop. She’s more of a headquarters girl, not a foot on the ground kind of worker so heading to Montana freaks her out just a little bit and when she shows up for her first day and the ambulance is rushing up the driveway, she freaks out a little bit more.

This was an enjoyable story of two people that make sense together, getting together. It wasn’t all sunshine and rainbows because they both have some past baggage that makes things a little hard but not impossible. I enjoyed getting to know both Jasper and Emma even though at times, I thought they acted immaturely. Jasper more than Emma and I tried to understand where Jasper was coming from, knowing about his baggage with his late wife but more than anything, I wanted him to be better. To handle the whole thing with Emma better.

Overall, this was a solid romance and I enjoyed it so I’ll definitely be adding this series to my reading list but there were times when I wanted to strangle both Jasper and Emma though I will admit that I admired the hell out of Emma when she picks herself right back up and focuses on herself, her goals and trying to move on from Jasper. While I understood why Jasper felt the way that he did, and the guilt that he carried, I wish he didn’t drag Emma through it the way that he did. Alls well that ends well though and I’m glad that he wisened up and was able to fix things. The secondary characters were great fun. I really enjoyed the people at the nursing home, the folks over at Whisper Creek and they, more than anything, made me want to keep coming back for more.

This is the first book by Maggie McGinnis that I’ve read but I don’t think it’ll be my last. Despite some of my issues with the main couple in this book, it was still a sweet romance and I’m glad that both Jasper and Emma were able to get their shit together.

Grade: 3.75 out of 5

four-stars


Tagged: , , , , , , ,

Guest Review: Blocked by LP Dover

Posted November 9, 2017 by Tracy in Reviews | 2 Comments

Guest Review: Blocked by LP DoverReviewer: Tracy
Blocked by L.P. Dover
Series: Breakaway Series #2
Also in this series: Hard Stick
Published by Loveswept
Publication Date: October 31st 2017
Genres: Contemporary Romance
Buy on Amazon | Barnes & Noble
Goodreads
four-stars

He’s got every reason to be cocky . . . until a female cuts him down to size.

I’m Dallas Easton, the best goaltender in the league. I make a damn good living playing hockey, and with women falling at my feet wherever I go, why not enjoy it? I get whatever I want, whenever I want—that is, until I come across the one player who gets the best of me on the ice.

When I try to pummel the dude, all hell breaks loose. Imagine my surprise when the helmet comes off to reveal a woman underneath. And not just any woman, but the sexiest woman I’ve ever seen. Callie Davis is the complete opposite of the puck bunnies I usually go for, a good girl with sick moves and a selfless streak a mile wide. I need to make amends, but she dodges me at every turn. It doesn’t help that Callie’s brother hates my guts, or that my agent thinks she’s bad for my career.

But I could care less what they think. I can’t let our little run-in on the ice be the end of our story. Because when I set my sights on something, I won’t rest until I score.

Dallas Easton is a complete player.  He’s the goaltender for the Carolina Strikers and he thinks quite highly of himself.  When the book opens he’s at an after-the-game-win party at a fellow player’s house.  He picks the first hot chick he sees, dances with her for a minute and a half, maybe and next thing you know he’s in a bedroom with her RTF.

Dallas gets hurt at that party and Callie, an ER and surgical nurse takes care of him.  Later when he’s well enough to get back in the game he’s practicing on the ice and actually almost punches Callie (I won’t tell how).  He wants nothing more than to tell Callie how sorry he is but she won’t give him the time of day. She knows he’s a womanizer and really wants nothing to do with him.  He’s never had to chase a woman in his life so he gets creative with trying to see her and apologize for his actions. He soon gets close enough to tell her how he feels and soon Callie is giving him a chance

The pair start falling for each other but they have plenty of roadblocks standing in their way.  Will their love be enough to get them through everyone who hates them together and stands in their way?

I have to admit that when I got this ARC from NetGalley I was excited to read it.  I’d liked the first book in the series and was looking forward to book two.  I read the first chapter and quite frankly?  I hated Dallas. He was such a huge douchebag that I had no desire to read any more about him.  I put the book down and let it sit there for almost 3 months before I picked it back up.  I know, bad Tracy.  When I finally decided to give it another chance and read past chapter one I was quite surprised.  I still thought that Dallas was an ass for about half the book but he truly redeemed himself in my eyes.  He fell in love with Callie and couldn’t see any other woman besides her.  It went a long way toward making me like the man.

Callie was a strong woman and I liked that about her.  She stood up to Dallas, and her brothers as well when they got too protective.  She had a good head on her shoulders and was happy to see that she didn’t give in to Dallas right away.  She really made him grovel and I loved it.  Their relationship ended up being pretty great. Yes, there were the typical trying to tear them apart moments but overall it was good.

This has been a good series (yes, only two books so far, but still) and I was happy to see that this book had a lot more hockey involved in it.  The last book had a hockey player in it but not so much hockey.  This had a ton more and I loved it.  I’m looking forward to reading the next book and I can’t wait to see what happens next with these hockey players.

Rating: 4 out of 5

four-stars


Tagged: , , , , , , ,

Review: An Ex for Christmas by Lauren Layne

Posted November 7, 2017 by Rowena in Reviews | 6 Comments

Review: An Ex for Christmas by Lauren LayneReviewer: Rowena
An Ex for Christmas (Love Unexpectedly) by Lauren Layne
Series: Love Unexpectedly #5
Also in this series: Good Girl, Walk of Shame
Published by Random House Publishing Group, Loveswept
Publication Date: November 7th, 2017
Genres: Contemporary Romance
Pages: 218
Buy on Amazon | Barnes & Noble
Goodreads
four-stars

She’s making a list—and checking it twice. But is there a nice guy among all her naughty exes? The New York Times bestselling author of Blurred Lines returns with a charming friends-to-lovers rom-com.

“Lauren Layne writes characters I want to tackle and keep as my best friends, woven into smart, sexy, utterly romantic tales of love.”—Violet Duke

When a psychic tells spunky, superstitious Kelly Byrne that she’s already met her true love, she becomes obsessed with the idea of tracking him down before Christmas. Kelly immediately writes up an “Ex List” and starts contacting old boyfriends to figure out which one is the one. When her college sweetheart rolls into town, Kelly convinces herself that they’re meant to be. The trouble is, sparks are flying with someone she’s never given a chance: her best friend, Mark.

Mark Blakely has watched the guys on Kelly’s list break her heart, and he’s not looking forward to watching them do it all over again. Mark’s always been there for her, but the timing’s never worked out for their relationship to be something more. Now, just as Mark is ready to move on, the sexual tension between them is suddenly off the charts. With Christmas morning around the corner, he just hopes Kelly will wake up and realize that everything she wants has been right in front of her all along.

Every time that Lauren Layne releases a book, I’m going to read it. She’s been my go-to author for fabulous contemporary romances for the past couple of years and I don’t see that changing anytime soon. An Ex for Christmas is the fifth book in the non-series, Love Unexpectedly and it’s another sweet romance that I ate right up.

Kelly believes in fate and in all things psychic so when she’s trying to make her way home for the holidays and a psychic stops her to tell her that she’s already met her one true love, Kelly is shook. She’s so shook that she gets home and ropes her best friend Mark into helping her make a list of her ex-boyfriends because one of them is her one true love and she’s going to find him. So she goes on this mission to track down her exes, put them through a date to see if there are any sparks left and well…you know how that goes.

Mark just got out of a relationship that wasn’t going anywhere and he’s making plans for his future when his best friend Kelly comes home with the crazy plan to track down her exes and marry one of them. He’s grumpy about it because what man wants to be caught up in that tangle of junk?

Mark and Kelly were adorable together. I love how comfortable they were with each other and how loyal they were to each other. When Kelly thinks that Mark’s girlfriend is cheating on him, she gets super mad on his behalf and I thought that was fantastic. Mark couldn’t have cared less because he was getting ready to put his plans into action and when he’s sidelined by Kelly’s crazy plans to nab an ex, I loved seeing him battle his emotions with that.

Lauren Layne does a great job of telling this story while only giving us Kelly’s POV. I would have liked to get inside Mark’s head from time to time but I caught onto his deal pretty early on so I didn’t think the book suffered much from not having it. Mark was the perfect kind of grumpy that I adore to pieces so I was all aboard the Mark train.

Kelly took her sweet ass time figuring out who her perfect mate was but I had a good time seeing her fail at every date she went on so I wasn’t annoyed at all. She was great fun to get to know and I liked seeing her come into her own. She had a sweet relationship with her parents and with her friends from high school so all in all, this was a good read.

This was the perfect read to read heading into the holidays…it was fun, flirty and had a smoking hot hero that was grumpily perfect for the sweetheart of a heroine. Lauren Layne continues to shine in my eyes and I’m already thirsty for more. She seriously can’t write fast enough to suit me. I’m so greedy when it comes to her books. She’s just so good. I definitely recommend.

Grade: 4 out of 5

four-stars


Tagged: , , , , , , ,

Guest Review: Bound to a Spy by Sharon Cullen

Posted October 24, 2017 by Tracy in Reviews | 1 Comment

Guest Review: Bound to a Spy by Sharon CullenReviewer: Tracy
Bound to a Spy by Sharon Cullen
Series: All the Queen's Spies #2
Also in this series: Wed to a Spy
Published by Loveswept
Publication Date: October 24th 2017
Genres: Historical Romance
Buy on Amazon | Barnes & Noble
Goodreads
four-stars

Rose Turner’s mother sent her to the court of Mary, Queen of Scots, to give her a better life. Raised with rowdy brothers in a notorious border clan, Rose has plenty of experience fighting and thieving—and practically none when it comes to matters of decorum and discretion. Without a single ally, she has little hope of making a good marriage to salvage her family’s reputation. But after overhearing several influential lords plotting to murder the King of Scotland, Rose meets a man after all: a handsome spy trying to shield her from danger.

As one of the Queen Elizabeth’s top agents, Will Sheffield has come up north to keep a close eye on the goings-on at Mary’s court. A consummate professional, Will notices Rose’s presence at the secret meeting . . . and he’s not the only one. The wild, naïve beauty has made a fearsome enemy—and only Will can keep her safe. But after an attempt on Rose’s life pulls them tantalizingly close, Will faces an agonizing choice between professional loyalty or powerful passion.

Rose Turner is the daughter of a border clan lord who is known for his thieving.  She was sent to court to try and find a husband.  It’s truly the last place she wants to be as she’d rather be at home taking care of animals, wearing breeches and having a good time with her five brothers.  She tries to spend as much time outside of the palace as possible but as it’s horribly cold out those times grown shorter and shorter.  During one of her outdoor times she tries to get out of the weather and uses a hidden door she knows about.  Unfortunately she happens to hear men behind a closed door plotting to kill the king.  She gets away before they see her but drops her shawl.

Will Sheffield is the son of a Viscount but he’s also one of Queen Elizabeth’s spies.  He’s been sent to Queen Mary’s court to gather information and is hidden in the shadows listening to the plot to kill the king when Rose arrives.  He knows that he has to protect her from the plotting men, but his fellow spies tell him to leave it be.  There are casualties in all their missions and she will be another.  Will doesn’t exactly feel that way and sets out to meet the beautiful Rose.

Rose and Will spend more time together and Rose starts to care for him – just as Will starts to care for her.  She is approached however, by Lord Lysle who starts to pay attention to her.  She is fine with it until Will tells her that he is one of the plotters. She has to play her cards right so that Lysle doesn’t have a clue that she is aware of his deeds. Rose is also torn – she knows she should go to the queen to tell her of the plot but if she does but is scared.

Will knows he should stay away from Rose but he finds himself falling in love with her anyway.  He knows he can’t be with her or marry her but when it comes down to doing his job or saving Rose, which will he choose?

Bound to a Spy was a lovely story of secrets and intrigue, love and romance.  I truly enjoyed reading about Rose and Will’s meeting and falling in love.  Though they both knew it was wrong to fall in love with the other they still could not stay away from each other.

Will had had a childhood with no love.  His parents had resided in London while he had lived on their country estate raised by nannies and governesses.  He knew he’d never get married nor fall in love as he didn’t believe he knew how to love someone.  It was sad to know he thought this way about himself.  He was a good man who ended up taking such good care of Rose.

Rose was a wild little thing who was clearly out of her element in the palace.  She wanted to be outside in the fresh air and not stuck sitting around doing embroidery (that she wasn’t good at). Rose may have been an outdoor girl but she still had grace and refinement and I liked the dueling parts of her personality.  When it came to Will she was a goner from the get-go.  Truly smitten from minute one and it only grew from there.

This romance flowed so nicely within the story and blended well with the intrigue aspect of it.  Cullen once again did a fantastic job of bringing us the story of Elizabeth’s spies and the love stories.  I can’t wait to read the next one as it looks to be just as good as this book.

Rating: 4 out of 5

four-stars


Tagged: , , , , , , ,