Publisher: Less Than Three Press

Guest Review: Dragon Soldier by Mell Eight

Posted March 10, 2017 by Tracy in Reviews | 0 Comments

Guest Review: Dragon Soldier by Mell EightReviewer: Tracy
Dragon Soldier by Mell Eight
Series: Supernatural Consultant #5
Also in this series: Dragon Consultant, Dragon Deception, Dragon Dilemma, Dragon Detective
Published by Less Than Three Press
Publication Date: March 8th 2017
Genres: Fantasy, Shapeshifters, m/m
Buy on Amazon | Barnes & Noble
Goodreads
three-half-stars

The aftermath of the last battle has left Nickel weak in bed and grounded for the next decade. Despite being in trouble, Nickel wants to return to the battle as soon as he can, but thoughts of Platinum, the dragon helping to nurse him back to health, keep distracting him.

Platinum can't believe how much his life has changed. He went from being a lonely fugitive on the run to part of a family in only hours. The last few days have been his happiest, especially now that he's met Nickel. He knows it's only temporary, though. The enemy that kept him captive for most of his life isn't finished with him yet, and even Platinum and Nickel's combined powers might not be enough to save them.

In the last book Nickel was hurt by a scientist who had stolen dragon magic.  He is put into a medically induced coma so that he can heal, which he does, but it’s a very slow process.  (In the blurb is says “the next decade” but I’m thinking it just seemed like a decade to Nickel because in truth it was only about a month or so, not 10 years.) Nickel wants nothing more than to get back in the game of finding the horrible scientists that are torturing dragons and stealing their magic. Unfortunately he has to get his strength back in order to do that.  One that that makes it all worthwhile is Platinum.

Platinum was taken from his mother at a very young age and grew up for the last 16 or so years in captivity.  He was tortured and operated on almost daily until he escaped.  Well, he thought he escaped but it was all a plan by the scientists to lure another dragon in.  Luckily they didn’t succeed.  Platinum is now living in Mercury and Dane’s home with all their kits, and his twin who was saved 10 years earlier.  He’s getting much needed schooling, helping Dane at his office and mostly looking after Nickel.  When Nickel awakens Platinum knows that there’s something special between the two of them and when Nickel says “mate” he knows that feels right.

Both Platinum and Nickel need to find their place in the world they live in.  Each of them want to find and stop the scientists but once that’s done where do they each go from there?

Dragon Soldier was another lovely look into Mercury and Dane’s little dragon family.  Adding Platinum into the mix made a huge difference in the lives of Platinum and Nickel, even though the younger kits just went with the flow.  🙂

I really loved Platinum and Nickel together.  There’s was a very new relationship but was very comfortable.  Watching the pair get to know each other but yet find comfort in the other was quite sweet and I liked the way Eight wrote this little slice of their lives.

The smaller kits like Lumie, ‘Ron and Alloy are still up to no good.  I’m still hoping we’ll get to see them grow up cuz there’s a lot of mischief in those three bodies that I’d love to read about. 🙂

Rating: 3.5 out of 5

three-half-stars

0 Comments
Tags: , , , , , , , , , ,


Guest Review: Elemental Ride by Mell Eight

Posted January 10, 2017 by Tracy in Reviews | 0 Comments

Guest Review: Elemental Ride by Mell EightReviewer: Tracy
Elemental Ride by Mell Eight
Series: Roughhouse Raiders Collection
Published by Less Than Three Press
Publication Date: November 8th 2016
Genres: Urban Fantasy
Buy on Amazon | Barnes & Noble
Goodreads
three-stars

Rawley isn't the type to crush hard and fast on anyone, but he's somehow helpless when it comes to the new mailman. Even his bikes and his job as enforcer for a local motorcycle gang, the center of his world, don't compare to his interest in Reign. Unfortunately, Reign doesn't seem to be as interested—but secrets and magic have a way of turning everything upside down.

Rawley has a thing for his new mailman, Reign, but he’s not quite sure what to make of him.  The first time he sees him his nametag says Reign and he had blue eyes.  The next day his nametag said Leif and he has green eyes.  Weird.  Rawley figures, after talking to the president of his MC that Reign probably has Sprite poisoning and that’s why his eyes turn color.

Rawley, unfortunately, can’t spend all of his time thinking about Reign/Leif.  His MC needs to find a new neighborhood to live in that they can all afford and still stay centrally located to each other.  The place they live currently is one step up from a shithole and they’re sick of it. On top of that one of his customers is dead and there’s a weird preppy dude walking around asking questions and something’s just not right. Luckily he has Reign/Leif to make him smile.

The world that Rawley lives in is a strange one.  The humans have sprites living in their bodies and these sprites give the humans powers.  The sprites can’t live on their own until they mature so they’re injected into those who purchase them and keep them for ten years.  It certainly was an interesting twist to an otherwise pretty normal world.  I would have liked to have gotten into that a little more but hopefully we’ll get more info in future books.

Reign/Leif was an interesting character.  I’m not going to tell you about him too much because reading about him is half the fun of the book.  I really liked him, though, and was enjoying seeing him and Rawley starting on their first steps to a relationship.

The book was good but I just needed more.  Fifty-six pages was just not long enough for me.  I was just starting to really get into things and…it was over.  Hopefully Mell Eight will write more in this world and more about Rawley and Reign/Leif.  If she does I’ll cross my fingers that the next story will be longer. 🙂

Rating: 3 out of 5

three-stars

0 Comments
Tags: , , , , , , , ,


Guest Review: Dragon Detective by Mell Eight

Posted October 19, 2016 by Tracy in Reviews | 0 Comments

Guest Review: Dragon Detective by Mell EightReviewer: Tracy
Dragon Detective by Mell Eight
Series: Supernatural Consultant #4
Also in this series: Dragon Consultant, Dragon Deception, Dragon Dilemma, Dragon Soldier
Published by Less Than Three Press
Publication Date: October 19th 2016
Genres: Contemporary
Buy on Amazon | Barnes & Noble
Goodreads
four-stars

Nickel might be a water elemental dragon, but even he has limits—and the sudden rain storms, hail, and snow in mid-summer are way over the line. Luckily, he works for Dane's Supernatural Consulting firm and can use those resources to figure out who keeps mucking with the weather and get them to stop.

It doesn't take long for Nickel to realize he isn't the only one searching for the weather worker: the enemy he has been hunting for ten years has finally reappeared, and it's a race to see which of them will reach the weather worker first. Nickel isn't certain he'll win, or even survive, the attempt, but he'll do whatever it takes to save the dragons.

This book takes place a significant distance in time from the last novella.  Nickel is now 18 and is working with Dane at his Supernatural Consulting firm.  He decides that he’s going to find out what’s with the freak storms that are happening in town – it snowed in July! – and it leads him to believe that it’s a man that’s been seen around town who is about Nickel’s age with long white hair.  Unfortunately Nickel doesn’t find the man he’s looking for.  Then Dane gets a call from the SuperFeds with a lead on the evil scientists that do experiments on dragons and Nickel gets sucked into that case as well.

Platinum is a dragon who has been kept in a cell most of his life.  When he wakes up one day from the experimentation table and no one’s around he escapes.  He spends weeks going from town to town trying to stay off the radar and finding odd jobs to feed himself.  He finally decides it’s time to move on – as he’s in the same territory as the Supernatural Consulting firm and they’ve been asking about him – but before he can the bad guys catch up to him.

I know I say this every time but this was another great addition to the story.  Unfortunately I felt that I was left hanging at the end of the book and I wanted more!

This is definitely not a romantic story but I feel one brewing.  Though we see Dane and Mercury from the previous books it’s really Nickel and Platinum’s story – though they don’t actually meet.  I can’t explain it without giving too much away so I guess you’ll have to read it to find out. 🙂

I have to say I love this dragon family.  Dane and Mercury as well as all of their adopted dragon kits are just such a wonderful family and I love how they look out for each other no matter what.  Their bonds are so strong even though they’re not of the same blood and I adore that about these stories.

Hopefully we won’t have to wait too long for the next story because I really need to know what happens with Nickel and Platinum! 🙂

Rating: 4 out of 5

four-stars

0 Comments
Tags: , , , , , , ,


Guest Lightning Review: Dragon Dilemma by Mell Eight

Posted June 10, 2016 by Tracy in Reviews | 0 Comments

Guest Lightning Review: Dragon Dilemma by Mell EightReviewer: Tracy
Dragon Dilemma by Mell Eight
Series: Supernatural Consultant #3
Also in this series: Dragon Consultant, Dragon Deception, Dragon Detective, Dragon Soldier
Published by Less Than Three Press
Publication Date: June 1st 2016
Genres: m/m, Paranormal
Buy on Amazon | Barnes & Noble
Goodreads
three-half-stars

Dane doesn't get along with his parents. He hasn't spoken with his mother in years and he's never met his father. Somehow his mother finds out about Mercury and the kits anyway, and it's difficult to throw one's mother out when she happens to be a powerful, dangerous witch.

She isn't the only uninvited guest either, and these ones are even less likely to take no for an answer—and much more likely to leave everyone dead if they don't get what they want.

Dane is the Supernatural Consultant and has been making his home with his dragon partner, Mercury, and their dragon kits.  He loves his life but not when his mother, who is a bit judgmental, to say the least, come to visit.  Along with her visiting he gets a visit from three territory leaders who are concerned that Dane is infringing on their territories.  Of course he isn’t so he needs to get to the bottom of it all while still entertaining his mother and keeping his kits out of trouble.

This was another great addition to the Dragon consultant series.  I really loved Dane and Mercury and of course the kits are so mischievous that they’re constantly getting into something.  Dane and Mercury are so patient with them all and I love seeing that.

In the end an engaging read – just way too short for my liking as I always end up wanting more at the end of each book. 🙂

Rating: 3.75 out of 5

Reading Order

Dragon Consultant
Dragon Deception
Dragon Dilemma

three-half-stars

0 Comments
Tags: , , , , , , , ,


Guest Review: Good Together by Valentina Heart

Posted May 20, 2016 by Tracy in Reviews | 0 Comments

Guest Review: Good Together by Valentina HeartReviewer: Tracy
Good Together by Valentina Heart
Published by Less Than Three Press
Publication Date: May 4th 2016
Genres: Contemporary Romance, m/m
Buy on Amazon | Barnes & Noble
Goodreads
three-stars

A legacy of bullying and insecurity has left its mark on Troy, affecting all his interactions in the present. Adam is an ex-hockey player turned tattoo artist who knows what he wants and isn't afraid to go after it. But no matter how hard he tried, time and again he sends the easily scared Troy running.

Though both are nearly convinced it could never work between them, they agree to give it one more try. But then bad luck and fate conspire to leave Adam floundering to reach Troy while Troy worries over losing touch with Adam.

 

Troy was bullied horrible all through school and he’s understandably leery around people he doesn’t know or look as if they can hurt him in any way.  He was dating a guy named Gabriel for a short time but they didn’t work out.  When, a few months after they break up, Gabriel’s twin Michael calls Troy up and asks him to go out with him and some friends, he agrees.  He has a good time but he’s attracted to a guy named Adam.  He’s attracted but scared at the same time. Adam is tattooed, muscular and has a bushy beard.  He just doesn’t feel safe around him.

Adam is smitten with Troy from minute one but can’t understand what he’s done to garner the cold shoulder from Troy.  Things will go well for a bit and then Troy will turn on the ice and Adam is just confused.

Once the pair confess their pasts to each other they decide to start again but when Adam seems to fall out of communication, Troy is worried that he’s done something to scare Adam off.

This was a cute yet pretty simple story.  It wasn’t very long so Troy and Adam get together pretty quickly despite Troy’s misgivings about Adam.  Once they get to know each other things are good but they’re hardly together before Adam has to leave on a family emergency and his phone is ruined so he can’t call Troy.  I’m thinking that the ruined phone was added in to build tension between the two MC’s but it really didn’t do all that much.  Once Adam was back Troy and him were then a couple.  I would have liked to have seen them draw the romance out a bit more so that they could get to know each other better.  That didn’t happen but it was still a cute story.

Rating: 3.25 out of 5

three-stars

0 Comments
Tags: , , , , , , , ,