Publisher: Jove

What Are You Reading? (+ Autographed Contemporary Giveaway)

Posted March 2, 2018 by Casee in Features, Giveaways | 13 Comments

WAYR-New

Casee: It’s been one of those weeks for me. I haven’t had a spare minute to read. I’m still not very far into Storm Gathering by Rebecca Zanetti. Hopefully that will change this weekend.

Holly: I read Hello Stranger by Lisa Kleypas this week. I really loved Ethan. Parts of it were problematic but I don’t even care because of him. I finished Lake Silence by Anne Bishop. I really enjoyed it. I’m excited to see where she takes us next. I finished listening to Saving Grace by Julie Garwood. I also reread Burn for Me, White Hot and I’m in the middle of Wildfire by Ilona Andrews. I blame Rowena. I’m pretty sure I’m forgetting a book or two, but I’m drawing a blank.

I’m forcing myself to finish The Darkling Bride. The book is really good, but my mind keeps wandering. I have a feeling if I force myself to concentrate on it I’ll zip right through.

Rowena: I have fallen into the glom hole of Ilona Andrews. I blame Holly. I can’t get enough of these books so that’s basically what I’ve been reading all week. I finished What a Difference a Duke Makes by Lenora Bell, Hurts to Love You by Alisha Rai and then I re-read some One Fell Sweep before starting Burn for Me by Ilona Andrews. Now, I’m reading White Hot by Ilona Andrews because I loved, loved, loved the hell out of Burn for Me. I’m probably going to read Wildfire directly after I finish White Hot and then I’ll probably move on to another IA series but I haven’t decided which one yet. See you guys on the other side. 🙂

Giveaway Alert

We are very fortunate here at Book Binge. We have loads and loads of books to read and we want to share the wealth so each week, we’ll be tacking on a Freebie Friday giveaway to our What Are You Reading posts. This week, we’re giving away…

What Are You Reading? (+ Autographed Contemporary Giveaway)Make Me Stay (Hope, #5) by Jaci Burton
Series: Hope #5
Publisher: Jove
Publication Date: December 1st 2015
Genres: Contemporary Romance
Pages: 275
Amazon | Barnes & Noble | The Ripped Bodice | Google Play Books
Goodreads

The
New York Times
bestselling author of
Love After All
and the Play-by-Play series delivers a new novel about how love sometimes has plans of its own.  

Having left his hometown of Hope years ago, only one thing could persuade architect Reid McCormack to come home for a lengthy stay—the challenge of renovating a historic building. But once the job is finished, he’ll be headed back to Boston, no matter how much he’s drawn to beautiful florist Samantha Reasor.  

Samantha watches over her elderly grandmother and pours a piece of herself into every floral creation she designs. Her crush on Reid has been blooming for a while now, but she’s reluctant to act on it. A temporary fling isn’t what she’s looking for, even if Reid is smoking hot and super sexy. She wants a real, permanent, forever kind of love. 

Two people with different goals couldn’t possibly work, and yet as their attraction grows into something deeper, maybe falling in love is the one thing Samantha and Reid can build a future on.

a Rafflecopter giveaway

What are you reading this week? Any new favorites or books that drove you crazy? Share!


Tagged: , , , ,

What Are You Reading? (+ Autographed Contemporary Giveaway)

Posted February 9, 2018 by Casee in Features, Giveaways | 24 Comments

WAYR-New

Casee: I am still reading Blood Fury by JRW. Last night was the first time I really had a chance to sit down and really read the whole week. The book really took an interesting turn that made me want to continue to read it, so I didn’t go to bed until late. Well late for me anyway. I’m looking forward to finishing up this weekend (fingers crossed). This morning when I was scrolling through Instagram, I saw Nalini’s post about her upcoming Guild Hunter novel and I realized that I haven’t read Archangel’s Viper. W.T.F. That will be rectified after I finish Blood Fury. As Nalini’s number one fan, I am ashamed.

Holly: I’ve been fighting migraines all week, but I still managed to get some reading done. I finished Natural Witch by K.F. Breene, which I really enjoyed. It’s a spinoff of the Fire an Ice trilogy and features Penelope, the natural witch Regan discovered in (I think) book 3. I’m really looking forward to the next book. Then I read The Others series by Anne Bishop. I read Written in Red, Murder of Crows, Vision in Silver and Marked in Flesh. I’m currently about halfway through Etched in Bone. I didn’t intend to read the entire series at one time, but I couldn’t seem to stop myself from picking up the next after I finished each one.

Written in Red is currently $2.99 for the Kindle if you want to give it a try. It’s a very compelling series, though light on romance.

Rowena: What a busy week I’ve had. Between work and basketball, I’ve been all over the place so while I have been reading, I haven’t been reading much. I finished Irresistible You by Kate Meader and I really enjoyed that one. Much more than I enjoyed the novella that jump-started the series for me. Remy and Harper were a great couple and their romance was super sweet. Right after I finished that book, I jumped into So Over You by Kate Meader, the next book in her Chicago Rebels series and I enjoyed that one even more than I enjoyed Remy and Harper. Vadim and Isobel were so much fun and their story super, super adorable. I really adore the second chance romances and Kate Meader did such a great job telling theirs.

Now, I’m reading Undone by You by Kate Meader (yes, it’s a Meader kind of week for me) and once again, I’m having a fabulous time with Cade and Dante. Their romance is super hot and both guys are super yummy. I cannot wait to read Bren and Violet’s story. I’m super anxious for that one. Up next will probably be The Wedding Date by Jasmine Guillory. I’ve been hearing great things about that book so I’m looking forward to diving into that romance.

Giveaway Alert

We are very fortunate here at Book Binge. We have loads and loads of books to read and we want to share the wealth so each week, we’ll be tacking on a Freebie Friday giveaway to our What Are You Reading posts. This week, we’re giving away…

What Are You Reading? (+ Autographed Contemporary Giveaway)Suddenly One Summer (FBI/US Attorney #6) by Julie James
Series: FBI/US Attorney
Also in this series: About That Night (FBI/US Attorney, #3), A Lot like Love (FBI/US Attorney, #2), Love Irresistibly, It Happened One Wedding, Suddenly One Summer, Suddenly One Summer, Suddenly One Summer, Something About You
Publisher: Penguin, Jove
Publication Date: June 2nd 2015
Genres: Contemporary Romance
Pages: 291
Amazon | Barnes & Noble | The Ripped Bodice | Google Play Books
Goodreads

From the New York Times bestselling author of It Happened One Wedding comes a novel about a man and a woman whose summer is about to get very, very steamy…

Divorce lawyer Victoria Slade has seen enough unhappy endings to swear off marriage forever. That doesn't mean she's opposed to casual dating—just not with her cocky new neighbor, who is as gorgeous and tempting as he is off-limits. But once she agrees to take on his sister's case, she's as determined to win as ever—even if that means teaming up with Ford…

Investigative journalist Ford Dixon is bent on finding the man who got his sister pregnant and left her high and dry. He's willing to partner with Victoria, despite the fact that the beautiful brunette gets under his skin like no other woman. He might not be looking to settle down, but there's no denying the scorching attraction between them. Still, the more time he spends with Victoria, the more he realizes that the one woman as skeptical about love as he is might be the only woman he could really fall for…

a Rafflecopter giveaway

Just a heads up, these Friday freebie giveaways are open internationally so everyone is welcome to enter to be a winner. Good luck!

What are you reading this week? Any new favorites or books that drove you crazy? Share!


Tagged: , , , ,

Review: Magic Strikes by Ilona Andrews

Posted October 17, 2017 by Holly in Reviews | 0 Comments

Review: Magic Strikes by Ilona AndrewsReviewer: Holly
Magic Strikes (Kate Daniels, #3) by Ilona Andrews
Series: Kate Daniels #3
Also in this series: Magic Shifts, Magic Shifts, Magic Binds (Kate Daniels, #9), Magic Bites (Kate Daniels, #1), Iron and Magic (The Iron Covenant, #1)
Publisher: Ace
Publication Date: March 31st 2009
Genres: Urban Fantasy
Pages: 310
Amazon | Barnes & Noble | The Ripped Bodice | Google Play Books
Goodreads
four-stars

When magic strikes and Atlanta goes to pieces, it’s a job for Kate Daniels…
Drafted to work for the Order of Knights of Merciful Aid, mercenary Kate Daniels has more paranormal problems these days than she knows what to do with. And in Atlanta, where magic comes and goes like the tide, that’s saying a lot.
But when Kate’s werewolf friend Derek is discovered nearly dead, she must confront her greatest challenge yet. As her investigation leads her to the Midnight Games—an invitation-only, no-holds-barred, ultimate preternatural fighting tournament—she and Curran, the Lord of the Beasts, uncover a dark plot that may forever alter the face of Atlanta’s shapeshifting community…

Magic Strikes is book 3 in the Kate Daniels series by Ilona Andrews. This is a multi-layered story that progresses over many books. The series should definitely be read in order.

Reading these books back-to-back has really driven home the progression of the writing and story-arc. I really think this is the book where the series picks up steam and settles into itself. I really enjoyed it. The storyline is intense and I really loved the development of the main and secondary characters.

My heart broke for Derek and I really felt Kate’s rage and pain. Kate’s determination to take responsibility for every single thing that happens to her friends can be frustrating. She really skates that “becoming unbearable” line. She hasn’t quite crossed it, but her constant guilt and the quickness in which she claims responsibility for everything is frustrating at times.

The interesting world and character development has me hooked.

3.75 out of 5

four-stars


Tagged: , , , , ,

Joint Review: Blood Bound by Patricia Briggs

Posted May 29, 2017 by Holly in Reviews | 0 Comments

Joint Review: Blood Bound by Patricia BriggsReviewer: Holly and Rowena
Blood Bound (Mercy Thompson, #2) by Patricia Briggs
Series: Mercy Thompson #2
Also in this series: Night Broken, Shifting Shadows, Blood Bound, Fire Touched, Silence Fallen (Mercy Thompson, #10), Moon Called
Publisher: Ace
Publication Date: January 30th 2007
Genres: Urban Fantasy
Pages: 292
Amazon | Barnes & Noble | The Ripped Bodice | Google Play Books
Goodreads
four-half-stars

Under the rule of science, there are no witch burnings allowed, no water trials or public lynchings. In return, the average law-abiding, solid citizen has little to worry about from the things that go bump in the night. Sometimes I wish I was an average citizen...
Mechanic Mercy Thompson has friends in low places-and in dark ones. And now she owes one of them a favor. Since she can shapeshift at will, she agrees to act as some extra muscle when her vampire friend Stefan goes to deliver a message to another of his kind.
But this new vampire is hardly ordinary-and neither is the demon inside of him.

Rowena: This month’s buddy review book is Blood Bound by Patricia Briggs. Blood Bound is the second book in the Mercy Thompson series and it delves into the vampire side of Mercy’s supernatural world.

When Mercy’s vampire friend drags her into the middle of a vampire problem, Mercy learns a whole lot about the supernatural predators and the danger that surrounds them.

What did you think about this one?

Holly: I thought this was a good follow up to the first book. Briggs introduces us further into her world and we get to know the characters better. We especially get to know Mercy, Adam and Samuel better in this book. I really enjoy being in Mercy’s head. Sometimes first person can get tiresome, but I’m never tired of Mercy.

Rowena: I’ve had that happen to me when the protagonist gets on my nerves and I’m not sure about finishing the book or not. Mercy is a great protagonist though. She’s interesting and she’s got a certain kind of charm that I like. I can see why everyone likes her and are drawn to her. She’s supernatural but she’s also normal. I’m digging her and will definitely keep reading this series because of her.

Adam and Samuel were a lot of fun in this one. I’m loving all of the tension they’ve got going because they both love them some Mercy. I also really like how protective of Mercy they are…whether she wants their protection or not, she’s got it.

So are you team vampire or team werewolf?

Holly: Definitely team werewolf. The only good vampire is Stefan, and even he has his questionable moments. I love Adam, Samuel and The Marrok. The way his relationship with Mercy develops over the series is great. Are you team Adam or team Samuel?

Rowena: Adam. As much as I love Samuel, I love Adam for Mercy. I also love Jessie for Mercy. I’ve got my fingers crossed that Samuel will find his true love and live happily ever after.

Holly: I’m team Adam, too. As much as I believe Samuel cares for Mercy, he wants her for his own reasons too. Adam wants her for her, not for what she can do for him.

What did you think of the vampire politics? This world is so well-drawn. I was easily able to imagine the scenes.

Rowena: I didn’t think I’d be that interested in the vampire side of this world but Briggs did a great job of drawing me in. I’m still Team Werewolf but I did enjoy reading about the way things are done on the vampire side of things. You can see that there could be potential for good within the vampire community but so far, only Stefan seems to want to be good. I thought that was interesting.

So what do I have to look forward to?

Holly: The next book, Iron Kissed, is my favorite. It’s the hardest to read, I think, because of things that happen to Mercy. We see more of Adam and Jesse, plus Adam’s pack. I’m anxious for you to read it so we can discuss.

Rowena: Oh yay then I’ll definitely make sure to get it read soon. I’m looking forward to it.

This book was good. It had fun moments sprinkled among the intense moments with chasing down the bad guy down and Mercy being on her own for a lot of the tracking stuff. I thought that this book showcased just how strong Mercy is, despite not being an alpha or even a wolf. She’s smart and she’s strong and she really made this book for me. I can’t say anything else other than this was a great addition to the Mercy Thompson world and I was happy with the writing, the story and the characters. All around win for me.

You?

Holly: I love the humor sprinkled throughout. This was a great installment in the series and really opens things up for future books. I definitely call this a win.

I’m giving it a 4.25.

Rowena: Me, too. 4.25.

Final Grade

Holly: 4.25 out of 5 
Rowena: 4.25 out of 5

four-half-stars


Tagged: , , , , , , , ,

Guest Review: Love Me Again by Jaci Burton

Posted May 10, 2017 by Tracy in Reviews | 1 Comment

Guest Review: Love Me Again by Jaci BurtonReviewer: Tracy
Love Me Again by Jaci Burton
Series: Hope Series #7
Also in this series: Hope Flames, Hope Ignites, Hope Burns, Love After All, Make Me Stay

Publication Date: May 2nd 2017
Format: eARC
Genres: Contemporary Romance
Pages: 320
Amazon | Barnes & Noble | The Ripped Bodice | Google Play Books
Goodreads
four-stars

When Loretta Simmons returns to Hope, Oklahoma, after a disastrous marriage, she’s determined to remain independent for the sake of her daughter. The only thing standing in her way is Deacon Fox—the man she loved and walked away from years ago.

Since Loretta owns the bookstore right next to his current renovation project, Deacon can’t escape the woman who broke his heart. Throw in her adorable little girl and one ridiculously oversized dog, and they’re almost a family. Only he can’t be that guy—what they had was once in a lifetime.
But love has a funny way of re-opening a door you thought was firmly closed…

Loretta and Deacon were in a relationship in high school and even talked about their future life together.  Loretta’s parents had other ideas for her future and being the dutiful daughter she’d always been she ended up dumping Deacon and getting married to another man, Tom. Loretta’s life with Tom was anything but fun but she got a wonderful daughter, Hazel, out of her marriage.  When she divorced her cheating, controlling husband she wanted nothing more than to be an independent woman and show her daughter how strong women could be without a man involved.

Loretta moved back to her hometown of Hope after her divorce.  The bookstore she started is next to a building that Deacon’s construction company is working on.  Deacon first meets Hazel and loves her personality.  When Hazel gets a dog Deacon offers to help her with the training.  When he’s out at the farm that Loretta bought he offers to give her a bid for some work that needs to be done around the farm.  This puts him on the farm quite a bit between the training and the work.

Deacon was heart-broken after Loretta broke up with him but he moved on. He dated some and started his own construction company with his friend Reid.  He didn’t hold a grudge against Loretta for breaking up with him and while things are awkward with her when she first returns to town he can’t stop staring at the beautiful woman she’s become.

Deacon falls in love with Hazel and would do anything for Loretta’s incredible child.  Deacon and Loretta get closer and soon start a relationship. Neither are sure it’s the best idea but they just can’t stay away from each other.

Another great addition to the Hope series.  I loved both Deacon and Loretta and I really loved the fact that this was a pretty light and airy story with little to no angst.  The author gave us a lovely second chance romance.

I mentioned little to no angst and one of the things I loved about this book was that Loretta and Deacon were so…adult.  I mean that in the best way.  There were no ridiculous misunderstandings and when it came to Loretta being upset with Deacon, he knew it.  He also said to her that she needed to talk to him about what was bothering her rather than sitting at home by herself being mad at him and him not being about to defend himself if necessary.  I mean, geez, what a novel concept, right?  Two people talking things out and communicating – what is the world coming to? 🙂  That was one of my favorite parts of the book.

Another favorite of mine in the book was, you guessed it, the dog…Otis.  Burton loves animals in her stories and this was a good one.  Otis was a gigantic goofy great dane who was a big love-bug.  Hazel had picked him up at the pound when her mother said she could get a dog.  Loretta was hoping for a small dog like a chihuahua but no, Hazel picked the biggest dog she could find.  It was adorable and so was Otis.  I loved him to pieces and wanted him for my own.

Overall the story was great.  We got to interact with characters from previous books and catch up with them so if you’ve read all of the books in the series you’ll enjoy that part.  The book has a lot going for it – adorable little girls, love, romance, a goofy dog and some pretty hot sex scenes.  It’s definitely a book I recommend as it was just fun to read.

Rating: 4 out of 5

four-stars


Tagged: , , , , , , ,