Publisher: Jove

Guest Review: Ever My Love by Lynn Kurland

Posted April 3, 2017 by Tracy in Reviews | 1 Comment

Guest Review: Ever My Love by Lynn KurlandReviewer: Tracy
Ever My Love by Lynn Kurland
Series: MacLeod series #10
Also in this series: Till There Was You
Published by Jove
Publication Date: April 4th 2017
Genres: Contemporary, Medieval, Time Travel
Buy on Amazon | Barnes & Noble
Goodreads
three-half-stars

Two people are caught up in love—and in time—in the latest novel from the New York Times bestselling author of Stars in Your Eyes.

In search of a fresh start, Emma Barton has traveled to Scotland to try to forget her rocky love life. Luckily, the gorgeous Highlander who owns the house up the path from her rental cottage might be exactly the kind of distraction she needs. But there’s more to his intriguing qualities than she can explain—and she certainly isn’t buying into the local legends of Highland magic.

Nathaniel MacLeod is a man adrift, all thanks to the unwanted gift that forces him to continually jump between centuries. He never knows if he’ll wind up in the present day or the fourteenth century, but when Emma follows him back through time, he suddenly has more to worry about than keeping his separate lives straight…

Someone has started to notice Nathaniel’s travels and now, no time period is safe, for him or for Emma.

Nathaniel MacLeod has been traveling back in time off and on for the past 5 years.  When he hears or sees a certain date he feels the time portal open and he knows that he must get back to medieval Scotland as soon as possible.  He doesn’t know why it’s him that has to go or what the purpose is of him being there but he’s determined to figure it out.

Emma Baxter is in England to get away from her life in England.  She’s pretty much hiding from her ex-boyfriend an trying to figure out what she needs to do next in her life.  She meets Nathaniel because his is a neighboring home to the cottage she’s staying in.  They are instantly attracted to each other but Nathaniel seems to have so many secrets.

When Emma ends up stepping through a time gate and ends up in a dungeon it’s Nathaniel that has to save her.  When she does it again and the exact same events occur Nathaniel knows that he needs to figure out what part Emma plays in his time traveling but he’s not sure he can fix it and keep her with him at the same time.

This was another good book by Kurland.  I’ve only read a few books in the MacLeod series but I think after reading this one that I might have to go back and take care of that lack as meeting Nathaniel’s relatives, Patrick, Ian and Jamie was awesome. They helped both Emma and Nathaniel in many ways and seemed to be very good men.

While I really liked Both Emma and Nathaniel in this book and liked watching their relationship develop, there was a certain disconnection I felt with the book.  I’m not sure if the term is “disjointed” but I felt like the story was all over the place.  It may have been the lack of information we received about Emma and her situation back home as well as the secrets that Nathaniel was keeping about his work and family.  This issue definitely got better as the book went on and we got more info on them.  The latter part of the book was what saved this one for me.

I also was a little disappointed in the physical contact between Emma and Nathaniel.  Yes, I know that Kurland’s books are clean – no sex – but this one had them kiss once.  Once!  And that was a peck if I remember correctly.  I don’t mind clean books but I definitely think the H/h need to have a bit more contact throughout the book – at least more than a peck. But that’s just me. 🙂

While definitely not my favorite book in the series it was a good one that I found entertaining.

Rating: 3.5 out of 5

three-half-stars

1 Comment
Tags: , , , , , , , ,


Review: Bound Together by Christine Feehan

Posted March 13, 2017 by Holly in Reviews | 0 Comments

Review: Bound Together by Christine FeehanBound Together (Sea Haven/Sisters of the Heart, #6) by Christine Feehan
Series: Sisters of the Heart #6, Sea Haven #13
Also in this series: Water Bound, Spirit Bound, Air Bound, Earth Bound, Fire Bound, Turbulent Sea, Hidden Currents, Magic in the Wind, The Twilight Before Christmas, Oceans of Fire, Dangerous Tides, Safe Harbor, Turbulent Sea, Hidden Currents
Published by Jove
Publication Date: March 21st 2017
Genres: Urban Fantasy, Paranormal
Buy on Amazon | Barnes & Noble
Goodreads
four-stars

The Sea Haven series comes to a climactic end as the mysterious man from Blythe Daniels’ past re-enters her life. Don’t miss the final Sea Haven novel from the #1 New York Times bestselling “queen of paranormal romance” (J. R. Ward).
For five years, Viktor Prakenskii has put his life on hold in order to take down the world’s most feared motorcycle club from the inside. But carrying out the insane violence and seeing the club’s exploitation of the innocent has brought his traumatic past roaring back. And there’s only one cure: to see the wife he left behind...
Blythe Daniels thought she’d never see Viktor again after he murdered her stepfather and left without a word. She rebuilt her life without him, becoming a personal trainer and physical therapist...becoming strong enough for others to lean on. But when Viktor comes back to Sea Haven, he’ll make Blythe question everything she thought she knew about good and evil—and the dark desires of the heart...

This is the final book in Feehan’s Drake Sisters/Sea Haven spin-off, Sisters of the Heart.

Five years ago Blythe Daniels married Viktor Prakenskii after knowing him a week. Then he busted her step-father as a pedophile and left her to deal with the aftermath without a word. Although she’s never been able to get over him, she doesn’t consider them married and wants nothing to do with him. So when he unexpectedly shows up in town and lays claim to her in public, she’s pretty furious. And confused. Especially since he claims he left her a letter explaining everything – and his excuse for disappearing is pretty damn good. Still, opening herself up to him after the trauma she suffered because of him isn’t high on her priority list.

Viktor always intended to return for Blythe, but he had to finish his undercover op first. He didn’t expect it to last as long as it did, but he knew she’d be waiting for him. He had no idea the trauma she suffered while he was gone. While dealing with their final target, he also needs to win Blythe back and convince her they’re meant to be.

This wrapped up some loose threads from the previous books in the series, and we got to see all the previous couples again, which is nice. I really liked the action and the MC element. I’ll be curious to read more about them in the future. Viktor and his MC had become a family. I really enjoyed their interactions with each other, and watching them warily begin to accept his blood-brothers.

As for Blythe and Viktor, I liked them as a couple, but something about their romance didn’t work for me. I think it was the rushed feeling as they came back together. I would have liked to see more of them alone, discussing their past issues and getting to know each other again.

There was a good amount of humor. I cracked up several times. Especially when it came to Blythe and the MC. I’ve always enjoyed the relationship between the sisters, and now the brothers as well. Feehan writes great family relationships.

I’m sad to see the series come to a close, but I’m happy to see Feehan is continuing on with Viktor’s Torpedo Ink MC brothers.

Feehan finishes the series on a high note. I was definitely left wanting more.

4 out of 5

four-stars

0 Comments
Tags: , , , , , , , ,


Review: Leopard’s Fury by Christine Feehan

Posted November 11, 2016 by Casee in Reviews | 1 Comment

Review: Leopard’s Fury by Christine FeehanReviewer: Casee
Leopard's Fury by Christine Feehan
Series: Leopard People #9
Published by Jove
Publication Date: November 8th 2016
Genres: Paranormal
Pages: 432
Buy on Amazon | Barnes & Noble
Goodreads
four-stars

A ruthless criminal unleashes his most feral desires in the new Leopard novel from the #1 New York Times bestselling author of Wild Cat.
Passion melts the will of an ice-cold criminal when he meets the one woman who can tame the beast inside him.
Leopard’s Fury
With her own bakery in San Antonio, Evangeline Tregre made a new life far from the brutal lair of shifters she was born into. Though she is all too aware of her leopard-shifter blood, she never felt the sensation of a wild animal stirring inside her. Not until Alonzo Massi walked into her bakery. The powerful shifter is as irresistible as he is terrifying, but his icy demeanor tells her to keep her distance.
Alonzo knows better than to let himself get involved with someone like Evangeline. She doesn’t deserve the type of danger that follows him, or the threat of his Amur leopard. But even with his lean muscle and iron will, Alonzo isn’t strong enough to stay away from the one woman who can make him feel at peace. And when their secret lives draw a mortal threat, Alonzo unleashes the feral passion he keeps pent up inside himself.

Evangeline Tregre escaped the bayou and her leopard legacy to make a home for herself in San Anotnio. The bakery she opened is her pride and joy and she has given it everything she has. When Alonzo Massi walks in, she instinctively knows he is different. Although his eyes are ice, Evangeline can see a thaw when he looks at her. Dubbing him her “Iceman”, Evangeline looks forward to the days when Alonzo comes into her bakery. When a fellow leopard tries to tell her that it’s her duty to be his mate, Alonzo unexpectedly shows up and it’s then that Evangeline sees that Alonzo is a leopard himself. At that point, no matter how drawn she is to him, Evangeline wants nothing more to do with him. Evangeline’s childhood has made her leery of leopards and she has sworn to herself that she will never again be a part of a lair.

Alonzo Massi has carefully cultivated his Italian image to hide himself and his family from his Russian uncles. If it were ever to be discovered that he was alive, his uncles would come after him with a vengeance. Alonzo is a rare breed of leopard, an Amur leopard. Vicious and wild, the only person that can keep Alonzo’s leopard under control is Alonzo himself. All Alonzo’s leopard wants is blood. It doesn’t matter whose blood. Due to their upbringing, Alonzo and his leopard have a thirst for blood. The only time Alonzo’s leopard has ever been calm was the moment he walked into Evangeline’s bakery. For over a year he’s gone back to her bakery even though it threatens his life to have such a routine schedule. See, Alonzo has just taken control of a mafia family. He’s your complete anti-hero.

After a meeting with the crime bosses at Evangeline’s bakery, Alonzo learns that Evangeline is a leopard and it’s all over for both of them. Before he knew she was leopard, he may have been able to let her go, but not anymore. Her leopard is the only thing that calms his leopard and Evangeline settles him in a way that no one ever has. The problem is that Evangeline is terrified to be a part of a lair, which Alonzo realizes is exactly what he is head of. Between his brother and his cousins, Alonzo does have a lair and he can’t lie to Evangeline and tell her that he doesn’t have one.

I did like Leopard’s Fury and the uniqueness of both Evangeline and Alonzo. Evangeline in that she was so independent and didn’t take what Alonzo dictated lying down. She went through the choices in her head thoroughly and with a clearheaded for the most part. Alonzo was a mob boss, but it was a necessity, not something that he wanted to do. The last thing he ever wants to do is put Evangeline and their potential children in danger. I really felt both their plights and it did pull at me. Evangeline especially fought hard to decide if her feelings for Alonzo were worth the possible risks to their future children. If his leopard was a risk to their children. Another thing I liked about this book was that the sex didn’t come until the latter half of the book, so it wasn’t convoluted by sex, which Feehan books tend to be. Overall, a good read.

Rating: 4 out of 5.

four-stars

1 Comment
Tags: , , , , , ,


Guest Review: Don’t Let Go by Jaci Burton

Posted September 8, 2016 by Tracy in Reviews | 0 Comments

Guest Review: Don’t Let Go by Jaci BurtonReviewer: Tracy
Don't Let Go by Jaci Burton
Series: Hope series #6
Also in this series: Hope Flames, Hope Ignites, Hope Burns, Love After All, Make Me Stay
Published by Jove
Publication Date: July 26th 2016
Genres: Contemporary Romance
Buy on Amazon | Barnes & Noble
Goodreads
three-half-stars

Brady Conners is hardly the settling type, but when tragedy strikes in his family, he has no choice but to return home to Hope, Oklahoma. Setting up shop to work on custom motorcycles and pass the time, Brady has no intention of letting anyone get close—until he meets Megan.

Pastry shop owner Megan Lee is drawn to quiet, brooding Brady. Their connection is undeniable, and it quickly develops from physical attraction into something much stronger. But with Brady putting up barriers, Megan is afraid to truly open her heart—unless she can convince him to let go of the past…

Brady Conners is biding his time working at his friend Carter’s garage doing body work.  He works nights and weekends painting bikes and loves it.  His ultimate goal is to open his own shop where he can paint full time.  He just doesn’t know if he wants to do that in Hope as there are too many memories there.

Brady grew up in Hope with his family but his brother, Kurt, died after a life filled with drugs and Brady can’t seem to come to terms with the fact that he’s dead.  Everywhere he looks he sees Kurt and he’s cut himself off from everyone he knows in the false belief that if he has no friends he can’t get hurt if something happens.  He may not be aware that’s what he’s doing but it is.  He ends up falling for Megan who owns the local pastry shop and they begin what each thinks is strictly a fling, but both start to get more involved.  Unfortunately, Brady isn’t ready for something more permanent and when he realizes this he may break them both too much to recover from.

In this story Brady is such a sweet guy.  He starts to come out of the hole he’s buried himself in and ends up spending time with his friends.  Yes, they’re friends despite the fact he was trying to keep them at arms- length. When he starts dating Megan he is wonderful.  He’s sweet, thoughtful and kind.  When he finds a dog behind the dumpster he takes it in and turns little Roxie into a biker pup – it’s freakin’ adorable.  Little Roxie is a great dog and anyone who can take such good care of a stray is a good person.  Unfortunately when Brady realizes that he’s getting in too deep he turns it all around and becomes a bit of a jackass for a time.  I didn’t like him at all during those parts of the book but I did understand his thinking and why he did it.  Didn’t make it right, but I understood.

Megan was just a whirling dervish!  She opened her shop every day, baked and ran a booming business and then went home and baked and cooked.  She seemed like she had everything in her life in perfect order except for someone to share it with.  I thought Brady was perfect for her but I could see where he would get scared.  Megan was wonderful but she lived and breathed “Susie homemaker”.  Any man not wanting to get in too deep in a relationship could see this.  I guess that’s why I found it so strange that Brady was so good to Megan as it was so obvious that what she wanted was permanency.  Also, after hearing about her baked goods I want to try them myself. J

While the book held a sweet romance it was slow reading at times.  As much as I usually like Burton’s writing I found myself putting the book down more than once and moving on to another book.  I would always go back and pick it up but…it didn’t completely hold my attention all the time.  Despite that I liked finally reading about Brady and his life as well as the wonder of Megan.

Rating: 3.5 out of 5

three-half-stars

0 Comments
Tags: , , , , , , ,


Guest Review: From Kiss to Queen by Janet Chapman

Posted July 5, 2016 by Tracy in Reviews | 0 Comments

Guest Review: From Kiss to Queen by Janet ChapmanReviewer: Tracy
From Kiss to Queen by Janet Chapman
Published by Jove
Publication Date: July 5th 2016
Genres: Contemporary Romance
Buy on Amazon | Barnes & Noble
Goodreads
four-stars

Jane Abbott knows that she's nobody special, so instead of looking for romance she's hunting partridge in the Maine woods when a plane crashes into a nearby pond. Diving in to save the pilot, Jane instinctively gives him air by way of a lifesaving kiss, and leads him to safety through a barrage of gunfire.

The handsome stranger returns the favor by kidnapping her.

Clearly no ordinary man, and insisting Jane's life is in danger, Mark spirits his stubborn guardian angel to an aircraft carrier in the Atlantic Ocean. Only then does she discover that the mysterious Mark is actually Prince Markov Lakeland.

Soon to be crowned king of the young country of Shelikova, can Mark persuade Jane that she has what it takes to be his queen?

Jane Abbott is out partridge hunting in the woods of Maine when a plane fly’s low overhead.  She is a bit annoyed but doesn’t think much about it until another plan follows after plane 1 and is shooting at it with a machine gun.  Plane one ends up crashing into the lake and she jumps in to save the one person in the plane.  She gets him to safety but they’re not safe at all.  Plane two comes back and starts shooting at them again and then when they hear a blast the pilot lets Jane know that it was more than likely her car that they blew up.

Jane has no clue what is going on with this man named Mark (no last name) but she’s determined to get him to safety and to a phone.  She helps him trek to a small camp within two days but not before she gets horribly sick and Mark ends up taking care of Jane instead.  When Jane and Mark head to the Maine coast to meet a contact of Mark’s Jane is excited because she’ll be free to move on with her life.  Yeah, that doesn’t happen as Mark kidnaps Jane.  From boat to submarine to aircraft carrier to plane they finally land in Shelkova, a relatively new country that has recently won its freedom back from Russia.  It turns out that Mark (no last name) is actually the heir apparent to the King of Shelkova and he’s heading home to become king as his father is stepping down.

Jane wants nothing more than to go home because she knows she doesn’t belong in a palace.  She’s just an orphan that nobody has ever wanted.  Mark, however, has fallen in love with Jane and won’t ever let her go.

This was another sweet story from Janet Chapman.  She really does the sweet very well and you definitely know what you’re getting when you pick up one of her books.  This one didn’t disappoint.

In this story Mark was a bit of a bossy guy but that was kind of how he was raised.  He wasn’t always a prince but he was definitely a dominating man.  Despite that he was a nice guy who truly cared about Jane.  Yes, he fell in love with her quite fast but it was one of those things where when you know, you just go with it and don’t question things.

Now, Jane was a lady to be reckoned with, I must say.  She was her own person and did what she wanted, to the chagrin of Mark and his family. She was a bit annoying at times but I couldn’t help but like her overall.  She was a good person and truly cared about people.

The book was a good one and a nice start to what I think will be a good series.

Rating: 4 out of 5

four-stars

0 Comments
Tags: , , , , , ,