Publisher: Harper Collins

Lightning Review: Trouble at the Wedding by Laura Lee Guhrke

Posted October 10, 2017 by Holly in Reviews | 0 Comments

Lightning Review: Trouble at the Wedding by Laura Lee GuhrkeReviewer: Holly
Trouble at the Wedding (Abandoned at the Altar, #3) by Laura Lee Guhrke
Published by Avon
Publication Date: December 27th 2011
Genres: Historical Romance
Pages: 384
Buy on Amazon | Barnes & Noble
Goodreads
three-half-stars

Annabel is about to marry the perfect man…

The last thing Miss Annabel Wheaton desires is true love. She learned the hard way that love makes a woman foolish and only leads to heartache. That’s why she agreed to marry an earl who needs her money. He’s got a pedigree and a country estate, and he won’t ever break her heart. There’s only one problem…

Christian isn’t about to let her marry that pompous prig…

Christian Du Quesne, Duke of Scarborough, thinks this stubborn heiress is about to make the biggest mistake of her life, and he’s determined to stop her. Tempting beautiful women is Christian’s forte, after all. When her family offers him a nice sum of money to stop the wedding, he’s happy to accept. Falling in love with Annabel wasn’t supposed to be part of the bargain…

Trouble at the Wedding by Laura Lee Guhrke is book 3 in the Abandoned at the Alter series. I didn’t read the other books in this series. I don’t feel I missed anything by reading out of order.

I enjoyed the setting and unconventional heroine. With the flood of regencies on the market, its refreshing to read about something different. This was a quick read for me. I enjoyed both Annabel and Christian. She’s an heiress with a fiance she know she’ll never love..something she’s quite happy about. Unfortunately, Christian knows she’s making a huge mistake marrying the pig she affianced to, so he sets about trying to convince her she’s wrong.

Ghurke writes fun, fast-paced historials. I really enjoyed the setting, the characters and the sweet romance.

3.5 out of 5

The series:

Book CoverBook CoverBook Cover

This book is available from Avon. You can buy it here or here in e-format.

three-half-stars


Tagged: , , , , , ,

Guest Review: Chasing Christmas Eve by Jill Shalvis

Posted October 4, 2017 by Tracy in Reviews | 0 Comments

Guest Review: Chasing Christmas Eve by Jill ShalvisReviewer: Tracy
Chasing Christmas Eve by Jill Shalvis
Series: Heartbreaker Bay #4
Also in this series: Sweet Little Lies (Heartbreaker Bay #1), The Trouble with Mistletoe, The Trouble with Mistletoe, One Snowy Night, Accidentally on Purpose, Chasing Christmas Eve (Heartbreaker Bay, #4)
Published by Avon
Publication Date: September 26th 2017
Genres: Contemporary Romance
Pages: 384
Buy on Amazon | Barnes & Noble
Goodreads
four-stars

Meet cute...

Run for the hills—temporarily. That's Colbie Albright's plan when she flees New York for San Francisco. Wrangling her crazy family by day and writing a bestselling YA fantasy series by night has taken its toll. In short, Colbie's so over it that she's under it. She's also under the waters of a historic San Francisco fountain within an hour of arrival. Fortunately, the guy who fishes Colbie out has her looking forward to Christmas among strangers. But she's pretty sure Spencer Baldwin won't be a stranger for long.

Make merry...

Spence's commitment to hiding from the Ghosts of Relationships Past means he doesn't have to worry about the powerful—okay, crazy hot chemistry—he's got with Colbie. Just because she can laugh at anything, especially herself... just because she's gorgeous and a great listener just because she gets Spence immediately doesn't mean he won't be able to let Colbie go. Does it?

and hope for a miracle.

Now the clock's ticking for Colbie and Spence: Two weeks to cut loose. Two weeks to fall hard. Two weeks to figure out how to make this Christmas last a lifetime.

Colbie Albright is a YA fantasy writer who is stressed to the max. She’s in charge of her very dependent family as well as getting texts and emails constantly from her assistant, publisher and agent.  All of this has left her with writers block and she just wants to get away and get back to the place where she can just enjoy life and not stress.  She feels sure that when this happens the words will once again flow from her.

She heads to the airport to blindly choose a destination and she ends up in San Francisco.  Her cab driver tells her about the fountain that grants love wishes and that’s where she is when Spencer is walking a dog who decides to dump Colbie into the fountain.

Spencer feels so bad about what has happened and insists on taking care of her.  He’s not sure why he feels this overwhelming need to assist her and keep her close but he just goes with the flow.  His employee, Elle, isn’t so sure about Colbie and wants to run a background check but Spence trusts Colbie and holds her off.  The longer Spencer is with Colbie the more he likes her and soon finds that he can’t do without her in his life.  Colbie starts to fall for Spence as well but she has her whole life in New York and can’t even imagine moving from there.  The two have to figure it out or give each other up for good.

This was a very sweet story.  I loved Spence and Colbie together.  It was such a natural thing for the two of them to get together and I truly enjoyed reading their love story.

Spencer is such a great character and I’ve liked him in past books.  He is a pretty simple but genius guy that has always put work first.  He never planned on getting married because he knows, especially after a past relationship failed, that he can’t put the woman in his life first.  Except, he manages to do that with Colbie and seeing Spence grow and the realization that he could put a woman first was wonderful.

Colbie at times seemed like a flighty woman but she truly wasn’t.  She was pretty organized and had taken care of her family for a very long time.  Because of this she had put herself into a situation where they depended on her fully.  She finally realized that she’d been enabling them and stood up for what she wanted – them to take care of themselves.  It worked and I loved seeing the load that lifted off of Colbie.

In the end, it was a great HEA and I was happy to see Colbie and Spence together and in love.

Rating: 4 out of 5

four-stars


Tagged: , , , , , , ,

Retro-Guest Review: When A Stranger Loves me by Julianne MacLean

Posted September 27, 2017 by Book Binge Guest Blogger in Reviews | 2 Comments

Retro-Guest Review: When A Stranger Loves me by Julianne MacLeanReviewer: Brie
When a Stranger Loves Me (Pembroke Palace, #3) by Julianne MacLean
Series: Pembroke Palace #3
Published by Avon
Publication Date: January 27th 2009
Genres: Historical Romance
Pages: 384
Buy on Amazon | Barnes & Noble
Goodreads
three-half-stars

I saved his life . . . and I had much to demand in return.

When he washed up on shore, I knew my prayers had been answered, and that I, Lady Chelsea Campion, need no longer fear poverty and heartbreak. To secure my family's estate, all I needed was a child. Handsome, clearly noble-born, and with no memory of his previous life, the mysterious man was perfect. All I had to do was visit his bedchamber and seduce him. I had expected him to be a skillful, scandalously wonderful lover, but once in his arms I was overcome by something more than mere passion. I had fallen hopelessly, desperately in love.

My plan has gone shockingly awry. But I will not give up a man who makes me feel such wicked ecstasy. No matter his true identity, no matter the secrets he struggles to remember, I will do anything in this world to make this stranger love me.

*****As part of our 10 year anniversary celebration, we’ll be re-posting old reviews and posts that make us cringe, laugh or sigh all over again.

Holly: We’ve been blessed to have some pretty amazing guest reviewers over the years. From readers to other bloggers to authors and industry professionals, we’ve seen some lovely talent here.

This review was originally published on May 7, 2009

Scandalized years prior, Lady Chelsea Campion lives a life of exile on the Jersey Isles with her family. Since her brother and sister in law have been unable to create an heir to save the Earldom, Chelsea’s overbearing mother is eager to have her married off to a distant and cousin whom Chelsea does not want, but is the only man who will have a “ruined” woman. One day while walking along the beach, Chelsea comes across an injured man lying lifeless in a cave. She goes for help and the man is brought back to the family’s estate where the stranger is nursed back to health. When the stranger comes to, he has no memory of who he is, therefore, Chelsea has no way to return him back to his family.

The stranger’s extended stay does open up an opportunity for Chelsea. Not only does he incite her passion, but he seems to be the answer to her families biggest problem. Chelsea devises a plan with her brother and his wife to become pregnant by the stranger, whom she calls Jack, and then let them pass the baby off as their own. That way, Chelsea is saved from marriage to a man she doesn’t want and the Earldom remains in the family. Jack and Chelsea embark on a passionate affair until she realizes that she’s falling for him and no longer wants to keep up the charade. But before Chelsea can reveal the truth to Jack, he finds out on his own about Chelsea’s plans and in enraged. Then his brother arrives, sharing the news that “Jack” is really Blake and he is from a family of nobility and must go back to England at once.

By this point, Blake has become attached to Chelsea and even though he is beyond angry with her devious plans, he knows that she might be carrying his child so he demands that she come along. Chelsea goes, because she is in love with Blake even though he has made it clear that he wants nothing to do with her further than the child that she might be carrying. Still, all of Blake’s posturing can’t keep him from longing for Chelsea and what they shared on the Isles. But they soon find out that neither of their feelings for the other really matter because their is something from Blake’s past that promises to keep them apart, no matter how bad they want to be together.

I can’t say that I enjoyed When a Stranger Loves Me. The plot is more than a little outlandish and because of that I had a hard time getting into the story. Chelsea’s plan that she comes up with her brother and sister in law, was just plain silly. I had to wonder what kind of brother that claims to care for his sister would agree to letting her sleep with a man just so that he can pass the baby off as his. The relationship that Chelsea had with her mother was another low point. It was clear that her mother cared more about herself than anyone else, and even the so called “resolution” that they came to in the end rang false. The first half of the book was very unengaging, and the only saving grace was the second half, after Blake’s family finds him, and that was only because Chelsea took a back seat and Blake was able to shine. For my first Julianne MacLean book, this was a disappointment, but there is always next time.

3.5 out of 5

This book is available from Avon. You can buy it here or here.

three-half-stars


Tagged: , , , , , , , , , ,

Review: Chasing Christmas Eve by Jill Shalvis

Posted September 26, 2017 by Rowena in Reviews | 1 Comment

Review: Chasing Christmas Eve by Jill ShalvisReviewer: Rowena
Chasing Christmas Eve (Heartbreaker Bay, #4) by Jill Shalvis
Series: Heartbreaker Bay #4
Also in this series: Sweet Little Lies (Heartbreaker Bay #1), The Trouble with Mistletoe, The Trouble with Mistletoe, One Snowy Night, Accidentally on Purpose, Chasing Christmas Eve
Published by Avon
Publication Date: September 26th 2017
Genres: Contemporary Romance
Pages: 384
Buy on Amazon | Barnes & Noble
Goodreads
four-stars

Meet cute...

Run for the hills—temporarily. That's Colbie Albright's plan when she flees New York for San Francisco. Wrangling her crazy family by day and writing a bestselling YA fantasy series by night has taken its toll. In short, Colbie's so over it that she's under it. She's also under the waters of a historic San Francisco fountain within an hour of arrival. Fortunately, the guy who fishes Colbie out has her looking forward to Christmas among strangers. But she's pretty sure Spencer Baldwin won't be a stranger for long.

Make merry...

Spence's commitment to hiding from the Ghosts of Relationships Past means he doesn't have to worry about the powerful—okay, crazy hot chemistry—he's got with Colbie. Just because she can laugh at anything, especially herself... just because she's gorgeous and a great listener just because she gets Spence immediately doesn't mean he won't be able to let Colbie go. Does it?

and hope for a miracle.

Now the clock's ticking for Colbie and Spence: Two weeks to cut loose. Two weeks to fall hard. Two weeks to figure out how to make this Christmas last a lifetime.

Chasing Christmas Eve is the fourth book in the Heartbreaker Bay series by Jill Shalvis and it’s Spence’s book. I’ve enjoyed getting to know Spence in the other books so I was thrilled that we were finally getting his story. I was also pretty stoked to find out who he ends up with because he’s a genius, a really rich one and I was curious to see what kind of woman he would fall in love with.

Spence Baldwin is still smarting over being dicked over by his old college roommate who wrote an article about him that put him on the map. Everyone wants a piece of him now because he’s rich, he’s a genius and Spence hates the attention. Now that same friend wants another interview and Spence isn’t having it. He’s constantly fielding calls from reporters who want to know everything there is to him and he’s struggling to keep his personal life..personal. When he meets Colbie Albright, she provides the distraction that he needs to figure some work-related things out.

Colbie Albright is running away from her problems for a little bit. She needs to take a step back from her life to take in a breath and hopefully unblock her writing. She’s the glue in her family and they’re crowding her with things that they should be taking care of themselves but lean on her for and then her agent, editor, and publicist all need things from her that she just does not have to give them. So she runs away from them all to get back to herself. To untangle the mess that her personal and professional life has become. Her books are Harry Potter popular and she’s got a movie coming out and she just wants some anonymity to get some zen in her life. When she meets Spence, her trip starts looking up.

This is the Shalvis that I remember. The fun, light-hearted romances that made me laugh and fall in love. I loved Spence in the other books but man did I love him all the more in his own. I loved the romance that blossomed between him and Colbie. I loved that he wouldn’t let Elle kick her out of his life. I just loved him.

Colbie was a great heroine, perfect for Spence. I loved that her relationship with Spence was all about companionship and not about anything else. I’m not one for secrets that lag on and on but Colbie’s secret was okay. When she comes clean to Spence, I was madder at the way that he handled it then her confession. I also liked that she didn’t wait until the very end of the story to tell him who she really was.

I’m pumped for the next book in this series. I want Joe and Kylie’s story and I’m really anxious for Sean’s book too. So much goodness to look forward to and I’m so here for it. I definitely recommend this one.

Grade: 4 out of 5

four-stars


Tagged: , , , , , ,

Review: The Duchess Deal by Tessa Dare

Posted September 1, 2017 by Rowena in Reviews | 8 Comments

Review: The Duchess Deal by Tessa DareReviewer: Rowena
The Duchess Deal by Tessa Dare
Series: Girl Meets Duke #1
Also in this series: The Duchess Deal (Girl Meets Duke #1)
Published by Harper Collins, Avon
Publication Date: August 22nd 2017
Genres: Historical Romance
Buy on Amazon | Barnes & Noble
Goodreads
four-half-stars


When girl meets Duke, their marriage breaks all the rules…

Since his return from war, the Duke of Ashbury’s to-do list has been short and anything but sweet: brooding, glowering, menacing London ne’er-do-wells by night. Now there’s a new item on the list. He needs an heir—which means he needs a wife. When Emma Gladstone, a vicar’s daughter turned seamstress, appears in his library wearing a wedding gown, he decides on the spot that she’ll do.

His terms are simple:

- They will be husband and wife by night only.
- No lights, no kissing.
- No questions about his battle scars.
- Last, and most importantly… Once she’s pregnant with his heir, they need never share a bed again.

But Emma is no pushover. She has a few rules of her own:- They will have dinner together every evening.- With conversation.- And unlimited teasing.- Last, and most importantly… Once she’s seen the man beneath the scars, he can’t stop her from falling in love…

The Duchess Deal is the first book in Tessa Dare’s Girl Meets Duke series and I adored this book. It’s got Dare’s classic humor and seriously, her writing style never fails to wrap me up in feels.

This book follows the Duke of Ashbury as he marries Emma Gladstone, a young woman down on her luck but determined to brave things out. Ash thinks it’s fate that brought them together since he had literally just written down that he needed a wife and a woman comes into his office dressed as a bride. How can they not be together, right? Sure, the dress is hideous but with his scarred face from the war, beggars can’t be choosers.

From beginning to end, I was locked up in feels. This is probably one of the more swooniest Tessa Dare books that I’ve ever read and I just thought the writing style, the pacing, and just everything was spot on. Aside from the feels, this book was funny. Both the hero and the heroine have such great dialogue together. I loved seeing them bicker back and forth until feelings emerged between them and I really enjoyed their story as a whole.

Ash was such a surly hero and I thought that I would not like him because he was such a bulldozer. He went out of his way to be mean and sarcastic and even though there were times when I wanted to kick him, I still loved the hell out of him. There’s a balance to his character that really worked for me and Dare could have easily crossed the line with his character but doesn’t. For me, he was the right amount of mean and swoon-worthy that I was able to see past his shortcomings.

Emma was a fantastic heroine that I completely connected with. Her fierce determination to make it in a world that isn’t easy for women to succeed in was admirable. I loved seeing her figure things out, make the best of her situation, fight for what she thought was right and I really loved seeing her go toe to toe with Ash. She stood her ground when it was needed but she wasn’t hard.

I thought the romance between Ash and Emma was a lot steamier than what I’m used from Tessa Dare. I loved it. I loved seeing them grow to love each other and I really enjoyed seeing them work toward their happy ending. It wasn’t easy but man was it worth it.

This is another winner for me. Tessa Dare really know what she’s doing with writing these historical romances. She writes all around fantastic romances with characters that are strong and memorable. I’m eager for the next book in this series. I totally recommend this book.

Grade: 4.5 out of 5

four-half-stars


Tagged: , , , , ,