Publisher: Harper Collins

What Are You Reading? (+ Historical Giveaway)

Posted February 23, 2018 by Casee in Features, Giveaways | 3 Comments

WAYR-New

Casee: I finished Archangel’s Viper and really enjoyed it. I never really wondered what happened to Holly, which is odd to me. I have no idea how I forgot her. Watch for my review.

Last night I started Storm Gathering by Rebecca Zanetti. It is the fourth book in her Scorpius Syndrome series. I adore dystopian romance. This is one of my favorite dystopian series and I hope she can keep it going. I’m still reading rather slowly, but I’m fine reading at a slow steady pace rather than not reading at all.

Holly: I didn’t have a lot of reading time this week. I did a re-read of One Fell Sweep (Ilona Andrews is currently writing Maud’s novella..it’s going up weekly as a serial on the blog. Y’all. Maud!), mostly because Rowena was reading it and I wanted to catch up. Then I read Rough Ride by Kristen Ashley, a Chaos novella featuring Rosalie (she was Shy’s girl for a minute in Own the Wind) and Snapper. I really liked Snapper, but the novella was just eh IMO.

I’m still reading The Darkling Bride. It isn’t the book, I just haven’t had time. I’m also reading Lake Silence by Anne Bishop (I’m still sad we left Lakeside, but I’m loving it!) and listening to Saving Grace by Julie Garwood.

Rowena: It was a slow reading week for me. I had a lot going on at work and then at home that reading took a back seat. I read Living Out Loud by Staci Hart and that book was…I’m not sure. It took me a lot longer to read what should have been a quick read because the heroine, the very young heroine got on my nerves. After that, I quickly jumped into One Fell Sweep by Ilona Andrews and freaking loved the hell out of that book so now I’m back on my review pile and will be starting On Hart’s Boardwalk by Samantha Young and What a Difference a Duke Makes by Lenora Bell.

Giveaway Alert

We are very fortunate here at Book Binge. We have loads and loads of books to read and we want to share the wealth so each week, we’ll be tacking on a Freebie Friday giveaway to our What Are You Reading posts. This week, we’re giving away…

What Are You Reading? (+ Historical Giveaway)The Girl with the Make-Believe Husband (Rokesbys, #2) by Julia Quinn
Series: Rokesbys Series #2
Also in this series: Because of Miss Bridgerton, The Girl with the Make Believe Husband
Published by Harper Collins, Avon
Publication Date: May 30th 2017
Genres: Historical Romance
Pages: 384
Buy on Amazon | Barnes & Noble
Goodreads


While you were sleeping...

With her brother Thomas injured on the battlefront in the Colonies, orphaned Cecilia Harcourt has two unbearable choices: move in with a maiden aunt or marry a scheming cousin. Instead, she chooses option three and travels across the Atlantic, determined to nurse her brother back to health. But after a week of searching, she finds not her brother but his best friend, the handsome officer Edward Rokesby. He's unconscious and in desperate need of her care, and Cecilia vows that she will save this soldier's life, even if staying by his side means telling one little lie...


I told everyone I was your wife

When Edward comes to, he's more than a little confused. The blow to his head knocked out six months of his memory, but surely he would recall getting married. He knows who Cecilia Harcourt is—even if he does not recall her face—and with everyone calling her his wife, he decides it must be true, even though he'd always assumed he'd marry his neighbor back in England.


If only it were true...

Cecilia risks her entire future by giving herself—completely—to the man she loves. But when the truth comes out, Edward may have a few surprises of his own for the new Mrs. Rokesby.

a Rafflecopter giveaway

What are you reading this week? Any new favorites or books that drove you crazy? Share!


Tagged: , , , ,

Throwback Thursday Review: Abandon the Night by Colleen Gleason

Posted February 15, 2018 by Casee in Reviews | 4 Comments

Throwback Thursday Review: Abandon the Night by Colleen GleasonReviewer: Casee
Abandon the Night by Colleen Gleason
Series: The Heroes of New Vegas #3
Also in this series: Beyond the Night, Embrace the Night , Beyond the Night
Published by Avon Books
Publication Date: March 9th 2010
Genres: Urban Fantasy
Pages: 384
Buy on Amazon | Barnes & Noble
Goodreads
five-stars

Quent Fielding had it all: money, power, women, good looks...until he and his friends were frozen in time for fifty years.

Now he finds himself lost and alone in a new world of overgrown urban jungles.

Aside from the zombies, wild animals, and survival skills, his biggest challenge is taming the sexy, elusive, sharp-tongued zombie hunter, Zoe Kapoor.

***Every Thursday in 2018 we will be posting throwback reviews of our favorite and not-so-favorite books.

This review was originally posted on March 29, 2010.

This is my favorite book of the first three books in this series. Quent has fascinated me since the beginning, especially since learning that his father was instrumental in The Change. Other than loving Quent and Zoe, the reason this book is so good is how the arc continued. I greatly respect and admire Joss Ware for not dangling bait in front of our eyes only to pull back and tell us to wait. She gave up secrets that I was definitely not expecting in this third book.

Quent and Zoe have an undeniable attraction. After Zoe saves Quent from the gangas, he appropriates one of her custom made ganga-killing arrows. Quent knows Zoe will come for it and he’s not disappointed. What ensues is the hottest sex that Quent has had in his life. So begins the cycle of Zoe “showing up” for the arrows that Quent manages to get his hands on.

Both Quent and Zoe are amazingly closed off characters. Quent had a childhood for hell. With a father that beat him and a mom that just stood by doing nothing, Quent did his best to thwart his father. One night when Zoe was a teenager, she sneaked out of the settlement that her family lived at. When she came back, the settlement was ablaze and everyone inside was dead. Since then, she has lived for vengeance.

Basically what we have here are two people that are hell bent on getting vengeance. Zoe for her family and Quent for everyone his father killed by implementing The Change. After months of strictly sexual meetings, Quent convinces Zoe to let him go with her when she leaves Envy.

To say Zoe was prickly is an understatement. After the tragedy that took her family away from her, she is a full-out hardcore bee-yotch. She doesn’t apologize for her behavior or for who she is. She gives the impression that she doesn’t give a damn about anyone, but that is far from the truth. It’s nothing that is overtly obvious. It’s the little things she does to help people. It’s like the way she risked her life to save Quent when she didn’t even know who he was. It’s helping a woman she doesn’t even know at the risk of getting her revenge.

Quent has a hard time admitting to himself how he feels about Zoe, but he does it. Zoe won’t admit that she needs anyone but herself. She’ll use Quent for sex and tells herself that it’s all she needs for him. Of course she’ll help him find his father, but beyond that they don’t have anything. That wears on a guy like Quent. He can only give so much to Zoe without getting anything back before he’s empty.

When Quent and Zoe finally get to Mecca (the floating island where his father lives), Quent doesn’t expect to get out alive. He enters Mecca as the prodigal son and intends to fool his father into believing that he doesn’t want to kill him. His father purposely draws him into how he affected The Change and what Atlantis has to do with it, knowing that Quent will want to know more. When he shows him the actual jewel that the Atlanteans sent him, Quent knows he can’t leave without it. The only problem is the pesky ability he has to “feel” the past of an object.

I loved how much we learned about Strangers, Quent’s father, Atlantis, etc. If anything, it made me anticipate the next book that much more. This review just can’t do this book justice.

4.75 out of 5.

The New Heroes of Las Vegas

five-stars


Tagged: , , , , , , , ,

Joint Review: Beyond Scandal and Desire by Lorraine Heath

Posted February 12, 2018 by Rowena in Reviews | 7 Comments

Joint Review: Beyond Scandal and Desire by Lorraine HeathReviewer: Holly & Rowena
Beyond Scandal and Desire (Sins for All Seasons, #1) by Lorraine Heath
Series: Sins for All Seasons #1
Also in this series: Beyond Scandal and Desire
Published by Harper Collins, Avon
Publication Date: January 30th 2018
Genres: Historical Romance
Pages: 384
Buy on Amazon | Barnes & Noble
Goodreads
four-stars

At birth, Mick Trewlove, the illegitimate son of a duke, was handed over to a commoner. Despite his lowly upbringing, Mick has become a successful businessman, but all his wealth hasn’t satisfied his need for revenge against the man who still won’t acknowledge him. What else can Mick do but destroy the duke’s legitimate son—and woo the heir’s betrothed into his own unloving arms . . .

Orphaned and sheltered, Lady Aslyn Hastings longs for a bit of adventure. With her intended often preoccupied, Aslyn finds herself drawn to a darkly handsome entrepreneur who seems to understand her so well. Surely a lady of her station should avoid Mick Trewlove. If only he weren’t so irresistible . . .

As secrets are about to be exposed, Mick must decide if his plan for vengeance is worth risking what his heart truly desires.

Holly: I haven’t had a lot of reading time lately, but Rowena raved about this book and forced me to read it for this review. I’m glad I picked it up. I really enjoyed it.

What did you think?

Rowena: I really enjoyed this book. From Mick to Aslyn and everyone else, there was much to love. The revenge thing isn’t my favorite but in this book, I thought it was written well. Mick’s reasons, his feelings on the whole thing were understandable and I loved that he fell in love with Lady Aslyn in the process. The baby farming deal added more to the story to reel me in because I haven’t ever really read much about that kind of stuff in historical romances so Lorraine Heath hooked me with just about everything.

Holly: I tend to avoid revenge stories, because all too often the secrets and lies just make me angry. I really liked the way this one played out, though. Maybe because I really liked how Mick came to care for Lady Aslyn in spite of his plans.

Rowena: I really liked the way that the revenge plot was carried out. That whole thing brought a modern family twist to a historical romance that I quite enjoyed. I don’t know that I would have enjoyed it as much in a different kind of historical romance but for this one, I dug it.

Holly: The revenge plot really worked for me. I liked the turn it took and I appreciated the new twist on an old trope.

Rowena: What were your favorite things about this book?

Holly: I really liked Aslyn. She started out kind of timid, but she really came into her own. I like how she stood up for herself and, once she understood exactly what she wanted, refused to settle.

I also really liked how noble Mick was. He took care of his family and wanted to make the world a better place. He had his revenge plans, but he wasn’t just out for himself. He truly wanted to lift people up.

Rowena: I really liked that about Mick too. He cared about those that were left behind. The ones that couldn’t protect themselves, he stepped up and protected them. Took care of them and the loyalty he had from everyone around him was nice to witness.

Are you interested in reading Gillie’s (one of Mick’s sisters) book?

Holly: I’m not sure about Gillie. I didn’t really connect with her in this book, but we didn’t spend a lot of time with her, either. I am curious to see how her tomboy self does with a Duke as a suitor.

What did you think of Kip (Aslyn’s intended)? I wish we’d seen more about his struggle to recover. Maybe we’ll get a book for him later and that’s why we did, ‘t, but honestly that part of the book felt unfinished.

Rowena: I think the series will follow each of Mick’s siblings and Kip is going to be Fancy’s hero.

Holly: I think Kip will be Fancy’s (another of Mick’s sisters) hero, as well.

Rowena: Same. All around, this book just worked for me. From the romance to the characters to Mick’s family life and the background stories. There wasn’t anything that I wasn’t interested in. All in all, this was a solid romance and I can’t wait for Gillie’s book. I’m interested in seeing how a Duke falls in love with a female bar owner. I’m mighty curious about that.

I give this book a 4.25 out of 5, what about you?

Holly: I enjoyed the story. There were some questions left unanswered, but I’m sure they’ll be cleared up in time. I really liked the overall plot, the characters and the romance. I’ll definitely be reading more from this author in the future.

I, too, give it 4.25 out of 5.

Final Grades

Holly: 4.25 out of 5
Rowena: 4.25 out of 5

four-stars


Tagged: , , , , , , , ,

Sunday Spotlight: Beyond Scandal and Desire by Lorraine Heath

Posted February 11, 2018 by Rowena in Features, Giveaways | 4 Comments

Sunday Spotlight is a feature we began in 2016. This year we’re spotlighting our favorite books, old and new. We’ll be raving about the books we love and being total fangirls. You’ve been warned. 🙂

Sunday Spotlight

Lorraine Heath is a favorite historical romance author of mine so every time that she’s got a release coming out, I’m excited. So many of her books have made me cry or rejoice. They’ve made me feel something and this latest release is no different. Beyond Scandal and Desire tells the story of Mick Trewlove and Lady Aslyn Hastings and it’s a story that will stay with you long after you’ve finished the book.

Sunday Spotlight: Beyond Scandal and Desire by Lorraine HeathBeyond Scandal and Desire (Sins for All Seasons, #1) by Lorraine Heath
Series: Sins for All Seasons #1
Also in this series: Beyond Scandal and Desire, Beyond Scandal and Desire (Sins for All Seasons, #1)
Published by Harper Collins, Avon
Publication Date: January 30th 2018
Genres: Historical Romance
Pages: 384
Buy on Amazon | Barnes & Noble
Goodreads

At birth, Mick Trewlove, the illegitimate son of a duke, was handed over to a commoner. Despite his lowly upbringing, Mick has become a successful businessman, but all his wealth hasn’t satisfied his need for revenge against the man who still won’t acknowledge him. What else can Mick do but destroy the duke’s legitimate son—and woo the heir’s betrothed into his own unloving arms . . .

Orphaned and sheltered, Lady Aslyn Hastings longs for a bit of adventure. With her intended often preoccupied, Aslyn finds herself drawn to a darkly handsome entrepreneur who seems to understand her so well. Surely a lady of her station should avoid Mick Trewlove. If only he weren’t so irresistible . . .

As secrets are about to be exposed, Mick must decide if his plan for vengeance is worth risking what his heart truly desires.

Holly and I are reviewing this book together so you’ll be reading that on the blog soon but you should know that we both…loved it.

Order the Book:

AMAZON || BARNES AND NOBLE || KOBO

Excerpt

“Sometimes I yearn to rebel against proper behavior . . .”

“Why don’t you?” Mick asked.

“Scandal would serve me no good. Lord Kipwick would be disappointed in me.”

“Why is he not here?”

“The park bores him.”

“I would suffer through any dull activity to be at the side of a woman who interests me.”

That blush again, accompanied by a fluttering of her eyelashes that he suspected had nothing at all to do with flirtation.

“Is there not some part of you, some deep dark part of you, that longs for scandal?” Mick asked, watching in fascination as she swallowed.

Giveaway Alert

We’re giving one lucky winner their choice of one of our Sunday Spotlight books. Use the Rafflecopter widget below to enter for one of this month’s features.

a Rafflecopter giveaway

Are you as excited for this release as we are? Let us know how excited you are and what other books you’re looking forward to this year!

About the Author

Lorraine Heath

WEBSITE | TWITTER | FACEBOOK | INSTAGRAM | GOODREADS

Lorraine Heath has always had a soft spot for emotional love stories. No doubt because growing up, watching movies with her mom, she was taught that the best movies “won’t half make you cry.”

She is the daughter of a British beauty (her mom won second place in a beauty contest sponsored by Max Factor® during which she received a kiss from Caesar Romero–Joker on the original Batman TV series) and a Texan who was stationed at Bovingdon while serving in the air force. Lorraine was born in Watford, Hertfordshire, England, but soon after moved to Texas. Her “dual” nationality has given her a love for all things British and Texan, and she enjoys weaving both heritages through her stories.

When she received her BA degree in psychology from the University of Texas, she had no idea she had gained a foundation that would help her to create believable characters—characters that are often described as “real people.” Her novels have appeared on bestseller lists, including USA Today, Waldenbooks, and most recently, the New York Times.


Tagged: , , ,

What Are You Reading? (+ Historical Giveaway)

Posted February 2, 2018 by Casee in Features, Giveaways | 12 Comments

WAYR-New

Casee: I am still reading. Regularly. I don’t even have to try or make time. I’ve just been reading. It’s miraculous. I just finished Devil’s Cut by J.R. Ward and moved onto the new book in her Black Dagger Legacy series, Blood Fury. I’m only a chapter or two into Blood Fury, so I’m not sure how I feel about it yet. Devil’s Cut was just okay. Not my favorite of the trilogy, which was disappointing because I really adored The Bourbon Kings series. I loved the soap operaish-ness of it all. I’m keeping my fingers crossed that I enjoy Blood Fury as much as I enjoyed the first two books in the series.

Holly: This week I listened to The Lion’s Lady by Julie Garwood, then reread Guardian Angel and Castles, just because. I also read Binti: The Night Masquerade by Nnedi Okorafor, which I really enjoyed. I definitely recommend reading the series in order. Then I read Brooklynaire by Sarina Bowen. I heart Nate and Becca.

Now I’m reading Natural Witch by K.F. Breene, which is set in the same world as the Fire and Ice trilogy. I’m enjoying it so far.

Rowena: I had a great reading week. Lots of extra time on my hand so I jumped into my kindle and read my little heart away but first, I gave up on Man Hands by Sarina Bowen & Tanya Eby. It just wasn’t for me so I moved on to Brooklynaire by Sarina Bowen and I adored that book. Becca and Nate were so great and I loved seeing everyone else, too. After that, I read Shot on Gold by Jaci Burton and that book was okay. There wasn’t enough conflict for me to really love it but it was good. After that, I read In Skates Trouble by Kate Meader and that was short and…just okay. The heroine and the hero got on my nerves and there wasn’t a lot of page time to get over all of it but in the end, I was glad for the set up into the first full-length book in the series so that was cool.

Now, I’m reading Irresistible You by Kate Meader and so far, I’m quite enjoying it. I can see why everyone enjoys this series so much. It’s fast-paced, entertaining and the romance is sizzling hot. I’m so in.

Giveaway Alert

We are very fortunate here at Book Binge. We have loads and loads of books to read and we want to share the wealth so each week, we’ll be tacking on a Freebie Friday giveaway to our What Are You Reading posts. This week, we’re giving away…

What Are You Reading? (+ Historical Giveaway)A Duke in Shining Armor (Difficult Dukes, #1) by Loretta Chase
Series: Difficult Dukes #1
Also in this series: A Duke in Shining Armor (Difficult Dukes, #1), A Duke in Shining Armor
Published by Harper Collins, Avon
Publication Date: November 28th 2017
Genres: Historical Romance
Pages: 388
Buy on Amazon | Barnes & Noble
Goodreads

Not all dukes are created equal. Most are upstanding members of Society. And then there’s the trio known as Their Dis-Graces.

Hugh Philemon Ancaster, seventh Duke of Ripley, will never win prizes for virtue. But even he draws the line at running off with his best friend’s bride. All he’s trying to do is recapture the slightly inebriated Lady Olympia Hightower and return her to her intended bridegroom.

For reasons that elude her, bookish, bespectacled Olympia is supposed to marry a gorgeous rake of a duke. The ton is flabbergasted. Her family’s ecstatic. And Olympia? She’s climbing out of a window, bent on a getaway. But tall, dark, and exasperating Ripley is hot on her trail, determined to bring her back to his friend. For once, the world-famous hellion is trying to do the honorable thing.

So why does Olympia have to make it so deliciously difficult for him . . . ?

a Rafflecopter giveaway

Good luck!

What are you reading this week? Any new favorites or books that drove you crazy? Share!


Tagged: , , , ,