Publisher: Harper Collins

Sunday Spotlight: Diamond Fire by Ilona Andrews

Posted November 4, 2018 by Rowena in Features | 6 Comments

Sunday Spotlight is a feature we began in 2016. This year we’re spotlighting our favorite books, old and new. We’ll be raving about the books we love and being total fangirls. You’ve been warned. 🙂

Sunday Spotlight

The Hidden Legacy series by Ilona Andrews get a lot of love from all of us. Casee, Holly and I have all read the books and loved them too. We cannot wait for Catalina’s books to come out. We’re all waiting on pins and needles to see where her books will take us. The adventures that await us has us giddy with excitement and Diamond Fire is the story that will bridge Rogan and Nevada’s stories to Catalina’s. So to say that we’re excited to feature this book on the blog today is putting it mildly. Check it out…

Sunday Spotlight: Diamond Fire by Ilona AndrewsDiamond Fire (Hidden Legacy, #3.5) by Ilona Andrews
Series: Hidden Legacy #3.5
Also in this series: Burn for Me (Hidden Legacy, #1), Wildfire, White Hot, White Hot (Hidden Legacy, #2), Burn for Me (Hidden Legacy, #1), White Hot (Hidden Legacy, #2), Wildfire (Hidden Legacy, #3), Burn for Me (Hidden Legacy, #1), Wildfire (Hidden Legacy, #3), Diamond Fire (Hidden Legacy, #3.5)
Publisher: Avon Impulse
Publication Date: November 6, 2018
Format: eARC
Source: Edelweiss
Point-of-View: First Person
Genres: Paranormal Romance
Pages: 160
Amazon | Barnes & Noble | The Ripped Bodice | Google Play Books
Goodreads
four-half-stars

Nevada Frida Baylor and Connor Ander Rogan cordially invite you to join their wedding celebration. Summoning, weather manipulation, and other magical activities strictly forbidden.

Catalina Baylor is looking forward to wearing her maid of honor dress and watching her older sister walk down the aisle. Then the wedding planner gets escorted off the premises, the bride’s priceless tiara disappears, and Rogan's extensive family overruns his mother’s home. Someone is cheating, someone is lying, and someone is plotting murder.

To make this wedding happen, Catalina will have to do the thing she fears most: use her magic. But she’s a Baylor and there’s nothing she wouldn't do for her sister's happiness. Nevada will have her fairy tale wedding, even if Catalina has to tear the mansion apart brick by brick to get it done.

Order the Book

AMAZON || BARNES AND NOBLE || GOOGLE PLAY

Excerpt

Chapter 1

Catalina

I fought my way through the hallway of Mountain Rose house trying to dodge the children. Everything I ever read about my future brother-in-law on Herald suggested that Connor Rogan was a loner with no immediate family besides his mother and his cousin, Kelly Waller, who didn’t count.

Herald lied.

The gaggle of children was coming right for me.

I clutched my tablet to my chest and braced myself.

They ran around me in circles, giggling, and dashed down the hallway, leaving a little girl holding a stuffed unicorn in their wake. I let out a breath.

Rogan had oodles of relatives, scattered all over the Mediterranean, and all of them descended on his mother’s house to attend the wedding. I liked kids, but there were somewhere between twenty and thirty children under the age of twelve on the premises and they traveled in packs. The last time I ran across this gang of preteens, they knocked the tablet out of my hands. Nothing could happen to the tablet. All of the wedding files were on there.

The little girl and I looked at each other. She was probably five and supercute, with brown hair and big dark eyes. She wore a pretty lavender dress decorated with tiny silk flowers. If Mom had put me into that dress when I was her age, it would be covered with mud and engine grease in about five minutes. When I was five, I either played outside or in Grandma Frida’s garage, while she repaired tanks and field artillery.

“Hi,” I said. “I’m Catalina.”

“Mia Rosa García Ramírez Arroyo del Monte.”

I had seen her before, I realized. She always seemed to follow Mrs. Rogan around. She trailed her to the porch, to the study, to the media room. She even wanted to sit next to her in the dining room.

Mia Rosa thrust her unicorn up. It was almost as big as she was and decorated with blue and silver plastic jewels the size of grapes and way too many sparkles.

“This is Sapphire.”

“She is very pretty.”

“She lives in the midnight clouds and her horn glows with moonlight.”

Of course. Jewel Legends. It was a popular kid cartoon with mythical animals. I was too old for it, but Arabella, my younger sister, caught the very beginning of it. Everything had to be Jewel Legends for a while: notebooks, backpacks, phone cases . . . And then she went to high school and that was the end of that.

“I want a sparkly gun,” Mia Rosa announced in a slightly accented voice.

“Um, what?”

“There is a gun that lets you put more sparklies.”

“You want a bedazzler?”

Mia Rosa nodded several times. “Yes. My mommy said you were the go girl and I should ask you.”

Go girl. I hid a sigh. “I’ll see what I can do. What is your mommy’s name, so I know where to deliver the bedazzler?”

“Teresa Rosa Arroyo Roberto del Monte. Thank you. But don’t give it to mommy. Give it to me.”

Awww. She said thank you. “You’re welcome.”

She curtsied and ran after the kids, dragging her unicorn.

My phone chimed. I glanced at the text message. Arabella has written, “Where are you??? Get here!!!” and added a gif of a crying baby with photoshopped rivers of tears. I took off at a near run.

It all started with Nevada firing the wedding planner. The first wedding planner.

Usually my older sister was a perfectly reasonable person. Well, as reasonable as someone can be when she is a human lie detector. However, two weeks ago Simon Nightingale disappeared, and House Nightingale hired us to find him. Just three months ago our family registered as a House, and our small PI firm went from Baylor Investigative Agency to House Baylor Investigative Agency. The Nightingale case was our first investigation. The entire Houston elite was watching us, and it drove Nevada a little nuts. A lot nuts. She was pretty much a nutcase.

The first wedding planner was fired because she argued with Nevada. My sister would explain the way she wanted things done and the planner would tell why they couldn’t do it that way. Most of the time “couldn’t” meant “we won’t do it because it’s a Prime wedding and it’s not the way things are done.” Finally, the planner explained to Nevada that it wasn’t really her wedding, but a wedding of House Rogan and she needed to stop impeding it with “ridiculous demands,” such as serving queso as an appetizer at the rehearsal dinner. The planner was promptly escorted from the premises.

The second planner was fired, because she kept lying. Her approach to wedding planning was to pacify the bride by pretending that everything was under control even when it wasn’t. She didn’t want to be micromanaged. But, my sister was an epic control freak and her attention to detail was legendary within the family. Nevada would ask if something was a problem, and the planner would repeatedly assure her that things were fine, despite being warned that Nevada could sense her lies. Things came to a head when Nevada asked her point-blank if she and Mrs. Rogan had come to an agreement on the caterer. After being told for the tenth time to not worry about it, Nevada snapped. I realized that the second planner was let go when I saw her running to her car in five-inch heels with a look of pure panic on her face. My sister had burst onto the porch behind her, yelling, “Is it fine now? Is it still fine?”

We didn’t bother with a third wedding planner. Arabella and I took a weekend, armed ourselves with takeout, and after thirty odd episodes of Whose Wedding Is It Anyway? and four seasons of Bridezilla, we decided to plan the wedding ourselves. It was that or there would be no wedding.

Unfortunately, while Rogan and his mother treated us with perfect courtesy, the rest of his family wasn’t quite sure about our status. Both Arabella and I were registered as Primes, but our records were sealed. Also, our family wasn’t wealthy, and Rogan was a billionaire. With me being eighteen and Arabella turning sixteen, they didn’t feel we had any authority. I had a feeling we ranked as “poor relatives who run errands,” somewhere just above hired help. Apparently, I was the go girl. I didn’t even want to know what Arabella was.

Just what I needed. I already felt like a clumsy trespasser in all of this beautiful luxury. This wasn’t my home. My home was in the loft of the warehouse. If there was any way to not be here, I would’ve taken it. But I loved my sister.

It would be a lot easier if we could do all this in Rogan’s house, but Rogan and Nevada declared Rogan’s home a wedding-free zone and hid there whenever they could.

I turned the corner and walked into a room where Nevada stood on a dais, wearing high-heeled shoes and the in-progress wedding dress, which currently was muslin marked with blue pencil lines. Two people crawled around her, pinning the hem.

Arabella stood in front of her, her arms crossed over her chest. Both Nevada and Arabella were blond, but Nevada’s hair was closer to clover honey, while Arabella’s resembled gold corn silk. I was the only brunette in the family, besides Mom. Right now the similarities between my two sisters were really apparent, and if you didn’t look at their faces, Arabella seemed like a shorter smaller copy of Nevada.

Ooo, I should tell her that next time we fought. She would hate that.

“What is it?” I asked.

“She wants lilacs in her wedding bouquet.”

“Okay . . .” Nevada had said she wanted carnations, but we could stuff some pretty pink lilacs in there. I didn’t see the problem.

“Blue,” Arabella squeezed out. “She wants blue lilacs.”

No and also no. “Nevada . . .”

“I had to hide in a bush of French lilacs yesterday and they were very pretty and smelled nice. The card on the tree said, ‘Wonder Blue: prolific in bloom and lush in perfume.’”

I googled French lilac, Wonder Blue. It was blue. Like in your face blue. “Why were you hiding in a bush?”

“She was being shot at,” Arabella said with a sour face.

“So you stopped to smell the lilacs while people were shooting at you?” I couldn’t even.

“Mmm. I was in a greenhouse and they made a lovely hiding spot.”

I decided to go with logic. My sister was a logical person. “You asked for a spring wedding. You chose pink, white, and very light sage green as your colors. There is no blue anywhere in the wedding.”

“Now there is.”

“Your bouquet has pink carnations, pink sweet pea flowers, white roses, and baby breath.” Three varieties of pink carnations, because she couldn’t pick one. And Nevada would never know the panic in the floral designer’s eyes when we told her it had to be a carnation bouquet. Apparently, carnations weren’t upscale enough for Mad Rogan’s wedding. Poor woman kept trying to suggest orchids.

“And blue lilacs,” Nevada said.

“It will clash,” Arabella growled.

I googled sage bridesmaid dress, held the tablet toward Nevada, and scrolled through images. “Look at the flowers. Pink and white. Pink. Pink. White. Pink and white.”

“I don’t care,” Nevada said. “I want blue lilacs.”

And I want to fly away from here, but that wouldn’t happen anytime soon, would it?

“Anyway, I have to get back to the office,” Nevada said. “Text me if anything.”

“The queen has dismissed us,” Arabella announced.

I dropped into a deep curtsy. “Your Majesty.”

“I hate you guys.”

“We hate you back,” Arabella told her.

“We hated you before the wedding.”

“Before it was cool to hate you.”

“Get out!” Nevada growled.

I walked out of the room.

Arabella caught up with me. “We can’t do lilacs. It ruins the theme.”

“I know.”

“What are we going to do?”

“Sleep on it,” I told her. “Let’s go home.”

“Catalina,” a woman called.

I turned toward the sound. Arrosa Rogan, Nevada’s future mother-in-law waved at me from the doorway, from her wheelchair.

“May I speak to you in private, dear?”

Oh-oh. This couldn’t be good. “Yes, ma’am.”

“I’ll wait for you outside,” Arabella said.

Hidden Legacy

Giveaway Alert

We’re giving one lucky winner their choice of one of our Sunday Spotlight books. Use the Gleam widget below to enter for one of this month’s features.

Sunday Spotlight: November 2018

Are you as excited for this release as we are? Let us know how excited you are and what other books you’re looking forward to this year!

About Ilona Andrews

“Ilona Andrews” is the pseudonym for a husband-and-wife writing team. Ilona is a native-born Russian and Gordon is a former communications sergeant in the U.S. Army. Contrary to popular belief, Gordon was never an intelligence officer with a license to kill, and Ilona was never the mysterious Russian spy who seduced him. They met in college, in English Composition 101, where Ilona got a better grade. (Gordon is still sore about that.)

Gordon and Ilona currently reside in Texas with their two children and many dogs and cats.

They have co-authored four NYT and USAT bestselling series, the urban fantasy of Kate Daniels, rustic fantasy of the Edge, paranormal romance of Hidden Legacy, and Innkeeper Chronicles, which they post as a free weekly serial. For complete list of their books, fun extras, and Innkeeper installments, please visit their website at Ilona-andrews.com.

four-half-stars


Tagged: , , , , ,

Review: Wildfire by Ilona Andrews

Posted October 30, 2018 by Casee in Reviews | 1 Comment

Review: Wildfire by Ilona AndrewsReviewer: Casee
Wildfire (Hidden Legacy, #3) by Ilona Andrews
Series: Hidden Legacy #3
Also in this series: Burn for Me (Hidden Legacy, #1), Wildfire, White Hot, White Hot (Hidden Legacy, #2), Burn for Me (Hidden Legacy, #1), White Hot (Hidden Legacy, #2), Wildfire (Hidden Legacy, #3), Burn for Me (Hidden Legacy, #1), Diamond Fire (Hidden Legacy, #3.5)
Publisher: Avon
Publication Date: July 25, 2017
Format: eBook
Source: Purchased
Point-of-View: First
Genres: Urban Fantasy
Pages: 391
Amazon | Barnes & Noble | The Ripped Bodice | Google Play Books
Goodreads
five-stars

Just when Nevada Baylor has finally come to accept the depths of her magical powers, she also realizes she’s fallen in love. Connor “Mad” Rogan is in many ways her equal when it comes to magic, but she’s completely out of her elements when it comes to her feelings for him. To make matters more complicated, an old flame comes back into Rogan’s life…

Rogan knows there’s nothing between him and his ex-fiance, Rynda Sherwood. But as Nevada begins to learn more about her past, her power, and her potential future, he knows she will be faced with choices she never dreamed of and the promise of a life spent without him.

As Nevada and Rogan race to discover the whereabouts of Rynda’s kidnapped husband and are forced to confront Nevada’s grandmother, who may or may not have evil motives, these two people must decide if they can trust in each other or allow everything to go up in smoke.

This series is the bomb dot com. Yes, I actually just said that. I can’t help it. I love this series. It is my favorite series of 2018. My very, very favorite. Nevada. Mad Rogan. Nevada and Mad Rogan. Leon. Catalina and Arabella. Bern. Seriously, there is nothing about this series that makes me unhappy. Well, except for the gap between releases.

Wildfire begins exactly where White Hot picked up. Rogan and Nevada rush home from their mountain vacation after Rogan learns that it was Nevada’s grandmother that tried to buy Nevada’s mortgage from him. Which means that everything they’ve done to keep their identities from Victoria Tremaine, she has known who the Baylors were all along.

The only option left to Nevada and her family is to start their own House. While it is not something Nevada wants to do, it is her last and only option to protect her family from her evil grandmother. Rogan agrees with Nevada but also thinks it will put her far out of his reach as once she is a House, he believes that she will start to care about genetics. Like not want to have kids with him because their magics don’t “mesh” and aren’t ideal for procreating. He obviously doesn’t know Nevada as well as he thinks.

Her newest case brings Rogan’s ex-fiance into her life. Rynda Sherwood’s husband has been kidnapped and she is frantic with worry. Unfortunately she is an empath and Nevada was just involved in the murder of her mother. Still, Nevada promises to help Rynda, a promise she has a hard time keeping when it is apparent that Rynda needs a man to take care of her. When her man is not around, she attaches herself to Rogan. Not cool.

Unfortunately this is no ordinary kidnapping. It’s actually part of the big conspiracy that is happening in Houston where a group of mages want to turn Houston into a New Rome. Not only does she have to deal with a group of fanatics, her grandmother is trying to have her kidnapped, and she and her sisters have trials coming up to prove they deserve to form their own House.

As if that isn’t enough, Rogan is more protective than he has ever been, while pulling away from Nevada. Nevada isn’t about to let that happens and pulls him in even closer. She’s not letting the man she loves get away. She loves him and she knows he loves her. Forming House Baylor is not going to impact her relationship with Rogan.

I continue to adore Nevada. Adore everyone in this series. I loved Leon in the first two books, but he really made me laugh in Wildfire. Nevada and her mom finally figured out what his magic was in White Hot. Nevada tells Leon about his magic in Wildfire. His magic is pretty amazing. He is undoubtedly a Prime, but does not want to enter the trials to be registered as such. Nevada asks him why and Leon refers to a conversation he had with one of Rogan’s men.

“One day some other Prime will threaten our House, and when that day comes, I’ll kill him.”

What?

“I’ll do it quiet and clean, and nobody will ever know.” Leon smiled. “I’m going to be a dark horse, the House Baylor’s secret. I’ll be the best assassin. A legend. They’ll never see me coming.”

I would kill Kurt. I would strangle him with my bare hands.

Oh, Leon. Arabella was hilarious in her trials. I was literally laughing out loud. Catalina was far more interesting in this book. Her devotion to her family overrode everything, even her terror of using her magic.

In the end, Nevada and Rogan get their HEA, but the story isn’t over yet. The mages have yet to be stopped and now it seems as if it’s Catalina’s turn to put in the work. I have to say, I’m excited about that!

Rating; 5 out of 5.

Hidden Legacy

five-stars


Tagged: , , , , , ,

Review: White Hot by Ilona Andrews

Posted October 29, 2018 by Casee in Features | 5 Comments

Review: White Hot by Ilona AndrewsReviewer: Casee
White Hot (Hidden Legacy, #2) by Ilona Andrews
Series: Hidden Legacy #2
Also in this series: Burn for Me (Hidden Legacy, #1), Wildfire, White Hot, White Hot (Hidden Legacy, #2), Burn for Me (Hidden Legacy, #1), White Hot (Hidden Legacy, #2), Wildfire (Hidden Legacy, #3), Burn for Me (Hidden Legacy, #1), Wildfire (Hidden Legacy, #3), Diamond Fire (Hidden Legacy, #3.5)
Publisher: Avon
Publication Date: May 30, 2017
Format: eBook
Source: Purchased
Point-of-View: First
Genres: Urban Fantasy
Pages: 389
Amazon | Barnes & Noble | The Ripped Bodice | Google Play Books
Goodreads
five-stars

Nevada Baylor has a unique and secret skill—she knows when people are lying—and she's used that magic (along with plain, hard work) to keep her colorful and close-knit family's detective agency afloat. But her new case pits her against the shadowy forces that almost destroyed the city of Houston once before, bringing Nevada back into contact with Connor "Mad" Rogan.

Rogan is a billionaire Prime—the highest rank of magic user—and as unreadable as ever, despite Nevada’s “talent.” But there’s no hiding the sparks between them. Now that the stakes are even higher, both professionally and personally, and their foes are unimaginably powerful, Rogan and Nevada will find that nothing burns like ice …

I don’t think I could love this series any more than I already do. Nevada Baylor is simply…amazing. Incredible? Awesome? All of the above? There is just something about her that makes it impossible not to love her. It’s in her desire to protect her family, while at the same time making sure they all have their own voice. It’s in her determination to not let Rogan take over her life, even if it seems to be for all the right reasons. It’s taking on a new client just so she can help him find his wife’s killer. There are so many more things about her that I could go on and on about. I just heart her.

White Hot brings us back Nevada a new client. Cornelius Harrison has been referred to Nevada by Augustine Montgomery. Ugh. Cornelius’ wife was killed at a hotel with three of her colleagues. The House that she worked for has disavowed knowledge of the crime, only telling Cornelius that he needed to consider the possibility that she was having an affair. Cornelius knows better.

Nevada agrees to take the case. Her agreement to take on the case brings her back into contact with Mad Rogan after months of silence. She knew her decision to turn down Rogan’s offer of taking her away from everything was the right one, but that didn’t mean she wasn’t tempted at the time. Still, she hasn’t heard from him in months. So she is surprised when she finds that he’s connected to her new case. Not only that, but her case is connected to the mysterious group of mages that want to turn Houston into a “New Rome”.

Nevada and Rogan’s relationship moves forward in a big way. Nevada learns that Rogan bought the mortgage to their warehouse, all the surrounding buildings, and built his own HQ right across the street. To say she’s not happy is putting it mildly. I felt this was a pivotal part in their relationship. This is where Nevada has to show Rogan that she is her own person, not another person he is responsible for. She wants him to see her as an equal partner.

While reading Burn for Me, I was aware that the next set of books that come out in this series are going to be about Catalina Baylor. I wasn’t impressed. That changed in this book. We really got to know the family and their dynamics more. This may or may not come as a surprise, but I loved Leon. I think he’s fantastic.

Rogan, though. Sigh. He’s up there on my hero list. This got me. Hard.

“It doesn’t matter if I’m the first. It only matters that I’ll be the last.”

Seriously. Trying to move on…I just loved this book. I love the story, I love the characters, I love the writing. I even love that it’s in first person because it’s Nevada.

LOVE.

Rating: 5 out of 5.

Hidden Legacy

five-stars


Tagged: , , , , , ,

What Are You Reading? (+ Tessa Bailey Giveaway)

Posted October 26, 2018 by Casee in Features, Giveaways | 12 Comments

WAYR-New

Casee: I finished up Shayla Black and Lexi Blake’s The Perfect Gentlemen series. The first two books in the series were my favorite. The second two were slow, which surprised me. After I finished Smoke and Sin, I decided that it was far past time to read Archangel’s Prophecy by Nalini Singh. I’ve had this book for over a month and haven’t read it. Something is seriously wrong with me. I’m just a few chapters in and was instantly reminded how much I love, love, love Elena and Raphael. Love. Love. Love. They are my all-time favorite couple in romance.

I’m listening to Phoenix Unbound by Grace Draven on audio. The narrator is so good. I’m not very far in and it’s a little slow, but I’ve been told that it’s really good so I’m looking forward to getting into it.

Holly: I finished listening to The Scribe by Elizabeth Hunter (still $1.49 for Kindle). It ended in a cliffhanger, which was annoying and unexpected. I started reading book 2, The Singer, but I DNF’d it about 30% in. Up to that point it was moving really slow and repeating a lot of the information from the first book. The series is 7 books and the first 3 follow the same couple. I’m not interested in slogging through 70% more of this book, plus another entire book. I liked the premise and I’m curious about some of the other characters, so I may come back to it later, when I’m not so salty about the cliffhanger.

I also listened to How to Date Your Dragon and Love and Other Wild Things by Molly Harper. I tend to prefer more serious paranormal books, but these were perfect for my mood despite being light, fluffy listens. I’m sad there aren’t any other books available in the series.

I finished reading Archangel’s Prophecy, which slayed me. Nalini Singh is evil…in the very best way. I can’t wait for the next book to come out. Then I read Lionheart by Thea Harrison. Oberon! I really loved it. I really wish these authors would release books faster. I need more! 😉

I re-read Soaring by Kristen Ashley and Iron Kissed by Patricia Briggs so I can discuss it with Rowena. Iron Kissed gets me every time. My poor heart.

I’m currently listening to Natural Dual-Mage by K.F. Breene. I think I’m going to start reading Mornings on Main by Jodi Thomas.

Rowena: I’ve been distracted by baseball in the last couple of weeks, so reading has taken a back seat. I started some books but because my Dodgers have been stressing me out, I haven’t been paying much attention to any of them so I just put it off until I could concentrate again. I finished Never Seduce a Scot by Maya Banks for my book club and holy cow, that book made me all kinds of emotional. I wanted to fight all of the Montgomery women and I wanted to run Ian McHugh through with Graeme’s sword. Man, Eveline was a straight up boss for everything she went through. I adored her romance with Graeme.

After that, I read The Other Miss Bridgerton by Julia Quinn and enjoyed how easy it was to fall in with both Andrew and Poppy. Their romance was a little on the cheesy side but I didn’t care, I loved it all anyway. Julia Quinn writes great dialogue and witty characters that make me love them every single time. I just finished reading Iron Kissed by Patricia Briggs and that was another emotional read for me. I stayed up until after midnight last night, finishing up that book and I was choked up for Mercy, for Adam, hell, even for Ben. Patricia Briggs has me hooked on this series.

I started Bone Crossed by Patricia Briggs this morning, there is just no way that I’d be able to focus on anything else but Mercy Thompson right now. I need to know that she’s okay so of course I started the next book.

Giveaway Alert

We are very fortunate here at Book Binge. We have loads and loads of books to read and we want to share the wealth so each week, we’ll be tacking on a Freebie Friday giveaway to our What Are You Reading posts. This week, we’re giving away…

What Are You Reading? (+ Tessa Bailey Giveaway)Disturbing His Peace (The Academy, #3) by Tessa Bailey
Series: The Academy #3
Publisher: Avon
Publication Date: April 24, 2018
Format: Print
Source: Publisher
Point-of-View: Third
Genres: Contemporary Romance
Pages: 356
Amazon | Barnes & Noble | The Ripped Bodice | Google Play Books
Goodreads


She’s got probable cause to make her move . . .

Danika Silva can’t stand Lt. Greer Burns. Her roommate’s older brother may be sexy as hell, but he’s also a cold, unfeeling robot. She just wants to graduate and forget about her scowling superior. But when a dangerous mistake lands Danika on probation—under Greer’s watch—she’s forced to interact with the big, hulking jerk. Call him daily to check in? Done. Ride shotgun in his cruiser every night? Done. Try not to climb into his giant, muscular lap and kiss him? Umm…

Greer doesn’t let anythingor anyone—distract him from the job. Except lately, all he can think about is Danika. He’s wanted the beautiful, cocky recruit since the moment he saw her. But she’s reckless and unpredictable, and Greer is painfully aware of what can happen when an officer doesn’t follow the rules. Probation seemed like a good idea, but now Danika’s scent is in his car and he’s replayed her voicemails twenty times. Christ, he’s a goner.

Danika’s melting Greer’s stone-cold exterior one ride-along at a time. Being together could have serious consequences… but breaking a few rules never hurt anybody, right?

What Are You Reading: Disturbing His Peace by Tessa Bailey

What are you reading this week? Any new favorites or books that drove you crazy? Share!


Tagged: , , , ,

Throwback Thursday Review: Rescue Me by Rachel Gibson.

Posted October 25, 2018 by Rowena in Reviews | 8 Comments

Throwback Thursday Review: Rescue Me by Rachel Gibson.Reviewer: Rowena
Rescue Me (Lovett, Texas, #3) by Rachel Gibson
Series: Lovett, Texas #3
Publisher: Avon
Publication Date: May 29, 2012
Source: Publisher
Point-of-View: Third
Genres: Contemporary Romance
Pages: 384
Amazon | Barnes & Noble | The Ripped Bodice | Google Play Books
Goodreads
four-half-stars

She’s 33, unmarried, and stuffed into a Bubble Yum pink bridesmaid dress. And the whole town wants to fix her up with anyone with a dental plan...

Who’s going to rescue Sadie Hollowell now? Everyone in Lovett, Texas knows Sadie has always been a ‘notional’ kind of gal. She got a notion to leave town ASAP and never visit her daddy (bless his heart). Now, she’s back and got the notion to invite a good-looking, hard-muscled, total stranger to her cousin’s wedding. Better a stranger than some of the losers she’s dated.

Vince Haven got his muscles the hard way -- as a Navy SEAL in Afghanistan. He’s staying in Lovett to visit his crazy aunt -- the proprietor of the local Gas N Go. Before he can get the heck back out of the small town, his aunt makes him an offer he can’t refuse. Maybe he’ll stick around Lovett for a while. Maybe he’ll make a ‘go’ of the Gas N Go. Maybe he’ll rescue Sadie out of that pink dress!

Every Thursday, we’ll be posting throwback reviews of our favorite and not-so-favorite books. Enjoy!

This review was originally posted on May 30, 2012.

This book features a hero that if you read Any Man of Mine will remember. Autumn’s brother, Vince is the star of this show. If you’ll remember back to AMoM, Vince was Autumn’s brother that was a Navy SEAL who came back to help her take care of her young son, Connor. In this book, Vince goes to the Lone Star state to see what his Aunt wants and to get away for a little bit. He’s not a fan of Autumn’s fiance Sam and he’s not looking forward to the wedding. He’s in Texas, a long way from Seattle and before he knows what’s what, he’s bought his Aunts Gas and Go mart and he’s in the process of fixing it up.

On his way into town, he runs into a bit of car trouble and finds himself stranded, until a cute blonde comes to save the day. Her name is Sadie and her being back in town is sure to cause some talk.

Seeing Vince in action and getting into his head in this book was a treat for me since I became a fan of his in his sister’s book, Any Man of Mine. I was looking forward to getting to know him and I loved him, just like I knew I would. He was such a man’s man and I ate his character up. Him and Becca’s relationship had me cracking up. What he thought, what Becca thought, what they really thought of each other and then Sadie’s reaction to it all? Was the exact same reaction I had.

It was also good to see him to come to terms with Autumn’s relationship with Sam. It was nice to see that played out in this book as well because I felt like it was brought up in AMoM and then just dropped. I loved the little pieces of Autumn, Sam and Connor in this book.

Rachel Gibson does a great job of writing a humorous contemporary romance with just enough steam to keep you turning the pages and not need to take a shower. I’m a total fan of the way she writes her stories, the way that she fleshes out her characters and still keep us laughing the whole way through. She created a new world for us in this book and I can’t wait for more. I’m mighty curious to see who’s next to get their story from this town in Texas. I love stories set in Texas because the people from around there are so colorful and just too funny.

I’m glad that I read this book, I enjoyed the romance between Vince and Sadie, I enjoyed getting to know the people from Sadie’s past and I’m glad that she was able to make friends in a place where she didn’t have very many friends. I even enjoyed getting to know Sadie’s Dad. It was all wrapped up nicely in an entertaining story and I will definitely be back for more.

Grade: 4.5 out of 5.

Lovett, Texas

four-half-stars


Tagged: , , , , , , ,