Publisher: Harper Collins

What Are You Reading? (+ Stephanie Evanovich Giveaway)

Posted March 15, 2019 by Casee in Features, Giveaways | 5 Comments

Casee: I’m currently reading Ride Steady (Chaos #3) by Kristen Ashley. I skipped book two because I heard it wasn’t very good. These books are so bad, they’re good. I don’t understand it at all. It’s something that I continually try to work out in my head, but it just doesn’t compute to me. I’m just going with it. These books sure are entertaining.

I just started listening to Hunting Ground (Alpha & Omega #2) by Patricia Briggs this morning. I read Alpha and Omega (Alpha & Omega Prequel) and Cry Wolf (Alpha & Omega #1) during the Summer Reading Challenge. I enjoyed both of them, but I didn’t feel a pressing need to move on. Yesterday Holly asked if I had read the rest of the series then basically went off on me when I told her no told me I needed to. I’ve only listened to about thirty or so minutes of the book and I’m already engrossed. I have no earthly idea why it took me so long to pick this one up. (H: things would go much smoother for everyone if these girls just listened to me. Sigh.)

Holly: My reading is so slow lately! I’ve been really busy, so it’s taking me days to read books when normally I’d be able to finish them in hours. It’s driving me crazy. I might have to hide in my room all weekend and binge-read. Doesn’t that sound like heaven?

Anyway, I finished reading Overnight Sensation by Sarina Bowen, which I really enjoyed. I also finished Dane’s Storm by Mia Sheridan. It was a bit slow in parts, but overall I liked it. I read Lady Derring Takes a Lover by Julie Anne Long. It was AMAZING. I loved the heroine and the friendships she forms with other ladies and how she takes control of her life. I also loved the romance. Have I mentioned how glad I am JAL returned to historicals? Yes? Well, it bears repeating. After that I read Wild Irish by C.M. Seabrook, an Audible Romance Package find. I ended up downloading the ebook from Kindle Unlimited about 30% in because the narration was too slow. It was just okay. I liked the first half, but the trust issues and rapid resolution in the second half kind of ruined it.

I re-read Rock Chick Regret and Rock Chick Revolution by Kristen Ashley, just because. I’m currently re-reading Magic Bites by Ilona Andrews (currently $2.99 for Kindle) so I can discuss it with Casee and Rowena and listening to xo, Zach by Kendall Ryan. After that I’m not sure what I’ll read next.

Rowena: Yikes, I just realized that after I finished Magic Bites (Kate Daniels #1) by Ilona Andrews, I didn’t finish anything else. I finished Magic Bites earlier in the week. The beginning was really slow and seeing Kate investigate a murder in a world that I didn’t understand was hard to slog through but I’m glad that I did because I ended up enjoying the book, the further into it I got and I’m super excited for more books in this series. Right now, I’m reading Next Year in Havana by Chanel Cleeton for my monthly buddy read with Ames. I’m also listening to Getting Lucky Number Seven by Cindi Madsen. I’ve had Getting Lucky Number Seven on my TBR pile for ages and I’m finally reading it for my TBR Challenge read for this month. So far, I’m really enjoying it.

Giveaway Alert

We are very fortunate here at Book Binge. We have loads and loads of books to read and we want to share the wealth so each week, we’ll be tacking on a Freebie Friday giveaway to our What Are You Reading posts. This week, we’re giving away…

What Are You Reading? (+ Stephanie Evanovich Giveaway)The Total Package by Stephanie Evanovich
Publisher: Avon
Publication Date: March 15, 2016
Format: Print
Genres: Contemporary Romance
Pages: 256
Add It: Goodreads
Amazon | Barnes & Noble | The Ripped Bodice | Google Play Books

The New York Times bestselling author of Big Girl Panties and The Sweet Spot is back with a funny, sweet, and sizzling novel about the game of love, in which a hot quarterback must figure out how to score big with a beautiful and talented media analyst after a heartbreaking fumble.

Star quarterback, first-round draft-pick, and heartthrob Tyson Palmer has made a name for himself with his spectacular moves. When the head coach of the Austin Mavericks refuses to let him waste his million-dollar arm, Tyson makes a Hail Mary pass at redemption and succeeds with everyone . . . except Dani, whose negative comments about his performance draw high ratings and spectacular notices of her own.

Dani can’t forgive Tyson’s transgressions or forget the sizzling history the two of them shared in college, a passionate love Tyson casually threw away. And even more infuriating, he doesn’t realize that the bombshell with huge ratings is the cute girl whose heart he once broke.

But can a woman trying to claw her way to the top and a quarterback who knows all about rock bottom make it to the Super Bowl without destroying each other? And what will happen when Tyson—riding high now that he’s revived his career—realizes he needs to make an even more important comeback with Dani? Can he make some spectacular moves to get past her defenses—or will she sideline him for good?

What Are You Reading: The Total Package

What are you reading this week? Any new favorites or books that drove you crazy? Share!


Tagged: , , , ,

Sunday Spotlight: Lady Derring Takes a Lover by Julie Anne Long

Posted March 10, 2019 by Holly in Features, Giveaways | 6 Comments

Sunday Spotlight is a feature we began in 2016. This year we’re spotlighting our favorite books, old and new. We’ll be raving about the books we love and being total fangirls. You’ve been warned. 🙂

Sunday Spotlight

I know I’ve said it before, but I am so glad Julie Anne Long is returning to historicals. Lady Derring Takes a Lover is the start of a new series and I’m so thrilled to be able to share an excerpt with you today.

Sunday Spotlight: Lady Derring Takes a Lover by Julie Anne LongLady Derring Takes a Lover by Julie Anne Long
Series: The Palace of Rogues #1
Publisher: Avon
Publication Date: February 26, 2019
Point-of-View: Alternating Third
Genres: Historical Romance
Pages: 373
Add It: Goodreads
Amazon | Barnes & Noble | The Ripped Bodice | Google Play Books

A mistress. A mountain of debt. A mysterious wreck of a building.

Delilah Swanpoole, Countess of Derring, learns the hard way that her husband, “Dear Dull Derring,” is a lot more interesting—and perfidious—dead than alive. It’s a devil of an inheritance, but in the grand ruins of the one building Derring left her, are the seeds of her liberation. And she vows never again to place herself at the mercy of a man.

But battle-hardened Captain Tristan Hardy is nothing if not merciless. When the charismatic naval hero tracks a notorious smuggler to a London boarding house known as the Rogue’s Palace, seducing the beautiful, blue-blooded proprietress to get his man seems like a small sacrifice.

They both believe love is a myth. But a desire beyond reason threatens to destroy the armor around their hearts. Now a shattering decision looms: Will Tristan betray his own code of honor…or choose a love that might be the truest thing he’s ever known?

Order the Book:

AMAZON || BARNES AND NOBLE || KOBO

Excerpt

“Do you snore, Captain Hardy?” she said softly.

She saw the breath leave him. His gray eyes flared to black.

It was the most thrilling, vixenish thing she’d ever done, that subtle question, which was born of real curiosity. But she knew immediately that she was quite in over her head.

She pivoted to leave, and swiftly.

She’d taken two steps when he said, his voice raised only a little, “Lady Derring . . . something puzzles me.”

She halted. Closed her eyes.

Took a shuddering breath for courage.

Turned back to him. From the relatively safe distance of three feet, she said, “Surely not. We’ve established you know everything.”

His smile was small and patient. “You seem to excel at so very much here at The Grand Palace on the Thames. Yet you can’t seem to disguise how much you want me.”

One of the things Tristan excelled at was ambush. Her eyes grew enormous as his words sank in.

She looked both stricken and resigned, like a thief nabbed in the act.

Finally she drew in a breath and resettled her shoulders, as though she’d been ruffled by a stiff wind.

“Well, Captain Hardy, I must take issue with your assessment, on the grounds that I’m not trying to dis- guise it at all.”

Holy—!

His breath left him in a gust.

And as she turned again to walk away his hand shot out.

It was a primal reflex, but not the about-to-fall-off-a-cliff sort. It was somewhere in between a cat with prey or a miser with gold.

He got hold of her forearm.

He held her like that long enough to feel brutish. Three seconds all told, though something had gone wrong with time—it seemed to have stopped—so it was difficult to know.

She ought to slap him. He ought to let go.

Unless one counted lungs moving in and out, color flooding into cheeks, pupils flaring to shilling size, neither of them moved.

And then he slid his hand down, down, down along her arm to bracelet her wrist.

He felt her heart drumming against his fingertips.

At least as hard as his was beating. It was what he needed to know.

He tugged her up against his body.

It was nearly as much a collision as a kiss, at first, fierce and hard, as if they were both intent on punishing themselves and each other for wanting this.
This was a mistake. He’d known it was, and he could not stop himself from making it.

He fanned one hand against the small of her back; with the other he cradled her head, threaded his fingers up through her hair. And tugged her head back to take that kiss mercilessly, greedily, carnally, deeper. She moaned softly. And opened to him with a sweetness and hunger that stunned him, then made him nearly savage. Her hands rose to grip his shirt and she pulled him hard up against her. He slid his hands down beneath the curve of her arse and scooped her up hard against the swell of his cock and he felt her ribcage jump against him as her breath snagged.

And then she shifted to fit him more snugly between her legs and pulled him closer and lust threatened to tear the top from his head.
It was already out of hand.

The hallway spun, as if he’d staggered from an opium den.

Her finger remained curled into his shirt. Her body was still crushed to his, and he could feel her heart beating against his body, in counterpoint to his. He could rest his cheek on the top of her head if he wanted to. It was as seductive as those pillows in his room, a moment of infinite weakness.

God, how he wanted to. Which was why he didn’t.

“I’m not a gentleman,” he said gruffly. Finally.

He didn’t know why these should be the first words he said after he surfaced from the kiss. A warning, perhaps. Or an explanation. Not an apology.

He would never apologize for something that could not be helped.

She finally stepped back from him and drew in a breath that shuddered.

Her hands rose, and he thought for a moment she meant to cover her face. But she dropped them again. And she stared at him. Not censorious. Assessing, perhaps. Amazed, certainly. Her eyes were hazy and soft.

“No. You certainly aren’t,” she said finally. He said nothing.

She adjusted her shoulders, as though realigning herself with propriety.

And then she turned and went down the stairs without another word.

Albeit carefully, and a little more slowly, as though she were finding her footing in a world that was still shifting beneath her feet.

Palace of Rogues

Angel in the Devil’s Arms(October 2019)

Giveaway Alert

We’re giving one lucky winner their choice of one of our Sunday Spotlight books. Use the widget below to enter for one of this month’s features.

Sunday Spotlight: March 2019

Are you as excited for this release as we are? Let us know how excited you are and what other books you’re looking forward to this year!

About Julie Anne Long

Julie Anne Long originally set out to be a rock star when she grew up, and she has the guitars and the questionable wardrobe stuffed in the back of her closet t prove it. When playing to indifferent crowds at midnight in dank clubs lost its, ahem, charm, she realized she could incorporate all of the best things about being in a band—namely, drama, passion and men with unruly hair—into novels, while at the same time indulging her love of history and research. So she made the move from guitar to keyboard (the computer variety) and embarked on a considerably more civilized, if not much more peaceful, career as a novelist.

Julie lives in the San Francisco Bay Area with a fat orange cat. (Little known fact: they issue you a cat the minute you become a romance novelist.)


Tagged:

What Are You Reading? (+ Jessie Mihalik Giveaway)

Posted March 1, 2019 by Casee in Features, Giveaways | 14 Comments

Casee: I’m reading Own the Wind by Kristen Ashley. I’m about 20% into it. I actually set it aside the day before yesterday and started Shadow Warrior by Christine Feehan, intending to go back to it. However, someone didn’t like that so I went back to it. I’m traveling today so I’m hoping to finish it.

I am listening to Written in Red by Anne Bishop. It started out really slow, but it has picked up and I am really loving it. It’s not really a romance, though it has romantic elements to it. Usually that would bother me, but honestly, this book is so good that I hardly even notice that there isn’t as much romance as I usually prefer.

Holly: I had a super slow reading week. I spent the entire week reading Wild Country and listening to Lake Silence by Anne Bishop. I’m not sure if it was the books or me, but I had the hardest time focusing. I need to collect my thoughts about Wild Country before I discuss it, but Lake Silence was as an enjoyable as always.

Now I’m reading Wolf Rain by Nalini Singh. I haven’t settled on a new audiobook yet.

Rowena: It’s been an interesting week in books for me. I came off a couple of weeks of not reading much of anything and then this week, I read two books. The first book I read was Bad Bachelor (Bad Bachelors #1) by Stefanie London and while I really enjoyed the romance, there were people and things in that book that drove me batty that I ended up not loving the book as much as I wanted to. I moved on from that book and jumped into the second book in the Bad Bachelors series, Bad Reputation and I enjoyed that book even less. I’m really bummed about that because so many bloggers that I enjoy loved these books but they’re just not for me. I got book 3 in this series for review and I’m stuck right now because I don’t want to read it. I hate the heroine for book 3 so much that I’m like…

View Spoiler »

Fuck that noise, it’s decided…I’m not reading it. Instead, I’m going to read The Dating Game by Kiley Roache.

Giveaway Alert

We are very fortunate here at Book Binge. We have loads and loads of books to read and we want to share the wealth so each week, we’ll be tacking on a Freebie Friday giveaway to our What Are You Reading posts. This week, we’re giving away…

What Are You Reading? (+ Jessie Mihalik Giveaway)Polaris Rising (Consortium Rebellion, #1) by Jessie Mihalik
Series: Consortium Rebellion #1
Publisher: Harper Voyager
Publication Date: February 5, 2019
Format: Print
Genres: Science Fiction
Pages: 448
Add It: Goodreads
Amazon | Barnes & Noble | The Ripped Bodice | Google Play Books

A space princess on the run and a notorious outlaw soldier become unlikely allies in this imaginative, sexy space opera adventure—the first in an exciting science fiction trilogy.

In the far distant future, the universe is officially ruled by the Royal Consortium, but the High Councillors, the heads of the three High Houses, wield the true power. As the fifth of six children, Ada von Hasenberg has no authority; her only value to her High House is as a pawn in a political marriage. When her father arranges for her to wed a noble from House Rockhurst, a man she neither wants nor loves, Ada seizes control of her own destiny. The spirited princess flees before the betrothal ceremony and disappears among the stars.Ada eluded her father’s forces for two years, but now her luck has run out. To ensure she cannot escape again, the fiery princess is thrown into a prison cell with Marcus Loch. Known as the Devil of Fornax Zero, Loch is rumored to have killed his entire chain of command during the Fornax Rebellion, and the Consortium wants his head.

When the ship returning them to Earth is attacked by a battle cruiser from rival House Rockhurst, Ada realizes that if her jilted fiancé captures her, she’ll become a political prisoner and a liability to her House. Her only hope is to strike a deal with the dangerous fugitive: a fortune if he helps her escape.

But when you make a deal with an irresistibly attractive Devil, you may lose more than you bargained for . . .

What Are You Reading: Polaris Rising by Jessie Mihalik

What are you reading this week? Any new favorites or books that drove you crazy? Share!


Tagged: , , , ,

Review: The Scoundrel in Her Bed by Lorraine Heath

Posted February 26, 2019 by Rowena in Reviews | 1 Comment

Review: The Scoundrel in Her Bed by Lorraine HeathReviewer: Rowena
The Scoundrel in Her Bed (Sins for All Seasons, #3) by Lorraine Heath
Series: Sins for All Seasons #3
Also in this series: Beyond Scandal and Desire, Beyond Scandal and Desire, When a Duke Loves a Woman, When a Duke Loves a Woman (Sins for All Seasons, #2)
Publisher: Harper Collins, Avon
Publication Date: February 26, 2019
Format: eARC
Source: Edelweiss
Point-of-View: Alternating Third
Genres: Historical Romance
Pages: 400
Add It: Goodreads
Reading Challenges: Rowena's 2019 GoodReads Challenge
Amazon | Barnes & Noble | The Ripped Bodice | Google Play Books
four-half-stars
Series Rating: five-stars

The third electrifying romance in Lorraine Heath's USA Today bestselling Sins of all Seasons series.

The bastard son of a nobleman, Finn Trewlove was a shameful secret raised by a stranger. As Finn came of age, he had secrets, too—the clandestine nights spent with an earl's daughter. But her promise of forever ended in betrayal.

Driven by a past that haunts her, Lady Lavinia Kent seeks redemption in London's underworld, engaged in a daring cause inspired by the young man to whom she gave her innocence, and who then proved himself a scoundrel by abandoning her.

When their paths cross again, they can't deny the yearning and desire that still burns. As they discover the truth behind the deceptions that tore them apart, Finn and Lavinia must fight to reclaim what they've lost, no matter how dangerous—because love is worth the risk...

Honestly, Lorraine Heath just keeps right on bringing the heat with this series. I have loved every single book that she’s put out for these characters and with each passing book, I become more and more interested in the whole baby farming thing. In When a Duke Loves a Woman, I was mighty curious to find out what the heck Lady Lavinia was up to running away from her wedding to Thorne and then hiding out in Whitechapel, near where Gillie’s family lived. I knew she was connected to Finn so you’d think that there wouldn’t have been much left for me to be surprised about from them holy cow, there were plot twists all over the damn place and my heart soared and plummeted so many times, I thought I’d have to go to the ER.

In this book, we get two stories. The story of Finn and Lavinia when they were young and falling in love for the first time and the story of Finn and Lavinia as grown adults, years after they were torn apart and falling in love all over again. The young love portion of this book showed us how they met, how they kept meeting until they were so in love with each other that they were planning on doing anything they could to be together forever and then real life crashing in on them. The adult portion of this book showed us just how much chemistry the two of them had despite all of the bad history between them. Their love wasn’t an easy one but man was it a satisfying one. I don’t think I’ve read a couple this year that were as meant to be as these two were.

There is a lot going on in this book. We have the romance between Finn and Lavinia, Lavinia’s new mission in life and trying to piece together everything that happened to both Finn and Lavinia in the years since they parted ways. There’s a lot of resentment, lots of family secrets and then the secret shame between the two of them. I thought that I would be overwhelmed with everything going on but Heath does a fantastic job of making it easy for the reader to be a part of all of it.

I can’t talk about a lot of things that I want to talk about without spoiling the fun for you guys so I’ll just keep this one simple. If you enjoyed the other books in this series, you’re going to love this one. If you enjoy historical romances with compelling characters, you’re going to love this one. If you enjoy emotional reunions and second chance romances, you’re going to love this one so seriously, pick this one up. You’re going to love it. 😉

Grade: 4.75 out of 5

Sins for All Seasons

four-half-stars


Tagged: , , , , , , ,

Review: Devil’s Daughter by Lisa Kleypas

Posted February 21, 2019 by Holly in Reviews | 2 Comments

Review: Devil’s Daughter by Lisa KleypasReviewer: Holly
Devil's Daughter by Lisa Kleypas
Series: The Ravenels #5
Also in this series: Cold-Hearted Rake, Devil in Spring, Devil in Spring, Hello Stranger, Devil in Spring (The Ravenels, #3), Devil's Daughter (The Ravenels #5)
Publisher: Avon
Publication Date: February 19, 2019
Format: eARC
Source: Edelweiss
Point-of-View: Alternating Third
Genres: Historical Romance
Pages: 384
Add It: Goodreads
Amazon | Barnes & Noble | The Ripped Bodice | Google Play Books
four-half-stars
Series Rating: four-stars

New York Times bestselling author Lisa Kleypas delivers a scintillating tale of a beautiful, young widow who finds passion with the one man she shouldn't...

Although beautiful young widow Phoebe, Lady Clare, has never met West Ravenel, she knows one thing for certain: he's a mean, rotten bully. Back in boarding school, he made her late husband's life a misery, and she'll never forgive him for it. But when Phoebe attends a family wedding, she encounters a dashing and impossibly charming stranger who sends a fire-and-ice jolt of attraction through her. And then he introduces himself...as none other than West Ravenel.

West is a man with a tarnished past. No apologies, no excuses. However, from the moment he meets Phoebe, West is consumed by irresistible desire...not to mention the bitter awareness that a woman like her is far out of his reach. What West doesn't bargain on is that Phoebe is no straitlaced aristocratic lady. She's the daughter of a strong-willed wallflower who long ago eloped with Sebastian, Lord St. Vincent—the most devilishly wicked rake in England.

Before long, Phoebe sets out to seduce the man who has awakened her fiery nature and shown her unimaginable pleasure. Will their overwhelming passion be enough to overcome the obstacles of the past?

Only the devil's daughter knows...

Devil’s Daughter is the 5th book in Lisa KleypasRavenels series. I’ve been anxiously awaiting West’s story since we met him in the first book. His transformation from disreputable rake to responsible land manager has been a favorite throughout the series for me. I’m happy to report he was just as amazing here as I expected him to be. I loved everything about the way he was with Phoebe, Lady Clare and her two sons. My heart melted every time he interacted with the boys. He was playful and managed to teach them without being stern. His candor and openness about his past made my heart hurt at times. I did struggle with his doubts and the way he continued to punish himself for his past sins. I wanted to see him let that go sooner than he did.

Phoebe was an amazing heroine. She was strong, yet vulnerable. Brave, yet scared. I loved the contradictions and how well they played into the person she’d become since her husband died. I also loved how she was as a mother.

Together West and Phoebe had great chemistry. Their banter and wit had me in stitches, and I loved how well they understood one anther. West accepted Phoebe for who she was now, yet still pushed her out of her comfort zone. I loved what a progressive he was, and how he challenged her to think outside her narrow box. I also loved how accepting she was of him and his past. My heart melted when West told her to send for him if needed. They were so lovely together.

I loved seeing previous characters and having them play a part in the story, mostly because Klyepas is a master at keeping them in the background. Their presence didn’t detract from Phoebe and West in the slightest, and in fact having them there enriched the story.

Honestly, this may have been a 5 star read for me if not for West’s constant self-flagellation and the abrupt ending. Seriously, it ended way too quickly. At 92% I was low key anxious about where the story was at. The novel really needed an extra chapter or an epilogue.

Devil’s Daughter is another emotionally charged, engrossing tale of redemption and love. Another must read from Kleypas.

Rating: 4.5 out of 5

The Ravenels

four-half-stars


Tagged: , , , , , ,