Publisher: Harper Collins

Release Day Spotlight: Pretending He’s Mine by Mia Sosa

Posted April 10, 2018 by Rowena in Promotions | 1 Comment

HAPPY RELEASE DAY TO MIA SOSA!

Mia Sosa is an author that made it onto my radar in the past couple of months and I’ve been hearing such great things about her books. She’s got a brand spanking new book out today and we are spotlighting it so you guys know all about it.

Release Day Spotlight: Pretending He’s Mine by Mia SosaPretending He's Mine (Love on Cue, #2) by Mia Sosa
Series: Love on Cue #2
Published by Harper Collins, Avon Impulse
Publication Date: April 10, 2018
Genres: Contemporary Romance
Pages: 384
Buy on Amazon | Barnes & Noble
Goodreads

Mia Sosa returns with another fun, flirty romance in her critically-acclaimed Love on Cue series!

For Hollywood agent Julian Hart, representing his best friend—megastar Carter Williamson—means it’s nearly impossible to keep his personal life and career separate. To make matters worse, Carter’s younger sister has been starring in Julian’s wildest fantasies more often than he’d care to admit. He knows she’s off-limits, but when Ashley shows up on his doorstep, needing a place to crash… suddenly his greatest temptation is sleeping down the hall.

Free-spirited Ashley Williamson doesn’t do commitment. Jobs, apartments, men… why let herself be tied down? But she’s had a crush on her older brother’s best friend for years and she’s committed to making Julian want her, one towel-clad midnight encounter at a time. But just as things start heating up, their steamy flirtation is interrupted by Carter’s east coast wedding. Ashley has no desire to go home and face her reputation as the family disappointment. But living with—dare she say dating?—a successful, sexy film agent could give them something else to talk about.

Julian can’t believe he agreed to fake a relationship with the one woman he can never have. And it’s going to take more than a little willpower to remember it's all pretend. Or is it? 

Ooh, it’s a best friend’s little sister romance with a fake romance thrown in as well. I’m so here for that!! This book is out today so if you haven’t already, order your copy at any of the links provided below.

Order the Book:

AMAZON || BARNES AND NOBLE || GOOGLE || KOBO || THE RIPPED BODICE

Love on Cue

About the Author

Mia Sosa

WEBSITE | TWITTER | GOODREADS

Mia Sosa is an award-winning contemporary romance writer and 2015 Romance Writers of America® Golden Heart® Finalist. Her books have received praise and recognition from Kirkus Reviews, Booklist, Library Journal, The Washington Post, Book Riot, Bustle, and more.

A former First Amendment and media lawyer, Mia practiced for more than a decade before trading her suits for loungewear (okay, okay, they’re sweatpants). Now she strives to write fun and flirty stories about imperfect characters finding their perfect match.

Mia lives in Maryland with her husband, their two daughters, and an adorable puppy that finally sleeps through the night.

To learn more about Mia and her books, visit www.miasosa.com.


Tagged: , , , ,

Review: What a Difference a Duke Makes by Lenora Bell

Posted April 10, 2018 by Rowena in Reviews | 4 Comments

Review: What a Difference a Duke Makes by Lenora BellReviewer: Rowena
What a Difference a Duke Makes (School for Dukes, #1) by Lenora Bell
Series: School for Dukes #1
Also in this series: What a Difference a Duke Makes (School for Dukes #1)
Published by Harper Collins, Avon
Publication Date: March 27th 2018
Genres: Historical Romance
Pages: 384
Buy on Amazon | Barnes & Noble
Goodreads
four-stars

Wanted: Governess for duke's unruly children

Edgar Rochester, Duke of Banksford, is one of the wealthiest, most powerful men in England, but when it comes to raising twins alone, he knows he needs help. The only problem is the children have chased away half the governesses in London. Until the clever, bold, and far-too-enticing Miss Mari Perkins arrives.

Lost: One heart to an arrogant duke

Mari knows how to wrap even the most rebellious children around her finger. But their demanding, wickedly handsome father? He won't be quite so easy to control. And there's something else she can't seem to command. Her heart. The foolish thing beats so wildly every time the duke is near.

Found: A forbidden passion neither can deny

As his employee, Mari is strictly off-limits. But what if she's the one breaking all his rules? In the game of governess versus duke, how can Edgar maintain his defenses when the only thing he wants to do is let the tempting beauty win?

What a Difference a Duke Makes starts Lenora Bell’s School for Dukes series off with a bang. I have enjoyed every single book that I’ve read by Lenora Bell and after finishing this book, my enjoyment of her books hasn’t stopped.

Edgar Rochester is the Duke of Banksford and he has two kids out of wedlock that he just found out about and is now caring for. But he’s much too busy building a steam engine empire to care for them so he needs a governess to teach and care for them when he’s not around. The problem with that is his children have run off more governesses than he’d care to admit so finding one that will stick is proving to be difficult.

Miss Mari Perkins is out on her ear with no references and in desperate need of a job. She was promised a governess job but when that falls through, she hears about another job and uses her wiles to steal that job right from under her would be employer’s nose. Her plan is to dazzle her new employer, the Duke of Banksford with her awesome governessing skills that he’ll want to keep her on when the other shoe drops.

Neither Edgar or Mari was expecting the fierce attraction that bursts between them but when Mari starts proving herself to be a capable governess that the children have warmed up to, Edgar can’t turn her away. Keeping their space from each other seems to be the only way to go about this but the heart will always want what the heart wants and theirs want each other.

I really enjoy Lenora Bell’s writing style and this book was more proof that she can write the heck out of a story. Being a part of Edgar and Mari’s (rhymes with starry, hehe) romance was great fun. Their chemistry was strong and the other characters were pretty fabulous, too. I thoroughly enjoyed the shenanigans that the twins got into and I loved seeing their relationship blossom with their father but also with Mari. Their actions in the end melted me and I loved seeing Mari really grow into her own over the course of the story. I was super thrilled when she found out all about her family.

Overall, this was a wonderful historical romance that made me happy. I cannot wait to read India and Ravenwood’s book because I’m confident that they’ll keep the party going. Kudos to Lenora Bell on winning me over with yet another fabulous historical romance. What a Difference a Duke Makes is not to be missed.

Grade: 4 out of 5

four-stars


Tagged: , , , , , , ,

What Are You Reading? (+ Historical Giveaway)

Posted April 6, 2018 by Casee in Features, Giveaways | 14 Comments

WAYR-New

Casee: I am just finishing up Dark Legacy by Christine Feehan. It isn’t my favorite in this series and I can’t quite pinpoint why. I’m not sure what to read next. I have quite a few choices. I’m not sure if I want to stick with paranormal or go back to contemporary. Or if I should be really wild and read a historical. Hello Stranger by Lisa Kleypas is quietly calling to me. I am told that I need to read the entire series, which I’m not sure I want to commit to.

Holly: This week I tried to focus on reading new books rather than re-reading. I finished Crimes Against Magic by Steve McHugh, which was good. I have the second book and plan to start it shortly. I started listening to A Merciful Truth by Kendra Elliot, but I wasn’t in the right frame of mind and traded it for Wildfire by Ilona Andrews instead. Then I read Snowfall and Secrets by Kimberly Loth. The story was just okay. Something about the writing didn’t really work for me. And the hero said asshat stuff the heroine didn’t call him out for. I might try the next book in the series, but I’m not sure yet. I started Shadow Wings by Raye Wagner and Kelly St. Clare, but I set it aside after a few chapters when I realized it was book 2 in the series and I was pretty lost. The premise was good so I may go back to book 1 next.

Right now I’m reading Dragon’s Oath by Sophie Steg. I’m about 7 chapters in and enjoying it.

Rowena: I haven’t read a hot damn thing all week. I can’t concentrate on the book that I’m reading, which is If You Don’t Have Anything Nice to Say by Leila Sales and I have been trying to read this book for the last week. I don’t know if I should give it up and try something else or what but I need to do something. Maybe I’ll jump out of this book and start The Hookup by Erin McCarthy. Yeah, that’s what I’m going to do. Wish me luck.

Giveaway Alert

We are very fortunate here at Book Binge. We have loads and loads of books to read and we want to share the wealth so each week, we’ll be tacking on a Freebie Friday giveaway to our What Are You Reading posts. This week, we’re giving away…

What Are You Reading? (+ Historical Giveaway)Hello Stranger by Lisa Kleypas
Series: The Ravenels #4
Also in this series: Cold-Hearted Rake, Devil in Spring, Devil in Spring, Hello Stranger
Published by Avon
Publication Date: February 27, 2018
Point-of-View: Third Person
Genres: Historical Romance
Pages: 400
Buy on Amazon | Barnes & Noble
Goodreads

A woman who defies her time

Dr. Garrett Gibson, the only female physician in England, is as daring and independent as any man—why not take her pleasures like one? Yet she has never been tempted to embark on an affair, until now. Ethan Ransom, a former detective for Scotland Yard, is as gallant as he is secretive, a rumored assassin whose true loyalties are a mystery. For one exhilarating night, they give in to their potent attraction before becoming strangers again.

A man who breaks every rule

As a Ravenel by-blow spurned by his father, Ethan has little interest in polite society, yet he is captivated by the bold and beautiful Garrett. Despite their vow to resist each other after that sublime night, she is soon drawn into his most dangerous assignment yet. When the mission goes wrong, it will take all of Garrett's skill and courage to save him. As they face the menace of a treacherous government plot, Ethan is willing to take any risk for the love of the most extraordinary woman he's ever known.

a Rafflecopter giveaway

What are you reading this week? Any new favorites or books that drove you crazy? Share!


Tagged: , , , ,

Joint Review: Hello Stranger by Lisa Kleypas

Posted April 3, 2018 by Rowena in Reviews | 2 Comments

Joint Review: Hello Stranger by Lisa KleypasReviewer: Holly & Rowena
Hello Stranger by Lisa Kleypas
Series: The Ravenels #4
Also in this series: Cold-Hearted Rake, Devil in Spring, Devil in Spring
Published by Harper Collins, Avon
Publication Date: February 27th 2018
Point-of-View: Third Person
Genres: Historical Romance
Pages: 400
Buy on Amazon | Barnes & Noble
Goodreads
four-stars

A woman who defies her time

Dr. Garrett Gibson, the only female physician in England, is as daring and independent as any man—why not take her pleasures like one? Yet she has never been tempted to embark on an affair, until now. Ethan Ransom, a former detective for Scotland Yard, is as gallant as he is secretive, a rumored assassin whose true loyalties are a mystery. For one exhilarating night, they give in to their potent attraction before becoming strangers again.

A man who breaks every rule

As a Ravenel by-blow spurned by his father, Ethan has little interest in polite society, yet he is captivated by the bold and beautiful Garrett. Despite their vow to resist each other after that sublime night, she is soon drawn into his most dangerous assignment yet. When the mission goes wrong, it will take all of Garrett's skill and courage to save him. As they face the menace of a treacherous government plot, Ethan is willing to take any risk for the love of the most extraordinary woman he's ever known.

Hello Stranger is the fourth book in Lisa Kleypas’ Ravenels series and it follows, Dr. Garrett Gibson and Mr. Ethan Ransom. Both characters were introduced in the previous books and both characters are linked to the Ravenels in different ways.

Dr. Garrett Gibson is the only female doctor in England and she’s one busy woman. She’s sworn that her career is more important than marriage and has no plans to marry as it will interfere with her job. When she meets Ethan Ransom and starts taking an interest in him, things change.

Mr. Ethan Ransom has been infatuated with Dr. Gibson from the jump. He knows that he can’t have her because his life is a dangerous one but that doesn’t stop him from wanting her, from wanting to be near her and when a friendship sparks up between them and then a relationship, Ethan knows that to protect her, he should keep his distance but he can’t stay away from her.

When the danger comes and meets them head-on, Garrett must save Ethan’s life so that he can fight the biggest fight of his life.

Rowena: Our joint review for March is Hello Stranger by Lisa Kleypas and it’s a book that Holly and I have been anxious to read for quite some time now. I’ve lagged because I was wrapped up in Ilona Andrews but once I finally settled in and started reading Hello Stranger, it was good stuff.

What did you think, Holly?

Holly: It was good. I kind of thought Garrett might be too independent, or Ethan might be too overbearing, but I think they found a good balance. He didn’t try to stifle her and she didn’t insist she could do everything on her own to the detriment of her safety. I was a little sad in the beginning that she wasn’t able to whoop his arse, though. Can you imagine his face if she’d taken him down on the street?

Rowena: I had the same thoughts going into the book, especially after reading that scene where she had to fight off her attackers and Ethan stepped in and helped her. The way that she kept insisting that she got it, I was like, “Oh hell, are we going to get a whole lot of this for the remainder of the book?” I’m glad to see that that wasn’t the case.

I really enjoyed both Ethan and Garrett. They were wonderful together. I loved that Ethan was fighting to save the lives of thousands and that Garrett cared a whole bunch about saving his life. I did think that they went from kissing to I love you pretty quickly but I can’t even care about that because I adored Ethan so much. I just happy sighed while typing that because, holy cow, that speech that Ethan gave Garrett when he thought he was going to die?

swoon

Holly: I was really surprised at how quickly she changed her mind from “I won’t ever marry” to “Let’s get married”. But then if Ethan had courted me like that is have married him quick, too. He was so wonderful. He’s by far the most flowery Kleypas hero, I think, but it really worked for him. He was so sweet. I love him so much.

Rowena: Same. I would have been dressed in my wedding dress when he showed up with that monkey picture. LMAO.

Holly: Ha, I can just see you all “Oh, hello Ethan. I do.” But same, though. He was swoony.

Rowena: He would have been for a big surprise when he moved those covers off. I don’t even care that I would have married in a wedding dress that was wrinkled to shit. I would have been all, “I do, I do, I do, I do” Hahaha.

Holly:I can just see you all curled up in the bed wearing a wedding dress. “Surprise!” HAHA

What did you think of the suspense plot?

Rowena: I was much more invested in the romance between Ethan and Garrett than I was the suspense plot. It was just okay in my opinion. I think there was a lot going on and not a lot of page time to devote to each little thing. I don’t think we spent enough time with Jenkyns or even with the whole suspense plot to really get the motivation behind it but overall, that wasn’t what I was reading the book for so I guess I let it slide because I loved what I was getting from what I actually wanted from the story. Does that make sense?

Holly: I agree the romance was the most compelling part of the story. I was in a rush to get back to them as a couple, so the suspense plot was more filler than anything else. I will say something about it bothered me. It wasn’t how quickly it was resolved, but more how quickly things seemed to happen in the end. Maybe that’s just the power of fiction, but everything seemed to snowball once Ethan had his evidence.

Let’s talk about the elephant in the room…or the Indian woman in the story, as the case may be. A short paragraph thrown in mentions “training” Ethan did in India with a woman who trained him in the art of Kama Sutra. It jarred me when I read it, because it seemed rather out of place. But aside from thinking “That was unnecessary” it didn’t really register for me. It wasn’t until I saw the way others felt about it that I considered the full ramifications of what Kleypas had done by including it. I don’t know her, but she seems like a class act. Her response to the reviewers who were angered by the inclusion of it was fair and right, imo.

What about you? Did you notice it? Did you have any thoughts about it? I will say, that small part did not ruin the book for me. It wasn’t necessary in any way, but it didn’t turn me off from reading.

Rowena: I read this book after I read the review over at Smart Bitches and from how ragey the reviewer was, I went into this book prepared to be jarred but when I got to the part where it’s mentioned, it was so small and I was expecting something really big that I was more jarred by that then what’s in the story. If that makes any sense. The reviewer wasn’t wrong though. It wasn’t needed to further the story and I’m glad that LK responded the way that she did.

Overall, I enjoyed the book. I enjoyed getting to know Garrett, seeing her in action and I loved the romance between her and Ransom. I really loved Ransom. Like, a lot a lot. Give me all the Ransoms, please. So while the suspense was the weakest part of the book, the romance and seeing everyone again more than makes up for that, IMO. I give this one a 4.25 out of 5. You?

Holly: I loved Ransom so much. I was bothered by how quickly Garrett decided she was in love and ready for marriage, but honestly Ethan was so great he kind of made the whole book for me. I’m going to give it 4 out of 5.

Final Grades

Holly: 4 out of 5
Rowena: 4.25 out of 5

The Ravenels Series

four-stars


Tagged: , , , , , , , , ,

Review: Wildfire by Ilona Andrews

Posted March 28, 2018 by Rowena in Reviews | 5 Comments

Review: Wildfire by Ilona AndrewsReviewer: Rowena
Wildfire (Hidden Legacy, #3) by Ilona Andrews
Series: Hidden Legacy #3
Also in this series: Burn for Me (Hidden Legacy, #1), Wildfire, White Hot, White Hot (Hidden Legacy, #2), Burn for Me (Hidden Legacy, #1), White Hot (Hidden Legacy, #2)
Published by Harper Collins, Avon
Publication Date: July 25th 2017
Point-of-View: First Person
Genres: Urban Fantasy
Pages: 391
Buy on Amazon | Barnes & Noble
Goodreads
four-half-stars

Just when Nevada Baylor has finally come to accept the depths of her magical powers, she also realizes she’s fallen in love. Connor “Mad” Rogan is in many ways her equal when it comes to magic, but she’s completely out of her elements when it comes to her feelings for him. To make matters more complicated, an old flame comes back into Rogan’s life…

Rogan knows there’s nothing between him and his ex-fiance, Rynda Sherwood. But as Nevada begins to learn more about her past, her power, and her potential future, he knows she will be faced with choices she never dreamed of and the promise of a life spent without him.

As Nevada and Rogan race to discover the whereabouts of Rynda’s kidnapped husband and are forced to confront Nevada’s grandmother, who may or may not have evil motives, these two people must decide if they can trust in each other or allow everything to go up in smoke.

Wildfire is book 3 in the Hidden Legacy series by Ilona Andrews and it’s the last book in the series (I hope not forever). Everything that Nevada and Rogan have been fighting against since book 1 is still in the background of what is happening front and center in their lives. Nevada’s latest client is Rogan’s ex-fiancee and she hired Nevada to help find her missing husband.

The very last person that Nevada wants to spend time around is the woman that almost married her boyfriend but how could Nevada say no to someone who desperately needs help? The deeper that Nevada digs into this case, the more shady shit she finds and everything pretty much link back to the bigger fight that started in Book 1. So Nevada and Rogan are investigating different things but their cases keep bringing them back together.

On top of that, Nevada’s magic is getting stronger and stronger. She’s learning more about what she can do and her family is too. What a freaking powerhouse family she has. From Catalina to Arabella (damn girl) to freaking Leon, they’re going to be pretty legit once they each come into their own. I loved the dynamics between each family member. They fight fiercely but man do they come together like no other when they’re needed. Hell, even when they come together for the greater good, they fight like animals. Haha, they’re so great.

Nevada was pretty legit in the first book but in the third book, she’s come full circle and I loved her so much in this book. She handled the whole Rynda thing a lot better than I would have. I wouldn’t have been nearly as understanding and patient as Nevada was. One of my favorite quotes from the series is when she tells Rynda.

“If you continue to rely on others for that security, you will never find it. You’re a Prime, a woman, and a mother. Make yourself secure. Take charge of yourself. My circlework my be shaky and crooked, by it’s mine. I taught myself how to do it by studying books and now I’m using it. I didn’t ask Rogan to draw it for me, because I didn’t have to.”

Like I said, I wouldn’t have been nearly as patient and understanding with Rynda had I been in Nevada’s shoes but I love how loyal Rogan’s people were to him, but also to Nevada. When she said the above, I was all like…

I’m super sad that this book ends the series because holy crap, there was so much goodness in this one. Everything that I wanted to happen in this book, happened. Seeing more of Catalina, Leon and Arabella using their magic made me one happy camper. There were plenty of shocks and surprises that had my mouth dropping all over the place. This writing duo worked their magic once again and I ate every word up. I’m not ready to say goodbye to this world so I’m hoping against hope that we’ll see a spin off series that feature Nevada’s family. I’d love to see Catalina and the Italian Stallion that tested her. I’d love to see Leon’s future, as well as Arabella because holy shit, Arabella!! I laughed so much when Arabella shows up to kick ass and Nevada is like, “Mom is gonna kill me. Mom is gonna kill us. We can never go home.” Hahaha, oh this book was so good.

There’s a lot to love in this book. The action, the adventure, the romance between Rogan and Nevada was everything. Seeing them work through their issues had me all up in my feels. I loved how strong they were on their own but how they were even stronger together. I loved that Rogan put Nevada first every single time and I loved that Nevada loved Connor and how much faith they had in each other.

This series was such a fun reading adventure and I’m not all okay with the fact that I’m done with it. What am I even going to do with the rest of my life?

If you’re looking for a magical reading adventure that will hit all of your happy buttons, pick this series up because it’s the bomb. For real.

Hidden Legacy

Grade: 4.5 out of 5

four-half-stars


Tagged: , , , , , ,