Publisher: Harlequin Books

Review: Whiskey Sharp: Unraveled by Lauren Dane

Posted January 30, 2018 by Holly in Reviews | 2 Comments

Review: Whiskey Sharp: Unraveled by Lauren DaneReviewer: Holly
Unraveled (Whiskey Sharp, #1) by Lauren Dane
Series: Whiskey Sharp #1
Publisher: Harlequin Books
Publication Date: January 30th 2018
Genres: Contemporary Romance
Pages: 384
Amazon | Barnes & Noble | The Ripped Bodice | Google Play Books
Goodreads
three-half-stars

The sharpest ache comes from wanting what you think you can't have

Maybe Dolan has lived independent, free-spirited and unattached since leaving home at sixteen. Whiskey Sharp, Seattle's sexy vintage-styled barbershop and whiskey bar, gave her a job and a reason to put down roots. Cutting hair by day, losing herself drumming in a punk rock band by night, she's got it good.

But a longtime crush that turns into a hot, edgy night with brooding and bearded Alexsei Petrov makes it a hell of a lot better.

Maybe's blunt attitude and carnal smile hooked Alexsei from the start. Protecting people is part of his nature and Maybe is meant to be his even if she doesn't know it. Yet. He can't help himself from wanting to protect and care for her.

But Maybe's fiery independent spirit means pushing back when Alexsei goes too far. Still, he's not afraid to do a little pushing of his own to get what he wants her in his life, and his bed, for good. Maybe's more intoxicating than all the liquor on his shelf and he's not afraid to ride the blade's edge to bind her to him."

Maybe Dolan and her sister Rachel bought a house together in Seattle after a tragedy nearly broke Rachel. Maybe picks up a job at Whiskey Sharp, a trendy barbershop/bar. The owner, Alexsei Petrov is sexy as all get out, but since he’s in a relationship he’s off limits. When it turns out Maybe and Rachel bought a place next to his aunt, they’re eventually brought into the family fold. Things are status quo for two years, until Alexsei and his girlfriend break up. Maybe sees her shot to get him between the sheets and goes for it.

Alexsei needed time after his breakup to get his head in the right place, but enough time has passed that he’s willing to jump in with Maybe when she makes a pass. He’s surprised to find he knows so little about her, considering they’ve been working together for years. They have chemistry in spades, but Maybe is skittish when it comes to commitment.

Maybe’s main priority is being with her sister and avoiding her parents. They’ve treated her like crap her whole life and now they blame her for her sister leaving them. They’re pretty abusive and she’d cut them off completely if it weren’t for her sister needing them. She understands what family is, and Alexsei and his are some of the best, but he can be overbearing. After the way her parents controlled her growing up, Maybe can’t deal with any kind of control from her boyfriend.

I liked that Maybe worked hard to overcome her past and get out from under her parent’s thumb. I wish Dane had further explored the reasons for them treating her the way they did. As it was, things were left pretty open. I assume we’ll understand more when we get Rachel’s book, but that part of the book felt unfinished. Despite the issues she had with her parents, Maybe was self-confident and knew her own mind. I liked that she was willing to make the first move with Alexsei and wasn’t afraid to be honest about her feelings.

Alexsei was a great fit for her. Strong and tender at the same time, he was a rock for her and her sister both. Once he claimed them as family, he was willing to stand in front of them, beside them, or behind them as they needed. Though he could be the quintessential alpha-male, he wasn’t afraid to step back and let Maybe handle things herself. They had great chemistry and I loved how they came to mean so much to each other over the course of the novel.

The book ended on something of a cliffhanger. While the romantic elements were mostly wrapped up, a lot of the book was left open. As I said, I’m sure we’ll get more answers in the subsequent books, but this one felt unfinished.

Dane is a fabulous storyteller. I was wrapped up in Maybe and Alexsei from the start. Great chemistry, witty banter and a kickass heroine make this worth reading despite the questions left unanswered. I’m really looking forward to the next book.

3.5 out of 5

three-half-stars


Tagged: , , , , , ,

Lightning Review: The Billionaire’s Pregnant Mistress by Lucy Monroe

Posted January 5, 2018 by Holly in Reviews | 0 Comments

Lightning Review: The Billionaire’s Pregnant Mistress by Lucy MonroeReviewer: Holly
The Billionaire's Pregnant Mistress (Petronides Brothers Duo #1; Greek Tycoons #4) by Lucy Monroe
Series: Petronides Brothers Duo #1, Greek Tycoons #4
Also in this series: The Markonos Bride
Publisher: Harlequin Books
Publication Date: December 2004
Genres: Contemporary Romance
Pages: 184
Amazon | Barnes & Noble | The Ripped Bodice | Google Play Books
Goodreads
three-half-stars

When Greek billionaire Dimitri Petronides is forced to give up Xandra Fortune, his beautiful mistress, he's certain she won't be too distraught. For all the intense passion they've shared she's never let him into her heart, and such a commitment-shy woman could never be his wife...

But after their split, Dimitri discovers that Xandra Fortune is not who he thought she was - and she is also pregnant with his child. Now he has to track her down and claim his mistress as his wife!

*Disclaimer: This review was written ages ago. I was doing some routine maintenance and found it hidden in a folder. I don’t know how I’d feel if I read this book now.

Dimitri was an awesome hero. Seemingly cold and unfeeling, he had the perfect constitution for a tortured hero..which he was. Though I was EXTREMELY angry at him for his mistreatment of the heroine early in the book, LM is wonderful at turning characters around and making me love them…despite their idiotic actions.

I loved that Xandra didn’t just fall at his feet, either. She really stuck to her guns and refused to be cowed by him. I love that in a heroine.

Overall it was a great read. I liked the interaction between the h/h and I loved watching the story play out. I love it when a story gets me tied up emotionally, as this one did.

Petronides Brothers Duo

3.75 out of 5

three-half-stars


Tagged: , , , , , , , ,

Review: What The Lady Wants by Jennifer Crusie

Posted May 3, 2008 by Rowena in Reviews | 0 Comments

Review: What The Lady Wants by Jennifer CrusieReviewer: Rowena
What the Lady Wants by Jennifer Crusie
Publisher: Harlequin Books
Publication Date: November 1st 2002
Genres: Contemporary Romance
Pages: 256
Amazon | Barnes & Noble | The Ripped Bodice | Google Play Books
Goodreads
four-half-stars

Mitch Peatwick is a private detective who's about to go out of business if he doesn't land a new client. He's ready to quit, when Mae Sullivan strolls into his office. The gorgeous, smart-mouthed woman has a family straight out of Goodfellas -- and a case he can't afford to turn down. Mae wants Mitch to find her uncle's killer, his diary and the missing family fortune. He accepts the case, but soon finds himself involved with Mae in more ways than just the investigation.

I enjoyed the hell out of this book.

But first off, one thing that got on my hot damn nerves was that Mitch’s name was NOT at ANY time Mitch Peabody, but Mitch Peatwick. On the blurb in the back of the book it says Mitch Peabody so I was expecting to read about that guy and ended up reading about and falling head over heels in love with Mitch Peatwick Kincaid.

This book had me laughing from the time it started to the time it ended. Mae Sullivan is one fantastic heroine and Mitch was actually my favorite thing about the book.

You see, Mae needs a stupid PI to investigate her Uncle’s death. She makes up some bogus story about him being killed (he died of a heart attack) and then wants to seduce a PI into investigating it to cause all kinds of hoopla so that they’ll find Armand (the dead uncle’s) diary…into the story comes Mitchell Peatwick, Private Investigator.

Mitch needs a little over $2000 to put him over the top to win the bet that he drunkenly took one year ago. He has fantasies of his last case not only putting him over the top but also being one whopper of a case by a beautiful woman with fantasy breasts.

Mitch of course takes the case, doesn’t think Mae is the beauty he was looking for from his fantasies although she does have the fantasy breasts, they become a team and in true Jennifer Crusie magic, their story wraps you in and tickles your funny bone, the same time that she’s making your heart sigh by how sweet it is.

As the story progresses, you can’t help but fall for the characters, for me, it was all about Mitch. Mitch and his “pipeline” and his “gotta go see what’s out west” bit had me cracking up and then the change in Mitch from the beginning of the book to the end of the book is just one hoot after the other, he transforms into this man that gets you all excited at the same time, he’s saying something outrageous to make you laugh out loud.

Mae, she wasn’t this dumb broad who didn’t have a brain inside that head of hers, she was a smart mouthed, snobby chit but you didn’t hate her for it. Oh no, she’s got things she needs to do and people she needs to take care of, she doesn’t have time to be stupid. Or do stupid things, she does what she wants and I totally dug that about her.

My favorite scene, well one of them happens when Mitch and Mae are getting shot at and Mitch tells Mae that she needs to hide and not move, he emphasizes many times that he doesn’t want her to do something stupid like those heroines in the movies, he wants her to stay put and the funny thing is, she does. And when she almost gets shot more than twice and she’s still staying put, Mitch finally loses his control, yells at her and then goes to save her sorry hide.

The whole time they’re yelling at each other and Mitch is scolding her for not moving, he asks her, “Why didn’t you move out of the way?” She yelling at him, “Because you told me to stay put, OMGosh Mitch I could’ve died”

And with him saying, “Serves you right”

It just had me laughing and laughing, Mitch’s relationship with Carlo, Mae’s cousin, is something else that cracked me the heck up, his relationship with Newton, his best friend is a hoot too. Oh and a surprise which came for me, is that Nick Jamieson and Tess Newhard, well in this book she’s Tess Jamieson, from Strange Bedpersons made an appearance in this book. Nick is actually Mitch’s lawyer and Tess is a good friend of his, we meet them again when they both come to Armand’s memorial service, it was a hoot to see them again and I actually liked them both way better as secondary characters than I did in their own story as the main characters. What a riot.

Well anyway, this book was a good one, it had me laughing all night and I was more than a little pissed that the book was coming to an end but I totally recommend it to anyone looking for a light, funny story to read. It’s a good one.

A real treat.

Grade: 4.5 out of 5

This book is available from Mira.

four-half-stars


Tagged: , , , , ,

Review: Anyone But You by Jennifer Crusie

Posted May 2, 2008 by Rowena in Reviews | 3 Comments

Review: Anyone But You by Jennifer CrusieReviewer: Rowena
Anyone But You by Jennifer Crusie
Publisher: Harlequin Books
Publication Date: December 1st 2006
Genres: Contemporary Romance
Pages: 283
Amazon | Barnes & Noble | The Ripped Bodice | Google Play Books
Goodreads
five-stars

For Nina Askew, turning forty means freedom--from the ex-husband, freedom from their stuffy suburban home, freedom to focus on what she wants for a change. And what she wants is something her ex always vetoed--a puppy. A bouncy, adorable puppy. Instead she gets...Fred.

Overweight, middle-aged, a bit smelly and obviously depressed, Fred is light-years from perky. But he does manage to put Nina in the path of Alex Moore, her gorgeous, younger-by-a-decade neighbor.

Alex seems perfect--he's a sexy, seemingly sane, surprisingly single E.R. doctor--but the age gap convinces Nina that anyone but Alex would be better relationship material. But with every silver-haired stiff she dates, the more she suspects it's the young, dog-loving doc she wants to sit and stay!

This book was the bomb. This was a very fast read for me and it captured my attention right from the very beginning and once I started this book, I never looked back. There was so much going on and so much making me laugh that I just fell right into the story and kept right on laughing until the story ended.

I thought I would have issues with the age thing with Nina and Alex the first time I read this book but the age difference between Nina and Alex was a non issue for me. I just didn’t care. If Alex was cool with it and Nina grew to be okay with it then who the hell was I to have issues with it? It didn’t bother me at all, I loved the both of them too. They were great characters. Nina was dumb about some things but Alex was too but I really enjoyed getting to know these two. They made the story just zip right through and I was kind of bummed that I was nearing the end because it was just so much fun to read.

I loved the flow of the story and thought that JC did a great job telling this story. If you guys haven’t read this book, you totally should because it’s the bomb DOT com. I loved it! The only thing that I want now? Max and Charity’s book. LOL.

Oh quick question though, did you guys pronounce Char as Char (like char broiled, or shar) or as Chair, like CHARity? That little bit through me off for a bit. LOL.

But this is a story of two people finding love where they least expected to and working through their problems to get to their happy ending and it’s really for the readers to just sit back and enjoy the show because the Alex and Nina show is a show you guys don’t want to miss. For those of you guys who are looking for a quick read, something to entertain the socks right off of you when you’re at the DMV, the beach, the doctor’s office…read this one, you’ll forget how annoyed you are having to wait forever long at the DMV office and you’ll forget that you’re not alone while you’re reading this at the doctor’s office, it’s a little gem of a book and I promise you’ll enjoy it.

Read it!

five-stars


Tagged: , , , , , ,