Publisher: Forever Yours

Guest Review: Maybe This Summer by Jennifer Snow

Posted July 28, 2017 by Tracy in Reviews | 0 Comments

Guest Review: Maybe This Summer by Jennifer SnowReviewer: Tracy
Maybe This Summer by Jennifer Snow
Series: Colorado Ice #2.5
Published by Forever Yours
Publication Date: July 10th 2017
Buy on Amazon | Barnes & Noble
Goodreads
three-stars

Always a wingman . . .

Owen McConnell is used to being ignored. After all, it's only when he appears as the Colorado Avalanche's team mascot that he gets all the attention. When the costume is off, women tend to gravitate toward his famous hockey player friends. But after he meets lovely, damaged Paige Adams, he knows he can be the star player for her. She's raising funds for the hospital burn unit, and Owen's determined to help her out---and sweep her off her feet.

The burn unit has been near and dear to Paige's heart ever since the doctors helped her after a vicious attack. Yet the scars---both emotional and physical---haven't faded as much as she'd hoped. She's closed herself off from relationships, and the thought of opening up is terrifying. But Owen's sexy charm might be just the push Paige needs to start loving again.

Owen McConnell is an ex-hockey player who had left playing with the Colorado Avalanche to join the Marines.  He had lived through an injury by a landmine but that meant he couldn’t play hockey ever again.  He was now the team’s mascot (not that anyone but the players knew that) as well as the Colorado Avalanche’s team promotion manager.  He heads to the local hospital to meet with a woman who would like his friend Ben to play in a golf tournament to raise money for the burn unit.  The minute that Owen sees Paige Adams he falls hard.  He will do anything to get her to see him but she seems to look right though him.

Paige was a burn victim herself and hasn’t let herself consider dating in years.  She knows that Own is interested but she’s not.  One thing leads to Paige being at the DMV where Owen.  She’s in a hurry and he has a number that’s about to be called.  Owen knows he shouldn’t bribe Paige to get her to date him but he goes for it anyway.  Unfortunately Owen does an idiotic man thing and almost blows his chances entirely.

This was a cute novella that had a great premise and was well written.  Paige had been a victim of a hate crime and had walled her emotions off afterward.  Meeting Owen made her think that maybe she could be more than she had been for years – and let people see the real her.  Owen was a jerk at times but he was good for Paige and that made me happy.

My major issue with this story was that I felt no romantic connection between Paige and Owen.  Friends? Yes.  But nothing more spoke to me in their relationship.  It might have started when Owen fell all googly-eyed over Paige after one minute of knowing her but it didn’t get better as the story went on.  I could totally see these two as great friends but nothing more.  Still a cute story, though.

Rating: 3 out of 5

three-stars


Tagged: , , , , , , , ,

Guest Review: Sworn to Protect by Diana Gardin

Posted June 22, 2017 by Tracy in Reviews | 0 Comments

Guest Review: Sworn to Protect by Diana GardinReviewer: Tracy
Sworn to Protect by Diana Gardin
Series: Rescue Ops #1
Published by Forever Yours
Publication Date: June 4th 2017
Genres: Contemporary Romance, Romantic Suspense
Pages: 368
Buy on Amazon | Barnes & Noble
Goodreads
three-half-stars

To keep her safe, he'll have to uncover all her secrets...

Rayne Alexander. A face I never thought I'd see again, and one I never could forget. Nine years ago, she left town-and me--without a backward glance. But now she's back, with a haunted look in her eyes and a feisty attitude that didn't exist when we were teenagers. Seeing this grown-up--and sexy--Rayne is something I wasn't prepared for... and it's bringing up feelings I'd thought I'd buried years ago.

Although I want to demand answers from Rayne, working on black ops at Night Eagle Security has taught me that it's sometimes better to keep my mouth shut. So when I catch her hiding a photo of a little boy, I'm curious. When I see her jump as her phone rings, I'm concerned. But the second I notice a car following her home, I know she's hiding something. Something dangerous. And while I may not know why she left or why she's back, if there's someone out there Rayne is afraid of, I'll make damn sure that threat is eliminated.

Rayne was working late at her job in Phoenix, AZ one night when she came across some info on her boss’s desk that she shouldn’t have. The kind of information that could ruin him and put him in prison. He doesn’t catch up with her as she runs from the building but she knows that she needs to get the hell out of Dodge.  She takes her eight-year-old son, Decker, and runs back to her hometown of Wilmington, North Carolina.  When she had first moved to Phoenix she had changed her name so she figures going back to her old name will hide her sufficiently. Not the case.

Rayne moves into her sister’s house as her sister is out of town and gets a job at Night Eagle Security.  She never planned on seeing her high school boyfriend, Jeremy Teague, ever again but the minute he walks into NES – cuz he works there – all of the old feelings start to come back.  Rayne had gotten pregnant by Jeremy when she was a teen and then was cast aside by Jeremy, his grandparents who raised him and then her own parents.  She knows she shouldn’t have any feelings toward Jeremy except disdain but that’s not what happens.  When Jeremy finds out that Decker is his (because he never knew she was pregnant) he’s so excited and wants nothing more than to be with Rayne and Decker and make them a family.

Rayne’s old boss, however, wants her captured and brought to him so that he can take care of her the way he wants.  Jeremy will do anything to keep Rayne and Decker safe but will he be able to in the end?

Sworn to Protect is a good little second chance at love romance/suspense story.  It had a lot of ins and outs and things going on.

Rayne is back in her hometown.  She loved Jeremy when she was younger but his grandparents told her that he wanted nothing to do with the baby when in fact they never told him she was pregnant.  Then her parents took to a clinic to get the baby aborted and she ran.  She’d been living the last 9 years thinking that Jeremy betrayed their love but that wasn’t the case at all.  Once Rayne and Jeremy are together again things fall into place and all is good.  Except for her old boss that’s threatening her.  I was a little confused about the boss, quite frankly.  He was at first after her because of the things she knew about him but then it turned to the fact that he didn’t want her dead he wanted to keep her and tame her sexually – ew.  It was more than a little creepy, to say the least and kind of a weird, expected twist.  Then Jeremy’s grandfather got involved and it was a bit too much.

Of course NES gets involved as that’s what they do but it all seemed a little too easy.  IDK, there was just some aspect of the story that was missing that made this a good book, but not great.  The elements were there but there was something in the execution that was lacking, imho.  The characters were good, the story was a decent one but I definitely didn’t end the book thinking, “Wow, that was really good!”

So in the end a decent read but it wasn’t something that grabbed me and wouldn’t let go.

Rating: 3.5 out of 5

three-half-stars


Tagged: , , , , , , , ,

Guest Review: Live Out Loud by Marie Meyer

Posted May 12, 2017 by Tracy in Reviews | 2 Comments

Guest Review: Live Out Loud by Marie MeyerReviewer: Tracy
Live Out Loud by Marie Meyer
Published by Forever Yours
Publication Date: April 30th 2017
Genres: Contemporary Romance
Pages: 320
Buy on Amazon | Barnes & Noble
Goodreads
four-stars

I thought I'd live in silence forever . . . and then I met him.

I'll never be able to hear, but music has always been a source of comfort for me. Rather than listen to the rhythm, I can actually feel the beat pulsing through me. It's pure bliss. So the moment I saw Thorin playing his guitar, I was mesmerized. I'd never seen anything more beautiful . . . or intimate. I couldn't tell where his body ended and the song began. He's everything I need in my life . . . I'm falling fast, hard, and deep.

I want him more than anything. But while I live in silence, Thor lives in secrets. He's holding something back-something that's keeping this intensity, this longing from being real. And the silence may be too loud to bear . . .

Harper King is deaf but that doesn’t stop her from enjoying music.  Her friend takes her out one night to see a band that she’s crushing on and Harper ends up connecting with the guitarist of the band, Thor.  Thor is enamored of Harper as she is with him.  They end up going out and despite the difficulties in communicating they manage just fine.

Harper is in school and doing her pharmacy clinical rotation at a children’s hospital and doing really well.  She lives with a friend and far away from her parents.  She loves her parents but they try to coddle her because of her deafness.  Despite their coddling, they never learned sign language which she hates.  She believes that if they loved her enough they would have made every effort to learn to communicate with her in her language.  When Thor states his desire to learn sign language, Harper is beyond thrilled.  She tells him that she’ll teach him ASL if he’ll teach her how to play the guitar.

Thor has had a hard life.  His father, who used to be a good dad became an abuser.  His favorite punching bag is Thor’s mother but Thor finally got his mother away from his dad.  He fears, however, that he’ll become just like his dad and this has kept him from any long-term relationships. Despite his fears he can’t seem to keep himself away from Harper.  He wants it all but his fears may tear them apart.

Live Out Loud was a sweet romance.  The relationship between Thor and Harper was so lovely and one that I really enjoyed reading.

Thor’s issues with his dad are many – completely justifiable.  He wants to take care of his mother and keep her far away from his father.  It’s obvious to the reader that Thor’s fear of becoming his father is ridiculous as he’s such a kind and generous person, but he has to get that through his head before he can completely commit to Harper.  I loved that he finally managed to realize the truth and got his HEA with Harper.

While I really liked this book I have to say that it did lag at times.  I understood Thor’s problem but I had a hard time with how he kept things from Harper.  It made the book a bit frustrating at times, I must say.  Overall, however, the book was really good and one I definitely recommend.

Rating: 4 out of 5

four-stars


Tagged: , , , , , ,

Guest Review: A Lady’s Guide to Skirting Scandal by Kelly Bowen

Posted August 17, 2015 by Tracy in Reviews | 0 Comments

Guest Review: A Lady’s Guide to Skirting Scandal by Kelly BowenReviewer: Tracy
A Lady's Guide to Skirting Scandal by Kelly Bowen
Series: The Lords of Worth #2.5
Published by Forever Yours
Publication Date: August 4, 2015
Buy on Amazon | Barnes & Noble
Goodreads
three-half-stars

Lady Viola Hextall is bored—of the ocean, her chaperones, and the woeful lack of available dukes on the ocean voyage from London to New York. Scrambling for any diversion short of jumping overboard, Viola strikes up a conversation with the ship's rough-hewn, blue-eyed surgeon—and discovers an immediate cure for what ails her...

To Nathaniel Shaw, Viola has the bearing of a lady and the spirit of an adventurer—an unlikely combination that he finds utterly irresistible. So he's hoping to convince Viola to leave the stifling ballrooms of London high society behind because there is a big, wide world just waiting for them to explore—together.

Tracy’s review of A Lady’s Guide to Skirting Scandal (The Lords of Worth #2.5) by Kelly Bowen.

Viola is on a ship bound for America from England. Her brother, a newly minted Earl, has set her said with two ridiculously strict chaperones to take a sort of Grand Tour. He really is trying to get her out of his hair. He loves her but he feels she’s too impetuous and was getting herself in trouble. She was determined to marry a duke and almost trapped one by faking a compromising position.

So Viola’s on the ship but the chaperones have left her with nothing to do. They took all of her books that they thought inappropriate and left her with two, which she’s read several times. She heads over to talk to the ship’s surgeon who her brother hired for a little conversation. They end up talking about medical stuff and she becomes intrigued. The more he talks the more Viola wants to learn. The pair very quickly become fast friends (when the chaperones aren’t locking Viola up in her room) and then lovers. What started as a simple conversation soon becomes much, much more.

This was a very sweet novella. Yes, things happen quite quickly on the ship and it’s only a matter of days before the h/h are together but it was done very well. I loved that Viola was interested in the medical side of Nathaniel’s life and that he spoke to her intelligence and he didn’t just see her as a pretty face who had no brain.

I was a little leery of the HEA because of Viola’s original plan to marry a duke and she thought about parties and dresses, etc. I couldn’t quite see her in the wilds of America trekking it to Missouri but people surprise me all the time with what they’ll for love so I could be really wrong. 🙂

Overall a quick read that hit the right spot.

Rating: 3.5 out of 5

This title is available from Forever Yours. You can buy it here or here in e-format. This book was provided by the publisher in exchange for an honest review.

three-half-stars


Tagged: , , , , , , , , ,

Guest Review: Pushing the Limit by Emmy Curtis

Posted January 13, 2015 by Tracy in Reviews | 0 Comments

Guest Review: Pushing the Limit by Emmy CurtisReviewer: Tracy
Pushing the Limit by Emmy Curtis
Series: Alpha Ops #2
Also in this series: Dangerous Territory, Over the Line, Compromised, Pushing the Limit, Over the Line
Published by Forever Yours
Publication Date: November 4, 2014
Genres: Romantic Suspense
Buy on Amazon | Barnes & Noble
Goodreads
four-stars

 

After their one-night fling at a wedding, archaeologist Henrietta “Harry” Markowitz thought she’d never see war hero Matt Stanning again. So when they’re paired up to investigate a military plane crash in Iraq, she’s not sure if the three-month reunion is serendipitous or cursed. What she does know is this gorgeous man lights her body on fire—and incredible sex is always a welcome distraction.

Air Force Sergeant Matt Stanning has been called a hero, but he feels nothing like one when he realizes the sexy blonde in his bed is the widow of his fallen brother-in-arms. Even worse, he actually has to work with her, and she’s unearthed evidence that points to a military conspiracy. If they dig deeper, they’ll put their lives in danger. If they don’t, they’ll never know the truth—not only about the mysterious plane crash, but about each other.

Matt and Henrietta (aka Harry) met at their friends’ wedding and had a little naked sexy time in the garden in the rain. Neither one has been able to foget about that short but wonderful time in their lives.

Harry is an archaeologist who is working for a private company in Iraq. Matt Stanning shows up after Harry puts in a call about a piece of metal she found that might possibly belong to a downed military plane. From the minute that Matt shows up he and Harry cllick once again. They end up sleeping together – finally! – but that all turns a little nuts when Matt realizes that Harry is the widow of his best friend who died seven years earlier. Matt is mortified that he’s betrayed his best friend but Harry doesn’t see the issue. Yes, she loved her husband so very much and feels that she’ll never let anyone into her heart again, but she sees no problem in sleeping with Matt as it won’t mean a relationship.

While the two are dealing with the “sleeping” arrangements their lives are in danger. There is someone out there who wants whatever is below the surface at Harry’s dig site and will stop at nothing to get it.

This was another great story in the Alpha Ops series. So far I’ve really enjoyed reading about the different characters that we met in the previous book. I think that both the suspense part of the story as well as the romance was well done and blended nicely with each other.

The dig site and what’s underneath the sand in Iraq is a major part of the story but it provides a nice catalyst for bringing our two MC’s together. Both Harry and Matt had dealt with Danny’s death in their own way. Matt felt incredibly responsible for Danny’s death even though Danny was a man who worked with explosives and nothing Matt could have done would have saved Danny’s life. Despite that Matt had deeply mourned his friend for the past seven years and hasn’t moved on.

Harry knew that Danny had been her one true love and that she’d never love anyone the way she’d loved her husband. Knowing that, she had allowed herself the rare sexual partner but had always held herself apart from any true connection. When she met Matt she thought that they could just sleep together and have some fun but she soon realized that Matt meant more to her than even she thought possible. Each of them had to come to terms with their feelings about each other and I really liked how Curtis took us on their individual journey’s in dealing with their grief and recovery. I did want to slap Matt a time or two near the end of the book because he was acting like an ass but other than that I loved reading about the romance between these two characters.

The other parts of the book that dealt with the suspense portion were incredibly interesting. I found myself completely absorbed with the story which is always a good thing.

Overall the book was well done and I can’t wait for the next installment in the series.

Rating: 4 out of 5

Reading Order:

 

four-stars


Tagged: , , , , , , , ,