Publisher: Entangled

Guest Review: One Wedding, Two Brides by Heidi Betts

Posted August 15, 2018 by Tracy in Reviews | 1 Comment

Guest Review: One Wedding, Two Brides by Heidi BettsReviewer: Tracy
One Wedding, Two Brides (Fairy Tale Bride #1) by Heidi Betts
Series: Fairy Tale Bride #1
Publisher: Entangled: Amara
Publication Date: Judy 23rd 2018
Format: eARC
Point-of-View: Third
Genres: Contemporary Romance
Pages: 263
Amazon | Barnes & Noble | The Ripped Bodice | Google Play Books
Goodreads
three-stars

Jilted bride Monica Blair can’t believe it when she wakes up next to a blue-eyed, smooth-talking cowboy in the middle of nowhere and with a ring on her finger. It had sounded like a great plan at the time. Get married, get revenge, and get her money back. So why is she cleaning out stables and trying to keep her hands off the hot cowboy helping her?

Ryder Nash would have bet his best Stetson that you’d never see him walk down the aisle. But when the city girl with pink-streaked hair and a frog tattoo hatches a plan to expose the conman who married his sister, no idea is too crazy. And even though Monica might be the worst rancher’s wife he’s ever seen, he can’t stop thinking about the wedding night they never had.

What was supposed to be a temporary marriage for revenge is starting to feel a little too real...

Monica is devastated when she opens her Chicago paper and reads a wedding announcement for her fiancé, Matt.  But she’s not the bride in the announcement!  She hops on a plane and while she knows that she won’t make it to stop the wedding, she knows that she has to do something to let Matt know that she found out about the deception.  While on the way to Nevada she ends up getting drunk and crashes the reception and starts spouting off.  She’s hauled out by the bride’s brother, Ryder.

Monica tells Ryder that she needs to get back at Matt and let him know the huge mistake he made by marrying someone else.  The only way, according to her drunken mind, to do that is to get married as well. This will supposedly infuriate Matt because she’ll be the perfect wife.  (Yeah, it makes no sense to me either.)  She says she’ll pay Ryder $50,000 to marry her – a marriage of convenience, of course – and then they’ll get it annulled when she feels Matt has been bested (as he’s so competitive).  So, Ryder’s farm is failing and he needs money, desperately, so while he knows that marrying Monica isn’t smart he needs that money.

The next morning Monica wakes up and can’t remember anything.  She’s horrified that she married this man she didn’t know and then lets him know that she doesn’t have $50,000 because Matt stole it from her before he married Ryder’s sister. Ryder is shocked but determined to get the money back from Matt, so they decide to stay married and work together.

While I enjoyed this story at times, there were plenty of parts that annoyed me.  Ryder was one of them.  He was very concerned for his farm, I get that, but it made him seem pretty self-centered in the way he acted.  He went along with Monica’s schemes but never graciously.  Monica and I had a love/hate relationship as well.  I thought she was an idiot at the beginning, but she made up for it by the end of the book.

This is intended to be an overall light-hearted book and that’s what it is – there’s not a lot of depth.  It was cute and funny at times so that kind of made up for the parts where I found myself rolling my eyes.

Rating: 3 out of 5

three-stars


Tagged: , , , , , , ,

Guest Review: Scotland or Bust by Kira Archer

Posted June 20, 2018 by Tracy in Reviews | 0 Comments

Guest Review: Scotland or Bust by Kira ArcherReviewer: Tracy
Scotland or Bust by Kira Archer
Publisher: Entangled: Indulgence
Publication Date: June 11, 2018
Format: eARC
Point-of-View: Third
Genres: Contemporary Romance
Pages: 220
Amazon | Barnes & Noble | The Ripped Bodice | Google Play Books
Goodreads
three-stars

After dumping her boyfriend, Nicole Franklin impulsively jumps on a plane and heads to Europe. Sure, money and a job would have been nice to line up first. Even a visa, for that matter. So now she has to play tour guide at an Outlander experience for the most obnoxious man on the planet. Until she stumbles into the wrong bed in the middle of the night and wakes up in Harrison’s arms. Now his family thinks they’re engaged, and the entire village is betting on how long before she’ll be running for the hills.

Harrison Troy has a reputation in the town for burning through assistants. And the bubbly new one he’s just hired is likely no different. But his family quickly has them “engaged.” He should be upset, but she’s the perfect buffer for his interfering family. She says she doesn’t need another man in her life--even if he comes with a castle--and that’s fine with him. So why can’t he stop thinking about the woman who is charming everyone in the town, and maybe even him?

After dumping her boyfriend and quitting her accounting job, Nicole decides to finally take the trip to Europe her boyfriend had promise her – by herself. She buys a first-class one-way ticket to England and decides that she’s going to get a job and be an independent woman.  She is seatmates with Harrison Troy, a stuffed shirt that’s incredibly hot.  Nicole’s a talker and Harrison just wants to be left alone but Nic won’t let him be.  She even makes out with him upon lift off because she can see how anxiety ridden he is.

When the finally land Harrison finds out his assistant has quit and as he knows that Nicole has no job or place to stay, he offers her the position.  She takes the job and they head to his family’s ancestral home.  The home will be the first stop in the Outlander “experience” that Harrison has created in order to try to save his family’s dying travel business.  He’s a billionaire and really wants nothing to do with anything related to “the book and show that must not be named” but he loves his quirky family (despite not wanting to spend all that much time with them).

Because of a bedroom snafu Harrison’s family thinks that Nicole and Harrison are engaged which puts a bit of a strain on things.  Nicole’s a wonderful assistant but Harrison can’t seem to keep his hands off her.

I liked most of the characters in the story – the people of the village in the pub were funny, the friends who came to visit Harrison were great, the quirky/crazy family was even charming.  I liked Harrison although I thought he was a bit too stuffy, even near the end of the book (although he did loosen up some).  Nicole was cute at times but other times she made me nuts.  She just bought a one-way ticket but didn’t have anywhere to stay, hardly any money and just thought she’d get an under the table job and work her way around.  I guess there are people in the world who would do that, but Nicole didn’t seem the type at all.

The romance itself felt rushed.  It seemed as if Harrison and Nicole were just starting to explore their attraction and then boom! they were supposedly madly in love. What? I liked the part where Harrison was professing his love, it was very sweet, but where the heck did it come from?  The build-up of the relationship needed a lot more to it then what it was in order for me to believe these two were going to live happily ever after.

There were definitely parts that ha me rolling my eyes but overall I thought it was a cute book.

Rating: 3 out of 5

three-stars


Tagged: , , , , , , ,

Guest Review: On Highland Time by Lexi Post

Posted June 1, 2018 by Tracy in Reviews | 0 Comments

Guest Review: On Highland Time by Lexi PostReviewer: Tracy
On Highland Time (Time Weavers Inc. #1) by Lexi Post
Series: Time Weavers Inc. #1
Publisher: Entangled: Amara
Publication Date: May 28, 2018
Format: eARC
Point-of-View: Third Person
Genres: Time Travel
Amazon | Barnes & Noble | The Ripped Bodice | Google Play Books
Goodreads
three-stars

For fans of sexy Scottish Highlanders who know how to treat a woman like a lady.

When someone changes history, affecting the future, Diana Montgomery, the most experienced agent of Time Weavers, Inc., travels back to 1306 Scotland to change it back. Her mission, to find the culprit and ensure a minor clan chief dies in battle as he originally had.

Diana is well-prepared to infiltrate the small MacPherson clan. What she’s not prepared for is Torr MacPherson, the ruggedly handsome warrior with a kind heart and a steadfast loyalty—the Laird she’s supposed to ensure dies.

Diana is a member of a group called TWI, Timer Weavers Inc.  When they are made aware of something that changed in the past, but wasn’t supposed to change, TWI steps in to put things back to normal.  When Diana wakes up one day and her mansion is pretty much in the middle of a slum, the group knows that something in history changed.  She gets instructions from the head of TWI to go back to medieval Scotland.  Apparently a Scottish Laird, Torr MacPherson, was supposed to die, but didn’t, and this changed everything.  There is another group that TWI calls Disruptors and they go around changing history. I had no clue by the end of the book why they disrupt anything, but I guess it’s job security for TWI.

Diana is sent back to 1306 Scotland where she is to ensure that the Laird does indeed die when he’s supposed to and to try to find out who the Disruptor is.  She sets herself up as a relative of someone in the clan that had passed and tries to stay inconspicuous.  Unfortunately, she catches the eye of the Laird and starts to have feelings for him and he for her.  How can she ensure that he dies when she wants to spend the rest of her life with him?  She can’t stay in 1306 Scotland as it will change the course of history forever.

This was a cute story that I enjoyed reading, to a point.  When I first began reading I kept thinking that I was missing something because the way it was written made it seem like there was maybe a previous book in the series, but that’s not the case.  Because I was a little lost the story didn’t flow well for me at first.  I don’t think it was ever explained how exactly Diana’s boss, the elusive Jules who only speaks to Diana telepathically and who Diana has never met, knows exactly when in history the changes are made by the Disruptors.  Diana woke up and saw her neighborhood was a slum.  Ok, but how does Jules know exactly which point in history caused this to happen?  I have no idea.  There are also a couple of other characters in TWI that were unexplained.  There was one guy, Arthur, who “downloaded” stuff into people’s brains.  What?  It was nuts, and frustrating to not know what was going on.  Why were these people blindly following this person they’ve never met?

The romance between Diana and Torr was kind of sweet but Diana was worrying so much the entire time it was hard for me to enjoy it fully.  Torr didn’t want to fall in love so that was a big obstacle.  Then something happens near the end of the book (that I can’t tell you about) and Torr gets so incredibly pissed at Diana I thought it was over.  Of course I would have been pissed at her too, so I felt his pain.  Unfortunately he got over being pissed way too quickly for me – I would have liked to have seen him take more time to think things over.  IDK, maybe it was just me.

Overall not a bad book but there was too much of the unknown for my liking.  I needed answers to a lot of questions by the time I ended this book.

Rating: 3 out of 5  

three-stars


Tagged: , , , , , , ,

Guest Review: Bitten Under Fire by Heather Long

Posted May 25, 2018 by Tracy in Reviews | 0 Comments

Guest Review: Bitten Under Fire by Heather LongReviewer: Tracy
Bitten Under Fire (Bravo Team WOLF #2) by Heather Long
Series: Bravo Team WOLF #2
Publisher: Entangled: Amara
Publication Date: May 28, 2018
Format: eARC
Point-of-View: Third
Genres: Paranormal Romance
Amazon | Barnes & Noble | The Ripped Bodice | Google Play Books
Goodreads
four-stars

Bianca Devlin’s work is her life. Now, she’s finally taking a vacation…and guerillas hit her resort to kidnap a diplomat’s son. She does the only thing that makes sense—intervene to save the child’s life. Being dragged into the jungle with a scared kid she’s determined to protect was definitely not how she saw this trip ending.

After she returns to Texas, the last person Bianca expected to see was Sergeant Carlos “Cage” Castillo, the member of Bravo Team WOLF that helped rescue her. Nevertheless, there he is, living across the street from the house she just bought. The coincidence is alarming, but she has to admit, his presence isn’t entirely unwanted.

But there’s something off about Cage—the way he can move without a sound or the weird way his eyes seem to almost glow at times. And how can Bianca manage her growing attraction, when everything she knows about him and his reason for being there, turns out to be a lie?

Bianca is an aid worker who is taking a mandatory vacation.  Costa Rica was a good choice until she sees a small boy is being kidnapped from her resort and tries to protect him.  That ended up getting her kidnapped as well.  Bianca and the boy are saved by Bravo Team WOLF and they make it to an aircraft carrier where Bianca is treated for all of her many injuries.  The doctor mentions what looks like a dog bite and Cage Castillo, who was one of Bianca’s saviors, thinks he might have made a huge mistake. He can’t get a good look at the bite on Bianca’s arm but he’s pretty sure that in the middle of the fight between Bravo Team and the guerillas, he might have bitten Bianca and turned her into a shifter.  In order to verify this Cage follows Bianca to Austin, Texas where she’s rehabbing a home during the rest of her vacation.  Cage and Bianca don’t fight their attraction to each other for very long before they’re in bed together.  They seem to mesh with each other so seamlessly, but Bianca has no idea why Cage is really there or that she may turn into a wolf very soon.

This was a good second novel in Bravo Team WOLF series.  I really enjoyed getting to know both Bianca and Cage and their romance was very sweet.  Bianca was just a good person.  I don’t think she had a selfish bone in her whole body.  The fact that she had tried to save the boy, Colin, from being kidnapped was amazing and I admired her inner strength during her ordeal and even afterward.  Once she found out about shifters and that she might turn into a wolf she was freaked out – of course.  I loved that the author didn’t make her act like it was shocking but no big deal. She had her stewing and genuinely acting like she was about to come unglued.  I loved it because it was a totally realistic reaction.

Cage was a bit harder to get to know but he was a nice man.  He was hot as hell from the description but more than that he had a good heart.  He had felt like he had to prove himself because his father is the alpha of his pack and that put him in the spotlight.  With Bianca she wanted to get to know him but took him at face value.  He really didn’t have to prove himself as she knew that he was one of the good ones (since he saved her and all).  I loved that while he was so protective of Bianca he was also willing to give her time to herself when she asked. See? Good man.

We didn’t get as much interaction with the whole Bravo Team as we did in the first book, but we got some.  The story was such that I really didn’t mind all that much.  I love team member Silver and his sense of humor and can’t wait for his book.  Hopefully we’ll get it soon.

Overall this was a good story and so far I like the series a lot.

Rating: 4 out of 5

Bravo Team WOLF

four-stars


Tagged: , , , , , , ,

Guest Review: Just One Spark by Jenna Bayley-Burke

Posted May 3, 2018 by Tracy in Reviews | 1 Comment

Guest Review: Just One Spark by Jenna Bayley-BurkeReviewer: Tracy
Just One Spark (Just One... #1) by Jenna Bayley-Burke
Series: Just One... #1
Also in this series: Just One Spark
Publisher: Entangled: Lovestruck
Publication Date: April 9th 2018
Format: eARC
Point-of-View: Third Person
Genres: Contemporary Romance
Pages: 260
Amazon | Barnes & Noble | The Ripped Bodice | Google Play Books
Goodreads
two-stars

Hannah Daniels reads steamy romance novels to forget her last trip on the love roller coaster shredded her heart and tossed it like confetti. Her instincts about men stink, but at work they’re on point. Only her busy schedule means she reads whenever she can make time. Like at the laundromat while sitting on top of a washing machine. Don’t judge.

Firefighter Mason McNally has searched his whole life for a woman who stirs his soul. When he finds her, she’s nose-deep in a racy paperback atop a vibrating washer. Her beauty, boldness, and raw sensuality ignite his interest. But there’s a problem. He’s forgotten he’s wearing a wedding ring.

No amount of hasty explanations that it’s for his brother’s psychology experiment convinces her to give him a chance. But he’s rushed into fiery situations before, and this woman is totally worth the risk. He’ll just have to prove to her that first impressions can be wrong and their spark of attraction is oh so right.

Hannah is in the laundromat when she meets Mason.  Unfortunately Mason had been participating in an experiment for his psychologist brother and was wearing a wedding ring.  Hannah tells him off for hitting on her and even though Mason says he’s not married, she doesn’t believe him.

Hannah had been dating previously but then found out that the guy was married with a family and she was crushed by what she thought of as her own stupidity.  She doesn’t trust men in general right now and is just interested in her career.

Mason is determined to talk to Hannah once again so he basically stalks her until he can find her, but fails.  It’s through Hannah’s married sister that she ends up meeting Mason’s brother and then is re-introduced to Mason.  They find out that they are neighbors in the same building and he lives right above her.  Despite Hannah’s decisions to take things slowly they can’t seem to keep their hands off of each other.  For Hannah, however, this is just the beginning of what might be a lasting relationship.  For Mason this is the beginning of forever. He wants her and he’s not about to let her go.

This starts off as a decent story, although Mason’s stalking is a bit creepy.  Unfortunately all I ever really felt for this couple, as the book moved on, was awkwardness.  I never felt comfortable with the pair and I think it was because of Hannah.  I found her to be incredibly irritating.  She was stubborn, grated on my nerves and at times she was down-right mean to Mason.  He had his issues but overall he was a nice guy who seemed to truly care about her.  He deserved way better, imho.  Throughout the whole book Hannah never tells Mason she loves him.  Never.  I found that extremely odd in a romance.

There were some parts of the book that were better than others but I found them few and far between.  I didn’t realize as I was reading the book that I had read it before.  I think I must have blocked it, or something because only one part really made me think, “Have I read this before?”  According to Goodreads I read it 4 years ago but sadly I didn’t like it any better this time around.

Rating: 2 out of 5

Just One…

two-stars


Tagged: , , , , , , ,