Publisher: Entangled Publishing LLC

Guest Review: Her Scottish Mistake by Michele de Winton

Posted April 11, 2017 by Tracy in Reviews | 0 Comments

Guest Review: Her Scottish Mistake by Michele de WintonReviewer: Tracy
Her Scottish Mistake by Michele de Winton
Published by Entangled Publishing, LLC
Publication Date: April 10th 2017
Genres: Contemporary Romance
Buy on Amazon | Barnes & Noble
Goodreads
three-stars

Aspiring blogger Janie Milan is finally on her dream trip to Thailand. But when an unfortunate piña colada incident lands her in the path of a hot Scotsman, Janie finds herself dying to find out what's under his kilt. Only the frustratingly sexy man isn't who he's pretending to be…

After cutting a deal to keep his brother safe, Scottish heartthrob Blaine Galloway is hiding from the press. But his secret identity starts to slip the second he meets small-town blogger, Janie. Now the press is hot on their heels and Blaine’s life is tumbling into a tabloid-sponsored hell. Coincidence? He’s not so sure.

Janie is on the trip of her life in Thailand.  She needed to get away from her small town in Texas where her cheating ex was getting married to her ex-best friend.  Soon after she arrives she accidentally spills her piña colada onto a man who happens to be incredibly good looking.  She helps him clean up and they go their separate ways.  When they meet each other at breakfast the other day and find out at the same time that they’ve each been booked into a couples resort they take advantage and book a day trip together.  They get closer as they spend the days together and start to fall in love.

Blaine Calloway is a Scottish actor who needed to get away from his life and the press.  He’s taken a trip to Thailand because he figures it’s as far from the UK as he can get.  He ends up having a great time with Janie as he loves how down to earth she is.  She treats him like a real person, not an actor, even after he comes clean about who he is.

Unfortunately the press get wind of his getaway and come after him.  Blaine blames Janie and the shit hits the fan.  Can these two people be together when they feel they can’t trust each other?

This was an interesting little romance.  The idea of small town meeting foreign actor was a cute one and seemed to work at times during the book.  Unfortunately I didn’t feel like the H/h were suited to each other and had a hard time reading about them falling in love.  It wasn’t so much that they were different but that the way they were written I couldn’t feel it. Even when they were fighting with each other I didn’t feel the emotion between them and that was my biggest issue with the book.  If you can’t feel the love between characters how can you truly love their romance? You can’t.

Despite the lack of emotion I felt I thought that the Thai scenery was written really well.  I almost felt like I was there and I loved that.  It seemed like Blaine and Janie were going to wonderfully romantic destinations that were incredibly described.

The story is about not only two people falling in love but finding out where they belong in the lives they live.  Blaine needed to find out what he was doing with his acting career and Janie needed to find her place in her little town of Little Acre as it seemed as if she’d be stuck there the rest of her life.  She loved her family but she wanted to do more.  I thought this part of the book was well done as well and I liked seeing Janie with her little family that was a bit dysfunctional.

Overall it was a decent read but again, didn’t feel the love/romance at all.

Rating: 3 out of 5

three-stars

0 Comments
Tags: , , , , , ,


Review: Playing the Player by Amy Andrews

Posted January 30, 2017 by Holly in Reviews | 1 Comment

Review: Playing the Player by Amy AndrewsReviewer: Holly
Playing the Player (Sydney Smoke Rugby, #3) by Amy Andrews
Series: Sydney Smoke Rugby #3
Published by Entangled Publishing LLC
Publication Date: January 30th 2017
Pages: 171
Buy on Amazon | Barnes & Noble
Goodreads
three-half-stars

After a long history with crappy guys, high school teacher Em Newman is going man-vegan. Four months of revirginization has opened her eyes to her doormat imitation but, baby’s got spine now, and some smooth-talking—even if he is sinfully hot—rugby player, won’t be adding her as a notch anytime soon.
Lincoln Quinn loves rugby, women, and poker. And he likes to win at all three. When his team mates bet him he can’t break through Em’s resolve, he’s more than up for the challenge. But this lady has a shoebox of stipulations before she’ll even go on a date with him, much less use that mouth for kissing instead of giving orders.
Something’s gotta give but this time Em’s not settling. And Linc’s questioning everything he ever knew about matters of the heart.

Playing the Player is the third book in Andrews’ Sydney Smoke Rugby Series. I didn’t read the first two and I didn’t feel like I missed anything because of it.

This was a cute contemporary romance. Linc is an unabashed player, on the pitch and off it. He loves women and has no intention of ever settling down with just one. But he wouldn’t mind settling down for the night with Em Newman, the best friend of the soon-to-be wife of one of his teammates. Em is h-o-t, and her refusal to give in to their mutual attraction just makes him want her more.

Em decided she needed a break from men once she realized she was hopping into bed with them in the hopes that they’d fall in love with her. Four months of celibacy has give her a new sense of self, and, okay, maybe the series need for an orgasm. But she knows better than to hook up with Linc. She’s done dating guys who want nothing more than a roll in the hay. If only he wasn’t so attractive..and funny..and sweet.

Linc starts out planning to get Em into bed, but it isn’t long before she’s wormed her way into his heart. Can the confirmed bachelor

Let me just say, I loved how honest Em was with herself. She had daddy issues and ended up falling into bed with any guy who showed her even a bit of affection, because she wanted someone to love her. she recognized what she was doing and took a step back to reevaluate her life and her choices. She didn’t apologize for her past, or beat herself up over it, she just moved on from it. I really liked that.

I expected Linc to be a womanizer, but that wasn’t really the case. He wasn’t picky about who he took to bed, but he wasn’t a jerk about it. He liked woman and sex, and didn’t apologize for it. He was really sweet to Em, and I really enjoyed watching him open up to her.

The final conflict was pretty contrived and didn’t really work for me. They had pretty much hammered out their issues until, bam. I’d have preferred if it hadn’t been included.

Still, the story was sweet and I liked the romance. I’ll plan pick the first two books up soon.

3.75 out of 5

three-half-stars

1 Comment
Tags: , , , , , , ,


Guest Review: San Francisco Wolf Pack Box Set by Kristin Miller

Posted January 17, 2017 by Tracy in Reviews | 0 Comments

Guest Review: San Francisco Wolf Pack Box Set by Kristin MillerReviewer: Tracy
San Francisco Wolf Pack Box Set by Kristin Miller
Series: San Francisco Wolf Pack
Also in this series: Beauty and the Werewolf
Published by Entangled Publishing LLC
Publication Date: December 5th 2016
Genres: Paranormal
Buy on Amazon | Barnes & Noble
Goodreads
three-half-stars

From "falling in love" to "it's complicated," New York Times and USA Today bestselling author Kristin Miller brings you three, full-length, deliciously hot paranormal love stories with sexy alpha heroes and the strong-willed women who bring these werewolves to heel.

The Werewolf Wears Prada

Melina Rosenthal worships at the altar of all things fashion. Her dream is to work for the crème de la crème fashion magazine, Eclipse, and she'll do pretty much anything to get there. Even fixing up the image of a gorgeous, sexy public figure who's all playboy, all the time. Even if he's the guy who broke her heart a year ago. And even if Melina has no idea that Hayden Dean is actually a werewolf...

Beauty and the Werewolf

Billionaire werewolf Jack MacGrath has almost everything—the respect of his peers, a mansion in San Francisco, a private jet, and fast cars. But without a mate, Jack's in trouble. Then he sees her. Gorgeous, demure, proud...and his enemy. Isabelle Connelly is werewolf royalty and falling for anyone lesser — to say nothing of a rival pack — would be, er, unseemly. Now she must choose between her duty to her family and her pack...or her perfect fated mate.

What a Werewolf Wants

Private investigator – and werewolf – Ryder McManus doesn’t believe in marriage. But then he never expected to find his fated mate, Josie, at his best friend's wedding festivities. When Josie and Ryder are together, the chemistry heats up. While he’s trying to stop the wedding, she’ll do whatever it takes to give the couple a dream day. But the secret he’s trying to expose might just ruin everything.

The Werewolf Wears Prada

Melina interviewed Hayden Dean for an article a year ago.  They sat in Starbucks and had a great time.  He then asked her out to an awards ceremony that he was attending that night and she was so excited.  He then stood her up and she was not only heart-broken but pissed as hell.  Now the magazine she works for has assigned her to write a behind the scenes look at none other than Hayden Dean.  The last thing she wants to do is hang around him but what choice does she have.  If she does a great job on the article her dream of working at the parent magazine will come true.

Hayden was captivated by Melina when he first met her – of course he was as he realized that she’s his mate.  Unfortunately, things in the city were going haywire and he had to do what his alpha father asked – that included standing Melina up.  Now that she’s back in his life he wants to make things work but he also wants to keep her safe.  He’s up for alpha of the San Francisco pack now that his father’s died but there are those who don’t want him in the position as he’s not a born werewolf.  He must find out who is behind all of the friction and keep Melina safe while doing it.

This was a very cute novella.  I really liked both Hayden and Melina and thought their chemistry was off the charts.  The situation with the rogue wolves who didn’t want Hayden as their alpha (along with all turned werewolves) was pretty intense at some points.  I thought it was a novella that was well done.  It had a great blend of romance, intrigue, suspense and the paranormal.

Rating: 3.75 out of 5

Beauty and the Werewolf

(This part of the review was previously here posted on Book Binge.)

Isabelle is the daughter of the Alpha of the Irish Wolf Pack. She is a painter and makes quite a bit of money on her paintings. Unfortunately when she first started she showed her dad a painting that she created and he reacted badly – telling her that painting was a waste of time. She was going to be the pack alpha one day and she should spend her days studying tradition and pack policy! Wow, what a kick in the gut. Isabelle didn’t give up her dream, however and continued painting in secret. Now her father is dying and she wants to show him all of her paintings at the same time hoping for his approval. She has been searching high and low for the last 10 or so paintings and finds out that there’s one up for auction in San Francisco. Her father doesn’t have much time left so she heads to SF to buy her painting back.

At the auction in SF Isabelle finds she has a competitor for her painting and she finds out his name is Jack McGrath. Her father hates the McGrath’s and has never said a nice word about any of them. Jack knows almost instantly that Isabelle is his Luminary – his fated mate. He’s not only excited to find his fated mate but if they bond it will stop his fast downward spiral towards death. In this world shifters live to be about 300 years old unless they find their fated mates and then they can live as long as 1000 years. Isabelle isn’t thrilled that Jack managed to buy the painting out from under her but then Jack says he’ll give her the painting if she attends a gallery event with him. How can she refuse when she’ll get her painting back?

What begins as a simple companion date soon turns into more and soon Jack and Isabelle are falling in love. Her father, however, needs to give his approval or Isabelle will have nothing to do with Jack, no matter how much she loves him.

This was a cute novella. It was a quick read but quite a bit happened in a short period of time. It didn’t feel rushed either so that was nice.

I really liked both Isabelle and Jack in this story though I would have loved to get to know both of them more. I also appreciated that Isabelle didn’t feel the fated mate connection right away. It made Jack work for it and put a little spin on it all. Jack was intriguing enough to keep my attention as he tried to make amends for all of his ancestors wrong-doing.

Isabelle’s father was a real piece of work but he eventually redeemed himself in a big way. I was happy that he loved his daughter enough to let her be happy even after he died. Isabelle’s friend Neil was overprotective and I couldn’t quite figure him out. On the one hand he was great to her but he proved he could be a real bastard when it came to Jack but took it so far overboard it was ridiculous.

A quick read but a nice little paranormal romance. This is the second book in the series but it read perfectly well as a standalone.

Rating: 3.5 out of 5

What a Werewolf Wants

Josie’s sister, Carrie, is getting married.  Josie and her matchmaking service set them up and now their wedding and the few events leading up to it will be filmed.  Josie is excited for her sister but also excited about the show and what it will do for her business.

Ryder McManus is a turned werewolf and his best friend, Mitch, marrying Carrie.  Ryder is set on breaking them up.  They hardly dated before they decided to marry and Mitch hasn’t even told Carrie that he’s a werewolf!

Obviously Josie and Ryder butt heads on the issue as Josie thinks that Carrie and Mitch are perfect for each other.  She believes that Ryder is too jaded to see love when it smacks him in the face because of his job as a private investigator.  She sets out to prove that Carrie and Mitch are perfect for each other but while she’s doing it she starts to having feelings for Mitch as well.  Of course when both Carrie and Josie find out what Mitch and Ryder are the wedding might be off for good.

This was a great story and my favorite of the three in this set.  I loved Josie and Ryder together and their duo pig-headedness.  Seriously, the pair were hilarious in their stubbornness toward each other and what they were each trying to accomplish.  Mitch knew that Josie was his fated mate – his Luminary – but he knew that that didn’t even guarantee that they would work out. He was so jaded but that made it all the better when he finally realized how wrong he’d been about Carrie and Mitch and of course his feeling for Josie.

Their chemistry was off the charts and I just loved them together.  I loved shifter stories and I love stories that revolve around weddings so to put the two together was like a dream come true. Lol

Rating: 4 out of 5

three-half-stars

0 Comments
Tags: , , , , , , , , ,