Publisher: Brava

Review: Claimed by Rebecca Zanetti

Posted July 17, 2018 by Casee in Reviews | 0 Comments

Review: Claimed by Rebecca ZanettiReviewer: Casee
Claimed (Dark Protectors, #2) by Rebecca Zanetti
Series: Dark Protectors #2
Also in this series: Marked (Dark Protectors, #7), Fated (Dark Protectors, #1)
Published by Brava
Publication Date: October 25, 2011
Point-of-View: Third
Genres: Paranormal Romance
Pages: 321
Amazon | Barnes & Noble | The Ripped Bodice | Google Play Books
Goodreads
three-stars

A Daring Rescue Emma Paulsen is a geneticist driven by science. But she's also a psychic, so when a dark, good-hearted vampire frees her from the clutches of the evil Kurjans, she realizes he must be the man who's been haunting her dreams. But with a virus threatening vampires' mates, Emma may discover a whole new meaning of "lovesick".

A Deadly Decision As King of the Realm, Dage Kayrs has learned to practice diplomacy. Still, it's taken three hundred years to find his mate, so he'll stop at nothing to protect her—even if it means turning his back on his own kind...

I think something is wrong with me. How can I enjoy a book where the male completely takes over the female’s world? I just don’t understand that. If a man did that to me, I can’t imagine that I would find it sexy. Emma sure as hell didn’t find it sexy when Dage took over her life. She found it pretty appalling actually. I didn’t blame her, yet I found myself getting annoyed with her, rather than him. To my defense, she was annoying as fucking hell. The woman was never happy. It’s been a few weeks since I’ve read this book, but I know that I was really annoyed when I was reading it and it was because of Emma.

Dage is the King of the Vampire race. His race is in a war against the Kurjans, which is a race of evil vampires that are trying to infect the mates of vampires with a virus. They are also trying to infect shifters in order to turn them into mindless werewolves (werewolves are killers in this world). They have succeeded thus far. Emma’s sister, Cara (Talen’s mate), has been infected with Virus 27. Virus 27 attacks the 27 chromosome of a vampire’s mate which takes away the mating. In Cara’s case this is not a good thing since she is carrying a vampire baby and needs the immortal strength that mating Talen gave her. Not to worry, Emma is on the case! And Dage won’t let anything happen to his sister-in-law. Ego much?

Backing up a bit, Dage has been dreaming about Emma for three hundred years. Emma has been dreaming of Dage for years. They’re both psychic and have a link. In Dage’s dreams, Emma is his mate. In Emma’s dreams, Dage dies. Emma will not let anything happen to the man she is falling in love with. In her dream, Dage is happy. Right before the world explodes. The only thing she can sees that makes him happy is her (there is that ego). Therefore, in her logical brain, she can’t mate him. Like she will stop a Kayrs? Bitch, please.

A lot of stuff ensues, which moves the series along. That’s why I didn’t this “book” against the wall. I enjoyed the interaction of the other characters. I love the brotherly love, their relationship with the shifters, and Cara and Emma’s relationship. I was really looking forward to Conn and Moira’s book. I’ve since read it and loved it. Don’t let this review get you down if you are thinking about giving this series a try. It’s a must-read to understand the movement in the series, but you can skim. I loved Dage, I really did. Emma just wasn’t for me.

Rating: 3 out of 5.

Dark Protectors

three-stars


Tagged: , , , , , ,

Review: Fated by Rebecca Zanetti

Posted June 22, 2018 by Casee in Reviews | 1 Comment

Review: Fated by Rebecca ZanettiReviewer: Casee
Fated (Dark Protectors, #1) by Rebecca Zanetti
Series: Dark Protectors #1
Also in this series: Marked (Dark Protectors, #7), Claimed (Dark Protectors, #2)
Published by Brava
Publication Date: March 1, 2011
Point-of-View: Third Person
Genres: Paranormal Romance
Pages: 299
Amazon | Barnes & Noble | The Ripped Bodice | Google Play Books
Goodreads
three-half-stars

Marry Me! Cara Paulsen does not give up easily. A scientist and a single mother, she's used to fighting for what she wants, keeping a cool head, and doing whatever it takes to protect her daughter Janie. But "whatever it takes" has never before included a shotgun wedding to a dangerous-looking stranger with an attitude problem.

Or Else! Sure, the mysterious Talen says that he's there to protect Cara and Janie. He also says that he's a three-hundred-year-old vampire. Of course, the way he touches her, Cara might actually believe he's had that long to practice. . .

I thoroughly enjoyed this book. This was my first look into the Dark Protector series and I have no idea why I waited so long to dive into it. I’m hooked on Zanetti’s Scorpius Syndrome series, love paranormals in general, so why did I wait? I have no clue. There were a few parts of this particular book I wasn’t down with, but…shrug. I got past it.

Cara Paulson is a special type of person. She has been an empath since she was a young girl. So it makes sense that she would give birth to a very special child. She had no idea that her child would be prophesied to save a race of evil vampires. Vampires that she had no idea existed until one burst into her home to save her and Janie’s lives. Cara isn’t having any of it even when Janie tells her that Talen is the one that is going to save them. All she sees is a strange man coming into her home trying to kidnap her and her baby. Forget the fact that she has this inappropriate and completely confounding attraction to the man. Being disgusted with herself can come after she gets away from him.

Talen had no idea that Cara was his mate until he comes to her rescue. And come to her rescue he does because he can sense the Kurjans, the evil counterpart to his vampire race, coming to get them. Three hundred years of peace are broken because of Cara’s young daughter Janie. They have no idea what’s coming for them. Before he knew she was his mate, it was his job to protect Cara and Janie. Now it is is duty and honor. He can do nothing less that protect the woman he has looked for over the centuries and the little girl that is now his daughter. If only he could convince Cara that she isn’t getting away from him.

There were a lot of things that I liked about this book. I liked the instant connection between Cara and Talen. Talen was very sweet. The love between the two was very sweet. Talen really cared about how Cara felt. He knew that she had a hard time living in their headquarters below ground and made sure she had plants that she loved to help her cope. He just did little sweet things that really made me like him. Other the other hand, I really disliked how he referred to her as “mate” all the time. Like it was her name. It made her sound like a possession. I didn’t enjoy that all. As for Cara, she was a strong heroine, but made stupid fucking decisions. Including a TSTL one that almost got her killed. Just because she was mad at Talen over a BIG MISUNDERSTANDING. TSTL decisions always happen after stupid BIG MISUNDERSTANDINGS, don’t they?

Even with the things that bothered me, I did find this book enjoyable and am looking forward to continuing this series.

Rating: 3.75 out of 5.

Dark Protectors

three-half-stars


Tagged: , , , , , ,

What Are You Reading? (+ Autographed Contemporary Giveaway)

Posted March 23, 2018 by Rowena in Features | 5 Comments

WAYR-New

Casee: I finished a book! I read Covert Game by Christine Feehan this week. I just adore the GhostWalker series. I think I was reading it last week (who remembers that far back?) and really got into it. I just need to accept that it takes me longer to read now. The days of reading 10+ books a month are over for me. I decided to stick with Feehan for now and am reading Shadow Keeper.

Holly: It was a sad reading week for me. Nothing I started really worked for me. I ended up re-reading For You and Sweet Dreams by Kristen Ashley. I tried to listen to Sweet Dreams in audio, but I don’t think KA books are for me in audio. There’s way too much fluff that I skim while reading (especially re-reading). It was 25 hours. 25! Ain’t nobody got time for that.

Then I finally read Dark Desires by Eve Silver (it’s free for Kindle right now!) and The Woman Left Behind by Linda Howard, both of which I really enjoyed. Now that I’m finally reading new books again, I’m going to dive into my review pile. First up is The Darkling Bride. I’m determined to finish it today.

Rowena: It’s been slow going for me on the reading front. This week, I only read Bayou Moon by Ilona Andrews. Instead of reading, I’ve been spending time with my nephew that is here from Utah. Time is ticking away until he returns home and I’m opting to watch Moana a million times with him instead of read.

I did pick up Jockblocked by Jen Frederick to read for my book club on Monday and I’m about halfway through that. After this re-read, I’ll be reading The Love Coupon by Ainslie Paton and then Hot Response by Shannon Stacey.

Giveaway Alert

We are very fortunate here at Book Binge. We have loads and loads of books to read and we want to share the wealth so each week, we’ll be tacking on a Freebie Friday giveaway to our What Are You Reading posts. This week, we’re giving away…

What Are You Reading? (+ Autographed Contemporary Giveaway)Leave Me Breathless by HelenKay Dimon
Published by Brava
Publication Date: March 1st 2010
Genres: Contemporary Romance
Pages: 320
Amazon | Barnes & Noble | The Ripped Bodice | Google Play Books
Goodreads

Permission To Approach

According to Judge Bennett Walker, trying to kill him is a dumb idea. They might make him wear a big black nightgown to work, but it covers a lot of muscles, and he's definitely packing beneath it. He's also an ex-prosecutor and an ex-GI Joe. So when his brother brings in Callie Robbins to protect him, Ben has a few issues. First, he doesn't need a bodyguard. Second, she's a 130-pound girl--more smoking hot than smoking gun. And third, what if his body wants her guarding the night shift?

Callie has no problem brushing aside Ben's disbelief. She left the FBI to escape the boys' club, but she can be deeper undercover and twice as lethal as any beefy John Doe. As for whether someone's after Bennett or not, the death threats and car bombs look pretty convincing to Callie. Of course, she might get distracted, sitting inches from the sexiest judge in DC for ten hours a day. Keeping him safe is no picnic. Keeping it professional--that might be impossible.

"She's a delight!"--Christina Dodd

"So smart, sexy and fast paced. I devour her stories."--Lori Foster

a Rafflecopter giveaway

What are you reading this week? Any new favorites or books that drove you crazy? Share!


Tagged: , , , , ,

Anthology Review: Three Brides for Three Bad Boys by Lucy Monroe

Posted June 11, 2008 by Holly in Reviews | 2 Comments

Anthology Review: Three Brides for Three Bad Boys by Lucy MonroeReviewer: Holly
3 Brides For 3 Bad Boys by Lucy Monroe
Series: Mercenary/Goddard Project #2
Published by Brava
Publication Date: 2005
Genres: Fiction
Pages: 277
Amazon | Barnes & Noble | The Ripped Bodice | Google Play Books
Goodreads
four-stars

Rand
After tragedy struck six years ago, Rand buried what was left of his heart. But Phoebe Garrison refuses to give up on him. When nothing else gets the brooding hunk to open up, she blackmails him, offering him the coveted deed to property his company needs--if he agrees to spend a week in her bed.

Colton
Waking up in Vegas next to a naked showgirl named Fayre after a red-hot night of passion puts a smile on Colton Denning's face--until he discovers that Fayre is his new wife. What can stable, workabolic Colton possibly say to this unpredictable force of nature, a woman who expects him to love, honor, and cherish the vows he took, drunk, in a Vegas chapel?

Carter
As marriage proposals go, Carter's offer to Daisy Jackson lacks romance: Marry me and I'll give you a half million dollars. Four years ago, Carter let Daisy go for her own sake. Now, he needs a wife to fulfill the requirements of his father's lucrative will, and this could be his chance to make amends with Daisy.

 

They’re not the marrying kind—more the Do NOT Take Home to Mom kind. But these three brothers are about to meet the tempting women who have what it takes to tame their inner bad boys…

Three Brides for Three Bad Boys is a collection of stories by Lucy Monroe about three brothers who share the same father but different mothers. Each was brought up in a different way, and they didn’t know about each other until they were grown. It was originally published in 2005 and re-issued February 1, 2008. I let my cousin borrow it ages ago (I had the original) and she just got it back to me, so I decided to do a quick re-read of it. I’m so glad I did. This is one of my favorite anthologies.

RAND: After tragedy struck six years ago, Rand buried what was left of his heart. But Phoebe Garrison isn’t giving up, and she’s got an enticing deal: the coveted deed to property his company needs in exchange for one hot week in her bed. It’s an offer even the brooding Rand can’t refuse. Now, as every hunger is explored, every secret revealed, Rand knows he’ll need more than one week to indulge his fantasies with this amazing woman…

This is my least favorite of the three stories. It was well written, but the characters didn’t grab me and the story didn’t pull me in. I really liked that in the end Phoebe realizes she needs to leave Rand and he begs her to stay, but otherwise this was just pretty blah all the way around for me. Not bad, but not great.

3.5 out of 5

COLTON: Waking up in Vegas next to a naked showgirl named Fayre after a scorching night of passion puts a smile on Colton Denning’s face-until he discovers she’s his new wife. How could the stable, workaholic Colton have married such an unpredictable force of nature, a woman as likely to throw pottery as a kiss? But when it comes to tender love-and erotic war-Colton’s discovering that all is Fayre…

This is by far my favorite of the three, I think because so much emotion is packed into such a short story. Colton is a wonderful character, well drawn and complete, full of humility and responsibility. I think the best part about it is that he decides he needs Fayre and doesn’t waver from that. Despite the fact that she shows up unexpectedly, claiming to be his wife and pregnant. Once he decided she was his, that was it.

Fayre was a great character, too, though I do think she gave in just a bit too quickly. Colton needed to pay a bit more for walking out on her and treating her like a one-night-stand, but overall I enjoyed her character.

4.5 out of 5

CARTER: As marriage proposals go, Carter’s offer to Daisy Jackson lacks romance: Marry me and I’ll give you a half-a-million dollars. To fulfill the requirements of his father’s lucrative will, he needs a wife, and Daisy needs the money. But after a wedding night of absolutely explosive sensuality, Carter wants more than an arrangement. He wants Daisy, to have, to hold, and everything else…

I really liked this story. Daisy is an adorable character and one that never failed to make me smile. She’s been in love with Carter forever, so she is absolutely delighted when he offers her half a million to marry him. Basically, in her mind anyway, he’s paying 500 grand to sleep with her. I love the way she relishes the thought and constantly rubs it in Carter’s face.

He hates that she says that, because 1) he doesn’t need to pay for sex and 2) he wants Daisy to feel secure once their marriage ends. It’s cute watching him try to convince her. This is just a cute, fun story.

4.0 out of 5

Overall grade:

4.25 out of 5

This book is available from Brava. You can buy it here.

four-stars


Tagged: , , , , , , , , , ,