Publisher: Berkley

Guest Review: Every Little Thing by Samantha Young

Posted March 8, 2017 by Tracy in Reviews | 1 Comment

Guest Review: Every Little Thing by Samantha YoungReviewer: Tracy
Every Little Thing by Samantha Young
Series: Hart's Boardwalk #2
Also in this series: The One Real Thing
Published by Berkley
Publication Date: March 7th 2017
Genres: Contemporary Romance
Pages: 352
Buy on Amazon | Barnes & Noble
Goodreads
four-stars

Hartwell, Delaware—the perfect place to get away from it all, and find what you never knew you needed…

Bailey Hartwell has many reasons to feel content—her successful business, a close circle of friends, and her steady boyfriend…even if their romance feels staid after ten years without a serious commitment. The only challenge in her life comes in the form of sexy businessman Vaughn Tremaine. She thinks the ex-New Yorker acts superior and that he considers her a small-town nobody. But when Bailey’s blindsided by a betrayal, she’s shocked to discover Vaughn is actually a decent guy.

Vaughn admires Bailey’s free spirit, independence, and loyalty. As his passion for her has grown, his antagonism toward her has only worsened. Every little thing Bailey does seduces him. But when Vaughn’s painful emotional past makes him walk away in fear he will hurt her, it opens an old wound in Bailey, and she uncharacteristically retreats.

Once Vaughn begins to realize he’s made the biggest mistake of his life, he has no choice but to fight like he’s never fought before to convince Bailey that the love they’ve found together only comes around once in a lifetime.

Bailey Hartwell and Vaughn Tremaine have been at odds since the man walked into town.  Bailey had tried to move mountains in order to stop the man from building his hotel on the boardwalk.  She failed but she had to try.  It seems that everyone is happy with Vaughn and he seems to be friends with quite a few people but he treats Bailey…not so well. She fights back verbally – the only way she knows how.

The thing is that Bailey is highly attracted to Vaughn and him to her.  The more they feel that attraction the more antagonistic they are to each other.  Vaughn doesn’t feel like he deserves to be happy and Bailey’s such a happy go lucky person.  When her inn is broken in to and Vaughn saves her from the thief they end up in bed together.  Of course Bailey wants more and Vaughn pushes her away in the worst possible way. When Bailey’s sister rolls into town and says she’s there to help run the inn Bailey freaks out but with Vaughn’s help they can work it all out.

I really liked this story.  Bailey seemed like a bit of a crazy girl in book one of this series but I really liked her anyway and of course Vaughn with his dark broodiness was intriguing in book one.  I was so happy they were going to get together because I could tell from their personalities that it would be a pretty epic thing to bring them together.

While I didn’t like that they spent a good portion of the book apart it was all worth it in the end.  We got more background on both Bailey and Vaughn and why they felt like they did about relationships.  It was pretty eye-opening.  Once they got together it was explosive and I was truly happy they got their HEA.

The book brings back characters from the previous book and that was wonderful.  We got to see the characters from book one get married and got to know the others a bit better.  I’ve liked this series so far and I’m anxious to see where it goes next.

Rating: 4 out of 5

four-stars

1 Comment
Tags: , , , , , , ,


Review: Satisfaction by Lexi Blake

Posted February 10, 2017 by Rowena in Reviews | 2 Comments

Review: Satisfaction  by Lexi BlakeReviewer: Rowena
Satisfaction by Lexi Blake
Series: Lawless Series #2
Also in this series: Ruthless, Satisfaction
Published by Penguin, Berkley
Publication Date: January 3rd 2017
Genres: Contemporary, Romance
Pages: 384
Buy on Amazon | Barnes & Noble
Goodreads
four-stars

The sizzling second novel in a sexy new contemporary romance series featuring the Lawless siblings—from New York Times bestselling author Lexi Blake.

Brandon Lawless is a man on a mission: obtain the information that will clear his father’s name. He’s willing to do whatever it takes—even seduce his enemy’s personal assistant, the beautiful and innocent Carly Hendricks. But with her beguiling smile and captivating intelligence, Brandon soon realizes he doesn’t want to deceive Carly, he wants to win her over—both in the boardroom and the bedroom.

Then a twisted crime leaves Carly vulnerable and Brandon finds himself reeling. The stakes of his mission are now life or death—Carly’s life. And Brandon realizes he’s lost his heart to an amazing woman and his plan must succeed, because the stakes are no longer just revenge, but a once in a lifetime love.

From the Trade Paperback edition.

Satisfaction is the second book in the Lawless series and it follows the youngest brother, Brandon as he journeys to that elusive happily ever after. A happy ending that he does not believe he deserves. When we first meet Brandon is the first book, Ruthless, he is a happy go lucky kind of guy until he gets into a fight and the brothers plus Hatch have to go and bail him out. You get a sense that of all the Lawless siblings, Riley and Bran are still dealing with issues from when they were in the foster care system.

Riley has trouble sleeping with the door open. It’s got to be locked and he has to sleep alone. Bran, Bran has nightmares about a night he’d rather forget. About a girl he cared about and couldn’t save.

Riley is the charming brother. Andrew is the vengeful brother. But Bran? Bran is the protective brother. He’s Captain Save a Hoe. You can find him at the strip club beating on guys that think strippers are their personal property. In the first book, Riley got in a lot of trouble because 1) he fell in love with his mark and 2) he lied through his buck teeth about everything under the sun. Bran is determined that they learn from their mistakes so when the next phase in their revenge plot calls for getting close to the personal assistant of the next person on their hit list, Bran sneaks in and steals Drew’s spotlight.

Carly Fisher is Patricia Cain’s personal assistant and overall grunt. Patricia Cain is next up on the Lawless siblings hit list. They need Carly’s assistance in getting close to Patricia so that they can take her down. Drew’s plan was to seduce Carly into letting him get close so that he use her to handle his business but Bran’s idea was to bring Carly into the plan. Make her an ally. Present her with the truth, with the facts and let her decide if she wants to help them. Drew is not a fan of Bran’s plan and he’s not a fan of allies.

Bran and Carly’s romance was sweet. I really enjoyed seeing them get to know each other and getting to know the both of them myself. They were great characters, and I loved Bran. I loved how honest he was, how hard he worked to take care of those he loved and I really loved how he went toe to toe with Drew. Drew has a tendency of being so narrow-minded that he can be hard to be around. His personality is very off-putting but for those that know him, that love him, they understand him. Bran is the opposite of Drew. He’s very easy to be around. He’s quick to smile. He’s loyal and even when he was being a dumbass, I loved him.

Carly was the newbie on the scene, so she had a lot of catching up to do on making me like her. I enjoyed her character as a whole but she did get on my nerves from time to time. Her reasoning drove me nuts but in her heart of hearts, she was a good person. I liked that she was smart, she was loyal to her sister and when she stopped letting her insecurities get to her, she was a great partner for Bran.

Overall, this was a great story with characters that rocked my socks and I’m really thirsty for Revenge, Drew’s book. I called his heroine right when we met her in this book. The ending for this book has me super anxious for the next one because I just know Drew is going to piss everyone off in the name of protecting his family and I just know it’s going to be good. I’m so here for it.

4 out of 5

four-stars

2 Comments
Tags: , , , , , , ,


Review: Archangel’s Heart by Nalini Singh

Posted January 24, 2017 by Holly in Reviews | 0 Comments

Review: Archangel’s Heart by Nalini SinghReviewer: Holly
Archangel's Heart (Guild Hunter, #9) by Nalini Singh
Series: Guild Hunter #9
Also in this series: Angels' Blood, Archangel's Kiss, Archangel's Consort, Archangel's Storm, Archangel's Legion, Archangel's Legion, Archangel's Shadows, Archangel's Shadows, Angels' Blood, Archangel's Heart, Archangel's Heart, Archangel's Kiss (Guild Hunter, #2)
Published by Berkley
Publication Date: November 1st 2016
Genres: Urban Fantasy
Pages: 384
Buy on Amazon | Barnes & Noble
Goodreads
four-half-stars

New York Times bestselling author Nalini Singh takes us into a dangerous and exhilarating world where a deadly, beautiful archangel and his once-mortal consort are caught in a fury of twisted darkness…
One of the most vicious archangels in the world has disappeared. No one knows if Lijuan is dead or has chosen to Sleep the long sleep of an immortal. But with her lands falling into chaos under a rising tide of vampiric bloodlust, a mysterious and ancient order of angels known as the Luminata calls the entire Cadre together to discuss the fate of her territory.
Accompanying her archangelic lover Raphael to the Luminata compound, guild hunter-turned-angel Elena senses that all is not as it seems. Secrets echo from within the stone walls of the compound, and the deeper Elena goes, the uglier the darkness. But neither Raphael nor Elena is ready for the brutal truths hidden within—truths that will change everything Elena thinks she knows about who she is…
Nothing will ever be the same again.

It’s been two years since the Cascade has reared it’s head..two years Elena and Raphael have used to strengthen their forces while they wait. And wait. And wait. Elena doesn’t want war, but the inaction is killing her. They all know the other shoe is going to drop..if only they knew when. Lijuan has disappeared, which means Raphael and the other archangels are called before the Luminata . The mysterious group was charged with calling the Cadre together if and when an archangel goes missing, as a vacuum can occur if an archangel’s territory is felt unattended. Though most believe Lijuan has chosen to Sleep, no one can be sure, which means she may be able to attack while they’re gathered together. Plus, having all members of the Cadre together presents it’s own problems, since archangels can only be near each other for short periods of time without causing power imbalances.

Elena’s roots are something of  a mystery. Singh has hinted in past books that things are not exactly what they seem with her, and after revelations in the previous book, Elena feels this may be a good time to learn more about her mother’s family. The Luminata is said to have extensive libraries, and, as it happens, is located near Morocco, where Elena’s mother was from.

Archangel’s Heart opens another door to this complex world Singh has created. While Elena and her past are at the heart of the story, storyarcs from previous novels are explored, as well new new intrigues. We learn more about Aodhan, Elena’s past and some of the other archangels and how their territories are run.

Another killer book in the series. I continue to be amazed at the attention to detail here. The world-building is stellar. It never fails to pull me in.

4.25 out of 5

four-half-stars

0 Comments
Tags: , , , , , ,


Guest Review: Hard Hitter by Sarina Bowen

Posted January 3, 2017 by Tracy in Reviews | 1 Comment

Guest Review: Hard Hitter by Sarina BowenReviewer: Tracy
Hard Hitter by Sarina Bowen
Series: Brooklyn Bruisers #2
Also in this series: Rookie Move, Rookie Move, Rookie Move, Hard Hitter (Brooklyn Bruisers #2)
Published by Berkley
Publication Date: January 3rd 2017
Genres: Contemporary Romance
Buy on Amazon | Barnes & Noble
Goodreads
four-half-stars

He s a fighter in the rink, but he s about to learn that playing nice can help you score...

As team captain and enforcer, Patrick O'Doul puts the bruise in the Brooklyn Bruisers. But after years of hard hits, O'Doul is feeling the burn, both physically and mentally. He conceals his pain from his coach and trainers, but when his chronic hip injury becomes too obvious to ignore, they send him for sessions with the team s massage therapist.

After breaking up with her long-term boyfriend, Ari Bettini is in need of peace of mind. For now, she s decided to focus on her work: rehabilitating the Bruisers MVP. O'Doul is easy on the eyes, but his reaction to her touch is ice cold. Ari is determined to help O'Doul heal, but as the tension between them turns red hot, they both learn that a little TLC does the body good..."

Patrick O’Doul is the enforcer of the Brooklyn Bruisers hockey team.  He’s been playing for them for the past 10 years and he’d good at what he does.  He is afraid, however, of being thought to be incapable of doing his job because of injury or his age.  When he gets a hip flexor injury the trainers want him to see the team massage therapist but he hates being touched so he puts that off until they force him into it.  ‘

Ari is the team massage therapist and yoga instructor.  She loves her job and all the guys seem to love their massages so she can’t understand why Patrick has such an aversion to his appointments.  She has an inkling that he hates being touched but it’s not confirmed until she gets him on her table.  They have a rapport and Patrick seems to start to actually enjoy his time on Ari’s table.  He certainly likes her hands on him.

Patrick would love for there to be a relationship between him and Ari but her ex-boyfriend is a complete douche and treated her badly the last few years of their relationship.  She’s never been on her own and she thinks she needs to try it rather than jump into a relationship with Patrick.  Of course her head says one thing and her heart says another.

This was another great book by Sarina Bowen.  I love her books and look forward to opening one and getting involved in the characters lives.  After reading book one in the Brooklyn Bruisers series I was really looking forward to this one and I wasn’t disappointed.

Patrick was a really great guy.  Had he made some stupid mistakes that got him into trouble? Yes, but it didn’t make him a bad person. He was so good for Ari and she was so good for him I loved seeing the two together as they played off of each other so well.  They were also hotter than hell in bed which is always a plus (for them and the reader :)).

The story line that had to do with Ari’s ex was well done in my opinion.  It brought just enough tension to the story and to Ari and Patrick’s relationship but it didn’t go too far.  I also loved Patrick’s fellow hockey players. Their camaraderie and support of each other really brought a great feel to the book – more of a hockey family.  There was once scene when Patrick asks for team’s advice for romantic gestures – I about spit out my coffee I was laughing so hard when the suggestions were read.  The players as well as the suggestions were hilarious and I loved the friendship they shared.  Even if they weren’t all great friends at least they respected each other a great deal and that was awesome.

The love story is wonderful – Patrick’s quiet alpha maleness with Ari’s bouncy, out-going personality made for great reading.  This is a fabulous book and one I definitely recommend that you not miss.

Rating: 4.5 out of 5

four-half-stars

1 Comment
Tags: , , , , , , ,


Guest Review: Marry Me on Main Street by LuAnn Rice

Posted December 22, 2016 by Tina R in Reviews | 0 Comments

Guest Review: Marry Me on Main Street by LuAnn RiceReviewer: Tina
Marry Me on Main Street by LuAnn McLane
Series: Cricket Creek #11
Published by Berkley
Publication Date: December 6th 2016
Genres: Contemporary, Romance
Pages: 304
Buy on Amazon | Barnes & Noble
Goodreads
four-stars

In the latest Cricket Creek romance from the USA Today bestselling author of Wish Upon a Wedding, two people discover what it really takes to go after your heart’s desire...

In her small shop on Main Street, Susan Quincy sells handmade gifts and repurposed items. But she can’t part with the beautiful rocking chair she bought at an estate sale when its maker turns out to be Danny Mayfield. Even years later, Susan still cringes over how her handsome, popular high school crush only asked her to prom out of pity—or so she thinks...

Danny doesn’t know why Susan has avoided him for years, especially after the electric kiss they shared the night of prom. So when he learns that she wants him to craft more rocking chairs to sell at her shop, Danny can’t resist the chance to work on his passion and charm shy, beautiful Susan again—and this time, make it last...

LuAnn Rice has been a favorite of mine since I read Playing For Keeps, which is the first book in the series called Cricket Creek. It is the book that introduced to me this charming town filled with a cast of characters that you can’t help wanting to get to know. Since that time I have read three more in the series and am looking forward to reading the rest as well. They are all light-hearted, quick reads that are sure to bring a smile to the face of any fan of sweet, romantic comedies.

Marry Me On Main Street is the 11th book in the Cricket Creek series, and even though I have not yet read books 5 through 10, I did not feel that it took anything away from this cozy holiday story.

This book is exactly the kind that I always look forward to reading every year around the holidays. You can’t help but get into the holiday spirit while reading about this quaint little town filled with so many delightful characters.

If you love the holidays like I do and look forward to having a big TBR stack of Christmas reads, don’t forget to add Marry Me On Main Street to your list.

Thanks to NetGalley and the publisher for allowing me a copy of this book for my honest review. I give this book 4 out of 5 Christmas Cookies!!!

four-stars

0 Comments
Tags: , , , , , , ,