Publisher: Berkley Sensation

Throwback Thursday Review: Something About You by Julie James

Posted April 26, 2018 by Rowena in Reviews | 17 Comments

Throwback Thursday Review: Something About You by Julie JamesReviewer: Rowena
Something About You by Julie James
Series: FBI/US Attorney #1
Also in this series: About That Night (FBI/US Attorney, #3), A Lot like Love (FBI/US Attorney, #2), Love Irresistibly, It Happened One Wedding, Suddenly One Summer, Suddenly One Summer, Suddenly One Summer
Published by Berkley Sensation
Publication Date: March 2, 2010
Point-of-View: Third
Genres: Contemporary Romance
Pages: 307
Amazon | Barnes & Noble | The Ripped Bodice | Google Play Books
Goodreads
four-half-stars

Fate has thrown two sworn enemies...

Of all the hotel rooms rented by all the adulterous politicians in Chicago, female Assistant U.S. Attorney Cameron Lynde had to choose the one next to 1308, where some hot-and-heavy lovemaking ends with a death. And of all the FBI agents in Illinois, it had to be Special Agent Jack Pallas who gets assigned to this high-profile homicide. The same Jack Pallas who still blames Cameron for a botched crackdown three years ago—and for nearly ruining his career.

Into each other's arms...

Work with Cameron Lynde? Are they kidding? Maybe, Jack thinks, this is some kind of welcome-back prank after his stint away from Chicago. But it's no joke; the pair is going to have to put their rocky past behind them and focus on the case at hand. That is, if they can cut back on the razor-sharp jibes—and smother the flame of their sizzling-hot sexual tension.

Every Thursday in 2018, we’ll be posting throwback reviews of our favorite and not-so-favorite books.

This review was originally posted on February 24, 2010.

It just keeps getting better with each and every book. James has shown that she is definitely no one hit wonder with this latest installment into her backlist. Something About You was an entertaining read from cover to cover. It had everything you could want in a great contemporary setting. Characters that leaped off the page, a storyline that kept you interested and a hero that was just to smexy for words.

The chemistry between Jack and Cameron was crazy good. Even when they were hating each other, the chemistry was evident. They worked well together and they were just great characters that I came to love over the course of the book.

Cameron Lynde is an assistant U.S. Attorney who had floor troubles at home so she treated herself to sleeping in an upscale hotel room instead of on her friend’s couch or guest bed or something. She thought she was treating herself but she was actually treated to the loud sex going on in the room next door. Just when she thought she couldn’t take it anymore, the loud sex that was keeping her up all night stopped….only to start up again about an hour later. Fed up with all of the noise going on over there, Cameron calls the front desk and complains. She puts the phone down and waits for the security to come up and take care of her little noise problem but she hears thuds coming from the room, noises she didn’t hear before and then she hears the door open so she peeks through the peep hole and sees someone walk out of the room.

Turns out that she witnesses the murderer of the woman in the other room walking out after the murder and so the FBI turns up on her doorstep. One of the FBI agents that shows up to interview her is the one guy that she’d love to forget for the rest of her life. It’s none other than Jack Pallas, the FBI agent who told the entire nation that she had her head up her ass. They’re not fans of each other and Jack holds her responsible for his transfer to Nebraska. So when Jack shows up on Cameron’s hotel doorstep, to say that she’s annoyed is putting it mildly.

…and of all the hotel rooms to show up at, Jack had to land on Cameron Lynde’s hotel doorstep. Jack cannot stand Cameron because he felt like he wasted two years of his life gathering evidence and she wouldn’t prosecute. It pissed him off but he was a professional so he was going to get this job done, even if it killed him or he killed someone. Either or.

Watching these two battle their feelings and then come together was such a treat! First they hate each other and then they grow soft on each other and then their together. The transition from hating each other to loving each other made for an enjoyable ride that I was absolutely adored.

Jack was a great hero who was stubborn, arrogant and yet lovable. He was such a man. A man’s man who did man things and thought man things and I ate him up. He wasn’t the cookie cutter perfect hero because he assumed the worst in Cameron at every turn and yet I never once hated him. I never once thought, oh get over yourself because he the way that he protected Cameron was just too hot damn sexy that I’d forgive him anything. He was normal and the way that Julie wrote him made his character real. He was a very three dimensional character and I absolutely loved him.

Cameron was one of those heroines that I can appreciate. She was smart and she was capable but she wasn’t one of those heroines who thought she could do everything and tried to do it too. She didn’t need to prove herself to anyone, she knew her strengths and she did her best to let the professionals do their jobs. I loved that about her. She wasn’t the kind of heroine who hid from the bad guys and let everyone run her life but she wasn’t a pushover either. She didn’t think she needed to tell the FBI how to do their job and she trusted them enough to protect her and I admired her for that. She wasn’t that heroine who did the most. She did what she was supposed to and I loved her for that.

Overall, this book was really good. It was perfect for what I was in the mood for and I trusted Julie to entertain the socks off of me and I’m so happy that she did. She’s going to do big things in the publishing world and I’m so excited for her. The villain wasn’t scary or anything but as far as villains went, he fit the bill and I was pretty bummed that we didn’t get to see any scenes with Jack and his sister and nephew. Jack mentions that he wanted to spend more time with his sister and nephew now that he was back in Chicago but we didn’t get to see any interactions with them, I thought it would have been nice to get to know her since the only people on Jack’s side that we got to meet was his partner and his boss. It would have been nice to get some personal interactions but aside from that, I loved the book. I thought it was a great way to spend a few hours. James did a great job of keeping me interested in the romance budding between Jack and Cameron and she kept me entertain throughout the entire story which is exactly what I like in a book.

So really, kudos to Julie James on another winner and I think this is my favorite book by her so far. Would I recommend this? Heck yes!

Grade: 4.75 out of 5

FBI/US Attorney

four-half-stars


Tagged: , , , , , , ,

Review: Touch Me by Lucy Monroe

Posted December 22, 2017 by Holly in Reviews | 2 Comments

Review: Touch Me by Lucy MonroeReviewer: Holly
Touch Me (Langley Family Trilogy, #1) by Lucy Monroe
Series: Langley Family Trilogy #1
Published by Berkley Sensation
Publication Date: September 6th 2005
Genres: Historical Romance
Pages: 317
Amazon | Barnes & Noble | The Ripped Bodice | Google Play Books
Goodreads
four-stars

Outspoken, opinionated Thea Selwyn is no ordinary lady. Raised in the exotic West Indies, she has none of the starchy propriety Pierson Drake is accustomed to—rather, there is a lush sensuality about this impulsive beauty that tempts him unmercifully. Her delectable curves and wide, innocent eyes are enticing enough, but her breathless response to his touch is a lure he can't resist.

On a voyage that takes them from a tropical paradise to the glittering ballrooms of London, Thea and Drake are pulled into a firestorm of illicit passion. Thea knows that once they reach England, the secrets she's been keeping will kill whatever Drake feels for her. But Drake's own history has taught him the value of acceptance and the desolation of loss. Thea is the one woman Drake has ever trusted with his heart, and he ha no intention of losing her—not to the ghosts of the past or the threats of the present. But can he convince Thea to forget the hard lessons she's learned and take a chance on love?

Together, Thea Selwyn and Pierson Drake embark on an extraordinary voyage from a tropical paradise to the glittering ballrooms of London. But will Thea’s dark secrets destroy their illicit passion?

In 1797 England, angry aristocrat Geoffrey Selwyn believes his wife was unfaithful to him, though she swears she was not. When Anna gives birth to a boy, Geoffrey immediatly takes the baby away with him, determined to keep her away from her son. Heartbroken, Anna gives birth a few minutes later to a twin a girl she names Althea.

Anna makes several attempts to see her small son and keep her daughters presence a secret from her heartless husband, but, after almost being caught with her daughter, flees to the exotic West Indies to raise her daughter alone. And pine for her missing son.

Twenty-three years later, Thea is a partner in Merewether Shipping with her Uncle Ashby, a sweet man who helped Anna when she first arrived on the Island. Though her mother died ten years before, Thea is still haunted by her mother’s continued heartbreak over her missing son and the promises she made to Anna on her deathbed.

Pierson Drake arrives on the Island in desperate need of a blacksmith to fix his steam engine, so that he can sail back to England in a timely manner and ensure his investors make a return on the money they invested on his behalf. He ignores Thea at first, refusing to deal with a “mere” woman regarding matters of business. He finally realizes it is she, not her Uncle, that can help him and she agrees, under the condition that he takes her to London with him, so she can investigate some discrepancies in the books from their London office. He is blackmailed into agreeing.

On the voyage, tempers ingnite, wills clash and a fierce attraction develops between the two. Though Pierson wants to marry Thea, she refuses, afraid of loving a man and ending up in the same position as her mother.

I generally dislike a stubborn heroine, because so many times she tends to be stupid as well as mule-headed. I’m happy to report, however, that Thea Selwyn didn’t fall fall into this category. She was perhaps a bit too obsessed with staying unwed, but Monroe did an awesome job of explaining her reasons.

Pierson Drake is hot, tortured and a total Alpha-Male…my favorite combination. He has his own issues – illigetimate birth – but he doesn’t let that stop him from making Thea his.

As with all of Lucy Monroe’s books, I was touched, angered and in love by the time I finished reading it.

4 out of 5

Langley Family Series

four-stars


Tagged: , , , , , ,

Guest Review: The Autumn Bride by Anne Gracie

Posted February 26, 2013 by Tracy in Reviews | 0 Comments

Guest Review: The Autumn Bride by Anne GracieReviewer: Tracy
The Autumn Bride (Chance Sisters, #1) by Anne Gracie
Series: Chance Sisters #1
Published by Berkley Sensation
Publication Date: February 5th 2013
Genres: Historical Romance
Pages: 310
Amazon | Barnes & Noble | The Ripped Bodice | Google Play Books
Goodreads
three-stars

Anne Gracie is “always terrific,”* and now the award-winning author delivers a brand-new series about four young women on the verge of destitution—until a daring act changes their fortune and transforms each of them into a glowing bride…

Governess Abigail Chantry will do anything to save her sister and two dearest friends from destitution, even if it means breaking into an empty mansion in the hope of finding something to sell. Instead of treasures, though, she finds the owner, Lady Beatrice Davenham, bedridden and neglected. Appalled, Abby rousts Lady Beatrice's predatory servants and—with Lady Beatrice's eager cooperation—the four young ladies become her “nieces,” neatly eliminating the threat of disaster for all concerned!

It's the perfect situation, until Lady Beatrice’s dashing and arrogant nephew, Max, Lord Davenham, returns from the Orient—and discovers an impostor running his household…

A romantic entanglement was never the plan for these stubborn, passionate opponents—but falling in love may be as inevitable as the falling of autumn leaves...    *Mary Jo Putney

Abby is an orphan and is a governess. She’s shocked when she’s on her way back to her employers house one day after her half day off and is stopped by a woman saying that she knows Abby’s sister and she’s come to Abby for help. It seems that Jane, the sister, was on her way to be a vicar’s wife’s companion when she was drugged and kidnapped and taken to a brothel for auction. Abby gets her out in time along with another girl, Damaris who helped Jane and Daisy, the cockney girl who worked at the brothel (as a maid) and had gotten Abby.

After Abby has to leave her job the four girls are living together and trying to survive. They try to get jobs but it doesn’t work out and when Jane gets sick Abby gets desperate. She’s seen the house next door and there’s a window open and no light ever goes on in it. She thinks to climb over, get into the house and steal something that she can then sell to help Jane. When she gets to the house she finds nothing of value to steal and a little old lady in the bedroom who is slowly dying from neglect and starvation. Things happen and next thing you know Abby and the girls are living with the little old woman, Lady Beatrice Davenham, and there’s lives have changed considerably. The girls consider themselves sisters and Lady Bea tells everyone they’re her nieces.

Lord Davenham has been away for 9 years when a letter about his aunt has him heading back to England. He finds the girls and of course assumes that they are the ones that are hurting his aunt. Matters get worked out but the trust isn’t high between the girls and Max – especially with Abby. Abby and Max have an attraction to each other but Max promised himself in marriage to a girl 9 years ago and now he has to honor his word and marry her – even if he wants Abby.

The majority of this book, for me, was taken up with Abby, her sisters and Lady Bea. That was actually A-Ok with me as I liked the five of them so very much. Lady Bea had pluck and she wasn’t afraid to tell people what she thought. Now she did get taken advantage of and had hit a low spot but with the Chance sisters help she was able to get back on her feet, so to speak, and flourish.

Max and Abby’s relationship, if you can call it that took a back seat for me. Max and Abby weren’t together very often in the story and that a bit frustrating. He saved her at one point and they kissed but other than some small talks and a few heated looks there wasn’t much too it. He was running all over doing this and that and I’m sad to say that while I liked their characters I didn’t feel the connection between the two of them.

As I normally like Gracie’s books so much I will be reading the next book in this series to see what happens next.

Rating: 3 out of 5

You can read more from Tracy at Tracy’s Place

This book is available from Berkley. You can buy it here or here in e-format. This book was provided by the publisher for an honest review.

three-stars


Tagged: , , , , , , ,

Review: About That Night by Julie James

Posted April 6, 2012 by Holly in Reviews | 0 Comments

Review: About That Night by Julie JamesReviewer: Holly
About That Night (FBI/US Attorney, #3) by Julie James
Series: FBI/US Attorney #3
Also in this series: A Lot like Love (FBI/US Attorney, #2), Love Irresistibly, It Happened One Wedding, Suddenly One Summer, Suddenly One Summer, Suddenly One Summer, Something About You
Published by Berkley Sensation
Publication Date: April 3rd 2012
Genres: Contemporary Romance
Pages: 284
Amazon | Barnes & Noble | The Ripped Bodice | Google Play Books
Goodreads
four-half-stars

He's Playing Games

Though Rylann Pierce tried to fight the sparks she felt for billionaire heir Kyle Rhodes the night they met, their sizzling chemistry was undeniable. But after being stood up on their first date, Rylann never expected to see him again. So when she finds herself face-to-face with Kyle in a courthouse nine years later, she's stunned. More troubling to the beautiful assistant U.S. attorney is that she's still wildly attracted to him.

But She's Making The Rules

Just released from prison, Kyle Rhodes isn't thrilled to be the star witness in a high-profile criminal case—but when Rylann comes knocking at his door, he finds she may be the one lawyer he can't say no to. Still as gorgeous and sharp-tongued as ever, she lays down the law: she doesn't mix business with pleasure. But Kyle won't give up on something he wants—and what he wants is the one woman he's never forgotten.

About That Night by Julie James is book 3 in the FBI/US Attorney series, but it can be read as a stand-alone. Another smart, witty novel from James. Though really, is there any other kind?

Her previous heroines are strong, capable women. They’re confident in themselves and their place in the world. I wish we’d see more like them in contemporary romance. Rylann is another stellar heroine. She knows what she wants and isn’t afraid to go after it. I loved that there wasn’t a lot of emo angst over the L word in this novel. Neither Rylann nor Kyle had a freakout over the fact that they were starting to care for each other. Neither did they need their friends to tell them they’d fallen in love. They were both mature adults, and they acted like it. It was very refreshing.

I was worried going into this novel because in the previous novel it was mentioned ad nauseam that Kyle looked like Sawyer from the show Lost. Thing is, I didn’t watch Lost while it was on and quite frankly, I thought Sawyer was ugly (or the pictures of him..I didn’t see it live so I can’t say how he looked on-screen). I was afraid James would carry that over to this novel and I’d be beaten over the head with it. I’m happy to say that wasn’t the case. Though there were a few references, it was nothing I couldn’t ignore.

I think the conflict came across as rather weak. The fact that she was a US Attorney and Kyle was an ex-con should have had more punch, I think. In the end it seemed like a flimsy excuse to bring about the resolution. I admit, however, that I didn’t think about this until afterward. While reading I was fully immersed in the story.

I am disappointed that it ended so quickly. I wasn’t quite ready to see the end. Another couple chapters would have been welcome.

Other than a few minor complaints, this is another winner. James excels at writing fresh dialogue and smart characters. I’m only sorry she doesn’t write faster.

4.25 out of 5

The series:

This book is available from Berkley Sensation. You can buy it here or here in e-format.

four-half-stars


Tagged: , , , , , , ,