Publisher: Berkley Books

Review: Satisfaction by Lexi Blake

Posted February 13, 2017 by Casee in Reviews | 0 Comments

Review: Satisfaction by Lexi BlakeReviewer: Casee
Satisfaction by Lexi Blake
Series: Lawless Series #2
Also in this series: Ruthless, Satisfaction
Published by Berkley Books
Publication Date: January 3rd 2017
Genres: Romance, Romantic Suspense
Pages: 384
Buy on Amazon | Barnes & Noble
Goodreads
four-half-stars

The sizzling second novel in a sexy new contemporary romance series featuring the Lawless siblings from "New York Times "bestselling author Lexi Blake. Brandon Lawless is a man on a mission: obtain the information that will clear his father s name. He s willing to do whatever it takes even seduce his enemy s personal assistant, the beautiful and innocent Carly Hendricks. But with her beguiling smile and captivating intelligence, Brandon soon realizes he doesn t want to deceive Carly, he wants to win her over both in the boardroom and the bedroom. Then a twisted crime leaves Carly vulnerable and Brandon finds himself reeling. The stakes of his mission are now life or death Carly s life. And Brandon realizes he s lost his heart to an amazing woman and his plan must succeed, because the stakes are no longer just revenge, but a once in a lifetime love."

I absolutely loved this book. This is the best book I’ve read this year. I know it’s only been a month, but I couldn’t put this book down. Bran. Brandon. Bran. Bran. Bran. Bran. Oh how I love thee. I really thought I would want Drew’s book because he was so nerdy in a hot kind of way, but Bran really snuck up on me and just smacked me in the face.

Drew was supposed to be the one that went in and swooped Carly off her feet a la Riley and Ellie. Bran wasn’t so keen on that plan, so he went in before Drew could and laid it out straight. Patricia Cain murdered his parents, he and his siblings were taking her down, could she please help? Cue the misbelief. Not that Patricia Cain was innocent. Carly didn’t have blinders on when it came to her boss. She knew exactly what kind of woman she was. No, Carly thought that Bran was batshit crazy.

Carly was exactly the kind of woman that Bran was drawn to. A woman that needed help. Not to mention the hotness factor. Bran knows that his plan to lay it out for her was exactly right. Having Drew go in and manipulate her the way that Riley did to Ellie would never have worked out. This way, Bran could help her with her problems (which were many) and the Lawless siblings could take down Patricia Cain. If Bran could get some time with Carly between now and then, all the better.

When Carly leaves Bran, she still isn’t sure. That all changes when her ex-husband’s problems turn up on her doorstep quite literally. Suddenly she’s calling Bran and he’s sleeping on her couch. She’s agreed to help him and he’s pretending to be her boyfriend. Then they’re not pretending. Carly is falling in love with a man that might not know how to love her back. It’s readily apparent that Bran has issues that he refuses to acknowledge let alone discuss.

Bran had a serious case of PTSD stemming from his childhood. While the Lawless siblings are closer than most, they have more problems than most as well. Bran was left in foster care long after he should have been. Drew finally admits that it was easier for Bran to be left in the system while he was starting up 4L than to bring him home. He tells Bran that revenge came first. It was heartbreaking. Once that comes out in the open, it finally brings Bran some peace.

Carly and Bran are just perfect for each other. Carly has so little control in her life thanks to Patricia Cain that she grabs it where she can. Bran is glad to cede control to her in every place except for the bedroom. It works surprisingly well for them. I love it. Carly was a little insecure which got a little old, but Bran more than made up for it. He was so damaged, but he confronted it head on and that was refreshing. I loved him.

There was a twist at the end of the book that I didn’t see coming and I can’t wait until June!

Rating: 4.5 out of 5.

four-half-stars

0 Comments
Tags: , , , , , ,


Review: Power Game by Christine Feehan

Posted February 3, 2017 by Casee in Reviews | 1 Comment

Review: Power Game by Christine FeehanReviewer: Casee
Power Game by Christine Feehan
Series: Ghost Walkers
Also in this series: Shadow Game
Published by Berkley Books
Publication Date: January 24th 2017
Genres: Paranormal, Romance
Pages: 464
Buy on Amazon | Barnes & Noble
Goodreads
four-stars

#1 New York Times bestselling author Christine Feehan is “one of the best storytellers around” (RT Book Reviews). Find out why as two lovers surrounded by greed and corruption discover there’s no telling whom you can trust—or who will come out on top...
When members of a United Nations joint security force are taken hostage by radical terrorists in Indonesia, Captain Ezekiel Fortunes is called to lead the rescue team. Part of a classified government experiment, Zeke is a supersoldier with enhanced abilities. He can see better and run faster than the enemy, disappear when necessary and hunt along any terrain. There are those in the world willing to do anything for power like that...
A formidable spy genetically engineered to hide in plain sight, Bellisia rarely meets a man who doesn’t want to control her or kill her. But Zeke is different. His gaze, his touch—they awaken feelings inside her that she never thought possible. He’s the kind of man she could settle down with—if she can keep him alive...

Bella has lived her life at the mercy of Peter Whitney. During a mission to discover if one of her fellow GhostWalkers is actually selling them out, Bella uncovers the unthinkable. Violet Smythe is trying to sell them out. Not only sell them out but eradicate them from the face of the earth. While that sounds laughable to Bella, Violet can certainly do it as Vice President of the United States. Bella knows that it is not going to be long before Violet is President. Then she will have access to almost all the GhostWalker records. With that knowledge, Bella escapes Whitney and heads to Louisiana, and the GhostWalkers that Violet wants to go after first.

Ezekiel Fortunes is someone whose temper runs hot. Literally. The only outlet he has is to fight. That and to keep his family safe. He is obsessed with safety. When he realizes someone has breached his security, he goes nuts. He has no idea how they have done it, but they have. He has no idea that it’s the very woman that he’s drawn to when he goes into the French Quarter for a fools’ errand by Nonny, the grandmother of their merry band.

Ezekiel is immediately drawn to Bella and he has no idea why. Then he does. She’s a GhostWalker and she is the one that has been circumventing his security. All Bella wants to do is help Ezekiel and leave. She wants to build herself some semblance of a life and keep out of Whitney’s hands. When she finds herself in a situation and has to help Ezekiel, he repays her by taking her captive.

That was heartbreaking. Bella truly believed that Ezekiel worked for Whitney. She gave up her potential freedom to help save his life. The sense of betrayal she felt was immense. You could literally feel it coming off the pages. Bella literally lived her life living in a cage and Ezekiel and his family captured Bella after she saved his life and threw her in a cage. It was heartbreaking.

Ezekiel was mad that she was put in a cage and immediately got her out (though the damage was done) and brought her into Nonny’s home. It was sweet to see how Bella took to being part of a family. Even though she had a family with her fellow GhostWalker sisters, it obviously wasn’t traditional. Ezekiel’s family isn’t traditional either, but Nonny definitely is and she tries to keep things as normal as possible.

Of course Violet comes after them again. Bella and Ezekiel have to work as a team along with their fellow GhostWalkers. Bella gets in trouble and she has to trust Ezekiel when she hasn’t trusted anyone in her life. It shows how far she has come in her relationship with him that she trusts him so much.

Rating: 4 out of 5.

four-stars

1 Comment
Tags: , , , , , ,


Joint Review: Hard Hitter by Sarina Bowen

Posted January 31, 2017 by Holly in Reviews | 4 Comments

Joint Review: Hard Hitter by Sarina BowenReviewer: Holly and Rowena
Hard Hitter (Brooklyn Bruisers #2) by Sarina Bowen
Series: Brooklyn Bruisers #2
Also in this series: Rookie Move, Rookie Move, Hard Hitter, Rookie Move
Published by Berkley Books
Publication Date: January 3rd 2017
Genres: Contemporary Romance
Pages: 336
Buy on Amazon | Barnes & Noble
Goodreads
four-stars

From the USA Today bestselling author of Rookie Move comes the second novel in the series that s hot enough to melt the ice.
He s a fighter in the rink, but he s about to learn that playing nice can help you score...
As team captain and enforcer, Patrick O'Doul puts the bruise in the Brooklyn Bruisers. But after years of hard hits, O'Doul is feeling the burn, both physically and mentally. He conceals his pain from his coach and trainers, but when his chronic hip injury becomes too obvious to ignore, they send him for sessions with the team s massage therapist. After breaking up with her long-term boyfriend, Ari Bettini is in need of peace of mind. For now, she s decided to focus on her work: rehabilitating the Bruisers MVP. O'Doul is easy on the eyes, but his reaction to her touch is ice cold. Ari is determined to help O'Doul heal, but as the tension between them turns red hot, they both learn that a little TLC does the body good..."

Rowena: Hard Hitter is the second book in Sarina Bowen’s Brooklyn Bruisers series and it features Captain Patrick O’Doul. We first met Patrick O’Doul in Rookie Move. He was one of Leo’s new teammates and he hit on Georgia, Leo’s girl. I don’t remember much else about Patrick, aside from he helped make Leo feel more comfortable transitioning to a new team.

Patrick is the team enforcer and over the years, his body has taken some beatings. He’s coming off a wrist injury and his hip is acting up but every night, he goes out on that rink and he fights whoever needs fighting.

I’ll admit that when I first heard that Patrick was getting his story told next, I wasn’t all that excited. I’m not sure why that was since I didn’t hate Patrick, I just didn’t really think much about him.

Well…I love him now. Ha!

What about you? What did you think of Patrick and the rest of his book?

Holly: I really liked Patrick. He was quiet and intense and private. I kind of expected some deep dark secret or tortured past after the way he acted about being touched.

Rowena: Something more than the deep, dark secret about his parents? I liked the way that Bowen handled Patrick’s issues in this book. He’s had a pretty rough childhood and he had some hangups about them but he wasn’t saddled with those issues. He was an adult. He wasn’t this angsty hot head who lashed out at every turn or anything like that. He ignored them for as long as he can and then he fixed them. I dug it.

Holly: No, I just meant that I expected there to be something, and I was right. I dug the way his issues were handled, too. I thought there might be more angst over it, but he just handled his business.

I’m kind of on the fence about the heroine.I didn’t dislike her, but she isn’t my favorite Bowen heroine.

Rowena: Ari isn’t my favorite heroine either and she got on my nerves throughout the book but not nearly as much as Georgia did in Rookie Move. My thing with Ari was that she taught all not judging and how to listen with your heart in her yoga classes but holy cow did she turn into the biggest judger of all judges when Patrick lands himself in trouble. That annoyed the snot out of me…even if she did buy him a coffee maker.

Holly: I didn’t like how she turned her back on him either. I get being angry, but her reaction was over the top.

Rowena: What did you think about all of the crap that Ari went through with her ex-boyfriend?

Holly: I don’t know how I felt about Ari’s boyfriend troubles. It didn’t seem like she made very good choices when it came to him. Not calling the cops on him, agreeing to meet him alone, etc. I wasn’t impressed.

Rowena: I think that was part of my gripe with Ari. How dumb she was where Vince was. Why did she wait so long to tell the Security guys at the Bruisers about everything that was going on? For someone so smart, she sure was dumb a lot.

View Spoiler »

Rowena: I’m not all that into yoga so I didn’t think that I would care much about Ari and what she did for a living but damn…can you imagine working as a masseuse to all of those hot guys? Getting paid to rub down all of those yummy hockey players every day? I’m low key jealous. Ha!

Holly: Omg, girl. I need some of that in my life.

Rowena: I would have married all of them if they asked me…and I would start every appointment with a foot rub so those marriage proposals would keep rolling in.

Are you looking forward to Beacon and Lauren’s story?

Holly: I am looking forward to Beacon and Lauren’s story. I like this world and I’m definitely glad we’ll see more.

Rowena: Overall, I enjoyed the story and the romance between Patrick and Ari. At least, when Ari wasn’t being a dumbass and I really liked Patrick. He was a complete dreamboat.

My grade for this one is 4 out of 5.

Holly: I liked the romance, too, as well as the additional time with the team. I didn’t love Ari on her own, but I did like her with Patrick.

I’m giving it a 4 out of 5 as well.

Final Grades

Holly: 4/5
Rowena: 4/5

four-stars

4 Comments
Tags: , , , , , , , , ,


Review: One King’s Way by Samantha Young

Posted December 10, 2015 by Holly in Reviews | 0 Comments

Review: One King’s Way by Samantha YoungReviewer: Holly
One King's Way by Samantha Young
Series: On Dublin Street #1.5
Also in this series: Before Jamaica Lane, Fall From India Place, Fall From India Place, Castle Hill, Echoes of Scotland Street, Moonlight on Nightingale Way, Moonlight on Nightingale Way, One King's Way, One King's Way
Published by Berkley
Publication Date: November 3rd 2015
Genres: Fiction, Romance, General, Contemporary
Pages: 128
Buy on Amazon | Barnes & Noble
Goodreads
three-stars

The New York Times bestselling author of On Dublin Street returns to the bar where it all began with Braden and Joss for a white-hot new novella full of passion and drama.
When he's not working at the club, Craig Lanaghan looks out for his mother and little sisters. So when it comes to women, all he wants is a good time. But once Rain Alexander walks into his life, there's no denying that this woman could be worth much more than a one-night stand . . .
Rain's lifelong regret is having left her sister Darcy alone years ago with a guardian who turned out to be abusive. So when Darcy's boyfriend publicly humiliates her in a cruel way, Rain's overprotective instincts kick in and she follows him to Club 39 - where she meets a guy who just might be her perfect match.
The chemistry between Rain and Craig is explosive, but Rain is out for revenge, and refuses to be sidetracked by flirtation. As things between them heat up, she'll have to make a heartbreaking choice between giving in to the man of her dreams or putting her sister's happiness first . . .
Praise for the On Dublin Street series
'Scotland's EL James' - Sunday Post
'Really sexy.' - USA Today
'Young writes stories that stay with you long after you flip that last page.' - Under the Covers

One King’s Way is a novella that’s set between books 1 and 2 in the On Dublin Street series. It features Craig, one of the bartenders Jo and Joss worked with at the club. I thought it was short and sweet.

Rain is in Club 39 to exact revenge on her sister’s loser of an ex-boyfriend who completely humiliated her and forced her to move away. Rain plans to cozy up to him then humiliate him the way he did her sister. Her plans are foiled when she meets Craig, one of the bartenders, and he catches on. They have a ton of chemistry, but Rain can tell right off that Craig isn’t after more than a roll in the hay. As a certified romantic, she wants nothing less that forever-after love.

Craig takes one look at Rain and knows he wants her, but he isn’t really interested in more than a night since he has his hands full caring for his mom and sisters. Still, he can’t get her out of his head. And she clearly needs help with this ridiculous scheme she’s hatched to get back at her sister’s ex.

Craig was kind of a dumbass for most of the book, but he realized his mistakes and more than made up for them. Rain’s silly revenge idea was just that, silly. Why she thought it was a good idea is beyond me. I guess her emotional response to seeing her sister hurt gives her a bit of a pass, but honestly. Her exacting standards for her relationships were also a bit over-the-top, but I understand wanting it all. I was glad her sister pushed her to start making decisions for herself, rather than based on the trauma from their past.

In the end I thought Craig and Rain had great chemistry. This was a sweet story that I zipped right through. It was nice returning to the series.

3 out of 5

three-stars

0 Comments
Tags: , , , , , , , ,


Guest Review: Touched By Light by Catherine Spangler

Posted July 7, 2009 by Book Binge Guest Blogger in Reviews | 4 Comments

Guest Review: Touched By Light by Catherine SpanglerReviewer: Tracy
Touched by Light by Catherine Spangler
Series: Sentinel Series #3
Published by Berkley Books
Publication Date: April 29, 2009
Genres: Paranormal
Buy on Amazon | Barnes & Noble
Goodreads
two-half-stars

Dr. Julia Reynolds lives a solitary existence. But Adam Masters is determined to draw her into a dark and dangerous otherworld—and make her give in to the stunning sexual attraction between them.

12 years ago, Julia was beaten and raped. She’s dealt with recovery as best she can but she definitely has some issues with self-esteem, which is completely understandable. She’s not ready for a relationship and definitely not one who’s not really human.

Adam is not only a Sentinel, a reincarnated being from Atlantis, but a Sanctioned, a reincarnated being who’s in charge of the Sentinels. Sentinels use sex with conductors to figure out where demon-like beings are so that they can kill them and send them to Saturn.

Yeah, some pretty out of this world things happening. But Julia knows all about this since her sister is married to a Sentinel. She also knows because there’s always an incredible sexual chemistry between herself and Adam. Adam’s pretty shocked at the situation because usually Sanctioned’s don’t have matched conductors and as far as Julia’s concerned this is something that she is not interested in exploring, but Adam needs Julia’s help. You see one of the Sentinels has disappeared and Adam needs Julia’s help in trying to find him. Julia agrees but not before Adam manipulates the situation so that she can’t say no.

I read books 1 & 2 in this series. While I liked both of them I certainly wasn’t overwhelmed. When I finally picked book 3 up to read and review I wasn’t bowled overby this one either. The book started off slowly for me and I couldn’t get close to or even understand the characters actions.

Julia was downright belligerent at Adam and at times she certainly had good reason. But I thought her characters aggressiveness was completely uncalled for. Even though she had been manipulated by Adam to help him, and she did comply to a certain extent, she was still sharp-mouthed and prickly. Adam supposedly liked her stubbornness but for the reader it got old after a while.

Adam was a well-meaning ass. He wanted Julia’s help and even though he knew that manipulating her was wrong and that it would piss her off he did it anyway. The Sentinels have a deep code of honor and the fact that he was in charge of all the Sentinels in Texas and still needed to be reminded of this code of honor didn’t sit well with me. For all Julia’s crotchetiness he did fall in love with her, believing that she was his soul mate, and was trying to do the right thing for her. But even at the end of the book he was still manipulating her and she was still being as abrasive as ever. Even going so far as not telling him she loved him.

While the book had a few touching scenes in it, and I liked the attraction that was happening with 2 secondary characters, I wasn’t impressed by the overall story line. That fact stacked on top of not really believing the romance between the two main characters and I’d have to say that this book just didn’t do it for me.

Rating 2.5 out of 5

Reading Order:

 

two-half-stars

4 Comments
Tags: , , , , , ,