Publisher: Avon

Review: Wildfire by Ilona Andrews

Posted October 30, 2018 by Casee in Reviews | 1 Comment

Review: Wildfire by Ilona AndrewsReviewer: Casee
Wildfire (Hidden Legacy, #3) by Ilona Andrews
Series: Hidden Legacy #3
Also in this series: Burn for Me (Hidden Legacy, #1), Wildfire, White Hot, White Hot (Hidden Legacy, #2), Burn for Me (Hidden Legacy, #1), White Hot (Hidden Legacy, #2), Wildfire (Hidden Legacy, #3), Burn for Me (Hidden Legacy, #1), Diamond Fire (Hidden Legacy, #3.5)
Publisher: Avon
Publication Date: July 25, 2017
Format: eBook
Source: Purchased
Point-of-View: First
Genres: Urban Fantasy
Pages: 391
Amazon | Barnes & Noble | The Ripped Bodice | Google Play Books
Goodreads
five-stars

Just when Nevada Baylor has finally come to accept the depths of her magical powers, she also realizes she’s fallen in love. Connor “Mad” Rogan is in many ways her equal when it comes to magic, but she’s completely out of her elements when it comes to her feelings for him. To make matters more complicated, an old flame comes back into Rogan’s life…

Rogan knows there’s nothing between him and his ex-fiance, Rynda Sherwood. But as Nevada begins to learn more about her past, her power, and her potential future, he knows she will be faced with choices she never dreamed of and the promise of a life spent without him.

As Nevada and Rogan race to discover the whereabouts of Rynda’s kidnapped husband and are forced to confront Nevada’s grandmother, who may or may not have evil motives, these two people must decide if they can trust in each other or allow everything to go up in smoke.

This series is the bomb dot com. Yes, I actually just said that. I can’t help it. I love this series. It is my favorite series of 2018. My very, very favorite. Nevada. Mad Rogan. Nevada and Mad Rogan. Leon. Catalina and Arabella. Bern. Seriously, there is nothing about this series that makes me unhappy. Well, except for the gap between releases.

Wildfire begins exactly where White Hot picked up. Rogan and Nevada rush home from their mountain vacation after Rogan learns that it was Nevada’s grandmother that tried to buy Nevada’s mortgage from him. Which means that everything they’ve done to keep their identities from Victoria Tremaine, she has known who the Baylors were all along.

The only option left to Nevada and her family is to start their own House. While it is not something Nevada wants to do, it is her last and only option to protect her family from her evil grandmother. Rogan agrees with Nevada but also thinks it will put her far out of his reach as once she is a House, he believes that she will start to care about genetics. Like not want to have kids with him because their magics don’t “mesh” and aren’t ideal for procreating. He obviously doesn’t know Nevada as well as he thinks.

Her newest case brings Rogan’s ex-fiance into her life. Rynda Sherwood’s husband has been kidnapped and she is frantic with worry. Unfortunately she is an empath and Nevada was just involved in the murder of her mother. Still, Nevada promises to help Rynda, a promise she has a hard time keeping when it is apparent that Rynda needs a man to take care of her. When her man is not around, she attaches herself to Rogan. Not cool.

Unfortunately this is no ordinary kidnapping. It’s actually part of the big conspiracy that is happening in Houston where a group of mages want to turn Houston into a New Rome. Not only does she have to deal with a group of fanatics, her grandmother is trying to have her kidnapped, and she and her sisters have trials coming up to prove they deserve to form their own House.

As if that isn’t enough, Rogan is more protective than he has ever been, while pulling away from Nevada. Nevada isn’t about to let that happens and pulls him in even closer. She’s not letting the man she loves get away. She loves him and she knows he loves her. Forming House Baylor is not going to impact her relationship with Rogan.

I continue to adore Nevada. Adore everyone in this series. I loved Leon in the first two books, but he really made me laugh in Wildfire. Nevada and her mom finally figured out what his magic was in White Hot. Nevada tells Leon about his magic in Wildfire. His magic is pretty amazing. He is undoubtedly a Prime, but does not want to enter the trials to be registered as such. Nevada asks him why and Leon refers to a conversation he had with one of Rogan’s men.

“One day some other Prime will threaten our House, and when that day comes, I’ll kill him.”

What?

“I’ll do it quiet and clean, and nobody will ever know.” Leon smiled. “I’m going to be a dark horse, the House Baylor’s secret. I’ll be the best assassin. A legend. They’ll never see me coming.”

I would kill Kurt. I would strangle him with my bare hands.

Oh, Leon. Arabella was hilarious in her trials. I was literally laughing out loud. Catalina was far more interesting in this book. Her devotion to her family overrode everything, even her terror of using her magic.

In the end, Nevada and Rogan get their HEA, but the story isn’t over yet. The mages have yet to be stopped and now it seems as if it’s Catalina’s turn to put in the work. I have to say, I’m excited about that!

Rating; 5 out of 5.

Hidden Legacy

five-stars


Tagged: , , , , , ,

Review: White Hot by Ilona Andrews

Posted October 29, 2018 by Casee in Features | 5 Comments

Review: White Hot by Ilona AndrewsReviewer: Casee
White Hot (Hidden Legacy, #2) by Ilona Andrews
Series: Hidden Legacy #2
Also in this series: Burn for Me (Hidden Legacy, #1), Wildfire, White Hot, White Hot (Hidden Legacy, #2), Burn for Me (Hidden Legacy, #1), White Hot (Hidden Legacy, #2), Wildfire (Hidden Legacy, #3), Burn for Me (Hidden Legacy, #1), Wildfire (Hidden Legacy, #3), Diamond Fire (Hidden Legacy, #3.5)
Publisher: Avon
Publication Date: May 30, 2017
Format: eBook
Source: Purchased
Point-of-View: First
Genres: Urban Fantasy
Pages: 389
Amazon | Barnes & Noble | The Ripped Bodice | Google Play Books
Goodreads
five-stars

Nevada Baylor has a unique and secret skill—she knows when people are lying—and she's used that magic (along with plain, hard work) to keep her colorful and close-knit family's detective agency afloat. But her new case pits her against the shadowy forces that almost destroyed the city of Houston once before, bringing Nevada back into contact with Connor "Mad" Rogan.

Rogan is a billionaire Prime—the highest rank of magic user—and as unreadable as ever, despite Nevada’s “talent.” But there’s no hiding the sparks between them. Now that the stakes are even higher, both professionally and personally, and their foes are unimaginably powerful, Rogan and Nevada will find that nothing burns like ice …

I don’t think I could love this series any more than I already do. Nevada Baylor is simply…amazing. Incredible? Awesome? All of the above? There is just something about her that makes it impossible not to love her. It’s in her desire to protect her family, while at the same time making sure they all have their own voice. It’s in her determination to not let Rogan take over her life, even if it seems to be for all the right reasons. It’s taking on a new client just so she can help him find his wife’s killer. There are so many more things about her that I could go on and on about. I just heart her.

White Hot brings us back Nevada a new client. Cornelius Harrison has been referred to Nevada by Augustine Montgomery. Ugh. Cornelius’ wife was killed at a hotel with three of her colleagues. The House that she worked for has disavowed knowledge of the crime, only telling Cornelius that he needed to consider the possibility that she was having an affair. Cornelius knows better.

Nevada agrees to take the case. Her agreement to take on the case brings her back into contact with Mad Rogan after months of silence. She knew her decision to turn down Rogan’s offer of taking her away from everything was the right one, but that didn’t mean she wasn’t tempted at the time. Still, she hasn’t heard from him in months. So she is surprised when she finds that he’s connected to her new case. Not only that, but her case is connected to the mysterious group of mages that want to turn Houston into a “New Rome”.

Nevada and Rogan’s relationship moves forward in a big way. Nevada learns that Rogan bought the mortgage to their warehouse, all the surrounding buildings, and built his own HQ right across the street. To say she’s not happy is putting it mildly. I felt this was a pivotal part in their relationship. This is where Nevada has to show Rogan that she is her own person, not another person he is responsible for. She wants him to see her as an equal partner.

While reading Burn for Me, I was aware that the next set of books that come out in this series are going to be about Catalina Baylor. I wasn’t impressed. That changed in this book. We really got to know the family and their dynamics more. This may or may not come as a surprise, but I loved Leon. I think he’s fantastic.

Rogan, though. Sigh. He’s up there on my hero list. This got me. Hard.

“It doesn’t matter if I’m the first. It only matters that I’ll be the last.”

Seriously. Trying to move on…I just loved this book. I love the story, I love the characters, I love the writing. I even love that it’s in first person because it’s Nevada.

LOVE.

Rating: 5 out of 5.

Hidden Legacy

five-stars


Tagged: , , , , , ,

What Are You Reading? (+ Tessa Bailey Giveaway)

Posted October 26, 2018 by Casee in Features, Giveaways | 12 Comments

WAYR-New

Casee: I finished up Shayla Black and Lexi Blake’s The Perfect Gentlemen series. The first two books in the series were my favorite. The second two were slow, which surprised me. After I finished Smoke and Sin, I decided that it was far past time to read Archangel’s Prophecy by Nalini Singh. I’ve had this book for over a month and haven’t read it. Something is seriously wrong with me. I’m just a few chapters in and was instantly reminded how much I love, love, love Elena and Raphael. Love. Love. Love. They are my all-time favorite couple in romance.

I’m listening to Phoenix Unbound by Grace Draven on audio. The narrator is so good. I’m not very far in and it’s a little slow, but I’ve been told that it’s really good so I’m looking forward to getting into it.

Holly: I finished listening to The Scribe by Elizabeth Hunter (still $1.49 for Kindle). It ended in a cliffhanger, which was annoying and unexpected. I started reading book 2, The Singer, but I DNF’d it about 30% in. Up to that point it was moving really slow and repeating a lot of the information from the first book. The series is 7 books and the first 3 follow the same couple. I’m not interested in slogging through 70% more of this book, plus another entire book. I liked the premise and I’m curious about some of the other characters, so I may come back to it later, when I’m not so salty about the cliffhanger.

I also listened to How to Date Your Dragon and Love and Other Wild Things by Molly Harper. I tend to prefer more serious paranormal books, but these were perfect for my mood despite being light, fluffy listens. I’m sad there aren’t any other books available in the series.

I finished reading Archangel’s Prophecy, which slayed me. Nalini Singh is evil…in the very best way. I can’t wait for the next book to come out. Then I read Lionheart by Thea Harrison. Oberon! I really loved it. I really wish these authors would release books faster. I need more! 😉

I re-read Soaring by Kristen Ashley and Iron Kissed by Patricia Briggs so I can discuss it with Rowena. Iron Kissed gets me every time. My poor heart.

I’m currently listening to Natural Dual-Mage by K.F. Breene. I think I’m going to start reading Mornings on Main by Jodi Thomas.

Rowena: I’ve been distracted by baseball in the last couple of weeks, so reading has taken a back seat. I started some books but because my Dodgers have been stressing me out, I haven’t been paying much attention to any of them so I just put it off until I could concentrate again. I finished Never Seduce a Scot by Maya Banks for my book club and holy cow, that book made me all kinds of emotional. I wanted to fight all of the Montgomery women and I wanted to run Ian McHugh through with Graeme’s sword. Man, Eveline was a straight up boss for everything she went through. I adored her romance with Graeme.

After that, I read The Other Miss Bridgerton by Julia Quinn and enjoyed how easy it was to fall in with both Andrew and Poppy. Their romance was a little on the cheesy side but I didn’t care, I loved it all anyway. Julia Quinn writes great dialogue and witty characters that make me love them every single time. I just finished reading Iron Kissed by Patricia Briggs and that was another emotional read for me. I stayed up until after midnight last night, finishing up that book and I was choked up for Mercy, for Adam, hell, even for Ben. Patricia Briggs has me hooked on this series.

I started Bone Crossed by Patricia Briggs this morning, there is just no way that I’d be able to focus on anything else but Mercy Thompson right now. I need to know that she’s okay so of course I started the next book.

Giveaway Alert

We are very fortunate here at Book Binge. We have loads and loads of books to read and we want to share the wealth so each week, we’ll be tacking on a Freebie Friday giveaway to our What Are You Reading posts. This week, we’re giving away…

What Are You Reading? (+ Tessa Bailey Giveaway)Disturbing His Peace (The Academy, #3) by Tessa Bailey
Series: The Academy #3
Publisher: Avon
Publication Date: April 24, 2018
Format: Print
Source: Publisher
Point-of-View: Third
Genres: Contemporary Romance
Pages: 356
Amazon | Barnes & Noble | The Ripped Bodice | Google Play Books
Goodreads


She’s got probable cause to make her move . . .

Danika Silva can’t stand Lt. Greer Burns. Her roommate’s older brother may be sexy as hell, but he’s also a cold, unfeeling robot. She just wants to graduate and forget about her scowling superior. But when a dangerous mistake lands Danika on probation—under Greer’s watch—she’s forced to interact with the big, hulking jerk. Call him daily to check in? Done. Ride shotgun in his cruiser every night? Done. Try not to climb into his giant, muscular lap and kiss him? Umm…

Greer doesn’t let anythingor anyone—distract him from the job. Except lately, all he can think about is Danika. He’s wanted the beautiful, cocky recruit since the moment he saw her. But she’s reckless and unpredictable, and Greer is painfully aware of what can happen when an officer doesn’t follow the rules. Probation seemed like a good idea, but now Danika’s scent is in his car and he’s replayed her voicemails twenty times. Christ, he’s a goner.

Danika’s melting Greer’s stone-cold exterior one ride-along at a time. Being together could have serious consequences… but breaking a few rules never hurt anybody, right?

What Are You Reading: Disturbing His Peace by Tessa Bailey

What are you reading this week? Any new favorites or books that drove you crazy? Share!


Tagged: , , , ,

Throwback Thursday Review: Rescue Me by Rachel Gibson.

Posted October 25, 2018 by Rowena in Reviews | 8 Comments

Throwback Thursday Review: Rescue Me by Rachel Gibson.Reviewer: Rowena
Rescue Me (Lovett, Texas, #3) by Rachel Gibson
Series: Lovett, Texas #3
Publisher: Avon
Publication Date: May 29, 2012
Source: Publisher
Point-of-View: Third
Genres: Contemporary Romance
Pages: 384
Amazon | Barnes & Noble | The Ripped Bodice | Google Play Books
Goodreads
four-half-stars

She’s 33, unmarried, and stuffed into a Bubble Yum pink bridesmaid dress. And the whole town wants to fix her up with anyone with a dental plan...

Who’s going to rescue Sadie Hollowell now? Everyone in Lovett, Texas knows Sadie has always been a ‘notional’ kind of gal. She got a notion to leave town ASAP and never visit her daddy (bless his heart). Now, she’s back and got the notion to invite a good-looking, hard-muscled, total stranger to her cousin’s wedding. Better a stranger than some of the losers she’s dated.

Vince Haven got his muscles the hard way -- as a Navy SEAL in Afghanistan. He’s staying in Lovett to visit his crazy aunt -- the proprietor of the local Gas N Go. Before he can get the heck back out of the small town, his aunt makes him an offer he can’t refuse. Maybe he’ll stick around Lovett for a while. Maybe he’ll make a ‘go’ of the Gas N Go. Maybe he’ll rescue Sadie out of that pink dress!

Every Thursday, we’ll be posting throwback reviews of our favorite and not-so-favorite books. Enjoy!

This review was originally posted on May 30, 2012.

This book features a hero that if you read Any Man of Mine will remember. Autumn’s brother, Vince is the star of this show. If you’ll remember back to AMoM, Vince was Autumn’s brother that was a Navy SEAL who came back to help her take care of her young son, Connor. In this book, Vince goes to the Lone Star state to see what his Aunt wants and to get away for a little bit. He’s not a fan of Autumn’s fiance Sam and he’s not looking forward to the wedding. He’s in Texas, a long way from Seattle and before he knows what’s what, he’s bought his Aunts Gas and Go mart and he’s in the process of fixing it up.

On his way into town, he runs into a bit of car trouble and finds himself stranded, until a cute blonde comes to save the day. Her name is Sadie and her being back in town is sure to cause some talk.

Seeing Vince in action and getting into his head in this book was a treat for me since I became a fan of his in his sister’s book, Any Man of Mine. I was looking forward to getting to know him and I loved him, just like I knew I would. He was such a man’s man and I ate his character up. Him and Becca’s relationship had me cracking up. What he thought, what Becca thought, what they really thought of each other and then Sadie’s reaction to it all? Was the exact same reaction I had.

It was also good to see him to come to terms with Autumn’s relationship with Sam. It was nice to see that played out in this book as well because I felt like it was brought up in AMoM and then just dropped. I loved the little pieces of Autumn, Sam and Connor in this book.

Rachel Gibson does a great job of writing a humorous contemporary romance with just enough steam to keep you turning the pages and not need to take a shower. I’m a total fan of the way she writes her stories, the way that she fleshes out her characters and still keep us laughing the whole way through. She created a new world for us in this book and I can’t wait for more. I’m mighty curious to see who’s next to get their story from this town in Texas. I love stories set in Texas because the people from around there are so colorful and just too funny.

I’m glad that I read this book, I enjoyed the romance between Vince and Sadie, I enjoyed getting to know the people from Sadie’s past and I’m glad that she was able to make friends in a place where she didn’t have very many friends. I even enjoyed getting to know Sadie’s Dad. It was all wrapped up nicely in an entertaining story and I will definitely be back for more.

Grade: 4.5 out of 5.

Lovett, Texas

four-half-stars


Tagged: , , , , , , ,

Review: The Governess Game by Tessa Dare

Posted October 18, 2018 by Rowena in Reviews | 2 Comments

Review: The Governess Game by Tessa DareReviewer: Rowena
The Governess Game (Girl Meets Duke, #2) by Tessa Dare
Series: Girl Meets Duke #2
Also in this series: The Duchess Deal (Girl Meets Duke #1), The Duchess Deal
Publisher: Avon
Publication Date: August 28, 2018
Point-of-View: Third
Genres: Historical Romance
Pages: 384
Amazon | Barnes & Noble | The Ripped Bodice | Google Play Books
Goodreads
four-half-stars

He’s been a bad, bad rake—and it takes a governess to teach him a lesson

The accidental governess.

After her livelihood slips through her fingers, Alexandra Mountbatten takes on an impossible post: transforming a pair of wild orphans into proper young ladies. However, the girls don’t need discipline. They need a loving home. Try telling that to their guardian, Chase Reynaud: duke’s heir in the streets and devil in the sheets. The ladies of London have tried—and failed—to make him settle down. Somehow, Alexandra must reach his heart... without risking her own.

The infamous rake.

Like any self-respecting libertine, Chase lives by one rule: no attachments. When a stubborn little governess tries to reform him, he decides to give her an education—in pleasure. That should prove he can’t be tamed. But Alexandra is more than he bargained for: clever, perceptive, passionate. She refuses to see him as a lost cause. Soon the walls around Chase’s heart are crumbling... and he’s in danger of falling, hard.

The Governess Game is the second book in Tessa Dare’s Girl Meets Duke series and it follows Emma’s (the heroine from The Duchess Deal) friend, Alexandra Mountbatten as she falls into a governess job and falls in love with the man that hired her.

Alexandra Mountbatten fixes clocks for a living and when she’s making her rounds around town, in search of new clients and that is when she found herself in the company of him. The man from the bookshop. The man that she couldn’t get out of her head. The man that she made a cake of herself in front of when she ran into him and her books went flying and she couldn’t get over how handsome he was. She was surprised to see him again after all this time and she was sorely disappointed that he didn’t remember who she was or even understand why she was at his house. When she’s offered a job as governess to his two wards, Alex isn’t interested but accepts after a really shitty day.

Chase Reynaud is at his wits end with his two young charges. He has gone through far too many governesses because they have run them out every single time. He wasn’t supposed to inherit a Dukedom but he has and he carries a lot of worries, a lot of guilt and he needs to get a governess to watch over his charges before he sends them away to boarding school. He doesn’t do relationships and for good reason, at least in his eyes but the new governess is getting under his skin and haunting his dreams and before he knows what is what, he goes from not caring for anyone to caring too much about everyone.

Tessa Dare strikes again because I absolutely adored this book. Alex and Chase were such a fabulous couple who brought out the best in each other and I just loved getting to know them. Chase was charming and he was a flirt but he grew the most over the course of this book and I loved seeing it. His feelings for Alex was a lot of back and forth but when he gets it right, he really gets it right so it was hard for me to hold all that other nonsense against him.

I know that this is only the second book in this series but I had a soft spot for Alex in the last book and that soft spot was cemented in love in this book. Alex is my favorite friend in the friend circle and I connected with her character and her circumstances and just loved that despite not having much, she wasn’t afraid of hard work to get what she wanted. She wasn’t bitter at how her life turned out and though she had reservations about being on a boat, she was still strong in my eyes. I just loved her to pieces and don’t even get me started on how much I loved how close she got to both Rosamund and Daisy.

Overall, Tessa Dare wrote a fabulous romance for two characters who had a lot to offer the other if they took that risk and boy am I glad that they did. There was a whole lot of passion, a lot of charm and so much love in this book that I happy sighed my way through each chapter. What a great book. Kudos to Tessa Dare on another job well done.

Grade: 4.75 out of 5

Girl Meets Duke

four-half-stars


Tagged: , , , , , , ,