Publisher: Avon Books

What Are You Reading? (+ Historical Giveaway)

Posted March 16, 2018 by Casee in Features, Giveaways | 12 Comments

WAYR-New

Casee: I am reading Covert Game by Christine Feehan. I love the GhostWalker series. It is so intense. I didn’t give up on Storm Gathering by Rebecca Zanetii, but I did put it aside. As much as I dislike doing that I think that it was the best move for me. I immediately got into Covert Game so I think it was the right choice.

Holly: I’m not reading anything right now. I’m in a weird reading funk, plus I’ve been suffering from almost constant migraines. I ended up DNFing Ocean Light. Not because of the book, but because I couldn’t focus on it. I listened to Complicated by Kristen Ashley on audio and finished Bayou Moon by Ilona Andrews, but that’s it. Hopefully this weekend I’ll be able to focus more.

Rowena: The week started and I was still in a slight book hangover from Wildfire by Ilona Andrews. I was sad that I was done with all of the books in this series (I’m crossing my fingers that we’ll get more eventually) and wasn’t ready to move on. By Tuesday, I buckled down and made myself move on.

I finished Hello Stranger by Lisa Kleypas and really enjoyed it. Holy cow, Ethan Ransom is all that and then some. I really enjoyed both him and then Garrett. They were great together and I was super happy with their story. After that, I jumped back into a new Ilona Andrews world with On the Edge. That was another fantastic book by Andrews and I’m super excited to continue. After On the Edge, I read On Hart’s Boardwalk by Samantha Young and that was another short but sweet peek into life after 10 years of marriage between a hero and heroine from previous books. Nate still got it, baby! 🙂

Now, I’m diving back into Ilona Andrews backlist by starting Bayou Moon. I haven’t gotten very far in the book but it’s already good. If you’ll excuse me, I’m going to get back to it. Have a great weekend, everyone!

Giveaway Alert

We are very fortunate here at Book Binge. We have loads and loads of books to read and we want to share the wealth so each week, we’ll be tacking on a Freebie Friday giveaway to our What Are You Reading posts. This week, we’re giving away…

What Are You Reading? (+ Historical Giveaway)My Once and Future Duke by Caroline Linden
Series: The Wagers of Sin #1
Published by Avon Books
Publication Date: February 27, 2018
Genres: Historical Romance
Pages: 384
Amazon | Barnes & Noble | The Ripped Bodice | Google Play Books
Goodreads

What happens at the infamous Vega Club . . .

Sophie Campbell is determined to be mistress of her own fate. Surviving on her skill at cards, she never risks what she can’t afford to lose. Yet when the Duke of Ware proposes a scandalous wager that’s too extravagant to refuse, she can’t resist. If she wins, she’ll get five thousand pounds, enough to secure her independence forever.

Stays at the Vega Club . . .

Jack Lindeville, Duke of Ware, tells himself he’s at the Vega Club merely to save his reckless brother from losing everything, but he knows it’s a lie. He can’t keep his eyes off Sophie, and to get her he breaks his ironclad rule against gambling. If he wins, he wants her—for a week.

Until now.

A week with Jack could ruin what’s left of Sophie’s reputation. It might even cost her her heart. But when it comes to love, all bets are off . . .

a Rafflecopter giveaway

What are you reading this week? Any new favorites or books that drove you crazy? Share!


Tagged: , , , ,

Throwback Thursday Review: Abandon the Night by Colleen Gleason

Posted February 15, 2018 by Casee in Reviews | 4 Comments

Throwback Thursday Review: Abandon the Night by Colleen GleasonReviewer: Casee
Abandon the Night by Colleen Gleason
Series: The Heroes of New Vegas #3
Also in this series: Beyond the Night, Embrace the Night , Beyond the Night
Published by Avon Books
Publication Date: March 9th 2010
Genres: Urban Fantasy
Pages: 384
Amazon | Barnes & Noble | The Ripped Bodice | Google Play Books
Goodreads
five-stars

Quent Fielding had it all: money, power, women, good looks...until he and his friends were frozen in time for fifty years.

Now he finds himself lost and alone in a new world of overgrown urban jungles.

Aside from the zombies, wild animals, and survival skills, his biggest challenge is taming the sexy, elusive, sharp-tongued zombie hunter, Zoe Kapoor.

***Every Thursday in 2018 we will be posting throwback reviews of our favorite and not-so-favorite books.

This review was originally posted on March 29, 2010.

This is my favorite book of the first three books in this series. Quent has fascinated me since the beginning, especially since learning that his father was instrumental in The Change. Other than loving Quent and Zoe, the reason this book is so good is how the arc continued. I greatly respect and admire Joss Ware for not dangling bait in front of our eyes only to pull back and tell us to wait. She gave up secrets that I was definitely not expecting in this third book.

Quent and Zoe have an undeniable attraction. After Zoe saves Quent from the gangas, he appropriates one of her custom made ganga-killing arrows. Quent knows Zoe will come for it and he’s not disappointed. What ensues is the hottest sex that Quent has had in his life. So begins the cycle of Zoe “showing up” for the arrows that Quent manages to get his hands on.

Both Quent and Zoe are amazingly closed off characters. Quent had a childhood for hell. With a father that beat him and a mom that just stood by doing nothing, Quent did his best to thwart his father. One night when Zoe was a teenager, she sneaked out of the settlement that her family lived at. When she came back, the settlement was ablaze and everyone inside was dead. Since then, she has lived for vengeance.

Basically what we have here are two people that are hell bent on getting vengeance. Zoe for her family and Quent for everyone his father killed by implementing The Change. After months of strictly sexual meetings, Quent convinces Zoe to let him go with her when she leaves Envy.

To say Zoe was prickly is an understatement. After the tragedy that took her family away from her, she is a full-out hardcore bee-yotch. She doesn’t apologize for her behavior or for who she is. She gives the impression that she doesn’t give a damn about anyone, but that is far from the truth. It’s nothing that is overtly obvious. It’s the little things she does to help people. It’s like the way she risked her life to save Quent when she didn’t even know who he was. It’s helping a woman she doesn’t even know at the risk of getting her revenge.

Quent has a hard time admitting to himself how he feels about Zoe, but he does it. Zoe won’t admit that she needs anyone but herself. She’ll use Quent for sex and tells herself that it’s all she needs for him. Of course she’ll help him find his father, but beyond that they don’t have anything. That wears on a guy like Quent. He can only give so much to Zoe without getting anything back before he’s empty.

When Quent and Zoe finally get to Mecca (the floating island where his father lives), Quent doesn’t expect to get out alive. He enters Mecca as the prodigal son and intends to fool his father into believing that he doesn’t want to kill him. His father purposely draws him into how he affected The Change and what Atlantis has to do with it, knowing that Quent will want to know more. When he shows him the actual jewel that the Atlanteans sent him, Quent knows he can’t leave without it. The only problem is the pesky ability he has to “feel” the past of an object.

I loved how much we learned about Strangers, Quent’s father, Atlantis, etc. If anything, it made me anticipate the next book that much more. This review just can’t do this book justice.

4.75 out of 5.

The New Heroes of Las Vegas

five-stars


Tagged: , , , , , , , ,

Retro-Review: Must Love Mistletoe by Christie Ridgway

Posted December 6, 2017 by Casee in Reviews | 4 Comments

Retro-Review: Must Love Mistletoe by Christie RidgwayReviewer: Casee
Must Love Mistletoe (Holidays, #1) by Christie Ridgway
Series: Holidays #1
Published by Avon Books
Publication Date: December 1st 2006
Genres: Contemporary Romance
Pages: 358
Amazon | Barnes & Noble | The Ripped Bodice | Google Play Books
Goodreads
four-stars

Bailey Sullivan can't stand Christmas, even though her family's business is a store specializing in the perfect holiday. But now her hometown's chief supplier of rooftop Rudolphs and treetop angels is in danger of going under--it's up to Bailey to save the shop.

She has it all planned: She'll arrive on December 1 and be gone by Christmas. Plus there's always spiked eggnog to ease the pain. But "Humbug" Bailey's not the only one home for the holidays. Finn Jacobson--legendary local bad boy-turned-Secret Service agent "and" Bailey's long-lost high-school sweetheart--is once again the boy next door. Only this time he's "all grown up," and the sparks are flying faster and hotter than ever!

Bailey believes in true love about as much as she believes in Santa Claus. But as the holiday draws closer, she's starting to think about one thing she'd like to find under her tree . . .

*****As part of our 10 year anniversary celebration, we’ll be re-posting old reviews and posts that make us cringe, laugh or sigh all over again.*****

Holly: I really love some of Ridgway’s books. I can’t remember if I reviewed this book here, but I do remember I really enjoyed it.

This review was originally posted on December 18, 2008.

I know I’ve said this already, but I love Christmas books. My favorite Christmas book of all time is Some Enchanted Season by Marilyn Pappano. I re-read it every year. I’ve had this book for a few years, but I never got around to reading it. This holiday season, I decided that it was just what I needed.

Bailey Sullivan barely tolerates Christmas. Her idea of a good Christmas is to pretend that it’s not Christmas. Unfortunately this Christmas isn’t going to be what she hoped it was. When she finds out that her parents store, The Perfect Christmas, is in trouble, Bailey immediately heads home. From the moment she sets foot back in her hometown, she’s determined to do what needs to be done and get out. Her deadline is December 25th.

Nothing ever goes according to plan, especially when it comes to Christmas.

Finn Jacobson has never forgotten his GND-Girl Next Door. As a rebellious teen, Finn’s parents decided that the best thing for Finn would be to go spend summers with his grandmother. Though he hated it at first, it didn’t take long for him to fall for Bailey, a girl that was so different from the type of person he was. Finn has never forgiven her for leaving town without a word. When she comes back to town, he decides to keep his distance.

Again, nothing ever goes according to plan.

Bailey is a heroine that has issues, but has never admitted that to herself. When her dad walked out when she was little, Bailey remembers her mom’s devastation. That shaped the woman that she’s become. Though she loves her stepfather, Bailey keeps her distance even from him. The fact that her mom and stepfather have separated only proves Bailey’s point. Still, she has a hard time staying away from Finn, the only person that’s understood her.

This was exactly what I was looking for when I picked it up. It had humor and poignancy. The secondary romance between Bailey’s mom and her stepfather was beyond sweet. Bailey’s inner struggle with her feelings for Finn were extremely sad. She doesn’t easily accept that she needs him in her life. But Christmas is a time for miracles, right?

Grade: 4.25 out of 5

four-stars


Tagged: , , , , , , , , , ,

Review: Lord of Scoundrels by Loretta Chase.

Posted December 1, 2007 by Rowena in Reviews | 10 Comments

Review: Lord of Scoundrels by Loretta Chase.Reviewer: Rowena
Lord of Scoundrels by Loretta Chase
Series: Scoundrels #3
Also in this series: Lord of Scoundrels, The Mad Earl's Bride, The Mad Earl's Bride
Published by Avon Books
Publication Date: January 1995
Point-of-View: Third Person
Genres: Historical Romance
Pages: 384
Amazon | Barnes & Noble | The Ripped Bodice | Google Play Books
Goodreads
five-stars

They call him many names, but Angelic isn't one of them . . .
Sebastian Ballister, the notorious Marquess of Dain, is big, bad, and dangerous to know. No respectable woman would have anything to do with the "Bane and Blight of the Ballisters"—and he wants nothing to do with respectable women. He's determined to continue doing what he does best—sin and sin again—and all that's going swimmingly, thank you . . . until the day a shop door opens and she walks in.
She's too intelligent to fall for the worst man in the world . . .
Jessica Trent is a determined young woman, and she's going to drag her imbecile brother off the road to ruin, no matter what it takes. If saving him—and with him, her family and future—means taking on the devil himself, she won't back down. The trouble is, the devil in question is so shockingly irresistible, and the person who needs the most saving is—herself!

I started this book not too long ago and I’ve finished it already and I’m not too happy about that, as a matter of fact, I’m downright pissed off with myself for finishing the book because, I wasn’t ready to part from these characters. This book was soooo good. I don’t think I had any gripes with this book, AT ALL.

Seriously.

I mean, right from the beginning of the book I was drawn to Dain’s character. When he was that lost little boy of 8 years, grieving for the mother he loved and wanted most of all, to see the scared little boy in the grown adult man made me yearn for him to find that someone that will give him what he so desperately needs…which is love. I was over the moon that Jessica was that woman. She was completely perfect for him, seriously perfect for him.

It was magic every time they were together before they got together, all the witty banter flying back and forth between them was so refreshingly cute and the bickering was such an entertaining way to get to know these two. I loved everything about their relationship, right from the beginning when they both hate each other (but not really) and up to the very end when they’re both utterly besotted with each other and totally in love.

My favorite line in the book is when Dain tells Jess how besotted he is with her and curst if he knows why.

This line:

He pulled away the glove, and at the first glimpse of her fragile, white hand, all thoughts of negotiation fled. “I don’t see how matters could become worst,” he muttered. “I am already besotted with a needle-tongued, conceited, provoking ape leader of a lady.”Her head jerked up. “Besotted? You’re nothing like it. Vengeful is more like it. Spiteful.”

“I must be besotted,” he said evenly. “I have the imbecilic idea that you’re the prettiest girl I’ve ever seen.”

OMGOSH, I frickin’ loved that line, I didn’t like what happened after that little bit of dialogue but I seriously LOVED it. I loved the names they called each other, the first kiss in the storm with him all half naked and following her after she stomped out of the room where he was with his cows.

LOL!

I’m telling you, this book was off the chains fantastic, there wasn’t anything I didn’t like about it. I enjoyed all of the characters, even the butthead characters that got on my hot damn nerves like Vawtry and Bertie…goodness, Bertie was one dumb ass of a character, don’t you think?

My favorite thing about this book though were the names Dain and Jess called each other, my favorite name that Jess called Dain?

A conceited clodpole!

Oh my how I laughed when I read that, all the insults Jess threw his way never ceased to crack me the hell up. This was a fun book, it was all things great and I enjoyed the heck out of it.

I loved the watch that Jess got for her grandmother, I loved the relationship that Jessica shared with her Grandmother, Genevieve and I hella loved when Jessica yelled at Bertie for being a dumb ass when he was trying to get the horses under control, oh man Jessica was the bomb.

Oh dude, and when she shot him? Holy hell, this girl be keepin’ it gangsta! When she went in there, calm as can be and whipped out her gun and shot that fool and then turned around without blinking and walked out like she was Billie Bad Ass, I was rollin’…dude, this girl has got so much nerve and I loved it!

This book was off the chains, ya’ll should totally read this book…one of the things that I worried about throughout the book was that Dain’s bastard wasn’t going to be dealt with but man am I oh so glad that things worked out for the best on that score, I enjoyed getting to know Dominick and to see him grow into the boy that he was at the end…and to see the way that his presence changed Dain into the father he didn’t have, how he changed Dain with Dain not thinking he could, how everything was just so instinctive and for Jess to trust in Dain to do the right thing, sigh it was just jolly lovely!

I LOVE THIS BOOK, if you haven’t read this book, what are you waiting for? FIX THAT PRONTO! GREAT GREAT BOOK!

Scoundrels

five-stars


Tagged: , , , , , ,

Guest Review: Lord of Scoundrels by Loretta Chase

Posted April 27, 2007 by Book Binge Guest Blogger in Reviews | 11 Comments

Guest Review: Lord of Scoundrels by Loretta ChaseReviewer: Isabel
Lord of Scoundrels by Loretta Chase
Series: Scoundrels #3
Also in this series: Lord of Scoundrels, The Mad Earl's Bride, The Mad Earl's Bride
Published by Avon Books
Publication Date: January 1995
Point-of-View: Third Person
Genres: Historical Romance
Pages: 375
Amazon | Barnes & Noble | The Ripped Bodice | Google Play Books
Goodreads
five-stars

DETERMINED LADY

Tough-minded Jessica Trent's sole intention is to free her nitwit brother from the destructive influence of Sebastian Ballister, the notorious Marquess of Dain. She never expects to desire the arrogant, amoral cad. And when Dain's reciprocal passion places them in a scandalously compromising, and public, position, Jessica is left with no choice but to seek satisfaction...

LORD OF SCOUNDRELS

Damn the minx for tempting him, kissing him... and then forcing him to salvage her reputation! Lord Dain can't wait to put the infuriating bluestocking in her place—and in some amorous position. And if that means marriage, so be it!—though Sebastian is less than certain he can continue to remain aloof... and steel his heart to the sensuous, headstrong lady's considerable charms.

I really loved this book. It was soooo good.

First of all, Dain isn’t your normal hero. In the book he’s described as looking like Beelzebub. He’s called “big beak” and referred to as not very handsome and that’s how Dain thinks of himself. Which I found was different. Usually you get these handsome Brad Pitt looking guys. It’s not that Dain is ugly. He’s not. He’s just not like your normal hero.

Dain’s mother, the only person who loved him, ran off when he was young. His father was pretty much disgusted with him. Well, maybe not disgusted, just disappointed. His father had 3 handsome sons who died. So to have a not so handsome son, Dain, left daddy bitter. So Daddy dearest sends Dain away to school. Because he’s picked on, Dain learns to disguise his feelings by laughing things off and making witty remarks. He sounds as if he could care less. And he does. He has a front of being cool and collected. Until Jessica arrives.

You see, she wants her brother to stop hanging around Dain. Her family knows Bertie is an idiot. Dain knows he’s an idiot, so Jessica thinks he’s taking advantage of him. Which… I can’t remember why Dain befriended him in the first place.

Jessica and Dain have a love/hate relationship. However, they both realize they are attracted to each other. Which is nice. Most of the time the heroines deny the feelings they have for the guy. Not Jessica. After meeting Dain, she complains to her grandmother how handsome he is and how she feels something for him. Jessica is smart, feisty, and knows how to stand her ground with Dain. She doesn’t let him push her around. I love how Jessica spar back and forth with Dain. There is one incident where Jessica says she won’t argue with Dain. Which of course he doesn’t believe. After a month, Dain is desperate to have his Jessica back. He hates having a wife who listens and agrees with everything he says and does.

After getting caught in a compromising position at the ball, they are forced to marry. We get a glimpse of Dain caring for Jessica. He gives her a betrothal ring. He spent hours in a shop trying to find a ring for her. The jeweler gave Dain suggestions that made him want to vomit. A birthstone ring. A stone to match her eyes etc. Dain then finds the perfect ring and he knows the reasoning of picking it out is just as sappy as the jeweler’s. It’s a ruby for the girl who shed his blood (she shot him. You have to read it to understand) and diamonds representing the lightning that flashed when she kissed him.

As he waits for her reaction to the ring, he tries to tell himself he doesn’t care what she think. But he does. He really wants her to love the ring. We see even though Dain is the tough guy, all he really wants is to be loved. He is a sensitive person but not whiney sensitive. When Jessica gives Dain a birthday present, he’s shocked. He also treasures it and when asked to give his present up he refuses.

All in all I loved this book. The is much more to the story but you have to read it to find out. These are two quotes I love. There are many more, but these are what I have here at work.

Jessica to Dain:

I love these pet names,” she said, gazing soulfully up into his eyes, “Nitwit. Sap skull. Termagant. How they make my heart flutter!

Dain’s reaction receiving the invitation to a ball is too funny.

A part of his mind recommended he burn it.
Another part suggested he urinate on it.
Another advised him to shove it down Her ladyship’s throat.

Go read this book!

Rating: 5 out of 5.

Scoundrels

five-stars


Tagged: , , , , , , ,