Narrator: Joe Arden

Review: Lead Me Home by A.L. Jackson

Posted November 27, 2019 by Casee in Reviews | 0 Comments

Review: Lead Me Home by A.L. JacksonReviewer: Casee
Lead Me Home by A. L. Jackson
Narrator: Andi Arndt, Joe Arden
Series: Fight for Me #3
Also in this series: Hold on to Hope, Show Me the Way, Follow Me Back
Publisher: Self-Published
Publication Date: April 20, 2018
Format: Audiobook
Source: Purchased
Point-of-View: Alternating First
Genres: Contemporary Romance
Pages: 396
Length: 10 hours and 36 minutes
Add It: Goodreads
Reading Challenges: Casee's 2019 GoodReads Challenge
Amazon | Barnes & Noble | The Ripped Bodice | Google Play Books
three-half-stars
Series Rating: four-stars

Fourteen years ago, my life changed forever.

My sister disappeared. That day I was selfish. That day I chose myself over her. And that day, I lost everything.

Including Nikki Walters.

She's the girl I’ve loved my whole life. She’s gorgeous. Caring. Every single thing I’ve ever wanted but denied myself. She was my sister’s best friend, and I destroyed any chance of keeping her.

When her safety is threatened, I have a second chance to do the right thing. But as soon as she moves in, I want her in all the wrong ways.

All it takes is a brush of her hand, and I’m losing all control.

The fire between us is only burning hotter.

But neither of us saw what was coming.

And it just might be Nikki Walters who destroys me in the end.

Ollie and Nikki have skated around each other since they were kids. The age difference was too vast when they were younger. Now tragedy lays between them and it’s something that neither of them can get past. Nikki has mostly healed after her best friend disappeared without a trace. In her heart, she knows that Sydney is dead. While she mourns for what was lost, she doesn’t let herself exist in the past. Except with it comes to Ollie, Sydney’s brother.

Ollie has not, nor will he ever forgive himself for what happened to Sydney. Although the logical part of himself knows that she dead, he can’t stop searching for her. His entire life revolves around the sister that he was always supposed to protect. Not only did he not protect her, he was the one that sent her away to her unknown fate.

Ollie can’t stay away from Nikki even though he can’t have her. His demons are too great, his soul in shreds. When someone starts harassing Nikki, Ollie steps in to protect her. It doesn’t matter that he can’t give her what she wants…Ollie will never let anything happen to the girl who should have been his. When the situation escalates, their relationship escalates as well. Nikki can’t take the pushing and pulling any longer and tells him that he needs to let her go. And leave her alone. That’s not something that Ollie can promise.

I really liked this book, but it wasn’t my favorite in the series. The way the killer (yes, killer) is found at the end and how it all ties into the story was pretty campy. That didn’t take away from the story as a whole. I really loved seeing Ollie heal with Nikki’s help.

Rating: 3.75 out of 5.

Fight For Me

three-half-stars


Tagged: , , , , , ,

Review: Follow Me Back by A.L. Jackson

Posted November 26, 2019 by Casee in Reviews | 0 Comments

Review: Follow Me Back by A.L. JacksonReviewer: Casee
Follow Me Back by A. L. Jackson
Narrator: Joe Arden, Andi Arndt
Series: Fight for Me #2
Also in this series: Hold on to Hope, Show Me the Way, Lead Me Home
Publisher: Self-Published
Publication Date: January 6, 2018
Format: Audiobook
Source: Purchased
Point-of-View: Alternating First
Genres: Contemporary Romance
Pages: 408
Length: 11 hours and 28 minutes
Add It: Goodreads
Reading Challenges: Casee's 2019 GoodReads Challenge
Amazon | Barnes & Noble | The Ripped Bodice | Google Play Books
four-stars
Series Rating: four-stars

The next seductive, unforgettable stand-alone romance in the FIGHT FOR ME series from NYT & USA Today Bestselling Author A.L. Jackson...

Kale Bryant. Arrogant. Gorgeous. Commanding.This ER doctor is married to his job.His only vice is one-night stands and short-lived flings.He learned a long time ago loving someone isn’t worth the risk.

Harley Hope Masterson.Beautiful. Brave. Sweet. The owner of a small coffee shop knows what it’s like to struggle.Embroiled in a bitter divorce, she’s threatened with losing everything.

When Kale accepts a new position down the street from Hope’s shop, he begins to question every wall he’s built around his heart. He wants her in a way he hasn’t wanted anyone.One touch is fire.One kiss, and he’s spinning out of control. But taking her won’t come without consequences.

Hope is in for the fight of her life.One neither of them saw coming.Now Kale must decide if loving her is worth risking it all.

She will fight with everything she has. But sometimes even hope needs a hero...

Kale Bryant is one of the best doctors in Gingham Lakes. Deciding to leave the ER to help children is the best and hardest thing he’s ever done. He sees sick children daily and although the science is invigorating, seeing young patients that he knows are dying is something else entirely. When Hope Masterson comes into his life he is hardly prepared for the effect she has on him. Kale has resorted himself to being alone, though he’s hardly lonely. He has something in his past that won’t let him move on. Even the beautiful Hope can’t make that happen.

Hope Masterson has moved to Gingham Lakes with her son to get away from her abusive ex-husband. Her little boy Evan (Hold on to Hope) had to have a heart transplant when he was just a baby. Her ex’s response was “we can try again”. Hope never forgave him for that and their marriage went downhill after Evan was born. When Kale comes into her life, she’s puts him firmly in customer territory. That is until they meet Evan’s new doctor.

Kale falls in love with Evan at first sight. It’s honestly hard not to. The character of Evan was so well written. If you didn’t love him, something is definitely wrong with you. As Evan’s doctor, it would be unethical for Kale to pursue Hope, especially since he has no plans for long term. He don’t want to hurt Hope or Evan. Of course he can’t stay away and he’s soon deeply entrenched in their lives.

I loved this book. I loved Kale, Hope, and Evan. I just loved it all. There is a twist at the end (Jackson has a way of doing that) that was unseen to me. I’m honestly not surprised because everything gets by me. It was quite the twist, but it worked. Kale and Hope’s lives have been intertwined from the beginning though they didn’t know it. Of course Kale won’t let Hope and Evan go out of his life. Everything progresses nicely after that.

Rating: 4 out of 5.

Fight For Me

four-stars


Tagged: , , , , , ,

Series Review: Mount Trilogy by Meghan March

Posted September 27, 2019 by Casee in Reviews | 1 Comment

I really enjoyed this trilogy, but it will not be everyone’s cup of tea.

Series Review: Mount Trilogy by Meghan MarchReviewer: Casee
Ruthless King by Meghan March
Narrator: Grace Grant, Joe Arden
Series: Mount Trilogy #1
Publisher: Self-Published
Publication Date: October 17, 2017
Format: Audiobook
Source: Purchased
Point-of-View: Alternating First
Content Warning: View Spoiler »
Genres: Contemporary Romance
Pages: 350
Length: 5 hours and 49 minutes
Add It: Goodreads
Reading Challenges: Casee's 2019 GoodReads Challenge
Amazon | Barnes & Noble | The Ripped Bodice | Google Play Books
four-stars
Series Rating: four-stars

Get ready for the darker and dirtier side of New Orleans with a brand new alpha romance from USA Today bestselling author Meghan March.

New Orleans belongs to me. You don’t know my name, but I control everything you see—and all the things you don’t. My reach knows no bounds, and my demands are always met. I didn’t need to loan money to a failing family distillery, but it amuses me to have them in my debt. To have her in my debt. She doesn’t know she caught my attention. She should’ve been more careful. I’m going to own her. Consume her. Maybe even keep her. It’s time to collect what I’m owed. Keira Kilgore, you’re now the property of Lachlan Mount.

*Ruthless King is book 1 of the Mount Trilogy. Mount and Keira’s story is anticipated to be completed in Fall 2017 with Defiant Queen and Sinful Empire.*

But tell me the truth about one thing. When was the last time you were fucked by a real man? Someone who knows what you need. Someone who’ll take control from you and give you what you’ve been dying for.

Lachlan Mount is the most feared man in all of New Orleans. He rules the city with an iron fist. He gets what he wants, when he wants. What he wants is Keira Kilgore. Keira runs her family’s whiskey distillery. After she is widowed (right before her divorce was finalized), Keira knows her business is in trouble. Hundreds of thousands of dollars in debt, Keira is not sure how she will keep the doors open. Then Lachlan Mount shows up at her door. He paid off her loans. What he expects in return is her.

What was hard about this books is that Keira was so unwilling to do what Mount wanted. Yet her body responded to him. Kiera has always had her head in the clouds about the person she would fall in love with. One of her stipulations to herself is that the chemistry be off the charts. Though Mount invokes that response in her, it’s something she doesn’t want.

This book was different that the usual March books. I did enjoy it because I enjoyed the strength of both characters. Mount literally pulled himself out of the gutter. He doesn’t know how to ask for what he wants, he just takes it. He thought he would have Keira until he tired of her, but that’s not happening. If anything, his feelings grow.

Rating: 3.75 out of 5.

Series Review: Mount Trilogy by Meghan MarchReviewer: Casee
Defiant Queen by Meghan March
Narrator: Grace Grant, Joe Arden
Series: Mount Trilogy #2
Publisher: Self-Published
Publication Date: November 14, 2017
Format: Audiobook
Source: Purchased
Point-of-View: Alternating First
Content Warning: View Spoiler »
Genres: Contemporary Romance
Pages: 252
Length: 5 hours and 30 minutes
Add It: Goodreads
Reading Challenges: Casee's 2019 GoodReads Challenge
Amazon | Barnes & Noble | The Ripped Bodice | Google Play Books
four-stars
Series Rating: four-stars

The Mount Trilogy continues with Defiant Queen...

I’m his entertainment. His toy. Payment on a debt. I tell myself I hate him, but every time he walks into the room, my body betrays me. How can I want him and fear him in the same moment? They told me he’d mess with my head. Make it go to war with my body. But I didn’t realize it would be complete anarchy. I should’ve known better. When Mount’s involved, there are no rules. I will not surrender. I will not show weakness. I’ll stand my ground and make it out of this bargain with my heart and soul intact. But he has other plans . . .

Defiant Queen is the second book of the Mount Trilogy. Mount and Keira's story concludes in Sinful Empire.

This was only ever supposed to be sex. Repayment on a debt owed. But it has spiraled out of control, and now I’m terrified it’s becoming something else entirely—which is impossible.

In Defiant Queen, Mount is running into a problem. He doesn’t want to let Kiera go. Ever. The problem is that he doesn’t know how to change their relationship. Mount made her come to him through manipulation, but now Mount wants her to want to be with him. Which is easier said than done. He is up for the challenge. He’s never lost something he’s wanted and he’s not starting now.

I really enjoyed Kiera’s growth in this book. Although she’s not happy with her current situation, she’s willing to do anything to keep her family’s business running. When she starts developing feelings for Mount outside their usual chemistry, she’s taken aback. Still, she faces it like the strong person she is.

Rating: 3.75 out of 5.

Series Review: Mount Trilogy by Meghan MarchReviewer: Casee
Sinful Empire (Mount Trilogy, #3) by Meghan March
Narrator: Grace Grant, Joe Arden
Series: Mount Trilogy #3
Publisher: Self-Published
Publication Date: December 19, 2017
Format: Audiobook
Source: Purchased
Point-of-View: Alternating First
Content Warning: View Spoiler »
Genres: Contemporary Romance
Pages: 243
Length: 5 hours and 28 minutes
Add It: Goodreads
Reading Challenges: Casee's 2019 GoodReads Challenge
Amazon | Barnes & Noble | The Ripped Bodice | Google Play Books
Series Rating: four-stars

The Mount Trilogy concludes with Sinful Empire!

What’s mine, I keep, and that includes Keira Kilgore.It’s no longer enough to have her in my debt. No longer enough to own her body.I want something more.She can try to resist, but I’ll never give her up.Nothing will keep us apart.Not her. Not my enemies. No one.Her debt will only be paid one way—with her heart.

Sinful Empire is the third and final book in the Mount Trilogy.

She’s mine. She’s staying mine. Even my black heart couldn’t handle losing her. I will keep her safe with my very last breath, if necessary.

This is the final book in the trilogy and the best one, in my opinion. Mount and Kiera have both finally accepted the unexpected. They are in love. It’s the kind of love that is once in a lifetime and something they would both kill to keep.

What I loved so much about this series is how Mount and Kiera’s relationship evolved. Mount is an anti-hero while Kiera is your quintessential heroine. The way they made it work just did something for me. I wasn’t going to continue this series after book one, but I couldn’t stop myself. I was obsessed with finding out what happened.

Rating: 4 out of 5.

four-stars


Tagged: , , , , , , ,

Review: More of You by A. L. Jackson

Posted September 17, 2019 by Casee in Reviews | 0 Comments

Review: More of You by A. L. JacksonReviewer: Casee
More of You by A. L. Jackson
Narrator: Andi Arndt, Joe Arden
Series: Confessions of the Heart #1
Publisher: Self-Published
Publication Date: September 19, 2018
Format: Audiobook
Source: Purchased
Point-of-View: Alternating First
Content Warning: View Spoiler »
Length: 11 hours and 35 minutes
Add It: Goodreads
Reading Challenges: Casee's 2019 GoodReads Challenge, New to Me Challenge
Amazon | Barnes & Noble | The Ripped Bodice | Google Play Books
four-stars
Series Rating: four-stars

My daddy warned me never to fall for a boy like Jace Jacobs...

The second I saw him walk through the door, I knew he was trouble.A gorgeous rebel with a bad attitude and a huge chip on his shoulder.My heart warned me. I didn’t listen. I saw something protective and good beneath the fierce, tough exterior.I fell hard and fast.He promised we’d be together forever, and then left me with a broken heart.Now, ten years later, Jace Jacobs is standing at my door.Sexier than he’s ever been.Provocative and commanding.Successful and powerful.The man I always knew he would become.But I promised myself I’d never lose my heart to him again.Even time couldn’t dim our chemistry. One glance of his intense eyes, and I become weak. One brush of his hand, and he brings me to my knees.Little do I know, Jace holds the key to everything I’ve lost and everything that threatens my future.Now he will either save me, or he will break me all over again . . .

More of You – a Confessions of the Heart second-chance, stand-alone romance

This is yet another new-to-me author. I’ve seen her books mentioned, but wasn’t really interested. I’ve decided to have more of an open mind when it comes to new authors. I’m really glad I picked this one up because it was amazing.

Faith has been in love with Jace since high school. He was the bad boy, she was the good girl. She felt an inexplicable draw toward him from the moment she saw him. When Jace’s life takes an abrupt turn for the worse, he leaves her with a broken heart. She doesn’t know why he left, only that he did. Now as a widow with a toddler, Faith is doing the best she can. However, there is something sinister lurking and she has know idea what it could be. Then Jace shows up at her door after ten years.

For as long as Jace can remember, he has been the protector of his little brother and his cousin. He protects them from their mother and from the men in her life. When he met Faith, it was life changing for him. He was in love. They made big plans. Then it all went to crap when his cousin put drugs in his backpack. Jace was eighteen when he was framed by his cousin, so he went to jail. After he is released, he immediately goes to find Faith. And finds her married to the cousin that framed him.

Now his cousin is dead. Murdered by an unknown assailant. Jace knows that he was into something shady and it’s now spilling into Faith’s life. While Jace wants to be bitter that she married and had a child with her cousin (a child that should have been his), Jace will not let Faith and Bailey go unprotected. He soon is immersed in her life. As the days pass by, Jace is certain that he will not let her go.

Like I said, I really liked this book. It was about two lovers reuniting after years apart. They find out that a love one has betrayed both of them. All stemming from jealousy and greed. I loved how Jace instantly loved Bailey, even though he didn’t want to. He was such a good hero. Jace was totally given a bum deal, but he’s not only living his life, he’s thriving. As for Faith, I didn’t like her at first. She really loved Jace that much, then turned around and married his cousin? WTAF. It was sort of explained, but I tried not to think about it. What can I say?

You should read it.

Rating: 4 out of 5.

Confessions of the Heart

four-stars


Tagged: , , , , , ,

Review: Anatomy of a Player by Cindi Madsen

Posted April 17, 2019 by Rowena in Reviews | 1 Comment

Review: Anatomy of a Player by Cindi MadsenReviewer: Rowena
Anatomy of a Player by Cindi Madsen
Narrator: Joe Arden, Kristin Watson Heintz
Series: Taking Shots #2
Also in this series: Getting Lucky Number Seven
Publisher: Entangled, Entangled Embrace
Publication Date: January 25, 2016
Format: Audiobook
Point-of-View: Alternating First
Genres: New Adult
Length: 9 hours, 52 minutes
Add It: Goodreads
Reading Challenges: Rowena's 2019 GoodReads Challenge
Amazon | Barnes & Noble | The Ripped Bodice | Google Play Books
three-half-stars
Series Rating: four-stars

A new adult romance from Entangled's Embrace imprint...

This bad boy is about to get played…

After getting her heart broken by a player again, Whitney Porter is done with men. She's focusing on her future career and her first assignment at the college newspaper: Posing as a sports writer for an exposé on the extra perks jocks receive. But Hudson Decker, the bad boy of the hockey team, is about to test her resolve. To keep herself from breaking her no-sex rule with the temptingly tattooed athlete, she decides to use him for a side project: Anatomy of a Player, to help Whitney—and women everywhere—spot a player, learn what makes him tick, and how to avoid falling for one.

With his life spiraling out of control, Hudson Decker's looking for a distraction. When his teammates bet him that he can't land the gorgeous but prickly new reporter, he accepts the challenge, boasting he'll have her in bed by the end of the semester. But Whitney is so much more than Hudson expected, and soon enough, he's in too deep. The last thing he needs is another complication, but staying away isn't an option. One thing's for certain: this girl totally throws him off his game.

Anatomy of a Player is the second book in Cindi Madsen’s Taking Shots series and it was another quick listen for me. I listened to the entire book in a day and let the drama between Hudson and Whitney take me away for a while. I will say right off the bat that I enjoyed the first book in this series more than I did this one. The best friends trope gets me every time but on top of that, both Hudson and Whitney got on my nerves quite a bit while listening to their story.

After Whitney gets dumped yet again, she swears off boys and promises herself that she’s going to focus on school and get her journalism degree poppin’ by joining the school paper but the only job at the paper that she can get is as the reporter covering the hockey team. She also pitches a story that will expose the athletes at the school, the hockey team in particular, of breezing through school while the rest of the non-athletes bust their asses to stay afloat. Her job is to get as close as she can to the team, develop friendships so that they’ll tell her all of their secrets and she can bust their trust in her wide open when she betrays them all…for the glory of a story. This was my least favorite part of the story. I’m not a fan of journalist heroines and I was prepared to be annoyed as shit over Whitney’s plan but it wasn’t Whitney’s plan that I hated most about her. It was how immature she was that annoyed the snot out of me.

Hudson had his own stuff that he was working through and he annoyed me with the immature way that he handled his problems (he didn’t, he just partied too hard to distract himself) but over the course of the book, you see him grow into his own and when he finally starts to deal with his issues and everything in his life, Whitney included, I really liked the person he became.

The romance between Hudson and Whitney was solid and I did root for them, at the same time that I wanted to strangle them both but I chalked up their immaturity to their age and was able to let a lot of things slide and enjoy the story, them as characters, and just everything. Cindi Madsen’s writing style is easy to follow along with and I appreciated that. Hudson and Whitney did grow on me and I was satisfied with the way that their romance came together in the end. It was believable and I’m definitely interested in continuing the story.

Grade: 3.5 out of 5

Taking Shots

three-half-stars


Tagged: , , , , , ,