Narrator: Joe Arden

Series Review: Mount Trilogy by Meghan March

Posted September 27, 2019 by Casee in Reviews | 1 Comment

I really enjoyed this trilogy, but it will not be everyone’s cup of tea.

Series Review: Mount Trilogy by Meghan MarchReviewer: Casee
Ruthless King by Meghan March
Narrator: Grace Grant, Joe Arden
Series: Mount Trilogy #1
Publisher: Self-Published
Publication Date: October 17, 2017
Format: Audiobook
Source: Purchased
Point-of-View: Alternating First
Content Warning: View Spoiler »
Genres: Contemporary Romance
Pages: 350
Length: 5 hours and 49 minutes
Add It: Goodreads
Reading Challenges: Casee's 2019 GoodReads Challenge, GoodReads Challenge
Amazon | Barnes & Noble | The Ripped Bodice | Google Play Books
four-stars
Series Rating: four-stars

Get ready for the darker and dirtier side of New Orleans with a brand new alpha romance from USA Today bestselling author Meghan March.

New Orleans belongs to me. You don’t know my name, but I control everything you see—and all the things you don’t. My reach knows no bounds, and my demands are always met. I didn’t need to loan money to a failing family distillery, but it amuses me to have them in my debt. To have her in my debt. She doesn’t know she caught my attention. She should’ve been more careful. I’m going to own her. Consume her. Maybe even keep her. It’s time to collect what I’m owed. Keira Kilgore, you’re now the property of Lachlan Mount.

*Ruthless King is book 1 of the Mount Trilogy. Mount and Keira’s story is anticipated to be completed in Fall 2017 with Defiant Queen and Sinful Empire.*

But tell me the truth about one thing. When was the last time you were fucked by a real man? Someone who knows what you need. Someone who’ll take control from you and give you what you’ve been dying for.

Lachlan Mount is the most feared man in all of New Orleans. He rules the city with an iron fist. He gets what he wants, when he wants. What he wants is Keira Kilgore. Keira runs her family’s whiskey distillery. After she is widowed (right before her divorce was finalized), Keira knows her business is in trouble. Hundreds of thousands of dollars in debt, Keira is not sure how she will keep the doors open. Then Lachlan Mount shows up at her door. He paid off her loans. What he expects in return is her.

What was hard about this books is that Keira was so unwilling to do what Mount wanted. Yet her body responded to him. Kiera has always had her head in the clouds about the person she would fall in love with. One of her stipulations to herself is that the chemistry be off the charts. Though Mount invokes that response in her, it’s something she doesn’t want.

This book was different that the usual March books. I did enjoy it because I enjoyed the strength of both characters. Mount literally pulled himself out of the gutter. He doesn’t know how to ask for what he wants, he just takes it. He thought he would have Keira until he tired of her, but that’s not happening. If anything, his feelings grow.

Rating: 3.75 out of 5.

Series Review: Mount Trilogy by Meghan MarchReviewer: Casee
Defiant Queen by Meghan March
Narrator: Grace Grant, Joe Arden
Series: Mount Trilogy #2
Publisher: Self-Published
Publication Date: November 14, 2017
Format: Audiobook
Source: Purchased
Point-of-View: Alternating First
Content Warning: View Spoiler »
Genres: Contemporary Romance
Pages: 252
Length: 5 hours and 30 minutes
Add It: Goodreads
Reading Challenges: Casee's 2019 GoodReads Challenge, GoodReads Challenge
Amazon | Barnes & Noble | The Ripped Bodice | Google Play Books
four-stars
Series Rating: four-stars

The Mount Trilogy continues with Defiant Queen...

I’m his entertainment. His toy. Payment on a debt. I tell myself I hate him, but every time he walks into the room, my body betrays me. How can I want him and fear him in the same moment? They told me he’d mess with my head. Make it go to war with my body. But I didn’t realize it would be complete anarchy. I should’ve known better. When Mount’s involved, there are no rules. I will not surrender. I will not show weakness. I’ll stand my ground and make it out of this bargain with my heart and soul intact. But he has other plans . . .

Defiant Queen is the second book of the Mount Trilogy. Mount and Keira's story concludes in Sinful Empire.

This was only ever supposed to be sex. Repayment on a debt owed. But it has spiraled out of control, and now I’m terrified it’s becoming something else entirely—which is impossible.

In Defiant Queen, Mount is running into a problem. He doesn’t want to let Kiera go. Ever. The problem is that he doesn’t know how to change their relationship. Mount made her come to him through manipulation, but now Mount wants her to want to be with him. Which is easier said than done. He is up for the challenge. He’s never lost something he’s wanted and he’s not starting now.

I really enjoyed Kiera’s growth in this book. Although she’s not happy with her current situation, she’s willing to do anything to keep her family’s business running. When she starts developing feelings for Mount outside their usual chemistry, she’s taken aback. Still, she faces it like the strong person she is.

Rating: 3.75 out of 5.

Series Review: Mount Trilogy by Meghan MarchReviewer: Casee
Sinful Empire (Mount Trilogy, #3) by Meghan March
Narrator: Grace Grant, Joe Arden
Series: Mount Trilogy #3
Publisher: Self-Published
Publication Date: December 19, 2017
Format: Audiobook
Source: Purchased
Point-of-View: Alternating First
Content Warning: View Spoiler »
Genres: Contemporary Romance
Pages: 243
Length: 5 hours and 28 minutes
Add It: Goodreads
Reading Challenges: Casee's 2019 GoodReads Challenge, GoodReads Challenge
Amazon | Barnes & Noble | The Ripped Bodice | Google Play Books
Series Rating: four-stars

The Mount Trilogy concludes with Sinful Empire!

What’s mine, I keep, and that includes Keira Kilgore.It’s no longer enough to have her in my debt. No longer enough to own her body.I want something more.She can try to resist, but I’ll never give her up.Nothing will keep us apart.Not her. Not my enemies. No one.Her debt will only be paid one way—with her heart.

Sinful Empire is the third and final book in the Mount Trilogy.

She’s mine. She’s staying mine. Even my black heart couldn’t handle losing her. I will keep her safe with my very last breath, if necessary.

This is the final book in the trilogy and the best one, in my opinion. Mount and Kiera have both finally accepted the unexpected. They are in love. It’s the kind of love that is once in a lifetime and something they would both kill to keep.

What I loved so much about this series is how Mount and Kiera’s relationship evolved. Mount is an anti-hero while Kiera is your quintessential heroine. The way they made it work just did something for me. I wasn’t going to continue this series after book one, but I couldn’t stop myself. I was obsessed with finding out what happened.

Rating: 4 out of 5.

four-stars


Tagged: , , , , , , ,

Review: More of You by A. L. Jackson

Posted September 17, 2019 by Casee in Reviews | 0 Comments

Review: More of You by A. L. JacksonReviewer: Casee
More of You by A. L. Jackson
Narrator: Andi Arndt, Joe Arden
Series: Confessions of the Heart #1
Publisher: Self-Published
Publication Date: September 19, 2018
Format: Audiobook
Source: Purchased
Point-of-View: Alternating First
Content Warning: View Spoiler »
Length: 11 hours and 35 minutes
Add It: Goodreads
Reading Challenges: Casee's 2019 GoodReads Challenge, GoodReads Challenge, New to Me Challenge
Amazon | Barnes & Noble | The Ripped Bodice | Google Play Books
four-stars
Series Rating: four-stars

My daddy warned me never to fall for a boy like Jace Jacobs...

The second I saw him walk through the door, I knew he was trouble.A gorgeous rebel with a bad attitude and a huge chip on his shoulder.My heart warned me. I didn’t listen. I saw something protective and good beneath the fierce, tough exterior.I fell hard and fast.He promised we’d be together forever, and then left me with a broken heart.Now, ten years later, Jace Jacobs is standing at my door.Sexier than he’s ever been.Provocative and commanding.Successful and powerful.The man I always knew he would become.But I promised myself I’d never lose my heart to him again.Even time couldn’t dim our chemistry. One glance of his intense eyes, and I become weak. One brush of his hand, and he brings me to my knees.Little do I know, Jace holds the key to everything I’ve lost and everything that threatens my future.Now he will either save me, or he will break me all over again . . .

More of You – a Confessions of the Heart second-chance, stand-alone romance

This is yet another new-to-me author. I’ve seen her books mentioned, but wasn’t really interested. I’ve decided to have more of an open mind when it comes to new authors. I’m really glad I picked this one up because it was amazing.

Faith has been in love with Jace since high school. He was the bad boy, she was the good girl. She felt an inexplicable draw toward him from the moment she saw him. When Jace’s life takes an abrupt turn for the worse, he leaves her with a broken heart. She doesn’t know why he left, only that he did. Now as a widow with a toddler, Faith is doing the best she can. However, there is something sinister lurking and she has know idea what it could be. Then Jace shows up at her door after ten years.

For as long as Jace can remember, he has been the protector of his little brother and his cousin. He protects them from their mother and from the men in her life. When he met Faith, it was life changing for him. He was in love. They made big plans. Then it all went to crap when his cousin put drugs in his backpack. Jace was eighteen when he was framed by his cousin, so he went to jail. After he is released, he immediately goes to find Faith. And finds her married to the cousin that framed him.

Now his cousin is dead. Murdered by an unknown assailant. Jace knows that he was into something shady and it’s now spilling into Faith’s life. While Jace wants to be bitter that she married and had a child with her cousin (a child that should have been his), Jace will not let Faith and Bailey go unprotected. He soon is immersed in her life. As the days pass by, Jace is certain that he will not let her go.

Like I said, I really liked this book. It was about two lovers reuniting after years apart. They find out that a love one has betrayed both of them. All stemming from jealousy and greed. I loved how Jace instantly loved Bailey, even though he didn’t want to. He was such a good hero. Jace was totally given a bum deal, but he’s not only living his life, he’s thriving. As for Faith, I didn’t like her at first. She really loved Jace that much, then turned around and married his cousin? WTAF. It was sort of explained, but I tried not to think about it. What can I say?

You should read it.

Rating: 4 out of 5.

Confessions of the Heart

four-stars


Tagged: , , , , , ,

Review: Anatomy of a Player by Cindi Madsen

Posted April 17, 2019 by Rowena in Reviews | 1 Comment

Review: Anatomy of a Player by Cindi MadsenReviewer: Rowena
Anatomy of a Player by Cindi Madsen
Narrator: Joe Arden, Kristin Watson Heintz
Series: Taking Shots #2
Also in this series: Getting Lucky Number Seven
Publisher: Entangled, Entangled Embrace
Publication Date: January 25, 2016
Format: Audiobook
Point-of-View: Alternating First
Genres: New Adult
Length: 9 hours, 52 minutes
Add It: Goodreads
Reading Challenges: Rowena's 2019 GoodReads Challenge
Amazon | Barnes & Noble | The Ripped Bodice | Google Play Books
three-half-stars
Series Rating: four-stars

A new adult romance from Entangled's Embrace imprint...

This bad boy is about to get played…

After getting her heart broken by a player again, Whitney Porter is done with men. She's focusing on her future career and her first assignment at the college newspaper: Posing as a sports writer for an exposé on the extra perks jocks receive. But Hudson Decker, the bad boy of the hockey team, is about to test her resolve. To keep herself from breaking her no-sex rule with the temptingly tattooed athlete, she decides to use him for a side project: Anatomy of a Player, to help Whitney—and women everywhere—spot a player, learn what makes him tick, and how to avoid falling for one.

With his life spiraling out of control, Hudson Decker's looking for a distraction. When his teammates bet him that he can't land the gorgeous but prickly new reporter, he accepts the challenge, boasting he'll have her in bed by the end of the semester. But Whitney is so much more than Hudson expected, and soon enough, he's in too deep. The last thing he needs is another complication, but staying away isn't an option. One thing's for certain: this girl totally throws him off his game.

Anatomy of a Player is the second book in Cindi Madsen’s Taking Shots series and it was another quick listen for me. I listened to the entire book in a day and let the drama between Hudson and Whitney take me away for a while. I will say right off the bat that I enjoyed the first book in this series more than I did this one. The best friends trope gets me every time but on top of that, both Hudson and Whitney got on my nerves quite a bit while listening to their story.

After Whitney gets dumped yet again, she swears off boys and promises herself that she’s going to focus on school and get her journalism degree poppin’ by joining the school paper but the only job at the paper that she can get is as the reporter covering the hockey team. She also pitches a story that will expose the athletes at the school, the hockey team in particular, of breezing through school while the rest of the non-athletes bust their asses to stay afloat. Her job is to get as close as she can to the team, develop friendships so that they’ll tell her all of their secrets and she can bust their trust in her wide open when she betrays them all…for the glory of a story. This was my least favorite part of the story. I’m not a fan of journalist heroines and I was prepared to be annoyed as shit over Whitney’s plan but it wasn’t Whitney’s plan that I hated most about her. It was how immature she was that annoyed the snot out of me.

Hudson had his own stuff that he was working through and he annoyed me with the immature way that he handled his problems (he didn’t, he just partied too hard to distract himself) but over the course of the book, you see him grow into his own and when he finally starts to deal with his issues and everything in his life, Whitney included, I really liked the person he became.

The romance between Hudson and Whitney was solid and I did root for them, at the same time that I wanted to strangle them both but I chalked up their immaturity to their age and was able to let a lot of things slide and enjoy the story, them as characters, and just everything. Cindi Madsen’s writing style is easy to follow along with and I appreciated that. Hudson and Whitney did grow on me and I was satisfied with the way that their romance came together in the end. It was believable and I’m definitely interested in continuing the story.

Grade: 3.5 out of 5

Taking Shots

three-half-stars


Tagged: , , , , , ,

Review: Cake by J. Bengtsson

Posted March 19, 2019 by Casee in Reviews | 3 Comments

Review: Cake by J. BengtssonReviewer: Casee
Cake (Cake, #1) by J. Bengtsson
Narrator: Andi Arndt, Joe Arden
Series: Cake #1
Publisher: Self-Published
Publication Date: May 14, 2016
Format: Audiobook
Source: Audible Escape
Point-of-View: Alternating First
Genres: Contemporary Romance
Pages: 611
Length: 12 hours and 42 minutes
Add It: Goodreads
Reading Challenges: Casee's 2019 GoodReads Challenge
Amazon | Barnes & Noble | The Ripped Bodice | Google Play Books
four-stars
Series Rating: four-stars

Jake McKallister might have been a rock star, but he was no ordinary one. Surviving an unspeakable crime as a young teen had shaped him into a guarded workaholic, and he now lived his life trying to forget. If it hadn’t been for music and the redemption he found through it, he might not have survived. Career success came easily for him. Personal connections did not.

When outspoken, vivacious college student Casey Caldwell was paired with the famously reserved rockstar for a friend’s wedding, she was prepared for the worst. What could they possibly have in common? She was a bubbly talker; he was a reclusive loner. His life was filled with music; she couldn’t carry a tune. She’d enjoyed a happy childhood; his was a well-publicized nightmare.

Yet despite their obvious differences, Jake and Casey found each other, and her light balanced out his darkness. Would their love be strong enough to survive the weight of his tragic past?

AUTHOR'S NOTE: This is a *full-length* standalone romance. Cake is a love story at heart but does deal with a sensitive topic and may not be for all. Due to strong language and sexual content, this book is not intended for readers under the age of eighteen.

Cake is the first book in the Cake series. The series follows the McKallister family. This book is about Jake McKallister, the rockstar of the family. No really, he’s seriously a rockstar. Like, for real.

Casey Caldwell never thought she would be walking down the aisle with Jake McKallister. Yet that is exactly what she is doing when she is paired up with him at her friend Kate’s wedding to Jake’s brother. Casey is an easygoing person. She can tell a joke, likes pulling pranks, and is just generally funny. Tbh, her jokes and pranks got old after awhile. Casey and Jake really hit it off during the rehearsal dinner when Casey pranked Jake.

Jake is instantly intrigued by Casey. No one pranks him. Literally no one. There is no one in his life that is bold enough to try. Now he can’t get Casey out of his mind. Jake doesn’t normally do relationships, but he finds himself wanting more from Casey. They decide to keep in touch after the wedding and soon after that, Jake invites Casey to come on tour with him for two weeks.

Their relationship is going swimmingly until Jake’s past starts to come between them. Jake went through a horrific experience during his childhood. That experience has shaped his current relationships and his life as an adult. Jake doesn’t talk about it. He won’t talk about it. Casey accepts that to a certain point. It causes friction between the two until Casey wonders if their relationship can withstand he strain.

Cake was a love story between two people that didn’t see it coming. It was about moving on from the past. It was about healing. It was about fighting for something you knew was worth fighting for. I listened to this book on audio and the narrators were really good. I was instantly pulled into the book and listened to it in a few days.

I’m looking forward to listening to the rest of the series.

Rating: 4 out of 5.

Cake

four-stars


Tagged: , , , , , , ,