Genre: Urban Fantasy

Review: Sin & Salvation by K.F. Breene

Posted July 1, 2019 by Holly in Reviews | 1 Comment

Review: Sin & Salvation by K.F. BreeneReviewer: Holly
Sin & Salvation by K.F. Breene
Series: Demigods of San Francisco #3
Also in this series: Sin & Chocolate , Sin & Magic
Publisher: Self-Published
Publication Date: March 19, 2019
Format: eBook
Source: Purchased
Point-of-View: Alternating First and Third
Cliffhanger: View Spoiler »
Content Warning: View Spoiler »
Genres: Urban Fantasy
Pages: 432
Add It: Goodreads
Reading Challenges: GoodReads Challenge, Holly's 2019 GoodReads Challenge
Amazon | Barnes & Noble | The Ripped Bodice | Google Play Books
four-stars
Series Rating: four-stars

Valens has noticed his two missing employees. It won't be long before he knows who is responsible.

It won't be long before he claims his vengeance.

The race is on. Kieran and Lexi must scrape together an army worthy of taking on the Demigod of San Francisco before he destroys them all.

But Valens isn't Lexi's only problem. Mordecai's rapid recovery has been noticed, and he has once again become a threat to his old pack.

Lexi's little family is in jeopardy of being torn apart, and to save them...she must finally embrace what it means to be a Soul Stealer.

Sin & Salvation, book 3 in the Demigods of San Francisco series by K.F. Breene, picks up right where Sin & Magic left off. I highly recommend reading the series in order.

After taking out two of Valens’ (the Demigod of San Francisco) high-level employees, and freeing Keiran’s mom’s spirit, Lexi and Kieran are waiting for the other shoe to drop. They know it’s only a matter of time until Valens traces everything back to them. Kieran is gathering his troops and allies, and Lexi is doing her best to learn her magic. Because all signs point to her being the tipping point in the war against Valens. Lexi is also determined to free the all the spirits Valens has trapped. The more she taps into her magic, the higher the risk of exposing herself and her wards.

The series has been building toward an epic battle between Kieran and his father, which we finally get in this book. I’ll be honest, I was a little disappointed in it. I expected a little bigger bang than I got. Still, I liked how kickass Lexi was, and how quick she picked up her skills. I liked the development of the romance in this book better than in the last. I really loved seeing Mordie and Daisy come into their own, and I absolutely adored the family unit they created for Kieran and his Six.

This is a great trilogy and I look forward to the next book.

Rating: 4 out of 5

Demigods of San Francisco

four-stars


Tagged: , , , , , ,

What Are You Reading? (+ Ilona Andrews Giveaway)

Posted June 21, 2019 by Casee in Features, Giveaways | 10 Comments

Casee: I am finally reading Archangel’s War by Nalini Singh. I have waited so long for this book. I really, really dislike books that end with a cliffhanger, which Archangel’s Prophecy did. I am loving Archangel’s War and can’t wait to finish it this weekend. I have no idea what I am going to start next. Possibly Natural Witch by K.F. Breene which is one of Holly’s Reading Challenge books for me. Or Lionheart by Thea Harrison. Or Diamond Fire by Ilona Andrews.

I finished Getting Played by Emma Chase on audio yesterday. Andi Arndt and Zachary Webber are a spectacular duo. I heart them together. This book had everything I look for in an Emma Chase book. It gave me all the feels. I started listening to Hot Asset by Lauren Layne on the way home. This is one of Rowena’s Summer Reading Challenge books for Holly and I. I haven’t gotten far enough into it to know if I’ll love it or hate it.

Holly: I finished Getting Played by Emma Chase on audio, and the ARC of Archangel’s War by Nalini Singh. Both were everything I wanted them to be. I read Waiting For Tom Hanks by Kerry Winfrey so I could discuss it with Rowena and Casee. I was not a fan. Then I read Superfan by Sarina Bowen. I enjoyed it, though not as much as some of the others in the series.

I’m currently reading Long Shot by Kennedy Ryan for our Summer Reading Challenge. I’m pretty early into it, so no thoughts yet. I’m listening to The Knocked Up Plan by Lauren Blakely. I think I’m about halfway through. So far, I’m enjoying it.

Rowena: This week was for finally finishing Waiting for Tom Hanks by Kerry Winfree and I didn’t even like that book but then I jumped into The Friend Zone by Abby Jimenez. To say that I hated that book is putting it mildly. I freaking hated that book. I thought that if I kept reading, that the heroine would get better but nope. One thing after another pissed me off and when I finally finished it, I have never felt more free in my life. Dumbass book.

Now I’m reading Night Broken (Mercy Thompson #8) by Patricia Briggs and Holly thinks I’m crazy because she knows that I’m going to be pissed while reading this one but I plan to read the next book directly after so I’m hoping that I’ll be able to push through both books without too much damage. Fingers crossed.

Giveaway Alert

We are very fortunate here at Book Binge. We have loads and loads of books to read and we want to share the wealth so each week, we’ll be tacking on a Freebie Friday giveaway to our What Are You Reading posts. This week, we’re giving away…

What Are You Reading? (+ Ilona Andrews Giveaway)Wildfire by Ilona Andrews
Series: Hidden Legacy #3
Also in this series: Burn for Me (Hidden Legacy, #1), Wildfire, White Hot, White Hot (Hidden Legacy, #2), Burn for Me (Hidden Legacy, #1), White Hot (Hidden Legacy, #2), Wildfire (Hidden Legacy, #3), Burn for Me (Hidden Legacy, #1), Wildfire (Hidden Legacy, #3), Diamond Fire (Hidden Legacy, #3.5)
Publisher: Avon
Publication Date: July 25, 2017
Format: Print
Point-of-View: Alternating First
Content Warning: View Spoiler »
Genres: Urban Fantasy
Pages: 391
Add It: Goodreads
Amazon | Barnes & Noble | The Ripped Bodice | Google Play Books
Series Rating: five-stars

Just when Nevada Baylor has finally come to accept the depths of her magical powers, she also realizes she’s fallen in love. Connor “Mad” Rogan is in many ways her equal when it comes to magic, but she’s completely out of her elements when it comes to her feelings for him. To make matters more complicated, an old flame comes back into Rogan’s life…

Rogan knows there’s nothing between him and his ex-fiance, Rynda Sherwood. But as Nevada begins to learn more about her past, her power, and her potential future, he knows she will be faced with choices she never dreamed of and the promise of a life spent without him.

As Nevada and Rogan race to discover the whereabouts of Rynda’s kidnapped husband and are forced to confront Nevada’s grandmother, who may or may not have evil motives, these two people must decide if they can trust in each other or allow everything to go up in smoke.

What Are You Reading: Wildfire by Ilona Andrews

What are you reading this week? Any new favorites or books that drove you crazy? Share!


Tagged: , , , ,

Review: Sin & Magic by K.F. Breene

Posted June 20, 2019 by Holly in Reviews | 0 Comments

Review: Sin & Magic by K.F. BreeneReviewer: Holly
Sin & Magic by K.F. Breene
Narrator: Khristine Hvam
Series: Demigods of San Francisco #2
Also in this series: Sin & Chocolate , Sin & Salvation
Publisher: Self-Published
Publication Date: January 1, 2019
Format: eBook, Audiobook
Point-of-View: Alternating First and Third
Cliffhanger: View Spoiler »
Content Warning: View Spoiler »
Genres: Urban Fantasy
Pages: 431
Length: 10 hours and 1 minute
Add It: Goodreads
Reading Challenges: GoodReads Challenge, Holly's 2019 GoodReads Challenge
Amazon | Barnes & Noble | The Ripped Bodice | Google Play Books
three-half-stars
Series Rating: four-stars

I've agreed to work for a Demigod. My job? Find the spirit of his mother and release her before his vengeful father finds out and kills us all.

Have I lost my mind?

Thankfully, I don't have to do it alone. Kieran has brought in help: a Necromancer who loves to flirt with danger. Bria can help me find the clues to free Kieran's mom.

She can also help me learn my potent and extremely terrifying magic.

But as we work deeper into magical San Francisco, we uncover a minefield waiting to explode. I'm learning that there are far worse things than death.

Sin & Magic is the second book in K.F. Breene‘s Demigods of San Francisco series. I put off reading this book until the 3rd was released, because I hate waiting. I’m glad I did. I dove right into book 3 once this one was finished.

I started out reading this book, but ended up grabbing the audiobook for times I wasn’t able to read (my commute, etc). I didn’t love the narrator, but I didn’t hate her, either. Still, I mostly read the book.

Sin & Magic picks up right where Sin & Chocolate leaves off. Alexis and her two wards, Mordecai and Daisy, are doing a little better these days after being hired by Demigod Keiran to help find and release his mother’s trapped soul. Lexi is a Soul Stealer, though she didn’t realize it until Keiran showed up in her life. She’s learning how to harness her magic and use it to its full potential.

The romance heats up in this book, though I wasn’t quite satisfied with the pace. There’s a lot of hesitation on Lexi’s part about getting involved with a Demigod (and rightly so), but then all of a sudden, bam. They were having sex. I struggled with the timing. It seemed to come out of nowhere and frankly, given the danger leading up to the moment, totally unbelievable. I also struggle with how easily led Lexi is. She makes all these questionable decisions and allows herself to be manipulated into things. It’s frustrating. That’s not to say I don’t like her, because I do. She has a lot of courage and I like that she’s dedicated to doing the right thing.

The world-building is really interesting and I love Alexis and her wards together. Honestly, the kids made the entire series for me. They’re so wonderful. I also love how Alexis is making a family for Keiran and his Six.

Rating: 3.75 out of 5

Demigods of San Francisco

three-half-stars


Tagged: , , , , , ,

Review: Sin & Chocolate by K.F. Breene

Posted June 19, 2019 by Holly in Reviews | 3 Comments

Review: Sin & Chocolate by K.F. BreeneReviewer: Holly
Sin & Chocolate by K.F. Breene
Series: Demigods of San Francisco #1
Also in this series: Sin & Magic , Sin & Salvation
Publisher: Self-Published
Publication Date: October 10, 2018
Format: eBook
Source: Purchased
Point-of-View: Alternating First and Third
Cliffhanger: View Spoiler »
Content Warning: View Spoiler »
Genres: Urban Fantasy
Pages: 439
Add It: Goodreads
Reading Challenges: GoodReads Challenge, Holly's 2019 GoodReads Challenge
Amazon | Barnes & Noble | The Ripped Bodice | Google Play Books
three-half-stars
Series Rating: four-stars

Some people are ordained for greatness…

Those people usually have a lot of drama in their life. Drama I happily do without. I live in a forgotten corner of nowhere for a reason: there is safety in anonymity. I have enough problems just trying to get by.

But when Kieran, a sinfully sexy demigod at the pinnacle of power, crashes into my life, suddenly my whole world is turned upside down.

He’s harboring a deadly secret, one that could destroy all he holds dear. He thinks I’m the key to his salvation, and he wants me to help him claim vengeance.

He also wants me with a passion that burns my body from the inside out.

To ignore him is impossible, but to give in to my desires, even for a night, would thrust me into danger I might not survive.

Can I resist the temptation?

Sin & Chocolate is the first book in the Demigods of San Francisco series by K.F. Breene. I really like Breene’s writing and look forward to each new book.

Alexis is living under the radar in the dual-society zone between the magical and non-magical lands of San Francisco. She’s raising two teenage wards, Mordecai and Daisy. She’s just trying to get by. Though she has magic and can talk to spirits, she isn’t very powerful and therefore can’t make a lot of money. Mordecai is a shifter, but he’s unable to shift and it’s slowly killing him. There’s a magical proceedure he can have done to fix it, but it’s extremely expensive and Lexi can’t afford it. Not to mention that would bring Mordecai the unwanted attention of the local Pack alpha. Daisy had a rough childhood and is struggling to feel safe. Lexi is all either of them have, so she tries to keep under the radar as much as possible and do what she can to bring in cash.

Every so often she sets up a tent at the local fair, known as the Freak Show – a gathering of lesser magic users similar to a swap meet – and helps exercise ghosts. All is going well until she catches the notices of the Demigod Keiran. Keiran is searching for someone to help lay his mother to rest. She’s a selkie and his father stole her skin, trapping her in this world so she can’t cross over the line to the after life. Alexis is the first person he’s talked to who actually has the power to help him. He’ll do anything to free his mother, even manipulate Alexis by using her wards if he must.

This moved pretty slow for me in the first half, but it picked up in the second. There’s a lot of world-building early on, and the story felt bogged down because of it. A lot of Lexi’s actions frustrated me. She kept doing all these things that made no sense considering her situation. It wasn’t something that killed the story for me, but there were definitely times I shook my head at her. I loved her relationship with her wards. Heck, I just loved them, period. They provided much comic relief. I also loved how practical they all were. She wasn’t afraid to accept a handout if it meant keeping her kids fed, or a hand-up if it meant giving them a better life. Though some of her actions frustrated me, I can’t deny I liked her from the outset.

This is the start of a multi-book storyarc, so it ends in a cliffhanger. Nothing is really resolved and we’re left with a lot of unanswered questions. The cliffhanger ending frustrated me. I’d have waited until the other books were out if I’d known (all three parts are out now). Still, I can’t deny this was an intriguing read and I really look forward to the next book.

Rating: 3.5 out of 5

Demigods of San Francisco

three-half-stars


Tagged: , , , , , ,

Review: Even Tree Nymphs Get the Blues by Molly Harper

Posted June 18, 2019 by Holly in Reviews | 4 Comments

Review: Even Tree Nymphs Get the Blues by Molly HarperReviewer: Holly
Even Tree Nymphs Get the Blues by Molly Harper
Narrator: Amanda Ronconi, Jonathan Davis
Series: Mystic Bayou #2.5
Also in this series: How to Date Your Dragon (Mystic Bayou, #1)
Publisher: Audible Studios
Publication Date: June 6, 2019
Format: Audiobook
Source: Audible Escape
Point-of-View: Alternating Third
Cliffhanger: View Spoiler »
Content Warning: View Spoiler »
Genres: Urban Fantasy
Length: 3 hrs and 3 mins
Add It: Goodreads
Reading Challenges: GoodReads Challenge, Holly's 2019 GoodReads Challenge
Amazon | Barnes & Noble | The Ripped Bodice | Google Play Books
four-stars
Series Rating: four-stars

A hilarious new standalone novella brimming with otherworldly charm from the reigning queen of paranormal romantic comedy Molly Harper!

Ingrid Asher is the newest resident of Mystic Bayou, a tiny town hidden in the swamp where shapeshifters, vampires, witches and dragons live alongside humans.

Ingrid doesn’t ask for much. The solitary tree nymph just wants to live a quiet life running her ice-cream shop in peace. Unfortunately, she can’t seem to shake her new neighbor, Rob Aspern, head of the League’s data science department and so good looking it just isn’t fair.

If there’s one thing Ingrid doesn’t need, it’s someone poking around in her business. But the more she gets to know the hunky mathematician, the more she finds herself letting her guard down. Can she trust him with her secrets, or will her past destroy everything?

Even Tree Nymphs Get the Blues by Molly Harper is was a cute, light story set in the town of Mystic Bayou, where mythical creatures have lived in peace for hundreds of years. Ingrid Asher is a tree nymph who recently decided to move to Mystic Bayou to open a creamery. She’s still recovering from a terrible betrayal by someone she trusted, so she doesn’t open up easily. The residents of Mystic Bayou are strange to her, for they’re all open and want to be her friend.

Rob Aspern is generally pretty slick with the ladies, but Ingrid has flustered and all kinds of tongue-tied. She seems wary around everyone else, but she’s downright icy to him. As he works on winning her trust, he finds himself falling for her.

This was a very short listen. I really enjoyed both narrators and easily fell into the story. I love Mystic Bayou and I was ridiculously excited to return to the world. I’m sad it was so short, but that’s about me wanting more from the world than a reflection of the story itself. I thought things wrapped up nicely and the story ended on a sweet note (more “let’s see where this goes” than “Let’s live happily ever after”).

I can’t wait for the next installment.

Rating: 4 out of 5

Mystic Bayou

four-stars


Tagged: , , , , , , ,