Genre: Urban Fantasy

Review: Born in Fire by K.F. Breene

Posted August 18, 2017 by Holly in Reviews | 1 Comment

Review: Born in Fire by K.F. BreeneReviewer: Holly
Born in Fire (Fire and Ice Trilogy, #1) by K.F. Breene
Series: Fire and Ice Trilogy #1
Published by Self-Published
Publication Date: February 18, 2017
Genres: Urban Fantasy
Pages: 448
Buy on Amazon | Barnes & Noble
Goodreads
four-stars

Heart pounding and laugh out loud funny, USA Today Bestselling author K.F. Breene will take you on a magical joy ride you won't soon forget.

Supernatural Bounty Hunter isn't the sort of thing you see on LinkedIn. But with a rare type of magic like mine, I don't have many options.

So dangerous or not, the job is mine. And it was going fine, until an old as sin vampire stole my mark, and with it, my pay day.

Knowing I'm poor and desperate, he has offered me a job. I'll have to work by his side to help solve a top secret case.

Everyone knows not to trust vampires. Especially a hot elder vampire. But without any other jobs coming up, I'm stuck. As I uncover a web of lies and treachery, revealing an enemy I didn't know existed, the truth of my identity is threatened. I might make it out alive, only to end up in a gilded cage.

Born in Fire is the first book in K.F. Breene’s Fire and Ice Trilogy, which follows supernatural bounty hunter Raegan Somserset. It’s currently $2.99 for Kindle (or free for KU), which is where I picked it up after seeing it recommended at the back of one of Ilona Andrews’ books (I don’t recall which one).

Raegan hunts down those with magical abilities, though the majority of the human population doesn’t realize they exist. Despite being great at her job, she doesn’t make a lot because her lineage makes it impossible for her to acquire legal papers to work. So when her latest mark gets stolen – and her cut of the bounty with it – by a vampire, she’s beyond angry. Out of money – and options – she’s forced to agree to work with the vampires on another matter, even though it goes against everything she’s been taught about staying under the radar and avoiding vampires.

Raegan has a smart mouth and a sharp wit, which means she constantly butts head with her vampire escort, Darius, the one who stole her mark. Though she’s forced to work with him she isn’t happy about it, and refuses to pretend otherwise. Of course that doesn’t help with the inappropriate attraction she feels toward him – which seems to be reciprocated. Good thing she knows vampires are users and can’t be trusted – especially with her secrets.

This is my first book by Breene, but it won’t be the last. It was fast-paced and action-packed from the start. Raegan’s sarcastic humor and smart mouth made for some entertaining scenes. There were a few times it bordered on being campy, though for the most part it was just a lighter UF. There’s very little romance in this book. There are hints that more may come in later books, but here it’s very mild.

There were times the story seemed to drag on. At 488 pages, it’s pretty meaty. It probably could have been cut down a bit and been an easier read. Even so, it was well-written and very enjoyable. I can’t wait to find out what happens with Raegan and Darius in the future.

3.75 out of 5

four-stars


Tagged: , , , , , , ,

Review: Master of the Night by Angela Knight

Posted August 8, 2017 by Holly in Reviews | 2 Comments

Review: Master of the Night by Angela KnightReviewer: Holly
Master of the Night (Mageverse #1) by Angela Knight
Series: Mageverse #1
Published by Berkley
Publication Date: October 5th 2004
Genres: Urban Fantasy
Pages: 296
Buy on Amazon | Barnes & Noble
Goodreads
three-half-stars

American agent Erin Grayson has a new mission: romance international businessman Reece Champion. Seducing the handsome millionaire could put her that much closer to the revenge she craves against a murderous organization.

Erin doesn't realize she's being manipulated by the very group she hunts. Champion is actually an agent of the U.S. government.

He's also a vampire.

Reece senses the latent supernatural powers hidden within Erin, powers as dangerously irresistible to him as her lush body and hot blood. Yet he also knows that yielding to their mutual desire will make them pawns in a deadly game—a game in which their opponent is, quite literally, a monster.

To survive, Erin must embrace talents she never knew she had—and trust a man who is Master of the Night.

I was in the mood for Arthurian romances and asked for recs on Twitter. This series was the first one mentioned. While it wasn’t quite what I was looking for in terms of Arthurian legend, I found the series to be pretty cracktastic. I read 5 full-length novels and 3 novellas back-to-back.

In Knight’s world, Arthur and his round table actually exist, but they’re immortal vampires charged with saving humanity from itself. Merlin and Nimue are aliens from another planet who realized early on civilizations needed subtle help to keep them from wiping themselves out. They created the vampires to watch over humanity and work from behind the scenes to keep them from completely destroying themselves. They must remain in the shadows, for those on Earth must never know they exist.

Reece Champion is the vampire champion of the United States. He’s investigating a sudden surge in cult activity when he comes into contact with Erin Grayson. Erin is a Latent, a descendant of one the round table knights. 1 in every 10 of their offspring can be turned into a Magi (female witch) or Magus (male vampire). Having sex 3 times will trigger Erin’s Latent gifts and open her up to the powers of the Mageverse. The problem is, if she isn’t compatible, channeling that much power can drive her insane and she’ll have to be executed.

It turns out Erin is investigating the same cult activities, but she doesn’t realize Reece is on her side. She’s investigating him as the possible leader of the cult. It isn’t long before they realize there’s more going on than either of them are aware. When they end up locked in a cell together so Reece will trigger her change, they’ll have to decide if they can trust each other enough to work together. The only way out may be by changing Erin, but without a deep personal connection, she might go insane.

I have to admit, the premise caused me a to raise an eyebrow at first. Having sex three times is the only way to release someone’s powers? Okayyy… But it wasn’t as hokey as I expected it to be. I did have to suspend disbelief somewhat to buy the insta-love in each book, but the world is really interesting and the characters drew me in.

Aside from my issues with how quickly they fell in love, I really liked both Reece and Erin. They were both capable and committed to their cause. Erin worked hard and had a deep well of inner strength that appealed to me. Reece was a stand-up guy all around. I did buy their connection, but it just came about too soon.  I enjoyed the way the plot progressed. There was enough action and adventure to keep me interested even when I was a little iffy on the romance.

Someone described these as being “cracky” and I’d agree..the series is totally cracktastic. I couldn’t put it down.

3.75 out of 5

three-half-stars


Tagged: , , , , , , ,

Guest Review: White Hot by Ilona Andrews

Posted August 8, 2017 by Tracy in Reviews | 0 Comments

Guest Review: White Hot by Ilona AndrewsReviewer: Tracy
White Hot by Ilona Andrews
Series: Hidden Legacy #2
Also in this series: Burn for Me (Hidden Legacy, #1), Wildfire
Published by Avon
Publication Date: May 30th 2017
Genres: Urban Fantasy
Pages: 389
Buy on Amazon | Barnes & Noble
Goodreads
five-stars

Nevada Baylor has a unique and secret skill—she knows when people are lying—and she's used that magic (along with plain, hard work) to keep her colorful and close-knit family's detective agency afloat. But her new case pits her against the shadowy forces that almost destroyed the city of Houston once before, bringing Nevada back into contact with Connor "Mad" Rogan.

Rogan is a billionaire Prime—the highest rank of magic user—and as unreadable as ever, despite Nevada’s “talent.” But there’s no hiding the sparks between them. Now that the stakes are even higher, both professionally and personally, and their foes are unimaginably powerful, Rogan and Nevada will find that nothing burns like ice …

Book two in the Hidden Legacy series begins just 2 months after book one ended.  Nevada is still working her private detective business and dealing with family issues.  Mad Rogan has been in the wind since Nevada told him that she wasn’t into having a fling with him.  She figures that he’s moved on and she’s trying to do the same.

Nevada takes a case for Cornelius Harrison (who we met in book one) who is an animal mage.  His wife, a lawyer, was recently murdered while working for House Fosberg and the House is saying that it had nothing to do with work.  That she was at a hotel and it was personal business.  Cornelius is pretty sure that they’re lying as his wife was faithful to him and hires Nevada to look into it.  Of course her investigation brings up a whole bunch of things that want to stay hidden, as well as more interaction with Mad Rogan.

Nevada also ends up using her truthseeking magic to force a child molester/serial killer to tell her where he had hidden the latest child he’d kidnapped.  Though she went against advice and her face was hidden, she still outs herself and the one person she doesn’t want finding her, her grandmother, does just that.  The grandmother will stop at nothing to get Nevada into her House.

The story is a great one.  I love Andrews’ world building, character building and romance.  There’s truly nothing I didn’t like in this book.

Mad Rogan and Nevada have an interesting yet incredibly romantic relationship.  They get closer in this book as they uncover part of the plot that started in book one.  They work together so incredibly well and I love that they’re so protective of each other.

The secondary characters in this story are awesome.  Nevada’s family plays a huge part in the book, as they did in book one, and we get to know them a bit better.  Cornelius and his magic are wonderful and made me laugh more than once.

I want to tell you so much about this book but you need to read if for yourself to understand the beauty of it.  Don’t read this book if you haven’t read book one as you will be lost, lost, lost.  The series definitely needs to be read in order.  White Hot is an amazing book set in an amazing world and is a book I definitely recommend.

Rating: 5 out of 5

five-stars


Tagged: , , , , , , ,

Guest Review: Wildfire by Ilona Andrews

Posted August 7, 2017 by Tracy in Reviews | 1 Comment

Guest Review: Wildfire by Ilona AndrewsReviewer: Tracy
Wildfire by Ilona Andrews
Series: Hidden Legacy #3
Also in this series: Burn for Me (Hidden Legacy, #1), White Hot
Published by Avon
Publication Date: July 25th 2017
Genres: Urban Fantasy
Pages: 391
Buy on Amazon | Barnes & Noble
Goodreads
five-stars

Just when Nevada Baylor has finally come to accept the depths of her magical powers, she also realizes she’s fallen in love. Connor “Mad” Rogan is in many ways her equal when it comes to magic, but she’s completely out of her elements when it comes to her feelings for him. To make matters more complicated, an old flame comes back into Rogan’s life…

Rogan knows there’s nothing between him and his ex-fiance, Rynda Sherwood. But as Nevada begins to learn more about her past, her power, and her potential future, he knows she will be faced with choices she never dreamed of and the promise of a life spent without him.

As Nevada and Rogan race to discover the whereabouts of Rynda’s kidnapped husband and are forced to confront Nevada’s grandmother, who may or may not have evil motives, these two people must decide if they can trust in each other or allow everything to go up in smoke.

Nevada has fallen in love with Connor “Mad” Rogan and she’s totally ok with that.  She knows that life will not be easy but she’s decided to make the most of it.

She takes a case for Rynda who was once Connor’s fiancé.  She’s jealous at first but soon realizes there’s nothing to worry about.  While Nevada and Connor look for Rynda’s missing husband they once again run into the people who are trying to take over the city.  The plot goes farther and wider than they ever though it did.

In addition to the investigation, Nevada has decided that in order to stay away from her grandmother she must create her own House.  She’s nervous but believes that the family will pass with flying colors. There are, of course, people who don’t want her to start her own House and make their dislike of the situation known.  Rogan and Nevada end up fighting constantly to save themselves but it all works out in the end.

This book was, just like book two in the series, incredibly wonderful.  I’m constantly amazed at the minds that makes up Ilona Andrews!  The world building and characters depth is off the charts and I’m constantly wondering how anyone’s mind comes up with this stuff.  And it’s awesome!

The situation with people plotting to take over of the city, the romance between Rogan and Nevada, the dynamics between Nevada’s family members and the situation with Rynda and her husband all blended so well and made a story that kept me on the edge of my seat the entire time.

Wildfire is a magical story (in more ways than one) and one I definitely recommend.

Rating: 5 out of 5

five-stars


Tagged: , , , , , , , ,

Review: Burn for Me by Ilona Andrews

Posted July 25, 2017 by Holly in Reviews | 2 Comments

Review: Burn for Me by Ilona AndrewsReviewer: Holly
Burn for Me (Hidden Legacy, #1) by Ilona Andrews
Series: Hidden Legacy #1
Also in this series: Wildfire, White Hot
Published by Avon
Publication Date: October 28th 2014
Genres: Urban Fantasy
Pages: 382
Buy on Amazon | Barnes & Noble
Goodreads
four-stars

#1 New York Times bestselling author Ilona Andrews launches a brand new Hidden Legacy series, in which one woman must place her trust in a seductive, dangerous man who sets off an even more dangerous desire…

Nevada Baylor is faced with the most challenging case of her detective career—a suicide mission to bring in a suspect in a volatile case. Nevada isn’t sure she has the chops. Her quarry is a Prime, the highest rank of magic user, who can set anyone and anything on fire.

Then she’s kidnapped by Connor “Mad” Rogan—a darkly tempting billionaire with equally devastating powers. Torn between wanting to run or surrender to their overwhelming attraction, Nevada must join forces with Rogan to stay alive.

Rogan’s after the same target, so he needs Nevada. But she’s getting under his skin, making him care about someone other than himself for a change. And, as Rogan has learned, love can be as perilous as death, especially in the magic world.

Burn for Me is the start of Ilona Andrews’ Hidden Legacy series. When Nevada Baylor’s father passed away, she stepped up and took over his failing P.I. business. Since then she and her family have been working hard to keep their heads above water. Recently another P.I. firm, one much larger, bought out their mortgage, which covers their home and business (the family converted a large warehouse into a business/family dwelling). Since then they’ve been sending business Nevada’s way, under the threat that if she doesn’t take the cases they’ll call the loan due. Which is how she ends up going after a Prime (someone with an extreme amount of magical power) fire-mage. She’s outclassed and outgunned and she knows it. Just when she thinks things can’t get any worse, she’s kidnapped by Connor “Mad” Rogan, a Prime telekinetic. Connor and Nevada are after the same thing – stopping the Fire Prime before things get any hotter – but their attraction is a complication neither could have foreseen.

Having read Andrews’ previous books, I expected to get a tight, well written novel with excellent world-building and multifaceted characters. I wasn’t disappointed. Burn for Me was a delight from page one. Nevada and her family really came to life. I was fully immersed in the world from page one. Connor was an enigma I couldn’t wait to unravel. Filled with action, suspense, romance and adventure, Burn for Me has it all.

The romance is light in this book (the thread is carried throughout all three books), but I enjoyed the tension between Connor and Nevada, and the promise of more had me completely hooked. If you’re in the mood to be swept away by a story, this is the book for you. Just be sure you have all 3 books handy. You’re going to want to dive right in to the next installment.

4.25 out of 5

Burn for Me is currently $2.99 for Kindle!

four-stars


Tagged: , , , , ,