Genre: Time Travel

Guest Review: Ever My Love by Lynn Kurland

Posted April 3, 2017 by Tracy in Reviews | 1 Comment

Guest Review: Ever My Love by Lynn KurlandReviewer: Tracy
Ever My Love by Lynn Kurland
Series: MacLeod series #10
Also in this series: Till There Was You
Published by Jove
Publication Date: April 4th 2017
Genres: Contemporary, Medieval, Time Travel
Buy on Amazon | Barnes & Noble
Goodreads
three-half-stars

Two people are caught up in love—and in time—in the latest novel from the New York Times bestselling author of Stars in Your Eyes.

In search of a fresh start, Emma Barton has traveled to Scotland to try to forget her rocky love life. Luckily, the gorgeous Highlander who owns the house up the path from her rental cottage might be exactly the kind of distraction she needs. But there’s more to his intriguing qualities than she can explain—and she certainly isn’t buying into the local legends of Highland magic.

Nathaniel MacLeod is a man adrift, all thanks to the unwanted gift that forces him to continually jump between centuries. He never knows if he’ll wind up in the present day or the fourteenth century, but when Emma follows him back through time, he suddenly has more to worry about than keeping his separate lives straight…

Someone has started to notice Nathaniel’s travels and now, no time period is safe, for him or for Emma.

Nathaniel MacLeod has been traveling back in time off and on for the past 5 years.  When he hears or sees a certain date he feels the time portal open and he knows that he must get back to medieval Scotland as soon as possible.  He doesn’t know why it’s him that has to go or what the purpose is of him being there but he’s determined to figure it out.

Emma Baxter is in England to get away from her life in England.  She’s pretty much hiding from her ex-boyfriend an trying to figure out what she needs to do next in her life.  She meets Nathaniel because his is a neighboring home to the cottage she’s staying in.  They are instantly attracted to each other but Nathaniel seems to have so many secrets.

When Emma ends up stepping through a time gate and ends up in a dungeon it’s Nathaniel that has to save her.  When she does it again and the exact same events occur Nathaniel knows that he needs to figure out what part Emma plays in his time traveling but he’s not sure he can fix it and keep her with him at the same time.

This was another good book by Kurland.  I’ve only read a few books in the MacLeod series but I think after reading this one that I might have to go back and take care of that lack as meeting Nathaniel’s relatives, Patrick, Ian and Jamie was awesome. They helped both Emma and Nathaniel in many ways and seemed to be very good men.

While I really liked Both Emma and Nathaniel in this book and liked watching their relationship develop, there was a certain disconnection I felt with the book.  I’m not sure if the term is “disjointed” but I felt like the story was all over the place.  It may have been the lack of information we received about Emma and her situation back home as well as the secrets that Nathaniel was keeping about his work and family.  This issue definitely got better as the book went on and we got more info on them.  The latter part of the book was what saved this one for me.

I also was a little disappointed in the physical contact between Emma and Nathaniel.  Yes, I know that Kurland’s books are clean – no sex – but this one had them kiss once.  Once!  And that was a peck if I remember correctly.  I don’t mind clean books but I definitely think the H/h need to have a bit more contact throughout the book – at least more than a peck. But that’s just me. 🙂

While definitely not my favorite book in the series it was a good one that I found entertaining.

Rating: 3.5 out of 5

three-half-stars

1 Comment
Tags: , , , , , , , ,


Guest Review: Stars in Your Eyes by Lynn Kurland

Posted November 27, 2015 by Tracy in Reviews | 1 Comment

Guest Review: Stars in Your Eyes by Lynn KurlandReviewer: Tracy
Stars in You Eyes by Lynn Kurland
Series: de Piaget series #14
Also in this series: Dreams of Lilacs
Published by Jove
Publication Date: November 24, 2015
Genres: Contemporary, Historical, Medieval, Time Travel
Buy on Amazon | Barnes & Noble
Goodreads
three-stars

Imogen Maxwell is on a hunt for rare, antique items to use on a period movie set. The last thing she expects to discover in the peaceful Scottish countryside is a pristine medieval sword...or to suddenly find herself facing its very vintage owner in a far too authentic castle.

Phillip de Piaget has run out of patience with his recalcitrant Scottish betrothed and is determined that she will join him, once and for all, in front of the altar. Only the lass he captures fleeing his would-be keep seems more interested in running away from him than talking to him. In fact, she seems to have no idea who he is.

Imogen finally gets to Scotland after an incredibly long journey from America.  She is in Scotland to try and find inexpensive yet authentic looking medieval antiques for use in a movie that she’s a part of.  She heads into one store and is approached by a woman who she learns is named Heather.  Heather invites her to her castle which she says is chock full of authentic medieval antiques.  Imogen is excited and takes her up on her offer to visit. At one point in the tour of the castle Heather invites Imogen to touch a sword that’s been stuck in the floor of the great hall since (supposedly) the 13th century.  Imogen again takes Heather up on her offer and ends up being knocked over.

Imogen has been transported to a different time but her brain can’t even think that way.  She thinks, for a bit too long imho, that she’s on a movie set and that eveyone is method acting and not breaking character. The other possibility is that her evil siblings have once again played a trick on her and their filming the prank.  She finally has to come to realize that she’s been transported in time but it’s almost too much for her mind to contemplate.

Phillip de Piaget is the eldest son of Robin and Anne de Piaget and has been engaged to Heather of Haemesburgh for the past seven years.  He made the contracts with her father and without even meeting Heather in person.  Phillip is interested in the Haemesburgh castle and it’s position long the border of Scotland and England more than anything else.  He has tried to see Heather over the years but he’s gotten nothing but flack and even how dung thrown at him. He’s ready to marry and he’s not taking no for an answer this time.

When Phillip arrives at Haemesburgh right when a woman, who he at first thinks is Heather, hanging from the drawbridge that is going up.  He saves the woman, who is Imogen, and ends up watching over her.  Phillip is mystified by everything he finds at Haemesburgh  – including the absence of Heather – and then even more mystified when he heads to his uncle’s house and finds out that the “paranormal oddities” that he’s heard about most of his life are much more involved in his family than he ever would have thought possible.

This was a cute book.  With Imogen and Phillip falling in love pretty quickly I found it to be more about Phillip’s discovery of time travel and what that meant for his family than I would have expected.  Yes, the romance was sweet and I loved Phillip to death but I didn’t feel it as strongly as I have in past de Piaget books.

Imogen was an interesting woman.  She thought non-stop about being in a movie (as that’s what she thought happened when she time-traveled) but she did it for so long I found it to get a little old after a while.  I was happy when she finally started accepting the facts and seeing the incredible opportunity for what it was – a chance to see medieval life in person.

Overall it was pleasant read but I definitely had my issues with the blending of the romance with the rest of the story.

Rating: 3 out of 5

three-stars

1 Comment
Tags: , , , , , , , , , ,


Guest Review: Cinderella and the Ghost by Marina Myles

Posted February 20, 2015 by Tracy in Reviews | 0 Comments

Guest Review: Cinderella and the Ghost by Marina MylesReviewer: Tracy
Cinderella and the Ghost by Marina Myles
Series: The Cursed Princes #4
Published by Kensington Books
Publication Date: February 17th 2015
Genres: Historical, Fairy Tales & Folklore, Time Travel
Buy on Amazon | Barnes & Noble
Goodreads
three-stars

A DANGEROUS ATTRACTION
When her demanding stepmother died, Ella Benoit knew just how far their fortunes had fallen, unlike her spoiled stepsisters. So she never expected the bequest from her late father. A chateau in France and the freedom to live her own life, all at once!
The chateau has seen better days, but Ella knows she can put the ruined house to rights. The life-size portrait of its first owner, Jean-Daniel Girard, seems to watch her work with approval, even pleasure. With bright blue eyes, strong features, and an athlete’s body, the viscount is a tempting sight even now, more than three hundred years after his tragic death. But the more she looks at the portrait, the more convinced Ella is that she’s met Jean-Daniel before. In another life, perhaps—or maybe, as the form who haunts the halls at night, invading Ella’s dreams…

Tracy’s review of Cinderella and the Ghost (The Cursed Princes #4) by Marina Myles

Ella has been badgered, beaten down and treated like a slave by her stepmother and 2 stepsisters. She promised her father that she would look after her stepmother but it was darned difficult. Once her stepmother dies she finds that her father bought a French chateau for her and left money for her to restore it to its former beauty. She’s excited about the adventure and excited to be away from her horrible stepsisters.

Once in France she finds that the house is supposedly haunted. She does have some rather strange things happening but while scared she honestly believes that the ghost – who she believes is the Vicomte in the painting, Jean-Daniel Girard – is trying to tell her something. She figures out that he wants her to return to him somehow but she has no clue what to do to time-travel. When she finds a magical amulet it manages to propel her into the past.

Once in the past Ella finds many things. First she meets Jean-Daniel who she instantly likes and soon grows to love. She also finds that there are many people in her 21st Century who were surely reincarnated from the people she meets in the past – namely her friend Mimi and of course her evil stepmother and 2 evil stepsisters. Can she not get away from them? She has to find a way that she and Jean-Daniel can be together but also find a way to save his life as she knows exactly when he died.

This was a cute little book and I liked the story, to a point, but sometimes found it to drag in places and go on unnecessarily in others. I think it could have been tighter and the story would have flowed better. The second half of the book seemed to fly by but the first half was slow going. I also wasn’t a fan of the Vicomte playing with a rubber ball with his dog in 1703 as rubber wasn’t invented until the 19th century

This is a twist on the typical Cinderella story and I really liked that. It had some good ideas going for it and I was happy that the couple found love. That is, until that HEA was trashed completely at the end. I ended the book and was ranting to my husband. How could the author dangle that HEA out there and make us think that all was well and then pull the rug out from under us??? The ending, which was supposed to make us happy, I believe, and make us think that Ella found her HEA (again pushing the reincarnation idea) was harsh and completely angered me. I wish that things hadn’t worked out for Ella and Jean-Daniel in 1703 as I would have been much happier with the conclusion in 2015.

Overall the book was ok but unfortunately I can’t say I completely enjoyed it.

Rating: 3 out of 5

This title is available from Kensington. You can buy it here or here in e-format. This book was provided by the publisher in exchange for an honest review.

three-stars

0 Comments
Tags: , , , , , , , , , ,


Guest Review: Waiting for April by Jaime Loren

Posted February 10, 2015 by Tracy in Reviews | 0 Comments

Guest Review: Waiting for April by Jaime LorenWaiting for April by Jaime Loren
Published by Pan, Momentum Books
Publication Date: February 12th 2015
Genres: Romance, Contemporary, Fantasy, Young Adult, Time Travel
Buy on Amazon | Barnes & Noble
Goodreads
four-half-stars

April Fletcher has died nineteen times... but she doesn't know it.As far as April is concerned, she's just a normal seventeen-year-old, looking forward to spending spring break with her friends and going to college in the fall. April doesn't know she has never lived past her eighteenth birthday, nor does she realize that Scott Parker, her best friend, is actually her childhood sweetheart and fiancé from her very first life.For nineteen-year-old Scott Parker, spending quality time with his soul mate has proved difficult ever since her tragic death in 1729. Since then he has lost her an additional eighteen times—each of her deaths more devastating than the last, and each of her births wiping the slate of her memory clean. Unable to save her but unwilling to give up, Scott has to hide the fact he's immortal—and will be until April confesses her love again.But this time, things have changed. April has denied her feelings for him, is dating someone else, and with her eighteenth birthday fast approaching, their friendship is falling to pieces. Fearing their souls are irrevocably drifting apart, Scott must race against the clock to win her heart and save her life.Or risk losing her forever.

Tracy’s review of Waiting for April by Jaime Loren

(Love, love, love this cover.  So simple, yet beautiful.)

Do you ever read a blurb for a book and you’re just SO intrigued by it you can’t get it out of your head? This is what happened to me with Waiting for April. I like paranormal books but this one sounded very different and I wanted to know what the heck was going on with Scott and April.

Well, it appears that Scott and April fell in love but then she died before her 18th birthday. Scott was grieving but then realized that he became invulnerable. Weird, to say the least. Scott was then pulled to different places at different times when April was reincarnated – as herself. She would have same shape and birthmarks as well as the same length of hair and to top it all off, she’d have the exact same name. Every time she came back Scott tried to save her from dying but it never happened.

This time is different though. Many different events occur and much information is passed along and Scott just knows in his heart that this time he’ll save April’s life. He just doesn’t have a clue how he’ll make that happen.

I really can’t tell you all that much about the story without giving a truckload of info away and that’s part of the books intensity. I really loved the writing in this story as it kept me turning page after page to get more info on Scott and April. I adored the way that Scott loved his girl. Some might have said that it bordered on obsession after all those year (yes, he’d been alive for 300 years) but he was alive for her so how could he not be there for her and love her to the depth of his soul?

The story had many twists and turns and I have to say that in the last 3 or so chapters it went from “a strange set of events” to a whole new level of fantastical. The fact that so many things were brought to light yet not fully explained by the last page of the book, however, left me with a huge feeling of frustration and I hate feeling like that! (Who doesn’t, right?) Anyway, I’m hoping that the sequel doesn’t take forever to release as I really want to know what happens with not only Scott and April but a whole lot of other secondary characters as well.

If you like a bit of the bizarre paranormal but a well written book then this one is definitely one you won’t want to miss.

Rating: 4.5 out of 5

This title is available from Momentum Books. You can buy it here or here in e-format. This book was provided by the publisher in exchange for an honest review.

four-half-stars

0 Comments
Tags: , , , , , , , , , ,


Guest Review: The Highlander Next Door by Janet Chapman

Posted November 10, 2014 by Tracy in Reviews | 0 Comments

Guest Review: The Highlander Next Door by Janet ChapmanReviewer: Tracy
The Highlander Next Door by Janet Chapman
Series: Spellbound Falls #6
Also in this series: The Heart of a Hero
Published by Penguin
Publication Date: August 26th 2014
Genres: Romance, Contemporary, Paranormal, Time Travel
Buy on Amazon | Barnes & Noble
Goodreads
three-stars

Birch Callahan has seen the trouble men can cause. After witnessing her mother’s four marriages, Birch now runs a women’s shelter and doesn’t want a man in her life. But there’s something about her neighbor, Niall MacKeage. Birch can’t figure out how the cop can be so big and gruff and yet so insightful and compassionate—and sexy. Or how she’s falling for a man who acts like someone from the twelfth century.

Niall knows that Birch is attracted to him, even if she seems to distrust all men. Yet he also knows she has a secret—something that drives her to place herself in harm’s way for the women of her shelter. Niall would gladly rush to Birch’s side to protect her from harm, but with their secrets standing between them, he’ll have to reveal his own truth if he wants to keep her…

 

Tracy’s review of The Highlander Next Door (Spellbound Falls #6) by Janet Chapman

Birch and her mother have moved to Spellbound Falls and Birch is running the local women’s shelter. She doesn’t get along so well with her neighbor, the new police chief Niall, but that’s more because every time she sees him she wants to jump him. She decides that they need to have an affair and she’ll get him out of her system but that has its ups and downs as well.

Niall knows that one day Birch will be his permanently but he needs to step lightly. He’s a warrior from the middle ages who was brought through time. He is now running the local police station and that has its good days and bad. When he finds out that Birch and her mother are the targets of a family of con artists Niall is determined to keep them both safe.

This was a cute story. I have to say that I really enjoyed Niall’s character a lot. He was pretty funny without trying to be. He knew right from wrong and he had a wonderful sense of self. Unfortunately I didn’t like him with Birch and that put a damper on the whole book for me. I also had a problem with the details of his life weren’t discussed at any time with Birch. I think before they had their HEA that he should have shared the fact that he came through time. I would have loved to have been privy to that conversation.

Birch was prickly and downright bitchy at times. I’m not sure what caused her to be that way but it wasn’t endearing in the least. She treated Niall badly at first and then claimed to lust after him. I found this strange as those people I don’t like I don’t find attractive – their personality drives down their appeal so the fact that Birch wanted to have an affair with Niall when she didn’t even like him threw me for a loop. Birch did loosen up a bit during the book but I never really warmed up to her.

The suspense portions of the story were decent ones and I thought those parts of the book were well done. This book also continued the story of a new character that was introduced in the last book (which I didn’t finish). I have to say that I’m not all that excited to read about him. I think I might have had my fill of Spellbound Falls. It was a good relationship but I think it’s time for me to move along.

Rating: 3 out of 5

This title is available from Jove. You can buy it here or here in e-format. This book was provided by the publisher in exchange for an honest review.

 

three-stars

0 Comments
Tags: , , , , , , , ,