Genre: Time Travel

Guest Review: Stars in Your Eyes by Lynn Kurland

Posted November 27, 2015 by Tracy in Reviews | 1 Comment

Guest Review: Stars in Your Eyes by Lynn KurlandReviewer: Tracy
Stars in You Eyes by Lynn Kurland
Series: de Piaget series #14
Also in this series: Dreams of Lilacs
Published by Jove
Publication Date: November 24, 2015
Genres: Contemporary, Historical, Medieval, Time Travel
Buy on Amazon | Barnes & Noble
Goodreads
three-stars

Imogen Maxwell is on a hunt for rare, antique items to use on a period movie set. The last thing she expects to discover in the peaceful Scottish countryside is a pristine medieval sword...or to suddenly find herself facing its very vintage owner in a far too authentic castle.

Phillip de Piaget has run out of patience with his recalcitrant Scottish betrothed and is determined that she will join him, once and for all, in front of the altar. Only the lass he captures fleeing his would-be keep seems more interested in running away from him than talking to him. In fact, she seems to have no idea who he is.

Imogen finally gets to Scotland after an incredibly long journey from America.  She is in Scotland to try and find inexpensive yet authentic looking medieval antiques for use in a movie that she’s a part of.  She heads into one store and is approached by a woman who she learns is named Heather.  Heather invites her to her castle which she says is chock full of authentic medieval antiques.  Imogen is excited and takes her up on her offer to visit. At one point in the tour of the castle Heather invites Imogen to touch a sword that’s been stuck in the floor of the great hall since (supposedly) the 13th century.  Imogen again takes Heather up on her offer and ends up being knocked over.

Imogen has been transported to a different time but her brain can’t even think that way.  She thinks, for a bit too long imho, that she’s on a movie set and that eveyone is method acting and not breaking character. The other possibility is that her evil siblings have once again played a trick on her and their filming the prank.  She finally has to come to realize that she’s been transported in time but it’s almost too much for her mind to contemplate.

Phillip de Piaget is the eldest son of Robin and Anne de Piaget and has been engaged to Heather of Haemesburgh for the past seven years.  He made the contracts with her father and without even meeting Heather in person.  Phillip is interested in the Haemesburgh castle and it’s position long the border of Scotland and England more than anything else.  He has tried to see Heather over the years but he’s gotten nothing but flack and even how dung thrown at him. He’s ready to marry and he’s not taking no for an answer this time.

When Phillip arrives at Haemesburgh right when a woman, who he at first thinks is Heather, hanging from the drawbridge that is going up.  He saves the woman, who is Imogen, and ends up watching over her.  Phillip is mystified by everything he finds at Haemesburgh  – including the absence of Heather – and then even more mystified when he heads to his uncle’s house and finds out that the “paranormal oddities” that he’s heard about most of his life are much more involved in his family than he ever would have thought possible.

This was a cute book.  With Imogen and Phillip falling in love pretty quickly I found it to be more about Phillip’s discovery of time travel and what that meant for his family than I would have expected.  Yes, the romance was sweet and I loved Phillip to death but I didn’t feel it as strongly as I have in past de Piaget books.

Imogen was an interesting woman.  She thought non-stop about being in a movie (as that’s what she thought happened when she time-traveled) but she did it for so long I found it to get a little old after a while.  I was happy when she finally started accepting the facts and seeing the incredible opportunity for what it was – a chance to see medieval life in person.

Overall it was pleasant read but I definitely had my issues with the blending of the romance with the rest of the story.

Rating: 3 out of 5

three-stars

1 Comment
Tags: , , , , , , , , , ,


Guest Review: Cinderella and the Ghost by Marina Myles

Posted February 20, 2015 by Tracy in Reviews | 0 Comments

Guest Review: Cinderella and the Ghost by Marina MylesReviewer: Tracy
Cinderella and the Ghost by Marina Myles
Series: The Cursed Princes #4
Published by Kensington Books
Publication Date: February 17th 2015
Genres: Historical, Fairy Tales & Folklore, Time Travel
Buy on Amazon | Barnes & Noble
Goodreads
three-stars

A DANGEROUS ATTRACTION
When her demanding stepmother died, Ella Benoit knew just how far their fortunes had fallen, unlike her spoiled stepsisters. So she never expected the bequest from her late father. A chateau in France and the freedom to live her own life, all at once!
The chateau has seen better days, but Ella knows she can put the ruined house to rights. The life-size portrait of its first owner, Jean-Daniel Girard, seems to watch her work with approval, even pleasure. With bright blue eyes, strong features, and an athlete’s body, the viscount is a tempting sight even now, more than three hundred years after his tragic death. But the more she looks at the portrait, the more convinced Ella is that she’s met Jean-Daniel before. In another life, perhaps—or maybe, as the form who haunts the halls at night, invading Ella’s dreams…

Tracy’s review of Cinderella and the Ghost (The Cursed Princes #4) by Marina Myles

Ella has been badgered, beaten down and treated like a slave by her stepmother and 2 stepsisters. She promised her father that she would look after her stepmother but it was darned difficult. Once her stepmother dies she finds that her father bought a French chateau for her and left money for her to restore it to its former beauty. She’s excited about the adventure and excited to be away from her horrible stepsisters.

Once in France she finds that the house is supposedly haunted. She does have some rather strange things happening but while scared she honestly believes that the ghost – who she believes is the Vicomte in the painting, Jean-Daniel Girard – is trying to tell her something. She figures out that he wants her to return to him somehow but she has no clue what to do to time-travel. When she finds a magical amulet it manages to propel her into the past.

Once in the past Ella finds many things. First she meets Jean-Daniel who she instantly likes and soon grows to love. She also finds that there are many people in her 21st Century who were surely reincarnated from the people she meets in the past – namely her friend Mimi and of course her evil stepmother and 2 evil stepsisters. Can she not get away from them? She has to find a way that she and Jean-Daniel can be together but also find a way to save his life as she knows exactly when he died.

This was a cute little book and I liked the story, to a point, but sometimes found it to drag in places and go on unnecessarily in others. I think it could have been tighter and the story would have flowed better. The second half of the book seemed to fly by but the first half was slow going. I also wasn’t a fan of the Vicomte playing with a rubber ball with his dog in 1703 as rubber wasn’t invented until the 19th century

This is a twist on the typical Cinderella story and I really liked that. It had some good ideas going for it and I was happy that the couple found love. That is, until that HEA was trashed completely at the end. I ended the book and was ranting to my husband. How could the author dangle that HEA out there and make us think that all was well and then pull the rug out from under us??? The ending, which was supposed to make us happy, I believe, and make us think that Ella found her HEA (again pushing the reincarnation idea) was harsh and completely angered me. I wish that things hadn’t worked out for Ella and Jean-Daniel in 1703 as I would have been much happier with the conclusion in 2015.

Overall the book was ok but unfortunately I can’t say I completely enjoyed it.

Rating: 3 out of 5

This title is available from Kensington. You can buy it here or here in e-format. This book was provided by the publisher in exchange for an honest review.

three-stars

0 Comments
Tags: , , , , , , , , , ,


Guest Review: Waiting for April by Jaime Loren

Posted February 10, 2015 by Tracy in Reviews | 0 Comments

Guest Review: Waiting for April by Jaime LorenWaiting for April by Jaime Loren
Published by Pan, Momentum Books
Publication Date: February 12th 2015
Genres: Romance, Contemporary, Fantasy, Young Adult, Time Travel
Buy on Amazon | Barnes & Noble
Goodreads
four-half-stars

April Fletcher has died nineteen times... but she doesn't know it.As far as April is concerned, she's just a normal seventeen-year-old, looking forward to spending spring break with her friends and going to college in the fall. April doesn't know she has never lived past her eighteenth birthday, nor does she realize that Scott Parker, her best friend, is actually her childhood sweetheart and fiancé from her very first life.For nineteen-year-old Scott Parker, spending quality time with his soul mate has proved difficult ever since her tragic death in 1729. Since then he has lost her an additional eighteen times—each of her deaths more devastating than the last, and each of her births wiping the slate of her memory clean. Unable to save her but unwilling to give up, Scott has to hide the fact he's immortal—and will be until April confesses her love again.But this time, things have changed. April has denied her feelings for him, is dating someone else, and with her eighteenth birthday fast approaching, their friendship is falling to pieces. Fearing their souls are irrevocably drifting apart, Scott must race against the clock to win her heart and save her life.Or risk losing her forever.

Tracy’s review of Waiting for April by Jaime Loren

(Love, love, love this cover.  So simple, yet beautiful.)

Do you ever read a blurb for a book and you’re just SO intrigued by it you can’t get it out of your head? This is what happened to me with Waiting for April. I like paranormal books but this one sounded very different and I wanted to know what the heck was going on with Scott and April.

Well, it appears that Scott and April fell in love but then she died before her 18th birthday. Scott was grieving but then realized that he became invulnerable. Weird, to say the least. Scott was then pulled to different places at different times when April was reincarnated – as herself. She would have same shape and birthmarks as well as the same length of hair and to top it all off, she’d have the exact same name. Every time she came back Scott tried to save her from dying but it never happened.

This time is different though. Many different events occur and much information is passed along and Scott just knows in his heart that this time he’ll save April’s life. He just doesn’t have a clue how he’ll make that happen.

I really can’t tell you all that much about the story without giving a truckload of info away and that’s part of the books intensity. I really loved the writing in this story as it kept me turning page after page to get more info on Scott and April. I adored the way that Scott loved his girl. Some might have said that it bordered on obsession after all those year (yes, he’d been alive for 300 years) but he was alive for her so how could he not be there for her and love her to the depth of his soul?

The story had many twists and turns and I have to say that in the last 3 or so chapters it went from “a strange set of events” to a whole new level of fantastical. The fact that so many things were brought to light yet not fully explained by the last page of the book, however, left me with a huge feeling of frustration and I hate feeling like that! (Who doesn’t, right?) Anyway, I’m hoping that the sequel doesn’t take forever to release as I really want to know what happens with not only Scott and April but a whole lot of other secondary characters as well.

If you like a bit of the bizarre paranormal but a well written book then this one is definitely one you won’t want to miss.

Rating: 4.5 out of 5

This title is available from Momentum Books. You can buy it here or here in e-format. This book was provided by the publisher in exchange for an honest review.

four-half-stars

0 Comments
Tags: , , , , , , , , , ,


Guest Review: The Highlander Next Door by Janet Chapman

Posted November 10, 2014 by Tracy in Reviews | 0 Comments

Guest Review: The Highlander Next Door by Janet ChapmanReviewer: Tracy
The Highlander Next Door by Janet Chapman
Series: Spellbound Falls #6
Also in this series: The Heart of a Hero
Published by Penguin
Publication Date: August 26th 2014
Genres: Romance, Contemporary, Paranormal, Time Travel
Buy on Amazon | Barnes & Noble
Goodreads
three-stars

Birch Callahan has seen the trouble men can cause. After witnessing her mother’s four marriages, Birch now runs a women’s shelter and doesn’t want a man in her life. But there’s something about her neighbor, Niall MacKeage. Birch can’t figure out how the cop can be so big and gruff and yet so insightful and compassionate—and sexy. Or how she’s falling for a man who acts like someone from the twelfth century.

Niall knows that Birch is attracted to him, even if she seems to distrust all men. Yet he also knows she has a secret—something that drives her to place herself in harm’s way for the women of her shelter. Niall would gladly rush to Birch’s side to protect her from harm, but with their secrets standing between them, he’ll have to reveal his own truth if he wants to keep her…

 

Tracy’s review of The Highlander Next Door (Spellbound Falls #6) by Janet Chapman

Birch and her mother have moved to Spellbound Falls and Birch is running the local women’s shelter. She doesn’t get along so well with her neighbor, the new police chief Niall, but that’s more because every time she sees him she wants to jump him. She decides that they need to have an affair and she’ll get him out of her system but that has its ups and downs as well.

Niall knows that one day Birch will be his permanently but he needs to step lightly. He’s a warrior from the middle ages who was brought through time. He is now running the local police station and that has its good days and bad. When he finds out that Birch and her mother are the targets of a family of con artists Niall is determined to keep them both safe.

This was a cute story. I have to say that I really enjoyed Niall’s character a lot. He was pretty funny without trying to be. He knew right from wrong and he had a wonderful sense of self. Unfortunately I didn’t like him with Birch and that put a damper on the whole book for me. I also had a problem with the details of his life weren’t discussed at any time with Birch. I think before they had their HEA that he should have shared the fact that he came through time. I would have loved to have been privy to that conversation.

Birch was prickly and downright bitchy at times. I’m not sure what caused her to be that way but it wasn’t endearing in the least. She treated Niall badly at first and then claimed to lust after him. I found this strange as those people I don’t like I don’t find attractive – their personality drives down their appeal so the fact that Birch wanted to have an affair with Niall when she didn’t even like him threw me for a loop. Birch did loosen up a bit during the book but I never really warmed up to her.

The suspense portions of the story were decent ones and I thought those parts of the book were well done. This book also continued the story of a new character that was introduced in the last book (which I didn’t finish). I have to say that I’m not all that excited to read about him. I think I might have had my fill of Spellbound Falls. It was a good relationship but I think it’s time for me to move along.

Rating: 3 out of 5

This title is available from Jove. You can buy it here or here in e-format. This book was provided by the publisher in exchange for an honest review.

 

three-stars

0 Comments
Tags: , , , , , , , ,


Guest Review: Debutantes Don’t Date by Kristina O’Grady

Posted July 15, 2014 by Tracy in Reviews | 1 Comment

Guest Review: Debutantes Don’t Date by Kristina O’GradyReviewer: Tracy
Debutantes Don't Date by Kristina O'Grady
Series: Time-Travel to Regency England #1
Published by HarperCollins UK
Publication Date: April 30th 2014
Genres: Romance, Time Travel, Historical
Buy on Amazon | Barnes & Noble
Goodreads
two-half-stars

At the stroke of midnight...

One minute Grace Lancaster is an overworked event manager organising 2013’s New Year’s Eve ball... The next she’s kissing a rather gorgeous man at the Regency themed party. Everyone’s entitled to an out-of-character New Year’s kiss, right? Except Jasper Mossman, Earl of Bingham, isn’t at a costume party - he’s a real-life gentleman from 1813...

And, it seems, kissing a man in Regency London has consequences!
What Grace considers normal behaviour scandalises Regency society and so far she’s provided the irrepressible gossips of the ton with a season’s worth of conversation! In a scramble to protect her reputation, as well as his own, Jasper insists that they marry for the sake of her honour. Marrying Mr Darcy might be a 21st century girl’s dream – but the reality is far from romantic. Corsets are uncomfortable, no running water is disastrous! Grace had always planned on falling in love before she got married, but when Jasper takes her in his arms she just might believe she’s finally found her very own Prince Charming.

 

Tracy’s review of Debutantes Don’t Date by Kristina O’Grady

Grace is an event planner and is at a New Year’s Eve costume ball in 2013. She’s having a good time until the lights go off and she gets very dizzy. Next thing you know she’s crawling out from under a table with her skirts around her waist – then hits her head – and starts wondering what the heck happened. She is assisted from her predicament by a very good looking man. Once she’s up on her feet she leads the man to an alcove and begins to thank him for his assistance by kissing him and practically attacking him. They are having a great time making out when they are caught in the act. Grace doesn’t think this is such a scandalous thing but she has no idea that she has just time traveled and is now in 1813, not 2013, and it’s INCREDIBLY scandalous.

The man who assisted Grace, and ended up kissing her, was Jasper Mossman, the Earl of Bingham. It was highly unlike him to be kissing anyone in public so to get caught was crazy. He had been promised in marriage to someone since birth but had been putting off actually asking for her hand. Now that he and Grace had been caught he was honor bound to marry her instead. Only Grace doesn’t want to get married – she wants to go back to 2013. Jasper finds himself falling in love with Grace and wants nothing more than to be with her the rest of his life. She’s not being very cooperative, however.

When Grace figures out that she’s traveled through time she’s more than a bit shocked. She confesses to Jasper’s sister about the time travel, as she’s staying with her, but no one else knows. She’s highly attracted to Jasper and they can’t seem to keep their hands off of each other whenever they’re together but she doesn’t know when she’ll go back to 2013, or even if she will.

Then there’s the brother of Jasper’s previous intended who owes a lot of people a lot of money and is pissed off that he now won’t have access to Jasper’s money. He devises a plan that will get Grace out of the way and so will leave Jasper open to marry his sister, Anne.

Debutantes Don’t Date was a cute little story that I had some definite issues with. I thought that the book had a good premise to it but unfortunately I didn’t really care for the execution all that much. The POV’s kept skipping around – head hopping from person to person – and I never knew what/who I was going to get next. And, as much as I liked the premise of it all it ended up being pretty convoluted. The character all seemed to be doing things that they would have normally done and that made it way more fantastical to me.

First there’s the time travel part of it all. Grace time traveled but never did she seem aware of history being changed or the impact her being there might have on…everything. It was a little bizarre to have a heroine be that oblivious.

The romance in this story was more lust driven than anything else. Yes, we were told that Jasper and Grace had tea together and talked every day but we were never shown those incidences. Had we been privy to their conversations it might have solidified their relationship in my head.

The threat from the brother of Jasper’s almost fiancé was a bit far fetched but we were shown how bat shit crazy the guy was so I think the author tried to explain things well.

While there were things about the story that I didn’t care for I thought it was a cute, sweet story.

Rating: 2.5/3 out of 5

You can read more from Tracy at Tracy’s Place

This title is available from Carina Press. You can buy it here or here in e-format. This book was provided by the author in exchange for an honest review.

two-half-stars

1 Comment
Tags: , , , , , , , ,