Genre: Romantic Comedy

Guest Review: Level Up by Cathy Yardley

Posted January 29, 2016 by Jen in Reviews | 4 Comments

Guest Review: Level Up by Cathy YardleyReviewer: Jen
Level Up by Cathy Yardley
Series: Fandom Hearts #1
Published by Self-Published
Publication Date: January 3, 2016
Genres: Contemporary, New Adult, Romantic Comedy
Pages: 151
Buy on Amazon | Barnes & Noble
Goodreads
four-half-stars

Geeky introvert Tessa Rodriguez will do whatever it takes to get promoted to video game engineer– including create a fandom-based video game in just three weeks. The only problem is, she can't do it alone. Now, she needs to strong-arm, cajole, and otherwise socialize with her video game coworkers, especially her roommate, Adam, who’s always been strictly business with her. The more they work together, though, the closer they get…

Adam London has always thought of his roomie Tessa as “one of the guys” until he agreed to help her with this crazy project. Now, he’s thinking of her all the time… and certainly as something more than just a roommate! But his last girlfriend broke up with him to follow her ambitions, and he knows that Tessa is obsessed with getting ahead in the video game world.

Going from friends to something more is one hell of a challenge. Can Tessa and Adam level up their relationship to love?

Full disclosure: At the time I read this book, it was free on Amazon and Barnes and Noble. I didn’t get any special treatment, but I didn’t pay for it.

Let me get straight to the point: I freaking LOVED this book. I had such a good time reading it! And is that cover not the cutest? I would like a print of that thing to hang on my wall because…gah, adorable!

Tessa works for a video game company as an audio coder, which is a relatively menial job in the scheme of video game creation, but she’s hoping to leverage her foot-in-the-door and become a game engineer. Her roommate Adam is already a producer at their company, so when a job opens up on the engineering team, Tessa tells Adam she wants his help getting it. The problem is, Tessa has never made any effort to make friends at the office, and Adam tells her that unless she puts herself out there more and tries to fit in with the all-male team in engineering, she won’t have much of a chance at the position. In an effort to get a social life, Tessa kind of inadvertently makes friends with a group of geeky women in her neighborhood, and she concocts a crazy plan to help her new friends out of a huge jam. She needs Adam’s help for her plan to work, but as they spend more time together they start to realize that maybe they’ve both been missing what was right in front of them.

I stumbled on this book purely by chance, and boy am I glad I did. This book was so much fun to read! Tessa and Adam are awesome characters on their own and an even more awesome couple together. Tessa is a Latina geek girl in her mid-twenties, focused on her job and on the various fandoms she participates in. She really doesn’t even talk to Adam much–she only moved in with him because he needed a roommate at the same time she needed a room, not because she was friends with him. People at work don’t dislike Tessa, but they also don’t know her, and as she learns near the end of the book, her reticence to engage in any social interactions at work has genuinely hurt her professional opportunities, not to mention made her life quite lonely. But Tessa isn’t a pushover or weakling. Her industry is almost entirely dominated by men, and she has had to fight at every step to get jobs and respect. It’s made her driven and tough and blunt, and it made me love her.

Tessa’s toughness is tempered by Adam’s sweetness. He’s a beta, my favorite kind of hero. I love that he treats Tessa with so much respect–he isn’t afraid to stand up for her publicly when needed, but mostly he just offers her his unconditional support as she stands up for herself. Plus, a guy who isn’t afraid to repeatedly talk about consent is always sexy in my book! These two had some serious chemistry, and I loved the way they started noticing things about the other and reacting physically before their brains had totally caught up. It is a little unusual that these two crazy kids lived together for a year before they noticed each other, but given that Tessa tried to hard to stay to herself made me buy in. I could believe that Adam would have left her alone if that’s the vibe she had been sending out.

The other thing I loved about this book is the geekiness. I’ve read books with similar themes where there is a lot of info dumpy, “see how much geeky stuff I know?” exposition. Here, I thought the gaming/TV/comics/etc references were mostly authentic and integral to the characters, not just name-dropping. Yardley seems to know her geek culture and gets the details right. It was fun and interesting without pandering.

This is a relatively short book, and while I felt that the story arc was complete and the characters were clear, the plot and characters are not extremely complex. I would have especially liked to see more interaction between Tessa and her new girlfriends–I hope we get every one of their stories because they were a blast. Lack of complexity isn’t a criticism from me, but if you prefer in-depth explorations of complicated characters and emotions, this book may not be top on your list. I did also feel like the book got off to a bit of a slow start, though once Tessa and Adam start noticing each other things picked way up.

These are nitpicky justifications for why I’m not assigning a 5 out of 5 grade, because I came close! I enjoyed the hell out of this book. The book isn’t angsty and is fairly light on conflict. Instead, it’s a funny, sweet story with lovable, diverse, smart characters, and I can’t wait to read more of this series.

Grade: 4.5 out of 5

four-half-stars

4 Comments
Tags: , , , , , , , ,


Joint Review: The Score by Elle Kennedy

Posted January 15, 2016 by Holly in Reviews | 2 Comments

Joint Review: The Score by Elle KennedyReviewer: Holly and Rowena
The Score by Elle Kennedy
Series: Off Campus #3
Also in this series: The Deal, The Score (Off-Campus, #3), The Goal
Published by Self-Published
Publication Date: January 11, 2016
Genres: Contemporary, New Adult, Romantic Comedy, Contemporary Romance
Pages: 350 pages
Buy on Amazon | Barnes & Noble
Goodreads
four-stars

He knows how to score, on and off the ice

Allie Hayes is in crisis mode. With graduation looming, she still doesn’t have the first clue about what she's going to do after college. To make matters worse, she’s nursing a broken heart thanks to the end of her longtime relationship. Wild rebound sex is definitely not the solution to her problems, but gorgeous hockey star Dean Di-Laurentis is impossible to resist. Just once, though, because even if her future is uncertain, it sure as heck won’t include the king of one-night stands.

It’ll take more than flashy moves to win her over

Dean always gets what he wants. Girls, grades, girls, recognition, girls…he’s a ladies man, all right, and he’s yet to meet a woman who’s immune to his charms. Until Allie. For one night, the feisty blonde rocked his entire world—and now she wants to be friends? Nope. It’s not over until he says it’s over. Dean is in full-on pursuit, but when life-rocking changes strike, he starts to wonder if maybe it’s time to stop focusing on scoring…and shoot for love.

Warning: We included spoilers, but they’re hidden under the tag. Click at your own risk!!

Holly:  I really loved this story. Though he still isn’t my favorite character from the series, Dean really came to life for me over the course of the story. I loved how unapologetic he was about who and what he is. He grew up extremely rich, but there was no dysfunction in his family. They’re a tight-knit group who love and respect one another. He’s a playboy, sure, but it isn’t because he’s got some deep, dark secret lurking in his past. He just likes to go to the “bone zone”. He’s had a few heartaches and frustrations in his life, but only a few. He’s laid back in the extreme.

Rowena: ​I really loved this one too.

I was surprised by how much I loved this one because I thought Dean was a crackhead and I wasn’t prepared for how much I would come to love him. I mean, he wasn’t as on my radar as Logan was before I started The Mistake, but boy did Elle Kennedy make me sit up and take notice of Dean in this one. I may not have been a big Dean fan before this book but I just might be the President of the Dean fan club now.

Holly: Dean is a totally unapologetic man-whore. He likes sex and refuses to apologize for liking it with as many partners as possible. He knows Allie is off limits because she’s Hannah’s best friend, but when they both give in to temptation one night and she completely rocks his world, he can’t stop thinking about her.

Rowena: They were really good together. I liked that Dean was bothered by Allie and Sean. I was so used to him sleeping with different girls every night, with no repeats that seeing him imprint on Allie was cute at the same time that it was hilarious. When Beau calls Allie, Bella and Allie gets all pissy…haha!

Holly:  I loved that he was all about her at first because she kept refusing him.

Rowena: The romance in this one was good. I loved seeing both Dean and Allie come together. Dean really had his work cut out with this one and it was fun to see Mr. Playboy really work to get in Allie’s pants.

Normally, I’m not a fan of the whole secret romance plot but I think Kennedy did a good job with this one. When they finally came out out of the closet, I loved it. I loved that it was Dean that Allie turned to for comfort.

Holly: I thought it was hilarious how they kept their fling a secret so they wouldn’t get crap from their friends. OMG, the bathtub scene? I DIED. I was laughing so hard I almost fell out of bed.

Rowena: I loved that scene! Dean was so disgruntled and seeing Allie laugh at the same time feeling bad about it all had me cracking up.

Holly: I really liked that Allie knew she wasn’t cut out for casual sex and chose not to indulge. I found her desire to be in a caring relationship realistic and, honestly, kind of refreshing. Please don’t misunderstand, I’m all for sexual liberation however that comes. I think women should be able to be as sexually free as men, without the slut-shaming that often follows. But there are women out there who aren’t interested in casual sex, and I’m glad to see that portrayed here. Allie wasn’t repressed or a prude. She was more than willing to get freaky and try out new kinks, she just wasn’t interested in trying those out with casual partners.

Rowena: I understand what you mean. Allie wasn’t there judging other women if they wanted to be a part of the casual sex scene but she wasn’t interested in that. Sex was something she enjoyed but she was more comfortable enjoying sex with someone she cared about and not any Tom, Dick or Harry would do. I could respect that.

What did you think about the whole thing with Beau?

Holly: I’m not sure what I think about the thing with Beau. It was unexpected and kind of shocking. I’m still processing it.

I found the main conflict to be a bit disappointing. I saw it coming from the very beginning, but I’d hoped Kennedy would take the story in a different direction. Though I understand it was necessary for Dean’s growth as a character, I would have liked to see that happen in a different way.

Rowena: What kind of direction?

Holly: I’m not sure. I guess I wanted Dean to prove Allie’s dad wrong. He said Dean wasn’t strong enough to handle any major crisis or curve-ball. I didn’t want him to be right. I wanted Dean to man-up and be there for her. To pull himself out of his funk without taking advantage of Allie. I just wanted him to be better than her dad expected him to be.

Rowena: Yeah, you’re right. I would have preferred for that to happen. For Dean to prove Allie’s Dad wrong but I’m glad that he eventually got it right.

View Spoiler »

Holly: That aside, I didn’t have much to complain about. There was a lot of humor and I loved the banter and wit.

Rowena: Elle Kennedy wrote another strong character driven romance with lovable characters and I can’t help but want more from this world and from Elle Kennedy period. She’s like one of my favorite authors ever. I’m following so many of her series but this series is my favorite. This book was another winner for me.

Holly: I really loved Allie’s inner strength. I felt like she really help up well with all the stuff she had to deal with.

Rowena: I really liked Allie’s character. She was true to who she was throughout the entire story. She was strong and she liked herself and cared about those around her. I loved when people would talk about Dean and inwardly, she’d get all defensive.

Rowena: It would be nice to have a spin off since we’re running out of people in the Off-Campus house to read books about.

Holly: I’m not ready to leave this world, either, but I don’t know that I’m interested in an offshoot featuring the football team. Maybe…

Rowena: Speaking of, Tuck? Holy shit, Tuck!!

Holly: I knew what Tuck was doing that whole time. I can’t wait to see how that plays out.

Rowena: ​Did you know his whole story line or you just knew that he was working toward that announcement at the end? LOL.​ And his heroine? How do you feel about her? I’m not sure yet.

Holly: I suspected he was going to announce what he did, but I flat knew who his heroine was going to be. I’m on the fence about her, too. I’m sure Kennedy will write a fab story, though. I have faith.

Rowena: But overall? I loved this book. Gah, I just loved it all. 4.5 out of 5

Holly: I was disappointed in Dean at the end, but Allie’s inner strength impressed me, and Dean’s slow slide into commitment was very satisfying indeed. Definitely another winner from Kennedy.  4 out of 5

Final Grades

Rowena: 4.5 out of 5
Holly: 4 out of 4

four-stars

2 Comments
Tags: , , , , , , , , , ,


Review: Seven Years by Dannika Dark

Posted June 4, 2015 by Holly in Reviews | 0 Comments

Review: Seven Years by Dannika DarkReviewer: Holly
Seven Years by Dannika Dark
Series: Seven Series #1
Also in this series: Six Months, Five Weeks (Seven Series #3)
Published by Dannika Dark
Publication Date: September 4th 2014
Genres: Fiction, Fantasy, Paranormal, Romance, Urban, General, Romantic Comedy
Pages: 331
Buy on Amazon | Barnes & Noble
Goodreads
three-half-stars

Paranormal Romance: Book 1. USA TODAY Bestselling Author
Seven years ago, my world ended.Seven years later, my new life began.
It's been seven years since Lexi Knight lost her brother in a tragic accident. On the anniversary of his death, her brother's best friend shows up unexpectedly - a man she hasn't seen since the funeral. He is no longer the boy Lexi once knew, but a dangerous-looking man with tattoos and dark secrets. He broke her trust and abandoned her family, yet what he reveals makes it impossible to stay angry. Lexi has been secretly infatuated with Austin since childhood, so finding out he's a Shifter just makes him sexier. Dammit.
Austin Cole has returned to the city where he grew up, and just in time. He's lived a hard life these past seven years, and the shadows of his past are threatening to destroy Lexi's family. It's time that she learned the truth about her brother, but there is a shocking twist that Austin never saw coming. Now he must protect her family when her mother and sister wind up in mortal danger. Will Lexi learn to accept the truth about who he is, and can Austin salvage a relationship from the ruins of their past?
18+Full-length novelCliffhanger-freeHEA
SEVEN SERIES READING ORDER:Book 1 - Seven Years (Seven Series #1)Book 2 - Six Months (Seven Series #2)Book 3 - Five Weeks (Seven Series #3)Book 4 - Four Days (Seven Series #4)Book 5 - Three Hours (Seven Series #5)Book 6: Two Minutes (Seven Series #6)
MAGERI SERIES READING ORDER:Book 1 - Sterling (Mageri Series: Book 1) USA Today Bestseller!Book 2 - Twist (Mageri Series: Book 2)Book 3 - Impulse (Mageri Series: Book 3)Book 4 - Gravity (Mageri Series: Book 4)Book 5 - Shine (Mageri Series: Book 5) Final Installment!
OTHER BOOKS:Closer: A Novella
Keywords:
alpha male, hero, paranormal romance, romantic comedy, urban fantasy, wolf, wolves, werewolf, shifters, pack, supernatural, alpha, biker, rocker, rock star, native american, sweethearts, best friends, hea, no cliffhanger, series, family, brothers, romance, heroine, action, adventure, vampires, mages, fantasy, novel, series, mageri, sexy, steamy, brilliant, southern, texas, bestseller, lad, bloke, naughty, mage, vampire, realistic love story, tattoos, tatted, hot cars, fairy tale, thriller, new adult, interracial, coming of age, suspense, comedy, humor, bad boy, motorcycle, rock star, tattoos, protagonist, heroine, family, dangerous, action, unrequited, love hate relationships, stripper, pole dancer, prince, billionaire,

Seven years ago, Lexi’s older brother died in a motorcycle accident and her world imploded. Her mother got pregnant and her father left. Since then she’s been struggling to deal with the pain of her loss, helping her mother raise her younger sister, and working a dead end job at a candy shop. When her brother’s best friend suddenly returns on the eve of his death, Lexi is angry and hurt. She hasn’t seen Austin since the night her brother died. Since they were just as close and she and her brother were, and since her mother considered him a second son, his disappearing act hurt all of them.

Austin had a good reason for disappearing seven years ago, though he wasn’t able to share it with Lexi or her family. He’s actually Breed, a shapeshifter that takes the form of a wolf. He was born an alpha, and he adopted Lexi’s family as his pack to sort of practice on (his family’s explanation for his connection to them). To protect them, he had to leave after Lexi’s brother died. He didn’t accidentally die in a motorcycle accident as Austin let Lexi believe; he was actually murdered because he was working for a powerful Mage with the hope of being turned into an immortal.

Now Austin and his brothers have returned to town permanently, and he can’t keep away from Lexi. Especially when it’s revealed that Lexi is a Shifter, too. She had no idea and neither did Austin. Now she needs protection from the local packs who want to claim her and her brother’s old enemies.

I liked the story and the world. The Shifters were different in that once the animal took over, the human was no longer present. It was actually like they blacked out. They remembered nothing of their time as a wolf (except Alphas who sometimes remembered and sometimes didn’t).

I struggled a bit with how accepting the heroine was of her new situation. I wanted her to demand answers, but a lot of the time she brushed it aside when someone refused to answer her questions or the subject was changed. She’d ask a question, get blown off, and just go on her merry way. That’s not to say I didn’t like the story. I just wish there’d been a bit more skepticism on her part, and a little more force in getting answers.

The romance was pretty good, though I thought the hero read as a bit young and hotheaded at times. I’d have liked to see him as a more mature alpha, which is one of the reasons I marked this as New Adult. He has a long way to go. I liked them together and thought they had good chemistry, but they both need some maturity. Actually, the entire pack needs maturity, even those who were centuries old.

The writing is pretty inconsistent. Sometimes flowery and meandering, other times choppy and disjointed. I was pulled out of the story several times because of minor continuity issues, and others because of major plot holes, typos and grammar issues. The story was interesting enough to keep me reading, but the story needed a good edit.

3.25 out of 5

three-half-stars

0 Comments
Tags: , , , , , , ,


Review: Suddenly One Summer by Julie James

Posted June 1, 2015 by Holly in Reviews | 4 Comments

Review: Suddenly One Summer by Julie JamesReviewer: Holly
Suddenly One Summer by Julie James
Series: FBI/US Attorney #6
Also in this series: It Happened One Wedding, Suddenly One Summer
Published by Penguin
Publication Date: June 2nd 2015
Genres: Fiction, Romance, Contemporary, Contemporary Women, Romantic Comedy
Pages: 304
Buy on Amazon | Barnes & Noble
Goodreads
four-stars

From the New York Times bestselling author of It Happened One Wedding comes a novel about a man and a woman whose summer is about to get very, very hot... Divorce lawyer Victoria Slade has seen enough unhappy endings to swear off marriage forever. That doesn't mean she's opposed to casual dating—just not with her cocky new neighbor, who is as gorgeous and tempting as he is off-limits. But once she agrees to take on his sister's case, she's as determined to win as ever—even if that means teaming up with Ford....
Investigative journalist Ford Dixon is bent on finding the man who got his sister pregnant and left her high and dry. He's willing to partner with Victoria, despite the fact that the beautiful brunette gets under his skin like no other woman. He might not be looking to settle down, but there's no denying the scorching attraction between them. Still, the more time he spends with Victoria, the more he realizes that the one woman as skeptical about love as he is might be the only woman he could really fall for…
"If you need a great read to throw in your beach bag, make sure Suddenly One Summer is one of your choices." --USA Today
From the Paperback edition.

James is a go-to for smart heroines, and Victoria Slade is no exception. She’s witty, sarcastic, independent and in charge of her life. Her unexpected friendship with her next door neighbor made for some sweet, poignant moments, and also a lot of snickering and laugh-out-loud moments.

Victoria’s house was broken into while she was home. After having a couple panic attacks, she decides she needs a change and buys a new condo. While she’s waiting for the sale to go through, she sublets another condo and ends up sharing a bedroom wall with Ford Dixon. She’s already sleep deprived thanks to the attempted robbery, and his nighttime antics don’t do much to help the situation. Things finally come to a head when she jumps down his throat, and they vow to stay away from each other (despite a rather sizzling mutual attraction). Until Ford’s sister decides to find the father of her baby and Victoria inadvertently volunteers her services as a lawyer. Ford is determined to help his sister. so Victoria is forced to partner up with him.

The more time they spend together, the more they realize their initial impressions about each other were wrong. Neither is really in the market for a long-term commitment, but a summer fling might be just what the doctor ordered. If they can keep their hearts out of it…

Victoria was sarcastic and witty. Ford was charming and fun. Together they were a great couple. I loved the way their romance developed, and their unexpected friendship. Neither was good at being vulnerable, but they both ended up leaning on the other. The plot featuring Ford’s sister was interesting, and I loved the glimpses we got of their respective careers. One thing I think James excels at is giving us well-rounded characters. Too often in contemporary romance their main characters focus on each other to the exclusion of all else. That isn’t the case here. Victoria had her work, and so did Ford. He had his friends, and so did she. It wasn’t hard to immerse myself completely in the story, since I felt like we lived their lives with them.

This was everything I’ve come to expect from James; fun and flirty, with the unexpected bonus of a lot of spice.

4.0 out of 5

four-stars

4 Comments
Tags: , , , , , ,


Joint Review: Blonde Date by Sarina Bowen

Posted December 29, 2014 by Rowena in Reviews | 6 Comments

Joint Review: Blonde Date by Sarina BowenReviewer: Holly and Rowena
Blonde Date by Sarina Bowen
Series: The Ivy Years #2.5
Also in this series: The Year We Hid Away, The Year We Fell Down, The Fifteenth Minute, The Fifteenth Minute
Published by Rennie Road Books
Publication Date: July 9th 2014
Genres: Fiction, Romance, New Adult, Contemporary, Romantic Comedy
Pages: 98
Buy on Amazon | Barnes & Noble
Goodreads
four-stars

A blind date. A nervous sorority girl. A mean-spirited fraternity prank. What could go wrong?
As a sorority pledge, there are commandments that Katie Vickery must live by. One: thou shalt not show up for the party without a date. Two: the guy shall be an athlete, preferably an upperclassman.
Unfortunately, Katie just broke up with her jerkface football player boyfriend. Even worse, her last encounter with him resulted in utter humiliation. She’d rather hide under the bed than attend a party where he'll be.
Yet staying home would mean letting him win.
Enjoying herself tonight was out of the question. She could only hope to get through the evening without her blind date noticing that he was spending the evening with a crazy person.
Andrew Baschnagel is living proof that nice guys don’t finish first. He’s had his eye on Katie since the moment her long legs waltzed into his art history class. So when her roommate sets Andy up to be Katie’s date, he’d be crazy to say no. Unfortunately, he doesn’t have a lot of practice with either girls or parties. Yet.
“Blonde Date is nothing short of brilliant.”— KimberlyFayeReads.com“I loved the preceding Ivy Series books but this novella has just become my favorite.”— Booknerdian world
Keywords: sports romance, new adult, college, basketball, novella, sororities, fraternities, humorous romance

Rowena: Holly and I challenged ourselves to do more joint reviews, one review a month this year and in true Holly and Rowena fashion, we fell behind. So this month, you get two reviews from us.

The first review we did was The Year We Hid Away by Sarina Bowen and it was a book that both Holly and I LOVED. That’s saying something because Holly doesn’t love every single book she reads. So kudos to Sarina Bowen for that book.

This review will be about Blonde Date by Sarina Bowen. It’s the short story that features Scarlett’s roommate, Blonde Katie and Bridger’s friend Andy.

I really enjoyed this one. I thought Andy and Katie were great fun to read and get to know. My only gripe? Andy and the Celtics. Just, ugh.

What did you think?

Holly: I think you’re a dork for caring who his team was. Lol Although. ..I don’t think I could love a man who likes the Raiders,  so I guess I can’t talk.

Rowena: You can think that all you want but a Lakers fan will never willingly cheer for a Celtics fan. And I’m a ride or die Lakers fan. I’d have to be considering the seasons we’ve been having lately.

Holly: Can I just say, Andy was adorable. I loved how nerdy he was. When he realizes Katie is nervous, and he decides to help her figure out a way to make the party more bearable? LOVE!

Rowena:  I made an exception for Andy because he was just too freaking awesome. I chose to not blame him for his choice in basketball teams.

The game that Andy chose to play with Katie to get her through the party was too freaking cute for words. I loved that throughout the entire date, Andy was trying to make Katie at ease and I really liked that Katie let him. He really shined at that party and their cute little inside jokes was fun to read about.

What I really liked was how this whole story is going on during the same time as Bridger and Scarlett’s story so the little tid bits lined up and had me grinning like a fool. The music they heard coming from the other room, the laughing and dancing? Hahahahaha. I loved it.

Holly: I loved that, too. Normally I don’t like it when a romance story is set over such a short period of time, but the way this was told, it worked. I loved their entire date, from Katie’s confession and Andy’s reaction, to the game he devised and even the way he managed to make his point to Katie’s ex without making it a big deal.

The thoughts Katie has about slut shaming and her feelings about some of the choices she’s made really made me think, too. Bowen does that a lot. Make me think, I mean.

Rowena: She made me think a lot too. That’s good sometimes and it worked for this story. What I liked about Katie is how real she is. She thought and acted the same way I would done in her shoes and I liked that she was so real.

Holly: I agree, she was very real. So was Andy, for that matter. He wasn’t over the top, he was just a regular guy. He was cute.

What did you think of the last chapter being told from Dash’s (Katie’s ex) point of view?  Do you think he can be redeemed?

Rowena: More than anything, I was confused by the last chapter being told by Dash. Is he getting his own book? Do you know? I know that Bella (Mike Graham’s best friend and the team student manager in The Understatement of the Year) is going to get her own book but who is her hero? Do you think it’s Dash?

I think he’s redeemable. If Cora Carmack can redeem Silas Moore from her Rusk University series and Lisa Kleypas can redeem St. Vincent, I have every faith that Sarina Bowen can redeem Dash. Come to think of it, I want Dash’s story so fingers crossed for me.

Holly: I haven’t heard if Dash is getting a book. I think part of the reason the chapter was from his POV was to impart more info about Katie and Andy without upping the word count. But yes, it makes me think we’ll see more from him in the future. I’m not sure how I feel about that. What he did was pretty bad. It’ll take some serious work on Bowen’s part to redeem him.

Rowena: I thought Bowen told a great story in not lot of page time and the entire thing just worked for me so I give it 4 stars.

Holly: I’m going to give it a 4.25. Initially I would have given it a 4, but after doing a reread I’m upping it. I loved Andy and Katie even more the second time through.

Rowena’s Grade: 4.0
Holly’s Grade: 4.25

four-stars

6 Comments
Tags: , , , , , , , , , ,