Genre: Post Apocalyptic

Review: Live For You by Michele Mills

Posted November 22, 2019 by Casee in Reviews | 1 Comment

Review: Live For You by Michele MillsReviewer: Casee
Live For You by Michele Mills
Series: Catastrophe #3
Also in this series: Die For You, Kill For You
Publisher: Self-Published
Publication Date: June 7, 2019
Format: eBook
Source: Kindle Unlimited
Point-of-View: Alternating Third
Content Warning: View Spoiler »
Genres: Dystopian, Post Apocalyptic
Pages: 156
Add It: Goodreads
Reading Challenges: Casee's 2019 GoodReads Challenge, GoodReads Challenge
Amazon | Barnes & Noble | The Ripped Bodice | Google Play Books
two-stars
Series Rating: four-stars

The world ended and nothing was the same, and in this new order he’d changed his name to Raider—because he took what he wanted.

Women were scarce in post-apocalyptic California and if you found one you wanted, you had to immediately claim what was yours. So when a desperate beauty with striking green eyes and legs that went on for miles stepped into the dangerous all-male compound, he wasn’t above tying her up for her own safety in his isolated mountain cabin, until she realized the truth of their bond. And him getting his seed in her and swelling her up with his kid? Perfect.

She’d see he was doing this all for her.

Eventually.

Author’s Note: This is book #3 in the series, but can be read as a standalone. This story includes dark themes—only read if you enjoy obsessed stalker heroes.

This book though. It was so disappointing after Die For You and Kill For You. This book was so bad I don’t even know where to start. I was actually pretty surprised to see the reviews on GoodReads.

Owen Pearce is now Raider. Joining a motorcycle gang to help the women that become prisoner, he is shocked when Kati walks into the compound. He’s instantly attracted to her and decides that he’s going to take her for himself, whether she wants to be taken or not. Problem #1.

Raider would repopulate the world with Kati if it was possible. When they first have sex, her consent is questionable at best. It’s the whole “No means yes” argument that has been discussed over and over. Problem #2

Raider has a big dick. As big as Kati’s arm. Honestly, the time that Kati thought about the size of Raider’s junk was ridiculous. Over the top. It pulled me out of the story every time because I kept imagining it and laughing. Problem #3.

Raider has Kati chained but unchains her for sex. Other than that he doesn’t let her leave the small cabin. Problem #4.

I just didn’t dig this book at all. I didn’t really care for Raider and I didn’t like Kati at all. Their story didn’t resonate with me at all.

Rating: 2 out of 5.

Catastrophe

two-stars


Tagged: , , , , , , ,

Review: Kill For You by Michele Mills

Posted November 21, 2019 by Casee in Reviews | 1 Comment

Review: Kill For You by Michele MillsReviewer: Casee
Kill For You by Michele Mills
Series: Catastrophe #2
Also in this series: Die For You, Live For You
Publisher: Self-Published
Publication Date: Septemer 12, 2017
Format: eBook
Source: Kindle Unlimited
Point-of-View: Alternating Third
Content Warning: View Spoiler »
Genres: Dystopian, Post Apocalyptic
Pages: 331
Add It: Goodreads
Reading Challenges: Casee's 2019 GoodReads Challenge, GoodReads Challenge
Amazon | Barnes & Noble | The Ripped Bodice | Google Play Books
four-half-stars
Series Rating: four-stars

A virus swept the globe killing almost all of humanity and crushing civilization to the ground, leaving Trevor Mason in the enviable position of being able to strut out of his wide-open death row cell, a free man. Now he’s trying to find redemption by helping to rebuild a ruined and empty world.

Rebel Case was a box office phenomenon, but after the apocalypse she’s just a survivor like anyone else. When passion explodes between her and a tattooed, sexy-as-hell bad boy who says he wants forever, will Rebel risk her future, her safety, on a man with an inexcusable past?

But can an ex con really leave his past behind, when it refuses to stay gone?

And how far will Trevor go to keep his woman safe?

Warning: This book contains spanking and voyeurism. Love, in a hopeless place and laughter despite the pain. And as usual, more bad language and violence than are strictly necessary.

First off…isn’t this cover HOT???

Kill For You was my favorite book of the series by far. I found Trevor and Rebel’s story to be very moving. It wasn’t one or the other, it was them together that really did it for me. I wouldn’t have minded if the book was longer just because I didn’t want to stop reading about them.

Trevor Mason was on death row when the virus hit. Luckily for him, the guards opened up all the cells when they realized that no one was going to survive. Trevor ends up meeting up with Rachel and Adam from Die For Me. He’s desperate to prove that he is a better man than he used to be. In the new world they live in, everyone gets to start over. Trevor isn’t going to waste his chance to change.

It’s obvious from the start that there are more men then women in this new world. Trevor wants to find one for himself. When a woman answers their daily broadcast, Trevor volunteers to meet her sight unseen. He’s hoping that he can claim this woman as his own. Trevor has on idea that he’s about to find the woman of his dreams.

Rebel Case was the top movie star in Hollywood when the virus hit. She and her companion have been living in Carmel, just going through the motions. Together she and Justin decide that they need to answer the broadcast. When they get to the meeting place, Justin is asleep so Rebel decides to go scout the location. She doesn’t expect for someone to arrive before the arranged time. She sure doesn’t expect Trevor Mason.

Trevor and Rebel are instantly and insanely attracted to each other. Rebel was someone that Trevor dreamed about on death row. Someone he knew he would never meet, let alone have for his own. Now she’s in front of him in the flesh and he decides immediately to keep her as his own. Which sounds absolutely ridiculous, but it somehow worked here.

Rebel won’t commit to Trevor even as he treats her like she’s never leaving the farm. Rebel is having a hard time adjusting to her new circumstances, including coming to terms with the fact that she’s just like everyone else. That makes her sound like a real bitch, but she was really conflicted. She didn’t act like a diva, in fact when people recognize her she feels like a fake. She’s not Rebel Case the movie star, she’s just Rebel. A woman trying to live life as any other woman is.

I just loved this book. Loved it. I loved the intensity between these two even if it did seem extreme. You can get away with a lot when you’re writing a Dystopian or Post-Apocalypse book. Their relationship was a bit over the top, but it all worked wonderfully.

Rating: 4.25 out of 5.

Catastrophe

four-half-stars


Tagged: , , , , , , ,

Review: Die For You by Michele Mills

Posted November 20, 2019 by Casee in Reviews | 1 Comment

Review: Die For You by Michele MillsReviewer: Casee
Die For You by Michele Mills
Series: Catastrophe #1
Also in this series: Kill For You, Live For You
Publisher: Self-Published
Publication Date: May 3, 2016
Format: eBook
Source: Kindle Unlimited
Point-of-View: Alternating Third
Content Warning: View Spoiler »
Genres: Dystopian, Post Apocalyptic
Pages: 292
Add It: Goodreads
Reading Challenges: Casee's 2019 GoodReads Challenge, Casee's 2019 New to Me Challenge, GoodReads Challenge, New to Me Challenge
Amazon | Barnes & Noble | The Ripped Bodice | Google Play Books
four-stars
Series Rating: four-stars

Love, in a hopeless place.

Two months after a virus took out civilization, Rachel Donnelly is the last living soul in California, as far as she can tell. Until she runs into a Marine sniper, battle-hardened but alive and healthy.

Adam Sanchez would love nothing more than a slamming session of I-can’t-believe-we’re-alive post-apocalyptic sex in the back of his Hummer. But Rachel’s fragility, inexperience—and much younger age—hold him back from exposing her to his raw, aggressive sexuality. If anything, Rachel needs protection. Especially from himself.

As they band together with other survivors to battle feral animals, violent ex-cons, and motorcycle clubs jockeying for power, Rachel grows stronger in mind, body, and spirit—strong enough to give the dangerously sexy Marine what they both crave.

The power of their passion rocks Adam’s world, bringing him to his knees—which, he discovers too late, is the worst possible place to be when danger springs from the shadows.

Warning: Contains a sexy Marine, a tattooed ex-con, a girl who blossoms into a sexually assured young woman, laughter despite the pain, m/f/m ménage, hope, love, and more bad language and violence than are strictly necessary.

It’s the end of the world. Almost. After a virus swept the globe and killed billions, there are only a few survivors. Survivors whom are immune to the disease. No one knows why. It’s the wild west out there and no one is safe.

Rachel Donnelly watched her entire family die of the virus. She doesn’t know why she is immune. What she does know is that she may be the last person that is alive in California. When she decides she can’t stay at her home anymore, she heads for the freeway. Which was not the best choice. There she meets Adam Sanchez, an ex-marine that is also immune. Not to mention his incredible survival skills.

Adam wants Rachel the first moment he sees her. One problem…she’s nineteen years old. He’s in his thirties. Rachel is obviously someone that needs to be protected. She appears to be completely naïve about the situation that they are in. She’s soft and unprepared for the new life they have found themselves living. Adam has very specific sexual preferences and he’s pretty positive that Rachel will never be able to give him what he needs.

As the months go by, Rachel slowly changes into a strong, capable woman that may not need Adam. They have found a home base on a farm where they will be self-sustainable. They are also safe from nuclear fallout. Nothing goes as planned, of course. Rachel loves Adam and has to convince him that they are right for each other. It’s not as hard as she suspected it would be, but that doesn’t end the problems that come their way.

Now they know that there are survivors out there. Evil survivors that care nothing but taking what they want. Good survivors, people that want nothing more than to be safe and find a community to be apart of.

I really, really liked this book. I’m a sucker for dystopian/post-apocalypse books. This series immediately had be hooked and moving onto the next book.

Rating: 4 out of 5.

Catastrophe

four-stars


Tagged: , , , , , ,

Review: Of Blood and Bone by Nora Roberts

Posted December 26, 2018 by Casee in Reviews | 2 Comments

Review: Of Blood and Bone by Nora RobertsReviewer: Casee
Of Blood and Bone (Chronicles of The One, #2) by Nora Roberts
Series: Chronicles of The One #2
Also in this series: Year One (Chronicles of The One #1)
Publisher: St. Martin's Press
Publication Date: December 4, 2018
Format: eBook
Source: Purchased
Point-of-View: Alternating Third
Genres: Post Apocalyptic
Pages: 453
Add It: Goodreads
Amazon | Barnes & Noble | The Ripped Bodice | Google Play Books
two-half-stars
Series Rating: three-stars

The #1 New York Times bestselling author of the epic Year One returns with a new tale of terror and magic in a brand new world.

They look like an everyday family living an ordinary life. But beyond the edges of this peaceful farm, unimaginable forces of light and dark have been unleashed.

Fallon Swift, approaching her thirteenth birthday, barely knows the world that existed before—the city where her parents lived, now in ruins and reclaimed by nature since the Doom sickened and killed billions. Traveling anywhere is a danger, as vicious gangs of Raiders and fanatics called Purity Warriors search for their next victim. Those like Fallon, in possession of gifts, are hunted—and the time is coming when her true nature, her identity as The One, can no longer be hidden.

In a mysterious shelter in the forest, her training is about to begin under the guidance of Mallick, whose skills have been honed over centuries. She will learn the old ways of healing; study and spar; encounter faeries and elves and shifters; and find powers within herself she never imagined. And when the time is right, she will take up the sword, and fight. For until she grows into the woman she was born to be, the world outside will never be whole again.

I don’t even know where to start with this one. This book was like hump day. You just had to get through it to get to the next one, which you just know will be better than the current one.

Fallon Swift has always known on some level that she is The One. The One that is going to bring order to the world. The Doom swept death, destruction, and chaos all over the world. If you would like to read my review of Year One, it would help you understand how we got where we are in this book. At the end of Year One, Mallick appears at Fallon’s house on the day she was born. She tells Lana and Simon, Fallon’s parents, that he will be back on her thirteenth birthday. At that time she will be with him for two years. Two years he will train her and teach her everything she needs to know as The One.

That’s what was so boring, y’all. Like snooze-fest boring. At first it was interesting. The entire purpose of Mallick’s life was to serve The One. Yet he didn’t “serve” her. He taught her. Still, a good chunk of the book was just boring. It was about training and learning. The action didn’t come until almost 90% into the book. I don’t need constant action, but I need some sort of something that doesn’t revolve around a thirteen year old girl. It was just too YA for my taste this time around. I respected Fallon immensely. The burden she must bear is huge. Any mistakes she makes have a ripple effect. Still, the info dump from the time she left her family to the time she arrived in New Hope was really just too much.

The ending was the best. The action. When Fallon realizes how strong her mother really is. Fallon and Duncan. Too bad it took so long to get to the goods. Even so, I’ll be reading the third book.

Rating: 2.5 out of 5.

Chronicles of The One

two-half-stars


Tagged: , , , , , ,

Review: Storm Gathering by Rebecca Zanetti

Posted April 25, 2018 by Casee in Reviews | 0 Comments

Review: Storm Gathering by Rebecca ZanettiReviewer: Casee
Storm Gathering (Scorpius Syndrome, #4) by Rebecca Zanetti
Series: Scorpius Syndrome #4
Also in this series: Mercury Striking (Scorpius Syndrome, #1), Shadow Falling (Scorpius Syndrome, #2), Justice Ascending (Scorpius Syndrome #3), Winter Igniting (Scorpius Syndrome, #5)
Publisher: Self-Published
Publication Date: September 19, 2017
Point-of-View: Third Person
Genres: Post Apocalyptic
Pages: 359
Add It: Goodreads
Amazon | Barnes & Noble | The Ripped Bodice | Google Play Books
Series Rating: four-stars

Even before surviving the Scorpius bacterium, Greyson Storm was a lone wolf navigating minefields. As a kid, he learned to take a hit and find safety. As an adult, he joined the military and quickly learned how to protect and defend. When the world ended, he created a mercenary camp with military precision, no entanglements, and a promise to avenge a fallen friend. As part of that vow, he kidnapped Maureen Shadow, but now that he has let her go, her blue eyes and intriguing mind keep haunting him…

As possibly the only Biotechnology Engineer still living, Maureen Shadow might be humanity’s one hope to survive the aftermath of Scorpius, making her frighteningly valuable to both allies and enemies. Even after sexual tension explodes between her and Greyson, she’s not sure which camp he belongs to—friend or foe? Worse yet, survival may mean thwarting his prime mission, putting her in even more peril. When danger and seduction collide, there is no safety in this new world.

That cover tho. I never, never imagine a character as it is on a cover, which is why I prefer books without models on the cover. Well, models with faces anyway. This one I will take. I loved this book cover to cover. Literally. I have loved Greyson Storm since the page he was first introduced in this series. He was badass, take no prisoners, shove it in your face, take him or leave him, kind of guy. And hot. Like it didn’t matter if you were kidnapped by him, you were still attracted to him. Even if you basically hated yourself for it. But it’s the apocalypse. Give yourself a break. At least that was what I was telling Maureen Shadow as I was reading this book. Poor Moe.

Poor Moe indeed. She was just a scientist going about her work. The small project of how to continue to feed the freaking world. Yeah, that was the project she was working on when Greyson Storm showed up in her lab and decided to kidnap her. And he doesn’t even want her. He’s using her as a bargaining chip to get something from her brother. Well, Moe is no one’s bargaining chip and she will do anything to get out of the Merc’s compound. After she makes the worst mistake of her life…sleeping with Grey. She didn’t even listen to him when he said no. When Grey releases her back to Vanguard and her brother, the news keeps getting worse. She’s pregnant with Greyson Storm’s child. There hasn’t been one Scorpius survivor that has brought a pregnancy to term.

Greyson wants Moe. He needs her and he knows he isn’t good for her. He knows enough about himself that if he even is crazy enough to fall for a woman, he will be beyond protective. He will lock her down so no one can get to her and nothing can hurt her. Which he knows is crazy to think considering they are living in a post-apocalypse world. Too bad he is crazy and he has fallen for Moe. When he and his lieutenant Damon go back to Vanguard for peace talks over their shared Bunker, he can tell that something is going on with Moe. So he kidnaps her. For a second time.

There is so much going on in this book. I think one thing I really liked about this book is that Grey’s feelings for Moe did not change his behavior. He knew that he still needed to be the ruthless leader of the Mercenaries. That couldn’t change. If someone threatened his people or Maureen, he acted swiftly and without mercy. Although it mattered what Moe thought about him, he didn’t let what she felt dictate his actions. He knew that how he acted now would show people what would happen in the future. He was coldly calculating, but he wasn’t cold. He made decisions based on logic then calmly executed them. When he thought something he would do would protect Moe, he did it without hesitation even if he thought she would hate him forever. I hate to give it to Moe, she saw through a lot of the bullshit. She just saw Grey. I really loved that about her. They were just really great together. The whole book was just good from the beginning to the end.

One thing I did hate was the nickname Moe.

Rating: 4.25 out of 5.

The Scorpius Syndrome


Tagged: , , , , , ,