Genre: Post Apocalyptic

Review: Storm Gathering by Rebecca Zanetti

Posted April 25, 2018 by Casee in Reviews | 0 Comments

Review: Storm Gathering by Rebecca ZanettiReviewer: Casee
Storm Gathering (Scorpius Syndrome, #4) by Rebecca Zanetti
Series: Scorpius Syndrome #4
Also in this series: Mercury Striking (Scorpius Syndrome, #1), Shadow Falling (Scorpius Syndrome, #2), Justice Ascending (Scorpius Syndrome #3), Winter Igniting (Scorpius Syndrome, #5)
Published by RAZ INK LLC
Publication Date: September 19, 2017
Point-of-View: Third Person
Genres: Post Apocalyptic
Pages: 359
Amazon | Barnes & Noble | The Ripped Bodice | Google Play Books
Goodreads

Even before surviving the Scorpius bacterium, Greyson Storm was a lone wolf navigating minefields. As a kid, he learned to take a hit and find safety. As an adult, he joined the military and quickly learned how to protect and defend. When the world ended, he created a mercenary camp with military precision, no entanglements, and a promise to avenge a fallen friend. As part of that vow, he kidnapped Maureen Shadow, but now that he has let her go, her blue eyes and intriguing mind keep haunting him…

As possibly the only Biotechnology Engineer still living, Maureen Shadow might be humanity’s one hope to survive the aftermath of Scorpius, making her frighteningly valuable to both allies and enemies. Even after sexual tension explodes between her and Greyson, she’s not sure which camp he belongs to—friend or foe? Worse yet, survival may mean thwarting his prime mission, putting her in even more peril. When danger and seduction collide, there is no safety in this new world.

That cover tho. I never, never imagine a character as it is on a cover, which is why I prefer books without models on the cover. Well, models with faces anyway. This one I will take. I loved this book cover to cover. Literally. I have loved Greyson Storm since the page he was first introduced in this series. He was badass, take no prisoners, shove it in your face, take him or leave him, kind of guy. And hot. Like it didn’t matter if you were kidnapped by him, you were still attracted to him. Even if you basically hated yourself for it. But it’s the apocalypse. Give yourself a break. At least that was what I was telling Maureen Shadow as I was reading this book. Poor Moe.

Poor Moe indeed. She was just a scientist going about her work. The small project of how to continue to feed the freaking world. Yeah, that was the project she was working on when Greyson Storm showed up in her lab and decided to kidnap her. And he doesn’t even want her. He’s using her as a bargaining chip to get something from her brother. Well, Moe is no one’s bargaining chip and she will do anything to get out of the Merc’s compound. After she makes the worst mistake of her life…sleeping with Grey. She didn’t even listen to him when he said no. When Grey releases her back to Vanguard and her brother, the news keeps getting worse. She’s pregnant with Greyson Storm’s child. There hasn’t been one Scorpius survivor that has brought a pregnancy to term.

Greyson wants Moe. He needs her and he knows he isn’t good for her. He knows enough about himself that if he even is crazy enough to fall for a woman, he will be beyond protective. He will lock her down so no one can get to her and nothing can hurt her. Which he knows is crazy to think considering they are living in a post-apocalypse world. Too bad he is crazy and he has fallen for Moe. When he and his lieutenant Damon go back to Vanguard for peace talks over their shared Bunker, he can tell that something is going on with Moe. So he kidnaps her. For a second time.

There is so much going on in this book. I think one thing I really liked about this book is that Grey’s feelings for Moe did not change his behavior. He knew that he still needed to be the ruthless leader of the Mercenaries. That couldn’t change. If someone threatened his people or Maureen, he acted swiftly and without mercy. Although it mattered what Moe thought about him, he didn’t let what she felt dictate his actions. He knew that how he acted now would show people what would happen in the future. He was coldly calculating, but he wasn’t cold. He made decisions based on logic then calmly executed them. When he thought something he would do would protect Moe, he did it without hesitation even if he thought she would hate him forever. I hate to give it to Moe, she saw through a lot of the bullshit. She just saw Grey. I really loved that about her. They were just really great together. The whole book was just good from the beginning to the end.

One thing I did hate was the nickname Moe.

Rating: 4.25 out of 5.

The Scorpius Syndrome


Tagged: , , , , , ,

Review: Justice Ascending by Rebecca Zanetti

Posted January 27, 2017 by Casee in Reviews | 0 Comments

Review: Justice Ascending by Rebecca ZanettiReviewer: Casee
Justice Ascending (Scorpius Syndrome #3) by Rebecca Zanetti
Series: Scorpius Syndrome #3
Also in this series: Mercury Striking (Scorpius Syndrome, #1), Shadow Falling (Scorpius Syndrome, #2), Storm Gathering (Scorpius Syndrome, #4), Winter Igniting (Scorpius Syndrome, #5)
Published by Zebra
Publication Date: January 31, 2017
Point-of-View: Third
Genres: Post Apocalyptic
Pages: 400
Amazon | Barnes & Noble | The Ripped Bodice | Google Play Books
Goodreads
four-stars

Before surviving the Scorpius bacterium, Tace Justice was a good ole Texas cowboy who served his country and loved his mama. After Scorpius, the world became dark, dangerous, and deadly... and so did he. The Vanguard medic is stronger, faster, and smarter than before, but he's lost the line between right and wrong. His passion is absolute, and when he focuses it on one woman, there's no turning back for either of them.

Sami Steel has been fighting to survive right alongside Tace, convincing the Vanguard soldiers she's one of them. In truth, Sami is a former hacker turned government agent who worked at The Bunker, where scientists stored both contaminants and cures. Only she knows the location, and she's not telling. Yet when sexual fire explodes between her and Tace, she'll face even that hell again to save him.

Tace Justice was introduced in Mercury Striking as an affable, yet strong character. He was a down-to-earth good ‘ol boy who landed in the inner circle of Jax Mercury. As a field medic, his skills are in demand in post-apocalypse Los Angeles. When he is infected with the Scorpius Syndrome, he doesn’t get Vitamin B in time to come out on the other side of the virus unscathed. Tace doesn’t much care, but he knows he’s different. He’s not quite a Ripper, but he believes he’s on his way to becoming one.

Sami Steele has secrets. Big secrets. But she’s not sharing the biggest of them all. She knows where the Bunker is. The Bunker that everyone thinks the cure for Scorpius Syndrome is. They might be right, but Sami isn’t leading them into hell, which is exactly what the Bunker is as far as she is concerned. Yet when Tace seems to be one of the few that rejects the Vitamin B, Sami knows she can no longer keep quiet. Only at the Bunker can she find the way to save him.

Tace was happy to remain strictly co-workers with Sami until he was infected with Scorpius. After that, all bets were off. His obsession with sex moved onto an obsession with Sami. Not just with Sami, but with her safety. He is so intent on keeping her safe that he is risking his own safety, something that Jax isn’t so keen on. He doesn’t like his lieutenants fraternizing and he lets them know it. Nothing can keep these two apart, not even Scorpius.

I’m digging this series. Post-apocalypse romances really get to me because you strip everything down to survival. So falling in love in a week doesn’t seem out of the ordinary. Nothing is out of the ordinary when it comes down to it. You’re stripped to your core and it’s survival of the fittest. I can’t wait to see what Zanetti comes up with next.

Rating: 4.25 out of 5.

Scorpius Syndrome

four-stars


Tagged: , , , , , , ,

Review: Shadow Falling by Rebecca Zanetti

Posted September 23, 2016 by Casee in Reviews | 0 Comments

Review: Shadow Falling by Rebecca ZanettiReviewer: Casee
Shadow Falling (Scorpius Syndrome, #2) by Rebecca Zanetti
Series: Scorpius Syndrome #2
Also in this series: Mercury Striking (Scorpius Syndrome, #1), Justice Ascending (Scorpius Syndrome #3), Storm Gathering (Scorpius Syndrome, #4), Winter Igniting (Scorpius Syndrome, #5)
Published by Zebra
Publication Date: August 30th 2016
Point-of-View: Third
Genres: Post Apocalyptic
Pages: 400
Amazon | Barnes & Noble | The Ripped Bodice | Google Play Books
Goodreads
four-stars

Before the Scorpius Syndrome tore through North America and nearly wiped out the population, Vivienne Kennedy was the FBI’s best profiler. The bacteria got her anyway. But she survived. She recovered. And when she woke up from a drug-nightmare of captivity, her skills as a hunter of men had gone from merely brilliant to full-on uncanny. Her mysterious rescuer wants her to put them to the test. But no matter how tempting he is, with his angel’s eyes and devil’s tongue, Vinnie knows she shouldn’t trust him.
If the FBI were still around they would rate Raze Shadow as one of the bad guys. His military training can’t wipe out his association with the Mercenaries, the most feared gang in a thousand miles. His loyalties are compromised. He won’t even tell Vinnie his real name. But there’s no FBI in the new America of fear and firepower, only instinct and risk.
And the way his arms wrap around Vinnie tells its own story. Whatever else Raze is concealing, he can’t hide his desire . . .

I am really loving this series. I love post-apocalyptic books. How would I be in a post-apocalypse world? How would you be? I think I would die in the first wave of deaths. Holly wouldn’t. I’ve seen the survival gear in her trunk. Maybe I wouldn’t. I would just need to find her car. Which would be hard considering we love several states away from each other.

Back to the review. I really enjoyed this book, but I liked Mercury Striking more. That’s where we are first introduced to Raze. He was as shady in that book as he is in his own book. When Vanguard goes to rescue Lynne from the Ripper President of the United States in Mercury Rising, Raze finds Vivienne Kennedy. Vinnie has been held prisoner by the President because he thinks she knows where the Bunker is. The Bunker is thought to have supplies and hold the cure for the Scorpius Syndrome. The problem is that Vinnie has no idea where the Bunker is. By the time she’s rescued, she’s been abused and drugged beyond imagining.

Raze is immediately drawn to Vinnie. She is vulnerable and his protective instincts immediately come to the forefront. It’s almost too bad for Vinnie that Raze is going to turn her over to the Mercenaries.

The next part of the review contains spoilers, so read on at your own risk…

View Spoiler »

Vinnie knows that Raze isn’t what he seems, but she can’t help but be attracted to his need to protect her. Feeling safe is a precious commodity in this new world and the only time she feels safe is when she is with Raze. Vinnie also knows that the drugs have done something to her brain, but Raze doesn’t seem concerned that she’s going crazy. Talking to her dead aunt is something that is of great concern to Vinnie, but Raze thinks nothing of it.

When Raze’s betrayal does come to life, Raze fights like hell to keep his place in Vanguard, keep the girl, and get his sister to safety. I would have respected him much more if he would have gone to Jax from the beginning, but he redeemed himself when he finally manned up and did it after View Spoiler ».

It’s official, I’m hooked on this series. I can’t wait until the next book comes out.

Rating: 4 out of 5.

Scorpius Syndrome

four-stars


Tagged: , , , , , ,

Guest Review: Mercury Striking by Rebecca Zanetti

Posted January 25, 2016 by Tracy in Reviews | 0 Comments

Guest Review: Mercury Striking by Rebecca ZanettiReviewer: Tracy
Mercury Striking (Scorpius Syndrome, #1) by Rebecca Zanetti
Series: Scorpius Syndrome #1
Also in this series: Shadow Falling (Scorpius Syndrome, #2), Justice Ascending (Scorpius Syndrome #3), Storm Gathering (Scorpius Syndrome, #4), Winter Igniting (Scorpius Syndrome, #5)
Published by Zebra
Publication Date: January 26th 2016
Point-of-View: Third
Genres: Post Apocalyptic
Pages: 384
Amazon | Barnes & Noble | The Ripped Bodice | Google Play Books
Goodreads
four-stars

With nothing but rumors to lead her, Lynne Harmony has trekked across a nightmare landscape to find one man—a mysterious, damaged legend who protects the weak and leads the strong. He’s more than muscle and firepower—and in post-plague L.A., he’s her only hope. As the one woman who could cure the disease, Lynne is the single most volatile—and vulnerable—creature in this new and ruthless world. But face to face with Jax Mercury…   Danger has never looked quite so delicious…

A bacterium has hit the world and people are dying right and left.  The doctors at the CDC try their hardest to find a cure or prevention so that they can save the lives of millions.  The bacterium creates a fever and then a coma – if the patient survives they could be ok or they could turn into what they call Rippers who are basically serial killers as the bacteria messes with the person’s ability to empathize with…anything.  America is not a safe place to be.

Jax Mercury survived the fever and still has his head on straight.  Lynn Harmony, a doctor from the CDC seeks his help in trying to find a hidden research facility in the LA area.  From the moment that Jax sees Lynn he’s attracted to her but he doesn’t exactly trust her.  She just walked into their area and sought refuge and he thinks there are hidden motivations.  She’s wanted by the government, supposedly because she’s highly infected with a new strain of bacteria, but that’s a lie told by her boyfriend to get her back.

Jax agrees let her stay because he wants the cure that she may be able to find but he doesn’t plan on falling for her like he does.  She certainly doesn’t plan on falling for him.  What starts out as just some sex to pass the time turns into so much more and it may the death of both of them.

I read Rebecca Zanetti’s Sin Brothers series and liked it a lot.  When I saw this one I knew that I had to snap it up because her writing and story-telling is always intriguing.  I wasn’t wrong.  This story was fast paced and definitely a different take on a post-apocalyptic world.

Jax was one tough man.  He had been a gang member and then entered the Army rather than go to prison.  He ended up being a man with principles and when the Scorpius bacteria hit he was one to help and protect others.  He was a nurturer at heat even though he wasn’t afraid to kill if necessary to save his people.  He was always thinking of others and I loved that about him.

Lynn was definitely a quiet woman but was incredibly smart and she wasn’t afraid to go for what she wanted.  She was targeted by her ex-boyfriend and lived in fear of him but she still powered on and traveled across the states to try and find a cure.  I loved her tenacity and her understanding of Jax and his true self was pretty cool.  The two of them together was incredibly hot and refreshing respite from the world that was falling apart around them.

I really liked this book!  I liked the main characters, the secondary characters and the whole premise and plot.  I’m curious about the character, Raze, as he’s such a mystery and can’t wait for the next book, which is his, to find out what’s up with that man.  If you like post-apocalyptic stories, or even if you like a good action story than this one is definitely one you won’t want to miss.

Rating: 4 out of 5

Scorpius Syndrome

four-stars


Tagged: , , , , , , ,

Guest Review: Waking Up Alive by Emma Shortt

Posted January 22, 2016 by Tracy in Reviews | 0 Comments

Guest Review: Waking Up Alive by Emma ShorttReviewer: Tracy
Waking Up Alive by Emma Shortt
Series: End of Days Love #2
Also in this series: Waking Up Dead
Published by Entangled
Publication Date: January 18, 2016
Genres: Post Apocalyptic
Amazon | Barnes & Noble | The Ripped Bodice | Google Play Books
Goodreads
three-half-stars

After surviving the zombie apocalypse for two years, Tye LeBow never expected to be saved from a hungry gang of zombies by a geek with a bad attitude and a penchant for explosives. Tye can’t quite work out why scientist Polly Parker saved him. She doesn’t want his protection, and she certainly doesn’t want his company. But Tye has no intention of leaving the beguiling geek behind.

Polly doesn’t want to leave her home, but when the wakers begin to show signs of a burgeoning intelligence, heading south is the only option. With a car packed full of homemade explosives, and Tye’s very large axe, they are ready for the road trip of their lives.

Bombs and blades aren’t the only keys to survival–they’ll need to rely on each other, in a way that neither could have imagined…

Tye has been holding his own in the zombie apocalypse. He met his friend Jackson two years after it began and they’ve stuck together. Unfortunately, they get separated when running from zombies while in Chicago and that’s when Tye meets Polly.   Polly is a mathematician and when everything started going to hell a couple of years ago she holed up in her office building and she’s been quite safe. She should have left Chicago a long time ago but fear has kept her in place. She doesn’t want to trust Tye but forces herself to see him as a good person and it manages to work out.

Tye and Polly end up leaving Chicago together to head to the survivors camp that is near Laredo Texas. When they get near to it they end up in a zombie horde and Polly gets bitten by a zombie. The doctor at the camp has been working on a cure to the virus that is causing the zombieism and with Polly’s antibodies he may have done it. That doesn’t make Tye happy that Polly is now a zombie and that he may never get her back.

The story of Tye and Polly was a good one. I think you definitely have to read Jackson and Luke’s story in Waking Up Dead before starting Waking Up Alive. I don’t think you can fully grasp the situation or the thoughts behind the virus or the doctor’s “almost” cure unless you do. The story was good but can’t, imho, be read as a stand-alone novel.

Tye and Polly were a sweet couple together. I really liked the first part of the book when they meet and start to fall in love. You can see it as two friends falling in love and though it happens slowly and in definite stages it was no less touching. Polly and Tye were opposites but meshed well. I liked how Tye helped Polly with her fears and he supported her ideas with respect. He saw her as brave when she didn’t see that in herself.

The second part of the book was a good but a bit disappointing in the romance department. It had Polly as a zombie and we got weird Polly-zombie dreams which were quite strange and Tye going out to kill zombies cuz he couldn’t be with Polly. That was all good and it worked well for the cure but it didn’t really work for enhancing the romance between the two. The end was sweet but didn’t quite make up for the lack of romance in the second half of the book.

Despite my issues with the romance I still thought it was a quite enjoyable read. The descriptions of the zombies was appropriately disgusting and the action scenes were well done. Overall a decent read and one you won’t want to miss especially if you’ve already read Waking Up Alive.

Rating: 3.75 out of 5

Reading Order:

Waking Up Dead
Waking Up Alive

three-half-stars


Tagged: , , , , , , ,