Genre: Paranormal

Guest Review: Drawn to the Wolves by Shari Mikels

Posted May 22, 2017 by Tracy in Reviews | 1 Comment

Guest Review: Drawn to the Wolves by Shari MikelsReviewer: Tracy
Drawn to the Wolves by Shari Mikels
Published by Carina Press
Publication Date: May 22nd 2017
Genres: Contemporary, Paranormal, Shapeshifters
Pages: 105
Buy on Amazon | Barnes & Noble
Goodreads
three-stars

The pack's alpha has finally found his fated mate…and she's terrified of wolves.

Wolf shifter Callan Mohan has a powerful connection to his pack. As alpha, he can sense if something is wrong—and when he feels panic coming from an unknown source, his instincts tell him she's someone to be protected at all costs.

Rescuing a stranger from an unexpected confrontation with two wolf shifters is easy. Helping her move from fear to acceptance of the animals—and him—is a challenge.

Kate Ballard's attraction to her mysterious rescuer is instant. That she falls for Callan so quickly isn't surprising—his strong, confident presence puts her at ease, and the strange connection she has to him makes her feel safe almost immediately. He's the man she didn't know she was waiting for.

It's only a matter of time before Callan has to tell Kate the truth. And find out, once and for all, if her love for him is enough to overcome her fear.

Kate Ballard has worked for the Atlanta PD for the past 10 years.  She has empathic abilities and after 10 years of drawing human monsters she just couldn’t do it any longer.  She’s now taking a much needed rest and she’s in Whiskey Grove, Tennessee on the advice of her best friend.  She plans on relaxing and sketching wildlife to her hearts content.

The first afternoon she’s out sketching, however, she runs into trouble.  She was told to stay of a certain plot of land but after chasing an eagle she finds herself facing the barrel of a gun.  The man wants to shoot her and she’s terrified of the humongous wolves the man has at his sides.

Kate is rescued by Callan.  He calms the gun holder enough to get Kate out of there.  From the first moment that he sees Kate, and feels her in his head, he knows that she’s his mate.  The problem is that Kate has an unbelievable fear of wolves and telling her that he’s a shifter might just make her run from him instead of to him.

This was a sweet little novella.  I liked Kate and Callan both and though they were good for each other.  Their relationship started off pretty quickly but since he knew that she was his fated mate he didn’t waste any time.  Before you know it she’s practically living with him which was fast but again, fated mates.

I found myself entrenched in the book when Kate was being held at gunpoint and was excited to go from there.  Unfortunately I didn’t care for the way Kate handled her fear and the shifter issue.  The way the author wrote her I got the feeling that she would have handled it differently but she ran.  I was happy to read that that part of it wasn’t drawn out too long and Kate and Callan got their HEA.

If you’re looking for a quick, easy paranormal story to read this would be a good one.

Rating: 3 out of 5

three-stars

1 Comment
Tags: , , , , , ,


Joint Review: Moon Called by Patricia Briggs

Posted May 8, 2017 by Rowena in Reviews | 3 Comments

Joint Review: Moon Called by Patricia BriggsReviewer: Holly and Rowena
Moon Called by Patricia Briggs
Series: Mercy Thompson #1
Also in this series: Night Broken, Shifting Shadows, Blood Bound, Fire Touched, Silence Fallen (Mercy Thompson, #10)
Published by Ace Books
Publication Date: January 31st 2006
Genres: Paranormal, Romance, Urban Fantasy
Pages: 288
Buy on Amazon | Barnes & Noble
Goodreads
four-stars

Mercedes "Mercy" Thompson is a talented Volkswagen mechanic living in the Tri-Cities area of Washington. She also happens to be a walker, a magical being with the power to shift into a coyote at will. Mercy's next-door neighbor is a werewolf. Her former boss is a gremlin. And she's fixing a bus for a vampire. This is the world of Mercy Thompson, one that looks a lot like ours but is populated by those things that go bump in the night. And Mercy's connection to those things is about to get her into some serious hot water...

Rowena: Thank goodness for you because without you, I wouldn’t read nearly as many of these books as I do. I’m SO glad that I finally got around to reading this book because it was hella good. Not just good, but hella good. I need more Mercy and Adam in my life…and it was good to see Samuel, Bran and Charles (from the Alpha & Omega series) and to see why Samuel was the way that he was in those books.

How was your re-read of the books?

Holly: I didn’t think I’d like this series at first. It took me ages to finally read it. I’m sorry I waited so long. Mercy, Adam and his pack, Jesse…They’re all amazing. I love how the world combines Magic with the Fae, Werewolves, etc.

My re-read this time was just as good. I love how normal Mercy is. She isn’t a super badass, despite the fact that she can turn into a coyote. She’s practical and down to earth, which makes her easy to relate to.

Rowena: I agree. As much as I adored both Adam and Samuel (you know I’m all about the heroes), Mercy was my favorite character in this series. Ames told me that she had such a huge girl crush on Mercy and I can totally see why. She’s really easy to relate to and she knows herself as well as her strengths and weaknesses. She’s not too stupid to live but she is brave and I just loved the hell out of her. I can’t wait to read more of these books.

I now see what you meant when you said that both this series and the Alpha & Omega series are kind of weaved together. Some of the things happening in here reminded me of stuff going on in the other series with Charles. I like that. It kind of reminds me of the Chicago Fire, PD, Med and Justice shows on NBC. I love how there’s this one world of characters that cross over to each different show. If done right, having so many different aspects of a world in different books and series is great and I think that Briggs does a wonderful job of that here.

What was your favorite part of this book?

Holly: It’s hard to say what my favorite part is, because now that I’ve read the entire series (and the A&O series) things have different meaning for me. I think it might be Adam demanding Mercy help him find Jesse. She’s weak by comparison to him and the other wolves, but he still wanted her to find his daughter because he knew she wouldn’t give up. I also love her interactions with with Bran. They have such a complicated relationship.

What about you?

Rowena: You’re right. Since everything is so fresh for me and I don’t know what’s to come, I see things differently. One of my favorite parts were Adam demanding Mercy help him find Jesse but more so because he knew that Jesse meant something to Mercy and he knew that she cared far more than Samuel did and wouldn’t give up. He knows her strengths and her weaknesses and …he claimed her to his pack. sigh I’m really looking forward to seeing their relationship grow.

It was nice to see Samuel learning of Adam and Mercy’s complicated relationship and really, the characters were well written and well rounded. No two dimensional characters in this series. I love how Mercy cared so much about a wide variety of people. People who didn’t get along with other people and yet, Mercy did. I could go on and on about how much I like Mercy but I think you get it.

I was invested in this story from the jump. This world is colorful and vivid and I’m so here for it all. I’m late to the party but what’s new? This was good stuff.

Holly: You’re right, he did know Mercy cared about Jesse and wouldn’t stop until she was found. That’s one of the things I like about Adam, period. He’s willing to set aside his own personal feelings in any given situation. It’s kind of a nice change for an alpha-male.

I really love how Mercy is sort of the glue that brings all these different elements together. We see this more as the series goes on, of course, but she’s like a neutral third party. I love it.

The world is my favorite thing about this book. It’s very well-drawn and immediately pulls you in.

I’m giving this a 4 out of 5.

Rowena: Same. This one gets a 4 out of 5 from me. Thanks for making me read this book!

four-stars

3 Comments
Tags: , , , , , , , , ,


Guest Review: Dating the Undead by Juliet Lyons

Posted May 5, 2017 by Tracy in Reviews | 1 Comment

Guest Review: Dating the Undead by Juliet LyonsReviewer: Tracy
Dating the Undead by Juliet Lyons
Series: V-Date.com #1
Published by Sourcebooks Casablanca
Publication Date: May 2nd 2017
Genres: Contemporary Romance, Paranormal, Vampires
Buy on Amazon | Barnes & Noble
Goodreads
four-stars

When Silver Harris kisses sexy Irish vampire Logan Byrne on New Year's Eve, she knows other humans just won't suffice. Convinced she'll never see him again, she joins the uber-popular vampire dating site, VDate.com.

What Silver doesn't know is that the site is more dangerous than she could ever imagined, and soon she's in over her head. When Logan returns, sparks fly and attraction sizzles, but they'll have to escape some very real demons if they have any chance of lasting forever.

Silver gets kicked out of a New Year’s Eve party when she dumps a drink on the woman she catches kissing her date – and kicks her date in the balls.  Apparently that doesn’t make for a good party.  Out of the street she meets a beautiful man who ends up walking her home.  They get along great and end up sharing a midnight kiss to ring in the new year.  She knows he’s a vampire but she doesn’t care, it was the best kiss of her life.  She especially liked it when he bit her.

Silver tells her step-sister Jess about it the next day and Jess tells her about V-Date, an online dating site where you can date vampires.  Silver joins the site hoping that the sexy vampire she kissed will be part of it.  She doesn’t know how to contact him as he didn’t even give her his name.  He’s not on there but Silver starts to set up dates with vampires anyway.  Unfortunately she finds herself incredibly bored.  Yes, the vamps are hot but she’s not connecting with any of them.

Meanwhile Logan, the vampire that Silver kissed, is directed by his “boss” to track down women who are part of V-Date.  Apparently the police are using the women on the site to get information about vampires as they’re such a mystery.  Logan is to track down the women and then put a glamour on them so they will have no interest in vampires ever again.  Of course the first person he’s to glamour is Silver but he can’t bring himself to do it as that means she’ll have no interest in him.  He knows he’s ignoring his boss which can have serious repercussions but he’s so into Silver he doesn’t care.

Silver is approached by the police to get info about vampires and they promise to open up her mother’s case again.  Her mother disappeared when Silver was 9 years old and they never found out what happened to her.  With Silver working with the police and Logan ignoring his bosses wishes, things get tense.  That doesn’t stop the couple from falling in love.  Of course Logan’s old sire returns to town and is determined to get him back no matter what the cost.

When I read the blurb for Dating the Undead it sounded like a fun book and I’m happy to say, it was!  Silver had a great sense of humor and was pretty snarky.  Both Silver and Logan could laugh at themselves and I loved that about them.  They worked together really well and I thought the author did a great job writing their romance.  She wrote Logan so that he was a guy who had pretty much maintained his humanity and that’s what made him so appealing to me.

I did have a couple of issues with the book.  One was the fact that Logan’s boss was written as this scary “ancient” that you never crossed.  When he was crossed however, nothing happened.   Not that I wanted him to harm Logan but it was a bit anti-climactic.  The other thing was Logan’s old sire.  She was determined to get Logan back or harm him in some way for not being the murderer she wanted him to be.  I understand why she was written into the book as the villain but she was so over the top it didn’t fit in with the book, imho.

Despite those issues I liked the story a lot.  I got a little burned out on vampire romances a while back so I haven’t read many lately.  Dating the Undead was a good book to read to jump back into the genre.

Rating: 3.75/4 out of 5  

four-stars

1 Comment
Tags: , , , , , , , , ,


Sunday Spotlight: Tempted by Fate by Cynthia Eden

Posted April 23, 2017 by Holly in Features | 6 Comments

Sunday Spotlight is a feature we began in 2016. This year we’re spotlighting our favorite books, old and new. We’ll be  raving about the books we love and being total fangirls. You’ve been warned. 🙂

Sunday Spotlight

Today’s spotlight is Tempted by Fate by Cynthia Eden. This is book 6 in her Bad Things series. Eden writes both paranormal and romantic suspense. I’m always entertained by her novels. I’m looking forward to this one.

Sunday Spotlight: Tempted by Fate by Cynthia EdenTempted By Fate (Bad Things, #6) by Cynthia Eden
Series: Bad Things #6
Published by Self-Published
Publication Date: April 25th 2017
Genres: Paranormal
Pages: 259
Buy on Amazon | Barnes & Noble
Goodreads

You can't cheat Fate...and for the record, she really doesn't like it when you betray her, either.

Leo is used to having power. After all, he carries the title Lord of the Light for a reason--he's a supernatural powerhouse and his job is protect all of the "light" paranormals in the world. He's used to snapping his fingers and getting anything--or anyone--he wants. 

But when he fell for Fate, Leo learned that power didn't get a man everything. 

In fact, it didn't even get him the one woman he wanted most...

Fate...AKA Mora (that's the name she prefers to use--a lot less weighty on her shoulders) has spent centuries hiding from her supernatural ex-lover, Leo. Most people fear Leo and rightly so. 

He's got immense power and a definite date with an unfortunate end-of-the-world calamity.   

When Leo seduced Mora and promised to put the world at her feet, she actually thought the guy had fallen for her. Too late, she discovered he was just using her in an attempt to change his destiny.

And Leo's destiny? It's not pretty. Some very, very bad things are coming for him. Mora shouldn't care about the danger he faces. She should turn her back on her ex. His heart is ice cold, she knows that, but her own heart...it's still a little weak where Leo is concerned. 

Leo has tried to walk on the side of good for a long time...but his sins are coming back to haunt him. A darkness is trying to consume him, and if Mora can't help him...then it's not just Leo who will pay the price for his past. The whole world will change.

You think you know the Lord of the Light? Think again.

Order the Book:

AMAZON || BARNES AND NOBLE || KOBO || GOOGLE PLAY BOOKS || iBOOKS

Excerpt

TEMPTED BY FATE – Excerpt – Cynthia Eden
“I’m not letting you go.” Enough games. “I won’t ever let you go again.”

Her eyelids flickered. “Leo?”

“You hid from me for centuries. I tore this world apart looking for you.” He shook his head. “But you weren’t there. The whole planet went dark, and I nearly lost my sanity…because you weren’t there.”

She paled. “I meant nothing to you, remember? Just insignificant little Fate.”

“There is nothing insignificant about Fate.” He knew that all too well. “You will not leave again. You will not vanish, not even if I have to chain you to my side.”

Her slightly pointed chin shot into the air. “Don’t even think it.”

If she only knew…“Love, I’ve fantasized about it.”

He saw the surprise on her face.

“But I am trying to give you a choice,” he continued doggedly. “I want you with me willingly.”

She laughed, and it was a mocking sound. Once, he’d heard her real laughter. It had sounded like music. Sweet bells. Now her laughter held the ring of bitterness. “Bull,” Mora told him. “You don’t give choices. You take them away. You order your light paranormals about and you try to control the world.” She leaned closer to him, absolutely shocking Leo. “But I’ve got a newsflash for you. You don’t control me. And neither does your brother. I’m not a pawn in your war.”

She’d always been more than a pawn.

“You think you can use me.” Her mouth was inches from him. “Use me up and then walk away again? It’s not going to happen.”

No, it wasn’t. Because he didn’t plan to walk away. Not this time. Never again. “The dark is closing in on me.”

She blinked.

“I’m being hunted. The past is catching up to me. The end will come, and when it does, do you want to just stand there and watch as the world is destroyed around you?”

But she shook her head. “It’s…it’s not time yet.”

Excitement burned inside of him. Mora had always known what the end would be. How could she not know? She was Fate. Only…

He knew that she kept secrets. He knew that she could change the fates of humans and paranormals. For the right price, she would alter lives.

“You need to look into the future again,” he told her grimly. “You need to look into my future. Because that big battle? The one you told everyone would come?”

She shivered. “I told everyone…what I saw. You will fight your brother to the death. Light and Dark will battle, and only one will survive. Then the earth will fall to chaos.”

“Right. Yes. Thanks for that bit of sunshine news.” His fingers were still wrapped around her shoulders. “My time is up. Unless you help me, everyone’s time is up.”


Bad Things

Giveaway: We’re giving one lucky winner their choice of one of our Sunday Spotlight books. Use the Rafflecopter widget below to enter for one of this month’s features.

a Rafflecopter giveaway

Are you as excited for this release as we are? Let us know how excited you are and what other books you’re looking forward to this year!

About the Author

WEBSITE | TWITTER | FACEBOOK | INSTAGRAM | PINTEREST | GOODREADS

Award-winning author Cynthia Eden writes dark tales of paranormal romance and romantic suspense. She is a New York Times, USA Today, Digital Book World, and IndieReader best-seller. Cynthia is also a three-time finalist for the prestigious RITA® award . Since she began writing full-time in 2005, Cynthia has written over eighty novels and novellas.

Cynthia is a “hybrid” author. She has published extensively with New York (her New York publishers include Avon, Kensington, Grand Central, and Harlequin), and she has also enjoyed success in her indie writing career.

Cynthia lives along the Alabama Gulf Coast. She loves romance novels, horror movies, and chocolate. Her favorite hobbies including hiking in the mountains (searching for waterfalls) and spelunking.

You can find Cynthia chatting daily on Twitter or on her Facebook page.

6 Comments
Tags: , , , ,


Review: The Chosen by J.R. Ward

Posted April 10, 2017 by Casee in Reviews | 1 Comment

Review: The Chosen by J.R. WardReviewer: Casee
The Chosen by J.R. Ward
Series: Black Dagger Brotherhood #15
Also in this series: Lover Mine, Lover Unleashed, Lover at Last, The King, The Shadows, The Beast, Lover Enshrined
Published by Ballantine Books
Publication Date: April 4th 2017
Genres: Paranormal
Pages: 544
Buy on Amazon | Barnes & Noble
Goodreads
four-stars

A scorching forbidden love threatens to tear a rift through the Black Dagger Brotherhood in J. R. Ward’s newest novel in the #1 New York Times bestselling series.

Xcor, leader of the Band of Bastards, convicted of treason against the Blind King, is facing a brutal interrogation and torturous death at the hands of the Black Dagger Brotherhood. Yet after a life marked by cruelty and evil deeds, he accepts his soldier’s fate, his sole regret the loss of a sacred female who was never his: the Chosen Layla.

Layla alone knows the truth that will save Xcor’s life. But revealing his sacrifice and his hidden heritage will expose them both and destroy everything Layla holds dear—even her role of mother to her precious young. Torn between love and loyalty, she must summon the courage to stand up against the only family she has for the only man she will ever love. Yet even if Xcor is somehow granted a reprieve, he and Layla would have to confront a graver challenge: bridging the chasm that divides their worlds without paving the way for a future of even greater war, desolation, and death.

As a dangerous old enemy returns to Caldwell, and the identity of a new deity is revealed, nothing is certain or safe in the world of the Black Dagger Brotherhood, not even true love . . . or destinies that have long seemed set in stone.

With so many secondary characters, it is hard to review this book. I’m going to give it my best shot without rambling, so stick with me.

The Chosen started off where The Beast left off. The Brotherhood still hold Xcor captive and they’re waiting for him to wake up to do whatever they need to do with him. Tohr wants to kill him, but he can’t. The Band of Bastards are in the wind. Layla had the twins. Throe wants to overthrow Wrath and be the King of the race. The Scribe Virgin is no more.

If you were worried about Layla being a boring heroine (which I was), you needn’t have worried. She was fierce. From the beginning of the book, all Layla could think about was that she betrayed Wrath and the Brotherhood. She never put her love for Xcor above her duty to her King or her love her her children. She didn’t have her head in the clouds. She knew that she and Xcor had no future. Love isn’t all it took. Love by itself doesn’t solve everything after all. She had children to consider. What she didn’t consider what the Qhinn would go off the deep end when he found out that she was seeing Xcor. And boy, did he ever.

Qhinn was incredibly sweet at first. He didn’t know about Layla’s betrayal and thought she had postpartum depression. He was extremely worried about her. That changed in a heartbeat when he found out what she did. Then he turned into a psycho. No joke. He was a maniac. I can’t even describe what an asshole he turned into. I wanted to throat punch him. He deserved it. The way he treated Layla, Blay, and even his own daughter deserved a throat punch or three.

Xcor and Layla realized that they had no future, so every moment they spent together was like their last. Layla wouldn’t let Xcor hide from her. Xcor was so used to hiding himself. His childhood was heartbreaking all because of a birth defect that he had no control over. Xcor was ready for Layla to turn away from him at any time, but she never did. The time they spent together was even more special because any moment could be the last. It was just sad.

Wrath was intense. So freaking intense. It doesn’t matter that he’s blind, you don’t cross the guy. Which Tohr and Qhinn did. They put their vengeance before their King and they got told. Both of them. I can understand (a little), that Tohr would go against Wrath. Kind of. A little. But Qhinn? He’s just been recently inducted into the Brotherhood. That he would go against Wrath? No. Wrath isn’t having any of that. This book totally makes me want to reread Dark Lover.

V and Jane. I never liked them together. V and Butch all the way. Jane is too absorbed in her career. And V needs someone that is a little absorbed in him, I believe. Not overly absorbed, but a little. Right? Yeah. Well, V is looking to cheat. That’s right. V and Jane are on totally separate pages here and V is considering cheating on his mate. Who does that? I appreciate that JRW doesn’t just end a book with a HEA the end period. But cheating? That’s harsh. V is so damaged so seeing him so torn up over this was some good reading.

The end was a little too pat for me. I mean, really. If you read it, you’ll know what I’m talking about. Come on. The scene with the four of them and the babies? Seriously. After all that angst? Please. Gag me. The thing with Lassiter? The only way it could have happened. Tohr and Autumn? Sigh. I love those two. Qhinn and Blay? Blay deserves better. The only redeeming moment for Qhinn in this book was when Blay called and Qhinn dropped his vengeance and went after him. Overall, I was happy with this book.

Assail and Sola’s book is next.

Rating: 4 out of 5.

four-stars

1 Comment
Tags: , , , , , , ,