Genre: Paranormal Romance

Review: Dark Sentinel by Christine Feehan

Posted September 20, 2018 by Casee in Reviews | 0 Comments

Review: Dark Sentinel by Christine FeehanReviewer: Casee
Dark Sentinel (Dark #28) by Christine Feehan
Series: Dark Series #28
Also in this series: Dark Nights (Dark #6.5, #9.5), Dark Wolf (Dark, #25), Dark Promises (Dark, #29), Dark Carousel (Dark, #30), Dark Legacy (Dark, #31), Dark Slayer (Dark, #17)
Publisher: Berkley
Publication Date: September 4, 2018
Point-of-View: Third
Genres: Paranormal Romance
Pages: 400
Amazon | Barnes & Noble | The Ripped Bodice | Google Play Books
Goodreads
three-stars

In an explosive novel from #1 New York Times bestselling author Christine Feehan, a human woman ignites the desire of her Carpathian lifemate--and of an ancient vampire with a score to settle.

After the devastating loss of her entire family, Lorraine Peters heads to the woods searching for peace of mind and anything to quell the anger in her soul. Instead, she stumbles upon a scene of horrific violence, as one man lies helpless in the face of three attackers.

Andor Katona's existence has been a harsh one, living for centuries as a monk in the Carpathian Mountains. Unable to find his lifemate, he almost welcomes his release from a colorless and unfeeling world at the hands of the vampire hunters who have mistaken him for their prey. That is, until a whirling ball of fury bursts onto the scene, determined to save him.

In one glimpse, in one breath, Andor recognizes Lorraine as his lifemate, but it will take more than their telepathic connection to convince her of their immortal bond. Lorraine is a lethal combination of cunning and courage. So much so that she captures the attention of a master vampire, one who has already lost what was once irreplaceable to him. One who will strike with deadly precision at Andor and his ancient Carpathian comrades in a war to end all wars. . .

This book was unusual in comparison to the other books in the series. I’m not sure how I feel about it. There were certainly things that bothered me, but for the life of me I can’t remember if anything like it has happened in a previous book. I can’t imagine it hasn’t.

Lorraine Peters is like few of Feehan’s heroines. She literally exploded onto the page with a saucepan and kicked some ass when she found someone trying to murder Andor. She didn’t know who he was, she just knew that she wasn’t going to stand by and allow murder if she could help it. Lorraine had no reason to think that Andor was different, but she finds herself stuffing his mortal wounds with soil instead of cleaning them out like she would on a human. She knows something is different, but all she can focus on is that she can’t let Andor die.

Lorraine is in the mountains trying to come to peace with what her life has become. After her parents, uncle, and aunt were murdered by her beloved brother, he turned the gun on himself. There was no explanation, no reasoning, nothing to think that Teddy was going to do what he did (or so she thought). After the murder-suicide, Lorraine’s friends started dropping out of her life one by one until she has no one. No friends and no family. Going up into the mountains alone is her gift to herself. She knows that she can’t continue on with the anger she has in her heart. She has to find a way to forgive Teddy for what he did and forgive her parents for not telling her that her brother was on steroids.

Andor is one of the few Ancients left of the Carpathian race. He and his fellow Ancients locked themselves up, away from humans and their own people in a monastery with no intention of every leaving. They are Ancients that have too much honor to meet the dawn or turn to become the undead. Now one of their own has found his lifemate, giving the Ancients hope that their own lifemates might be out there in the world, though not too much hope.

There is something afoot with the vampires that are now under the rule of Sergey Malinov. They come after Lorraine like a tsunami, sacrificing themselves for a reason that Andor, nor the other Ancients know. What is strange is the way the vampires have organized themselves. Along with Tariq and Gary, the Ancients are determined to find out why there has been such a sudden interest in Lorraine when she is virtually unknown.

My biggest problem with this book is that Andor tied Lorraine to him with the Carpathian ritual without her permission. I know that has happened before, but this time she was actively trying to stop him. He just ignored her. WTAF is that about?????? After that, all is not well between the two of them. Which I imagine made the whole thing easier to swallow. Honestly, I’m not sure.

The best part of the book was the setup for what I hope is the next book. Of course it’s too soon to tell if I’m right. Which I probably am not.

Rating: 3 out of 5.

Dark Series

three-stars


Tagged: , , , , , ,

Guest Review: Vampires Like It Hot by Lynsay Sands

Posted September 11, 2018 by Tracy in Reviews | 0 Comments

Guest Review: Vampires Like It Hot by Lynsay SandsReviewer: Tracy
Vampires Like It Hot (Argeneau #28) by Lynsay Sands
Series: Argeneau #28
Also in this series: Immortal Ever After (Argeneau #18), Runaway Vampire, Immortal Nights, Immortal Unchained, Twice Bitten
Publisher: Avon
Publication Date: September 18, 2018
Format: eARC
Point-of-View: Third
Genres: Paranormal Romance
Pages: 384
Amazon | Barnes & Noble | The Ripped Bodice | Google Play Books
Goodreads
three-stars

New York Times bestselling author Lynsay Sands brings the heat in this new Argeneau novel, as one woman is rescued by an irresistible immortal …

“Vampires...”

When Raffaele Notte pulls a barely dressed, disoriented woman from the ocean, the last thing he expects is for her to utter that word. The immortal has come to the island resort to help his cousin, but now, it seems, there are rogue vampires dining on unsuspecting tourists. And he soon realizes that not only is Jess a target, she’s also the life mate he’s been waiting for…

Vampires are real. Jess would’ve never believed it until she saw them with her own eyes. She knows she has to get off the island, and her gallant rescuer has offered to help. There’s something about Raffaele that’s unlike any man she has ever met, and his touch sends pleasure through her that is beyond all imagining. But when Jess discovers who he really is, will she risk life as she knows it for a chance of forever by his side?

Jess is at an island resort for her cousin’s destination wedding when the bride’s sister drags her on to a pirate ship.  Supposedly they were going to go feed sharks.  She’s not thrilled to be there and the people on the boat seem to be acting really weird.  When she walks in on what looks like a vampire feeding on a man’s private parts she’s horrified.  She’s then corralled into the captain’s quarters and pretty much told that the captain wants her all for himself.  She manages to squeeze out the window and ends up swimming for hours to get back to shore.

Raffaele Notte and his cousins, Zanipolo and Santo, are in Punta Cana to try and get Santo “back to normal.”  Santo had been kidnapped by the evil Dr. Dressler (see previous books) and had been experimented on.  He’d not been the same since and his cousins are looking out for him.  The trio is at dinner when Jess washes up on shore and they run to her rescue.

Jess is freaked out and focusing on the fact that vampires are real, but Raffaele is fascinated by the fact that Jess is his Life Mate.  When he finds out that she’s had contact with other Immortals that are on the island, that are obviously feeding on a ton of people (as he sees the teeth marks on just about everyone), he’s obviously concerned.  When he finds out that the captain of the pirate ship might also be Jess’s Life Mate Raffaele is determined to win her affections.

This was a cute book.  This is another in the Argeneau series and while the stories may be formulaic, I find them fun.  Raffaele and Jess were so cute together.  I hated that Jess was being pulled in different directions between Raffaele and Vasco.  As in most Sands novels there was a fair amount of ridiculous hijinks that happened with Jess, but I found them more funny side than the eye-rolling side.

I did feel sad for poor Santo as he was just so sad and after having read the previous books in the series knew what he had gone through.  I hope that he gets his HEA soon so that he can be happy again.

Overall a fun story.  There was not a lot of depth, but a good quick read none-the-less.

Rating: 3 out of 5

Argeneau

three-stars


Tagged: , , , , , , ,

Summer Reading Challenge Review: Cry Wolf by Patricia Briggs

Posted September 10, 2018 by Casee in Reviews | 1 Comment

Summer Reading Challenge Review: Cry Wolf by Patricia BriggsReviewer: Casee
Cry Wolf (Alpha & Omega, #1) by Patricia Briggs
Series: Alpha and Omega #1
Also in this series: Hunting Ground (Alpha & Omega, #2), Fair Game (Alpha & Omega, #3), Cry Wolf (Alpha & Omega, #1), Dead Heat (Alpha & Omega, #4), Alpha & Omega (Alpha & Omega, #0.5), Cry Wolf (Alpha & Omega, #1), Hunting Ground (Alpha & Omega, #2), Burn Bright (Alpha & Omega, #5), Burn Bright (Alpha & Omega, #5), Alpha & Omega (Alpha & Omega, #0.5)

Publication Date: August 1, 2008
Point-of-View: Third
Genres: Paranormal Romance
Pages: 294
Amazon | Barnes & Noble | The Ripped Bodice | Google Play Books
Goodreads
four-stars

Anna never knew werewolves existed, until the night she survived a violent attack... and became one herself. After three years at the bottom of the pack, she'd learned to keep her head down and never, ever trust dominant males. Then Charles Cornick, the enforcer—and son—of the leader of the North American werewolves, came into her life.

Charles insists that not only is Anna his mate, but she is also a rare and valued Omega wolf. And it is Anna's inner strength and calming presence that will prove invaluable as she and Charles go on the hunt in search of a rogue werewolf—a creature bound in magic so dark that it could threaten all of the pack.

It is recommended you read the prequel "Alpha & Omega" before reading Cry Wolf.

Patricia Briggs, where have you been all my life? Okay, I take full responsibility for not listening to Holly & Rowena discovering you sooner. I mean, what is wrong with me? You write exactly what I love to read. Intense paranormal romance with really interesting secondary characters as well as a raging bitch thrown in for good measure. What’s not to love about this series? Well there is one thing, but it’s not that big of a deal because this particular situation is fluid. Organic. Every changing.

In Cry Wolf, we pick up right where we left off in Alpha & Omega. The Marrok has brought Charles and Anna home to Montana. Charles is severely injured after being shot in Chicago. He took a bullet to save Anna’s life and uncovered a conspiracy that left one of the Chicago packs in ruins. He also discovered his mate. A brutalized omega wolf, Anna has zero self-confidence, self-esteem, self-anything really. She thinks she’s a waste of the air she breathes. That was my main problem with the book. Anna’s timidity got tiresome. Girl, you’re a kick ass omega werewolf with a bad ass mate. Chin up. Well, chin up she did but it didn’t happen until toward the end of the book.

I actually messaged Holly when I was about halfway through the book and asked her if the whole book was as slow was the first half was. Because it was slow. Lots of world building and people meeting. It wasn’t bad per se, it was just…slow. I loved meeting Asil, Sage, and getting to know Bran (The Marrok & Charles’ father) better. It was so clear that the people of the Marrok’s Montana pack were extremely close. The responsibility of being the Marrok weighed heavily on Bran and Bran leaned heavily on Charles. Charles was his enforcer. When there was a rogue werewolf, Charles would go after the rogue and dispense justice if so needed.

Now there is a rogue in the mountains of Montana. Too close to home for Charles’ comfort. He doesn’t think it’s a fluke that there is a rogue wolf in the Marrok’s backyard. This wouldn’t be the first time that someone made a play for his father’s power. It also wouldn’t be the last. Against his own wishes, his father orders him to take Anna with him. Taking Anna with him is the last thing he wants to do, but he can’t turn down a direct order from his father. What they discover in the mountains is truly something far more evil that Charles expected to find and he’s not sure either he or Anna will make it out alive. However he’s never been more determined to try.

Anna is calmed when she is in Charles presence. She and her wolf. The memory of the rapes and beatings that happened while she was a member of her former pack were hazy. Her wolf protected her by coming to the forefront. Still, Anna knows to keep her eyes down and opinions to herself. That’s until Charles. Something happens when she’s with him. Even when he loses his temper, Anna knows that he would never hurt her. She knows he doesn’t want her help hunting down the rogue, but it immediately apparent that the situation isn’t what it first seemed to be. Not only that, but it’s only Anna that can save Charles and possibly the Marrok’s entire North American pack from the black witch that has come to play.

Oh, my heart broke for Anna. When she realized she had no other place to go? clutching heart I felt for her so hard. This book had all the feels, even if it didn’t have all the action. There was plenty of action about the last 15-20% (Kindle reader here) of the book.

So why haven’t you picked this book up yet?

Rating: 4 out of 5.

Alpha & Omega

four-stars


Tagged: , , , , , , ,

Throwback Thursday Review: Sabine by Moira Rogers

Posted September 6, 2018 by Holly in Reviews | 1 Comment

Throwback Thursday Review: Sabine by Moira RogersReviewer: Holly
Sabine (And the Beast, #1) by Moira Rogers
Series: And the Beast #1
Publisher: Samhain Publishing
Publication Date: May 3, 2011
Format: eBook
Point-of-View: Third
Genres: Paranormal Romance
Pages: 68
Amazon | Barnes & Noble | The Ripped Bodice | Google Play Books
Goodreads
three-half-stars

A curse can erase her from his mind, but never from his heart.

" and the Beast, Book 1"

After three years at war, the High Lord of the Forest returns to his lands, a victorious wolf leader intent on claiming his mate. Instead Ciar finds an empty bed and a court with no recollection of the woman he loved. Following her long-cold trail proves far easier than facing what awaits him at the end.

Sabine s first instinct is to beg her beloved to leave. The High Lord s mother hired a witch to curse Sabine, desperate to wipe the lowborn wolf from her son s mind. But the spell worked too well, and Sabine has vanished from the thoughts of everyone who sees her. Including her own family.

The edges of his memory already blurring, Ciar and Sabine must race to find a way to reverse the spell. Yet every searing moment together is not enough to stop the curse s inexorable progress. His only chance is to bind Sabine to him too tightly to be forgotten, before she disappears once and for all.

Warning: This story contains cruel betrayal, destined love, vile curses, smoldering reunions, wicked deeds between wanton shapeshifters and a happily-ever-after worthy of any fairy tale. "

Every Thursday, we’ll be posting throwback reviews of our favorite and not-so-favorite books. Enjoy!

This review was originally posted on May 6, 2011.

This is a very short read, clocking in at just 41 pages. For such a short novella this really packs an emotional punch. Sabine and Ciar were going to be mated (this was personal choice – they were very much in love) when Ciar got called away to war. While he was gone, Sabine was cursed by her lover’s mother. Now no one remembers her – not even her mother.

When Ciar returns from war to find Sabine gone from his home, he immediately searches her out. He’s surprised to find her living in a cabin in the woods, cutoff from everyone and everything. Once she shares with him what happened, he determines to fix it by getting the witch to remove the curse. But..will he remember?

I loved the connection between Ciar and Sabine. Ciar loved Sabine just as much as she loved him. I can’t imagine how solitary and depressing it would be to not be remembered by anyone. Ciar remembers Sabine when he first returns, but forgets her soon after. While I would have liked to see this explored further (I think the emotional impact could have been much harder) I think Rogers did a credible job of making it work considering the page count.

I wish there had been more on the final resolution. Especially more about Ciar’s mother, and her part in what happened to Sabine. In the end it seemed too abrupt. I also want to read more about Ciar’s 2nd and his new wife. I’m hoping there will be another entry in the series featuring them.

3.5 out of 5

…and the Beast

three-half-stars


Tagged: , , , , , ,

Summer Reading Challenge Review: Alpha & Omega by Patricia Briggs

Posted September 5, 2018 by Casee in Reviews | 3 Comments

Summer Reading Challenge Review: Alpha & Omega by Patricia BriggsReviewer: Casee
Alpha & Omega (Alpha & Omega, #0.5) by Patricia Briggs
Series: Alpha and Omega #0.5
Also in this series: Hunting Ground (Alpha & Omega, #2), Fair Game (Alpha & Omega, #3), Cry Wolf (Alpha & Omega, #1), Dead Heat (Alpha & Omega, #4), Alpha & Omega (Alpha & Omega, #0.5), Cry Wolf (Alpha & Omega, #1), Hunting Ground (Alpha & Omega, #2), Burn Bright (Alpha & Omega, #5), Burn Bright (Alpha & Omega, #5), Cry Wolf (Alpha & Omega, #1)
Publisher: Berkley Books
Publication Date: October 1, 2008
Point-of-View: Third
Genres: Paranormal Romance
Pages: 86
Amazon | Barnes & Noble | The Ripped Bodice | Google Play Books
Goodreads
four-half-stars

In "Cry Wolf," New York Times bestselling author Patricia Briggs started a new urban fantasy series set in the world of Mercy Thompson but with rules of it's own. Now, read the eSpecial, Alpha and Omega, the novella that inspired the new series, and see how it all began. Anna Latham never knew werewolves existed, until the night she survived a violent attack and became one herself. After three years at the bottom of the Chicago pack, she's learned to keep her head down and never, ever trust dominant males. But when she discovers wrongdoing in her pack, she has to go above her Alpha's head to ask for help. Charles Cornick is the son and enforcer of the leader of the North American werewolves. Now his father has sent him to Chicago to clean up a problem there. Charles never expected to find Anna, a rare Omega wolf and he certainly never expected to recognize her as his mate

This is a short little review to go with a short little book.

I must have been living under a rock to have missed this author. I know the Mercy Thompson series is in first person and that is most likely the reason that I missed this series entirely. I really liked this book. It was the perfect beginning to a really good series.

Anna is a werewolf that hates being a werewolf. She’s been a werewolf for three years and those three years have been hell. She’s a submissive wolf and her alpha has taken it upon himself to pass her around his pack at his discretion. It’s only when Anna decides she can’t take it any longer and tries to take her own life that Leo puts out the word to keep hands off Anna.

When Anna sees a news article about a missing person, she knows she saw the person at Leo’s house. As a werewolf. Which is against werewolf law. She calls the Marrok, who is the alpha of all North America werewolves and reports what’s happening. He, in turn, sends his son Charles. Charles is his father’s enforcer, also known as his pet killer. Charles recognizes Anna for who she really is the second he’s in her vicinity. She’s an Omega. A rare werewolf that can calm the emotions of even a rogue. She’s also his mate.

I just really liked this book. I liked how it introduced me into this world of Charles and Anna. I wasn’t a big fan of Anna because she’s such a wimp, but it was with good reason which is why it was acceptable.

Rating: 4.5 out of 5.

Alpha & Omega

four-half-stars


Tagged: , , , , , , ,