Genre: Paranormal Romance

Review: Claimed by Rebecca Zanetti

Posted July 17, 2018 by Casee in Reviews | 0 Comments

Review: Claimed by Rebecca ZanettiReviewer: Casee
Claimed (Dark Protectors, #2) by Rebecca Zanetti
Series: Dark Protectors #2
Also in this series: Marked (Dark Protectors, #7), Fated (Dark Protectors, #1)
Published by Brava
Publication Date: October 25, 2011
Point-of-View: Third
Genres: Paranormal Romance
Pages: 321
Amazon | Barnes & Noble | The Ripped Bodice | Google Play Books
Goodreads
three-stars

A Daring Rescue Emma Paulsen is a geneticist driven by science. But she's also a psychic, so when a dark, good-hearted vampire frees her from the clutches of the evil Kurjans, she realizes he must be the man who's been haunting her dreams. But with a virus threatening vampires' mates, Emma may discover a whole new meaning of "lovesick".

A Deadly Decision As King of the Realm, Dage Kayrs has learned to practice diplomacy. Still, it's taken three hundred years to find his mate, so he'll stop at nothing to protect her—even if it means turning his back on his own kind...

I think something is wrong with me. How can I enjoy a book where the male completely takes over the female’s world? I just don’t understand that. If a man did that to me, I can’t imagine that I would find it sexy. Emma sure as hell didn’t find it sexy when Dage took over her life. She found it pretty appalling actually. I didn’t blame her, yet I found myself getting annoyed with her, rather than him. To my defense, she was annoying as fucking hell. The woman was never happy. It’s been a few weeks since I’ve read this book, but I know that I was really annoyed when I was reading it and it was because of Emma.

Dage is the King of the Vampire race. His race is in a war against the Kurjans, which is a race of evil vampires that are trying to infect the mates of vampires with a virus. They are also trying to infect shifters in order to turn them into mindless werewolves (werewolves are killers in this world). They have succeeded thus far. Emma’s sister, Cara (Talen’s mate), has been infected with Virus 27. Virus 27 attacks the 27 chromosome of a vampire’s mate which takes away the mating. In Cara’s case this is not a good thing since she is carrying a vampire baby and needs the immortal strength that mating Talen gave her. Not to worry, Emma is on the case! And Dage won’t let anything happen to his sister-in-law. Ego much?

Backing up a bit, Dage has been dreaming about Emma for three hundred years. Emma has been dreaming of Dage for years. They’re both psychic and have a link. In Dage’s dreams, Emma is his mate. In Emma’s dreams, Dage dies. Emma will not let anything happen to the man she is falling in love with. In her dream, Dage is happy. Right before the world explodes. The only thing she can sees that makes him happy is her (there is that ego). Therefore, in her logical brain, she can’t mate him. Like she will stop a Kayrs? Bitch, please.

A lot of stuff ensues, which moves the series along. That’s why I didn’t this “book” against the wall. I enjoyed the interaction of the other characters. I love the brotherly love, their relationship with the shifters, and Cara and Emma’s relationship. I was really looking forward to Conn and Moira’s book. I’ve since read it and loved it. Don’t let this review get you down if you are thinking about giving this series a try. It’s a must-read to understand the movement in the series, but you can skim. I loved Dage, I really did. Emma just wasn’t for me.

Rating: 3 out of 5.

Dark Protectors

three-stars


Tagged: , , , , , ,

Review: Shadow’s Edge by J.T. Geissinger

Posted July 16, 2018 by Holly in Reviews | 0 Comments

Review: Shadow’s Edge by J.T. GeissingerReviewer: Holly
Shadow's Edge (Night Prowler, #1) by J.T. Geissinger
Series: Night Prowler #1
Published by Montlake Romance
Publication Date: June 12, 2012
Point-of-View: Third
Genres: Urban Fantasy, Paranormal Romance
Pages: 359
Amazon | Barnes & Noble | The Ripped Bodice | Google Play Books
Goodreads
two-half-stars

2013 winner FF&P's Prism Award for Published Authors—Best First Book Deep within the primeval forests of southern England, a race of beautiful, savage shape-shifters lives hidden from the everyday world. Bound together by ancient bloodlines and a ruthless code of secrecy that punishes traitors with death, the Ikati send their leader Leander on a mission to capture one raised outside the tribe before she can expose their secret. When Leander tracks the unsuspecting outsider to Southern California, the hardened warrior is prepared for a fight—but not for the effect the sensual young beauty has on his heart.

Jenna spent her childhood in hiding, on the run from someone—or something—her parents refused to discuss. She trusts no one, not since her father’s mysterious disappearance, not since her mother’s sudden death, and definitely not since she began exhibiting strange, superhuman abilities. When handsome, enigmatic Leander appears, promising answers to the mysteries that shroud her past, she knows she shouldn’t trust him either. But their connection is undeniable, and as powerful as the enemy hell-bent on destroying every one of their kind…

I read and really enjoyed Burn for You, a contemporary romance, and figured I’d give Geissinger’s PNR a try. Shadow’s Edge is the first book Night Prowler book, an urban fantasy series featuring a society of shapeshifters who are hidden among humans. While I liked the premise of this book, I didn’t end up loving it.

The Ikati are shapeshifters. For years they lived out in the open, but eventually the church labeled them monsters and they were hunted into near extinction. They retreated into hiding and for the past several hundred years, have lived tucked away from human society. They have a patriarchal society. Since they were hunted for so long (and still are), they keep to themselves and remain a secret. As a results, women are treated like they were back in the good ole days of “marry for bloodlines and then sit over there in the corner and be quiet”. Mating with humans is forbidden. If one of the males breaks the rule, he’s hunted and killed, along with his human mate and any children they have. Unless he willingly sacrifices himself for his mate and children. In which case they may live, until the child turns 25. If she manifests shapeshifter powers on her 25th birthday, she’s brought to live with the Ikati clan, or – if she refuses – she’s killed.

I think I expected this book to be …more. More Jenna exerting her will or being more badass. I feel like I spent the majority of the book waiting for something to happen. I wanted to see Jenna come into her own. I wanted to see Leander step in and kick major ass for her. I wanted to see things change with the clan, etc etc. Unfortunately none of those things came to pass. The premise is good, but it lacked a lot of finesse in the execution.

I started the 2nd book immediately thinking a lot of the unanswered questions would be cleared up, but book 2 is set in a different place and features different characters. While I enjoyed aspects of this book, I enjoyed book 2 more.

2.75 out of 5

Night Prowlers

two-half-stars


Tagged: , , , , , , ,

What Are You Reading? (+ autographed Alyssa Day Giveaway)

Posted July 6, 2018 by Casee in Features, Giveaways | 6 Comments

WAYR-New

Casee: I just started Vampire’s Faith by Rebecca Zanetti which is the final book in the Dark Protectors series. I didn’t realize that there was a four year gap between the seventh and eighth book. It does make me wonder if this series is going to continue. I so adore it and I will be crushed if it doesn’t. It always works out that way, though, doesn’t it?

After I’m done with this book I have to start the books in the Summer Reading Challenge. Unfortunately.

Holly: I finished listening to Diamond Bay by Linda Howard. I enjoyed the narrator and the story itself is always wonderful. It’s surprising how well it holds up considering it was first published in the early 90s. I also re-read Saving Grace by Julie Garwood. I’m currently rereading Cry No More by Linda Howard. I forced talked Tracy into reading it for the first time and said I’d read along with her. I love this book so much, but man does it hurt to read it.

For new reads this week, I finished Midnight Valentine by J.T. Geissinger finally. I started it weeks ago but kept getting distracted by other things. I really loved the first 3/4 of the book, but it took a dark turn there at the end I didn’t really expect. It was a good book overall, but that last 1/4 was…kind of a lot. I didn’t finish it feeling as warm and fuzzy as I thought I would. I also finished Iron and Magic by Ilona Andrews. I kept putting off reading it because I was afraid of how Hugh’s story would turn out. He’s a villain. Kind of. Definitely an anti-hero. In the end I loved it, though. He’ll always be bad, but the story was really good.

For our Summer Reading Challenge, I read Raphael by D.B. Reynolds and The Trouble with Love by Lauren Layne. I did’t care for Raphael at all. Why Casee thought I’d enjoy that TSTL heroine is beyond me. I did enjoy the Layne, however. It was a cute contemporary romance. Now Rowena is trying to convince me I need to read all the other books in the series. Like my TBR pile isn’t big enough? I did start listening to Someone Like You, though.

I think I’m going to start Archangel’s Prophecy by Nalini Singh next. I got an ARC yesterday. I was hoping to save it until next week when I’m on vacation, but I don’t think it’s going to happen. I can’t wait that long.

Rowena: It’s been a busy week for me so my reading suffered a bit but I did get some books read. I finished The Accidentals by Sarina Bowen and enjoyed it. I knew that I’d enjoy it because Sarina Bowen is always fire. After that, I started my first book in our Summer Reading Challenge. I read Coming Undone by Lauren Dane from Holly’s list and I’m happy to report that I thoroughly enjoyed that one and have put the rest of the series on my TBR list.

I’m getting ready to start The Real Deal by Lauren Blakely and I’m hopeful that it will be good. Oh, I’m also listening to The Hate U Give by Angie Thomas because I want to watch the movie (my Samoan boy KJ Apa is in this one). This book is intense. After this, I’ll be reading Every Time You Go Away by Beth Harbison and A Duke by Default by Alyssa Cole. I’m excited.

Giveaway Alert

We are very fortunate here at Book Binge. We have loads and loads of books to read and we want to share the wealth so each week, we’ll be tacking on a Freebie Friday giveaway to our What Are You Reading posts. This week, we’re giving away…

What Are You Reading? (+ autographed Alyssa Day Giveaway)January in Atlantis (Poseidon's Warriors #1) by Alyssa Day
Series: Poseidon's Warriors #1
Published by Alesia Holliday
Publication Date: January 30, 2018
Genres: Paranormal Romance
Pages: 172
Amazon | Barnes & Noble | The Ripped Bodice | Google Play Books
Goodreads

When Poseidon’s elite warriors gear up to train a new generation of fighters, they have no idea that Atlantean Queen Riley has secretly taken on a new role: Matchmaker. By the end of the year, she plans to find soul mates for all twelve of Atlantis’s fiercest warriors... whether they like it or not.

Twelve all-new adventures in the hotly anticipated world of Poseidon's Warriors, coming once a month from New York Times bestselling author Alyssa Day. These books are sexy, romantic, and wickedly addictive —welcome to 2018! And welcome to: A Year in Atlantis!

 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

What Are You Reading: January in Atlantis by Alyssa Day

What are you reading this week? Any new favorites or books that drove you crazy? Share!


Tagged: , , , ,

Review: Ocean Light by Nalini Singh

Posted June 28, 2018 by Casee in Reviews | 5 Comments

Review: Ocean Light by Nalini SinghReviewer: Casee
Ocean Light by Nalini Singh
Series: Psy/Changeling Trinity #2, Psy/Changeling #17
Also in this series: Silver Silence, Silver Silence, Silver Silence, Ocean Light, Caressed By Ice, Mine to Possess, Hostage to Pleasure, The Magical Christmas Cat, Kiss of Snow, Tangle of Need, Slave to Sensation (Psy/Changeling #1), Wild Invitation, Heart of Obsidian, Shield of Winter, Shield of Winter, Visions of Heat, Mine to Possess, Caressed By Ice, Branded by Fire, Blaze of Memory, Mine to Possess, Hostage to Pleasure, Hostage to Pleasure, Shards of Hope, Shards of Hope, Heart of Obsidian, Caressed By Ice, Branded by Fire, Blaze of Memory, Play of Passion, Allegiance of Honor, Kiss of Snow, Tangle of Need, Shield of Winter, Shards of Hope, Allegiance of Honor, Allegiance of Honor, Wild Embrace, Wild Embrace, Wild Embrace, Tangle of Need
Published by Berkley
Publication Date: June 12, 2018
Point-of-View: Third Person
Genres: Paranormal Romance
Pages: 416
Amazon | Barnes & Noble | The Ripped Bodice | Google Play Books
Goodreads
three-stars

New York Times bestselling author Nalini Singh dives beneath the surface of her Psy-Changeling world into a story of passionate devotion and selfless love...

Security specialist Bowen Knight has come back from the dead. But there's a ticking time bomb in his head: a chip implanted to block telepathic interference that could fail at any moment--taking his brain along with it. With no time to waste, he should be back on land helping the Human Alliance. Instead, he's at the bottom of the ocean, consumed with an enigmatic changeling...

Kaia Luna may have traded in science for being a chef, but she won't hide the facts of Bo's condition from him or herself. She's suffered too much loss in her life to fall prey to the dangerous charm of a human who is a dead man walking. And she carries a devastating secret Bo could never imagine...

But when Kaia is taken by those who mean her deadly harm, all bets are off. Bo will do anything to get her back--even if it means striking a devil's bargain and giving up his mind to the enemy...

It literally hurts my heart to write this review. I have never not loved a book by Nalini. Well, there was Silver Silence. While I didn’t love it, I liked it a lot. This book, not so much. It wasn’t that I disliked it. I didn’t. It was just boring. And slow. So incredibly slow and boring. There wasn’t a lot of excitement until almost the end of the book. Then it picked up and got interesting. Until then? It just wasn’t for me. I had to force myself to read it because I wasn’t going to give Nalini a DNF.

Bowen Knight has been in the Psy/Changeling books for a long time. He is the “alpha” of the humans. Bowen long ago realized that someone needed to step up to protect the human race. While he never thought he would be the one to do it, he ended up doing the job. After being mind-raped by a Psy when he was thirteen, Bo has an incredible aversion to the Psy race. Such an aversion that he has an experimental chip implanted in his head. He doesn’t care if it kills him as long as it protects his mind from the Psy. Bo understands that the Psy race is evolving, but not enough for him to trust. A few of his most trusted people, along with sister, have the same chip implanted in their heads. When things start going wrong with the chip, Bo doesn’t think of himself, but of his people.

At the end of Silver Silence, Bo takes a bullet to the heart and falls into the water. Lucky for him, the BlackSea changelings save him. He wakes up in one of their strongholds to a scientist that tells him he has a chance to live. A five percent chance, but a chance nonetheless. His attention strays from the doctor and seeks out her cousin, Kaia Luna. He has never felt such an attraction to a woman; a woman that seems to despise him for no reason.

Kaia has her reasons for not liking Bowen Knight. He is involved with the disappearance of several of her packmates. That is unforgivable to Kaia. What is even more unforgivable is when Kaia finds herself attracted to Bo. How can she be attracted to someone so evil that they capture and torture changelings? It doesn’t take Kaia long to realize that Bo is nothing like she thought he was. So they end up falling in love miles and miles under the ocean where the experiment on Bo is taking place.

This is why the book is boring. It takes place in the ocean. There is no excitement there. Kaia stays there specifically because she feels safe. Because nothing ever happens there. She never surfaces to the land above. Bo is all about excitement and Kaia, well, isn’t. I just didn’t feel them together. It just felt forced. Which is sad, really, because they were both really good characters. Just by themselves. Not together.

Like I mentioned above, the book picked up about seventy five to eighty percent in. It was too late for me. By then I was skimming, trying to finish the book. If you’re like me, you can’t skip a book in a series that you’re this invested in. So I’m glad I read it even though I didn’t like it.

I’m sorry, Nalini. Don’t hate me.

Rating: 3 out of 5.

Psy/Changeling Trinity

three-stars


Tagged: , , , , , , ,

Release Day Spotlight: Dark Challenge by Christine Feehan

Posted June 26, 2018 by Rowena in Giveaways, Promotions | 2 Comments

Christine Feehan is re-releasing the fifth book in her Dark series and Dark Challenge is out today! The Dark series is wildly popular and has over 20+ books in the series.

Release Day Spotlight: Dark Challenge by Christine FeehanDark Challenge (Dark Series #5) by Christine Feehan
Series: Dark Series #5
Also in this series: Dark Wolf, Dark Promises, Dark Carousel, Dark Legacy
Published by Harper Collins, Avon
Publication Date: June 26, 2018
Genres: Paranormal Romance
Pages: 400
Amazon | Barnes & Noble | The Ripped Bodice | Google Play Books
Goodreads

Julian Savage was golden. Powerful. But tormented. For the brooding hunter walked alone. Always alone, far from his Carpathian kind, alien to even his twin. Like his name, his existence was savage. Until he met the woman he was sworn to protect…. When Julian heard Desari sing, rainbows swamped his starving senses. Emotions bombarded his hardened heart. And a dark hunger to possess her flooded his loins, blinding him to the danger stalking him. And even as Desari enflamed him, she dared to defy him - with mysterious, unparalleled feminine powers. Was Desari more than his perfect mate? Julian had met his match in this woman, but would she drive him to madness…or save his soul?

We have a couple of paperback copies to give away to two lucky readers. Please use the Gleam giveaway widget below to enter.

Good luck!

 

Order the Book:

AMAZON || BARNES AND NOBLE

Dark Series

Giveaway Alert

Re-Release Day Spotlight: Dark Challenge

About the Author

Christine Feehan

WEBSITE | TWITTER | FACEBOOK | INSTAGRAM | GOODREADS

Christine Feehan is a #1 New York Times bestselling author multiple times over with her portfolio including over 70 published novels, including five series; Dark Series, Ghostwalker Series, Leopard Series, Drake Sisters Series, the Sisters of the Heart Series and Torpedo Ink. All of her series have hit the #1 spot on the New York Times bestselling list as well. Her debut novel Dark Prince received 3 of the 9 Paranormal Excellence Awards in Romantic Literature (PEARL) in 1999. Since then she has been published by various publishing houses including Leisure Books, Pocket Books, and currently is writing for Berkley/Jove. She also has earned 7 more PEARL awards since Dark Prince.


Tagged: , , , , ,