Genre: Paranormal Romance

Guest Review: The Big Alpha in Town by Eve Langlais, Milly Taiden & Kate Baxter

Posted May 17, 2018 by Tracy in Reviews | 0 Comments

Guest Review: The Big Alpha in Town by Eve Langlais, Milly Taiden & Kate BaxterReviewer: Tracy
The Big Alpha in Town by Eve Langlais
Published by St. Martin's Press
Publication Date: May 15, 2018
Point-of-View: Third Person
Genres: Paranormal Romance
Pages: 384
Amazon | Barnes & Noble | The Ripped Bodice | Google Play Books
Goodreads
three-stars

Three hot stories about three sexy shifters from a trio of today's hottest paranormal romance authors, headlined by bestselling authors Eve Langlais and Milly Taiden!

Bearing His NameMeeting his mate should have been cause for celebration. There’s just one teeny tiny problem. Jade thinks Ark might have impregnated her sister. He didn’t, but convincing Jade is going to take a bit of honey.

Owned by the LionKeir’s been told to stop playing the field and settle down—difficult advice for a hard and hot man with a lion’s heart to follow. But his sights have always been set on Ally. She’s his mate, plain and simple. With her sweet and delicious curves, she’s nothing but sugar and trouble all rolled into one. But he’s known her and sparred with her for years. She’s his best friend’s little sister, and it’s going to take a whole new level of convincing that he’s the mate for her.

No Need Fur LoveMoving with his pack to the tiny town of Stanley, Idaho has Owen Courtney a little on edge. With literally no women in sight, Owen will be lucky to find a date, let alone his true mate. But you know the saying about a werewolf walking into a bar…Gorgeous wood nymph Mia Oliver is on a mission: Find a suitable male to get her good ‘n pregnant and provide her with an heir. But when Mia decides to pick up a gorgeous and oh-so willing werewolf at the bar, she realizes she might be in over her head. …

Bearing His Name by Eve Langlais

Jade sent snarky “Congratulations you’re a father!” cards to a whole slew of men in the same extended family.  Her sister Ruby is pregnant by one of them, but she has no idea which one.  She was at a Halloween party and only knows that the guy was dressed as Zeus – as were a bunch of men there.  When Ark heads to Jade and Ruby’s apartment he’s not sure if he’s the father of Ruby’s baby or not but he hopes he isn’t because it looks like Jade is his mate.

This story was just ‘OK” imho.  I liked Jade and Ruby but Ark made me crazy.  He pretty much stalked Jade and would break into her apartment and watch her sleeping. That is the definition of creepy stalker in my book.  I think this was all supposed to be forgivable because they were mates and he just wanted to be with her, etc.  It wasn’t.  He was also so arrogant it made me want to hit him. Because of his attitude I never really got into the romance – probably because I kept thinking Jade could do better.

Owned by the Lion by Milly Taiden

Keir knew immediately upon meeting Ally that she was his mate but he didn’t tell her.  He wants to woo her but she hates him something fierce, for some reason that is never explained.  He finally gets her to talk to him and she finally sees he’s a good guy.  Too bad all of his many women keep coming around.  Of course it’s hard to get away from them when they are literally everywhere they go.

This story wasn’t bad but it wasn’t great for me either.  I couldn’t understand why Keir didn’t just come out and tell Ally she was his mate.  It truly would have solved all the issues because of how mates in this world are so devoted to each other.  She would have known that the other women he’d been with previously now meant nothing to him.  Of course then their wouldn’t have been a story so…  Because of Ally “hating” Keir so much at first it was hard for me to get into their relationship, unfortunately.

No Need Fur Love by Kate Baxter

Mia is out for a one-night stand so that she can get pregnant. Her father, who is the leader of their wood nymph band says that if she’s produces a child then he’ll let her in more of the leadership issues.  Mia meets Owen at the first bar she goes to and it hardly takes any time at all before they’re leaving with each other.

Owen is at the bar wishing he could have the type of relationship that his Alpha has with his new mate when Mia walks in.  He knows immediately she’s his mate but after their night together she disappears.

This was a cute story.  I liked Mia and Owen a lot.  It wasn’t insta-love but pretty close.  Owen was all about the mate bond but Mia didn’t feel it the same way so that brought a little tension into the mix which was nice.

The story also involved Mia’s crazy dad and his hatred of Owen’s wolf pack which brought even more tension into the story which I liked.

Overall not a fabulous anthology for me but at least somewhat entertaining.

 

Overall rating: 3 out of 5

three-stars


Tagged: , , , , , , , , ,

What Are You Reading? (+ Autographed Paranormal Giveaway)

Posted May 4, 2018 by Casee in Features, Giveaways | 8 Comments

WAYR-New

Casee: This has not been a strong reading week for me. I have a lot of things going on this month and I don’t think that I will get a lot of reading time. I’m still reading Order of Protection by Lexi Blake. I haven’t gotten any further into it then I was last week. Which is about two sentences.

Holly: I was traveling over the weekend and unable to read. Which is a total bummer because spent about 90 billion hours in the car. I get really carsick, so I can’t read, and my poor husband feels abandoned when I listen to audiobooks. All that wasted reading time.

I read The Hookup by Erin McCarthy. It wasn’t bad, but I did struggle with the short time frame of the romance. It was something like 5 days. I liked the angst, however. I also read Planet Dragos by Thea Harrison, an upcoming novella. I love Dragos and Pia, and I’m always happy to return to them as a couple. The events in this book make me very excited for the next full-length installment. Right now I’m reading Rock Chick Reborn by Kristen Ashley, a novella featuring Shirleen Jackson, whom we met in earlier Rock Chick and Chaos novels. I was really excited to see her get an HEA, but I’m struggling with the story. She was written a certain way in all the other books, and her personality is lacking here. I’ll finish it, but I’m not loving it.

I think I’ll read The Kiss Quotient by Helen Hoang next. I’ve been hearing wonderful things about it.

Rowena: My reading has picked up some and boy am I happy about that. I have review books that need to be reviewed so I’m glad to finally be making some progress on that. I finished The Way You Make Me Feel by Maurene Goo and that was as cute as can be. After that, I read Rumor Has It by Jessica Lemmon which was another great read in her Real Love series. Barrett and Catarina were fun.

Right now, I’m finishing up Regrets Only by Erin Duffy and it’s an interesting story about a woman finding her way after catching her husband cheating on her. She’s got a small child, she can’t move back home to Chicago (she’s in Connecticut right now) and she’s got to deal with what’s in front of her, find a way to move on. I want to pull her hair most of the time because she does a lot of stupid shit that doesn’t help her at all but I know she’ll get it. She’ll get there. I’m also reading Airports, Exes, and Other Things I’m Over by Shani Petroff and so far, that one is cute too.

Up next is Hooked on You by Kate Meader. I can’t freaking wait to dig into Bren and Violet’s romance. I’m so anxious.

Giveaway Alert

We are very fortunate here at Book Binge. We have loads and loads of books to read and we want to share the wealth so each week, we’ll be tacking on a Freebie Friday giveaway to our What Are You Reading posts. This week, we’re giving away…

What Are You Reading? (+ Autographed Paranormal Giveaway)January in Atlantis by Alyssa Day
Series: Poseidon's Warriors #1
Published by Alesia Holliday
Publication Date: January 30, 2018
Point-of-View: Third Person
Genres: Paranormal Romance
Pages: 172
Amazon | Barnes & Noble | The Ripped Bodice | Google Play Books
Goodreads

When black sheep Flynn returns to Atlantis after more than a decade away, he discovers that his brothers thought he was dead and moved on with their lives. But before he can wrap his brain around that problem, Poseidon himself taps Flynn to be one of a new generation of elite warriors. Now he only has to: learn how to be part of a team, rescue a group of kidnapped girls from the Hell’s Dark Angels motorcycle gang, and try to understand why a certain red-haired bartender with an affinity for animals is driving him mad…

Eva Calandar needs to run. Again. Her ex-boyfriend, a black magic practitioner, has tracked her down. Again. But she might be the key to rescuing a group of girls from becoming human sacrifices, and there’s a certain astonishingly hot Atlantean warrior with a fierce protective instinct who is making her think longing thoughts of finally making a stand.

Together, they’re so much stronger than they were apart, but the heat between them may be enough to burn down the world.

No matter what the temperature is in January . . . in Atlantis.

a Rafflecopter giveaway

What are you reading this week? Any new favorites or books that drove you crazy? Share!


Tagged: , , , ,

Review: Dark Legacy by Christine Feehan

Posted April 24, 2018 by Casee in Reviews | 1 Comment

Review: Dark Legacy by Christine FeehanReviewer: Casee
Dark Legacy by Christine Feehan
Series: Dark Series #31
Also in this series: Dark Wolf, Dark Promises, Dark Carousel
Published by Berkley
Publication Date: September 5, 2017
Point-of-View: Third
Genres: Paranormal Romance
Pages: 416
Amazon | Barnes & Noble | The Ripped Bodice | Google Play Books
Goodreads
three-stars

In a thrilling Carpathian novel from #1 New York Times bestselling author Christine Feehan, a woman fights to free herself from the grip of the vampire trying to possess her...

In a beautiful compound hidden away from the world, Emeline Sanchez tries to blunt the pain that has wracked her body ever since her terrifying ordeal in the labyrinth beneath the city—when she was forced to exchange blood with an evil master vampire.

Now, it’s his voice that haunts her...that calls to her in the dark...that never lets her rest. And while the children that she helped to free from his clutches struggle to heal, watched over by their Carpathian protectors, Emeline knows one thing: She must sacrifice herself to keep them all from harm...

I’m pretty much on the fence about this one. It wasn’t my favorite book in the Dark series, but it wasn’t my least favorite either. My favorite goes to the first book in the series, Dark Prince. My least favorite most certainly goes to Dark Promises. I despised that book. I was way too generous with my rating for that book. If I recall correctly, Dark Promises was the book that the Ancients were really introduced. The Ancients are a group of male Carpathians that have served the race for so long that no one remembers how long they’ve been around. They don’t even know how long they’ve been around. They do know that if they’re unleashed on the world that they will be come the very thing they spent their existence hunting. The vampire. To stop that from happening, the Ancients have locked themselves up in a monastery.

These books come out a year apart and I will be honest with you. I can’t remember why the Ancients left the monastery. I believe that it was their Ancient friend that found his TSTL lifemate in Dark Promises gave them hope that their own lifemates were out there, so they are all in search of their own. I know if I had a lifemate like that, I’d run screaming in the opposite direction. For real.

In Dark Legacy, we are back in the world of Dark Carousel. We are with Tariq and Charlotte Asenguard, Charlotte’s little sister, and the little kids they are adopting. Also in the compound is Emeline Sanchez, the savior of all the children. In Dark Carousel, she literally went into a vampire den? Nest? Hideout? She went underground where she knew vampires were holding the children and where they would die, to save them. How did she know? Her dreams. Emeline has been able to dream walk since she was a small child. She knew she would save the children. She also knew she would be caught and have something imaginable happen to her. Still, she couldn’t stay away at the expense of the children’s lives. She was a hero.

After she is rescued and on Tariq’s compound, Emeline is far from safe. The master vampire that tortured her, Vadim Malinov, whispers to incessantly. The blood he made her drink is slowly killing her and she’s afraid he will make her hurt anyone on the compound against her will. From her dreams, she knows that one of the Ancients will be killed trying to protect her, so she stays inside her house to keep everyone safe.

When the time comes that Dragomir and Emeline come face-to-face, it is just as powerful as any other novel in this series. I really don’t know how Feehan does it. It’s pretty amazing. That was the only amazing thing about this romance. The rest of it fell flat. They were absolutely perfect for each other. They were both champions. He was a protector of his race. She was a protector of children. Yet something didn’t fit. It was weird. They should be clicked. But it all seemed forced. It was all very uncomfortable. Dragomir was always very sweet and Emeline genuinely seemed to love him, but I wasn’t feeling it. It wasn’t a bad book by any means, it just wasn’t one for me.

3 out of 5.

Dark Series

three-stars


Tagged: , , , , , ,

Guest Review: Drakon’s Past by N.J. Walters

Posted April 23, 2018 by Jen in Reviews | 6 Comments

Guest Review: Drakon’s Past by N.J. WaltersReviewer: Jen
Drakon's Past (Blood of the Drakon, #4) by N.J. Walters
Series: Blood of the Drakon #4
Also in this series: Drakon's Promise, Drakon's Prey, Drakon's Plunder
Published by Entangled, Entangled: Amara
Publication Date: January 29th 2018
Point-of-View: Third Person
Genres: Paranormal Romance
Pages: 306
Amazon | Barnes & Noble | The Ripped Bodice | Google Play Books
Goodreads
two-half-stars

Constance Owens has a gift for finding unique items in the most unlikely places, which comes in handy since she buys and sells artifacts and antiques for a living. When she purchases a set of four dragon statues, she has no idea just how unique they are, or that finding them will thrust her into a world of secret societies, men who think nothing of kidnapping and murder to get what they want, and dragon shifters.

Nic hasn’t survived for four thousand years by letting his guard down, and he doesn’t trust anyone except his drakon brothers. The loneliness haunting him has been getting worse since all his brothers have found their mates. And when he finds the woman his drakon recognizes instantly as his fated mate, he doubts he’ll ever have what his brothers have, because it seems she’s involved with the secret society of hunters who have been hunting and capturing his kind for hundreds of years.

Nic has been a bit on the outskirts of the previous books in this series. Unlike the other brothers who tend to keep to themselves, Nic seems to spend a lot of time with regular humans. He loves to party and act the playboy, particularly in Vegas. What his brothers don’t know, though, is that he’s doing it in a desperate attempt to stave off the Big Sleep. Apparently, when drakons eventually get bored with the world, they lay down and sleep forever. (Everyone implies this is just “sleep” and not death, but I don’t know, that sure sounds like dying to me.) Nic’s been feeling the urge to just lay down and give up, so he leads a wild lifestyle in an attempt to keep up his interest in living. When he hears about a woman selling highly unusual dragon statues, he goes to investigate and finds Constance. She sells antiques and other collectibles to support herself and her teenage sister. When her sister gets kidnapped by the Knights of the Dragon, she knows the statues are more important than she thought. She doesn’t trust Nic and doesn’t know how he’s involved, but she doesn’t have a lot of options for getting her sister back. She and Nic circle each other and do what they can to rescue her sister.

I have to be honest, I was pretty disappointed in this book. I didn’t like Nic or Constance much. I didn’t really feel much of a deep connection between them, just plain and simple lust. I didn’t like that Nic takes advantage of Constance’s vulnerability and worry about her sister. Constance too is wishy washy. I got why she wouldn’t trust Nic, but then she keeps getting all horny for him and letting him come around. I just never felt much there.

There were too many loose threads in the book, too. This idea of the Big Sleep is never properly explored. Why do drakons do this? How does Nic avoid it? It’s kind of plopped there and then never referred to again. There is no resolution to the larger story arc of the Knights of the Dragon. Sure one villain gets beaten here, but what about the rest of them? How come the drakons don’t put a stop to the group once and for all? What happened to Karina Azarov (the head of the Knights)? Now all four of the drakon brothers have gotten their stories. We’re told there are more drakons out there but we haven’t met or even heard the name of any others. So, is the series going to continue with a drakon we’ve never met, or is it over, leaving tons of unresolved story lines? I don’t know what to think.

Even worse, the one thread that IS resolved is Nic’s mommy issues. Thousands of years ago, when he was a child, his mom threw him out and let the villagers chase him away. He’s had a huge chip on his shoulder since then and doesn’t trust anyone, particularly women, because he’s sure they’re all rotten. Of course, it’s a bit of a self-fulfilling prophecy. Because he doesn’t trust Constance he doesn’t tell her the truth, and because she doesn’t know the truth she has to betray him in order to save her sister. And then in the end, Nic gets a resolution of his issues that was so trite and unbelievable. It was just silly.

It’s always a bummer when a book you’ve been waiting for lets you down. If the author continues the series, however, I’ll continue reading.

Grade: 2.5 out of 5

Blood of the Drakon Series

two-half-stars


Tagged: , , , , , ,

Throwback Thursday Review: Warrior by Angela Knight

Posted April 19, 2018 by Casee in Reviews | 4 Comments

Throwback Thursday Review: Warrior by Angela KnightReviewer: Casee
Warrior by Angela Knight
Series: Time Hunters #1
Published by Penguin Group (USA)
Publication Date: July 1, 2008
Point-of-View: Third
Genres: Paranormal Romance
Pages: 277
Amazon | Barnes & Noble | The Ripped Bodice | Google Play Books
Goodreads
four-stars

The NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLING AUTHOR launches the new Time Hunters series.

In the 24th century, anyone can leap through time at will. To police the time jumpers, the Temporal Enforcement Agency has established a precinct in time. Galar Arvid is a genetically altered warlord and agent who’s been sent back to 2008 to save a pretty Atlanta artist from a Xeran time traveler who intends to kill her for profit. What Galar doesn’t count on is the powerful desire Jessica Kelly ignites in him. But could a romance between them work? A three-hundred-year chasm separates them and, even if they dart through time, there’s still a maniacal killer on their tails.

Every Thursday in 2018, we’ll be posting throwback reviews of our favorite and not-so-favorite books.

This review was originally posted on August 12, 2008.

This is the first of four reviews that I need to do, reviews I should have been working on yesterday. Unfortunately, I could not get myself motivated enough to turn on my laptop, let alone write a review. Instead, I mindlessly watched HGTV for hours. In a house that was silent. It was the closest thing to Heaven that I can imagine. This is totally off topic, but for you HGTV watchers, I’m curious…is the host of Color Splash (the one that wears tank tops and uses more hair products than I do) gay? That was about the hardest my brain worked yesterday. Actually there was one more brief moment of lucidity when I emailed Holly (via my Blackberry) and we discussed sex on a motorcycle a la Heat of the Moment by Jessica Hall. Is that actually possible?

While I can probably drone on and on about the nothing that I did yesterday, let me move onto my review of Warrior. This book begins a new series called Time Hunters. While Warrior is loosely connected to Jane’s Warlord, technically they’re not in the same series. It’s been so many years since I actually read Jane’s Warlord that I couldn’t even tell you the difference between a Warlord and an Enforcer (which is what our hero is).

As a Master Enforcer, Galar Arvid is in charge of the group of Enforcers that travel to 2008 to save Jessica Kelly from being murdered by a Time Jumper. Centuries in the future, Jessica will be infamous, for her art and for how her life was cut tragically short. Galar’s mission is to step in if, and only if, Jessica’s would be murderer is from the future. Following his own laws, he will be unable to help Jessica if her murderer is a human from her time.

Jessica is terrified when she awakes to find a stranger in her house demanding to know where her roommate is, while choking the life out of her. Fighting as best she can, she recalls little about when Galar and his team burst into her house to try to save her life. When she’s taken to the Time Jumpers “base”, what she feels goes beyond disbelief.

This is a bit of a hard review to write b/c there’s so much going on in the book to try to get the reader up to speed on this world. The Enforcers are human, yet not. They have a computer type thing in their brain which can control their bodies reactions to situations, tell them when someone is sneaking up behind them, and give them super human strength. Aside from that, they look just as human and a 21st century human being, which is what they originally assume Jess is. They soon realize their error when they discover that Jess is not entirely human herself. But then if she’s not human, is she a spy?

Even with the information overload at times, Warrior is still a good start to the Time Hunter series. There was an interesting conflict setup with a traitor (obviously not Jess) and a group of almost extinct aliens (imagine the Chicken Little aliens here). Galar is a true hero, someone that has given up a lot for his people. Having been betrayed by a woman he thought he loved in the past, he doesn’t take it well when it’s first thought that Jess is a traitor. Having to ignore everything he believes, Galar does what he must to protect his world and the people in it. Jess was an okay heroine, nothing too spectacular. She really accepted the world rather well considering that she was thrown into it as brutally as she was. That was a bit unbelievable, even with the measures the Enforcers have in place to bring people like Jess up to speed.

Knight also did a good job of setting up the next book, which I look forward to reading. All in all, I would say give this book a try.

4 out of 5.

Time Hunters

four-stars


Tagged: , , , , , , ,