Genre: Historical Romance

What Are You Reading? (+ Historical Giveaway)

Posted February 23, 2018 by Casee in Features, Giveaways | 3 Comments

WAYR-New

Casee: I finished Archangel’s Viper and really enjoyed it. I never really wondered what happened to Holly, which is odd to me. I have no idea how I forgot her. Watch for my review.

Last night I started Storm Gathering by Rebecca Zanetti. It is the fourth book in her Scorpius Syndrome series. I adore dystopian romance. This is one of my favorite dystopian series and I hope she can keep it going. I’m still reading rather slowly, but I’m fine reading at a slow steady pace rather than not reading at all.

Holly: I didn’t have a lot of reading time this week. I did a re-read of One Fell Sweep (Ilona Andrews is currently writing Maud’s novella..it’s going up weekly as a serial on the blog. Y’all. Maud!), mostly because Rowena was reading it and I wanted to catch up. Then I read Rough Ride by Kristen Ashley, a Chaos novella featuring Rosalie (she was Shy’s girl for a minute in Own the Wind) and Snapper. I really liked Snapper, but the novella was just eh IMO.

I’m still reading The Darkling Bride. It isn’t the book, I just haven’t had time. I’m also reading Lake Silence by Anne Bishop (I’m still sad we left Lakeside, but I’m loving it!) and listening to Saving Grace by Julie Garwood.

Rowena: It was a slow reading week for me. I had a lot going on at work and then at home that reading took a back seat. I read Living Out Loud by Staci Hart and that book was…I’m not sure. It took me a lot longer to read what should have been a quick read because the heroine, the very young heroine got on my nerves. After that, I quickly jumped into One Fell Sweep by Ilona Andrews and freaking loved the hell out of that book so now I’m back on my review pile and will be starting On Hart’s Boardwalk by Samantha Young and What a Difference a Duke Makes by Lenora Bell.

Giveaway Alert

We are very fortunate here at Book Binge. We have loads and loads of books to read and we want to share the wealth so each week, we’ll be tacking on a Freebie Friday giveaway to our What Are You Reading posts. This week, we’re giving away…

What Are You Reading? (+ Historical Giveaway)The Girl with the Make-Believe Husband (Rokesbys, #2) by Julia Quinn
Series: Rokesbys Series #2
Also in this series: Because of Miss Bridgerton, The Girl with the Make Believe Husband
Published by Harper Collins, Avon
Publication Date: May 30th 2017
Genres: Historical Romance
Pages: 384
Buy on Amazon | Barnes & Noble
Goodreads


While you were sleeping...

With her brother Thomas injured on the battlefront in the Colonies, orphaned Cecilia Harcourt has two unbearable choices: move in with a maiden aunt or marry a scheming cousin. Instead, she chooses option three and travels across the Atlantic, determined to nurse her brother back to health. But after a week of searching, she finds not her brother but his best friend, the handsome officer Edward Rokesby. He's unconscious and in desperate need of her care, and Cecilia vows that she will save this soldier's life, even if staying by his side means telling one little lie...


I told everyone I was your wife

When Edward comes to, he's more than a little confused. The blow to his head knocked out six months of his memory, but surely he would recall getting married. He knows who Cecilia Harcourt is—even if he does not recall her face—and with everyone calling her his wife, he decides it must be true, even though he'd always assumed he'd marry his neighbor back in England.


If only it were true...

Cecilia risks her entire future by giving herself—completely—to the man she loves. But when the truth comes out, Edward may have a few surprises of his own for the new Mrs. Rokesby.

a Rafflecopter giveaway

What are you reading this week? Any new favorites or books that drove you crazy? Share!


Tagged: , , , ,

Guest Review: To Tame a Wolf by Joann Black

Posted February 19, 2018 by Tracy in Reviews | 0 Comments

Guest Review: To Tame a Wolf by Joann BlackReviewer: Tracy
To Tame a Wolf by Joann Black
Published by The Wild Rose Press
Publication Date: September 27th 2017
Genres: Historical Romance
Buy on Amazon | Barnes & Noble
Goodreads
four-stars

Summoned from her contemplative life in the abbey, Alexandra Ashford finds herself at the mercy of her malicious guardian, a cousin she fears and despises. He plans to force her to marry his crony and so forfeit her estate. Her only chance of escape is to trust the wounded man imprisoned by her cousin.

Taken captive and chained to his torturer's floor, clan laird Ian McGregor is left for dead after a brutal beating. He has little hope of escape. But when his enemy's betrothed offers him freedom and asks for his help, he realizes revenge could be sweet indeed.

Facing seemingly unbeatable odds to escape and reach the McGregor stronghold, their greatest challenge is fighting their growing attraction. How will Alexandra react when she realizes she’s the prisoner of the McGregor laird who considers her the “betrothed” of his enemy?

Alexandra wants nothing to do with her guardian and hopes to spend the rest of her life at the Abbey.  Unfortunately he calls for her and tells her that he plans to marry her off to a man who’s just as vile as her guardian.  She hatches a plan to get out of dodge.  She sets the man free who’s chained up in the main hall and asks him to take her to the McGregor clan, hoping that their laird will allow her sanctuary.  She has no idea that the man she frees is the laird and he become quite smitten with Alexandra.

This was a great little historical.  It was a quick read and just kind of hit in all of the right places for me.  Alexandra setting Ian free, their flight to freedom and everything that entailed and of course their attraction to each other.  The author did a fine job of giving us simmering tension between Ian and Alexandra, I loved it.

If you want a simple yet entertaining historical romance to read then this is the book for you.

Rating: 4 out of 5

I do have to say that the cover of the book is absolutely ridiculous.  Why in heaven’s name are they staring at his pec?  I just don’t get it!  You can see my thoughts on it here (and Holly’s too!).

four-stars


Tagged: , , , , , ,

Guest Review: Her Sister’s Bridegroom by Jane Bonander

Posted February 16, 2018 by Tracy in Reviews | 0 Comments

Guest Review: Her Sister’s Bridegroom by Jane BonanderReviewer: Tracy
Her Sister's Bridegroom by Jane Bonander
Published by Diversion Publishing
Publication Date: January 23rd 2018
Genres: Historical Romance
Pages: 250
Buy on Amazon | Barnes & Noble
Goodreads
three-stars

When Robbie Fleming is evicted from her Edinburgh rooming house, she fears she’ll have to live on the street. Penniless, orphaned, and on poor terms with her only relative―her fraternal twin sister, Birdie―Robbie has nobody to turn to.

But then she receives a letter from Gavin Eliot, the man she has pined for since she was a girl. Although Gavin (and every other male within miles) seemed head over heels in love with flirty and vivacious Birdie, his letter holds a surprise: He wants to marry Robbie. Thrilled by the proposal and her change of luck, Robbie accepts, landing on his doorstep with little more than the clothes on her back.

Bookish Gavin always has his head in the clouds. When Robbie shows up at his borderlands manor, he’s astonished―he realizes he’s unwittingly proposed to the wrong sister. But with Robbie in need of a home and Gavin in need of a wife, they come to an understanding. Will Robbie’s heart heal from the betrayal? And will Gavin learn to love the last woman he ever expected?

Robbie Fleming is living in a hovel, and about to be evicted, in Edinburgh when she gets a note from the boy she’s been in love with for 10 years. He asks her to marry him and sends money for the coach to get her to him.  When she shows up she’s so very happy and thrilled that Gavin has finally asked her to marry him.  She had always believed that he was in love with her fraternal twin sister, Birdie.

Unfortunately when unintentionally eavesdropping one night soon after her arrival she hears Gavin tell his friend that he wrote the note to the wrong sister.  He intended to write the note to Birdie but thought that her name was Robena (as in the bird: robin…birdie, get it?) But Birdie is a pet name for Roberta, her sister.  Robbie plans to leave but Gavin decides, after he hears that Birdie is married, that he will marry Robbie and make things work.

After they marry things are going along, not great but they’re going, when Birdie shows up.  Robbie believes that this could be the end of her marriage but Gavin surprises her in a big way. Unfortunately Birdie and her scheming ways haven’t lessened since she was young and she ends up pulling the biggest scheme ever – which might hurt Robbie the most.

A sweet story that I enjoyed reading.  My heart went out to poor Robbie.  She was always overshadowed by her sister and was so happy that she had finally gotten the attention of the man she loved.  She was devastated when she found out that he wanted Birdie instead but I thought she held up well.

The story revolves more around Gavin coming to terms with marrying Robbie and then dealing with Birdie’s scheme that hurts his wife.  I honestly wanted more romance in this book.  Yes, I thought that Robbie and Gavin fell in love but I still wanted the romantic aspect of that to be…more.

Birdie was a conniver and I didn’t like her at all, nor Gavin’s friend from the village who wanted him for herself.  He was a nice guy and apparently couldn’t see evil when it was right in front of his face.  He did redeem himself in the end of the book so that was good.

Overall it was a decent story but again, I needed more romance.

Rating: 3 out of 5

three-stars


Tagged: , , , , , ,

Guest Review: Merry Christmas, My Viscount by Emily Windsor

Posted February 14, 2018 by Tracy in Reviews | 0 Comments

Guest Review: Merry Christmas, My Viscount by Emily WindsorReviewer: Tracy
Merry Christmas, My Viscount (Rules of the Rogue #2) by Emily Windsor
Series: Rules of the Rogue #2
Published by Self-Published
Publication Date: November 27th 2017
Genres: Historical Romance
Buy on Amazon | Barnes & Noble
Goodreads
two-half-stars

Mrs Lily Mereworth’s List of Bold New Life Resolutions. To be completed by Christmas Eve, 1814.

• Burn Miss Pikesworth’s Guide to Etiquette – Achieved.
• Visit a gaming hell and win oneself lots of money – Achieved.
• Imbibe new-fangled absinthe – Preparations underway
• Seduce a rogue – ?

Attending a Christmastide gathering is surely the best way for the most proper widow Mrs Lily Mereworth to complete her list and banish her past. After all, there will be more than a few suitable gentlemen present.If only a shrewd, hazel-eyed viscount didn’t keep disrupting her plans…

Newly ennobled Viscount Asher Rainham has no schedule for seduction, Christmas or dallying with women. He has merely turned up for the good company, intelligent card playing and excellent brandy. But as snow swathes the land, a certain Mrs Mereworth confounds his expectations and assaults his methodical senses.Asher, spymaster, a man who never takes risks, finds himself in need of some Rules of the Rogue…

Ghost stories on a windy night, swordplay down the Great Portrait Gallery, snapdragon in the dark – a lady and a gentleman with no thought to love… Merry Christmas.

Lily Mereworth had been under her husband’s thumb for so long that when he died she decided she wanted to be the improper lady he never allowed her to be.  She makes a list of things she’d like to accomplish and as of the start of this book she’d checked off all but two of them.  The two that remained were to drink absinthe and to seduce a rogue.  She was inspecting the male guests at the Christmas house party she was attending to see if any of them caught her fancy enough to actually seduce.  The man who seemed the most likely candidate just didn’t do anything for her.  The one who did, Viscount Rainham, seemed like a man who would want more than one night – a relationship even. Lily wasn’t about to give up her independence just to have sex.

Asher Rainham is perplexed by Lily Mereworth. He can’t quite figure her out, but he likes what he sees after their rough start. The more time he spends with Lily the more he likes her and actually finds himself falling in love with her. She wants to bed him but doesn’t want a relationship.  Can she take the chance of losing her independence by going forward with her seduction plans?

Let me start by saying that I enjoyed the premise of this story.  I thought that Lily’s character was wonderful and I was pulling for her to become the independent woman she dreamed of being. Asher was a guy with a totally analytical mind who had little to no control over his mouth.  He liked to babble facts and luckily Lily enjoyed that fact about him.  I thought they were great together and was happy that they finally worked things out and got their HEA.

Unfortunately, what I didn’t like about this book was the writing.  I felt like the author tried too hard to impress the reader with words.  I know that sounds strange, this is a book after all, but I felt the story got lost in the over-use of a thesaurus. Or, sometimes, the non-use of the thesaurus. At one point it was written that the hero didn’t “waver or vacillate” which threw me as that just means that he doesn’t waver or waver.  It’s the same thing.  She also said he felt annoyance and exasperation – again, the same thing.  Then there were the times when she would use awkward words and I just felt like she was trying to impress me with her vocabulary.  Why use stingy, cheap, or even thrifty when you can use parsimonious?  Obviously I know the definition of these words, and didn’t find the book difficult to read, but that doesn’t mean that I want them used regularly (this was just one example).  They just don’t roll off the tongue – or the eyeball in this case.  Making use of common words doesn’t dumb down a book, imho, but in this case utilizing ones not normally used in conversation threw me out of the book time after time.  I found it frustrating, as well as highly amusing. Maybe I’m the only one who found this bothersome as there are quite a few high star reviews on this book on Goodreads, IDK.  I believe this is a book that you’d have to read and decide for yourself what you think.

Rating: 2.5 out of 5

Rules of the Rogue Series

two-half-stars


Tagged: , , , , , , ,

Joint Review: Beyond Scandal and Desire by Lorraine Heath

Posted February 12, 2018 by Rowena in Reviews | 7 Comments

Joint Review: Beyond Scandal and Desire by Lorraine HeathReviewer: Holly & Rowena
Beyond Scandal and Desire (Sins for All Seasons, #1) by Lorraine Heath
Series: Sins for All Seasons #1
Also in this series: Beyond Scandal and Desire
Published by Harper Collins, Avon
Publication Date: January 30th 2018
Genres: Historical Romance
Pages: 384
Buy on Amazon | Barnes & Noble
Goodreads
four-stars

At birth, Mick Trewlove, the illegitimate son of a duke, was handed over to a commoner. Despite his lowly upbringing, Mick has become a successful businessman, but all his wealth hasn’t satisfied his need for revenge against the man who still won’t acknowledge him. What else can Mick do but destroy the duke’s legitimate son—and woo the heir’s betrothed into his own unloving arms . . .

Orphaned and sheltered, Lady Aslyn Hastings longs for a bit of adventure. With her intended often preoccupied, Aslyn finds herself drawn to a darkly handsome entrepreneur who seems to understand her so well. Surely a lady of her station should avoid Mick Trewlove. If only he weren’t so irresistible . . .

As secrets are about to be exposed, Mick must decide if his plan for vengeance is worth risking what his heart truly desires.

Holly: I haven’t had a lot of reading time lately, but Rowena raved about this book and forced me to read it for this review. I’m glad I picked it up. I really enjoyed it.

What did you think?

Rowena: I really enjoyed this book. From Mick to Aslyn and everyone else, there was much to love. The revenge thing isn’t my favorite but in this book, I thought it was written well. Mick’s reasons, his feelings on the whole thing were understandable and I loved that he fell in love with Lady Aslyn in the process. The baby farming deal added more to the story to reel me in because I haven’t ever really read much about that kind of stuff in historical romances so Lorraine Heath hooked me with just about everything.

Holly: I tend to avoid revenge stories, because all too often the secrets and lies just make me angry. I really liked the way this one played out, though. Maybe because I really liked how Mick came to care for Lady Aslyn in spite of his plans.

Rowena: I really liked the way that the revenge plot was carried out. That whole thing brought a modern family twist to a historical romance that I quite enjoyed. I don’t know that I would have enjoyed it as much in a different kind of historical romance but for this one, I dug it.

Holly: The revenge plot really worked for me. I liked the turn it took and I appreciated the new twist on an old trope.

Rowena: What were your favorite things about this book?

Holly: I really liked Aslyn. She started out kind of timid, but she really came into her own. I like how she stood up for herself and, once she understood exactly what she wanted, refused to settle.

I also really liked how noble Mick was. He took care of his family and wanted to make the world a better place. He had his revenge plans, but he wasn’t just out for himself. He truly wanted to lift people up.

Rowena: I really liked that about Mick too. He cared about those that were left behind. The ones that couldn’t protect themselves, he stepped up and protected them. Took care of them and the loyalty he had from everyone around him was nice to witness.

Are you interested in reading Gillie’s (one of Mick’s sisters) book?

Holly: I’m not sure about Gillie. I didn’t really connect with her in this book, but we didn’t spend a lot of time with her, either. I am curious to see how her tomboy self does with a Duke as a suitor.

What did you think of Kip (Aslyn’s intended)? I wish we’d seen more about his struggle to recover. Maybe we’ll get a book for him later and that’s why we did, ‘t, but honestly that part of the book felt unfinished.

Rowena: I think the series will follow each of Mick’s siblings and Kip is going to be Fancy’s hero.

Holly: I think Kip will be Fancy’s (another of Mick’s sisters) hero, as well.

Rowena: Same. All around, this book just worked for me. From the romance to the characters to Mick’s family life and the background stories. There wasn’t anything that I wasn’t interested in. All in all, this was a solid romance and I can’t wait for Gillie’s book. I’m interested in seeing how a Duke falls in love with a female bar owner. I’m mighty curious about that.

I give this book a 4.25 out of 5, what about you?

Holly: I enjoyed the story. There were some questions left unanswered, but I’m sure they’ll be cleared up in time. I really liked the overall plot, the characters and the romance. I’ll definitely be reading more from this author in the future.

I, too, give it 4.25 out of 5.

Final Grades

Holly: 4.25 out of 5
Rowena: 4.25 out of 5

four-stars


Tagged: , , , , , , , ,