Genre: Historical Romance

What Are You Reading? (+ Karen Ranney Giveaway)

Posted August 16, 2019 by Holly in Features, Giveaways | 5 Comments

Casee: This has been an ah-maze-ing reading week for me. TBH, I don’t know what is going on.

I’m currently reading Blood Truth by J.R. Ward. This is a book in her Black Dagger Legacy series. They are the recruits that are in training. I really enjoy this series. I haven’t gotten that far into it, but what I have read I really liked.

I’m still glomming Meghan March on audio. I listened to four of her books this week. I’m now listening to Real Sexy by Meghan March which is the second book in her Real Dirty Duet. I’m not liking this Duet as much as the others I’ve read/listened to, but it’s still good.

Holly: I had another slow reading week. I tell ya, between work and kid stuff I barely have time to breathe, much less read. I’m hopeful someday I’ll get back to it. Thank goodness for audiobooks I can listen to in the car, at practices and at work. Otherwise, I’d have read nothing this week.

I reread a couple books; Mystery Man and Broken Dove by Kristen Ashley and Repeat by Kylie Scott. Aside from that I finished The Iron Duke by Meljean Brook (so good!) and listened to Good Girl by Lauren Layne (it was awful) and Hot as Puck by Lili Valente (I liked it).

I’m currently listening to Trade Me by Courtney Milan. I’m not quite halfway through but I’m enjoying it so far.

Rowena: I’ve been in training all week on a new position at work so I haven’t been reading much of anything. The only thing that I read this week was The Iron Duke (Iron Seas #1) by Meljean Brook and I really enjoyed that but other than that, I haven’t read anything.

I’m starting Coming Up Roses by Staci Hart and Water Bound by Christine Feehan, wish me luck on that.

Giveaway Alert

We are very fortunate here at Book Binge. We have loads and loads of books to read and we want to share the wealth so each week, we’ll be tacking on a Freebie Friday giveaway to our What Are You Reading posts. This week, we’re giving away…

What Are You Reading? (+ Karen Ranney Giveaway)To Love a Duchess by Karen Ranney
Series: All for Love #1
Publisher: Avon
Publication Date: July 31, 2018
Genres: Historical Romance
Pages: 372
Add It: Goodreads
Amazon | Barnes & Noble | The Ripped Bodice | Google Play Books

From New York Times Bestselling Author Karen Ranney comes the first book in a royally romantic and deeply emotional new series about taking risks and allowing the power to love satisfy the questions of the heart...

Undercover as a majordomo, spy Adam Drummond has infiltrated Marsley House with one purpose only—to plunder its mysteries and gather proof that the late Duke of Marsley was an unforgivable traitor to his country. At the same time, Adam is drawn to a more beguiling puzzle: the young and still-grieving duchess—a beauty with impenetrable secrets of her own. For Drummond, uncovering them without exposing his masquerade will require the most challenging and tender moves of his career.

That a servant can arouse such passion in her is too shocking for Suzanne Whitcomb, Duchess of Marsley, to consider. Yet nothing quickens her pulse like Drummond's touch. It's been two years since the duke lost his life in a tragic accident—and even longer since she's been treated like a woman. But when Drummond's real mission is revealed, and the truth behind Suzanne's grief comes to light, every secret conspired to tear them apart is nothing compared to the love that can hold them together.

What Are You Reading: To Love a Duchess by Karen Ranney

What are you reading this week? Any new favorites or books that drove you crazy? Share!


Tagged: , , , ,

Release Day Spotlight: The Wallflower Wager by Tessa Dare

Posted August 13, 2019 by Rowena in Promotions | 2 Comments

The third book in Tessa Dare’s Girl Meets Duke series releases today and we are so excited to share an excerpt from the book to get you all excited for a brand spankin’ new historical romance adventure. The Wallflower Wager promises all of the romantic entanglements that you’d expect from a heroine who loves and cares for all of the animals and a grumpy hero who needs her help to sell the house he’s flipping next door.

Release Day Spotlight: The Wallflower Wager by Tessa DareThe Wallflower Wager by Tessa Dare
Series: Girl Meets Duke #3
Also in this series: The Duchess Deal , The Duchess Deal, The Governess Game
Publisher: Harper Collins, Avon
Publication Date: August 13, 2019
Format: eARC
Source: Edelweiss
Point-of-View: Alternating Third
Cliffhanger: View Spoiler »
Genres: Historical Romance
Pages: 368
Add It: Goodreads
Amazon | Barnes & Noble | The Ripped Bodice | Google Play Books
Series Rating: five-stars

They call him the Duke of Ruin.

To an undaunted wallflower, he's just the beast next door.

Wealthy and ruthless, Gabriel Duke clawed his way from the lowliest slums to the pinnacle of high society—and now he wants to get even.

Loyal and passionate, Lady Penelope Campion never met a lost or wounded creature she wouldn’t take into her home and her heart.

When her imposing—and attractive—new neighbor demands she clear out the rescued animals, Penny sets him a challenge. She will part with her precious charges, if he can find them loving homes.

Done, Gabriel says. How hard can it be to find homes for a few kittens?

And a two-legged dog.

And a foul-mouthed parrot.

And a goat, an otter, a hedgehog . . .

Easier said than done, for a cold-blooded bastard who wouldn’t know a loving home from a workhouse. Soon he’s covered in cat hair, knee-deep in adorable, and bewitched by a shyly pretty spinster who defies his every attempt to resist. Now she’s set her mind and heart on saving him.

Not if he ruins her first.

NOTE: Content advisories are available for this book at http://tessadare.com/content-advisories/.

Penny and Gabe’s story is opening to some really great early praise and we couldn’t be more excited for everyone to grab their own copies of this book because it’s so good! Check out the excerpt below for a tiny glimpse into the awesomeness that is Lady Penelope Campion and Gabriel Duke.

Excerpt

She circled back, standing before him. “There now. Better?”

He gave a reluctant nod.

“Can you move your arm in all directions?”

He rolled his shoulder to prove it. “Yes.”

“What about your grip?

“My grip is strong.”

“Perhaps I should wrap the arm in a sling.”

“I do not need a sling.”

“Wait here. I’ll dash upstairs to fetch some linen and—”

“For the love of God, woman. My shoulder is fine.” He took her by the waist and lifted her straight off the floor, until they were eye to eye. “There. Believe me now?”

She nodded, wide-eyed.

“Good.”

In his hands, she was delicate, breakable. Her hair was a golden treasure he should never, ever touch. And oh, how he hungered for those soft, pink lips.

The familiar voice echoed in his ears.

Don’t touch, boy. She’s not for the likes of you.

Put. Her. Down.

But before Gabe could lower those beribboned pink slippers to the floor, she captured his sooty, sweaty face in her hands—

And kissed him on the lips.

About the Author

About Tessa Dare

Tessa Dare is the New York Times and USA Today bestselling author of fourteen historical romance novels and five novellas. Her books have won numerous accolades, including Romance Writers of America’s prestigious RITA® award (twice!) and the RT Book Reviews Seal of Excellence. Booklist magazine named her one of the “new stars of historical romance," and her books have been contracted for translation in more than a dozen languages.

A librarian by training and a booklover at heart, Tessa makes her home in Southern California, where she lives with her husband, their two children, and a trio of cosmic kitties.


Tagged: , , , , ,

Guest Review: Someone to Honor by Mary Balogh

Posted August 13, 2019 by Tracy in Reviews | 1 Comment

Guest Review: Someone to Honor by Mary BaloghReviewer: Tracy
Someone to Honor by Mary Balogh
Series: Westcott series #6
Also in this series: Someone to Love, Someone to Hold, Someone to Wed, Someone to Care
Publisher: Berkley
Publication Date: July 2, 2019
Format: eARC
Source: NetGalley
Point-of-View: Third
Genres: Historical Romance
Pages: 400
Add It: Goodreads
Amazon | Barnes & Noble | The Ripped Bodice | Google Play Books
two-half-stars
Series Rating: four-stars

Abigail Westcott's dreams for her future were lost when her father died and she discovered her parents were not legally married. But now, six years later, she enjoys the independence a life without expectation provides a wealthy single woman. Indeed, she's grown confident enough to scold the careless servant chopping wood outside without his shirt on in the proximity of ladies.

But the man is not a servant. He is Gilbert Bennington, the lieutenant colonel and superior officer who has escorted her wounded brother Harry home from the wars with Napoleon. He's come to help his friend and junior officer recover, and he doesn't take lightly to being condescended to - secretly because of his own humble beginnings.

If at first these two seem to embody what the other most despises, they will soon discover how wrong first impressions can be. For behind the appearance of the once grand lady and once humble man are two people who share an understanding of what true honor means, and how only with it can one find love.

Gil is an army man who helps his weak and injured friend, Harry Wescott, home he needs Abby Westcott, Harry’ sister, but isn’t really interested in Abby – he’s more focused on getting his daughter back.

While Gil was in the war, his wife had a baby. He then finds out that she had taken the child to her parents and left her there. The child’s mother then went off flitting from house party to house party and eventually her reckless attitude gets her killed. Gil wants nothing more than to get his daughter back, but the grandparents believe a bunch of lies that Gil’s wife had told about him, and they’ll do anything to keep the child from him.

Gil was born illegitimate. His mother was a washerwoman and his father was a noble. While they didn’t have a much, she always provided for Gil. His father wasn’t in the picture and Gil resents the man for making him and his mother live in poverty. Of course, as the book goes on, we find out that sometimes all is not as it seems.

Gil and Abby come together to get Gil’s daughter back but other than that I felt no real romance between the two of them. Gil was surly and contrary, and Abby was just kind of blah. I was actually bored through most of this book, which was a bit of a surprise since I’ve liked the previous Wescott books so much.

I was interested in the whole daughter issue, (it’s what kept me reading) but it ended up being anti-climactic. There was a lot of stress thinking how it was going to work out and it kind of had me on the edge of my seat. Then, of course, when they actually got to that point it was a bit of a letdown. I don’t know if I was expecting this big fight, or what, but it just wasn’t very exciting.

Balogh is a good author, but I think she really missed the mark on this one. I’m not sure if she wasn’t into the characters as much as previous books, or maybe she was trying to knock it out quickly, but it just didn’t work for me

Rating: 2.5/3 out of 5

two-half-stars


Tagged: , , , , , , , ,

What Are You Reading? (+ Manda Collins Giveaway)

Posted August 9, 2019 by Holly in Features, Giveaways | 12 Comments

Casee: I’m reading All of Me by A.L. Jackson. She’s a new-to-me author. I read the first book in her Confessions of the Heart series & really enjoyed it. All of Me is turning out to be even better.

I’m glomming Meghan March on audio. I listened to White Knight which is the second book in her Dirty Mafia Duet. I’m now listening to the Dirty Billionaire trilogy. I am really loving this author.

Holly: I didn’t read much this week. Things have been super crazy with back-to-school stuff and a major project I have going at work. I listened to Never Have I Ever by Lauren Blakely, which I adored, and read The Darkling Bride by Laura Andersen, which was just okay. I also read The Governess Affair by Courtney Milan, which is a prequel to The Duchess War, after Tracy browbeat me into it. I loved it. I’m glad she forced talked me into it.

I started both Marry Me by Jo Goodman and Hope’s Folly by Linnea Sinclair to finish out our Summer Reading Challenge, but I didn’t get far into either of them. I’m hoping to finish them both this weekend. I’m currently listening to The Iron Duke by Meljean Brook, and it’s just as fabulous as I remember. This is my first time listening to the audio. I’m enjoying the narrator.

Rowena: This week, I read The Wallflower Wager (Girl Meets Duke #3) by Tessa Dare and I adored it. Penny and Gabe’s story was another fabulous historical romance and I can’t wait for Nicola’s book. I also finished Never Have I Ever by Lauren Blakely and OMG, I freaking LOVED that one. I listened to that book with a giant grin on my face because I loved everything so much. That book gets so much love from me. I also read The Duchess in My Bed (Sins for All Seasons #4) by Lorraine Heath and that was another emotional journey for me. This is hands down, my favorite series from Lorraine Heath and I have enjoyed all of the books that I’ve read by her. Gah, so stinkin’ good.

Right now, I’m finishing up my listen of The Iron Duke (Iron Seas #1) by Meljean Brook and I’m really into it. So good. I’m also reading Coming Up Roses by Staci Hart for a buddy read with Ames. It’s still early days so I don’t know if I like it or hate it yet. I’ll tell you guys next week.

Giveaway Alert

We are very fortunate here at Book Binge. We have loads and loads of books to read and we want to share the wealth so each week, we’ll be tacking on a Freebie Friday giveaway to our What Are You Reading posts. This week, we’re giving away…

What Are You Reading? (+ Manda Collins Giveaway)One for the Rogue by Manda Collins
Series: Studies in Scandal #4
Publisher: St. Martin's Press
Publication Date: June 26, 2018
Format: Print
Genres: Historical Romance
Pages: 305
Add It: Goodreads
Amazon | Barnes & Noble | The Ripped Bodice | Google Play Books

LOVE IS THE GREATEST DISCOVERY OF ALL

Geologist Gemma Hastings has no interest in pursuing romance—and no patience for Lord Cameron Lisle, an esteemed fossil hunter who has a way of always honing in on her territory. . .annoyingly handsome though he may be. But when a shocking attack puts Gemma in very real danger, she may have to accept Lisle’s offers of protection. Even if that means entering into a dangerous flirtation. . .

Lisle was once amused by Gemma’s dedication to her work. But now that he understands how much he’s underestimated her—a woman whose beauty is matched only by her genius—Lisle is desperate to prove his respect…and prove himself worthy of her. But is he too late? A bitter rival, desperate to steal Gemma’s scientific findings, is still at-large. Can Lisle help uncover the culprit and keep her safe—forever, in his loving arms?

What Are You Reading: One for the Rogue by Manda Collins

What are you reading this week? Any new favorites or books that drove you crazy? Share!


Tagged: , , , ,

What Are You Reading? (+ Eloisa James Giveaway)

Posted August 2, 2019 by Holly in Features, Giveaways | 15 Comments

Casee: I am reading Diamond Fire by Ilona Andrews. I have no earthly idea why I waited so long to read it. I love the Hidden Legacy series. I’m really enjoying both Catalina and Arabella in this book. Especially Arabella. She’s hilarious.

I’m listening to More of You by A.L. Jackson. It’s my first book by this author. I’m not quite sure how I feel about the book yet. I’m almost finished with it, but my feelings are mixed.

Holly: I finished listening to Falling Into Bed with a Duke by Lorraine Heath and reading Long Shot by Kennedy Ryan. Then I read Long Shot by Kennedy Ryan for our Summer Reading Challenge, which kicked my ass (emotionally) and listened to Royally Yours by Emma Chase, which was a lovely read. Finally, I re-read Games of the Heart by Kristen Ashley.

That’s it for me for the week. I’m not sure what I’m going to read now. I need to read Hope’s Folly by Linnea Sinclair and Marry Me by Jo Goodman to finish out the Summer Reading Challenge, so I might try those next.

Rowena: This week was for book club so I had to loads of reading to do. I finished Count to Ten (Romantic Suspense #6) by Karen Rose and enjoyed how dark and scary it was. The romance was sweet and lightened the darkness of the killings and fires so I was a happy camper with that one. After that, I listened to Written in Red (The Others #1) by Anne Bishop for our Summer Reading Challenge and I read Brazen and the Beast (The Bareknuckle Bastards #2) by Sarah MacLean. I enjoyed Written in Red but not as much as I thought I would. The beginning was really slow to me but it picked up in the end so I wasn’t too unhappy with that. I freaking LOVED Brazen and the Beast. Sarah MacLean did her thing with that one and I’m super thirsty for the next book already.

Now, I’m reading The Wallflower Wager (Girl Meets Duke #3) by Tessa Dare and it’s still early days for that one but so far, it’s really good. I’m also listening to Never Have I Ever by Lauren Blakely.

Giveaway Alert

We are very fortunate here at Book Binge. We have loads and loads of books to read and we want to share the wealth so each week, we’ll be tacking on a Freebie Friday giveaway to our What Are You Reading posts. This week, we’re giving away…

What Are You Reading? (+ Eloisa James Giveaway)Born to Be Wilde by Eloisa James
Series: The Wildes of Lindow Castle #3
Also in this series: Wilde in Love, Too Wilde to Wed, Born to Be Wilde (The Wildes of Lindow Castle #3), Born to Be Wilde (The Wildes of Lindow Castle, #3)
Publisher: Avon
Publication Date: July 31, 2018
Genres: Historical Romance
Pages: 384
Add It: Goodreads
Amazon | Barnes & Noble | The Ripped Bodice | Google Play Books
Series Rating: four-stars

The richest bachelor in England plays matchmaker…for an heiress he wants for himself!

For beautiful, witty Lavinia Gray, there's only one thing worse than having to ask the appalling Parth Sterling to marry her: being turned down by him.

Now the richest bachelor in England, Parth is not about to marry a woman as reckless and fashion-obsessed as Lavinia; he's chosen a far more suitable bride.

But when he learns of Lavinia's desperate circumstances, he offers to find her a husband. Even better, he'll find her a prince.

As usual, there's no problem Parth can't fix. But the more time he spends with the beguiling Lavinia, the more he finds himself wondering…

Why does the woman who's completely wrong feel so right in his arms?

What Are You Reading: Order of Protection by Lexi Blake

What are you reading this week? Any new favorites or books that drove you crazy? Share!


Tagged: , , , ,