Genre: Historical Romance

What Are You Reading? (+ Historical Giveaway)

Posted April 20, 2018 by Casee in Features, Giveaways | 12 Comments

WAYR-New

Casee: I finished Winter Igniting by Rebecca Zanetti and I loved it. I didn’t think I would like it as much as I did because I didn’t really care for the heroine. She turned out to be much more likable than I thought. The two of them together were fire. I loved them.

I’m currently reading The Thief by J.R. Ward. I can’t quit this series and I’m not even going to pretend to try anymore. I’ve only sat down to read this once and I got through a chunk of it. I haven’t had time to read this week, but I’m am looking forward to finishing it this weekend. I’m really liking it, though V and Jane are destroying me.

Holly: I listened to Clean Sweep and One Fell Sweep by Ilona Andrews this week. I DNF’d Dragon’s Oath by Sophie Stern. I tried for weeks to read it, but the writing didn’t work for me and I couldn’t get past the ridiculous plot. I read and enjoyed Natural Mage by K.F. Breene, though not as much as the first book. I listened to The Hellion by Christi Caldwell. It was a pretty solid read, though I doubt I’ll re-read it. It’s the first book in the Wicked Wallflowers series, but it’s a spinoff of another series I didn’t read. I felt like I missed out on quite a bit by not reading the first series. I may read the next book when it comes out, though. I’m curious about the heroine.

Right now I’m finishing up Hour of Need by Melinda Leigh. I usually avoid Romantic Suspense like the plague, but this one intrigued me. The suspense plot is grating, but I’m enjoying it enough to set aside disbelief and finish it. I’m also still reading Ocean Light by Nalini Singh. I’m determined to finish it this weekend.

Rowena: It took me three days longer than I planned to finish Neanderthal Seeks Human by Penny Reid and that was in large part to me being annoyed with the heroine and putting the book down. In the end, I couldn’t connect with the heroine, the hero had too many secrets but the knitting group was awesome and I’m so stealing Sandra’s “You need to make like a shepherd and get the flock out of here” line. Hahaha.

I had every intention of jumping right into The Way You Make Me Feel by Maurene Goo but I got Hot Asset by Lauren Layne for review this week and…I stopped seeing anything but that. So as soon as I’m done with this one (which is so much fun so far), I’ll be going back to the Goo. I’m excited for this next week in books because I have loads of books that I’m so stoked to be reading. Rumor Has It by Jessica Lemmon, Making Up by Lucy Parker, Hooked on You by Kate Meader…see? So much goodness there and I can’t wait.

Happy reading, everyone!

Giveaway Alert

We are very fortunate here at Book Binge. We have loads and loads of books to read and we want to share the wealth so each week, we’ll be tacking on a Freebie Friday giveaway to our What Are You Reading posts. This week, we’re giving away…

What Are You Reading? (+ Historical Giveaway)The Rogue Is Back in Town by Anna Bennett
Series: The Wayward Wallflowers #3
Also in this series: My Brown-Eyed Earl, The Rogue Is Back in Town
Published by St. Martin's Press
Publication Date: January 2, 2018
Point-of-View: Third
Genres: Historical Romance
Pages: 352
Buy on Amazon | Barnes & Noble
Goodreads

Hide your daughters and your maiden aunts…Lord Samuel Travis is back.―The London Hearsay, special society edition

Equal parts scoundrel and seducer, he’s returned to London determined to mend the rift with his older brother. All Sam must do is take possession of a tumbledown town house. A seemingly simple task, except the house is occupied—by an infuriating, whip-smart beauty who refuses to do his bidding.

Miss Juliette Lacey’s wallflower days are over. She has a plan to turn her eccentric family into the toast of the ton—but the devilishly handsome rake trying to oust them from their home thwarts her at every turn. How can one man be so vexing and make her simmer with desire?

As her attraction to Sam deepens, Julie’s problems grow—she may have, once upon a time, secretly shared a kiss with his honorable older brother. Suddenly, Julie’s caught between a rogue and a marquess, between passion and respectability. Torn between two brothers, what’s a girl to do?

a Rafflecopter giveaway

What are you reading this week? Any new favorites or books that drove you crazy? Share!


Tagged: , , , ,

Guest Review: A Match Made in Bed by Cathy Maxwell

Posted April 20, 2018 by Tracy in Reviews | 0 Comments

Guest Review: A Match Made in Bed by Cathy MaxwellReviewer: Tracy
A Match Made in Bed (Spinster Heiresses #2) by Cathy Maxwell
Series: Spinster Heiresses #2
Also in this series: If Ever I Should Love You
Published by Avon
Publication Date: April 17th 2018
Point-of-View: Third Person
Genres: Historical Romance
Pages: 384
Buy on Amazon | Barnes & Noble
Goodreads
three-stars

Once upon a time there were three young ladies who, despite their fortunes, had been on the marriage mart a bit too long. They were known as “the Spinster Heiresses” . . .

Miss Cassandra Howell is too tall, too bookish, and too smart—but she does have money and a father who wants a grand title for her. Cassandra hasn’t felt a desire to marry until she meets the sinfully handsome Duke of Camberly, who captures her imagination . . . until Soren York, Earl of Dewsberry and her family’s sworn enemy, steps in the way.

The Holwells ruined Soren’s family, and he’s lived on the knife’s edge trying to resurrect their fortunes . . . until he considers marrying the Holwell Heiress. Not only would her dowry give him the funds he needs, he has secretly had an eye on the independent-minded bluestocking since they both first realized the differences between men and women.

She likes to read; he has no patience for books. She knows little of sex; he is a man of the world and willing to school her. Her family destroyed his; his offer of marriage may be her only salvation.

Now Cassandra and Soren must learn to love each other for who they are, not what they are—and the lessons are becoming an exercise in absolute pleasure.

Cassandra is a woman who will inherit a ton of money when she gets married.  Soren, the Earl of Dewsberry needs money so he thinks to marry her.  She doesn’t want to marry a fortune hunter, she wants to marry for love. On top of that, Soren and Cassandra’s families have been enemies for many years so there’s really no chance that her father will let her marry.

Though Cassandra says she doesn’t want to marry Soren she can’t help but be attracted to him.  Despite her thoughts on love she decides that maybe Soren is the man for her.  Unfortunately the life that the two plan together may be very different from the one they end up with.

This was a cute book.  It was a good story, but unfortunately I thought it lacked a certain spark between the H/h.  IDK, maybe it was because Cassandra nay-sayed Soren so often that I didn’t really see the connection between them when she finally capitulated.  Whatever it was it wasn’t good.  That’s not to say that I didn’t like the book.  It was a decent read and an entertaining way to spend an afternoon.

This also gave us a view into the Duke of Camberly, who Cassandra had had her eye one.  It’s pretty obvious that her friend and the Duke will have their book next but frankly I really didn’t like the guy.  He was not the type of man I want as a hero in a romance novel so I’m not at all sure I’ll be reading the next book in the series.

Spinster Heiresses Series

Rating: 3 out of 5

three-stars


Tagged: , , , , , , ,

Guest Review: A Lady’s Honor by A.S. Fenichel

Posted April 18, 2018 by Tracy in Reviews | 1 Comment

Guest Review: A Lady’s Honor by A.S. FenichelA Lady's Honor by A.S. Fenichel
Series: The Everton Domestic Society #1
Published by Lyrical Press
Publication Date: April 3rd 2018
Genres: Historical Romance
Buy on Amazon | Barnes & Noble
Goodreads
three-half-stars

Not every match is made at the marriage mart…

After a disastrous, short-lived engagement and years of caring for her ailing grandmother, Phoebe Hallsmith is resigned to spinsterhood. But if she must be unmarried, far better to be of use than languishing at home, disappointing her parents. As an employee of the Everton Domestic Society of London, Phoebe accepts a position at the country home of an old friend and discovers an estate—and a lord of the manor—in a state of complete chaos.

Losing himself in the bottle has done nothing to ease Markus Flammel’s grief over losing his wife. Not even his toddler daughter can bring him back from the brink. Now this fiery, strong-minded redhead has taken over his home, firing and hiring servants at will and arousing unexpected desire. As not one, but two, suitors suddenly vie for Phoebe’s hand, can Markus move past loss and fight for a future with the woman who has transformed his world?

Phoebe spent the years between age 18 and 23 in the Highlands with her grandmother.  She loved every minute of it and wouldn’t have changed a minute of the time she had with her Grand.  Of course those were her best “courting” years and now she’s considered on the shelf.  She was engaged in Scotland but the man broke it off stating that Phoebe was a “cold fish.”  When she returned home rather than try to find a husband she decides to continue helping people and takes a job at the Everton Domestic Society.  Her family is outraged and her oldest brother, a viscount and head of the family, disowns her.  She’s fine with that.

She is assigned to a job helping the Viscount of Devonrose get his house and family back in order.  Normally Everton ladies don’t take jobs that involve anyone they know but she is specifically requested.  She knows the family because she was very good friends with the now deceased Viscountess of Devonrose.  When she arrives at the country estate she realizes she has her work cut out for her.  When her friend Emma died in childbirth her husband, Markus, chose to kill himself with drinking. He was stuck in his grief and has been drinking practically non-stop for the past two years.  His daughter Elizabeth is being raised by what little staff hasn’t been fired when Markus goes into a temper.  The staff as well as Elizabeth is frightened of Markus and Phoebe isn’t having it.

When Phoebe arrives. Markus wants nothing more than for her to be gone.  He does promise her that he will stop drinking and the longer he goes without a drink he realizes the kind of man he’s become.  Instead of helping his grief, it was only worsening it.  He also realizes he had ignored his holdings and most importantly, his daughter.  He tries to put this to rights the damage he has done and in doing so he starts to notice Phoebe.  He doesn’t want to be he knows that what he’s feeling isn’t just gratitude for her help, but appreciation for the woman herself.  Though they both try to fight it they fall in love.  Unfortunately Phoebe’s circumstances and her brother’s meddling may keep them apart.

This was a cute story.  I really liked Phoebe and loved that she said whatever was on her mind (most of the time).  She was bossy, but the situation called for that.  I wish she had been a little bossier with her family – they were nuts.  Her brother Miles was fine but the rest?  Wow.  Just wow.

Markus was fine after he finally pulled himself out of the bottle.  He tried to make amends and was actually doing a bang-up job of it. Little Elizabeth needed her father and he was finally there for her in a big way.

The parts of the story I didn’t really care for had to do with Phoebe’s suitors.  Markus was having problems coming to terms with his feelings and his thoughts on how he could never love another woman that would replace Emma.  That didn’t make it any easier to see both his secretary and the man who had once jilted her come around to court her.  I think this part annoyed me because Phoebe was so straightforward with everything else and it almost felt like she was leading these two on instead of telling them to take a giant leap.  Yes, she said it a round about way but it bothered me that the author had her personality changing in those instances.  It just was consistent.

Despite my issues it was a good story and I’ll be looking to read more in this series in the future.

Rating: 3.5 out of 5

three-half-stars


Tagged: , , , , , , ,

Review: Duke of Sin by Elizabeth Hoyt

Posted April 16, 2018 by Holly in Reviews | 1 Comment

Review: Duke of Sin by Elizabeth HoytReviewer: Holly
Duke of Sin (Maiden Lane, #10) by Elizabeth Hoyt
Series: Maiden Lane #10
Also in this series: Wicked Intentions, Wicked Intentions, Lord of Darkness, Darling Beast, Dearest Rogue, Sweetest Scoundrel, Duke of Sin, Once Upon a Moonlit Night (Maiden Lane #10.5), Duke of Pleasure, Duke of Desire, Once Upon a Maiden Lane, Once Upon a Christmas Eve (Maiden Lane #12.6)
Published by Grand Central Publishing
Publication Date: May 31, 2016
Point-of-View: Third
Genres: Historical Romance
Pages: 338
Buy on Amazon | Barnes & Noble
Goodreads
four-stars

A MAN OF SIN

Devastatingly handsome. Vain. Unscrupulous. Valentine Napier, the Duke of Montgomery, is the man London whispers about in boudoirs and back alleys. A notorious rake and blackmailer, Montgomery has returned from exile, intent on seeking revenge on those who have wronged him. But what he finds in his own bedroom may lay waste to all his plans.

A WOMAN OF HONOR

Born a bastard, housekeeper Bridget Crumb is clever, bold, and fiercely loyal. When her aristocratic mother becomes the target of extortion, Bridget joins the Duke of Montgomery's household to search for the incriminating evidence-and uncovers something far more dangerous.

A SECRET THAT THREATENS TO DESTROY THEM BOTH

Astonished by the deceptively prim-and surprisingly witty-domestic spy in his chambers, Montgomery is intrigued. And try as she might, Bridget can't resist the slyly charming duke. Now as the two begin their treacherous game of cat and mouse, they soon realize that they both have secrets—and neither may be as nefarious—or as innocent—as they appear . . .

I was looking for an audiobook this week and decided on Duke of Sin. Confession: I read the first few Maiden Lane books, fell into a historical slump, and haven’t read one since. If I’d met Valentine, Duke of Montgomery before, I don’t recall. Nor do I remember any of the secondary characters in this book. So I feel safe in saying this can be read as a standalone. I didn’t feel lost at all. I do think I might have had stronger feelings for him had I read the previous books, however.

Val is definitely a Villain. He blackmails, murders, lies, schemes…and yet, I couldn’t hate him. From the very beginning he drew me in and made me want to know more about him. As the novel progresses and we learn more about his childhood and the events that shaped him into the man he is, my heart completely melted. It helped that Bridget is his perfect match. Though he’s a duke and she’s his housekeeper, there’s no doubt to the reader they’re on equal footing. He may have standing in society, but she has the moral high ground.

All in all this was a lovely read. I was shocked, entertained and delighted in turn. I remember Hoyt being a wonderful storyteller. Duke of Sin proves my memory was correct.

4.25 out of 5

Maiden Lane

four-stars


Tagged: , , , , , , ,

Guest Review: Marry in Scandal by Anne Gracie

Posted April 16, 2018 by Tracy in Reviews | 1 Comment

Guest Review: Marry in Scandal by Anne GracieReviewer: Tracy
Marry in Scandal by Anne Gracie
Series: Marriage of Convenience #2
Published by Berkley
Publication Date: April 3rd 2018
Genres: Historical Romance
Pages: 320
Buy on Amazon | Barnes & Noble
Goodreads
four-stars

Shy young heiress, Lady Lily Rutherford, is in no hurry to marry. She dreams of true love and a real courtship. But when disaster strikes, she finds herself facing a scandal-forced marriage to her rescuer, Edward Galbraith, a well known rake.

Despite his reputation Lily is drawn to the handsome Galbraith. In the gamble of her life, she agrees to marry him, hoping to turn a convenient marriage into a love match.

As heir to a title, Galbraith knows he must wed, so a convenient marriage suits him perfectly. But there is a darkness in his past, and secrets he refuses to share with his tender-hearted young bride. All Lily's efforts to get close to him fall on stony ground, and in desperation she retreats to his childhood home—the place he's avoided for nearly a decade.

Must Lily reconcile herself to a marriage without love? Or will Galbraith realize that this warm-hearted, loving girl is the key to healing the wounds of his past—and his heart?

Lily is an heiress and while a husband would be nice, she definitely wants to marry for love.  Her brother married for convenience, but that match turned into true love. After seeing love at work in her home, she definitely wants that for herself.  Unfortunately there are others who have something else in mind.  Lily is tricked into thinking her sister needs help and kidnapped by a man who only wants Lily for her money.  She manages to escape and is saved by Lord Galbraith, a friend of her brothers.  Despite all the machinations to keep Lily’s identity a secret it only took one person seeing her to ruin her reputation.

Galbraith is a rake (at least we are told he is, we see no evidence of this in the book) and as such, not the marrying kind.  He is, however, the heir to a title so he knows he must marry eventually.  When he realizes that Lily’s reputation has been compromised, although they did nothing but kiss, he offers for her.  Galbraith tries everything he can to keep away from Lily because her softness draws him like a bee to honey.  He can’t let himself get in deep with the woman as he has serious secrets and guilt from his past. He can’t keep himself away for too long, however.

I loved Lily in this book.  She was clever and smart and tough.  She put up with a whole hell of a lot in the first part of this book but she didn’t just sit back and let it happen. She saved herself and I was so proud of her!  Her father had made her think she was an idiot because she couldn’t read (I’m assuming dyslexia) and that had been carried with her throughout the years.  She had a good head on her shoulders.  When it came to Galbraith I was happy that she stood up for what she wanted (him) and didn’t let him get away.  I liked her strength of character.

Despite Galbraith supposedly being a rake he was actually quite a gentleman and honorable.  He helped Lily when she needed it and made every effort to protect her.  When he couldn’t he stepped up to the plate.  He had some issues that were worked out in the book and they played a part in the making of his personality, but they got smoothed out in the end.  He really was a good man and I liked him a lot.

Another great book from Anne Gracie!  I’m not sure how I missed the first book in this series when it released but I did.  Despite that I didn’t feel like I needed to read it in order to read this book.  There were a few times that events from the previous book were mentioned that I didn’t understand, but they were so minor I wasn’t worried I was missing anything.   Definitely a book I’d recommend.

Marriage of Convenience

Rating: 4 out of 5

four-stars


Tagged: , , , , , , ,