Genre: Erotica

Guest Review: Buck Naked by Evangeline Anderson

Posted April 6, 2017 by Tracy in Reviews | 1 Comment

Guest Review: Buck Naked by Evangeline AndersonReviewer: Tracy
Buck Naked by Evangeline Anderson
Series: Cougarville Series #1
Published by St. Martin's Press, Swerve
Publication Date: April 4th, 2017
Buy on Amazon | Barnes & Noble
Goodreads
three-half-stars

Sadie Becker is not herself. A 40-year-old, divorced mother of two, Sadie wakes up one morning and realizes that she looks and feels like she did in her twenties. Suddenly she’s unable to walk around in her new town of Cougarville without men falling at her feet. Confused and alone, Sadie isn’t sure who to turn to…except answers to her problems might reside with her broodingly handsome reclusive neighbor, Mathis.

An alpha shifter, Mathis lost the love of his life, and he knows he’ll never find another mate. But his innocent new neighbor clearly doesn’t know the danger she’s in, and he's the only one who can save her.

But when the attraction pulls too strong, will Mathis’ animal nature be unleashed and claim Sadie for his own?

Sadie wakes up on her 40th birthday, looks in the mirror, and can’t believe how she looks.  She looks about 20 years younger and she’s a bit freaked out by it.  She starting a new job so she has to get to town.  She’s just got divorced from her cheating husband and moved to a cabin in a town fondly called Cougarville by its residents.  Her mother left the cabin to her after she died but neither Sadie nor her twin, Samantha, knew anything about it.

Her first day in town doesn’t go exactly as she thought it would.  No one will serve her, they keep calling her “Juvie,” they act like she’s got leprosy and they keep kicking her out of her businesses.  Someone even slashes her tires!  When she ends up crying on her hot neighbor’s porch he eventually explains that everyone is calling her “Juvie” because she’s got a shifter gene in her that makes her someone who rejuvenates when they hit anywhere from 40-50 years old.  They are the only ones that can breed new shifters and they’re very rare.  Apparently her mother was one as well and now all the men want her and all the women hate her because they’re not a juvie as well.  Sadie is stunned by this news but soon handles it with aplomb – probably because she gets to get naked with her hot neighbor, Mathis.  Unfortunately the mayor of Cougarville, Liam Keller, wants Sadie for himself and he’s not afraid to play dirty to get her.

Buck Naked was a cute erotic PNR.  Anderson put a nice twist on the whole shifter/mating thing which made things a little more interesting.  What also made things different in this story was the fact that all of the shifters in Cougarville shifted into animals from the Paleolithic era (yes, the Stone Age).  We only got to read about Mathis’s Irish Elk and Keller’s cougar which was more like a saber-tooth tiger.  I’m sure there were other animals in town but I have no idea what they were.

Sadie was a sweet woman but was more than clueless when it came to the town.  I wouldn’t have put up with the town’s shit they were shoveling out but she just kind of ran instead of getting answers.  Mathis was great to her and I loved how he cared for her when she needed him.

Mathis was a good man.  He had been married before and loved his wife.  He has sworn to after she died that he would never take another mate and hadn’t been with a woman in 20 years.  He tried his best to stay away from Sadie but found himself falling in love with her.  It happened quickly but it was still cute.

Overall a good start to a paranormal series. Of course there is A LOT of sex in the story because it was an erotic romance.  Anderson always writes good sex scenes, that’s for sure.  If you want a quick, sexy read then grab this one.

Rating: 3.5 out of 5

Totally apart from the story…what is up with the guy on the cover of this book? I can’t stop laughing! Is that supposed to be a sexy smirk? Fail. He looks like he’s trying to get something out of his teeth. And his eyes…he’s not cross-eyed but the way he’s looking to the side certainly makes it look that way. Weird.

three-half-stars


Tagged: , , , , , , , , , , ,

Guest Review: Big Package by Opal Carew

Posted November 21, 2016 by Tracy in Reviews | 0 Comments

Guest Review: Big Package by Opal CarewReviewer: Tracy
Big Package by Opal Carew
Published by Swerve
Publication Date: October 25th 2016
Genres: Contemporary Romance
Buy on Amazon | Barnes & Noble
Goodreads
three-stars

Baby it’s cold outside…but things are about to heat up.

I missed the last bus to my sister’s for Christmas, and now I'm stranded in a bus station—in the middle of a blizzard—with a giant package covered in naughty wrapping paper.

Then he shows up: Kalen Welles, the football star from my high school fantasies—and offers me a ride.

Just when the car is getting cozy, the roads get shut down due to snow.
Luckily there’s a nearby cabin where we can hole up for the night.

A warm fireplace, cozy blankets, pent-up longing we both spent years ignoring… maybe I’ll be able to unwrap Kalen's big package before Christmas morning.

But when the snow clears and the ice melts, will the former football star and the shy nerd finally get a happy ending?

Holly broke up with her boyfriend a week before she’s supposed to go to her sister’s house for Christmas.  She thinks he’s being nice when he offers to drop her off at the bus station but then gets her there late and leaves her with a big Christmas package.  The bus driver won’t let her on and won’t stow it because there’s only 1 bag allowed.  She can’t leave it cuz the jerkwad told her that her grandmother’s necklace was inside.  She’s sitting there contemplating her options when a gorgeous man notices her.

Kalen’s on his way to Ottawa too and strangely enough she knows him from high school.  She was heavy in high school but had always had a crush on him.  They head off to Ottawa but the snow storm gets worse and the road gets closed.  Luckily her sister’s cabin isn’t far and they head there to spend the night.  One thing leads to another and soon they’re in bed together and Kalen has really big package for her. She’s intimidated but ready to roll.

Holly has some self-esteem issues so when Kalen says he’s always liked her but never asked her out she doubts him.  He wants to keep seeing her but there might be other obstacles in their way that keeps them apart.

This was a cute story that was pretty sexy.  I liked Kalen – he seemed like a good guy for the most part.  Holly was so very insecure it almost ruined the relationship a couple of times but she came through in the end.

The whole thing with the big Christmas package was funny.  Holly’s ex was a total ass and when she found out the contents of the box it was funny – not for her but for the reader.  Now, Kalen’s big package?  I didn’t care for that as much. I mean, he’s got a 12-inch penis that’s got a head like a billiard ball.  I know it’s supposed to be the whole play on words but it just got a little…old.  Maybe it was me but I didn’t find it erotic – just kind of annoying.

Anyway, in the end I found this to be a cute erotic Christmas novella.

Rating; 3 out of 5

three-stars


Tagged: , , , , , , ,

Guest Review: Enough by Jade Chandler

Posted July 21, 2016 by Tracy in Reviews | 0 Comments

Guest Review: Enough by Jade ChandlerReviewer: Tracy
Enough (Jericho Brotherhood #1) by Jade Chandler
Series: Jericho Brotherhood #1
Published by Carina Press
Publication Date: July 11th 2016
Genres: Contemporary Romance, Erotica
Buy on Amazon | Barnes & Noble
Goodreads
four-stars

She wanted nothing to do with me. Well, that’s too f*cking bad.

My MC brothers call me Dare for a reason. I never back down from a challenge. And Lila was the sweetest challenge I ever faced.

From the moment she walked into my tattoo shop, she was going to end up in my bed. Tied up, moaning my name and begging for more.

Her past was a nightmare and I couldn’t guarantee her a future. But I could promise her a good time.

I didn't know what we would turn into, let alone how hard it’d be to stay away after my selfish ass sent her packing.

Problem is, my girl is hot, so the same men I call brothers tried to claim her.

There’s not enough bourbon in the world to help me forget the love we shared. But to get her back, to prove she's more to me then a quick lay, I'll have to tell her the secret I've been hiding from everyone.

Before she’s gone forever.

Lila is a woman who has been hurt by many men.  First her father, who was once a loving, caring father, turned into an abusive asshole after Lila’s mother died.  Her sister had gone off to college so Lila was left just 12 years old with nowhere to turn.  She got out but it seemed like she couldn’t find a man who wouldn’t treat her like shit.  Oh, it all started off well enough but soon the men were trying to turn her into their version of Lila and she would lose herself.  Along with them changing her they were either physically or verbally abusive and would demean her at every turn.

Lila just left her last tattoo shop because she’d gotten involved with a co-worker and it didn’t end well.  She is excited to be working at Marked Man but doesn’t want anything to do with the Jericho Brotherhood, the MC that owns the shop.  Unfortunately for her she’s immediately attracted to Dare and has a hard time keeping her hands off of him.  When Dare suggests a sex only, no-strings-attached relationship Lila doesn’t go for it at first.  After she gets to know Dare a bit she feels she can keep herself separate because Dare will as well.  She decides to go for it.

Dare is a man who knows what he wants and what that is is Lila.  He calls her Red and loves her attitude and her sexy looks – really everything about her.  When he decides on the NSA relationship he has no doubt that it will be hot but he’s under no illusion that it will go anywhere because that’s not him.  Knowing that he jumps in with both feet.

Red and Dare burn up the pages as they have encounter after encounter together but as this happens we as the reader see that the pair is getting closer and closer.  When Dare freaks out after Lila heads to an emergency and doesn’t charge her phone to contact him they both know it’s time to call it quits.

This was a really good but yes, dark story.  When the author states that it’s a dark erotic romance she’s not kidding.  Dare and Lila burn so hot and so happy together you can’t possibly see them being apart but unfortunately all good things must come to an end. I didn’t like that part at all.  Not saying it wasn’t good but the couple spent a good portion of the book apart and that bothered me.  Yes, it was letting Lila grow and showing us snippets of Dare’s life, and how miserable he was during that time, but I felt it just went on for far too long.

Dare and Lila were both good people and I loved that they found what they needed in each other.  They were so different but once they were in bed they caught fire.  Dare had a penchant for tying Red up and she had a penchant for trying anything Dare wanted.  Her sex drive was insatiable.

Another thing I liked about the story were the secondary characters.  Without them this book would have been very short and fallen flat, imho.  Jericho, Rock, MJ, Zayn, Rachel, Glory and Avery all lent this story a bit of depth and showed us another part of life for our H/h.

Overall I felt this was a really good beginning to this series and a nice start to Jade Chandler’s publishing career.  Congrats on her debut – it was worth reading.

Rating: 3.75/4 out of 5

four-stars


Tagged: , , , , , , , , ,

Guest Review: Bunny and the Beast by Heather Rainier

Posted March 31, 2016 by Judith in Reviews | 0 Comments

Guest Review: Bunny and the Beast by Heather RainierReviewer: Judith
Bunny and the Beast by Heather Rainier
Series: Divine Creek Ranch #22
Also in this series: Brokenhearted Beauty
Published by Siren-BookStrand
Publication Date: September 22nd 2015
Genres: Erotica
Buy on Amazon | Barnes & Noble
Goodreads
five-stars

Hard-working, strong, and sassy, Bunny Carrigan desires a simple life, far away from the complications of the big city, posh houses, and materialism. She makes her own rules and has no time for pushy men in fancy suits or playing games.

Joseph Hazelle enjoys taking control and has very set ideas about what the ideal submissive looks and acts like. In fact, his ideas are so set they might as well be concrete. Vibrant and full of life, Bunny challenges Joseph's preconceived notions and she's determined that if she submits at all, it's going to be on her own terms. Accustomed to being the instructor, Joseph discovers that Bunny has claimed his lonely heart and has a thing or two to teach him. All he has to do is educate her about his world and convince her that she does indeed "do" submission. What could go wrong? ** A Siren Erotic Romance

[Siren Everlasting Classic: Erotic Consensual BDSM Romance, BDSM, sex toys, HEA]

This is the 22nd book in the Divine Creek Ranch series from this author and it is a series that I continue to read with great enjoyment.  Ms Rainier has managed to bring these characters alive as they interact with community citizens, partying, enjoying a night of dancing and fun at the Dancing Pony club, doing a little matchmaking on the side, and living life and loving on their own terms.

Readers met Bunny Carrigan and Joseph Hazale in the previous Lumberjack Weekend and these two knew then that their was an attraction that couldn’t and wouldn’t be ignored.  They each live a very different lifestyle, guided by very different rules and attitudes, and their personalities are seemingly at odds with each other.  Yet there is no denying that Bunny and Joseph are two individuals who will find a way together, even though their future relationship is iffy.

This is a book that contains very obvious erotic content as well as one that is based in the practice of BDSM.  In fact, Joseph owns a BDSM establishment and it is clear that he is locked into his understanding of the Dom/sub configuration that guides his interaction with the opposite sex.  Bunny is simply a hard-working young woman who has family responsibilities even though she has never been married.  She is open to a love relationship but she is never open to giving up her independence and her ability to call the shots for her life.  The idea of any kind of submission is simply foreign to her.  So where are these two going?  That is the question that drives this novel and it is fascinating to watch how their story unfolds.  Both are really good people but their alternate views of how men and women interact romantically and sexually is the sticking point between them.  Readers will find themselves deeply involved in watching Bunny teach Joseph some romantic realities that he never knew or has long forgotten while Joseph opens Bunny’s awareness to the many facets of BDSM that are healing and empowering.

I greatly enjoyed this story just as I have the 21 books that preceded it.  It is always fun to keep up with characters who have populated previous books and in the community of Divine, Texas, there is always something going on that keeps readers attached to that fictional town.  From the very beginning, Ms Rainier has written her books with the express goal of demonstrating that human love is magnificent and can be expressed in myriad ways.  The people in her books are good, ordinary, hard-working, life-loving persons and all of them are seeking to find love and acceptance.  Many of them find it in very unexpected ways and family configurations.  This book is a case in point.  Ms Rainier continues to grow in her writing expertise and yet there is always that sense of realism, of down home connection that all her books bring alive.  As always, it is a joy to experience her Divine, Texas people.

I give this book a rating of 5 out of 5.

five-stars


Tagged: , , , , , , , ,

Guest Review: Brokenhearted Beauty by Heather Rainier

Posted March 3, 2016 by Judith in Reviews | 1 Comment

Guest Review: Brokenhearted Beauty by Heather RainierReviewer: Judith
Brokenhearted Beauty by Heather Rainier
Series: Divine Creek Ranch #19
Also in this series: Bunny and the Beast
Published by Siren Publishing
Publication Date: October 29th 2014
Genres: Erotica
Buy on Amazon | Barnes & Noble
Goodreads
five-stars

Brokenhearted and grieving, Leah Woodworth's heart is filled with regret for never confessing her love to Patterson Elder. His loss haunts her dreams and she can't set eyes on his brothers, James and Vincent without seeing his face. Having denied her attraction to them until it was too late, how can they possibly still want her?

James and Vincent were sure Leah was the one from the moment they met her. Patterson had always shared that belief, taking every chance to convince her that she was meant to be theirs. With Patterson gone, James and Vincent are deep in their own mourning and at a loss as to why Leah avoids them. When she is offered an opportunity that may take her permanently out of Divine, they realize time has run out and seize what may be the last chance they have to make her theirs forever. ** A Siren Erotic Romance

[Siren Menage Everlasting: Erotic Cowboy Menage a Trois Romance, M/F/M, HEA]

This is the 19th book in the Divine Creek Ranch series and Ms Rainier has nailed it again!  This story is built on happenings just previous to it and is also an emotional commentary on what it means to lose someone that is greatly loved due to their own foolishness.  Thus Leah lost the man she had come to love when he died from head trauma in a motorcycle accident because he wasn’t wearing his helmet.  The ripple effect of that horrible loss for Leah is what drives this story.  It is emotional, sad, riveting, and will keep the reader engaged as the story unfolds.  One of the saddest outcomes of Patterson’s death is Leah’s belief that her relationship with his brothers is now also never going to happen.  This is indeed a menage love story but throughout the tale there is woven the whole reality of what it means to work through the grieving process and heal from the loss of someone who could have survived if they had simply taken the time to be careful.  The hopelessness of that is a clear ingredient in Leah’s story.

I cannot say enough about how Ms Rainier has grown and matured in her writing and story telling abilities.  She manages to put her readers on the front row looking into the lives and feelings of her characters while assuring us that what is taking place is happening to people who are ordinary folks who are experiencing love and acceptance in surprising ways and extraordinary configurations.  The phenomenon of polyamory is growing in the United States and is now spoken about freely by many.  It is certainly not legally accepted but as has been demonstrated in many novels, there are ways to work around the legal ramifications.  James and Vincent were totally on board with Leah being their woman collectively even before Patterson’s death.  They have never wavered in their belief that she is theirs.  But all is not smooth sailing for these three and their story will pull at readers’ hearts and their tear ducts as well.  The sensitive and caring way Ms Rainier tells their story and puts this context together is, in large part, why this story works and why all of us who really like this series keep coming back for more.

This story has been around for a while but it is worth reading and enjoying.  It you haven’t met the folks of Divine, Texas, you are in for a treat.  Like all good romance fiction, this book will entertain as well as feed the imagination.  It is a splendid entertain as well as feed the imagination.

I give it a rating of 5 out of 5.

five-stars


Tagged: , , , , , , , , ,