Genre: Erotica

Guest Review: Enough by Jade Chandler

Posted July 21, 2016 by Tracy in Reviews | 0 Comments

Guest Review: Enough by Jade ChandlerReviewer: Tracy
Enough by Jade Chandler
Series: Jericho Brotherhood #1
Published by Carina Press
Publication Date: July 11th 2016
Genres: Romance, Erotica, Contemporary, BDSM
Buy on Amazon | Barnes & Noble
Goodreads
four-stars

She wanted nothing to do with me. Well, that’s too f*cking bad.

My MC brothers call me Dare for a reason. I never back down from a challenge. And Lila was the sweetest challenge I ever faced.

From the moment she walked into my tattoo shop, she was going to end up in my bed. Tied up, moaning my name and begging for more.

Her past was a nightmare and I couldn’t guarantee her a future. But I could promise her a good time.

I didn't know what we would turn into, let alone how hard it’d be to stay away after my selfish ass sent her packing.

Problem is, my girl is hot, so the same men I call brothers tried to claim her.

There’s not enough bourbon in the world to help me forget the love we shared. But to get her back, to prove she's more to me then a quick lay, I'll have to tell her the secret I've been hiding from everyone.

Before she’s gone forever.

Lila is a woman who has been hurt by many men.  First her father, who was once a loving, caring father, turned into an abusive asshole after Lila’s mother died.  Her sister had gone off to college so Lila was left just 12 years old with nowhere to turn.  She got out but it seemed like she couldn’t find a man who wouldn’t treat her like shit.  Oh, it all started off well enough but soon the men were trying to turn her into their version of Lila and she would lose herself.  Along with them changing her they were either physically or verbally abusive and would demean her at every turn.

Lila just left her last tattoo shop because she’d gotten involved with a co-worker and it didn’t end well.  She is excited to be working at Marked Man but doesn’t want anything to do with the Jericho Brotherhood, the MC that owns the shop.  Unfortunately for her she’s immediately attracted to Dare and has a hard time keeping her hands off of him.  When Dare suggests a sex only, no-strings-attached relationship Lila doesn’t go for it at first.  After she gets to know Dare a bit she feels she can keep herself separate because Dare will as well.  She decides to go for it.

Dare is a man who knows what he wants and what that is is Lila.  He calls her Red and loves her attitude and her sexy looks – really everything about her.  When he decides on the NSA relationship he has no doubt that it will be hot but he’s under no illusion that it will go anywhere because that’s not him.  Knowing that he jumps in with both feet.

Red and Dare burn up the pages as they have encounter after encounter together but as this happens we as the reader see that the pair is getting closer and closer.  When Dare freaks out after Lila heads to an emergency and doesn’t charge her phone to contact him they both know it’s time to call it quits.

This was a really good but yes, dark story.  When the author states that it’s a dark erotic romance she’s not kidding.  Dare and Lila burn so hot and so happy together you can’t possibly see them being apart but unfortunately all good things must come to an end. I didn’t like that part at all.  Not saying it wasn’t good but the couple spent a good portion of the book apart and that bothered me.  Yes, it was letting Lila grow and showing us snippets of Dare’s life, and how miserable he was during that time, but I felt it just went on for far too long.

Dare and Lila were both good people and I loved that they found what they needed in each other.  They were so different but once they were in bed they caught fire.  Dare had a penchant for tying Red up and she had a penchant for trying anything Dare wanted.  Her sex drive was insatiable.

Another thing I liked about the story were the secondary characters.  Without them this book would have been very short and fallen flat, imho.  Jericho, Rock, MJ, Zayn, Rachel, Glory and Avery all lent this story a bit of depth and showed us another part of life for our H/h.

Overall I felt this was a really good beginning to this series and a nice start to Jade Chandler’s publishing career.  Congrats on her debut – it was worth reading.

Rating: 3.75/4 out of 5

four-stars

0 Comments
Tags: , , , , , , , , ,


Guest Review: Bunny and the Beast by Heather Rainier

Posted March 31, 2016 by Judith in Reviews | 0 Comments

Guest Review: Bunny and the Beast by Heather RainierReviewer: Judith
Bunny and the Beast by Heather Rainier
Series: Divine Creek Ranch #22
Also in this series: Brokenhearted Beauty
Published by Siren-BookStrand
Publication Date: September 22nd 2015
Genres: Romance, Erotica, Contemporary
Buy on Amazon | Barnes & Noble
Goodreads
five-stars

Hard-working, strong, and sassy, Bunny Carrigan desires a simple life, far away from the complications of the big city, posh houses, and materialism. She makes her own rules and has no time for pushy men in fancy suits or playing games.

Joseph Hazelle enjoys taking control and has very set ideas about what the ideal submissive looks and acts like. In fact, his ideas are so set they might as well be concrete. Vibrant and full of life, Bunny challenges Joseph's preconceived notions and she's determined that if she submits at all, it's going to be on her own terms. Accustomed to being the instructor, Joseph discovers that Bunny has claimed his lonely heart and has a thing or two to teach him. All he has to do is educate her about his world and convince her that she does indeed "do" submission. What could go wrong? ** A Siren Erotic Romance

[Siren Everlasting Classic: Erotic Consensual BDSM Romance, BDSM, sex toys, HEA]

This is the 22nd book in the Divine Creek Ranch series from this author and it is a series that I continue to read with great enjoyment.  Ms Rainier has managed to bring these characters alive as they interact with community citizens, partying, enjoying a night of dancing and fun at the Dancing Pony club, doing a little matchmaking on the side, and living life and loving on their own terms.

Readers met Bunny Carrigan and Joseph Hazale in the previous Lumberjack Weekend and these two knew then that their was an attraction that couldn’t and wouldn’t be ignored.  They each live a very different lifestyle, guided by very different rules and attitudes, and their personalities are seemingly at odds with each other.  Yet there is no denying that Bunny and Joseph are two individuals who will find a way together, even though their future relationship is iffy.

This is a book that contains very obvious erotic content as well as one that is based in the practice of BDSM.  In fact, Joseph owns a BDSM establishment and it is clear that he is locked into his understanding of the Dom/sub configuration that guides his interaction with the opposite sex.  Bunny is simply a hard-working young woman who has family responsibilities even though she has never been married.  She is open to a love relationship but she is never open to giving up her independence and her ability to call the shots for her life.  The idea of any kind of submission is simply foreign to her.  So where are these two going?  That is the question that drives this novel and it is fascinating to watch how their story unfolds.  Both are really good people but their alternate views of how men and women interact romantically and sexually is the sticking point between them.  Readers will find themselves deeply involved in watching Bunny teach Joseph some romantic realities that he never knew or has long forgotten while Joseph opens Bunny’s awareness to the many facets of BDSM that are healing and empowering.

I greatly enjoyed this story just as I have the 21 books that preceded it.  It is always fun to keep up with characters who have populated previous books and in the community of Divine, Texas, there is always something going on that keeps readers attached to that fictional town.  From the very beginning, Ms Rainier has written her books with the express goal of demonstrating that human love is magnificent and can be expressed in myriad ways.  The people in her books are good, ordinary, hard-working, life-loving persons and all of them are seeking to find love and acceptance.  Many of them find it in very unexpected ways and family configurations.  This book is a case in point.  Ms Rainier continues to grow in her writing expertise and yet there is always that sense of realism, of down home connection that all her books bring alive.  As always, it is a joy to experience her Divine, Texas people.

I give this book a rating of 5 out of 5.

five-stars

0 Comments
Tags: , , , , , , , ,


Guest Review: Brokenhearted Beauty by Heather Rainier

Posted March 3, 2016 by Judith in Reviews | 1 Comment

Guest Review: Brokenhearted Beauty by Heather RainierReviewer: Judith
Brokenhearted Beauty by Heather Rainier
Series: Divine Creek Ranch #19
Also in this series: Bunny and the Beast
Published by Siren Publishing
Publication Date: October 29th 2014
Genres: Erotica, Romance, Contemporary, m/f/m
Buy on Amazon | Barnes & Noble
Goodreads
five-stars

Brokenhearted and grieving, Leah Woodworth's heart is filled with regret for never confessing her love to Patterson Elder. His loss haunts her dreams and she can't set eyes on his brothers, James and Vincent without seeing his face. Having denied her attraction to them until it was too late, how can they possibly still want her?

James and Vincent were sure Leah was the one from the moment they met her. Patterson had always shared that belief, taking every chance to convince her that she was meant to be theirs. With Patterson gone, James and Vincent are deep in their own mourning and at a loss as to why Leah avoids them. When she is offered an opportunity that may take her permanently out of Divine, they realize time has run out and seize what may be the last chance they have to make her theirs forever. ** A Siren Erotic Romance

[Siren Menage Everlasting: Erotic Cowboy Menage a Trois Romance, M/F/M, HEA]

This is the 19th book in the Divine Creek Ranch series and Ms Rainier has nailed it again!  This story is built on happenings just previous to it and is also an emotional commentary on what it means to lose someone that is greatly loved due to their own foolishness.  Thus Leah lost the man she had come to love when he died from head trauma in a motorcycle accident because he wasn’t wearing his helmet.  The ripple effect of that horrible loss for Leah is what drives this story.  It is emotional, sad, riveting, and will keep the reader engaged as the story unfolds.  One of the saddest outcomes of Patterson’s death is Leah’s belief that her relationship with his brothers is now also never going to happen.  This is indeed a menage love story but throughout the tale there is woven the whole reality of what it means to work through the grieving process and heal from the loss of someone who could have survived if they had simply taken the time to be careful.  The hopelessness of that is a clear ingredient in Leah’s story.

I cannot say enough about how Ms Rainier has grown and matured in her writing and story telling abilities.  She manages to put her readers on the front row looking into the lives and feelings of her characters while assuring us that what is taking place is happening to people who are ordinary folks who are experiencing love and acceptance in surprising ways and extraordinary configurations.  The phenomenon of polyamory is growing in the United States and is now spoken about freely by many.  It is certainly not legally accepted but as has been demonstrated in many novels, there are ways to work around the legal ramifications.  James and Vincent were totally on board with Leah being their woman collectively even before Patterson’s death.  They have never wavered in their belief that she is theirs.  But all is not smooth sailing for these three and their story will pull at readers’ hearts and their tear ducts as well.  The sensitive and caring way Ms Rainier tells their story and puts this context together is, in large part, why this story works and why all of us who really like this series keep coming back for more.

This story has been around for a while but it is worth reading and enjoying.  It you haven’t met the folks of Divine, Texas, you are in for a treat.  Like all good romance fiction, this book will entertain as well as feed the imagination.  It is a splendid entertain as well as feed the imagination.

I give it a rating of 5 out of 5.

five-stars

1 Comment
Tags: , , , , , , , , ,


Review: Strings Attached by Stephanie Julian

Posted January 12, 2016 by Holly in Reviews | 0 Comments

Review: Strings Attached by Stephanie JulianStrings Attached by Stephanie Julian
Series: Baseline Sins #1
Published by Penguin
Publication Date: November 17th 2015
Genres: Fiction, Romance, Erotica, General, Contemporary
Pages: 183
Buy on Amazon | Barnes & Noble
Goodreads

The first novel in a steamy spin-off series from the national bestselling author of the Salon Games novels...
On the surface, Sebastian "Baz" Valenti is a rock god with the lifestyle to match. With his drop-dead gorgeous looks and his band, Baseline Sins, at the top of the charts, he can have any woman he wants. But the constant touring and recording has taken its toll. Now he’s turned to scoring films, a gig that has introduced him to the one woman he really wants but can’t have...
Trudeau Morrison is all business all the time. As the managing director of ManDown Films, it’s her job to keep Baz focused on business too. It’s not an easy task, considering Baz has made no secret of his desire for her. But Tru doesn’t want to get involved with a rock star, even if he is the hottest man she’s ever met.
Trouble is, once Baz gets an erotic taste of Tru, he’s not going to give her up. Now he just has to show her that rock-steady is nothing compared to rock and roll...
Praise for the Salon Games novels"An erotic romance that shines."—Romance Novel News
“Stephanie Julian know[s] how to write seriously hot, melt your e-reader sex scenes. I really think they’re some of the hottest I’ve ever read...really delicious, almost dreamlike ménage scenes. It’s an incredibly sensual, deeply seductive read.”—Sinfully Sexy Book Reviews

This is the first book in the Baseline Sins series, which features the members of the band Baseline Sins. It’s a spinoff of another series that I didn’t read. I feel like I missed out on quite a bit by not reading the first series.

There were a lot of continuity issues I had a hard time overlooking. I liked the basic feel of the story, but things kept coming out of nowhere and throwing me off. For example, there’s a sex club of some sort that’s introduced halfway through the book out of nowhere. Neither the hero or heroine indulge or visit it, so I’m not sure why it was included. I get the impression it was to tie this series to the previous one, which apparently features the club, but it made little sense in the context of this book.

That said, I did like the two main characters and how they connected. Tru made me laugh with her temper and insults, and I liked that Baz was struggling to come back to himself and that wasn’t glossed over or brushed aside. He’d had a rough year and needed to come to terms with his past actions and the way he’d disappointed the rest of the band. I enjoyed his renewed relationship with his best friend from the bad, though I wish that relationship had been explored further. There was clearly something between them, but it was glossed over.

The chemistry between the main characters and the personal journey of the hero kept me glued to the pages. Though I experienced some frustration and confusion having come to this series late in the game, I can’t deny I enjoyed it and look forward to more. I may read the original series to see if this one makes more sense after.

3 out of 5

0 Comments
Tags: , , , , , , ,


Review: Coming Back by Lauren Dane

Posted December 21, 2015 by Holly in Reviews | 4 Comments

Review: Coming Back by Lauren DaneReviewer: Holly
Coming Back by Lauren Dane
Series: Ink and Chrome #3
Also in this series: Coming Back, Falling Under
Published by Grand Central Publishing
Publication Date: December 8th 2015
Genres: Fiction, Romance, Contemporary, Erotica, Contemporary Women
Pages: 320
Buy on Amazon | Barnes & Noble
Goodreads
four-stars

The men of Twisted Steel are great with their hands.

And they're not afraid to get dirty.

Mick Roberts, the newest partner at Twisted Steel's custom hotrod and motorcycle shop, looks like a man with everything. But secretly he still craves the connection he lost when his best friend Adam and the love of his life Jessilynn walked out. Then, he wasn't ready for the pleasure they promised. Now, things have changed.

Rich, powerful, and insatiable, Adam Gulati is used to getting what he wants. And there's nothing he wants more than Mick and Jessi. He hasn't seen either in over a year, but the second he sets eyes on them again his memories-and his desires-can't be denied.

After trying to live without them, Jessi Franklin realized no one else can satisfy her like Adam and Mick. The three of them need one another-in more ways than one. It's time to stop pretending and submit to the hunger they all share. But once they go down this road, there's no turning back. As deeply devoted as they are, no one knows what great bliss their forbidden fantasy will find-or the price they may pay . . .

Jessi and Mick became best friends at the age of 5 when she saw him watching her birthday party through the window and drug him inside. They met Adam when they were in high school and the three formed an unshakable bond. Eventually they realized they felt more than friendship for one another and briefly tried a relationship. Mick, confused and conflicted because of his extremely conservative upbringing, fled after a short time, leaving anger and devastation behind. Adam began pulling away from Jessi until eventually he, too, moved on.

It’s been four years and all three have grown and changed. Jessi isn’t the woman she used to be, and both Adam and Mick have come into themselves and realized they gave up too much when they walked away from Jessi. When they all come together at the grand-opening of Twisted Steel’s new showroom, all three realize this is the time to fight for one another, not against.

In theory the idea of a permanent menage relationship is compelling, especially for a woman. Two dudes dedicating themselves to one girl’s pleasure? Oh yeah! Naturally the reality isn’t that simple. I like that Dane explores the complexity of the individual and group dynamics. Jessi was the common denominator and touchstone the first time they were together, but this time Mick and Adam realize they have to solidify their own relationship before they can commit to a future together. The outside criticism and society’s view of their relationship – especially their close family and friends – plays a large part in the conflict. The story is multi-faceted because the relationship is multi-faceted.

Jessi is a strong woman who knew what she wanted. She took the four years she spent away from her two best friends to find herself and come into her own, which allowed her to find definition away from them. Mick I loved from the previous books, and my feelings didn’t change. He was a strong, stand-up kind of guy who suffered from his past and was doing his best to move into a clean, happy future. That he had dark desires and a need to burn off tension in potentially negative ways didn’t detract form his overall character, since he found more positive ways to indulge with the help of Adam and Jessi.

Something I really loved was the deep and true friendship between all three. Mick and Jessi especially had a strong connection that came from a lifetime of knowing one another.

This is a sexy, sweet tale of love and acceptance. I stayed up most of the night to finish it.

3.75 out of 5

four-stars

4 Comments
Tags: , , , , , , ,