Genre: BDSM

Review: A View to Thrill by Lexi Blake

Posted April 10, 2017 by Casee in Reviews | 0 Comments

Review: A View to Thrill by Lexi BlakeReviewer: Casee
A View to a Thrill by Lexi Blake
Series: Masters and Mercenaries #7
Also in this series: Love and Let Die, Dungeon Royale

Publication Date: August 19th 2014
Genres: Contemporary, Romance, Romantic Suspense, BDSM
Pages: 394
Buy on Amazon | Barnes & Noble
Goodreads
four-stars

A Spy without a Country

Simon Weston grew up royal in a place where aristocracy still mattered. Serving Queen and country meant everything to him, until MI6 marked him as damaged goods and he left his home in disgrace. Ian Taggart showed him a better way to serve his fellow man and introduced him to Sanctum, a place to pursue his passion for Dominance and submission. Topping beautiful subs was a lovely distraction until he met Chelsea, and becoming her Master turned into Simon’s most important mission.

A Woman without Hope

Chelsea Dennis grew up a pawn to the Russian mob. Her father’s violent lessons taught her that monsters lurked inside every man and they should never be trusted. Hiding in the shadows, she became something that even the monsters would fear—an information broker who exposed their dirty secrets and toppled their empires. Everything changed when Simon Weston crossed her path. Valiant and faithful, he was everything she needed—and a risk she couldn’t afford to take.

A Force too Strong to Resist

When dark forces from her past threaten her newfound family at Sanctum, Chelsea must turn to Simon, the one man she can trust with her darkest secrets. Their only chance to survive lies in a mystery even Chelsea has been unable to solve. As they race to uncover the truth and stay one step ahead of the assassins on their heels, they will discover a love too powerful to deny. But to stop a killer, Simon just might have to sacrifice himself…
A Masters and Mercenaries Novel

I continue to love this series. Lexi Blake writes BDSM in a way that draws me in. It’s not over the top, not just about tying your lover up and spanking them. It’s about give and take, but mostly about giving. It’s really different from any other BDSM I’ve read.

I adored Simon. He was so British. So proper. Imagining him in the BDSM lifestyle was almost laughable. Just picturing him saying “bend over” with his accent made me laugh. Moving on…Simon has had a thing for Chelsea for quite some time. Unfortunately, she has quite a few hangups and can’t give Simon what he needs as a Dom. Simon has been made a fool of one too many times by Chelsea and in front of an audience. A man’s pride can only take so much before he gives up. That’s before she shows up on his doorstep asking for help.

When someone puts a bomb on her car, Chelsea doesn’t go to her sister. She goes to the only person that she trusts and that she knows will help her. He’s also the only man that has made her feel anything her entire adult life. Simon is everything she wants in a man, but her childhood has made her question everything about herself. She is self-conscious of her body, but Simon makes her feel beautiful.

Chelsea is known as the Information Broker. Someone wants to draw the Information Broker out and kill her. Simon is determined that is not going to happen. Chelsea has lived her entire adult life behind a keyboard and she feels powerful there. As she finds herself falling in love with Simon, she doesn’t know if she can give up being the Information Broker for him. Simon knows that Chelsea needs to feel needed and being the Information Broker gives her that. He also knows that it will eventually destroy her.

I didn’t like Chelsea at first, but she grew on me. She really ended up putting Simon first. In the previous books she was a real bitch. All she wanted to do was protect Simon in the end, no matter what the cost. She really came to love him and would do anything to be with him, including giving up what mattered most to her. Her character really turned around. Of course I loved Simon from beginning to end. The BIG MISUNDERSTANDING was annoying, but it was resolved quickly.

Rating: 4 out of 5.

four-stars


Tagged: , , , , , , , ,

Review: Dungeon Royale by Lexi Blake

Posted February 16, 2017 by Casee in Reviews | 2 Comments

Review: Dungeon Royale by Lexi BlakeReviewer: Casee
Dungeon Royale by Lexi Blake
Series: Masters and Mercenaries #6
Also in this series: Love and Let Die, A View to a Thrill

Publication Date: February 18th 2014
Genres: Contemporary, Romance, Romantic Suspense, BDSM
Buy on Amazon | Barnes & Noble
Goodreads
four-half-stars

Broken by betrayal, one woman holds the secret to his redemption…

An agent broken

MI6 agent Damon Knight prided himself on always being in control. His missions were executed with cold, calculating precision. His club, The Garden, was run with an equally ordered and detached decadence. But his perfect world was shattered by one bullet, fired from the gun of his former partner. That betrayal almost cost him his life and ruined his career. His handlers want him to retire, threatening to revoke his license to kill if he doesn’t drop his obsession with a shadowy organization called The Collective. To earn their trust, he has to prove himself on a unique assignment with an equally unusual partner.

A woman tempted

Penelope Cash has spent her whole life wanting more. More passion. More adventure. But duty has forced her to live a quiet life. Her only excitement is watching the agents of MI6 as they save England and the world. Despite her training, she’s only an analyst. The closest she is allowed to danger and intrigue is in her dreams, which are often filled with one Damon Knight. But everything changes when the woman assigned to pose as Damon’s submissive on his latest mission is incapacitated. Penny is suddenly faced with a decision. Stay in her safe little world or risk her life and her heart for Queen and country.

An enemy revealed

With the McKay-Taggart team at their side, Damon and Penny hunt an international terrorist across the great cities of Northern Europe. Playing the part of her Master, Damon begins to learn that under Penny’s mousy exterior is a passionate submissive, one who just might lay claim to his cold heart. But when Damon’s true enemy is brought out of the shadows, it might be Penny who pays the ultimate price.

Another hit on the books for Lexi Blake! By now I’ve read almost every book in Blake’s Masters and Mercenaries series. Dungeon Royale is my favorite of the bunch. I don’t know why exactly, but I’m going to take a leap and say it’s all Damon Knight.

So Damon was shot by his double agent partner at the end of Love and Let Die. It happened right after he realized that Baz was the leak and he was working for The Collective. He fully expected to die, but was found just in time. Damon feels defeated and betrayed when he thinks of Baz; he can’t believe his partner of ten years was not only a traitor, but that he also tried to kill him.

When Damon returns to SIS (MI6) seven months later, he is told by his superior that he will have to take a desk job. The bullet went into his lungs and they had to remove a part of one so he would live. Damon doesn’t know what he will do if he’s not in the field and convinces Nigel to give him a chance to prove himself. What seems like an easy peasy mission turns into something more when The Collective is involved.

Penelope Cash has worked at SIS for years. She’s watched Damon from afar, but never approached him nor does she intend to. Still dealing with the loss of her mother, Penny has shut down. When Nigel and Damon call her in and tell her she’s needed on the mission, she is hesitant. It’s a BDSM cruise and she is far from the kind of girl that would get into that lifestyle. Or so she thought.

Are there really BDSM cruises? I just have to ask.

Damon handpicked Penelope because she was the only one that appealed to him. He soon realizes how perfectly innocent she is. He also realizes that Penelope is far from vanilla, she just doesn’t know it. Damon takes it upon himself to teach her that submitting is nothing to be ashamed of.

The BDSM of this series is really good. It’s all about meeting the needs of your partner, not one partner dominating the other anywhere but the bedroom. Damon was so damaged when this book started. It was fun watching him fall for Penelope. I really loved Penelope too. There is only one person that can handle Damon and that’s her. She just has to show him that he deserves to be loved.

Rating: 4.5 out of 5.

four-half-stars


Tagged: , , , , , , ,

Review: Love and Let Die by Lexi Blake

Posted February 14, 2017 by Casee in Reviews | 0 Comments

Review: Love and Let Die by Lexi BlakeReviewer: Casee
Love and Let Die by Lexi Blake
Series: Masters and Mercenaries #5
Also in this series: Dungeon Royale, A View to a Thrill
Genres: Romance, Romantic Suspense, BDSM
Buy on Amazon | Barnes & Noble
Goodreads
four-stars

A Tragic Love Story

Charlotte Dennis's mission was clear: distract and misdirect CIA operative Ian Taggart by any means necessary. If she failed, she would never see her sister again. With her training, it should have been simple, but after one night in Ian's arms, she knew that saving her sister would mean losing the man of her dreams.

Ian was tracking a terrorist when he met the beautiful American daughter of a Russian mobster. His instincts told him Charlotte was trouble, but his body craved her like a drug and his heart would not be denied. She took his ring and his collar. For once he was truly happy. But as he closed in on his target, her betrayal cost him his mission while her sacrifice saved his life.

As she died in his arms, Ian vowed he would never love again.

A Dangerous Reunion

For five years, Charlotte has thought of nothing but returning to her husband, her Master. Working in the shadows, she has devoted herself to earning a chance to reclaim her place in Ian's life. But forgiveness isn't a part of Ian's vocabulary. Nothing is more important to Ian Taggart than his new mission. But the information he needs is firmly in the hands of the woman who betrayed him. To catch his most dangerous prey, Ian will have to let Charlotte back into his life.

As the hunt takes them to some of the world's most exotic locations, the danger grows and their passion reignites. Will Ian forgive his wayward submissive...or lose her again?

I picked up this book after I read Satisfaction. Ian Taggart was in the book and of course I had to read his book. I do have to say that I realized in the last several years, I’ve turned into a prude. I used to read BDSM, but I haven’t in quite sometime. When I read the blurb, it talked about Masters and collars and I knew I wouldn’t like it. What do I know? I loved this book!

When Charlotte Dennis shows up at his door, Ian Taggart can’t believe his eyes. After all, his wife died in his arms three years before. When she starts talking about why she betrayed him and almost got one of his friends killed, he is not unmoved. He loved his wife, but nothing she can say will make him take her back.

Charlotte had to protect her sister, Chelsea, from the Russian mob. When they were young, their mother was murdered by their father and taken back to Russia. Charlotte was forced to do anything her father asked, from assassinating someone to robbing banks…all so their father would leave Chelsea alone. To get herself and her sister away from Russia, she makes a deal with the devil. The last thing she expected was to fall in love with the man she was sent to distract.

Although he can never forgive her, Ian isn’t above using Charlotte. As for Charlotte, she will take Ian anyway she can get him as long as he loves her again. Together they track down the man responsible for sending Charlotte and Chelsea on the run.

The BDSM part didn’t bother me at all once I got through my initial prudish nature. It actually made the romance more romantic. Charlotte is an incredibly strong heroine. Reading about her submitting to Ian didn’t bother me at all. In fact it made the book better because she was so strong. I can’t recommend this book or this series enough.

Rating: 4.25 out of 5.

four-stars


Tagged: , , , , , , ,

Guest Review: Enough by Jade Chandler

Posted July 21, 2016 by Tracy in Reviews | 0 Comments

Guest Review: Enough by Jade ChandlerReviewer: Tracy
Enough by Jade Chandler
Series: Jericho Brotherhood #1
Published by Carina Press
Publication Date: July 11th 2016
Genres: Romance, Erotica, Contemporary, BDSM
Buy on Amazon | Barnes & Noble
Goodreads
four-stars

She wanted nothing to do with me. Well, that’s too f*cking bad.

My MC brothers call me Dare for a reason. I never back down from a challenge. And Lila was the sweetest challenge I ever faced.

From the moment she walked into my tattoo shop, she was going to end up in my bed. Tied up, moaning my name and begging for more.

Her past was a nightmare and I couldn’t guarantee her a future. But I could promise her a good time.

I didn't know what we would turn into, let alone how hard it’d be to stay away after my selfish ass sent her packing.

Problem is, my girl is hot, so the same men I call brothers tried to claim her.

There’s not enough bourbon in the world to help me forget the love we shared. But to get her back, to prove she's more to me then a quick lay, I'll have to tell her the secret I've been hiding from everyone.

Before she’s gone forever.

Lila is a woman who has been hurt by many men.  First her father, who was once a loving, caring father, turned into an abusive asshole after Lila’s mother died.  Her sister had gone off to college so Lila was left just 12 years old with nowhere to turn.  She got out but it seemed like she couldn’t find a man who wouldn’t treat her like shit.  Oh, it all started off well enough but soon the men were trying to turn her into their version of Lila and she would lose herself.  Along with them changing her they were either physically or verbally abusive and would demean her at every turn.

Lila just left her last tattoo shop because she’d gotten involved with a co-worker and it didn’t end well.  She is excited to be working at Marked Man but doesn’t want anything to do with the Jericho Brotherhood, the MC that owns the shop.  Unfortunately for her she’s immediately attracted to Dare and has a hard time keeping her hands off of him.  When Dare suggests a sex only, no-strings-attached relationship Lila doesn’t go for it at first.  After she gets to know Dare a bit she feels she can keep herself separate because Dare will as well.  She decides to go for it.

Dare is a man who knows what he wants and what that is is Lila.  He calls her Red and loves her attitude and her sexy looks – really everything about her.  When he decides on the NSA relationship he has no doubt that it will be hot but he’s under no illusion that it will go anywhere because that’s not him.  Knowing that he jumps in with both feet.

Red and Dare burn up the pages as they have encounter after encounter together but as this happens we as the reader see that the pair is getting closer and closer.  When Dare freaks out after Lila heads to an emergency and doesn’t charge her phone to contact him they both know it’s time to call it quits.

This was a really good but yes, dark story.  When the author states that it’s a dark erotic romance she’s not kidding.  Dare and Lila burn so hot and so happy together you can’t possibly see them being apart but unfortunately all good things must come to an end. I didn’t like that part at all.  Not saying it wasn’t good but the couple spent a good portion of the book apart and that bothered me.  Yes, it was letting Lila grow and showing us snippets of Dare’s life, and how miserable he was during that time, but I felt it just went on for far too long.

Dare and Lila were both good people and I loved that they found what they needed in each other.  They were so different but once they were in bed they caught fire.  Dare had a penchant for tying Red up and she had a penchant for trying anything Dare wanted.  Her sex drive was insatiable.

Another thing I liked about the story were the secondary characters.  Without them this book would have been very short and fallen flat, imho.  Jericho, Rock, MJ, Zayn, Rachel, Glory and Avery all lent this story a bit of depth and showed us another part of life for our H/h.

Overall I felt this was a really good beginning to this series and a nice start to Jade Chandler’s publishing career.  Congrats on her debut – it was worth reading.

Rating: 3.75/4 out of 5

four-stars


Tagged: , , , , , , , , ,

When All The World Sleeps Blog Tour with Lisa Henry & J.A. Rock + Review +Giveaway

Posted March 27, 2014 by Tracy in Reviews | 10 Comments

When All The World Sleeps Blog Tour with Lisa Henry & J.A. Rock + Review +GiveawayReviewer: Tracy
When All the World SleepsPublished by Riptide Publishing
Publication Date: March 24th 2014
Genres: Romance, Suspense, Gay, m/m, BDSM
Buy on Amazon | Barnes & Noble
Goodreads

Daniel Whitlock is terrified of going to sleep. And rightly so: he sleepwalks, with no awareness or memory of his actions. Including burning down Kenny Cooper's house — with Kenny inside it — after Kenny brutally beat him for being gay. Back in the tiny town of Logan after serving his prison sentence, Daniel isolates himself in a cabin in the woods and chains himself to his bed at night.
Like the rest of Logan, local cop Joe Belman doesn't believe Daniel's absurd defense. But when Bel saves Daniel from a retaliatory fire, he discovers that Daniel might not be what everyone thinks: killer, liar, tweaker, freak. Bel agrees to control Daniel at night — for the sake of the other townsfolk. Daniel's fascinating, but Bel's not going there.
Yet as he's drawn further into Daniel's dark world, Bel finds that he likes being in charge. And submitting to Bel gives Daniel the only peace he's ever known. But Daniel's demons won't leave him alone, and he'll need Bel's help to slay them once and for all — assuming Bel is willing to risk everything to stand by him.

Hi! We’re Lisa Henry and J.A. Rock, authors of When All the World Sleeps. We’re touring the web talking about our influences, our crazy ideas, this new book, and even giving you a sneak peek or two! And of course there’s a giveaway involved! Leave a comment to win!

Thanks so much to Tracy’s Place for having us, and to everyone following the tour. Here’s today’s look at When All the World Sleeps:

When we were writing When All the World Sleeps, we wanted to give Daniel Whitlock a past he couldn’t escape, so we made him a killer. Daniel is guilty, and guilt ridden, but there’s a big question mark hanging over his culpability: Daniel claims he was sleepwalking when he killed a man.

The law doesn’t always get it right, because there is a massive difference between the way the law is applied in courts and in actual justice. And you can take that any way you like. Either Daniel shouldn’t have gone to jail at all because he was sleepwalking when he burned down Kenny Cooper’s house with Kenny inside, or he should have rotted in there for the rest of his life because he took a life.

It wasn’t self-defence. Daniel was frightened of Kenny, and he was angry as well. He was holding a well-deserved grudge against the man who’d bashed him so bad it put him in the hospital. And wherever in his subconscious that Daniel buried his anger and his fear, one night it all boiled over while he was sleeping.

I think there’s one passage in the book that really sums up the reality of the situation where Bel, a cop, is talking to one of Daniel’s tormentors:

 

“The law is done with Whitlock. You oughta be done as well. And if you ain’t, then next time we talk it’ll be at the station. You understand me?”

Brock’s mouth tightened.

“You understand me?” Bel asked again.

“Yeah,” Brock said, scowling. “I got you loud and clear, Officer. Kenny’s dead, Whitlock’s walking around, and I gotta let it go. That’s the fucking law.”

“Yeah, that’s the law.”

Brock stared at him for a moment. “Ain’t no wonder people take it in their own hands then, is it?”

Yeah, Bel thought as he watched Brock slink away like a stray cat. Ain’t no wonder.

There were no winners here. Not Kenny, not Daniel, and not the law. They were all wanting, every one of them.

Nobody in the town of Logan trusts Daniel. He’s shunned and hated and feared. And Daniel doesn’t trust himself either. He’s afraid he’ll kill someone else. He’s so afraid of this that he makes some bad decisions. He thinks he can keep himself contained. Then he thinks he can trust some guy he met on the internet to do it for him.

Bel makes some bad decisions too. In his reactions to and interactions with Daniel, he echoes some of the prejudices and victim-blaming tendencies held by most of the town. He initially believes that gay men in Logan should stay closeted and that Daniel could have prevented his bashing by not hitting on Kenny. Yet he’s drawn to Daniel, and the better he gets to know him, the more he wants to help. Except Bel’s a cop, and in a small town like Logan being on Daniel Whitlock’s side means having the rest of the town turn against him. Bel can’t cure Daniel, and he can’t erase the past. Nobody can do that.

Daniel can’t escape his past. Neither can Bel. All they can do is try and figure out a way to live with it.

Contest

Thanks for following our tour! To celebrate our release, we’re giving away a great pair of prizes! Up for grabs is an ebook of our last co-release, Mark Cooper versus America, and a $20 gift voucher from Riptide. All you have to do is leave a comment on this post with a way for us to contact you, be it your email, your twitter, or a link to your facebook or goodreads account. Please put your email in the body of the comment, not just in email section of the comment form, because we won’t be able to see it otherwise! On APRIL 2, we’ll draw a winner from all eligible comments! Be sure to follow the whole tour, because the more comments you leave, the more chances you have to win this awesome prize!

 

Tracy’s review:
Daniel Whitlock has lived in Logan all his life and he was always known as the freak but when he got older the term changed…to murderer. You see, Daniel sleepwalks. Only, when he does it, he is more than functional and capable of holding a conversation but yet remembers none of it in the morning. It started when he was a kid but he never quite understood why it happened. During the course of the book we even see him thinking back to see if there were triggers but it didn’t matter if good or bad things happened during the day, he’d still sleepwalk and still do things – sometimes bad things.

So Daniel grows up and goes off to college and when he comes home he is beaten up by former high school friends who find out he’s gay. They beat him almost to death but Daniel tells the cops he can’t remember who it was. Everyone in town knew it was Kenny Cooper and his friends Clayton, RJ and Brock but no one is arrested. Months go by and then one night while sleepwalking Daniel wakes up, heads to the store for a candy bar, a soda and a lighter and sets Kenny’s house on fire – with Kenny in it .

That was three years ago. Kenny served 8 months in prison for the arson and murder and returned to Logan to finish his parole. He tries to be an upstanding citizen but everyone thinks he’s a murderer and a meth head because when he sleepwalks that’s the way he acts. No one believes that he was actually sleepwalking when he set the house on fire and thinks he just made it all up to get out of it.

Joe Belman was always attracted to Daniel – even back when he was in Jr. High school. Now Joe, or as he’s known in the book, Bel, is a cop and has his eye on Daniel again. He believes like everyone else that Daniel’s a liar and that he really knew full well that he was killing Kenny – until he saves Daniel from his house when it’s set on fire and he finds Daniel chained to his own bed.

Bel gets more interested in Daniel and he starts to volunteer to sit with Daniel while he sleeps so that Daniel doesn’t have to feel so fearful after the fire. As Bel gets to know Daniel he starts to see another person than the one he always thought he saw. Now Daniel’s not perfect by any means but he’s what Bel wants and Bel’s not gonna let anyone tell him he can’t have Daniel – no matter what.

When All The World Sleeps is a very emotional book. Daniel is thoroughly messed up because of his sleepwalking and believes he needs the pain of BDSM to exhaust himself enough to sleep. Now Bel does some light BDSM – super light – but even that seems to work for Daniel. Bel takes care of Daniel when he wakes in the night and keeps him under control and out of trouble. I have to say that I SO admired Bel. He was only 23 years old but had a great job, a house and seemed much older than he was. He wasn’t perfect either but he was kind and compassionate and his love was big enough to encompass all the baggage that Daniel came with and it was a shit ton, lemme tell ya.

Daniel I liked but wow was he an emotional roller coaster. He was up then down then wanting pain but not wanting it. It must have been so exhausting having to keep yourself up constantly for fear of what you would do when you were sleepwalking. I can’t imagine the fear he must have felt. If that fear’s not enough, he had Kenny’s friends threatening him constantly which only made his bouts of sleepwalking worse. It was a vicious cycle.

Did I love Daniel and Bel together? Yes, they were cute together, I must say, but it was definitely a different kind of love story. The book seemed to focus on the same issues – pain, exhaustion and dealing with it – and it did seem a bit repetitious at times. It was a very long book and felt at times that I was reading the same scene over again just worded differently and in a different setting. The same went for Clayton and his friends who never had anything new to say so it kind of got old.

Despite my issues with the story I really liked it. It was dark and angsty and sad because of Daniels constant dark inner thoughts and messed up mental state, but it was written well with compelling characters and a wonderful love theme. The book didn’t end with a twist and a ridiculously happy ending that made me wonder where the hell it came from. The story is REAL and gritty and definitely made me think for a long time after reading it and that’s always a good thing in my book.

Rating: 4 out of 5

You can read an excerpt and purchase When All the World Sleeps here. 

About the Authors

Lisa Henry lives in tropical North Queensland, Australia. She doesn’t know why, because she hates the heat, but suspects she’s too lazy to move. She spends half her time slaving away as a government minion, and the other half plotting her escape.

She attended university at sixteen, not because she was a child prodigy or anything, but because of a mix-up between international school systems early in life. She studied History and English, neither of them very thoroughly.

She shares her house with too many cats, a dog, a green tree frog that swims in the toilet, and as many possums as can break in every night. This is not how she imagined life as a grown-up.

You can visit Lisa her website, at Goodreads, or on Facebook or Twitter.

J.A. Rock has worked as a dog groomer, knife seller, haunted house zombie, standardized patient, cashier, census taker, state fair quilt hanger, and, for one less-than-magical evening, a server—and would much rather be writing about those jobs than doing them. J.A. lives mostly in West Virginia, and always with a beloved dog, Professor Anne.

You can visit J.A. at her website, her blog, or on Twitter or Facebook.


Tagged: , , , , , , , , , ,