Genre: Apocalyptic & Post-Apocalyptic

Retro Review: Beyond the Night by Joss Ware

Posted June 14, 2017 by Casee in Reviews | 6 Comments

Retro Review: Beyond the Night by Joss WareReviewer: Casee
Beyond the Night by Joss Ware
Series: Envy Chronicles #1
Published by HarperCollins Publishers
Publication Date: January 12th 2010
Genres: Romance, Apocalyptic & Post-Apocalyptic
Pages: 357
Buy on Amazon | Barnes & Noble
Goodreads
five-stars

A man with no future . . .When Dr. Elliott Drake wakes from a mysterious fifty-year sleep, the world as he knew it is gone. Cities are now desolate, and civilization is controlled by deadly immortals. Stranger still is Elliott's extraordinary new "gift"--he has the power to heal, but it comes with fatal consequences.A woman with a past . . .Jade barely escaped the immortals and is now hell-bent on revenge. She trusts no one . . . until Elliott. His piercing gaze and tempting touch shatter her defenses, but the handsome doctor seems to have dangerous secrets of his own. Is it safe to trust him with her heart?If they are to survive in this dark new world, Jade and Elliott must work together to fight the forces that take them beyond danger.Beyond desire.

*****As part of our 10 year anniversary celebration, we’ll be re-posting old reviews that make us cringe, laugh or sigh all over again.

This review was originally posted on March 2, 2010.


We’re only in the second month (now the third) of 2010 and I’m already sure that this book/series/author will be on at least one of my “Best of” lists. This book was phenomenal. It had shades of the movie I Am Legend, but with a happy (or as happy as it’s possible to be) ending. I’m not a big UF reader so I don’t know if Joss Ware is the first to rewrite the world like this. I do know that you MUST read this book. Even to my paranormal hating friends—you will love it too.

Dr. Elliott Drake went into a Sedona cave in 2010 and came out in 2060. The world as he knew it was gone. There are now zombie like monsters—gangas—that have an affinity for blond haired people. Entire towns seem to appear wiped out. Together with four of his friends, Elliott is trying to find Envy a settlement where they hope to get some answers. Like what the hell happened?

It is beyond culture shock when you are standing on what used to be a Las Vegas street and can see the Pacific Ocean. Elliott and his group have heard few names of survivors of what is called The Change. One of them is in Envy and Elliott is determined to talk to him so he can find out what the hell happened.

Not only is the world different, but Elliott is also different. A doctor in 2010, he now has a new ability that enables him to “scan” a person with his hands and know what their ailment is. Even more recent, he has discovered that he can actually take an injury into himself and transfer it to another person and/or living thing.

When Elliott meets Jade, he is transfixed by her. Born after The Change, Jade has lived a life that no person should have to. From Jade he learns about the Strangers, immortals that appear to have instituted The Change. Jade was held captive by the Strangers for years. She got away and her captor thinks that she died.

I did like the relationship between Jade and Elliott, but I was more into this new world. Joss Ware is an amazing writer. When she would write scenes of Elliott and Jade going through a deserted shopping mall, I felt like I imagined Elliott would. Sort of speechless. Kind of in awe just imagining the possibility. Also horrified to imagine what it would be like to go through something like that.

From the first page to the last, I had a hard time putting this book down. Pick it up…no excuses.

4.75 out of 5.

five-stars

Review: Shadow Falling by Rebecca Zanetti

Posted September 23, 2016 by Casee in Reviews | 0 Comments

Review: Shadow Falling by Rebecca ZanettiReviewer: Casee
Shadow Falling by Rebecca Zanetti
Series: The Scorpius Syndrome #2
Also in this series: Mercury Striking, Justice Ascending
Published by Zebra Books
Publication Date: August 30th 2016
Genres: Apocalyptic & Post-Apocalyptic, Dystopian, Romance
Pages: 400
Buy on Amazon | Barnes & Noble
Goodreads
four-stars

Before the Scorpius Syndrome tore through North America and nearly wiped out the population, Vivienne Kennedy was the FBI’s best profiler. The bacteria got her anyway. But she survived. She recovered. And when she woke up from a drug-nightmare of captivity, her skills as a hunter of men had gone from merely brilliant to full-on uncanny. Her mysterious rescuer wants her to put them to the test. But no matter how tempting he is, with his angel’s eyes and devil’s tongue, Vinnie knows she shouldn’t trust him.
If the FBI were still around they would rate Raze Shadow as one of the bad guys. His military training can’t wipe out his association with the Mercenaries, the most feared gang in a thousand miles. His loyalties are compromised. He won’t even tell Vinnie his real name. But there’s no FBI in the new America of fear and firepower, only instinct and risk.
And the way his arms wrap around Vinnie tells its own story. Whatever else Raze is concealing, he can’t hide his desire . . .

I am really loving this series. I love post-apocalyptic books. How would I be in a post-apocalypse world? How would you be? I think I would die in the first wave of deaths. Holly wouldn’t. I’ve seen the survival gear in her trunk. Maybe I wouldn’t. I would just need to find her car. Which would be hard considering we love several states away from each other.

Back to the review. I really enjoyed this book, but I liked Mercury Striking more. That’s where we are first introduced to Raze. He was as shady in that book as he is in his own book. When Vanguard goes to rescue Lynne from the Ripper President of the United States in Mercury Rising, Raze finds Vivienne Kennedy. Vinnie has been held prisoner by the President because he thinks she knows where the Bunker is. The Bunker is thought to have supplies and hold the cure for the Scorpius Syndrome. The problem is that Vinnie has no idea where the Bunker is. By the time she’s rescued, she’s been abused and drugged beyond imagining.

Raze is immediately drawn to Vinnie. She is vulnerable and his protective instincts immediately come to the forefront. It’s almost too bad for Vinnie that Raze is going to turn her over to the Mercenaries.

The next part of the review contains spoilers, so read on at your own risk…

View Spoiler »

Vinnie knows that Raze isn’t what he seems, but she can’t help but be attracted to his need to protect her. Feeling safe is a precious commodity in this new world and the only time she feels safe is when she is with Raze. Vinnie also knows that the drugs have done something to her brain, but Raze doesn’t seem concerned that she’s going crazy. Talking to her dead aunt is something that is of great concern to Vinnie, but Raze thinks nothing of it.

When Raze’s betrayal does come to life, Raze fights like hell to keep his place in Vanguard, keep the girl, and get his sister to safety. I would have respected him much more if he would have gone to Jax from the beginning, but he redeemed himself when he finally manned up and did it after View Spoiler ».

It’s official, I’m hooked on this series. I can’t wait until the next book comes out.

Rating: 4 out of 5.

four-stars

Guest Review: Mercury Striking by Rebecca Zanetti

Posted January 25, 2016 by Tracy in Reviews | 0 Comments

Guest Review: Mercury Striking by Rebecca ZanettiReviewer: Tracy
Mercury Striking by Rebecca Zanetti
Series: The Scorpius Syndrome #1
Also in this series: Shadow Falling, Justice Ascending
Published by Kensington, Zebra
Publication Date: January 26th 2016
Genres: Science Fiction, Apocalyptic & Post-Apocalyptic, Suspense, Fantasy
Buy on Amazon | Barnes & Noble
Goodreads
four-stars

With nothing but rumors to lead her, Lynne Harmony has trekked across a nightmare landscape to find one man—a mysterious, damaged legend who protects the weak and leads the strong. He’s more than muscle and firepower—and in post-plague L.A., he’s her only hope. As the one woman who could cure the disease, Lynne is the single most volatile—and vulnerable—creature in this new and ruthless world. But face to face with Jax Mercury…   Danger has never looked quite so delicious…

A bacterium has hit the world and people are dying right and left.  The doctors at the CDC try their hardest to find a cure or prevention so that they can save the lives of millions.  The bacterium creates a fever and then a coma – if the patient survives they could be ok or they could turn into what they call Rippers who are basically serial killers as the bacteria messes with the person’s ability to empathize with…anything.  America is not a safe place to be.

Jax Mercury survived the fever and still has his head on straight.  Lynn Harmony, a doctor from the CDC seeks his help in trying to find a hidden research facility in the LA area.  From the moment that Jax sees Lynn he’s attracted to her but he doesn’t exactly trust her.  She just walked into their area and sought refuge and he thinks there are hidden motivations.  She’s wanted by the government, supposedly because she’s highly infected with a new strain of bacteria, but that’s a lie told by her boyfriend to get her back.

Jax agrees let her stay because he wants the cure that she may be able to find but he doesn’t plan on falling for her like he does.  She certainly doesn’t plan on falling for him.  What starts out as just some sex to pass the time turns into so much more and it may the death of both of them.

I read Rebecca Zanetti’s Sin Brothers series and liked it a lot.  When I saw this one I knew that I had to snap it up because her writing and story-telling is always intriguing.  I wasn’t wrong.  This story was fast paced and definitely a different take on a post-apocalyptic world.

Jax was one tough man.  He had been a gang member and then entered the Army rather than go to prison.  He ended up being a man with principles and when the Scorpius bacteria hit he was one to help and protect others.  He was a nurturer at heat even though he wasn’t afraid to kill if necessary to save his people.  He was always thinking of others and I loved that about him.

Lynn was definitely a quiet woman but was incredibly smart and she wasn’t afraid to go for what she wanted.  She was targeted by her ex-boyfriend and lived in fear of him but she still powered on and traveled across the states to try and find a cure.  I loved her tenacity and her understanding of Jax and his true self was pretty cool.  The two of them together was incredibly hot and refreshing respite from the world that was falling apart around them.

I really liked this book!  I liked the main characters, the secondary characters and the whole premise and plot.  I’m curious about the character, Raze, as he’s such a mystery and can’t wait for the next book, which is his, to find out what’s up with that man.  If you like post-apocalyptic stories, or even if you like a good action story than this one is definitely one you won’t want to miss.

Rating: 4 out of 5

four-stars

Guest Review: Signal Boost by Alyssa Cole

Posted May 27, 2015 by Tracy in Reviews | 0 Comments

Guest Review: Signal Boost by Alyssa ColeSignal Boost by Alyssa Cole
Series: Off the Grid #2
Also in this series: Radio Silence, Mixed Signals
Published by Carina Press
Publication Date: May 4th 2015
Genres: m/m, New Adult, Science Fiction, Apocalyptic & Post-Apocalyptic
Buy on Amazon | Barnes & Noble
Goodreads
four-stars

When technology stopped working, the world as they knew it ended. In a secluded cabin, John and his loved ones have survived. He should feel grateful. But his family is in his face 24/7, he has to watch his best friend, Arden, and brother, Gabriel, flaunt their love, and as a techie in a Luddite world he's pretty much useless. The cabin is brimming with people, but he feels utterly alone. Until he catches Mr. Tall, Blond and Gorgeous raiding their garden. Mykhail is an astrophysics student, he makes John's gaydar ping like crazy and he thinks he knows what caused the devastation. He's on a journey to his university to find answers, and John invites himself along. Partly to get out of the house, and partly because he can't let Mykhail go without acting on the mutual attraction that's so obvious even John's mom is playing matchmaker. The closer they get to campus, the more Mykhail lets down his walls. But with answers come secrets both devastating and deadly, and before they can save the world, they'll have to save themselves.

Tracy’s review of Signal Boost (Off the Grid #2) by Alyssa Cole

In book one of the Off the Grid series we met John Seong. He’s a computer nerd who comes from a loud and loving Korean family. John and his best friend Arden had made their way to his parents house from New York after the what they considered the apocalypse and definitely hit some problems both along the way and once they arrived. Now life has pretty much fallen into a routine but John is feeling pretty useless. He feels like he should be doing more to figure out what happened to the electricity and how the world could get it back.

Mykhail is from the Ukraine and is an “almost” astrophysicist. He is caught by John when he attempts to steal some veggies from the Seong family garden. John is immediately attracted to Mykhail but Mykhail doesn’t always seem receptive. Mykhail states that he’s on his way to Burnell University to see his old mentor because if anyone has figured out how to get the electricity up and running again it’s his old mentor. John decides to travel with Mykhail as the man obviously gets lost a lot. Once on the road they start learning more about each other and John starts to fall in love. Mykhail, however much emotion he feels for John, keeps pushing him away but not for the reason that John thinks. When they eventually get to the University all is not what it seems and soon Mykhail and John are working even harder to get life back to normal.

The second book in the Off the Grid series was just as good as book one. I loved both Mykhail and John for completely different reasons and with them being so different it made a great case for opposites attract.

John was the type of person who knew what he wanted and went after it. He hadn’t always been like that but he’d learned that in the new world they lived in that the couldn’t afford to let opportunities pass him by. I really loved his sense of humor and most definitely his sense of honor. He was a wonderful person and I loved reading about him.

Mykhail was a strong character as well but he didn’t believe himself to be so. After the world had pretty much come to a standstill he had become a caregiver for those he loved but it hadn’t been enough to save everyone. He was hurt tremendously by his past actions and believed himself to be a dark and horrible person. He was perfect for John but couldn’t see that until John forced him to open his eyes about himself as well as accepting Mykhail for all of his past.

The story was very good and I really enjoyed reading about the men’s relationship as well as all of the details about the apocalypse. I’m not sure if there will be more in this series but I certainly hope so. Cole does a great job of world building and she makes me want to read more about the world she created.

Rating: 4 out of 5

This title is available from Carina Press. You can buy it here or here in e-format. This book was provided by the publisher in exchange for an honest review.

four-stars

Guest Review: Radio Silence by Alyssa Cole

Posted February 6, 2015 by Tracy in Reviews | 2 Comments

Guest Review: Radio Silence by Alyssa ColeReviewer: Tracy
Radio Silence by Alyssa Cole
Series: Off the Grid #1
Also in this series: Signal Boost, Mixed Signals
Published by Carina Press
Publication Date: February 2nd 2015
Genres: New Adult, Apocalyptic & Post-Apocalyptic
Buy on Amazon | Barnes & Noble
Goodreads
four-stars

No one expects the apocalypse. Arden Highmore was living your average postgrad life in Rochester, New York, when someone flipped the "off" switch on the world. No cell phones, no power, no running water—and no one knows why. All she and her roommate, John, know for sure is that they have to get out, stat. His family's cabin near the Canadian border seemed like the safest choice. It turns out isolation doesn't necessarily equal safety. When scavengers attack, it's John's ridiculously handsome brother, Gabriel, who comes to the rescue. He saves Arden's life, so he can't be all bad…but he's also a controlling jerk who treats her like an idiot. Now their parents are missing and it seems John, Gabriel, their kid sister, Maggie, and Arden are the only people left alive who aren't blood-thirsty maniacs. No one knows when—or if—the lights will come back on and, in the midst of all that, Arden and Gabriel are finding that there's a fine line indeed between love and hate. How long can they expect to last in this terrifying new world, be it together or apart?

Tracy’s review of Radio Silence (Off the Grid #1) by Alyssa Cole

Arden and her best friend John make the trek from Rochester, New York to his parents home/cabin 100 miles away near the Canadian border. They do this on foot as modern society has fallen by the wayside. There are no phones, no running water, no electricity and it’s a nightmare. They’re almost to the house when they get lost (Arden’s fault) and end up getting attacked. They are saved by John’s brother, Gabriel, who is none too nice to Arden after his brother is hurt.

They are all now at the parents home but the parents went missing a week before they got there. The story focuses on the relationships between John, Gabriel and their high school age sister, Maggie and how they all deal with the situation in their own way. John’s parents had owned a grocery store so they had plenty of food and happened to have a generator so they were set…for a while.

The story also follows the budding romance between Arden and Gabriel. While they didn’t get along at first they soon find they can’t stay away from each other and this is great for them – but ends up causing trouble in the household.

While this definitely isn’t a traditional romance it had a lot to recommend it. The writing was engaging and the author made the situations feel realistic (of course, as I’ve never been in an apocalypse I can’t speak from experience). I really enjoyed this New Adult story as a whole and I’m looking forward to the next in the series. It looks like it will be m/m as the excerpt in the back of RS was from John’s point of view and he’s gay so… yay! 🙂

Rating: 4 out of 5

This title is available from Carina Press. You can buy it here or here in e-format. This book was provided by the publisher in exchange for an honest review.

four-stars