Format: Print

What Are You Reading? (+ Catherine Anderson Giveaway)

Posted March 22, 2019 by Casee in Features, Giveaways | 5 Comments

Casee: I am currently in between books. I finished Ride Steady (Chaos #3) by Kristen Ashley yesterday and OMG you guys. Joker. Sigh. I know he’s absolutely going to be in my top five heroes of 2019. I adored him. I haven’t had time to start a new book since I finished it, but I plan to start Sweet Dreams (Colorado Mountain #2) by Kristen Ashley today. I love/hate Kristen Ashley. I’m not even questioning it (much) anymore. I’m binging her.

I’m listening to Getting Schooled (Getting Some #1) by Emma Chase. I love this book. It is hysterical! Garrett is so freaking funny. I love his inner dialogue. It’s all so perfect. I have zero complaints about this book thus far and I’m almost finished with it. I’m going to start listening to Magic Burns (Kate Daniels #2) by Ilona Andrews after I’m finished with Getting Schooled. I plan on listening to several audiobooks over the next week as I’m going on a road trip. I’m excited.

Holly: I finished Magic Bites and immediately started Magic Burns on audio. Then went right into Magic Strikes. Curse Casee and Rowena for starting me down this path. I plan to take a break after this to read some new books, though. I haven’t read anything new since I finished xo, Zach by Kendall Ryan (it was pretty bad, the heroine got on my nerves something fierce). I’ve just been re-reading. I finished Ride Steady by Kristen Ashley and read the Curran POV shorts and 2 KD novellas. That’s it. I need to dedicate some serious time to reading this weekend.

Rowena: I’ve been in Utah this week for a short getaway from my real life. I’m spending time with my nephew Caiden who turned 2 yesterday. I thought I would have read a lot more since I’ve had a lot of time on my hands this week but that didn’t happen. I chose to spend as much time as I could with Caiden so I only finished Next Year in Havana by Chanel Cleeton. I did start The Right Swipe (Modern Dating #1) by Alisha Rai. So far, it’s good so I’m hoping to finish it up this weekend. Wish me luck.

Giveaway Alert

We are very fortunate here at Book Binge. We have loads and loads of books to read and we want to share the wealth so each week, we’ll be tacking on a Freebie Friday giveaway to our What Are You Reading posts. This week, we’re giving away…

What Are You Reading? (+ Catherine Anderson Giveaway)The Christmas Room by Catherine Anderson
Publisher: Berkley
Publication Date: September 25, 2018
Format: Print
Point-of-View: Third
Genres: Contemporary Romance
Pages: 400
Add It: Goodreads
Amazon | Barnes & Noble | The Ripped Bodice | Google Play Books

From the New York Times bestselling author of the Mystic Creek series comes a standalone contemporary romance novel full of homespun holiday cheer--now in mass market!

Maddie McLendon hasn't had a new relationship since the loss of her beloved husband two years ago. Broken by grief and desperate for a new start, Maddie moves to Bitterroot Valley, Montana, with her adult son and her grandson. But despite the natural beauty of her new town, not every change in her life is a welcome one. Maddie's new next-door neighbor, Sam Conacher, used to be a pillar of the community, but he has driven old friends and new acquaintances away due to a recent heartbreak of his own. He seems to intrude on her life at every turn.

As Christmas draws closer, Sam's and Maddie's grown children begin to fall in love, but Maddie and Sam's interactions are punctuated by an increasingly bitter attitude. Under unexpected circumstances, the other townsfolk of Bitterroot Valley band together to show both Maddie and Sam that moving past their grief is possible, and burdens are lightened when you have someone else to depend on.

What Are You Reading: The Christmas Room

What are you reading this week? Any new favorites or books that drove you crazy? Share!


Tagged: , , , ,

What Are You Reading? (+ Stephanie Evanovich Giveaway)

Posted March 15, 2019 by Casee in Features, Giveaways | 6 Comments

Casee: I’m currently reading Ride Steady (Chaos #3) by Kristen Ashley. I skipped book two because I heard it wasn’t very good. These books are so bad, they’re good. I don’t understand it at all. It’s something that I continually try to work out in my head, but it just doesn’t compute to me. I’m just going with it. These books sure are entertaining.

I just started listening to Hunting Ground (Alpha & Omega #2) by Patricia Briggs this morning. I read Alpha and Omega (Alpha & Omega Prequel) and Cry Wolf (Alpha & Omega #1) during the Summer Reading Challenge. I enjoyed both of them, but I didn’t feel a pressing need to move on. Yesterday Holly asked if I had read the rest of the series then basically went off on me when I told her no told me I needed to. I’ve only listened to about thirty or so minutes of the book and I’m already engrossed. I have no earthly idea why it took me so long to pick this one up. (H: things would go much smoother for everyone if these girls just listened to me. Sigh.)

Holly: My reading is so slow lately! I’ve been really busy, so it’s taking me days to read books when normally I’d be able to finish them in hours. It’s driving me crazy. I might have to hide in my room all weekend and binge-read. Doesn’t that sound like heaven?

Anyway, I finished reading Overnight Sensation by Sarina Bowen, which I really enjoyed. I also finished Dane’s Storm by Mia Sheridan. It was a bit slow in parts, but overall I liked it. I read Lady Derring Takes a Lover by Julie Anne Long. It was AMAZING. I loved the heroine and the friendships she forms with other ladies and how she takes control of her life. I also loved the romance. Have I mentioned how glad I am JAL returned to historicals? Yes? Well, it bears repeating. After that I read Wild Irish by C.M. Seabrook, an Audible Romance Package find. I ended up downloading the ebook from Kindle Unlimited about 30% in because the narration was too slow. It was just okay. I liked the first half, but the trust issues and rapid resolution in the second half kind of ruined it.

I re-read Rock Chick Regret and Rock Chick Revolution by Kristen Ashley, just because. I’m currently re-reading Magic Bites by Ilona Andrews (currently $2.99 for Kindle) so I can discuss it with Casee and Rowena and listening to xo, Zach by Kendall Ryan. After that I’m not sure what I’ll read next.

Rowena: Yikes, I just realized that after I finished Magic Bites (Kate Daniels #1) by Ilona Andrews, I didn’t finish anything else. I finished Magic Bites earlier in the week. The beginning was really slow and seeing Kate investigate a murder in a world that I didn’t understand was hard to slog through but I’m glad that I did because I ended up enjoying the book, the further into it I got and I’m super excited for more books in this series. Right now, I’m reading Next Year in Havana by Chanel Cleeton for my monthly buddy read with Ames. I’m also listening to Getting Lucky Number Seven by Cindi Madsen. I’ve had Getting Lucky Number Seven on my TBR pile for ages and I’m finally reading it for my TBR Challenge read for this month. So far, I’m really enjoying it.

Giveaway Alert

We are very fortunate here at Book Binge. We have loads and loads of books to read and we want to share the wealth so each week, we’ll be tacking on a Freebie Friday giveaway to our What Are You Reading posts. This week, we’re giving away…

What Are You Reading? (+ Stephanie Evanovich Giveaway)The Total Package by Stephanie Evanovich
Publisher: Avon
Publication Date: March 15, 2016
Format: Print
Genres: Contemporary Romance
Pages: 256
Add It: Goodreads
Amazon | Barnes & Noble | The Ripped Bodice | Google Play Books

The New York Times bestselling author of Big Girl Panties and The Sweet Spot is back with a funny, sweet, and sizzling novel about the game of love, in which a hot quarterback must figure out how to score big with a beautiful and talented media analyst after a heartbreaking fumble.

Star quarterback, first-round draft-pick, and heartthrob Tyson Palmer has made a name for himself with his spectacular moves. When the head coach of the Austin Mavericks refuses to let him waste his million-dollar arm, Tyson makes a Hail Mary pass at redemption and succeeds with everyone . . . except Dani, whose negative comments about his performance draw high ratings and spectacular notices of her own.

Dani can’t forgive Tyson’s transgressions or forget the sizzling history the two of them shared in college, a passionate love Tyson casually threw away. And even more infuriating, he doesn’t realize that the bombshell with huge ratings is the cute girl whose heart he once broke.

But can a woman trying to claw her way to the top and a quarterback who knows all about rock bottom make it to the Super Bowl without destroying each other? And what will happen when Tyson—riding high now that he’s revived his career—realizes he needs to make an even more important comeback with Dani? Can he make some spectacular moves to get past her defenses—or will she sideline him for good?

What Are You Reading: The Total Package

What are you reading this week? Any new favorites or books that drove you crazy? Share!


Tagged: , , , ,

What Are You Reading? (+ Keiran Kramer Giveaway)

Posted March 8, 2019 by Casee in Features, Giveaways | 9 Comments

Casee: I am reading Shadow Warrior by Christine Feehan. It’s really good so far and may surpass Shadow Rider as my favorite book of the series. I think that this series may have also surpassed the GhostWalker series as my favorite of Feehan’s series. I’m hoping to finish it today.

I’m listening to Murder of Crows by Anne Bishop which is the second book in The Others series. Holy hell, but this series is amazing. Holly turned me onto it and I was a little hesitant because of the lack of romance. The thing is, there is romance, just not in the way I’m used to. The world that surrounds this series is simply amazing and instantly drew me in. The narrator is phenomenal, possibly one of the best I’ve listened to. I can’t want to get further into the series.

Holly: I had another slow reading week. I don’t know what my problem is, but I can’t seem to focus on reading for very long right now. Let’s hope I get over this soon. I read Wolf Rain by Nalini Singh. It was so good! I also did a re-read of Own the Wind by Kristen Ashley so I can review it with Casee. I started listening to Dane’s Storm by Mia Sheridan on audio, but I didn’t care for the narrators so I downloaded the ebook instead. I’m looking forward to reading it.

I’m currently reading Overnight Sensation by Sarina Bowen. I tried listening to the audio, but the narrators didn’t work for me at all. So far I’m enjoying the story. I’m listening to Matchmacking for Beginners by Maddie Dawson (the Audiobook is currently $1.99 at Amazon!).

Rowena: I got some books read this week and I’m going to count that as a win because my reading has been really slow to start this year. I read Overnight Sensation by Sarina Bowen for my buddy read with Holly and I loved it. Sarina Bowen just keeps writing these winners and I’m going to continue to read them all. After that, I jumped into Team Player by Julianna Keyes since it’s due for review soon and it’s got a baseball player hero so I was all over that one. I really enjoyed it too. I can’t wait for baseball to come back!

Right after I finished Team Player, I jumped into Magic Bites by Ilona Andrews cause that’s our feature review book of the month and I’m so stinkin’ happy to finally start the Kate Daniels series. Ilona Andrews has taken such good care of me in all the other books I’ve read by them that I’m stoked to finally be digging into this one. So yeah, that’s what I’m reading. After I finish that one, my plan is to read You’d be Mine by Erin Hahn. We’ll see how that goes.

Giveaway Alert

We are very fortunate here at Book Binge. We have loads and loads of books to read and we want to share the wealth so each week, we’ll be tacking on a Freebie Friday giveaway to our What Are You Reading posts. This week, we’re giving away…

What Are You Reading? (+ Keiran Kramer Giveaway)A Wedding at Two Love Lane (Two Love Lane #2) by Kieran Kramer
Series: Two Love Lane #2
Publisher: St. Martin's Press
Publication Date: January 2, 2018
Format: Print
Genres: Contemporary Romance
Pages: 340
Add It: Goodreads
Amazon | Barnes & Noble | The Ripped Bodice | Google Play Books

Never say never when it comes to love.

Greer Jones has made a real name for herself at the elegant matchmaking agency Two Love Lane. For a lot of reasons -- including a past engagement she broke off -- practical tech expert Greer is more interested in the business of love than the experience of it, but she can't help but covet a gorgeous wedding gown that's the prize in an upcoming cocktail-party contest. In a moment of brazen inspiration, Greer asks a handsome Brit she's only just met to accompany her to the party. He agrees -- and Greer believes her date is a starving artist. Little does she know the truth...

Ford Smith, as he calls himself, is actually Stanford Elliott Wentworth Smythe, the Eighth Baron of Wickshire. Fresh off a breakup with a money-grubbing siren who deceived him all the way to the altar, Ford has no desire to fall in love -- especially with Greer who, like the desired wedding gown, is beautiful but only skin-deep. But soon Ford realizes that there's more to Greer than meets the eye. Her professionalism is matched only by her passion for life and love... and, best of all, she has no idea that he's to the manor born. Could it be that true love is priceless after all?

What Are You Reading: A Wedding at Two Love Lane

What are you reading this week? Any new favorites or books that drove you crazy? Share!


Tagged: , , , ,

What Are You Reading? (+ Jessie Mihalik Giveaway)

Posted March 1, 2019 by Casee in Features, Giveaways | 14 Comments

Casee: I’m reading Own the Wind by Kristen Ashley. I’m about 20% into it. I actually set it aside the day before yesterday and started Shadow Warrior by Christine Feehan, intending to go back to it. However, someone didn’t like that so I went back to it. I’m traveling today so I’m hoping to finish it.

I am listening to Written in Red by Anne Bishop. It started out really slow, but it has picked up and I am really loving it. It’s not really a romance, though it has romantic elements to it. Usually that would bother me, but honestly, this book is so good that I hardly even notice that there isn’t as much romance as I usually prefer.

Holly: I had a super slow reading week. I spent the entire week reading Wild Country and listening to Lake Silence by Anne Bishop. I’m not sure if it was the books or me, but I had the hardest time focusing. I need to collect my thoughts about Wild Country before I discuss it, but Lake Silence was as an enjoyable as always.

Now I’m reading Wolf Rain by Nalini Singh. I haven’t settled on a new audiobook yet.

Rowena: It’s been an interesting week in books for me. I came off a couple of weeks of not reading much of anything and then this week, I read two books. The first book I read was Bad Bachelor (Bad Bachelors #1) by Stefanie London and while I really enjoyed the romance, there were people and things in that book that drove me batty that I ended up not loving the book as much as I wanted to. I moved on from that book and jumped into the second book in the Bad Bachelors series, Bad Reputation and I enjoyed that book even less. I’m really bummed about that because so many bloggers that I enjoy loved these books but they’re just not for me. I got book 3 in this series for review and I’m stuck right now because I don’t want to read it. I hate the heroine for book 3 so much that I’m like…

View Spoiler »

Fuck that noise, it’s decided…I’m not reading it. Instead, I’m going to read The Dating Game by Kiley Roache.

Giveaway Alert

We are very fortunate here at Book Binge. We have loads and loads of books to read and we want to share the wealth so each week, we’ll be tacking on a Freebie Friday giveaway to our What Are You Reading posts. This week, we’re giving away…

What Are You Reading? (+ Jessie Mihalik Giveaway)Polaris Rising (Consortium Rebellion, #1) by Jessie Mihalik
Series: Consortium Rebellion #1
Publisher: Harper Voyager
Publication Date: February 5, 2019
Format: Print
Genres: Science Fiction
Pages: 448
Add It: Goodreads
Amazon | Barnes & Noble | The Ripped Bodice | Google Play Books

A space princess on the run and a notorious outlaw soldier become unlikely allies in this imaginative, sexy space opera adventure—the first in an exciting science fiction trilogy.

In the far distant future, the universe is officially ruled by the Royal Consortium, but the High Councillors, the heads of the three High Houses, wield the true power. As the fifth of six children, Ada von Hasenberg has no authority; her only value to her High House is as a pawn in a political marriage. When her father arranges for her to wed a noble from House Rockhurst, a man she neither wants nor loves, Ada seizes control of her own destiny. The spirited princess flees before the betrothal ceremony and disappears among the stars.Ada eluded her father’s forces for two years, but now her luck has run out. To ensure she cannot escape again, the fiery princess is thrown into a prison cell with Marcus Loch. Known as the Devil of Fornax Zero, Loch is rumored to have killed his entire chain of command during the Fornax Rebellion, and the Consortium wants his head.

When the ship returning them to Earth is attacked by a battle cruiser from rival House Rockhurst, Ada realizes that if her jilted fiancé captures her, she’ll become a political prisoner and a liability to her House. Her only hope is to strike a deal with the dangerous fugitive: a fortune if he helps her escape.

But when you make a deal with an irresistibly attractive Devil, you may lose more than you bargained for . . .

What Are You Reading: Polaris Rising by Jessie Mihalik

What are you reading this week? Any new favorites or books that drove you crazy? Share!


Tagged: , , , ,

What Are You Reading? (+ Sara Castille Giveaway)

Posted February 22, 2019 by Casee in Features, Giveaways | 5 Comments

Casee: I am over Maya Banks. Like seriously over. I finished Keep Me Safe earlier this week, but it was hard. Really hard. I’m told that I still need to read the McCabe trilogy, but that won’t be anytime soon. So a few days ago I told Holly that I really can’t wait until The Savior (BDB #17) by J.R. Ward comes out. And I hate that I can’t wait for it. We agreed that everyone has their book crack. Hers is Kristen Ashley. We both decided that I need to give KA a try, so last night I read the first two pages of Own the Wind (Chaos #1). I’m looking forward to getting further into it today.

I’ve listened to several audiobooks this week. Today I’m listening to Say You’re Sorry by Karen Rose. I was so incredibly impressed with the narrator of Monster in the Closet, so I was really looking forward to listening to SRS. Unfortunately, this narrator is really, really weak. Actually, not just weak. Awful. Yep, the narrator is awful. Still, I’m plugging along. I always forget how much I enjoy KR.

Holly: I started listening to Anne Bishop’s The Others series over the weekend with Tracy. We listened to Written in Red, Murder of Crows and Vision in Silver together. I just finished Marked in Flesh, the fourth book, and started Etched in Bone, the 5th. This series is so amazing. I remembered loving it, but I hadn’t remembered just how much I loved it. I’m glad to be doing a reread before I read Wild Country, which comes out in March. The narrator for the audiobooks is amazing. Generally with longer audiobooks I listen and read, but in this case I just want to listen.

Prior to starting Written in Red, I was listening to Dirty by Kylie Scott. The audiobook seemed to be taking me forever, so I switched to reading around the 3/4 mark. Sadly that book didn’t work for me on a number of levels. The heroine made a lot of questionable decisions and the hero was a jerk for the majority of the book. I don’t think I’ll be continuing the series.

Rowena: I’m not in a reading slump per se, but I’m not reading all that much right now. I’m just not in the mood. I’m watching basketball, watching Star and working on blog projects instead of reading. I did finish Only a Breath Apart by Katie McGarry though and I really enjoyed it. I also started Bad Bachelor by Stefanie London but I haven’t gotten very far into it and I’m on day 3, I need to get it together already. Wish me luck!

Giveaway Alert

We are very fortunate here at Book Binge. We have loads and loads of books to read and we want to share the wealth so each week, we’ll be tacking on a Freebie Friday giveaway to our What Are You Reading posts. This week, we’re giving away…

What Are You Reading? (+ Sara Castille Giveaway)Rocco (Ruin & Revenge, #3) by Sarah Castille
Series: Ruin & Revenge #3
Publisher: St. Martin's Press
Publication Date: January 2, 2018
Format: Print
Genres: Romantic Suspense
Pages: 384
Add It: Goodreads
Amazon | Barnes & Noble | The Ripped Bodice | Google Play Books

Mafia enforcer, Rocco De Lucchi is the best in the business.

Cold, hard and utterly ruthless, Rocco is the most dangerous of men. Feelings are a luxury he cannot afford—until a chance encounter brings him face to face with the only woman who found her way into his heart and touched his soul.

Grace Mantini has spent her whole life running from the mob. Daughter of the boss's right hand man, she is both a prize and a target. When Rocco walks back into her life, she wants nothing to do with the man who betrayed her and broke her heart. But only Rocco can protect her from the dangerous forces that seek to destroy her family. Can they escape the hands of fate closing around them? Or will love be the kiss of death for them both?

 
 
 
 

What Are You Reading: Rocco by Sarah Castille

What are you reading this week? Any new favorites or books that drove you crazy? Share!


Tagged: , , , ,