Format: Print

What Are You Reading? (+ Sarah MacLean Giveaway)

Posted September 13, 2019 by Casee in Features, Giveaways | 13 Comments

Casee: My reading this week wasn’t that much better than last week. I’m actually rather disappointed in myself. I’ve only read about three sentences of Lethal Nights by Lora Leigh since last Friday. See? Pathetic.

I’m listening to Take This Regret by A.L. Jackson. I’m not quite sure how I feel about it yet.

Holly: I finished Ain’t He Precious by Juliette Poe (aka Sawyer Bennett), which I’ll admit was pretty lame. I started listening to Satisfaction Guaranteed by Lauren Blakely after that, but I got distracted and stopped 1/4 of the way in. I’ll get back to it eventually. I was in the mood for a comfort read so I picked up The Secret by Julie Garwood, then read Ransom after. That’s it for me this week. My mom had surgery and my daughter broke her wrist, so it’s been crazy at Casa de Holly lately. Let’s hope this week is better.

Rowena: Oh yikes, I’m really late with this today. Sorry, time got away from me today. Right now, I’m reading Bringing Down the Duke by Evie Dunmore and so far, it’s okay. I’m not really blown away by anything going on but it’s still early days so I’m hoping that it will pick up. Wish me luck! After this, I’ll be jumping into Well Met by Jen Deluca and I’m excited about that.

Giveaway Alert

We are very fortunate here at Book Binge. We have loads and loads of books to read and we want to share the wealth so each week, we’ll be tacking on a Freebie Friday giveaway to our What Are You Reading posts. This week, we’re giving away…

What Are You Reading? (+ Sarah MacLean Giveaway)Wicked and the Wallflower by Sarah MacLean
Series: The Bareknuckle Bastards #1
Also in this series: Wicked and the Wallflower, Brazen and the Beast
Publisher: Avon
Publication Date: June 19, 2018
Format: Print
Genres: Historical Romance
Pages: 396
Add It: Goodreads
Amazon | Barnes & Noble | The Ripped Bodice | Google Play Books
Series Rating: four-stars

When Wicked Comes Calling...

When a mysterious stranger finds his way into her bedchamber and offers his help in landing a duke, Lady Felicity Faircloth agrees—on one condition. She's seen enough of the world to believe in passion, and won't accept a marriage without it.

The Wallflower Makes a Dangerous Bargain...

Bastard son of a duke and king of London's dark streets, Devil has spent a lifetime wielding power and seizing opportunity, and the spinster wallflower is everything he needs to exact a revenge years in the making. All he must do is turn the plain little mouse into an irresistible temptress, set his trap, and destroy his enemy.

For the Promise of Passion...

But there's nothing plain about Felicity Faircloth, who quickly decides she'd rather have Devil than another. Soon, Devil's carefully laid plans are in chaos, and he must choose between everything he's ever wanted...and the only thing he's ever desired.

What Are You Reading: Wicked and the Wallflower

What are you reading this week? Any new favorites or books that drove you crazy? Share!


Tagged: , , ,

Throwback Thursday Review: Sea Witch by Virginia Kantra

Posted September 12, 2019 by Casee in Reviews | 2 Comments

Throwback Thursday Review: Sea Witch by Virginia KantraReviewer: Casee
Sea Witch by Virginia Kantra
Series: Children of the Sea #1
Publisher: Berkley
Publication Date: July 1, 2008
Format: Print
Point-of-View: Alternating Third
Genres: Paranormal Romance
Pages: 273
Add It: Goodreads
Amazon | Barnes & Noble | The Ripped Bodice | Google Play Books
four-stars
Series Rating: four-stars

First in the new The Children of the Sea series from the USA TODAY BESTSELLING AUTHOR.

Margred is a Selkie - a legendary being of the sea, able to shapeshift into seductive human form. And she has found a human she desires...

Burned out from the big city, Caleb Hunter becomes police chief on the peaceful Maine island of World's End. Then he meets a woman who's everything he's ever dreamed of.

Their passion is undeniable, irresistible ...and it may change the fate of humankind.

*** Every Thursday, we’ll be posting throwback reviews of our favorite and not-so-favorite books. Enjoy! ***

This review was originally posted on September 8, 2010

I really have enjoyed Virginia Kantra’s romantic suspense books so I wasn’t thrilled when this series first came out. I was so un-thrilled, in fact, that I didn’t read this book until two years after I got it.

Margred/Maggie threw me off at first. As a selkie, she doesn’t have human thoughts, human feelings, etc. The only human urge she has is of the sexual variety. So she was a very “go get ‘em” type of girl/seal. She first meets Caleb when she comes to land to find someone to bleep. Caleb is that person. She is attracted to him in a way that doesn’t make sense to the selkie part of her.

Caleb has had a rough few years and is happy to be home in World Point. When he first meets Maggie, he is breaking up a celebration on the beach. After a very intense sexual encounter, Maggie leaves and doesn’t come back. After that, Caleb would check that stretch of beach. For three weeks he waited for her. He finally finds her, but not in the way he wants.

When Maggie comes to shore, she is attacked and her pelt is subsequently burned. To be without her pelt is to not be selkie. Maggie has no idea what to do. She knows no one but Caleb. She has no one but Caleb. While she is very attracted to him, she is selkie at heart and cannot remain on land.

Maggie’s thoughts on immortality were very confusing (for her). She couldn’t understand why any selkie would resort to becoming human thus aging. As a 700 year old selkie, she can’t fathom a lifespan so short nor does she want to. Her inner struggle with that was really very emotional. She realizes she loves Caleb, but she still can’t imagine giving up her life as a selkie. Honestly, I couldn’t imagine her doing it either.

End up together they do, though it wasn’t easy to get there. They have demons and a long-lost brother to deal with. For the first book in the series, I found it very well written.

Rating: 4 out of 5.

Children of the Sea

four-stars


Tagged: , , , , , ,

What Are You Reading? (+ Soroya Lane Giveaway)

Posted September 6, 2019 by Casee in Features, Giveaways | 5 Comments

Casee: After the stellar month that August was for me, I’m disappointed that September has not started off the way I had hoped. I just haven’t had the time nor inclination to read. I wouldn’t call it a slump. I actually don’t know what I would call it. I’m reading Lethal Nights by Lora Leigh. I think I was reading that last Friday. I put it down, then picked it up, etc. Now I’m actually really reading it. I’m not far enough in to decide if I like it yet.

A.L. Jackson is my new audiobook glom. I really, really like her. It doesn’t hurt that almost all of her books are narrated by Andi Arndt and Zachary Webber. I heart those two. Right now I’m listening to Lead Me Home by A.L. Jackson. Again, I’m too early in to decide if I like it or not.

Holly: I finished reading Death Knell by Hailey Edwards and decided to take a break from the series. Book 5 hasn’t been announced yet, and I want to wait until closer to its release before I continue on. It’s a great series, but the reveal of the MCs past is moving pretty slow and I want to know I can get resolution before I go on. I finished Selkies Are a Girl’s Best Friend by Molly Harper. It was a cute, light read. I’m excited for the next book (assuming there are more).

I’m currently listening to Ain’t He Precious by Juliette Poe (aka Sawyer Bennet). I’m not loving the narrators, but the story is cute so far so I’m going to continue on. I’m reading Well Met by Jen Deluca. I’m only a few pages in so I can’t say how it is yet, but I’ve heard good things.

Rowena: I’m finally reading again, guys! This is what I looked like last night when I finally finished a book:

I finished Don’t You Forget about Me by Mhairi McFarlane and man did I enjoy it. I cried a lot while reading the book and when it was all said and done, I sighed a giant sigh of relief that everything worked out for good ol’ George. She was a fantastic character and I connected with her so much. Now, I’m reading Love on Lexington Avenue by Lauren Layne and I’m enjoying it just as much as I enjoyed the first book in this series. Lauren Layne really writes my kind of romances. After this, I will be diving into No Judgments by Meg Cabot.

Giveaway Alert

We are very fortunate here at Book Binge. We have loads and loads of books to read and we want to share the wealth so each week, we’ll be tacking on a Freebie Friday giveaway to our What Are You Reading posts. This week, we’re giving away…

What Are You Reading? (+ Soroya Lane Giveaway)Cowboy Stole My Heart by Soraya M. Lane
Series: River Ranch #1
Publisher: St. Martin's Press
Publication Date: January 2, 2018
Format: Print
Genres: Contemporary Romance
Pages: 296
Add It: Goodreads
Amazon | Barnes & Noble | The Ripped Bodice | Google Play Books

It takes true grit to build a billion-dollar dynasty like the Ford family ranch. But when it comes to finding love, all it takes is one handsome cowboy to steal a woman’s heart…

SHE’S RIDING SOLO

As one of the heirs to the River Ranch fortune, Mia Ford is practically Texas royalty. But that doesn’t mean she’s some pampered princess. She can saddle up and ride a horse as well as any man, even a hard-working cowboy like Sam Mendes. For years, she’s harbored a crush on the strong, silent horseman. But how can she make a move when she’s his boss?

HE’S TAKING THE REINS

Sam Mendes is through with love—or so he thought. Still recovering from a breakup, he’s doing everything in his power to resist Mia Ford. It’s bad enough she’s the kind of beauty who drives men wild with desire. It’s even worse she’s got him so worked up, aching to kiss her lips, when he’s supposed to be working her ranch. Is this lovestruck cowboy willing to risk losing his job—and breaking his heart—to win the girl of his dreams?

What Are You Reading: Cowboy Stole My Heart

What are you reading this week? Any new favorites or books that drove you crazy? Share!


Tagged: , , , ,

What Are You Reading? (+ Sophie Jordan Giveaway)

Posted August 30, 2019 by Casee in Features | 7 Comments

Casee: I finished two books yesterday, one of them on audio. I read Dark Illusion by Christine Feehan. I really like where this series is headed. I also listened to Pieces of Us by A.L. Jackson. I am really loving this author.

Last night I started Lethal Nights by Lora Leigh. This is the third book in her Brute Force series. I haven’t read the first two, but this one sounded interesting. We shall see. I’m listening to Show Me the Way by A.L. Jackson. The narrators are so incredibly good, I can’t stand not listening.

Holly: I finished Kill the Queen by Jennifer Estep, which I really enjoyed, then moved on to the Foundling Series by Hailey Edwards. I’m finished with Bayou Born and Bone Driven, and I’ve just started Death Knell. The books are fresh and I’m really looking forward to seeing where things end up. I also read Sweet Heat by Zuri Day, a cute contemporary romance. There were some cheesy parts, but overall I enjoyed it. Aside from that I just reread a couple books (Soaring by Kristen Ashley and Castle Hill by Samantha Young).

I’m currently listening to Selkies are a Girl’s Best Friend by Molly Harper, her latest Mystic Bayou audio original. I’m only about 1/4 of the way in, but so far it’s really good.

Rowena: I’m not reading much. Lots of personal stuff going on right now that doesn’t leave much room for reading or anything else. I read Kill the Queen by Jennifer Estep and enjoyed that one. I’m pretty curious about the next book and I hope that we’ll get a romance between Evie and Sully. Fingers crossed. I also managed to finish reading Coming Up Roses by Staci Hart and it was cute. The heroine got on my nerves in the beginning but she got better as the story progressed so that was something. I was going to start in on some of my summer reading books since I’m woefully behind on that challenge and probably failed it already but I’m mentally exhausted right now so I haven’t picked anything up yet. I think I’m going to jump into Don’t You Forget About Me by Mhairi McFarlane. That sounds like a plan to me. Fingers crossed that I actually pick it up.

Giveaway Alert

We are very fortunate here at Book Binge. We have loads and loads of books to read and we want to share the wealth so each week, we’ll be tacking on a Freebie Friday giveaway to our What Are You Reading posts. This week, we’re giving away…

What Are You Reading? (+ Sophie Jordan Giveaway)The Duke Buys a Bride by Sophie Jordan
Series: The Rogue Files #3
Also in this series: While the Duke Was Sleeping, The Duke Buys a Bride
Publisher: Avon
Publication Date: July 24, 2018
Format: Print
Genres: Historical Romance
Pages: 368
Add It: Goodreads
Amazon | Barnes & Noble | The Ripped Bodice | Google Play Books
Series Rating: four-stars

A bride wasn’t in his plans . . .

The last thing Marcus, the Duke of Autenberry, expects to see after sleeping off a night’s drunken shenanigans is a woman being auctioned in the village square. Before he can think about the ramifications, he buys her, thinking he’s winning the girl her freedom. Instead, he discovers he’s bought a wife.

A duke wasn’t in hers . . .

Alyse Bell is almost rid of the shackles that bound her in a name-only marriage, but the day her friend promised to purchase her in a wife auction, he vanishes, leaving her to face a mob of unsavory bachelors intent on owning her body and soul. But the appearance of a wicked, wealthy stranger changes her path forever.

The road to ruin . . .

Marcus doesn’t know what to do with the impertinent chit who clearly isn’t duchess material! Insisting their marriage isn’t legitimate, they leave for his estate in Scotland, hoping to devise a plan to get rid of each other. However, on a journey fraught with misadventure, their attraction grows and Marcus realizes he’ll do anything to keep this fiery woman for his own.

What Are You Reading: The Duke Buys a Bride

What are you reading this week? Any new favorites or books that drove you crazy? Share!


Tagged: , , ,

What Are You Reading? (+ Suzanne Enoch Giveaway)

Posted August 23, 2019 by Casee in Features, Giveaways | 8 Comments

Casee: I’ve been reading some good books this week. I read Blood Truth by J.R. Ward and More of You by A.L. Jackson. Those were both pretty good reads. I especially enjoyed the A.L. Jackson. I’m now reading Sapphire Flames by Ilona Andrews. I really didn’t think I would like Catalina as much as I do. That makes me really happy. Catalina is a badass, almost as badass as Nevada.

I’ve been listening to so many audiobooks, it’s crazy. I’ve listened to five (5!) Meghan March books. I’m currently listening to Sinful Empire, which is the third book in the trilogy. I also finished Beyond Scandal and Desire by Lorraine Heath. It was the book that Holly and Rowena gave me for our Summer Reading Challenge. After I finish the March book, I’m going to listen to Marrying Winterborne by Lisa Kleypas. I’m excited

Holly: I didn’t get much read this week. I finished Marry Me by Jo Goodman for our Summer Reading Challenge, which was sweet. It started out kind of slow but once it picked up I really fell into it. I finished listening to Trade Me by Courtney Milan and then The Cursed by Alyssa Day, which I didn’t love. It was just okay. I also read Quiet Man by Kristen Ashley, Mo and Lottie’s novella. I really liked Mo and Lottie together. I reread a couple of books (Mystery Man and Complicated by Kristen Ashley and Repeat by Kylie Scott) and that’s pretty much it.

I ended up DNF’ing Hope’s Folly by Linnea Sinclair. We agreed we wouldn’t DNF our Summer reading Challenge books, but it’s the 3rd book in the series and I was hopelessly lost. Casee and I agreed I’d try Gabriel’s Ghost instead, which is book 1. I plan to read that this weekend. I just started Kill the Queen by Jennifer Estep

Rowena: I’m still in training mode at work, trying to learn my new position and there’s a lot of stuff to remember and I’m busy from the time I get to the office to the time that I leave. By the time that I get home, I’m too exhausted to read much of anything. Also? I’ve been spending time with Caiden, who is in town for the week to hang out with us. I did pick up and put down some books but nothing stuck with me until I re-read Sapphire Flames by Ilona Andrews, which I adored all over again. I finished that whole book, so that’s something. Right now, I’m reading Kill the Queen by Jennifer Estep and Coming Up Roses by Staci Hart. Wish me luck!

Giveaway Alert

We are very fortunate here at Book Binge. We have loads and loads of books to read and we want to share the wealth so each week, we’ll be tacking on a Freebie Friday giveaway to our What Are You Reading posts. This week, we’re giving away…

What Are You Reading? (+ Suzanne Enoch Giveaway)Rogue with a Brogue by Suzanne Enoch
Series: Scandalous Highlanders #2
Also in this series: Rogue with a Brogue (Scandalous Highlanders, #2), Mad, Bad, and Dangerous in Plaid (Scandalous Highlanders, #3), Some Like it Scot (Scandalous Highlanders, #4)

Publication Date: July 29, 2014
Format: Print
Genres: Historical Romance
Pages: 333
Add It: Goodreads
Amazon | Barnes & Noble | The Ripped Bodice | Google Play Books
Series Rating: four-stars

A Rogue For Every Lady

London, 1817: Stuck in a Mayfair ballroom, thanks to his lovestruck brother, Highlander Arran MacLawry wants nothing but a bit of distraction from an arranged betrothal—and a clever auburn-haired lass in a vixen's mask promises just that . . . until he discovers that she's the granddaughter of the Campbell, chief of clan MacLawry's longtime rival. Despite their families' grudging truce, falling for fiery Mary Campbell is a notion too outlandish even for this Highlander…

The Thrill Of The Forbidden

Raised on tales of savage MacLawrys, Mary is stunned to realize the impressively strapping man in the fox's mask is one of them. Surely the enemy shouldn't have such a broad chest, and such a seductive brogue? Not that her curiosity matters—any dalliance between them is strictly forbidden, and she's promised to another. But with the crackling spark between them ready to catch flame, love is worth every risk…

What Are You Reading: Rogue with a Brogue

What are you reading this week? Any new favorites or books that drove you crazy? Share!


Tagged: , , , ,