Format: Print

What Are You Reading? (+ Julia Chapman Giveaway)

Posted July 12, 2019 by Holly in Features, Giveaways | 5 Comments

Casee: I’ve done quite a bit of Kristen Ashley reading/listening this month. KA just does it for me. I wasn’t too excited to listen to one of her audiobooks because they are so long, but I am so glad I did. Complicated was amazing on audio. I loved it. I also read Fire Inside and Walk Through Fire from KA’s Chaos series. I’m currently reading Wild Like the Wind by Kristen Ashley. I’m not sure how I feel about it yet. I’m not a fan of the heroine so far.

I’m listening to Hard Sell by Lauren Layne. I didn’t think I would really care for this book because I didn’t like the characters in the first book of the series. It has been surprisingly good.

Holly: I did a lot of re-reading this week. I read Wildest Dreams, Fantastical and Midnight Soul by Kristen Ashley. I listened to How to Date Your Dragon by Molly Harper. The ebook was on sale with the audio addition, so I bought it. Then I had to listen to it again. Jonathan Davis isn’t my favorite male narrator, but I love Amanda Ronconi.

For new-to-me books, I listened to Mister O by Lauren Blakely. It was a cute Best Friend’s Sister romance. I’m taking a break from Blakely now so I don’t burn out. I read Untamed Delights by Suzanne Wright, the final book in the Phoenix Pack series. I’m sad to see it come to an end. I read Wait No More by Stephanie Nicole Norris, an Amazon rec. I liked the base romance, but the plot frustrated me some. Still, I’ll look for more of her books in the future. I also read The Whole 30: The Official 30-day Guide To Total Health And Food Freedom by Melissa Hartwig. It was an interesting read.

Rowena: I only read a couple of books this week but both books were quality reads and I’m very happy with both of them. I read Wolf Rain (Psy-Changeling Trinity #3) by Nalini Singh and I read Lauren Layne’s new release The Prenup. I really enjoyed Wolf Rain but I FLIPPIN’ LOVED THE PRENUP! I didn’t know what to expect because I kept hearing that Lauren Layne was going away from her steamy romances and because I LOVE her steamy romances, I was a little hesitant to start this one but I shouldn’t have worried because Lauren Layne delivered another emotional roller coaster of a romance that didn’t suffer any without the sex scenes, IMO. I enjoyed it so much that I cried. It was so stinkin’ good.

Now, I’m reading Beginner’s Luck (Chance of a Lifetime #1) by Kate Clayborne and I’ll probably listen to Like the Wind by J. Bengtsson for some buddy reads before I jump into my review pile for the month. Wish me luck!

Giveaway Alert

We are very fortunate here at Book Binge. We have loads and loads of books to read and we want to share the wealth so each week, we’ll be tacking on a Freebie Friday giveaway to our What Are You Reading posts. This week, we’re giving away…

What Are You Reading? (+ Julia Chapman Giveaway)Date with Malice by Julia Chapman
Series: The Dales Detective #2
Publisher: Macmillan
Publication Date: October 19, 2017
Format: Print
Source: Publisher
Genres: Mystery
Pages: 400
Add It: Goodreads
Amazon | Barnes & Noble | The Ripped Bodice | Google Play Books

"It’s dark in the Dales this winter . . .

When Mrs Shepherd arrives at the Dales Detective Agency on a December morning, quite convinced that someone is trying to kill her, Samson O’Brien dismisses her fears as the ramblings of a confused elderly lady. But after a series of disturbing incidents at Fellside Court retirement home, he begins to wonder if there is something to her claims after all . . .

With Christmas around the corner, Samson is thrown into a complex investigation. One that will require him to regain the trust of the Dales community he turned his back on so long ago. Faced with no choice, he enlists the help of a local – the tempestuous Delilah Metcalfe.

Against the backdrop of a Yorkshire winter, Samson and Delilah must work together once again if they are to uncover the malevolence threatening the elderly residents of Bruncliffe. Could the danger be perilously close to home?"

What Are You Reading: Date with Malice by Julia Chapman

What are you reading this week? Any new favorites or books that drove you crazy? Share!


Tagged: , , , ,

What Are You Reading? (+ Lori Wilde Giveaway)

Posted July 5, 2019 by Holly in Features, Giveaways | 10 Comments

Holly: I ended up re-reading Storm Cursed by Patricia Briggs after all. I also re-read Complicated by Kristen Ashley after discussing it with Casee.

For new reads I listened to Most Valuable Playboy and Big Rock by Lauren Blakely. I love Sebastian York as a narrator, and both stories were good. I also read Huge Deal by Lauren Layne, my third and final pick from Rowena for our Summer Reading Challenge. I didn’t like it as much as Hard Sell, the second book, but I liked it more than Hot Asset, the first.

I’m currently reading Smitten by the Brit by Melonie Johnson. I started it a couple weeks ago, but set it aside in favor of other books. After that I think I’m going to read Marry Me by Jo Goodman.

Rowena: This week, I’ve been pretty busy at work (where I do a huge chunk of my reading) since my boss is out of the office until Monday. I also went to the Dodger game so that cut into my reading time as well. I only finished Storm Cursed (Mercy Thompson #11) by Patricia Briggs. I’m super glad that I’m all caught up on this series because I really love it. I really love Mercy and want to know all of her business.

Currently, I’m reading Wolf Rain (Psy-Changelings Trinity #3) by Nalini Singh. This book slipped through the cracks and I cannot believe that I haven’t read it already. So, that’s what I’m reading right now.

Giveaway Alert

We are very fortunate here at Book Binge. We have loads and loads of books to read and we want to share the wealth so each week, we’ll be tacking on a Freebie Friday giveaway to our What Are You Reading posts. This week, we’re giving away…

What Are You Reading? (+ Lori Wilde Giveaway)The Christmas Key by Lori Wilde
Series: Twilight Texas #9
Publisher: Avon
Publication Date: October 23, 2018
Format: Print
Genres: Contemporary Romance
Pages: 400
Add It: Goodreads
Amazon | Barnes & Noble | The Ripped Bodice | Google Play Books

In this magical Christmas story--the latest installment in the Twilight, Texas series--from New York Times bestselling author Lori Wilde, the Cookie Club is at it again meddling in the course of true love by wiping up a batch of matchmaker cookies designed to help the lovelorn find their soul mates

There’s a legend in Twilight, Texas. If you sleep with a kismet cookie under your pillow on Christmas Eve, you will dream of your one true love.

She saw him in her dreams…

It’s impossible! Naomi Luther was standing face to face with the man she’d dreamed about over a year ago. Was it the magic of Kismet Christmas cookies that brought him to her? Or is there even a greater force at work? All Naomi knows is she is falling, hard and fast, for the one man all good sense says she should not have.

She was his best buddy’s sister…

Rebellious Mark Shepherd found order in the Marines but chaos on the battlefield. In a mission gone wrong, Mark is injured and his best friend loses his life. Haunted by guilt, he arrives in Twilight to keep a solemn promise. But when the Luthers mistake him for their handyman, he’s swept up in playing Santa to his buddy’s orphan son…and falling hard for Naomi’s irresistible bright spirit and sweet, sexy smile. But what will happen when she learns the truth?

What Are You Reading: The Christmas Key by Lori Wilde

What are you reading this week? Any new favorites or books that drove you crazy? Share!


Tagged: , , , ,

What Are You Reading? (+ Ilona Andrews Giveaway)

Posted June 21, 2019 by Casee in Features, Giveaways | 10 Comments

Casee: I am finally reading Archangel’s War by Nalini Singh. I have waited so long for this book. I really, really dislike books that end with a cliffhanger, which Archangel’s Prophecy did. I am loving Archangel’s War and can’t wait to finish it this weekend. I have no idea what I am going to start next. Possibly Natural Witch by K.F. Breene which is one of Holly’s Reading Challenge books for me. Or Lionheart by Thea Harrison. Or Diamond Fire by Ilona Andrews.

I finished Getting Played by Emma Chase on audio yesterday. Andi Arndt and Zachary Webber are a spectacular duo. I heart them together. This book had everything I look for in an Emma Chase book. It gave me all the feels. I started listening to Hot Asset by Lauren Layne on the way home. This is one of Rowena’s Summer Reading Challenge books for Holly and I. I haven’t gotten far enough into it to know if I’ll love it or hate it.

Holly: I finished Getting Played by Emma Chase on audio, and the ARC of Archangel’s War by Nalini Singh. Both were everything I wanted them to be. I read Waiting For Tom Hanks by Kerry Winfrey so I could discuss it with Rowena and Casee. I was not a fan. Then I read Superfan by Sarina Bowen. I enjoyed it, though not as much as some of the others in the series.

I’m currently reading Long Shot by Kennedy Ryan for our Summer Reading Challenge. I’m pretty early into it, so no thoughts yet. I’m listening to The Knocked Up Plan by Lauren Blakely. I think I’m about halfway through. So far, I’m enjoying it.

Rowena: This week was for finally finishing Waiting for Tom Hanks by Kerry Winfree and I didn’t even like that book but then I jumped into The Friend Zone by Abby Jimenez. To say that I hated that book is putting it mildly. I freaking hated that book. I thought that if I kept reading, that the heroine would get better but nope. One thing after another pissed me off and when I finally finished it, I have never felt more free in my life. Dumbass book.

Now I’m reading Night Broken (Mercy Thompson #8) by Patricia Briggs and Holly thinks I’m crazy because she knows that I’m going to be pissed while reading this one but I plan to read the next book directly after so I’m hoping that I’ll be able to push through both books without too much damage. Fingers crossed.

Giveaway Alert

We are very fortunate here at Book Binge. We have loads and loads of books to read and we want to share the wealth so each week, we’ll be tacking on a Freebie Friday giveaway to our What Are You Reading posts. This week, we’re giving away…

What Are You Reading? (+ Ilona Andrews Giveaway)Wildfire by Ilona Andrews
Series: Hidden Legacy #3
Also in this series: Burn for Me (Hidden Legacy, #1), Wildfire, White Hot, White Hot (Hidden Legacy, #2), Burn for Me (Hidden Legacy, #1), White Hot (Hidden Legacy, #2), Wildfire (Hidden Legacy, #3), Burn for Me (Hidden Legacy, #1), Wildfire (Hidden Legacy, #3), Diamond Fire (Hidden Legacy, #3.5)
Publisher: Avon
Publication Date: July 25, 2017
Format: Print
Point-of-View: Alternating First
Content Warning: View Spoiler »
Genres: Urban Fantasy
Pages: 391
Add It: Goodreads
Amazon | Barnes & Noble | The Ripped Bodice | Google Play Books
Series Rating: five-stars

Just when Nevada Baylor has finally come to accept the depths of her magical powers, she also realizes she’s fallen in love. Connor “Mad” Rogan is in many ways her equal when it comes to magic, but she’s completely out of her elements when it comes to her feelings for him. To make matters more complicated, an old flame comes back into Rogan’s life…

Rogan knows there’s nothing between him and his ex-fiance, Rynda Sherwood. But as Nevada begins to learn more about her past, her power, and her potential future, he knows she will be faced with choices she never dreamed of and the promise of a life spent without him.

As Nevada and Rogan race to discover the whereabouts of Rynda’s kidnapped husband and are forced to confront Nevada’s grandmother, who may or may not have evil motives, these two people must decide if they can trust in each other or allow everything to go up in smoke.

What Are You Reading: Wildfire by Ilona Andrews

What are you reading this week? Any new favorites or books that drove you crazy? Share!


Tagged: , , , ,

Throwback Thursday Review: A Little Less Talk and A Lot More Action by LuAnn McLane

Posted June 20, 2019 by Rowena in Reviews | 2 Comments

Throwback Thursday Review: A Little Less Talk and A Lot More Action by LuAnn McLaneReviewer: Rowena
A Little Less Talk and a Lot More Action by LuAnn McLane
Publisher: Signet
Publication Date: July 1, 2008
Format: Print
Source: Publisher
Point-of-View: Alternating Third
Genres: Contemporary Romance
Pages: 283
Add It: Goodreads
Amazon | Barnes & Noble | The Ripped Bodice | Google Play Books
four-half-stars

Macy?s chance for love is slipping from her fingers. College football coach Luke Carter has a penchant for hot-bodied babes, not curvy hairdressers like Macy. And some big-time schools may be luring him away. Then a country singing star?s hair emergency turns into a big break for Macy.

Making it in Nashville boosts Macy?s confidence, but when Luke interviews for a job at a local university, she?ll have to put up or shut up?or lose him forever?

*** Every Thursday, we’ll be posting throwback reviews of our favorite and not-so-favorite books. Enjoy! ***

This review was originally posted on June 25, 2008.

What a fun book!

Over the weekend, Daphne and I went out to Holly’s house for some rest and relaxation and I picked this book up and read the entire thing. It was such a cute little book that I couldn’t stop reading it. It’s funny how readers are, Daphne and I drove the two hours out to Holly’s house and we spent most of our time, quiet and reading.

It was glorious!

This book is about Macy McCoy and Luke Carter. Luke Carter is Macy’s best friend’s older brother and Macy has had a crush on him for the longest time. She’s a hairstylist and she’s destined for great things. She gets really close with Luke, when his little sister Jamie Lee and his best friend, Griff Sheldon get married. She’s the Maid of Honor and he’s the Best Man and they were together a lot and Macy loved every moment of it. She was the Queen of Wishful Thinking and she fantasized about being Luke’s love and when she finally realizes that maybe Luke might feel the same way, it was such a treat to see the two of these get together.

This book was such a fun read. It had that country feel to it that I absolutely loved and it was just one of those fast, light reads that are perfect for summer. It’s filled to the brim with laugh out scenes and an adorable romance.

I loved that Luke didn’t want to hold Macy back from anything and they’re small-town crush on each other was just too effing cute. Some of the dialogue was pretty cheesy but that didn’t take away from my enjoyment of this book. There were so many other things about this book to like that the cheesy dialogue wasn’t anything.

Luke was adorable, Macy was great and the secondary characters were just fab. I enjoyed Jamie Lee and Griff (I’m so going to read their book soon because theirs came first), I loved Tammy, Sam and Lilly, and Boone, even Brandon. I can’t wait to read more by this author because this book was really great.

It was light, funny and sexy, a sexy romp and I totally recommend this book to anyone who loves country music and contemporary romances. This is a great book to read at the beach, at the park, by the pool, or anywhere…it’s just one of those cute romances that makes you smile afterward. I loved all of the country music mentioned in this book, Summertime by Kenny Chesney, Settlin’ by Sugarland, Carrie Underwood, Faith Hill, Dierks Bentley, all of my favorite country stars were mentioned in this book and I enjoyed that because I actually knew all of the songs that were mentioned and that doesn’t usually happen much with me, it made this book that much more fun for me and I just really enjoyed this book.

Too cute!

Grade: 4.5 out of 5

This book is available from Penguin Books. You can buy it here.

four-half-stars


Tagged: , , , , , ,

What Are You Reading? (+ Christy Carlyle Giveaway)

Posted June 7, 2019 by Holly in Features, Giveaways | 12 Comments

Casee: I have finally had some time to read. It’s been really nice. I’m almost finished with Alpha’s Promise by Rebecca Zanetti. I’m really enjoying it. I think I’m going to pick up Wolf Rain by Nalini Singh next.

I’ve been listening to the Boudreaux series by Kristen Proby. I’m currently listening to Easy Kisses, which is book four. I decided to just go for it and finish the series. There are six books in the series.

Holly: I’m actually reading books again. Yay! I mostly reread this week, but I’m taking it as a win after the past couple weeks.

I re-read The Golden Dynasty, The Will, Soaring and The Time in Between by Kristen Ashley. I attempted to read If It Makes You Happy by Claire Kann, but the book turned out to be something completely different than I expected and I DNF’d it halfway through. I’m currently reading Sin & Magic by K.F. Breene and listening to The Knocked Up Plan by Lauren Blakely.

Rowena: I started the week off finishing Ayesha at Last by Uzma Jalaluddin and that was an enjoyable read then I moved on to start reading If It Makes You Happy by Claire Kann and like Holly, it wasn’t for me. It started off well but then it took a sharp turn toward shit I wasn’t in the mood for so we both quit the book. Now, I’m reading two books. I’m reading The Rest of the Story by Sarah Dessen and Natalie Tan’s Book of Luck and Fortune by Roselle Lim. So far, both books are great.

Giveaway Alert

We are very fortunate here at Book Binge. We have loads and loads of books to read and we want to share the wealth so each week, we’ll be tacking on a Freebie Friday giveaway to our What Are You Reading posts. This week, we’re giving away…

What Are You Reading? (+ Christy Carlyle Giveaway)A Duke Changes Everything by Christy Carlyle
Series: Duke's Den #1
Publisher: Avon
Publication Date: November 27, 2018
Format: Print
Genres: Historical Romance
Pages: 384
Add It: Goodreads
Amazon | Barnes & Noble | The Ripped Bodice | Google Play Books

In the first novel in Christy Carlyle’s sizzling Duke’s Den series, three men, intent on making a fortune, discover irresistible opportunities . . .

Nicholas Lyon gambled his way into a fortune and ownership of the most opulent, notorious gentlemen’s club in England. But when Nick’s cruel brother dies, he inherits a title he never wanted. The sooner Nick is rid of the estate that has always haunted him, the sooner he can return to the life he’s built in London. But there’s one obstacle—the exquisite Thomasina Thorne.

When the new heir to the Tremayne dukedom suddenly appears in Mina Thorne’s life, she’s flustered. Not only is he breathtakingly handsome, but he’s also determined to take away her home and position as steward of the Enderley estate. If Mina learns what makes the enigmatic duke tick, perhaps she can change his mind—as long as she doesn’t get too close to him.

With each day Nick spends with Mina, his resolve weakens as their colliding wills lead to explosive desire. Could she be the one woman who can help him finally bury the ghosts of his past?

What Are You Reading: A Duke Changes Everything by Christy Carlyle

What are you reading this week? Any new favorites or books that drove you crazy? Share!


Tagged: , , , ,