Format: Print

What Are You Reading? (+ Christine Feehan Giveaway)

Posted May 17, 2019 by Casee in Features, Giveaways | 6 Comments

Casee: I finally finished Wild Man (Colorado Mountains #2) by Kristen Ashley this week. I loved it! I’ve moved onto American Witch (American Witch #1) by Thea Harrison. Although I’ve had some issues with the heroine, I am liking her more as I get further into the book. I always forget how much I enjoy Thea Harrison’s books. I don’t know why that is.

I’m listening to Vision in Silver (The Others #3) by Anne Bishop. Alexandra Harris is such a fantastic narrator. I can’t even use words to describe how much I love listening to her on audio. She’s that good. After I finish this one (hopefully today), I’m going to jump back into Clean Sweep (Innkeeper Chronicles #1) by Ilona Andrews. If I don’t, I’m afraid I might disappear under mysterious circumstances.

Holly: Another slow reading week here. I finished listening to Vision in Silver by Anne Bishop. That series is so good. I’m always engaged when I read or listen to one. I read Rafe by Rebekah Weatherspoon, which was a sweet, light contemporary romance. Then I read The Austen Playbook by Lucy Parker, which was good. That’s pretty much it for me. The good news is, I seem to have gotten my mojo back, because I’m excited to read.

Rowena: I don’t want to say that my reading slump is a thing of the past but it was put on hold for this week because I read hella books. Yay me! I did a quick re-read of The Austen Playbook by Lucy Parker for a joint review with Holly and then I read Hot to the Touch by Jaci Burton. I also read American Witch by Thea Harrison for our feature review. Both books were great reads and I’m glad that I read them. I also read Love, Chloe by Alessandra Torre for a buddy review with Ames and I finished Somewhere Only We Know by Maurene Goo. I enjoyed the Torre book a little more than I enjoyed the Gooo though both books were solid reads.

Now, I’m reading Then Came You by Kate Meader cause I need to get my review pile down, I’m way behind. So far, so good on that one. I also plan on reading The Unhoneymooners by Christina Lauren over the weekend so wish me luck on that!

Giveaway Alert

We are very fortunate here at Book Binge. We have loads and loads of books to read and we want to share the wealth so each week, we’ll be tacking on a Freebie Friday giveaway to our What Are You Reading posts. This week, we’re giving away…

What Are You Reading? (+ Christine Feehan Giveaway)Covert Game by Christine Feehan
Series: GhostWalkers #14
Also in this series: Predatory Game, Street Game, Ruthless Game, Shadow Game, Power Game, Murder Game, Covert Game, Toxic Game (GhostWalkers #15)
Publisher: Berkley
Publication Date: October 9, 2018
Format: Print
Point-of-View: Alternating Third
Genres: Paranormal Romance
Pages: 480
Add It: Goodreads
Amazon | Barnes & Noble | The Ripped Bodice | Google Play Books
Series Rating: four-stars

Treason, torture and temptation haunt the GhostWalkers in their most dangerous adventure yet, as Christine Feehan's #1 New York Times bestselling series hits an explosive new high.

Rescuing an industrial spy from the hands of a criminal mastermind is a suicide mission for the GhostWalkers. And there's no one more up to the task than Gino Mazza. He's the perfect killing machine--a man driven by demons so dark and destructive that his blighted soul has given up trying to find solace. But his laser-sharp focus on his target has transformed into something nearing desire.

A treasonous senator dangled top secret GhostWalker data in front of a Chinese crime lord, and he bit. Zara Hightower, one of the world's leading experts on artificial intelligence, was sent in to psychically wipe the crime lord's computer network. She succeeded, but at a huge cost. Now she's the captive of a man who has descended into paranoid madness. Torture and death await her...

But GhostWalkers never leave one of their own in enemy territory. And it's up to Gino to save Zara, or kill her if it turns out she's led them into a trap. Either way, heaven or hell won't stop him...

What Are You Reading: Covert Game by Christine Feehan

What are you reading this week? Any new favorites or books that drove you crazy? Share!


Tagged: , , , ,

Throwback Thursday Review: Taming the Scotsman by Kinley MacGregor

Posted May 16, 2019 by Rowena in Reviews | 4 Comments

Throwback Thursday Review: Taming the Scotsman by Kinley MacGregorReviewer: Rowena
Taming the Scotsman by Kinley MacGregor
Series: Brotherhood of the Sword #4, MacAllisters #4
Also in this series: Claiming the Highlander (Brotherhood of the Sword #2/MacAllister, #1)
Publisher: Harper Collins, Avon
Publication Date: August 26, 2003
Format: Print
Source: Purchased
Point-of-View: Third
Genres: Historical Romance
Pages: 374
Add It: Goodreads
Amazon | Barnes & Noble | The Ripped Bodice | Google Play Books
four-stars

No one can tell the hot-blooded Scottish lass whom to marry! But the much-feared man Nora runs to for protection may be more perilous to her heart than any unwanted groom...

And much more difficult to tame!

Nora is a woman with a mission. Rather than be forced to endure a loveless marriage, she has fled her home, bound for England. There’s one small problem, though; she needs a guide, and the best choice is Ewan MacAllister, the only man both her father and her fiancé fear. Beneath Ewan’s rough and tumble exterior, however, she finds the heart of a loyal friend, and suddenly, more than to be free, she yearns to tame the proud Highlander who protects his wounded heart.

Tormented by his past, Ewan wants only to be left alone. Until the fiery lass forces herself into his remote home and refuses to leave unless he escorts her far away from Scotland. Ewan thinks her mad, especially given her claims to be none other than niece to the Queen of England, but he can’t let her travel about the countryside unescorted. In spite of her unorthodox ways and stubborn nature, she is rather fetching for a bold lass. And to his deepest chagrin, he finds himself wishing for the one thing he never thought to have. A brave Highland lady to call his own…

Every Thursday, we’ll be posting throwback reviews of our favorite and not-so-favorite books. Enjoy!

This review was originally posted on May 26, 2008.

Another MacAllister finds true love. This is the third MacAllister brother to find his wife and this book was enjoyable. Not the best of the bunch, but still enjoyable because it added to the mystery of Keiran. The end raised a lot of questions and I read this book for the first time, a long time ago and could not wait for Lochlan’s story, hoping against hope that his story would bring more answers to all of the questions I had about Keiran.

When we first began this series, we learn the story of Keiran, Isobel and Ewan. Isobel hooked up with one brother, forcing him to fall for her charms and then ran away with another brother, which brought on a whole lot of betrayals, regrets and broken hearts….and Ewan has a whole lot of regret going on in this story. He fell for Isobel and ran away with her, knowing about Keiran and Isobel but foolishly believing that Isobel was truly and utterly in love with him. She shows her true colors as soon as they get to London and admits to Ewan that she really only used him to get to her true love, some chap out there.

So Ewan returns home, jilted and feeling like a fool.

He builds a home for himself in a cave and he lives alone, punishing himself for what he did to his brother. Keiran has disappeared and Ewan blames himself. They don’t know where he is, how he’s doing or anything and Ewan lives with the absence of his brother, a daily reminder of everything he regrets in life.

Then Nora comes into his life, a runaway bride and he’s not having any of it. He is not going to repeat the mistakes of yonder years and he’s going to take this runaway bride directly to her father, where she belongs and he’s going to come back to the life he created for himself and continue to punish himself for the mistakes of his past.

This story was a bit on the cheesy side and though I enjoyed the book, it’s nowhere near my favorite. I think what made me jump up and pay attention in this book was all of the Keiran mentions. When the story ends with that big ol’ cliff hanger, I wanted Lochlan’s book something fierce. I wanted to devour it, hoping that there would be more of Keiran.

I believe he’s alive…and dude, I heard some stuff about Lochlan’s story (that I have yet to read) and now that I’m all caught up with these books, I’m going to put in a read of The Warrior next, woo frickin’ hoo!

Ewan was a good hero. He was strong, he loved his family and he had problems that he had to work through and I enjoyed getting to know him.

Nora was funny, she had me laughing quite a bit in this story and she was just a delight to read about again. She fit right in with Ewan and I was rootin’ them on to their happy ending. I enjoyed seeing Sin and Callie and Braden and Maggie in this story, they were a delightful addition to this story and Sin…I can never get enough of Sin, so woo hoo bring on the Sin! =)

Should you read this book? Yeah, because it goes with the other stories and because it’s a good book. Great characters, solid storyline if you can get past the cheese. It’s a good one guys, so keep the happy reading going with this one.

Grade: 4 out of 5

This book is available from Avon. You can buy it here or here in e-format.

Brotherhood of the Sword & MacAllisters

four-stars


Tagged: , , , , , , , ,

Throwback Thursday Review: She Drives Me Crazy by Leslie Kelly

Posted May 9, 2019 by Holly in Features, Reviews | 2 Comments

Throwback Thursday Review: She Drives Me Crazy by Leslie KellyReviewer: Holly
She Drives Me Crazy by Leslie Kelly
Series: Walker Brothers #1
Also in this series: She's Got the Look
Publisher: Harlequin
Publication Date: October 15th 2012
Format: Print
Source: Purchased
Point-of-View: Third
Genres: Contemporary Romance
Pages: 384
Add It: Goodreads
Amazon | Barnes & Noble | The Ripped Bodice | Google Play Books
four-stars
Series Rating: four-stars

When she was good, she was very, very good…

When Emma Frasier returns home to Joyful, Georgia, she's greeted with the kinds of winks and lusty grins one might offer…an adult film star?

But when she was bad…

Thanks to small-town gossip and citizens who clearly need to get a life, Joyful's residents think Emma Jean is the "famous star" building a strip club in town. And that her barely concealed…uh, attributes are the ones gracing the new interstate billboard.

She was better.

As if being taken for a blue movie queen isn't rattling enough, there's Johnny Walker, the local bad boy turned good—a man who tempts Emma to be just as wild and wicked as Joyful thinks she is.

Every Thursday, we’ll be posting throwback reviews of our favorite and not-so-favorite books. Enjoy!

This review was originally posted on May 17, 2008

She Drives Me Crazy is the first book in the Walker Brothers Series by Leslie Kelly.

Emma returns to her hometown of Joyful, Georgia with her tail between her legs after getting fleeced for all she was worth by a scummy boss and even scummier best friend. All she has left in the world is a handful of designer clothes, a cute red convertible and her grandma’s house and pecan farm that was willed to her.

But when she gets back, due to town gossip, she’s as shunned as she was the day she left Joyful, a disgraced high school senior who got caught with her pants down with the baddest boy in town, Johnny Walker. And of course, the first person she happens to run into (literally) in the grocery store, with the town looking on, is none other than Johnny Walker himself.

She’s determined to make a new life for herself – if only temporarily – until she realizes that someone has sold her grandmother’s land, without her knowledge. Between ending up in jail and between the sheets with Johnny, she tries to find out who stole her land…and then a murder happens.

Johnny was a great hero. Emma was a good heroine, too, not too flighty and willing to stand up for herself. The residents of Joyful cracked me up, because I grew up in a small town and the people there were just like these ones. In everybody’s business and gossiping about everything. Plus, there was this lecherous old man who played pocket hockey all the time and he had me laughing out loud. Dirty Old Man.

This isn’t some deep, heavy reading material, but it was fun for what it was. I recommend it if you’re looking for a light read for the beach or other summer vacation spot.

4 out of 5

This book is available from Mira. You can buy it here.

Walker Brothers

four-stars


Tagged: , , , , , , ,

What Are You Reading? (+ Iris Johansen Giveaway)

Posted May 3, 2019 by Casee in Features, Giveaways | 7 Comments

Casee: I was hoping to start May out strong, but I have not read nor listened to one word. When I do decide to read, I’m going to finish reading Wild Man (Dream Man #2) by Kristen Ashley. I know if I sit down with this book for ten minutes that I will be hooked. The inclination to do that just hasn’t been there. Very disappointing.

I was trying to listen to Cold-Hearted Rake (The Ravenels #1) by Lisa Kleypas, but had put that aside. I have succumbed to peer pressure. I would be ashamed, but at my age I’m beyond that. I’m going to start listening to Clean Sweep (Innkeeper Chronicles #1) by Ilona Andrews as soon as I feel like listening to audiobooks again. Again, the inclination to listen to audiobooks just hasn’t been there. I have no idea why. I am going to try.

Holly: I finally finished Getting Hot with the Scot by Melonie Johnson. It was just okay. The heroine frustrated me for the majority of the book, but I did come to like it in the end. Aside from that I re-read The Will and Fairytale Come Alive by Kristen Ashley and re-listened to Repeat by Kylie Scott and Sweep in Peace by Ilona Andrews.

Rowena: I’ve been hella busy being on a family vacation in Utah and not reading so I didn’t get anything read until yesterday. I finished Frost Burned (Mercy Thompson #7) by Patricia Briggs and I really enjoyed that one. I need to stay on top of that series because I want to read Storm Cursed that comes out soon.

Yesterday, I read Passion on Park Avenue (The Central Park Pact #1) by Lauren Layne and that was another fun rom com that was delightful. There weren’t any sex scenes in the book at all but that didn’t bother me any, the chemistry and dialogue and just the overall story had me hooked. I can’t wait to read Claire and Scott’s book next!

Right after Passion on Park Avenue, I jumped into The Austen Playbook (London Celebrities #4) by Lucy Parker and that’s what I’m reading right now. Right after this book, which should be a quick read, I’ll be reading American Witch (American Witch #1) by Thea Harrison for our feature review for this month. I’m also planning on reading Love, Chloe by Alessandra Torre over the weekend. Fingers crossed.

Giveaway Alert

We are very fortunate here at Book Binge. We have loads and loads of books to read and we want to share the wealth so each week, we’ll be tacking on a Freebie Friday giveaway to our What Are You Reading posts. This week, we’re giving away…

What Are You Reading? (+ Iris Johansen Giveaway)Shattered Mirror by Iris Johansen
Series: Eve Duncan #23
Publisher: St. Martin's Press
Publication Date: November 27, 2018
Format: Print
Genres: Thriller
Pages: 464
Add It: Goodreads
Amazon | Barnes & Noble | The Ripped Bodice | Google Play Books

From the #1 New York Times bestselling author comes Shattered Mirror, a new explosive thriller featuring forensic sculptor Eve Duncan.

Iris Johansen returns with a thrilling novel of action and danger where fan favorite Eve Duncan is thrown once more into a deadly game of intrigue. It begins when Eve receives a package containing a skull—and instructions for Eve to do her work reconstructing it. When she does, a beautiful woman’s face emerges. But when Eve is introduced to the dead woman’s mirror image, a game is on where her twin’s life hangs in the balance.


 
 
 
 
 
 

What Are You Reading: Shattered Mirror by Iris Johansen

What are you reading this week? Any new favorites or books that drove you crazy? Share!


Tagged: , , , ,

Throwback Thursday Review: Mine Till Midnight by Lisa Kleypas

Posted April 18, 2019 by Rowena in Reviews | 6 Comments

Throwback Thursday Review: Mine Till Midnight by Lisa KleypasReviewer: Rowena
Mine Till Midnight by Lisa Kleypas
Series: The Hathaways #1
Also in this series: Tempt Me at Twilight, Married By Morning, Love In The Afternoon
Publisher: St. Martin's Press
Publication Date: October 2nd 2007
Format: Print
Source: Purchased
Point-of-View: Alternating Third
Cliffhanger: View Spoiler »
Content Warning: View Spoiler »
Genres: Historical Romance
Pages: 376
Add It: Goodreads
Amazon | Barnes & Noble | The Ripped Bodice | Google Play Books
four-stars
Series Rating: four-stars

When an unexpected inheritance elevates her family to the ranks of the aristocracy, Amelia Hathaway discovers that tending to her younger sisters and wayward brother was easy compared to navigating the intricacies of the ton. Even more challenging: the attraction she feels for the tall, dark, and dangerously handsome Cam Rohan.

Wealthy beyond most men’s dreams, Cam has tired of society’s petty restrictions and longs to return to his “uncivilized” Gypsy roots. When the delectable Amelia appeals to him for help, he intends to offer only friendship—but intentions are no match for the desire that blindsides them both. But can a man who spurns tradition be tempted into that most time-honored arrangement: marriage? Life in London society is about to get a whole lot hotter...

Every Thursday, we’ll be posting throwback reviews of our favorite and not-so-favorite books. Enjoy!

This review was originally posted on October 24, 2007.

In Mine till Midnight, Cam Rohan, the sexy Gypsy man from Devil in Winter get his happily ever after. I remember meeting Cam in DIW, trying to seduce my favorite Wallflower, Daisy. I knew that Cam wasn’t right for Daisy but I knew that he was a man that I wanted to read about in a later book…and that book came a few weeks ago when I picked up this book for Holly and myself at our So Cal Blogger Meet Up. Man, but I was a happy camper when I finally got to sit down and read another Lisa Kleypas book.

Like Meg Cabot, I heart Lisa Kleypas.

She totally rocks my socks.

Lisa scores again big time in my book because she wrote a wonderfully entertaining story about two characters who were so perfect for each other.

Casee already reviewed this book and gave a rundown of the book, here so check hers out, here, I’m going to just jump right into the review…

I already knew I was going to love Cam Rohan and I totally did in this book. I mean, Cam was everything a hero should be. Strong and dependable, sexy as all get out and charming too. I loved the way he loved Amelia, the sweet things he would whisper to her in bed in his native language. I loved the way he took care of her, whisked her problems off of her shoulders and just handled it. He was a man’s man and he took care of his woman and hot damn that is just so effing sexy. I loved the way he was with Amelia’s sisters and most especially, Amelia’s brother, Leo. He dragged Leo where Leo needed to and I just loved how he swooped right into this family and took care of them as if they were already his family. I loved that he did all of that, simply for Amelia.

Say it with me now…..Awwwwwwwwwwwwwwww!

I loved Cam’s jealousy over Christopher Frost, I loved the way Cam was always around to take care of Amelia but also to show her how sexy she was because she totally didn’t see herself the way others did and it was good that Cam brought out her inner wanton wench, hehe. I seriously loved these two.

Amelia was a bossy bit of goods with the weight of the world on her shoulders. She took it upon herself to take care of her younger sisters and to look out for her grieving brother after her parents died and when her brother inherited the Ramsey title. She was so perfect for Cam because he needed a family to take care of, a family to call his own and she, well she needed someone to take care of her for once…and that’s where Cam came in.

I enjoyed the heck out of the Hathaway clan and even though Leo was a major pain in the behind, I liked him. I would enjoy a story between Merripen or “Kev” and Win. They deserve a bit of happiness together, don’t you think? I also rather enjoyed the younger sisters, Beatrix and Poppy, although I did feel bad for Poppy because what kind of name is that? It makes me think of muffins for breakfast, not a beautiful young debutante…but hey, whatever rocks your socks, Amelia’s parents.

Anyway, Lisa Kleypas did a great job of pulling me into this story and taking me on an enjoyable ride. I enjoyed the story, the banter between the hero and the heroine, I enjoyed the secondary characters and storylines and really, I just enjoyed the hell out of this book and I totally recommend this book to those of you guys who have read the Wallflower series, it’s a great addition and lots of fun to read. It was also great to see some recurring characters from the other books in this story as well, even if it wasn’t Derek….hehe.

Kudos to LK for a job well done on this book because it’s a keeper for me for sure!

Grade: 4 out of 5

The Hathaways

four-stars


Tagged: , , , , , , ,