Format: Print

What Are You Reading? (+ Caroline Linden Giveaway)

Posted September 14, 2018 by Casee in Features, Giveaways | 17 Comments

WAYR-New

Casee: I am currently reading White Hot by Ilona Andrews. I immediately picked it up after reading Burn for Me because this series is ah-maze-ing. I love it! I’m only sad that it is only three books. I see that there is going to be a continuation with one of Nevada’s sisters, but how can anyone be as great as Nevada? I suppose it might be possible because the whole family is just fantastic. I love the dynamics between them. The series really does revolve around family. They’re always there for each other. Not to mention Mad Rogan. sigh

I’m also listening to Monster in the Closet by Karen Rose. I haven’t read her books for 2-3 years. The sheer number of pages has been daunting to me. I honestly don’t know why I had a problem because she is such a good writer. I’m always sucked in. I was surprised that the audiobook was just as good as reading it. It helps that the narrator is so good.

Holly: I rounded out my Jennifer Ashley re-read with The Seduction of Elliot McBride this week. I remember liking the book the first time I read it, but I absolutely adored it this time around. I don’t know if it was my reading mood or what, but it worked for me on every level. Then I read Touch the Sky by Kari Cole, which I learned after I started is the second book in the series. Oops. Still, the premise is interesting and I wasn’t too lost.

For audiobooks, I listened to Part-Time Lover and The Sexy One by Lauren Blakely. She’s fast becoming a favorite author. I’ve yet to read a book I didn’t really like. These are, for the most part, mature contemporary romances. Not a lot of drama, just two adults falling in love. They’re really working for me right now. I also listened to For the Love of English by A.M. Hargrove, a single dad contemporary romance. I liked the little girl, English, and the romance, but the external plot featuring the bio-mom was dumb. Still, her writing was good so I’d be willing to read more.

I starting sorting through my enormous TBR pile and pulled some books out. I started Take My Breath Away and Light My Fire by Christie Ridgway (Currently FREE for Kindle). I’m getting ready to start Feral Magic by Robin D. Owens in audio.

Rowena: This week was a pretty great reading week for me. I read a good stack of books and I’m looking forward to reading some more great books this coming week. I finished For the Dukes Eyes Only by Lenora Bell and that was a fabulous read. Both Daniel and India were a great couple and I enjoyed their bickering journey to true love. I really like Lenora Bell’s writing style. After that, I listened to Meet Me at the Cupcake Cafe by Jenny Colgan and though it was a good story and the narrator was great, I didn’t fully connect with Izzy and the rest of the cast. First, there were too many POV’s for me to keep up with and second, I kept waiting for something to happen but nothing substantial really does. Izzy opens up a bakery and she runs it while falling in love with the guy from the bank that gave her a business loan. Big whoop.

After that, I devoured Long Shot by Kennedy Ryan for a buddy review that I’m doing with Ames, which I found out isn’t until next month so I’m really early with that. Haha. This book was so stinkin’ good but it wasn’t an easy story to read. I had hella anxiety while reading it but never have I ever rooted for someone to get their happiest of ever afters as I have for Iris DuPree. August West and Iris DuPree were everything. After that, I read the next book in the Hoops series, Block Shot by Kennedy Ryan and enjoyed that one as well. Not as much as Long Shot, but still I enjoyed Jared and Banner’s story.

Now, I’m listening to Seduction of a Highland Lass by Maya Banks because I am excited to continue the MacCabe Trilogy with Alaric’s story. After that, I will be reading The Duke Buys a Bride by Sophie Jordan for my book club next week. Gotta get prepared for that. I hope it’s good.

Giveaway Alert

We are very fortunate here at Book Binge. We have loads and loads of books to read and we want to share the wealth so each week, we’ll be tacking on a Freebie Friday giveaway to our What Are You Reading posts. This week, we’re giving away…

What Are You Reading? (+ Caroline Linden Giveaway)My Once and Future Duke (The Wagers of Sin, #1) by Caroline Linden
Series: The Wagers of Sin #1
Publisher: Avon
Publication Date: February 27, 2018
Format: Print
Source: Publisher
Point-of-View: Third
Genres: Historical Romance
Pages: 384
Amazon | Barnes & Noble | The Ripped Bodice | Google Play Books
Goodreads


What happens at the infamous Vega Club . . .

Sophie Campbell is determined to be mistress of her own fate. Surviving on her skill at cards, she never risks what she can’t afford to lose. Yet when the Duke of Ware proposes a scandalous wager that’s too extravagant to refuse, she can’t resist. If she wins, she’ll get five thousand pounds, enough to secure her independence forever.


Stays at the Vega Club . . .

Jack Lindeville, Duke of Ware, tells himself he’s at the Vega Club merely to save his reckless brother from losing everything, but he knows it’s a lie. He can’t keep his eyes off Sophie, and to get her he breaks his ironclad rule against gambling. If he wins, he wants her—for a week.


Until now.

A week with Jack could ruin what’s left of Sophie’s reputation. It might even cost her her heart. But when it comes to love, all bets are off . . .

What Are You Reading: My Once and Future Duke

What are you reading this week? Any new favorites or books that drove you crazy? Share!


Tagged: , , , ,

Summer Reading Challenge Review: Satisfaction by Lexi Blake

Posted September 14, 2018 by Holly in Reviews | 2 Comments

Summer Reading Challenge Review: Satisfaction by Lexi BlakeReviewer: Holly
Satisfaction (Lawless, #2) by Lexi Blake
Series: Lawless #2
Also in this series: Ruthless, Satisfaction, Satisfaction (Lawless #2), Revenge, Revenge
Publisher: Berkley
Publication Date: January 3, 2017
Format: Print
Source: Purchased
Point-of-View: Alternating Third
Genres: Contemporary Romance
Pages: 384
Amazon | Barnes & Noble | The Ripped Bodice | Google Play Books
Goodreads
one-half-stars

The sizzling second novel in a sexy new contemporary romance series featuring the Lawless siblings—from New York Times bestselling author Lexi Blake.


Brandon Lawless is a man on a mission: obtain the information that will clear his father’s name. He’s willing to do whatever it takes—even seduce his enemy’s personal assistant, the beautiful and innocent Carly Hendricks. But with her beguiling smile and captivating intelligence, Brandon soon realizes he doesn’t want to deceive Carly, he wants to win her over—both in the boardroom and the bedroom.   Then a twisted crime leaves Carly vulnerable and Brandon finds himself reeling. The stakes of his mission are now life or death—Carly’s life. And Brandon realizes he’s lost his heart to an amazing woman and his plan must succeed, because the stakes are no longer just revenge, but a once in a lifetime love.

Satisfaction is the second book in Lexi Blake’s Lawless series. The series features four siblings who are on a quest to avenge their parents’ death and clear their father’s name.

Twenty years ago their father was accused of murdering their mother, then killing himself after setting fire to the house while the kids were inside it. Drew Lawless, the eldest, was able to get his siblings out, but he couldn’t save his parents. He knows his father didn’t kill himself or their mother, and he’s spent 20 years working to get in a place to prove his father’s innocence, and exact revenge on his four partners, who Drew believes murdered him and set him up. Bran, the youngest brother, got placed into foster care. Unlike his sister, Mia, who was adopted, Bran got shuffled around from place to place. Before Drew could get to him, something tragic happened and a girl lost her life. Bran holds himself responsible and, since then, has played knight-in-shining armor to down on their luck women – mostly strippers.

Drew’s latest focus is Patricia Cain, a formidable executive who runs a home and garden type magazine and cooking show. Drew’s plan is simple – seduce Patricia’s assistant, Carly, so they can get access to her home where her private files are stored. Only Bran has other ideas. After his sister-in-law was used, Bran wants to bring Carly in on their plan instead of pretending to be interested in her. He takes Drew’s place and tells Carly the whole story, hoping she’ll be willing to help.

Carly is stuck working for Patricia. Two years ago her now ex-husband embezzled a million dollars from Patricia’s company. He also set her younger sister up as a patsy. Patricia has been blackmailing Carly ever since. Because Carly isn’t just her personal assistant, she’s also the creative genius behind all of Patricia’s recipes. Carly can’t quit without Patricia having her sister arrested, but she can help the Lawless family get the proof they need to convict her.

Unfortunately, her ex-husband ran up some debt with the mafia before he went to prison, and they’re trying to collect from her. They make a deal – Carly will help Bran get access to Patricia if he’ll help her deal with her current situation. As they try to find proof of Patricia’s culpability and clear his father’s name, while trying to keep Carly safe, they also have to battle their attraction for one another. Carly isn’t interested in another relationship after she got so royally screwed the last time and Bran knows he isn’t worthy of more than a short term affair.

The first couple chapters of the book really pulled me in. Drew had set it up so he and Carly were matched on a dating site and Bran took his place at their first date. He was upfront and honest with her about why he was there, and I really liked how quick he was to bring her into the family fold. Unfortunately, it fell apart shortly after that. The suspense plot was weak, and both Carly and Bran made so many rookie mistakes it was like watching my six-year-old investigate a twenty year old murder. That wasn’t even the worst part, though. It was how immature, insecure and emotionally stunted they both were.

Bran doesn’t feel like he belongs with the family. He isn’t worthy to be a Lawless or have a relationship with his siblings – or anyone else for that matter – because of something that happened to him in one of the foster homes he was in. Despite everyone telling him they love him and want him around, he spends the entire book feeling sorry for himself and like no one wants him.

“He would never do that and you know it.” Because he felt guilty. They all did. Bran had gotten the short end of a shitty stick, and his siblings all felt bad about it. It was why they put up with him.

The.Entire.Effing.Book.

“Don’t worry about it, Bran. It’s going to be okay.” No, it wasn’t. Eventually everyone would get sick of putting up with his shit and he would be on his own again.

He’s either lashing out at everyone, getting into fist fights to “work out his anger” or feeling sad that no one wants him. He’s not 12, y’all. He’s a grown ass, 30-something man.

If that wasn’t bad enough, Carly was just as insecure and whiny. Her go-to was how everyone took advantage of her. Every time Bran looked at her, it was because she was fat and ugly and he was just pretending. Conversely, every time he didn’t look at her (or pay attention to her), it was because she was fat and ugly and he was just pretending.

“Did you think flirting with the fat chick was a public service? Is that how you view it?”

She does things like push him away, the try to kiss him. When he rolls away she throws a massive hissy fit because he doesn’t want her anymore.

“I tried to get you to make love to me and I got hurt when you pretty much jumped away as soon as you could.”

Uh..you kissed him once after you told him to leave you alone. That isn’t exactly trying to get him to make love to you.

“You haven’t touched me in a week. I get it. The physical part isn’t something you want anymore. Maybe you never did.”

She’s an adult, ffs. Yet she keeps jumping to all these conclusions and saying all this stupid shit. I swear I wanted to karate chop her in the throat.

And let’s not even get me started on how she kept thinking about him as a puppy. “Puppy needs some affection.” “Puppy needed to be domesticated.” WTAF?!?! Like he’s not a person?

The suspense plot surrounding the parents was predictable and, as I mentioned above, very poorly handled. They thought they were being sneaky and clever, but trust me. They weren’t. The plot twist at the end came as no surprise to me. I saw it coming from a mile away.

I’m low key curious about Drew and Shelby, a reporter Carly befriended who is also trying to take down Patricia Cain. But I have a feeling their story would frustrate me even more than this one did.

I’ll be honest, if I hadn’t committed to finishing the book for our Summer Reading Challenge, I would have DNF’d it less than halfway through.

1.5 out of 5 (the .5 because I liked some of the secondary characters)

Lawless

one-half-stars


Tagged: , , , , , , , , , ,

Throwback Thursday Review: A Lady’s Guide to Improper Behavior by Suzanne Enoch.

Posted September 13, 2018 by Rowena in Reviews | 9 Comments

Throwback Thursday Review: A Lady’s Guide to Improper Behavior by Suzanne Enoch.Reviewer: Rowena
The Care and Taming of a Rogue (Adventurers’ Club, #1) by Suzanne Enoch
Series: Adventurers' Club #1
Publisher: Avon
Publication Date: October 27, 2009
Format: Print
Source: Purchased
Point-of-View: Third
Genres: Historical Romance
Pages: 371
Amazon | Barnes & Noble | The Ripped Bodice | Google Play Books
Goodreads
four-half-stars

New York Times bestselling author Suzanne Enoch kicks off a new Regency romance series, in which adventure and heart-stopping romance go hand in hand, in The Care and Taming of a Rogue. Rugged adventurer Bennett Wolfe, once presumed dead, has returned to London. He only has eyes for the exceedingly proper Philippa . . . and so she must teach him some manners before temptation sweeps her away . . .

Every Thursday, we’ll be posting throwback reviews of our favorite and not-so-favorite books. Enjoy!

This review was originally posted on May 11, 2010.

Suzanne Enoch is fast becoming one of my go to authors for witty historical novels. To date, I’ve read 4 of her books and have enjoyed each book immensely. This book was no different. It’s weird how I’ll read three books in a row that have the same kind of storyline going on and once again, this time it was no different.

I just finished reading Rachel Gibson’s Nothing But Trouble where the hero was in a horrible car accident and he was unable to walk without the aid of a cane. In this story, the hero, Bartholomew “Tolly” James is recovering from being injured while fighting for his country. He’s not the same Tolly that his family remembers from before the war and to be honest, he’s not. He went through some stuff that nobody should have gone through and he survived it and the events that led him to where he was changed him irrevocably. All he wants now is to stay at his club and to be left alone but because his family is searching for him, its bringing unwanted attention to his club so he has to go home and make nice with them so that they know that he’s alive and as close to well as humanly possible.

He goes home to dinner and tries to be the most obnoxious toad he can be so that they’ll be scandalized and he’ll be able to disappear and suffer in peace but it doesn’t work because his sister in law’s cousin, Theresa Weller puts him in his place and piques his interest and he can’t help but be drawn to her. So he finds himself going to this ball that he knows she’s going to be at so that he can find out what about her intrigues him so much aside from her obvious beauty and it’s while they’re trying to find out why they’re so drawn to each other that I absolutely fell in love with both Tess and Tolly.

I thought they were perfect for each other and Enoch did a fantastic job of keeping me excited for more. I mean, you could tell that these two didn’t even like each other to begin with but the more they were around each other, the more curious they became of the other and the more they couldn’t stay away from each other. I loved the way Tolly didn’t trust anyone but for some unexplainable reason, he trusted Tess and then I loved the way Tess slowly came to life with every moment she spent with Tolly. They brought out the best in each other and I loved that about them.

Tolly was a surly bastard but with ample reason. He’s been through Hell and now he’s back and trying to get accustomed to being back. He spends his days and his nights in pain, he can’t walk right and he just wants to be left alone but when Theresa Weller comes into his life, it’s like she breathed life back into him because it’s through her that he realizes he’ll get a second chance at living. It’s through her that he realizes he actually wants a second chance at living.

I thought this book was sweet and too cute for words. I adored both Tolly and Tess and I can’t wait to read more from this series. I wonder who’s going to get their book next. I’m actually pretty stoked about it too. I want more! I’m hoping the Duke that helps Tolly out gets his own book, he sounds like he’d be dangerous and smexy. So yeah, being the greedy bitch that I am, I want more! This book was great and it had all of the makings of an entertaining read. You won’t want to miss it!

Grade: 4.5 out of 5

Adventurers’ Club

four-half-stars


Tagged: , , , , , ,

What Are You Reading? (+ Tara Thomas Giveaway)

Posted September 7, 2018 by Rowena in Features | 16 Comments

WAYR-New

Casee: I finished up Order of Protection by Lexi Blake, which I didn’t love. I’m really bummed about that. I wanted to love it. Look for my review soon. Now I’m reading Burn for Me by Ilona Andrews, which is one of Rowena’s picks for me in the Summer Reading Challenge. I am LOVING it! I love it so much that I don’t even notice that it’s in first person. I can’t even put my finger on exactly why I like it so much. It’s just good reading. I love what a strong character Nevada is. I am also really enjoying the family dynamic.

I just finished Harry Potter and the Chamber of Secrets on audio. I am really enjoying this series. Though even after finish up the second book, I have to say that I don’t really understand the Harry Potter craze. What am I missing?

I just checked out The Woman Left Behind by Linda Howard in audio from my library. I’m really enjoying listening to audio books. I didn’t realize how much time I spend in the car until the last few weeks. It’s pretty sad.

Holly: I did a lot of re-reading this week. Mainly because I started listening to Jennifer Ashley’s Mackenzie series on audio. I listened to The Madness of Lord Ian Mackenzie, Lady Isabella’s Scandalous Marriage and I’m currently listening to The Duke’s Perfect Wife. I skipped The Many Sins of Lord Cameron because it’s a rather dark book and I wasn’t in the mood. This is such a great series and I’m really enjoying the narrator. I also re-read The Will and Complicated by Kristen Ashley.

I finished reading Getting Schooled by Emma Chase, which was hilarious. For our Summer Reading Challenge I read Satisfaction by Lexi Blake, which I didn’t care for at all. The insecure, whiny main protags made me want to bang my head against the wall.

I’m going to start reading Phoenix Unbound by Grace Draven today. I have a full list of books I want to read over the weekend. Wish me luck?

Rowena: It was a long weekend for us here in the states so I had Monday off but that was spent doing family things and then the rest of the week was pretty busy. I had doctors appointments, health classes and my best friend Theresa had surgery that I was on hand for to talk to doctors, nurses and help her figure out her insurance stuff. You know, best friend duties.

I didn’t a lot of reading done but I read some. I finished Untamed by Pamela Clare, which I liked then I read Beyond the Night by Joss Ware which was another solid romance, I listened to Say You’ll Stay by Corinne Michaels and that book pissed me off so I doubt that I’ll read any of the other books in that series even though I liked the secondary characters fine. I also did a re-read of The Lion’s Lady and Guardian Angel by Julie Garwood and it’s been ages since I read either book and I really liked The Lion’s Lady a lot more than I did before. Christina is the best! Guardian Angel was just as solid and entertaining as it’s always been for me so I was happy that I re-read those books.

Now, I’ll be jumping into For the Duke’s Eyes Only by Lenora Bell and I hope that it’s a good one.

Giveaway Alert

We are very fortunate here at Book Binge. We have loads and loads of books to read and we want to share the wealth so each week, we’ll be tacking on a Freebie Friday giveaway to our What Are You Reading posts. This week, we’re giving away…

What Are You Reading? (+ Tara Thomas Giveaway)Darkest Night (Sons of Broad #1) by Tara Thomas
Series: Sons of Broad #1
Publisher: St. Martin's Press
Publication Date: February 27, 2018
Format: Print
Source: Publisher
Genres: Romantic Suspense
Pages: 247
Amazon | Barnes & Noble | The Ripped Bodice | Google Play Books
Goodreads

In this first novel in the explosive, brand-new romantic suspense Sons of Broad series from Tara Thomas comes a novel of deadly secrets and hidden danger. In the sultry streets of Charleston, one family, ruled by its powerful, take-no-prisoners sons, has risen to the top. But a merciless killer is out to destroy them…and everyone they hold close…

Exclusive bonus content available only in the print edition!

SHE THOUGHT SHE’D LOST HIM FOREVERTilly Brock has learned—the hard way—how to take care of herself. Once a pillar of Charleston society, her family lost everything in the wake of a shocking scandal. And then Tilly lost the only boy she ever loved.

BUT NOW THAT HE’S BACK IN HER LIFEKeaton Benedict is Charleston’s most notorious bachelor. But in spite of all his advantages—the money, the women,the family name—he longs for more: the heart of the young woman he still can’t forget.

THE DANGER HAS JUST BEGUN…When Keaton re-enters Tilly’s life, after all these years, she is torn between feelings of doubt and desire. Can they put the past behind them and learn to love again? Tilly is willing to try. But Keaton is afraid that a vengeful enemy is watching—and waiting to destroy them. Can the rekindled flame of their love defeat the deadliest rival and light their way forward in the darkest night?

What Are You Reading: Darkest Night

What are you reading this week? Any new favorites or books that drove you crazy? Share!


Tagged: , , , ,