Format: eBook

Summer Reading Challenge Review: Burn for Me by Ilona Andrews

Posted September 18, 2018 by Casee in Reviews | 2 Comments

Summer Reading Challenge Review: Burn for Me by Ilona AndrewsReviewer: Casee
Burn for Me (Hidden Legacy, #1) by Ilona Andrews
Series: Hidden Legacy #1
Also in this series: Burn for Me (Hidden Legacy, #1), Wildfire, White Hot, White Hot (Hidden Legacy, #2), Burn for Me (Hidden Legacy, #1), White Hot (Hidden Legacy, #2), Wildfire (Hidden Legacy, #3)
Publisher: Avon
Publication Date: October 28, 2014
Format: eBook
Point-of-View: First
Genres: Urban Fantasy
Pages: 382
Amazon | Barnes & Noble | The Ripped Bodice | Google Play Books
Goodreads
four-half-stars

#1 New York Times bestselling author Ilona Andrews launches a brand new Hidden Legacy series, in which one woman must place her trust in a seductive, dangerous man who sets off an even more dangerous desire…

Nevada Baylor is faced with the most challenging case of her detective career—a suicide mission to bring in a suspect in a volatile case. Nevada isn’t sure she has the chops. Her quarry is a Prime, the highest rank of magic user, who can set anyone and anything on fire.

Then she’s kidnapped by Connor “Mad” Rogan—a darkly tempting billionaire with equally devastating powers. Torn between wanting to run or surrender to their overwhelming attraction, Nevada must join forces with Rogan to stay alive.

Rogan’s after the same target, so he needs Nevada. But she’s getting under his skin, making him care about someone other than himself for a change. And, as Rogan has learned, love can be as perilous as death, especially in the magic world.

Holy crap, I loved this book!!! Now I can’t decide which book is my favorite of this challenge. Is it The Deal or Burn for Me? As of this moment, I would have to say Burn for Me, but honestly, that’s probably because I just finished it.

Nevada Baylor runs Baylor Investigations. They are a small, family based PI firm in Houston. In this series, the world is magical. No, it’s literally magical. Almost everyone in the world wields some sort of magic. The more magic you have, the more powerful you are. There are Houses, which are families of magic users. There are Notables, Significants, and Primes. Adam Pierce is a pyrokinetic Prime. He’s bad. Very bad. When the firm that owns the mortgage to Baylor Investigations tells Nevada that it’s her job to bring Adam safely back to his family, she immediately knows that she’s expected to fail. How is she supposed to bring in a Prime that can breathe fire? Yep, she’s expected to fail, but MII can feel confident that they sent someone after Adam. A company with a solid reputation. Nevada wasn’t born yesterday. She knows what the score is.

Now her job is to get close to Adam without getting killed. Nevada doesn’t have much magic. She can tell if people are telling the truth when they are asked a question. Nothing spectacular. Certainly nothing that will protect her from Adam Pierce. Even dealing with Adam doesn’t prepare her for Mad Rogan. Mad Rogan is someone that is spoken of in whispers. Parents tell their kids about him to scare them. Unfortunately, Mad Rogan wants exactly what Nevada wants. Adam Pierce. And he wants them to work together. Nevada is instantly and hotly attracted to him and hates herself for it. As far as she can tell, the man has no empathy, kills without thought, and will use her and throw her away as soon as he tires of her.

So why did I love this book? Nevada was kick ass. She was just an incredible heroine. She is just ordinary compared to Adam and Mad Rogan, yet she went toe-to-toe with both of them and lived to tell about it. I loved her wit and her self-deprecating sense of humor. When other women looked at her and found her wanting:

They dismissed me as a peasant, I dismissed them as shallow, and we were all happy like that.

Or…

If I could, I would punch today right in the face.

She was just my kind of heroine. She was just the perfect amount of serious. And although I really enjoyed Mad Rogan, it was really Nevada that made me love this book as much as I did. I can’t wait to see what happens in White Hot, which I’ve already started. Oh and I didn’t even notice the first person at all. Kudos to Ilona Andrews for that.

Rating: 4.5 out of 5.

P.S. Thank you, Rowena!

Hidden Legacy

four-half-stars


Tagged: , , , , , ,

Summer Reading Challenge Review: Beyond the Night by Joss Ware

Posted September 17, 2018 by Rowena in Reviews | 0 Comments

Summer Reading Challenge Review: Beyond the Night by Joss WareReviewer: Rowena
Beyond the Night (The Heroes of New Vegas #1) by Joss Ware, Colleen Gleason
Series: The Heroes of New Vegas #1
Also in this series: Beyond the Night, Embrace the Night , Beyond the Night, Abandon the Night
Publisher: Avon
Publication Date: January 12, 2010
Format: eBook
Source: Purchased
Point-of-View: Alternating Third Person
Genres: Dystopian
Pages: 357
Amazon | Barnes & Noble | The Ripped Bodice | Google Play Books
Goodreads
four-stars

A man with no future . . .

When Dr. Elliott Drake wakes from a mysterious fifty-year sleep, the world as he knew it is gone. Cities are now desolate, and civilization is controlled by deadly immortals. Stranger still is Elliott's extraordinary new "gift"--he has the power to heal, but it comes with fatal consequences.

A woman with a past . . .

Jade barely escaped the immortals and is now hell-bent on revenge. She trusts no one . . . until Elliott. His piercing gaze and tempting touch shatter her defenses, but the handsome doctor seems to have dangerous secrets of his own. Is it safe to trust him with her heart?

If they are to survive in this dark new world, Jade and Elliott must work together to fight the forces that take them beyond danger. Beyond desire.

This is the last book on my summer reading challenge and to be honest, I would never have read this book on my own. I do enjoy a nice dystopian romance from time to time (with a lot of time in between) but I don’t know, I just wasn’t ever interested in trying this series out and I’m sorry about that because this was a solid story.

So this story takes place in the future, a future that doesn’t look anything like the world we know. It’s run by creatures called Gangas and they’re like zombies that wear strange looking crystals. When Dr. Elliott Drake and his friends went to Sedona to explore some caves, they didn’t expect to come out of those caves and find the world they knew and loved…gone. It’s been six months and they’re nowhere near close to figuring out how to get back to their world. They’re dealing with each day as they come and doing their best to stay alive.

Elliott was a doctor in his previous life so it’s not a surprise that he took on the role of healer in their little group. What is a surprise is that in this new world, Elliott has healing superpowers. He’s a human MRI machine that can scan people and know what their injuries are. He’s also learning new things about his new abilities, like how he can take someone’s injuries into himself and then transfer them to someone else. It’s kind of freaky but he’s learning and he’s dealing and I really dug this part of the story.

When a group of teenagers needs rescuing from the Gangas, Elliott and his friends help them out but so does a mysterious woman who rides in on a horse and gets herself injured. Elliott helps her and is immediately attracted to her. Her name is Jade and she (along with the teenagers) are from Envy, the place that Elliott and his friends are trying to get to. When they band together to get to Envy, things really start to take off.

There’s a lot going on in this book but I thought Ware did a great job of telling Elliott and Jade’s story without bogging the story down with details. It’s the first book in a series so of course there are a lot of questions and a lot of things don’t make sense but the more I read, the more interested I was in learning what was going on.

Readers are treated to a unique world with a unique set of characters that you will be rooting for. The romance for Elliott and Jade was probably the weakest part of the story because they did a whole lot of inappropriate lusting over each other at the weirdest times but that didn’t stop me from enjoying the book as a whole. There’s a lot to enjoy in this book and that’s saying something from someone who didn’t even want to read this book.

Casee, you did good with this recommendation. I am mighty curious about the other books in this series and I will definitely be reading them.

Grade: 4 out of 5

Heroes of New Vegas

four-stars


Tagged: , , , , , , ,

Review: Order of Protection by Lexi Blake

Posted September 14, 2018 by Casee in Reviews | 2 Comments

Review: Order of Protection by Lexi BlakeReviewer: Casee
Order of Protection (Courting Justice #1) by Lexi Blake
Series: Courting Justice #1
Publisher: Berkley
Publication Date: June 5, 2018
Format: eBook
Source: Publisher
Point-of-View: Third
Genres: Contemporary Romance
Pages: 336
Amazon | Barnes & Noble | The Ripped Bodice | Google Play Books
Goodreads
three-stars

A sexy and suspenseful new contemporary romance from New York Times bestselling author Lexi Blake where love and law entwine for a conviction of the heart.

To high-end defense attorney Henry Garrison, Win Hughes is a woman he met during one of the most trying times of his life. She's soft and warm, and he finds solace in their brief relationship. But Win has a secret. She's actually Taylor Winston-Hughes—born to one of the wealthiest families in the country, orphaned as a child by a tragic accident. Win moves in the wealthiest circles, but her lavish lifestyle hides her pain.

When her best friend is murdered in the midst of a glittering New York gala, Win's charged with the crime, and the only person in the world she wants to see is Henry.

Henry is shocked at the true identity of his lover, but he can't reject the case. This trial could take his new firm into the stratosphere. Still, he's not getting burned by Win again. And yet every turn brings them closer together.

As the case takes a wild turn and Win's entire life is upended, she must look to the people she's closest to in order to find a killer. And Henry must decide between making his case and saving the woman he loves...

I really wanted to love this book because I adore Lexi Blake. Have I said that before? I adore Lexi Blake. She only has two series that I haven’t read and I need to rectify that. Stat. So I was really excited when this book came out. I loved the Lawless series so I thought this would be along the same lines. It was and wasn’t. It started out super, super slow. It had promise in the beginning, it really did.

Henry Garrison (I totally just drew a blank on his name and had to look it up on GR) is at his grandfather’s beach house on Martha’s Vineyard getting it ready to sell. After an acrimonious split from his now ex-wife, Henry has to sell his grandfather’s beach house to pay her off. Henry has been on the wagon for six months or so, but packing up the house has him ready to hit the bottle. Then he sees woman take a spill right outside the house. He heads to her rescue, which is laughable considering he can’t even rescue himself. She is Win Hughes and Henry is immediately intrigued although she is substantially younger than him. The problem is that Henry doesn’t know who she really is. If he did, he would have never let her through the front door.

Known as the Billion Dollar Baby, Taylor Winston-Hughes can’t get away from the spotlight. She can’t deny that she put herself in it when she went on a reality show. That went badly when she ended up in rehab for anorexia. When she meets Henry she’s not in the best place she’s ever been, but she is drawn to him nonetheless. She can tell he feels the same. Conveniently a bad storm hits and they are stuck at Henry’s.

So what ends up happening is Win and Henry end up spending two glorious weeks together and then they go their separate way with Henry not knowing Win’s true identity. Win texts Henry a few times, but he doesn’t return the texts. He finally decides to return her texts and he gets a bomb dropped on him. Win is the Billion Dollar Baby. She travels in the same world as his ex-wife. The world that nearly destroyed him. The world he will not return to for anyone or anything in the world. The problem is that Win has been arrested for murder. A case like this could make Henry’s new firm.

Henry was so annoying. He just couldn’t get over who Win was. It’s not like it was her fault. She couldn’t help who she was or who her parents were. He would not let her forget that he would never forgive her. He just wouldn’t let up on her. It got really old. I really liked how Win handled it. She didn’t cry or beg. She just let him feel the way he felt. Of course when push came to shove, Henry couldn’t leave her alone. Still, he didn’t think it could work out in the end so he would sleep with her while she was a suspect but as soon as she was cleared and moved out of his house, he was going to cut her loose. What an ASS. Seriously. Ugh.

I’m honestly not in a rush to read the second book. It’s about one of Henry’s partner. I don’t even know if I’m intrigued. I will read it eventually, but probably not right when it comes out. I’m sad that this book disappointed me.

Rating: 3 out of 5.

Courting Justice

three-stars


Tagged: , , , , , ,

Summer Reading Challenge Review: Untamed by Pamela Clare

Posted September 12, 2018 by Rowena in Reviews | 2 Comments

Summer Reading Challenge Review: Untamed by Pamela ClareReviewer: Rowena
Untamed (MacKinnon's Rangers, #2) by Pamela Clare
Series: MacKinnon's Rangers #2
Also in this series: Untamed (MacKinnon's Rangers, #2)
Publisher: Berkley
Publication Date: January 3, 2012
Format: eBook
Point-of-View: Alternating Third Person
Genres: Historical Romance
Pages: 369
Amazon | Barnes & Noble | The Ripped Bodice | Google Play Books
Goodreads
four-stars

In the breathtaking tradition of The Last of the Mohicans...

MacKinnon's Rangers

They were a band of brothers, their loyalty to one another forged by hardship and battle, the bond between these Highland warriors, rugged colonials, and fierce Native Americans stronger even than blood ties.

Though forced to fight for the hated British, Morgan MacKinnon would no more betray the men he leads than slit his own throat—not even when he was captured by the French and threatened with an agonizing death by fire at the hands of their Abenaki allies. Only the look of innocent longing in the eyes of a convent-bred French lass could make him question his vow to escape and return to the Rangers. And soon the sweet passion he awoke in Amalie had him cursing the war that forced him to choose between upholding his honor and pledging himself to the woman he loves.

Untamed is the first book that I tackled from Casee’s picks for my Summer Reading Challenge, it’s also the second book in the MacKinnons Rangers series by Pamela Clare and it’s got the whole Last of the Mohican feels to it, which I’ll admit, I wasn’t all that interested in reading before I picked it up. I’m so glad that I forced myself to get over myself and get this book read because it was good stuff. Thanks for the recommendation, Casee! 🙂

So this book follows the MacKinnon Rangers Leader, Morgan MacKinnon, as he is injured in war, taken captive by the enemy and then falls in love with the woman that nurses him back to health (while in enemy hands). Morgan has stepped up to be the leader of the Rangers when his older brother stepped down from military service and is now living the farmer’s life with his wife and young son. On a scouting mission, Morgan is shot trying to save one of his Rangers and because he knows that he’s dying, he sends the Rangers to safety knowing that his younger brother Connor will lead their men against the enemy. The Rangers were forced to fight with the British Army because the leader of the British Army is a lying piece of shit but to ensure that Iain and his family is safe, the Rangers fight. So for now, the French are the enemy.

When the French take Morgan captive, they nurse him back to health in hopes that he’ll give them the answers they need to defeat the British Army and end the war. Amelie Chauvenet is tasked with nursing Mogan back to health and she is not at all happy to know that once Morgan is healthy, the French Army plans to send him to his death. Each day that she nurses him back to health, she gets to know the Rangers Leader and the closer she gets to him. She doesn’t want to like him because she holds him and his Rangers responsible for the death of her father but she can’t stop her heart from feeling what it feels for Morgan MacKinnon and before she knows what is what, they’re married and loads of drama is still waiting for them.

There’s a lot going on this book with Morgan’s injuries, his developing relationship with the forbidden Miss Chauvenet and once they’re together, they’re still not out of the woods because Morgan has to get Amelie to the safety of his home with Iain and Iain’s wife Anne but he’s also got to prove he’s innocent of treason. Things happen quickly once they’re married but I will say that the beginning was a little slow for me. It took me a while to get into the story but once I got a sense of who was who and what was going on, the story picked up and my enjoyment went right up with it.

Morgan was a fantastic hero who led with heart and genuine care for his men. They were all brothers to him and there wasn’t a thing he wouldn’t do for any of the Rangers. I liked that. I liked seeing how loyal his men were to him and I really enjoyed seeing the love he had for his brothers and to see that love and loyalty returned right back to him from them. He did what he had to and I loved seeing how much he loved Amelie.

Amelie was a great heroine but there were times when I wished she thought more of what she wanted from Morgan than she did. She wanted him to join the French army so that it would be okay for her to love him, not even thinking what becoming a traitor would be for him. She didn’t think at all about how him joining her cause would pit him against his brothers because they had already given their word to fight for the other side. But aside from that, I thought she was a great heroine. She was strong, brave and she loved fiercely. I was super happy that she finally got the family and the home that she wished for because she did deserve it.

Overall, this was a fabulous romance that I came to adore. I’m mighty interested in going back and reading Iain’s book and then finishing up the series with Connor’s book. I enjoyed getting to know both brothers very much in this book and so they’re on my TBR list at the very top. Let’s hope that I get to them soon. This book was great and I definitely recommend.

Grade: 4 out of 5

MacKinnon’s Rangers

four-stars


Tagged: , , , , , ,

Throwback Thursday Review: Sabine by Moira Rogers

Posted September 6, 2018 by Holly in Reviews | 1 Comment

Throwback Thursday Review: Sabine by Moira RogersReviewer: Holly
Sabine (And the Beast, #1) by Moira Rogers
Series: And the Beast #1
Publisher: Samhain Publishing
Publication Date: May 3, 2011
Format: eBook
Point-of-View: Third
Genres: Paranormal Romance
Pages: 68
Amazon | Barnes & Noble | The Ripped Bodice | Google Play Books
Goodreads
three-half-stars

A curse can erase her from his mind, but never from his heart.

" and the Beast, Book 1"

After three years at war, the High Lord of the Forest returns to his lands, a victorious wolf leader intent on claiming his mate. Instead Ciar finds an empty bed and a court with no recollection of the woman he loved. Following her long-cold trail proves far easier than facing what awaits him at the end.

Sabine s first instinct is to beg her beloved to leave. The High Lord s mother hired a witch to curse Sabine, desperate to wipe the lowborn wolf from her son s mind. But the spell worked too well, and Sabine has vanished from the thoughts of everyone who sees her. Including her own family.

The edges of his memory already blurring, Ciar and Sabine must race to find a way to reverse the spell. Yet every searing moment together is not enough to stop the curse s inexorable progress. His only chance is to bind Sabine to him too tightly to be forgotten, before she disappears once and for all.

Warning: This story contains cruel betrayal, destined love, vile curses, smoldering reunions, wicked deeds between wanton shapeshifters and a happily-ever-after worthy of any fairy tale. "

Every Thursday, we’ll be posting throwback reviews of our favorite and not-so-favorite books. Enjoy!

This review was originally posted on May 6, 2011.

This is a very short read, clocking in at just 41 pages. For such a short novella this really packs an emotional punch. Sabine and Ciar were going to be mated (this was personal choice – they were very much in love) when Ciar got called away to war. While he was gone, Sabine was cursed by her lover’s mother. Now no one remembers her – not even her mother.

When Ciar returns from war to find Sabine gone from his home, he immediately searches her out. He’s surprised to find her living in a cabin in the woods, cutoff from everyone and everything. Once she shares with him what happened, he determines to fix it by getting the witch to remove the curse. But..will he remember?

I loved the connection between Ciar and Sabine. Ciar loved Sabine just as much as she loved him. I can’t imagine how solitary and depressing it would be to not be remembered by anyone. Ciar remembers Sabine when he first returns, but forgets her soon after. While I would have liked to see this explored further (I think the emotional impact could have been much harder) I think Rogers did a credible job of making it work considering the page count.

I wish there had been more on the final resolution. Especially more about Ciar’s mother, and her part in what happened to Sabine. In the end it seemed too abrupt. I also want to read more about Ciar’s 2nd and his new wife. I’m hoping there will be another entry in the series featuring them.

3.5 out of 5

…and the Beast

three-half-stars


Tagged: , , , , , ,