Author: Thea Harrison

Guest Review: Amid the Winter Snow by Grace Draven, Thea Harrison, Elizabeth Hunter and Jeffe Kennedy

Posted December 28, 2017 by Tracy in Reviews | 1 Comment

Guest Review: Amid the Winter Snow by Grace Draven, Thea Harrison, Elizabeth Hunter and Jeffe KennedyReviewer: Tracy
Amid the Winter Snow by Grace Draven, Thea Harrison, Jeffe Kennedy, Elizabeth Hunter
Published by Brightlynx Publishing
Publication Date: December 12th 2017
Genres: Fantasy, Paranormal Romance
Buy on Amazon | Barnes & Noble
Goodreads
four-stars

As the snows fall and hearths burn, four stories of Midwinter beginnings prove that love can fight its way through the chillest night...

THE DARKEST MIDNIGHT, by Grace Draven
The mark Jahna Ulfrida was born with has made her a target of the cruel and idle all her life. During the long, crowded festivities of Deyalda, there’s nowhere to escape. Until a handsome stranger promises to teach her to save herself…

THE CHOSEN, by Thea HarrisonIn her visions, Lily sees two men fighting for her tiny country’s allegiance: the wolf and the tiger, each deadly, each cunning. One will bring Ys chaos and death, one a gentler path—but she’s destined to love whichever she chooses. The midwinter Masque is upon them, and the wolf is at her door…

THE STORM, by Elizabeth Hunter
When her soul mate died in a massacre of the half-angelic Irin people, Renata thought she’d never feel happiness again. She’s retreated to the snowy Dolomites to remember her hurts—until determined, irrepressible Maxim arrives to insist on joy, too. And before she can throw him out, they discover a secret the Irin have to know…

THE SNOWS OF WINDROVEN, by Jeffe Kennedy
As a blizzard threatens their mountain keep, the new Queen Amelia of the Twelve Kingdoms and her unofficial consort Ash face their own storm. Ash knows a scarred, jumpy ex-convict isn’t the companion his queen needs. But when a surprise attack confines them together in their isolated sanctuary, the feast of midwinter might tempt even Ash into childlike hope…

THE DARKEST NIGHT

Jahna was born with a birthmark on her face (what is now known as a port wine stain) that has made her the victim of severe bullying whenever she wasn’t in her home.  Her father refuses to let her stay home when there are festivals to go to at the palace.  She never takes part in the festivities but enjoys them none-the-less.

When Jahna is a 16-year-old she meets Sir Velus, the swordmaster who has been hired by her father to teach her brother for the next four years.  They become friends but they both harbor deeper feelings for the other that may never come to light.

This was a lovely story that I thoroughly enjoyed.  I do wish that we could have seen Velus and Jahna together a bit more as the story does jump time a bit (the novella covers a 4-year span of time).  Despite that I really liked it and love Velus for loving this wonderful woman that everyone else ignored.

THE CHOSEN

This story takes place in the same world as the Elder Races but in one of the parallel magical universes.  The Goddess has a Chosen one and she has prophetic dreams.  She sees violence coming to her country and she’s not sure who she can trust among the warring men.  One man, makes his way into her heart and helps her grow as a Chosen.

I really love Harrison’s Elder Races novels and this was a lovely glimpse into the more magical places in that world.  I really loved both the hero and heroine in this story – I just wish it was longer! Lol  I was totally into it and then it ended. sigh

THE STORM

Maxim fell in love with Renata 18 years earlier but she has been in and out of his life since that time.  He’s determined to finally lock her down!

I loved the premise of this book with the half-angelic Irin people and all they were going through.  It was sad at times but happy at others.  I liked Maxim a lot and was happy when he finally got Renata to agree to be with him forever.

THE SNOWS OF WINDROVEN

Ash is a soldier and knows that he’s not a good enough man to be with the queen, even though he loves her and her children.  Ash is seeing them to Windroven where Queen Amelia wants to spend the feast of midwinter.  During their travel they argue and agree to part but neither truly wants to be parted from the other.  When danger threatens the Queen Ash is there to save her.  They finally talk and realize that they never want to be parted.

This was a good story but I felt like I was missing something.  It’s obviously part of a series and because of this I didn’t feel that it stood alone well.  I liked it but was lost at times.  I thought that Amelia and Ash were both hard-headed and needed to talk.  When they finally did, all was well.  It ended without conclusion so I believe that there will be more to their story in the series to come.

Overall I really liked this anthology a lot.  The stories were engaging and I loved the magical/fantasy element that ran through all of the novellas.  This is one I definitely recommend.

Rating: 4 out of 5

four-stars


Tagged: , , , , , , , , ,

Guest Review: Spellbinder by Thea Harrison

Posted July 26, 2017 by Jen in Reviews | 7 Comments

Guest Review: Spellbinder by Thea HarrisonReviewer: Jen
Spellbinder by Thea Harrison
Series: Moonshadow #2
Published by Thea Harrison
Publication Date: July 18th 2017
Genres: Paranormal Romance
Pages: 428
Buy on Amazon | Barnes & Noble
Goodreads
four-half-stars

From author Thea Harrison comes the latest story in the New York Times bestselling Moonshadow trilogy….

Kidnapped while on tour, musician Sidonie Martel is transported to the mystical land of Avalon. A human without magical ability, she is completely vulnerable to the deadly forces surrounding her.

When she defies her captors and refuses to share her music, an act of violent cruelty leaves her broken, her ability to play silenced, maybe forever. Her only hope is a whisper in the dark, gentle hands that offer healing, and a man who refuses to show her his face yet who offers advice she dare not ignore.

One of the most feared and powerful sorcerers in history, Morgan le Fae serves a Queen he despises, Isabeau of the Light Court. Once a famous bard and an advisor to kings, Morgan has been enslaved to Isabeau for hundreds of years, acting as enforcer and the commander of her deadly Hounds.

Sidonie’s music touches Morgan in places he had abandoned centuries ago, and her fiery spirit resurrects feelings he had believed long dead. For Sidonie, trapped in captivity, passion offers a comfort she cannot resist.

But Isabeau holds Morgan bound in magical chains that only Death can break. And in the court of a cruel, jealous Queen, the only thing that burns hotter than love is revenge…

*Spoiler alert: I can’t talk about this book without giving a little spoiler for some of Harrison’s earlier books, but the cover copy of this book gives the spoiler too so…just fair warning.

Morgan Le Fae is the hero of this book, which might stun those of you who read the other books where he’s a villain. This isn’t so much a story where Morgan redeems himself but a story where we finally get the full picture of Morgan’s situation. Turns out he’s magically enslaved to Isabeau, the Queen of the Light Fae, and he’s been forced to follow her orders to the letter for centuries. He’s been searching for an out the entire time, and when he finally gets a reprieve due to a poorly worded order from Isabeau, he’s hopeful he can find something to end his enslavement. However, he ends up putting it all on the line when a human musician he’s developed an attachment to gets kidnapped and turned over to Isabeau. Sidonie Martel is a genius musician, but when she’s brutalized by Isabeau, Morgan can’t look the other way. As he starts helping her, the two get closer, and both end up making decisions about how much they’re willing to risk for the other.

OMG Morgan. He is a total badass and an incomparable magician, and, finally, we get to see that he’s also an amazing person. He is entirely isolated from everyone by Isabeau’s machinations. Because of her orders and the fact that no one knows he’s enslaved, he’s seen as ruthless and scary, so naturally nobody wants anything to do with him, even at the Light Court. He’s spent centuries performing atrocities without being able to stop or even explain himself. Can you imagine what that would do to a person? He was so lonely and traumatized it made my heart hurt. The tenderness and genuine caring he shows Sidonie, though, reveals his true character, and it’s so clear why Sidonie falls in love.

While Morgan is really the heart of the story for me, Sidonie is also fantastic. She knows almost nothing about the Light Court or the Elder Races, so when she’s captured she’s in way over her head. She’s a quick learner, though, and with Morgan’s help she survives. In part because she has no prior knowledge, she’s the only one who isn’t afraid of Morgan and really listens to him, and it allows her to figure out what is happening and communicate with him in a way no one else has. I love it when both characters do everything in their power to protect the other one, and this book had that in spades. While Sidonie can’t do much for most of the book, she makes the tough call for Morgan in the end. I just ate it up.

Another thing I loved about the book was that Morgan isn’t the only complex character. A lovable character from the first book in the series is back, though he doesn’t always make such lovable choices here. Isabeau is a bit more complicated than just “cartoon evil queen” as well. I’m not saying I liked her, but it was interesting to understand how she too was kind of trapped by her enslavement of Morgan. Even the war between the Light and Dark Courts that makes up the central conflict of the series was cast in a new light. Innocent people like Morgan have gotten caught up in the war, and this book showed that most of the Light Fae are just regular citizens trying to live life as best they can. It makes for a rich and interesting world to read about. 

This book is pretty dark and angsty, which makes sense given the horror of Morgan’s situation and the cruelty of Isabeau. However, it did make it kind of heavy reading sometimes. I longed for some more lightness to counteract all the pain. Frankly, I was also pretty frustrated that the lovable character I mentioned earlier didn’t do more to help Morgan once he understood what was happening. Couldn’t he get some reinforcements or do more to help plan? I guess if this book has one lesson, it’s that trauma is messy, complicated, and long lasting, and people don’t always make the best choices in those circumstances.

I am totally torn about future books. On the one hand, I would love to see Morgan again, but on the other hand, I hope both the Dark and Light Fae just leave him the hell alone because he’s suffered enough for their war! I really, really loved reading this book. It was smart and moving and made me look at book 1 in the series in a whole new light.

Grade: 4.5 out of 5

four-half-stars


Tagged: , , , , , ,

Author Interview: 10 Questions with Thea Harrison

Posted December 14, 2016 by Holly in Promotions | 3 Comments

Thea Harrison’s latest Elder Races novel released yesterday. She graciously agreed to answer some questions about the book and where she’s headed from here.

Moonshadow by Thea Harrison
Series: Moonshadow, Elder Races
Also in this SeriesMoonshadow (Moonshadow, #1) (Elder Races #12)Midnight’s Kiss (Elder Races #8)Night’s Honor (Elder Races #7)Pia Does Hollywood (Elder Races #8.6)Shadow’s End (Elder Races #9)Dragon Bound (Elder Races #1)Dragos Goes to Washington (Elder Races #8.5)Dragos Takes a Holiday (Elder Races #6.5)Liam Takes Manhattan (Elder Races #9.5)Lord’s Fall (Elder Races #5)Midnight’s Kiss (Elder Races #8)Night’s Honor (Elder Races #7)Pia Does Hollywood (Elder Races #8.6)Pia Saves the Day & Peanut Goes to School (Elder Races #6.6 & 6.7)
Release Date: December 13, 2016
Publisher: Teddy Harrison, LLC
Genres: Fantasy, Paranormal

From bestselling author Thea Harrison comes the first in an explosive new trilogy set in the Elder Races world.

Her past is a blank, her future uncertain..

Recovering from a shooting, LAPD witch consultant Sophie Ross leaves her job and travels to the U.K. to search for answers about her childhood. When she encounters a Daoine Sidhe knight of the Dark Court, she becomes entangled in an ancient hatred between two arcane forces.

He has given his body and soul to fight for his people..

Barred from his homeland along with his surviving brother knights, Nikolas Sevigny is embroiled in a conflict that threatens everything he holds dear. Only by uniting their resources can his people hope to prevail against Isabeau, the deadly Queen of the Light Court. He will do anything and use anyone to return home to Lyonesse.

When Nikolas encounters Sophie, he sees a tool to be used. The insouciant witch might be the key to unlocking every passageway that has been barred to the knights of the Dark Court, even as a fascination for her takes root in what’s left of his soul.

Sophie has no intention of becoming anyone’s pawn, yet the fierce Nikolas is so compelling, she can’t deny the temptation that endangers her guarded heart.

As magic threatens Lyonesse, Queen Isabeau unleashes her merciless Hounds, and Nikolas and Sophie become embroiled in a race for survival. Meanwhile, the passion that ignites between them burns too hot to be denied and quickly turns into obsession.

Thank goodness they both know better than to fall in love.

Q&A

Q&A with Thea Harrison – Book Binge

About Moonshadow

1. For any new readers out there, Moonshadow is the first book in the Elder Races series spin off and will focus on the UK demesnes. Can you tell our readers a little about what to expect from this series? Any key people we should keep our eye on?

The Moonshadow trilogy focuses on the people caught in an ancient fight between the Light and Dark Courts. I pull a few elements from Shakespeare and a few from Arthurian mythology, and I set the story in the Elder Races world.

Isabeau, the Queen of the Light Court, is obsessed with the total extermination of King Oberon and his Dark Court. At the beginning of Moonshadow, Oberon has fallen into an ensorcelled sleep in Lyonesse and his magic rages out of control. The land of Lyonesse has been cut off from earth, and the knights of the Dark Court who are caught earth side are being hunted to death.

Definitely Isabeau and Morgan, the Captain of her Hounds, are key people in the trilogy, along with Oberon and his people. Oberon’s commander Nikolas is the hero of Moonshadow. There is also a secondary character, Robin, who makes an appearance in all three stories.

2. How many books do you have planned for the Moonshadow series?

Currently I’ve made a commitment to a trilogy, but if readers respond positively to the original trilogy, I have a second trilogy planned—so there could be a total of six stories.

3. Can you tell us if we’ll be seeing any of our friends from the Elder Races world in the new series? If so, which ones?

Yes, there will be some character crossover from the original Elder Races books. Dr. Kathryn Shaw has already made an appearance. Isabeau’s twin sister Tatiana, Queen of the Light Fae in Los Angeles, is also going to factor in the stories, along with at least one of her daughters, perhaps both. There are a few others who may make an appearance, but their roles are a bit more nebulous, so I’d better not say more at this time!

Drool

4. I like to picture the characters in my head while reading books so can you tell us who your inspirations (celebrities, models, etc..) were for Sophie and Nikolas?

Nikolas definitely looks like Paul Marron, the model I hired for the cover. As for Sophie, I have been picturing her like a younger Ashley Judd, only with dark, curling hair.

5. Your writing schedule must be busy these days, will we be seeing more Elder Races books or have you moved on?

I have not moved on from the Elder Races. I’ve simply taken a break to tell these other stories. I’ve also got another spin-off trilogy planned, so yes, I’m very busy! 🙂 It’s a big world, and there’s so much story to tell in it.

Random Questions

6. What is the first book that made you cry?

The first one that I remember is Black Beauty. I cried my eyes out as a child, and I must have read that book eleven or twelve times.

7. What is your writing Kryptonite?

Illness. When I reach a certain point—such as contracting the flu—I can’t get the words to flow. All my characters want to stay in bed!

8. What other authors are you friends with, and how do they help you become a better writer?

I have been so blessed to have met and befriended so many talented authors, and not only do they help me become a better writer, I hope they have helped me become a better person. I feel like I could write a dedication to them for my life and add, “all mistakes are my own, of course.” A short (not comprehensive) list of authors who impacted my life in a positive way while I wrote Moonshadow are: Patricia Briggs, Ann Aguirre, Kristen Callihan, Eloisa James, Jeffe Kennedy, Elizabeth Hunter, Grace Draven, Carrie Ann Ryan, and Katie Reus. I’m so grateful to each and every one.

9. If you could tell your younger writing self anything, what would it be?

Be more self-protective, and believe in yourself more.

10. How many unpublished and half-finished books do you have?

I have one unpublished book that is currently on submission. I don’t have any half-finished stories—for good or for ill, I finish them all.

Thanks so much for having me on your blog today! Readers, if you want to get the latest news, you can follow me on Facebook and Twitter, and sign up for my newsletter for updates!

Order the Book:

AMAZON || BARNES AND NOBLE || iBOOKS || KOBO

Elder Races

Book Cover Book Cover Book Cover Book Cover Book Cover Book Cover

About the Author

WEBSITE | TWITTER | FACEBOOK | INSTAGRAM | PINTEREST | TUMBLR | GOODREADS

New York Times and USA TODAY bestselling author Thea Harrison resides in Colorado. She wrote her first book, a romance, when she was nineteen, and had sixteen romances published under the name Amanda Carpenter. She took a break from writing to collect a couple of graduate degrees and a grown child.

Thea writes in a variety of genres, including the award-winning paranormal Elder Races series and the Game of Shadows novels, and is currently at work on various new projects in sci-fi fantasy, paranormal and contemporary romance.

She adores animals and currently resides with two small dogs that have very large personalities.


Tagged: , , , , ,

Review: Pia Does Hollywood by Thea Harrison

Posted January 19, 2016 by Holly in Reviews | 0 Comments

Review: Pia Does Hollywood by Thea HarrisonReviewer: Holly
Pia Does Hollywood by Thea Harrison
Series: Elder Races #8.6
Also in this series: Lord's Fall, Pia Saves the Day & Peanut Goes to School, Dragos Takes a Holiday, Night's Honor, Night's Honor, Dragon Bound, Midnight's Kiss, Midnight's Kiss, Dragos Goes to Washington, Shadow's End, Pia Does Hollywood, Liam Takes Manhattan

Publication Date: November 17th 2015
Genres: Fiction, Fantasy
Pages: 125
Buy on Amazon | Barnes & Noble
Goodreads
four-stars

After making a diplomatic pact with humankind and the other leaders of the Elder Races, Pia Cuelebre, mate to Dragos Cuelebre, Lord of the Wyr, reluctantly heads to Hollywood to spend a week with the Light Fae Queen, Tatiana, before the busy Masque season hits New York in December.

Dragos has never let the lack of an invitation stop him from doing anything he wanted. Unwilling to let his mate make the trip without him, he travels to southern California in secret to be with her.
But when an ancient enemy launches a shattering assault against the Light Fae, Dragos and Pia must intercede. The destruction threatens to spread and strike a mortal blow against all of the magically gifted, both human and Elder Race alike.Working with the Light Fae to neutralize the danger, Dragos and Pia find their deepest vulnerabilities challenged and their most closely held secrets threatened with exposure.

PIA DOES HOLLYWOOD is the second part of a three-story series about Pia, Dragos, and and their son, Liam. Each story stands alone, but fans might want to read all three: DRAGOS GOES TO WASHINGTON, PIA DOES HOLLYWOOD, and LIAM TAKES MANHATTAN.

Pia Does Hollywood follows the events in Dragos Goes To Washington. At the end of DGtW, the leaders of the Elder Races all agreed to send one person from their family to spend a week with another of the Elder Races to foster peace, similar to the way the Lords of old used to foster their children with other Warlords. Pia agreed to go, but Dragos never agreed not to follow. Which turns out to be a good thing when problems arise that could compromise the safety of Pia, and possibly everyone in the area.

Pia and Draogs are one of my all-time favorite couples and I love watching them in action. This story focuses on certain aspects of their relationship just as much as the outside action, so it was a pretty great read all around. I really like learning more about the other Elder Races, in this case the Light Fae Queen, and seeing the politics in play. I sometimes forget that Dragos and Pia are a power couple in the world, rather than just two people in love, finding their way together. This series of novellas really reminded me of that.  Both Pia and Dragos had to put their personal issues on hold to deal with worldly concerns.  Dragos can basically do what he wants, but even he has political games he has to play into.

This series is fabulous, and I love these in-between shorts. I’m totally addicted.

4 out of 5

 

four-stars


Tagged: , , , , , , , , ,

Review: Liam Takes Manhattan by Thea Harrison

Posted January 7, 2016 by Holly in Reviews | 2 Comments

Review: Liam Takes Manhattan by Thea HarrisonReviewer: Holly
Liam Takes Manhattan by Thea Harrison
Series: Elder Races #9.5
Also in this series: Lord's Fall, Pia Saves the Day & Peanut Goes to School, Dragos Takes a Holiday, Night's Honor, Night's Honor, Dragon Bound, Midnight's Kiss, Midnight's Kiss, Dragos Goes to Washington, Shadow's End, Pia Does Hollywood, Pia Does Hollywood

Publication Date: December 22, 2015
Genres: Anthologies (multiple authors), Fantasy, New Adult, Paranormal Romance
Buy on Amazon | Barnes & Noble
Goodreads
three-half-stars

Warning: This story contains a major spoiler from SHADOW’S END (book #9, released December 1st, 2015). If readers do not want to be spoiled, they should read the stories in order of their release dates.

This is a short story (15,000 words or 50 pages) intended for readers of the Elder Races who enjoy Liam Cuelebre as a character.

Reeling from a deep loss, the magical prince of the Wyr, Dragos and Pia’s son Liam Cuelebre, turns inward and withdrawn as he struggles to come to terms with who he is, along with the challenges that lie before him.

Hoping to ease his heartache and offer comfort, a concerned Dragos and Pia offer him a gift, something he has desired for a long time. Liam’s response has a ripple effect across all of New York. Soon miracles of all kinds start arriving just in time for Christmas, along with a visit from a mysterious person who gives Liam hope and a vision of his future.

LIAM TAKES MANHATTAN is the third part of a three-story series about Pia, Dragos, and their son, Liam. Each story stands alone, but fans might want to read all three: DRAGOS GOES TO WASHINGTON, PIA DOES HOLLYWOOD, and LIAM TAKES MANHATTAN.

Liam Takes Manhattan takes place after the events of Harrison’s latest full length release, Shadow’s End, and includes major spoilers for that book. For those who haven’t read it, I suggest waiting to pick up this one (unless, like me, you don’t mind spoilers).

Liam is growing at a ridiculous rate. Though he’s technically only a year old, he has the body and intellect of a twenty-something. What he lacks is real-world experience, something he isn’t getting living at home. He wants to stretch is wings a bit (heh) and isn’t sure how to do that, what with his father being the most powerful Wyr alive and Liam’s inner dragon having a hard time accepting orders from him.

Pia and Dragos are having a hard time, too. They love Liam, but they thought they’d have years to grow accustomed to him becoming an adult..not months. When they offer him a gift he’s been wanting for years, his reaction is so unexpected it leaves all of them reeling.

I love Liam. It’s strange knowing he’s only a year old, but he’s growing into a strong man I really enjoy reading about. Watching him grow and change has been a delight. I was looking forward to this story for many reasons, not the least of which is the way things ended for Liam in Shadow’s End.

While I really enjoyed the story itself and liked seeing things from Liam’s perspective, the end really frustrated me. Usually I finish these novellas feeling satisfied, but this one left me frustrated and wanting more. That isn’t to say it wasn’t a good story, but why did it have to end the way it did?? Especially since the next novel won’t be available for a million years </slightexaggeration>??

Still, I love watching Liam grow and change. Here we saw flashes of temperamental teenager, as well as chafing-at-restraints young adult. I can’t wait to see where the future takes him.

3.5 out of 5 

three-half-stars


Tagged: , , , , , , ,