Author: Suzanne Enoch

Guest Review: A Devil in Scotland by Suzanne Enoch

Posted January 29, 2018 by Tracy in Reviews | 0 Comments

Guest Review: A Devil in Scotland by Suzanne EnochReviewer: Tracy
A Devil in Scotland by Suzanne Enoch
Series: No Ordinary Hero #3
Also in this series: Hero in the Highlands, My One True Highlander
Published by St. Martin's Paperbacks
Publication Date: January 30th 2018
Genres: Historical Romance
Pages: 320
Amazon | Barnes & Noble | The Ripped Bodice | Google Play Books
Goodreads
four-stars

The dawning of desire...

1806, Scotland: Wild, reckless Callum MacCreath is in no hurry to become someone’s husband. But when his responsible, steady older brother Ian announces his engagement to their childhood friend Rebecca, Callum makes a startling discovery: he wants the lovely young lass for himself. But it’s too late, and when Ian banishes him for his duplicity, he’s only too happy to leave Scotland forever…

...is delicious and dangerous.

1816: Marrying Ian was the practical, logical thing for Becca to do. But once Callum sailed away to America, she missed his rakish charm and lust for life. Now, ten years later, Becca is a widow when a much-changed Callum returns to his Scottish homeland. Will he remember their spirited, fiery connection, or does he blame her for his brother’s unexpected death? This time neither of them can deny their scorching attraction, but will their hearts be burned in the blazing heat of scandal?

Callum is a young 20-year-old man and enjoying his drink and his women.  His best friend, besides his brother Ian, is Becca.  When he finds out that she’s agreed to marry Ian, he’s despondent and says some mean things. He also finds out that night that his brother and Becca’s father are going into business with the Duke of Dunncraigh and his son, and Callum warns Ian that it won’t turn out well as he knows that Dunncraigh and Stapp are not good men.  Ian tells Callum to leave and never return.  Callum takes him at his word and leaves not only his home, but Scotland.

Ten years later Callum is a man who is nothing like the youngster he was.  He has grown emotionally and physical and has stayed away from alcohol.  He has his own distillery and it’s becoming well known.  He’s a rich man in his own right and needs nothing from anyone.  When one of his workers comes across a newspaper stating that Ian drowned the previous year, Callum immediately sets sail for Scotland.

Becca is shocked to see Callum and wants him gone.  She is being courted by the Duke of Dunncraigh’s son, Lord Stapp, and has a good life which she doesn’t need interrupted.  She is just coming out of mourning for her husband and her father, who died not long after Ian, and wants nothing to do with Callum.  Of course, that’s what she says but down deep she’s a little bit thrilled that he’s there.  There were always feelings that she harbored for Callum but she knew even ten years earlier that he wasn’t the steady man she needed.  Now Callum is in MacCreath house and making accusations – saying that Dunncraigh and Stapp killed both Ian and her father.  On top of that he has claimed guardianship of Becca’s 6-year-old daughter, Maggie, and refuses to let her leave with Becca.  Not about to leave her daughter, Becca stays.  She must prove to Callum that she had nothing to do with the deaths in her family.  She also starts to believe Callum when he says that the deaths weren’t accidents.

I really love Enoch’s books and this one is another great one.  Callum, when he returns to Scotland, is such a different man than when he left.  Although we only saw him in one scene before the time jump I could tell he was a bit of a rogue.  Ten years later he is a man of action and is not afraid to step on toes to get what he wants. I normally don’t care for men like that, but Enoch wrote Callum in a way that I couldn’t help but like him.  He was so determined to find his brother’s killer. He felt guilty that he had ignored his brother’s letters when he was alive and even had them burned.  It was a bit heartbreaking to see his guilt but I thought he avenged his brother beautifully.

With Becca it took me some time to like her.  I couldn’t get a grasp on her personality in the short scene at the beginning of the book.  When we see her again she’s so determined to get Callum gone that I couldn’t help but think there was something going on with her.  There was – her repressed feelings for him.  As the story moved on I could see the person she had become and I liked her a lot.  She was a great match for Callum and I liked them together.

Overall the story was a good one.  Of course Enoch added the cute when she wrote in Maggie, her dog Reginald and Callum’s wolf, Waya.  Those three had me smiling a bunch of times during the course of the book and I loved it.  If you read the other two books in the series you won’t want to miss this one.  If you haven’t started the series, it’s one I recommend.

Rating: 4 out of 5

No Ordinary Hero Series

four-stars


Tagged: , , , , , , ,

Guest Review: My One True Highlander by Suzanne Enoch

Posted April 4, 2017 by Tracy in Reviews | 1 Comment

Guest Review: My One True Highlander by Suzanne EnochReviewer: Tracy
My One True Highlander by Suzanne Enoch
Series: No Ordinary Hero #2
Also in this series: Hero in the Highlands, A Devil in Scotland
Published by St. Martin's Paperbacks
Publication Date: April 4th 2017
Pages: 320
Amazon | Barnes & Noble | The Ripped Bodice | Google Play Books
Goodreads
four-stars

Rugged highlander Graeme has one thing on his mind—take a stand against the horrible Englishman Lattimer and he will be rewarded with enough money to be set for life. But when his reckless younger brothers take it one step too far and kidnaps a young woman on her way to see Lattimer, Graeme has to intervene. He cannot send the lady back without his kin getting in trouble. And when a damsel this beautiful is dropped into your lap, it’s hard to let her go...

Marjorie should be terrified she’s been captured by highland scoundrels, but it’s hard to live in terror when your captor is a devilishly handsome and sinfully tempting as Graeme is. She cannot stay by his side forever—no matter how her heart may pound at the thought—but Graeme seems to have other plans. This wicked highlander is out to seduce her and doesn’t plan to stop until she’s in his arms...forever...

Graeme, Viscount Maxton, is an impoverished Chieftan in the Maxwell clan.  He doesn’t see eye to eye with the Maxwell Laird but he stays out of his way and it works.  That is until the Laird comes to visit and basically tells Graeme that if he kills the Duke of Lattimer the Maxwell Laird would give him money and forgive the tithes that he’s late on.  Graeme is disgusted with the Laird but just shrugs it off.  He wants nothing to do with Dunncraigh and his issues with Lattimer.

Marjorie is headed to the highlands for her brother’s wedding.  He doesn’t know she’s coming but she decided to attend because A) She loves her brother and wants to meet his betrothed and B) London is frustrating the hell out of her.  She thought that now that she was a Duke’s sister (and not a ladies companion) and had money that she’d have it all but no one in London even acknowledges her being much less accepts her.  In fact people were nicer to her when she was a companion!  Once in the Highlands she stops with her companion and ends up getting kidnapped.

Graeme’s brothers, Brendan – 16, Dùghlas – 14 and Connell – 8, kidnapped Marjorie when they overheard her companion talking about how she’s the Duke of Lattimer’s sister.  Brendan gets the idea that they can ship her off as a bargaining tool to Dunncraigh and all will then be right with their world. Graeme, however, doesn’t see it that way, but he’s not sure what to do with the lass now that she’s there.  He eventually decides he needs to marry her but Marjorie aka Ree fights that.  Once she gets herself free she decides not to escape.  She doesn’t want anything bad to happen to the boys and she actually has kind of started to like Graeme.  Once she falls in love with him, however, she has to decide if she loves him more than she loves the dream she’s always had of being the belle of the ball in London.

This was a cute book.  Yes, it’s a story with a bit of Stockholm syndrome going on but I thought the way that Enoch wrote it all made it seem ok.  Also, let’s face it, this is a romance and fiction so…it is what it is. 😊

I loved the characters in this book.  Graeme was an honorable guy and despite the crazy thing his brothers did he was trying to make the best of it.  His parents had died and he had taken over the title, the lands, the cotters and the raising of his brothers when he was 20 years old and Connell was just 2 days old.  He’s had a lot of responsibility and has always done the right thing.  He was confused about his feelings for Marjorie at first but he soon embraced them and I loved that he did.  His brothers were cute – especially Connell.  He about made the whole book for me because he was so precocious. He also had a very large heart when it came to animals who needed a home. Loved. Him. Brendan was a typical surly teen and Dùghlas was just following along with his older brother.  They both ended up having a good side to them and I loved how they stood up for Marjorie in the end.

Overall it was a sweet romance and one I really enjoyed reading.

Rating: 4 out of 5

four-stars


Tagged: , , , , , , , , ,

Guest Review: Hero in the Highlands by Suzanne Enoch

Posted October 14, 2016 by Tracy in Reviews | 0 Comments

Guest Review: Hero in the Highlands by Suzanne EnochReviewer: Tracy
Hero in the Highlands by Suzanne Enoch
Series: No Ordinary Hero #1
Also in this series: My One True Highlander, A Devil in Scotland
Published by St. Martin's Paperbacks
Publication Date: October 4th 2016
Amazon | Barnes & Noble | The Ripped Bodice | Google Play Books
Goodreads
four-stars

WILD AT HEART

Scotland, 1812: He’s ferocious and rugged to the bone, an English soldier more at home on the battlefield than in any Society drawing room. And when Major Gabriel Forrester learns that he’s inherited the massive Scottish Highlands title and estate of a distant relation, the last thing he wants to do is give up the intensity of the battlefield for the too-soft indulgences of noble life. But Gabriel Forrester does not shirk his responsibilities, and when he meets striking, raven-eyed lass Fiona Blackstock, his new circumstances abruptly become more intriguing.

Like any good Highlander, Fiona despises the English—and the new Duke of Lattimer is no exception. Firstly, he is far too attractive for Fiona’s peace of mind. Secondly, his right to “her” castle is a travesty, since it’s been clan Maxwell property for ages. As the two enter a heated battle of wills, an unexpected passion blazes into a love as fierce as the Highlands themselves. Is Fiona strong enough to resist her enemy’s advances—or is Gabriel actually her hero in disguise?

Gabriel is a soldier.  That’s all he knows how to be and all he ever wants to be.  When he’s told that he’s inherited a dukedom for an uncle once removed that he didn’t even know he had…he’s not thrilled.  He heads to London to get things worked out and then plans on returning to the Continent and the war.  When he talks to his solicitors he finds out that the property he owns in Scotland.  He also has a steward for that property that won’t give a full reporting of the ledgers.  He plans on heading up there, firing the current steward – hiring his aide-de-camp into the position and then leaving.  Except once he gets to Scotland he find a woman doing the stewards job and very well.  He knows she’s hiding things so that he’ll leave, and quickly (the old Duke hadn’t been there in 20 years) but Gabriel’s got other ideas about handling what’s going on in his home – and dealing with the supposed curse.

This was another wonderful book by Suzanne Enoch.  I just love her stories and characters and this was no different.  Gabriel was a man who knew what he wanted and didn’t beat around the bush to get it.  He told it straight out and I loved him for it.  He was a bit put off by Fiona because of her straightforwardness but he realized very soon that he loved that about her and loved her.  The way that Gabriel’s character grew throughout the book was beautiful to read.  My heart went out to him when he finally realized he couldn’t go back to being a soldier and the pain that caused him.  He found a new battle to fight however and it was one that ended up being close to his heart.

Fiona was awesome.  I loved how she put Gabriel in his place time and again.  She tried to hold herself back from being attracted to him but Gabriel was such a force of nature she ended up looking forward to his kisses.  I realize that some people might be put off by her personality but she had to be strong to show everyone that she could do a man’s job – and do it well!  She had too many doubters – even within her own clan to be missish.  When an English soldier came along – you better believe she was gonna give him a piece of her mind.  She wasn’t a mild miss – I would have thought less of her if she’d not said anything.

Overall I really liked the book a lot and was thrilled with the story.

Rating: 4 out of 5

four-stars


Tagged: , , , , , , ,

Guest Review: Some Like it Scot by Suzanne Enoch

Posted October 30, 2015 by Tracy in Reviews | 1 Comment

Guest Review: Some Like it Scot by Suzanne EnochReviewer: Tracy
Some Like it Scot by Suzanne Enoch
Series: Scandalous Highlanders #4
Also in this series: Rogue with a Brogue, Mad, Bad, and Dangerous in Plaid
Published by St. Martin's Paperbacks
Publication Date: October 6, 2015
Amazon | Barnes & Noble | The Ripped Bodice | Google Play Books
Goodreads
four-stars

Munro MacLawry has always lived up to his nickname "Bear." Strong and brawny, he's known in his clan to be fiercely protective. Sadly for him, each of his siblings becomes "less highlander" as they get married, and Bear is left rowdy and alone with no one to protect. That is, until a routine hunt leads to the most alluring of creatures…

Catriona MacColl doesn't care to amuse the brash, strong, and sexy highlander she stumbles upon in the woods. She's too busy hiding with her sister from marriage into English society. Already well-equipped with a bull's-eye shot, she doesn't need a protector, no matter how badly her body burns for him. But as Cat's boyish nature gives way to her more feminine desires, she'll have to stop fighting the tide and listen to her heart…

Tracy’s review of Some Like it Scot (Scandalous Highlanders #4) by Suzanne Enoch.

Catriona MacColl is trying to save her 19 year old sister from marrying a man 42 years her senior. She left her home on the Isle of Islay and fled to London to save her. Yes, Cat has her own secrets but those she’s keeping close to the vest. They flee and find themselves on MacLawry land and hide out in a collapsed house.

Munro MacLawry is out hunting a deer when he sees someone else shoot it before he can! He’s upset but intrigued when he discovers that the shooter is a woman. He follows her for a time and is shocked when she ends up at some ruins on his brother’s land. Cat tries to get him to leave and never come back but he’s too interested in the mystery redheaded woman.

Munro finds himself out at Haldane Abbey (the ruins) every day annoying the heck out of Catriona. He soon discovers Elizabeth the sister as well and decided that he’s going to help them. He starts building doors and fixing the roof for them but he knows it’s because he wants Cat in his bed. The problem with that is that Munro knows that it goes deeper than just getting her in his bed.

Munro doesn’t want anyone to find out about the ladies hiding out and has given his word to them that he won’t tell anyone but soon his busybody family does find out about Elizabeth and she’s soon living with them in the manor house – with all of his family assuming that this is the woman that Munro has chosen to marry – when it is, in fact, her sister that he loves.

I just adore Suzanne Enoch books. I’m not sure what it is about them but they all speak to me in a way that I pick them up and don’t put them down until I’m finished. I want the books to go on and on when I’m reading them even though I want to know what happens at the end. She writes wonderful historical romance and I can’t get enough.

Munro seemed like a nice guy in previous books in the series but I wasn’t sure how I would enjoy his own book. I shouldn’t have been worried. He managed to find a woman who was his kind of woman – soft and nice but tough as well with a backbone to match. He needed that kind of woman and I was so happy when he found her.

Cat was such a nurturer even though she didn’t see herself that way. She had gotten a raw deal from her father when he chose to raise her as a boy and never let her wear a dress. Though it hurt her once she was grown and see the damage it did she also saw, after meeting Munro, that she was formed just the way he wanted her to be and he wouldn’t have changed a thing.

The book was sweet and sad but also joyful. The family tensions run high in this one and had me on the edge of my seat. If you enjoy Enoch’s books this is one that shouldn’t be missed.

four-stars


Tagged: , , , , , , ,

Guest Review: Mad, Bad, and Dangerous in Plaid by Suzanne Enoch

Posted July 8, 2015 by Tracy in Reviews | 1 Comment

Guest Review: Mad, Bad, and Dangerous in Plaid by Suzanne EnochReviewer: Tracy
Mad, Bad, and Dangerous in Plaid by Suzanne Enoch
Series: Scandalous Highlanders #3
Also in this series: Rogue with a Brogue
Published by St. Martin's Paperbacks
Publication Date: March 3rd 2015
Amazon | Barnes & Noble | The Ripped Bodice | Google Play Books
Goodreads
four-stars

She used to be mad about him.
In Mad, Bad, and Dangerous in Plaid by New York Times bestselling author Suzanne Enoch, high-spirited Rowena MacLawry has come to the Highlands after a spectacularly successful debut Season in London, and has made it painfully clear that she's outgrown her girlhood obsession with Lachlan MacTier. That's just fine with him, as he never had any intention of marrying the lass anyway! Yet how can he ignore the fact that the once rough and tumble Winnie has become a very fashionable-and incredibly desirable-young woman...And now he's got it bad...Brawny, rugged Lachlan is nothing like the aristocratic English gentlemen who pursued Winnie-with a passion-in London. Three months away was more than enough to show her a world infinitely more glamorous than the untamed Scottish Highlands-and her beloved childhood crush. But now that she's decided to find a prospective husband with a bit more polish, could Lachlan finally appreciate her charms? And is it remotely possible to ignore the wild attraction she feels for him?
"One of my very favorite authors." -Julia Quinn

Tracy’s review of Mad, Bad, and Dangerous in Plaid (Scandalous Highlanders #3) by Suzanne Enoch

Three months ago Rowena, who had just turned 18, ran away from home. She ran to London because she wanted to be a lady and be proper and do all the wonderful things she’d never gotten to do by roaming the highland hills. She was also determined to forget about Lachlan MacTier, part of her clan and intimate friend of the family, who she’d had a crush on since she could figure out what a crush was. He was always very kind and patient with her but he never let her get the idea that he wanted her back. He saw her as a sister and that was it. She got frustrated with her unrequited love and decided that almost any other guy but Lachlan would do.

Now that she’s spent a few months in London she knows that that’s the kind of life she wants for herself. She returns home for her brother Ranulf’s wedding but brings more than a few friends and admirers from Mayfair with her.

Ranulf knows that Rowena has been after Lachlan for years and wants to know for certain, from both of them, that they don’t want the other. They each firmly state that they do not want to be together. Except…then Lachlan has a change of heart. He’d always loved her but he starts seeing her as a woman rather than a young girl and pest. He starts to fall in love with her and decides he’s going to marry her. He has a time of it convincing Rowena but he finally get the job done. The problem? Rowena’s brother has already consented to allow another man to marry her and he will not be changing his mind.

There were so many things that I liked about this book. I loved the MacLawry family. Despite the fact that Ranulf and Rowena weren’t on the same page about her marriage I could still see the love they had for each other, along with their brothers Arran and Bear. This family could have been so permanently messed up because of their father’s murder and mother’s subsequent suicide but Ranulf really kept them together and did a fabulous job of making them pretty great human beings.

Now Rowena is what I would typically called the spoiled baby of the family. Not only that but she was a girl so she was humored and cosseted and that did her no favors. Of course being raised by the male species she was also quite good at being a rough and tumble highlands lass. I did think that she took her desire to be a “lady” a bit too far but I was happy that Lachlan could finally make her see how wonderful her home was even if that didn’t include all the fancy stuff that London had to offer.

Lachlan was…an idiot. Oh not throughout the entire book but I must say that the fact that it took him so damned long to see Rowena as a woman was not a point in his favor. I had to admire him, however, as once he did figure himself and his feelings out he was pretty darned aggressive in his determination to not let her marry another man. I really did like his character, despite his idiocy. lol

Another thing I really liked about this story was the highland games that they included. Having all the MacLawry clan as well as all of a ton of other clans gathered for the wedding and putting on the games was a really cool addition to the book.

So far I’ve really liked this series and I can’t wait to see what Enoch has in store for us with Bear’s romance.

Rating: 4 out of 5

This title is available from St. Martin’s Paperbacks. You can buy it here or here in e-format.

four-stars


Tagged: , , , , , , ,