Author: Shannon Stacey

Guest Review: Hot Response by Shannon Stacey

Posted April 17, 2018 by Tracy in Reviews | 2 Comments

Guest Review: Hot Response by Shannon StaceyReviewer: Tracy
Hot Response by Shannon Stacey
Series: Boston Fire #4
Also in this series: Heat Exchange, Controlled Burn, Heat Exchange, Controlled Burn, Fully Ignited, Fully Ignited, Controlled Burn
Published by Carina Press
Publication Date: April 24th 2018
Genres: Contemporary Romance
Pages: 288
Buy on Amazon | Barnes & Noble
Goodreads
four-stars

The men of Boston Fire are back and hotter than ever! Don’t miss this brand-new novel from New York Times bestselling author Shannon Stacey.

Gavin Boudreau lives for the job, but he also believes in “work hard, play harder.” As the youngest guy in Ladder 37, he figures he’s got plenty of time before settling down becomes a priority. Soft, pretty women who aren’t looking for promises are exactly his type, and he’s comfortable with that. Working with a gorgeous EMT isn’t going to change who he is.

The last thing Cait Tasker needs in her personal life is a firefighter whose challenges on-scene have been a thorn in her side from minute one. Her plate’s too full for a man anyway. Back in her childhood home to help her family cope with an unexpected tragedy, she’s got enough to handle without throwing a hot, testosterone-laden fireman into the mix.

As long days on the job lead to long nights together, Gavin and Cait will discover how far temptation can take them—and what happens when the one you thought was all wrong for you turns out to be the person you can’t live without.

EMT Cait Tasker doesn’t feel like she’s living her own life.  Her mother’s second husband suddenly died six months ago and after a frantic call from her teenage half-brother fearing that his mother was going to do something drastic, Cait moved in.  She’s now been taking care of the family and giving emotional support while still working.  She doesn’t go out with any but one friend now, and she certainly doesn’t date.  She thought about asking firefighter Gavin Boudreau out but when she was about to do so he called her “ma’am” and made her feel a hundred years old.  Needless to say she never asked. Since then Cait’s been giving Gavin a bit of attitude and he can’t understand why.

Gaving thinks that Cait is pretty hot but he can’t figure out why she doesn’t like him.  He can’t stop thinking about her and even gets caught by her teenage brother checking out her ass.  Oops.  When Cait finally tells him about the “ma’am” issue he just looks at her like she’s crazy.  He calls every woman ma’am!  Once the pair actually start dating they can’t get enough of each other.  Gavin wants Cait with him all the time and hates that whenever they’re in bed she has to get up and leave to take care of her family.  Gavin thinks it’s been long enough and Cait needs to break away but Cait’s not ready to do that and it may be the point of contention that neither can get past.

I really like this series.  I was so happy to see that Stacey had written another book set in this world.  Gavin was a good man who was raised right (with manners) and that’s why he called every woman ma’am.  It was actually pretty cute, imho.  He was kind, giving and loyal and had a wonderful sense of humor.  I liked him, a lot.

I liked Cait a lot too but since she was in such a stressful time in her life, with a lot going on, it was hard to see the true Cait. She was a good daughter for taking care of her mother and brother but I was with Gavin, she needed to start easing away from them and start letting them live their lives.  It really took Gavin coming into her life for Cait, and her mother, to see this.

Overall a pretty great book.  Love, lust, humor, family, firefighters…what more could I ask for? 🙂  If you haven’t read any books in this series you’re missing out on some great contemporary reads.

Boston Fire Series

Rating: 4 out of 5

four-stars


Tagged: , , , , , , ,

Review: Hold Her Again by Shannon Stacey

Posted October 23, 2017 by Holly in Reviews | 4 Comments

Review: Hold Her Again by Shannon StaceyReviewer: Holly
Hold Her Again by Shannon Stacey
Published by Carina Press
Publication Date: October 23, 2017
Genres: Contemporary Romance
Buy on Amazon | Barnes & Noble
Goodreads
two-half-stars

A country-music star returns home to win back the woman he loves in this charming holiday novella from New York Times bestselling author Shannon Stacey

Ava Wright isn't happy to see her high school sweetheart rolling into their hometown a few weeks before Christmas. He's only come back to bury his estranged father, but there's no way she'll be able to avoid him. No one can: he's become a country-music superstar since going solo and leaving Ava behind.

Jace Morrow grew up believing "money can't buy happiness" was something people said to make themselves feel better. But now he knows it's the truth: no matter how many number-one hits he has, he'll never recapture the magic of singing with Ava. Missing her—loving her—and living with making the wrong choice in life were what made him who he is.

When Jace is roped into being part of the town's annual Christmas party, he only cares about earning Ava's forgiveness. And though Ava's heart has never healed, she loved Jace too much and for too long to shut him out when he's hurting. As they fall in love all over again, they're both faced with choices for their future…and this time Jace intends to make the right one.

This book is approximately 30,000 words

One-click with confidence. This title is part of the Carina Press Romance Promise: all the romance you're looking for with an HEA/HFN. It's a promise!

I’ve read and enjoyed most of Stacey’s backlist. When I saw the premise for this novella I was super excited. Music star + reunited lovers by Stacey = Total Win! Sadly, it didn’t work for me as much as I thought it would.

Jace and Ava fell in love in high school and ran off to St. Louis together as soon as they could to pursue a career in the music industry. When a popular manager approached them and told Jace she only wanted him, he chose to leave Ava behind and pursue his dream of fame and fortune. She returned home and went back to work waiting tables at the local diner. Six years later Jace is forced to come back to their hometown for his father’s funeral. He hasn’t stopped loving Ava and can’t wait to see her again. But six years is a long time, and Ava doesn’t think she can let go of her hurt and anger over the way Jace turned his back on her….on them.

My biggest issue was with the time of separate between Ava and Jace. He was gone way too long for me to accept his feelings for Ava were genuine. If he never stopped loving her and thought of her every day, why did it take him six years – and the excuse of his father’s funeral – to come back? I might have been able to accept his reasons if he stayed away a year, but six? I just couldn’t get past it. I spent most of the book feeling all rage-y inside.

Ava was a good heroine, and I liked the town and secondary characters. I even liked Jace. But I didn’t like him for Ava. It was easy for him to claim he’d love her forever and never leave her again now that he’d already achieved all his dreams. The length of the story didn’t provide sufficient time for me to forgive him for what he did. As always, Stacey’s writing was wonderful, but even a great heroine and lovely writing couldn’t save this story for me.

2.75 out of 5

two-half-stars


Tagged: , , , , ,

Guest Review: Hold Her Again by Shannon Stacey

Posted September 29, 2017 by Tracy in Reviews | 2 Comments

Guest Review: Hold Her Again by Shannon StaceyReviewer: Tracy
Hold Her Again by Shannon Stacey
Published by Carina Press
Publication Date: October 1st 2017
Genres: Contemporary Romance
Buy on Amazon | Barnes & Noble
Goodreads
three-stars

Ava Wright isn't happy to see her high school sweetheart rolling into their hometown a few weeks before Christmas. He's only come back to bury his estranged father, but there's no way she'll be able to avoid him. No one can: he's become a country-music superstar since going solo and leaving Ava behind.

Jace Morrow grew up believing "money can't buy happiness" was something people said to make themselves feel better. But now he knows it's the truth: no matter how many number-one hits he has, he'll never recapture the magic of singing with Ava. Missing her—loving her—and living with making the wrong choice in life were what made him who he is.

When Jace is roped into being part of the town's annual Christmas party, he only cares about earning Ava's forgiveness. And though Ava's heart has never healed, she loved Jace too much and for too long to shut him out when he's hurting. As they fall in love all over again, they're both faced with choices for their future…and this time Jace intends to make the right one.

Jace Morrow and Ava Wright were once a couple in more ways than one.  They were in love and couple and they were also a country singing duo singing in bars to make a living.  Six years ago they were approached in one of those bars and Jace was offered stardom – but Ava wasn’t.  Jace decided he had to give it a try and left Ava. Just left her in a strange town on her own even though they were a duo. She went back to their small home town in Missouri with a broken heart and started waitressing again.

Now Jace is back in town for the first time in six years to bury his father and he knows that he’ll see Ava again.  In fact, he’s hoping he does because he wants to let her know that he never stopped loving her.  Ava isn’t looking forward to seeing Jace because she never forgave him for leaving her like he did.  Of course, when they do see each other again Ava has a hard time keeping the love she never stopped feeling for Jace under wraps.  He soon has her in his arms but can they move forward from what happened?

I’d love to say that I adored this novella by Stacey but I didn’t.  I did think it was good but that was because it had a lovely heroine and of course, Stacey’s wonderful writing style.  That said, I couldn’t get past Jace and what he did.  This is totally on me, and I’m probably in the minority here, but he really pissed me off.  He said that he never stopped loving her but he never came back to get his girl! Not only did he leave her high and dry to pursue his dreams, but then stayed away for 6 years! I guess I could see Ava forgiving him after 1 year but 6?  I had a really hard time with that.  For me, he didn’t grovel enough.  Actually, I’m not sure he could have groveled enough to make it ok in my eyes.

Ava was such a strong woman and I really liked her a lot.  She seemed to have a good head on her shoulders but had never stopped loving Jace.  Maybe if I had been shown some of their times together in the past, rather than just been told how close they were, I would have had a different perspective on their relationship.  As it was I just didn’t see it strong enough to withstand the time apart.

Despite my problems with Jace, as I said, it was a well written story.  If it had been longer maybe I would have changed my mind about the hero but with short a short format he just didn’t work for me.

Rating: 3 out of 5

three-stars


Tagged: , , , , , , ,

Guest Review: Holiday With a Twist by Shannon Stacey

Posted December 8, 2016 by Tracy in Reviews | 0 Comments

Guest Review: Holiday With a Twist by Shannon StaceyReviewer: Tracy
Holiday with a Twist by Shannon Stacey
Published by Carina Press
Publication Date: November 21st 2016
Genres: Contemporary Romance
Buy on Amazon | Barnes & Noble
Goodreads
three-half-stars

After a messy breakup, Leigh Holloway is ready to start her life over. Until her parents put the family home on the market and call her back for one final, memory-making Christmas. The last thing she wants to do is deprive her mom of the perfect holiday, so she'll lie her way through the visit and worry about her future in the New Year. Too bad the only bar in town is owned by a guy she seriously wronged in high school.

Leigh's best friend broke Croy Dawson's heart, and Croy knows it was Leigh's fault. They've never liked each other, but Croy isn't cruel: he'd never turn away a pretty woman in need of some family-Christmas fortification. He doesn't expect her to drink just enough candy-cane martinis to tell him her secrets—and he definitely doesn't expect to get caught up in her holiday madness.

Despite the surprising love and laughter, Croy and Leigh can't escape the truth: he can't walk away from his family obligations and she has a life and career to reboot. But anything is possible if your holiday comes with a twist…

Leigh Holloway is back home in New Hampshire for the holidays.  She has a couple of big secrets that she is keeping from her family but with her parents packing up and selling her childhood home and her sister and her baby living with them as she’s getting a divorce, Leigh just doesn’t want to pile one more thing on top of it.  Of course, it’s kind of selfish as well as she’s sure her family will try to talk her into staying in NH and her life is back in Houston.

The first night she’s back in town she heads over to the new restaurant that is owned by the Dawson family.  She’s not sure of her reception as Croy Dawson, the last time they saw each other, was pissed at her.  That was nine years earlier but she’s still wouldn’t be surprised if he refused to serve her.  She’s pleasantly surprised when he is more than welcoming.  They were such good friends growing up but that’s as far as their relationship went back then.  Almost immediately they’re each tamping down the attraction they feel for each other.  They are soon in bed together but Leigh’s only staying three weeks and then she’s gone.  She’s not sure that she can keep her heart out of her relationship with Croy and he’s positive he never wants her to leave.

This was a cute holiday novella.  Leigh and Croy were great together and I loved that since they had been friends growing up they kind of just fell into that again – only deeper.  The story was charming and the holiday aspect was a nice touch.

My main issue with the story was really Leigh and her “secret.”  There were really two but they were related.  The fact that Leigh hadn’t told her mother the main one that had happened two months prior was baffling to me.  I guess I would have understood if it had just happened but it was a major event and she hadn’t shared it with anyone in her family when it happened?  I find that so strange.  She had a good relationship with both of her parents and her sisters so why the secrecy?  I just didn’t get it and then to have Croy keep the secret and have them sneak around because of it didn’t set well with me.  That was my only issue with the story but it was a doozy.

Overall,  as I said, it was a cute story.  I always like Stacey’s novella’s as she packs a lot of fun and love into each one.  This one had a good family feel, a romance, and humor and those things always score well in my book.

Rating: 3.5 out of 5

three-half-stars


Tagged: , , , , , , ,

Guest Review: Fully Ignited by Shannon Stacey

Posted April 5, 2016 by Judith in Reviews | 1 Comment

Guest Review: Fully Ignited by Shannon StaceyReviewer: Judith
Fully Ignited by Shannon Stacey
Series: Boston Fire #3
Also in this series: Heat Exchange, Controlled Burn, Heat Exchange, Controlled Burn, Fully Ignited, Fully Ignited, Controlled Burn, Hot Response
Published by Carina Press
Publication Date: March 1st 2016
Pages: 182
Buy on Amazon | Barnes & Noble
Goodreads
four-half-stars

When Jamie Rutherford takes a temporary assignment as lieutenant of Boston Fire's Engine 59, she doesn't anticipate any problems. She's been in the fire service for a long time and, even though she's fairly new to Boston, she knows how to make any firehouse her home. What she's not prepared for is her reaction to firefighter Scott Kincaid.

Scott is looking for a wife. It's been a fun ride as a single guy, but he's tired of being the third wheel, and nearly losing his brother-in-law finally made him realize just how much he wants a family of his own. When the new guy at the firehouse turns out to be a capable, confident and very attractive woman, his plan is completely derailed.

Hooking up with a fellow firefighter has never been part of Jamie's plan, but she's tempted by Scott—even though getting involved with him could tarnish the reputation she's worked so hard for. And Scott can't stop thinking about Jamie, despite the fact that she's his superior and not sticking around. Chemistry can crush the best-laid plans, though, and while Jamie and Scott might not be each other's future…there's no resisting the right now.

This is the third and final novel in the Boston Fire trilogy and once again Ms Stacey had blessed her fans with a novel that is filled with wonderful characters, some hot loving, tension in relationships and a look-see into the lives of firefighters and the ups and downs of their professional lives.  We also see into the life of a woman who always wanted to be a firefighter but who knows the unique challenges that come from being a woman in a man’s world, especially a world that relies greatly on physical strength and quite simply, body mass.  Jamie Rutherford knows she has to prove herself every single day, she has to make sure that no one ever sees anything in the discharge of her duties that can be interpreted as weakness.  So getting involved with another firefighter is way up at the top of the “no-no” list.

Scott wants a permanent relationship but NOT with another firefighter.  How can he live with a woman who puts herself in danger daily?  How can he have children where their mother might lose her life in a fire storm?  Somehow he thought that was vastly different than asking the same questions of him as a husband and a dad.  Nevertheless, Jamie and Scott are instantly drawn to each other and figure that since Jamie is a temporary sub for their injured lieutenant, any fling will just go away when she is transferred.  This thinking comes under the heading of “best laid plans of men and women.”

This is a story that makes the reader anxious as there is so much here that is temporary.  The reader knows that Jamie is only assigned to the company for a short stint.  The reader knows that Scott has walled off his emotions so that he and Jamie are just having fun together.  Throughout their affair the thought of a longer term relationship rears its head from time to time, but both are uneasy with this for a bunch of reasons.  Doesn’t look like there will be a HEA for them.  And even though we are hoping against hope that these two make it, the author keeps throwing in the literary wrenches in the works and the tensions get more and more intense.  Friendships and old loyalties are wonderful but even they can be negative forces in the situation in which Scott and Jamie find themselves.  It’s the kind of story that kept my eyes glued to the pages.  I read this one straight through and will probably find myself doing that again soon.

It’s another winner, and although I didn’t read the first book in the trilogy, I have no trouble believing that it, too, will be a wonderful reading experience.  This book was just released and you will do yourself a favor to latch on to it and spend the time to enjoy it.  I give it a rating of 4.5 out of 5.

You can read more from Judith at http://www.drjsbookplace.blogspot.com.

Reading Order:

Heated Exchange
Controlled Burn
Fully Ignited

four-half-stars


Tagged: , , , , , , ,