Author: Samantha Young

Guest Review: Every Little Thing by Samantha Young

Posted March 8, 2017 by Tracy in Reviews | 1 Comment

Guest Review: Every Little Thing by Samantha YoungReviewer: Tracy
Every Little Thing by Samantha Young
Series: Hart's Boardwalk #2
Also in this series: The One Real Thing
Published by Berkley
Publication Date: March 7th 2017
Genres: Contemporary Romance
Pages: 352
Buy on Amazon | Barnes & Noble
Goodreads
four-stars

Hartwell, Delaware—the perfect place to get away from it all, and find what you never knew you needed…

Bailey Hartwell has many reasons to feel content—her successful business, a close circle of friends, and her steady boyfriend…even if their romance feels staid after ten years without a serious commitment. The only challenge in her life comes in the form of sexy businessman Vaughn Tremaine. She thinks the ex-New Yorker acts superior and that he considers her a small-town nobody. But when Bailey’s blindsided by a betrayal, she’s shocked to discover Vaughn is actually a decent guy.

Vaughn admires Bailey’s free spirit, independence, and loyalty. As his passion for her has grown, his antagonism toward her has only worsened. Every little thing Bailey does seduces him. But when Vaughn’s painful emotional past makes him walk away in fear he will hurt her, it opens an old wound in Bailey, and she uncharacteristically retreats.

Once Vaughn begins to realize he’s made the biggest mistake of his life, he has no choice but to fight like he’s never fought before to convince Bailey that the love they’ve found together only comes around once in a lifetime.

Bailey Hartwell and Vaughn Tremaine have been at odds since the man walked into town.  Bailey had tried to move mountains in order to stop the man from building his hotel on the boardwalk.  She failed but she had to try.  It seems that everyone is happy with Vaughn and he seems to be friends with quite a few people but he treats Bailey…not so well. She fights back verbally – the only way she knows how.

The thing is that Bailey is highly attracted to Vaughn and him to her.  The more they feel that attraction the more antagonistic they are to each other.  Vaughn doesn’t feel like he deserves to be happy and Bailey’s such a happy go lucky person.  When her inn is broken in to and Vaughn saves her from the thief they end up in bed together.  Of course Bailey wants more and Vaughn pushes her away in the worst possible way. When Bailey’s sister rolls into town and says she’s there to help run the inn Bailey freaks out but with Vaughn’s help they can work it all out.

I really liked this story.  Bailey seemed like a bit of a crazy girl in book one of this series but I really liked her anyway and of course Vaughn with his dark broodiness was intriguing in book one.  I was so happy they were going to get together because I could tell from their personalities that it would be a pretty epic thing to bring them together.

While I didn’t like that they spent a good portion of the book apart it was all worth it in the end.  We got more background on both Bailey and Vaughn and why they felt like they did about relationships.  It was pretty eye-opening.  Once they got together it was explosive and I was truly happy they got their HEA.

The book brings back characters from the previous book and that was wonderful.  We got to see the characters from book one get married and got to know the others a bit better.  I’ve liked this series so far and I’m anxious to see where it goes next.

Rating: 4 out of 5

four-stars

1 Comment
Tags: , , , , , , ,


Guest Review: The One Real Thing by Samantha Young

Posted September 22, 2016 by Tracy in Reviews | 1 Comment

Guest Review: The One Real Thing by Samantha YoungReviewer: Tracy
The One Real Thing by Samantha Young
Series: Hart's Boardwalk #1
Also in this series: Every Little Thing
Published by Berkley
Publication Date: September 6th 2016
Genres: Contemporary Romance
Buy on Amazon | Barnes & Noble
Goodreads
four-stars

Welcome to Hartwell, a quiet seaside escape where uncovering old secrets could lead one woman to discover the meaning of a love that lasts…

While Doctor Jessica Huntington engages with the inmates at the women’s correctional facility where she works, she’s always careful to avoid emotional attachments in her personal life. Loss and betrayal taught her that lesson long ago. But when she comes across a set of old love letters in the prison’s library and visits the picturesque town of Hartwell to deliver them to their intended recipient, she finds herself unable to resist the town’s charm—and her attraction to the sexy owner of a local bar proves equally hard to deny.

Since his divorce from his unfaithful ex-wife, Cooper Lawson has focused on what really matters: his family and the boardwalk pub they’ve owned for generations. But the first time Jessica steps into his bar, Cooper is beyond tempted to risk his heart on her. Yet as their attraction grows hotter and Jessica remains stubbornly closed off, he begins to realize it will take more than just passion to convince her there’s only one real thing in life worth fighting for….

Jessica works at a women’s prison.  While there one day she discovers letters hidden in one of the books from the library.  They are letters that were written in 1976 but were never sent.  When she reads them she is struck by the love that the writer – a now deceased inmate – poured into them.  Since they are addressed to a man named George Beckwith she decides to travel to Hartwell, Delaware since her vacation plans went belly up.

From the moment that Jessica arrives in Hartwell she feels at peace.  She’s had some serious issues to deal with in her life and they’ve directed her decisions for years.  After spending time in Hartwell and getting to know the wonderful people there she decides it’s time to stop letting her past decide her future.  One of the decisions she makes is letting love in – and she does that with Cooper Lawson.

Cooper was born and raised in Hartwell and his family has owned a pub on Hart’s Boardwalk for many, many years.  When he runs into Jessica during a rain storm he’s instantly attracted to her.  He makes it a point to get to know her and despite her hesitation at first, she finally caves into him.  She’s not sure what she’s getting herself into as she’s never opened up emotionally but she knows it’s right.

There are, of course, the villains in town who want to take over the boardwalk but the owners of the shops on the boardwalk work together to thwart their plans by working together.

This was an easy book to read.  By that I mean that there wasn’t a great deal of angst and the characters were very easy to get into.  I really liked Jessica.  She was just a tired out woman who had been holding herself back emotionally because of something that happened in her childhood.  On top of that the “event” caused her parents to treat her like a pariah and so she was very alone in the world.  She had her best friend who lived thousands of miles away but that was it.  When she got to Hartwell I loved how the townspeople just took her in.  They were friendly and open and made her feel at home.  The part where the past was revealed was very hard to read but it was such an important part of who Jessica was and it was done well – I just had to power through.

Cooper was one hot hero, let me tell you!  He had been hurt by his now ex-wife who slept with his best friend – so he lost both in the end.  He knew from almost minute one that Jessica was the woman for him but he held himself back to try and figure out his feelings.  Once he decided to go for it he was all in and I loved that.  His best friend showed up a couple of times in the book and I think there’s definitely more explanation there (about why he slept with Cooper’s wife) that will be revealed in future books (I hope!).

The part that had to do with George Beckwith when Jessica finally gets to meet him and give him the letters was incredibly sweet.  I loved George and his acceptance of Jessica and what she was revealing to him.  It made me cry – but in a good way.

Overall I really liked the book and thoroughly enjoyed reading it.  I’m definitely looking forward to reading more in this series in the future.

Rating: 4 out of 5

four-stars

1 Comment
Tags: , , , , , , ,


Review: One King’s Way by Samantha Young

Posted December 28, 2015 by Rowena in Reviews | 0 Comments

Review: One King’s Way by Samantha YoungReviewer: Rowena
One King's Way by Samantha Young
Series: On Dublin Street #1.5
Also in this series: Before Jamaica Lane, Fall From India Place, Fall From India Place, Castle Hill, Echoes of Scotland Street, Moonlight on Nightingale Way, Moonlight on Nightingale Way, One King's Way, One King's Way
Published by Penguin
Publication Date: November 3, 2015
Genres: Contemporary, Romance
Pages: 158
Buy on Amazon | Barnes & Noble
Goodreads
three-stars

The New York Times bestselling author of On Dublin Street returns to the bar where it all began with Braden and Joss for a white-hot new novella full of passion and drama.

When he’s not working at the club, Craig Lanaghan looks out for his mother and little sisters. So when it comes to women, all he wants is a good time. But once Rain Alexander walks into his life, there’s no denying that this woman could be worth much more than a one-night stand….

Rain’s lifelong regret is having left her sister Darcy alone years ago with a guardian who turned out to be abusive. So when Darcy’s boyfriend publicly humiliates her in a cruel way, Rain’s overprotective instincts kick in and she follows him to Club 39—where she meets a guy who just might be her perfect match.

The chemistry between Rain and Craig is explosive, but Rain is out for revenge, and refuses to be sidetracked by flirtation. As things between them heat up, she’ll have to make a heartbreaking choice between giving in to the man of her dreams or putting her sister’s happiness first….

Another On Dublin Street book? Count me in!

I like Craig and was glad to hear that he was finally getting his own story, even if it was a short one. I like this series and was sad to see it go so to get a new story was a bonus for me.

If you’ve read this series, you’ll remember Craig as the cheeky bartender co-worker of both Jo and Joss at Club 39. It’s a happening bar that gets a lot of regulars and Craig is more than a little interested in the gorgeous red head that has been spending time in the bar, all by herself.

Being the gorgeous flirt that he is, Craig tries to get to know the red head and while she chats with him, that’s about as far as he gets with her. He’s going to need to bring out the big guns in order to win this one over.

I enjoyed this book but I didn’t love it the way that I loved most of the other books in this series and a lot of it had to do with how hard it was for me to connect with Rain. I didn’t understand her revenge plot, thought it was silly to be honest and her hot and cold attitude with Craig kind of got on my nerves. I’m not sure if it’s because I know Craig from the previous books so I know that he’s a good guy but there was something about Rain that made me want to roll my eyes down the street whenever she’d either blow Craig off or get all snippy with him.

I did like Craig and I did come around with Rain but I don’t know, there was something missing in this story. I liked it, but I didn’t exactly love it. The romance was solid and even though I didn’t warm up to Rain until the very end, I still enjoyed it. The romance was sweet but I wish we’d gotten a little more from both Rain and Craig’s background, maybe then I would have enjoyed this one a little more but still, it’s a solid story.

Grade: 3 out of 5

three-stars

0 Comments
Tags: , , , , , ,


Review: One King’s Way by Samantha Young

Posted December 10, 2015 by Holly in Reviews | 0 Comments

Review: One King’s Way by Samantha YoungReviewer: Holly
One King's Way by Samantha Young
Series: On Dublin Street #1.5
Also in this series: Before Jamaica Lane, Fall From India Place, Fall From India Place, Castle Hill, Echoes of Scotland Street, Moonlight on Nightingale Way, Moonlight on Nightingale Way, One King's Way, One King's Way
Published by Berkley
Publication Date: November 3rd 2015
Genres: Fiction, Romance, General, Contemporary
Pages: 128
Buy on Amazon | Barnes & Noble
Goodreads
three-stars

The New York Times bestselling author of On Dublin Street returns to the bar where it all began with Braden and Joss for a white-hot new novella full of passion and drama.
When he's not working at the club, Craig Lanaghan looks out for his mother and little sisters. So when it comes to women, all he wants is a good time. But once Rain Alexander walks into his life, there's no denying that this woman could be worth much more than a one-night stand . . .
Rain's lifelong regret is having left her sister Darcy alone years ago with a guardian who turned out to be abusive. So when Darcy's boyfriend publicly humiliates her in a cruel way, Rain's overprotective instincts kick in and she follows him to Club 39 - where she meets a guy who just might be her perfect match.
The chemistry between Rain and Craig is explosive, but Rain is out for revenge, and refuses to be sidetracked by flirtation. As things between them heat up, she'll have to make a heartbreaking choice between giving in to the man of her dreams or putting her sister's happiness first . . .
Praise for the On Dublin Street series
'Scotland's EL James' - Sunday Post
'Really sexy.' - USA Today
'Young writes stories that stay with you long after you flip that last page.' - Under the Covers

One King’s Way is a novella that’s set between books 1 and 2 in the On Dublin Street series. It features Craig, one of the bartenders Jo and Joss worked with at the club. I thought it was short and sweet.

Rain is in Club 39 to exact revenge on her sister’s loser of an ex-boyfriend who completely humiliated her and forced her to move away. Rain plans to cozy up to him then humiliate him the way he did her sister. Her plans are foiled when she meets Craig, one of the bartenders, and he catches on. They have a ton of chemistry, but Rain can tell right off that Craig isn’t after more than a roll in the hay. As a certified romantic, she wants nothing less that forever-after love.

Craig takes one look at Rain and knows he wants her, but he isn’t really interested in more than a night since he has his hands full caring for his mom and sisters. Still, he can’t get her out of his head. And she clearly needs help with this ridiculous scheme she’s hatched to get back at her sister’s ex.

Craig was kind of a dumbass for most of the book, but he realized his mistakes and more than made up for them. Rain’s silly revenge idea was just that, silly. Why she thought it was a good idea is beyond me. I guess her emotional response to seeing her sister hurt gives her a bit of a pass, but honestly. Her exacting standards for her relationships were also a bit over-the-top, but I understand wanting it all. I was glad her sister pushed her to start making decisions for herself, rather than based on the trauma from their past.

In the end I thought Craig and Rain had great chemistry. This was a sweet story that I zipped right through. It was nice returning to the series.

3 out of 5

three-stars

0 Comments
Tags: , , , , , , , ,


Guest Review: One King’s Way by Samantha Young

Posted November 2, 2015 by Tracy in Reviews | 0 Comments

Guest Review: One King’s Way by Samantha YoungReviewer: Tracy
One King's Way by Samantha Young
Series: On Dublin Street #6.5
Also in this series: Before Jamaica Lane, Fall From India Place, Fall From India Place, Castle Hill, Echoes of Scotland Street, Moonlight on Nightingale Way, Moonlight on Nightingale Way, One King's Way, One King's Way
Published by InterMix
Publication Date: November 3, 2015
Genres: Contemporary
Buy on Amazon | Barnes & Noble
Goodreads
four-stars

 

When he’s not working at the club, Craig Lanaghan looks out for his mother and little sisters. So when it comes to women, all he wants is a good time. But once Rain Alexander walks into his life, there’s no denying that this woman could be worth much more than a one-night stand….

Rain’s lifelong regret is having left her sister Darcy alone years ago with a guardian who turned out to be abusive. So when Darcy’s boyfriend publicly humiliates her in a cruel way, Rain’s overprotective instincts kick in and she follows him to Club 39—where she meets a guy who just might be her perfect match.

The chemistry between Rain and Craig is explosive, but Rain is out for revenge, and refuses to be sidetracked by flirtation. As things between them heat up, she’ll have to make a heartbreaking choice between giving in to the man of her dreams or putting her sister’s happiness first….

Rain is determined to get a bit of revenge on the man who once dated her sister. He humiliated her by talking her into making a sex tape and then showed it to all of his friends. Her sister took off for Australia to try and lick her wounds. The jerk, Angus, tends to hang out at Club 39 so she goes there to see him. She doesn’t really know how she’s going to bring him down but she’s going to do it.

Craig works as a bartender at Club 39 and makes good tips as he flirts and winks at all the women. He sees Rain though, as she doesn’t look like she really belongs there in her 40’s wardrobe looking like a pinup but he can’t seem to take his eyes off of her. Craig is the one-night-stand man and doesn’t do relationships but when he realizes that that’s not the type of girl that Rain is he works harder and then ends up falling for her.

Rain has high expectations of her boyfriends and so far that’s pushed them away. Craig is all of the things she wants in a man except for the flirting at the bar – this is a huge point of contention and almost breaks them up. They make up and get closer and closer but when Rain’s sister asks her to move to Australia permanently Rain has to choose between the sister she swore she’d never abandon and the man she loves.

One King’s Way is a short novella but it packed a lot of story in those pages. The story takes place after Braden and Joss have gotten together, as have Ellie and Adam, but they’re still in the dating stage of their relationship so it takes us back a bit in the overall story arc.

I really liked Craig a lot. He was a good guy who just hadn’t found the woman that would make him want to stop being a love-em and leave-em type. He knew almost instantly that Rain was different from the rest and once she let him into her life he proved to her that he was the man she wanted.

Rain was a little wishy-washy at times but others she knew exactly what she wanted. I was happy that she finally let Craig in but then she still kept him at arm’s length for a time. I loved that they finally worked out their differences and that it all ended in an HEA.

OKW was a wonderful novella that I really enjoyed reading and recommend to anyone who has been reading the On Dublin street series. If you haven’t read any books in the series you would still enjoy this one as it’s pretty self-contained and can be read as a stand-alone.

Rating: 4 out of 5

 

four-stars

0 Comments
Tags: , , , , , , ,