Author: Roni Loren

Guest Review: The Ones Who Got Away by Roni Loren

Posted January 11, 2018 by Tracy in Reviews | 2 Comments

Guest Review: The Ones Who Got Away by Roni LorenReviewer: Tracy
The Ones Who Got Away by Roni Loren
Series: The Ones Who Got Away #1
Published by Sourcebooks Casablanca
Publication Date: January 2nd 2018
Genres: Contemporary Romance
Pages: 384
Buy on Amazon | Barnes & Noble
Goodreads
five-stars

Liv's words cut off as Finn got closer. The man approaching was nothing like the boy she'd known. The bulky football muscles had streamlined into a harder, leaner package and the look in his deep green eyes held no trace of boyish innocence.

It's been twelve years since tragedy struck the senior class of Long Acre High School. Only a few students survived that fateful night—a group the media dubbed The Ones Who Got Away.

Liv Arias thought she'd never return to Long Acre—until a documentary brings her and the other survivors back home. Suddenly her old flame, Finn Dorsey, is closer than ever, and their attraction is still white-hot. When a searing kiss reignites their passion, Liv realizes this rough-around-the-edges cop might be exactly what she needs...

Liv has been living her life day by day since she survived a mass murder at her high school – the night of the prom.  She thought she was happy with her life but when the survivors of the shooting get together at the HS to give interviews 12 years after it happened, she finds that maybe she’s not as happy as she thought.  She gets together with the friends that got her through the year following the shooting and they dig up the time capsule that they planted.  In it are letters that say what they will do with their lives.  When Liv reads her letter she realizes she’s done nothing she planned and that makes her stop and think about how she’s been living her life.  The other thing that makes her stop and take notice is Finn Dorsey.  She hasn’t seen him since the night of the shooting.  They had secretly dated in HS but since his family was rich and her family wasn’t he tried to hide it from his father.  Their teenage love didn’t survive the massacre but now that they’re adults, things have definitely changed.

Finn is an FBI agent who has been undercover for the past 2 years.  He agreed to the interview (off camera) but he’s not thrilled about being back in his hometown.  When he sees Liv, all of the feelings that he thought were gone come crashing to the surface.  He can’t seem to stop thinking about her and events manage to push the two together.  Instead of spending the summer isolated in a lake house trying to readjust to society, Finn spends the summer with Liv and they both figure out what real living is all about.

This book was awesome.  It was so very sad because of the whole premise of the story but I love the way Loren handled the transitioning from HS to the present.  The hero and heroine in this book were facing their fears in so many different ways and they ended up finding love while doing it.  The book was incredibly relatable (even though I’ve never been involved in a tragedy like this) because the plans we made when we were in HS didn’t necessarily come to fruition.  It even made me take a look at life and see how things have changed from HS to now.

I loved Finn and Liv together and how they worked out their issues.  They hadn’t talked since the night of the shooting and needed to clear the air.  On top of that the sexual tension between them was explosive and Loren wrote some extremely hot scenes, let me tell ya!

The secondary characters in this story play a huge role and the book wouldn’t have been the same without them.  I’m very much looking forward to reading their stories as well.

Roni Loren has written a wonderful book that I highly recommend.  It’s definitely highly emotional but so worth reading – even if that’s not normally your type of romance.

Rating: 5 out of 5

five-stars


Tagged: , , , , , , ,

Review: The Ones that Got Away by Roni Loren

Posted January 3, 2018 by Rowena in Reviews | 4 Comments

Review: The Ones that Got Away by Roni LorenReviewer: Rowena
The Ones Who Got Away (The Ones Who Got Away, #1) by Roni Loren
Series: The Ones that Got Away #1
Published by Sourcebooks Casablanca
Publication Date: January 2nd 2018
Genres: Contemporary Romance
Pages: 384
Buy on Amazon | Barnes & Noble
Goodreads
four-stars

Liv's words cut off as Finn got closer. The man approaching was nothing like the boy she'd known. The bulky football muscles had streamlined into a harder, leaner package and the look in his deep green eyes held no trace of boyish innocence.

It's been twelve years since tragedy struck the senior class of Long Acre High School. Only a few students survived that fateful night—a group the media dubbed The Ones Who Got Away.

Liv Arias thought she'd never return to Long Acre—until a documentary brings her and the other survivors back home. Suddenly her old flame, Finn Dorsey, is closer than ever, and their attraction is still white-hot. When a searing kiss reignites their passion, Liv realizes this rough-around-the-edges cop might be exactly what she needs...

I’ve been pretty anxious to read this book ever since I read the blurb. What an interesting concept for a series and I’m totally glad to report that Roni Loren did a fantastic job setting this series up. This was my first book read by Loren and it won’t be my last.

Liv Arias and Finn Dorsey are two students that survived a school shooting and they’re back in the town to take part in a charity documentary that will benefit the families of the victims. It’s not going to be an easy thing to be back at the scene of the crime but for charity, they’ll go back. For any of the survivors, it would be hard to go back to the scene of the crime but for both Liv and Finn, their memories seriously broke my heart.

They were high school sweethearts. They were in love but Liv’s father was Finn’s father’s gardener and because of that, they kept their love a secret. Finn broke Liv’s heart when he asked Rebecca Lindt to prom because he wasn’t strong enough to love Liv out in the open and then he stomped on her heart in the janitor’s closet at prom when the shooting started and he left her in the closet to go and save Bec, leading the shooters right to Liv.

Talk about some angsty romance drama, right? Holy cow, the more I read into this story, the more my heart hurt for Liv but then there was Finn. Finn carries a lot of guilt over everything and seeing Liv again is stirring up the guilt all over again but the connection they had in high school is still alive and beating between them now so how do they move on from the memories? Where do they go from here?

I really enjoyed the romance between Finn and Liv. I thought they handled their coming together again really well. There was so much between them and seeing them struggle to find common ground after all of these years was heartbreaking but boy was I rooting them on. I don’t know that I would have been as forgiving as Liv was but who knows, when you love someone the way that Liv loved Finn, maybe I would.

Another thing that I really enjoyed was that Roni Loren didn’t shy away from making Finn own up to what he did back in high school. I’m glad that he really struggled with his actions back then and how that shaped him into the man that he was now. I liked that Loren made him work for his happy ending. I liked that Liv had to forgive him and they had to work through their past to get to their future.

There’s a lot to enjoy in this book and even more to look forward to. It was so nice to meet some of the other survivors and I liked Liv’s friends. I’m looking forward to more Kincaid, Rebecca and Taryn in future books. I will definitely be back for more so yes, I recommend this book to anyone in the mood for an emotional read about two survivors who find their way back to each other.

Grade: 4 out of 5

four-stars


Tagged: , , , , , , ,

Guest Review on a Sneak Peak of The Ones Who Got Away by Roni Loren

Posted May 4, 2017 by Tracy in Reviews | 2 Comments

Reviewer: Tracy
The Ones Who Got Away by Roni Loren
Published by Sourcebooks Casablanca
Publication Date: January 2nd 2018
Genres: Contemporary Romance
Buy on Amazon | Barnes & Noble
Goodreads
four-stars

A fresh new contemporary romance from New York Times and USA Today bestseller Roni Loren that will rock your world.

Twelve years ago, tragedy struck the senior class of Long Acre High School. Only a small number of students survived, a group the media dubbed as The Ones Who Got Away.

Now, web designer Liv Arias, along with the rest of the survivors, have returned to the small Texas town to tell their stories for a documentary. Which means Liv seeing former star-athlete and old flame Finn Dorsey. A lot happened between them that night and Liv is ready to end their decade-long riff and move on. But when her attempt at closure turns into a steamy kiss, moving on proves much more difficult than either of them thought...

Liv's words cut off as Finn got closer. The man approaching was nothing like the boy she'd known. The bulky football muscles had streamlined into a harder, leaner package. The smooth face was now dusted with scruff, and the look in his deep green eyes held no trace of boyish innocence. A thousand things were in those eyes. A thousand things welled up in Liv.

Liv doesn’t really want to be back in her hometown talking about the tragedy that changed her entire life.  She certainly doesn’t want to see Finn as he had a big hand in her experience during the tragedy.  Despite that she can’t help but be attracted to the man that Finn’s become, remembering all the great times they had in high school, even if no one but the two of them knew about their relationship.  Liv just wants to give her interview and get back home, but once Finn kisses her she’s not sure what she wants.

I just got a short sneak peak at The One Who Got Away but it left me completely intrigued – and frustrated that I it ended so soon!  I’ve loved the books I’ve read by Loren and I have a feeling I’ll like this one just as much.  TOWGA obviously has a highly emotional and touchy subject – a mass shooting at a high school – and one that we hear about way too often these days.  I admire Loren for having this romance set post-tragedy and can’t wait to see how she handles the characters with all of their survivor’s guilt.  I think it’s gonna be a great read and can’t wait until January 2018 when it comes out.

four-stars


Tagged: , , , , , ,

Guest Review: Wanderlust by Roni Loren

Posted July 19, 2016 by Tracy in Reviews | 0 Comments

Guest Review: Wanderlust by Roni LorenReviewer: Tracy
Wanderlust by Roni Loren
Published by Penguin, Intermix
Publication Date: July 19th 2016
Buy on Amazon | Barnes & Noble
Goodreads
four-stars

Restaurant critic Aubrey Bordelon is never at a loss for words to describe her meals in the fancy restaurants of New Orleans. But after her magazine’s high-profile music reporter falls ill, she finds herself out of her element and in a sea of screaming fans awaiting Wanderlust’s lead singer, Lex Logan. The sound of his voice gives her goosebumps, and the stage presence of the hard-bodied rock star takes her breath away. So when he pulls her onstage for a sexy stunt, she knows she’s in real trouble.

Lex doesn’t want to pretend that the sparks on stage between him and Aubrey never happened, but it certainly makes the fact that she’s writing a story on his band all the more dangerous. The last thing he needs is some nosy reporter revealing their problems to the world. But the sexy Southern belle doesn’t give up easily, and soon he’s wondering if the best way to chase her off the story is to coax her into his bed…

Aubrey is a bit uncomfortable with her new assignment.  She’s to spend a week with the band Wanderlust and write a story about it for the magazine she works for. Unfortunately, that’s not really her thing as she’s a restaurant critic.  She may not be thrilled with the assignment but when she’s in the concert the lead singer of Wanderlust captures her attention.  When she’s pulled up on stage so that Lex Logan, lead singer, can do a body shot off of her, Aubrey knows she shouldn’t but she can’t help herself.

Meeting Lex back stage after the concert isn’t what Lex thought it would be.  He thought he was going to get to meet the hot brunette he brought up on stage but he gets the buttoned-up reporter instead.  He doesn’t want to do the interview as he only agreed to it because his friend Nick works for the magazine.  Though Nick has appendicitis Lex still has to go through with the interview.  He decides that if he sleeps with Aubrey (which would be absolutely no hardship) then he can get her off the story as he could claim conflict of interest, etc.  Lex doesn’t count on getting to know Aubrey and getting to like her more and more.

Aubrey tries to fight Lex and the attraction she feels for him but he turns out to be a much better person than she thought at first.  She finds herself falling in love with him but she knows nothing can come of it because he’ll be leaving town soon and Aubrey will be left alone to deal with her inner demons.

This was another great story from Roni Loren.  When I first read her novella, Nice Girls Don’t Ride, I knew she was someone I needed to read more of in the future.  The characters in Loren’s books are just so normal.  They deal with normal problems in their lives but they deal with them well. Loren always drags me into a book and I don’t want to put it down until I’m done.

In this story I wasn’t sure if I liked Lex at first because he seemed like a bit of an ass (that’s what Aubrey thought as well) but as I read on I saw that he was a much nicer person.  Lex got close to Aubrey pretty quickly and discovered that she’d been living a pretty hard life for the past few years.  He got to see another side to Aubrey when he was with her and he realized that that was the real Aubrey, not the stick in the mud she tried to be.  Lex worked to get Aubrey to break out of her stiff mold but her parents and her past wouldn’t let her do that.  He was really a nice guy and I loved how he tried so hard for her.

Aubrey had so many problems she was dealing with.  Her dad was running for mayor of New Orleans and wanted Aubrey to be the perfect daughter.  Unfortunately, she wasn’t and they didn’t let her forget it.  She had been responsible for the death of her sister and it wasn’t bad enough that it ate her up inside every day, her parents had to look at her and make her feel worse.  I truly wanted to hurt her parents in many ways.  Asses.  Aubrey, once she let herself relax was a girl who loved life and Lex helped her see that she needed to live it instead of doing what everyone else wanted her to do.  Their relationship had its issues at first but in the end they were more than good and they made me smile with how it all ended.

Overall a really great story, a good romance and one I definitely recommend.  If you haven’t read any books by Roni Loren I would suggest you do so – I don’t think you’ll be sorry.

Rating: 4 out of 5

four-stars


Tagged: , , , , , ,

Guest Review: Yours All Along by Roni Loren

Posted June 29, 2015 by Tracy in Reviews | 1 Comment

Guest Review: Yours All Along by Roni LorenReviewer: Tracy
Yours All Along by Roni Loren
Series: Loving on the Edge #7.5
Published by Intermix
Publication Date: June 16, 2015
Genres: M/M
Buy on Amazon | Barnes & Noble
Goodreads
four-stars

Four years after an accident tore their friendship apart, Hunter and Devon are living separate lives. Hunter is now the all-America hero—a congressman’s son and a pro pitcher in Houston preparing to marry his beauty-queen girlfriend. Devon is in Dallas running a new restaurant.

But when Hunter unexpectedly shows up in Devon’s bar, Devon can’t turn him away. Damn it if the man isn’t still gorgeous. But engaged? Hell no. All he’s doing for Devon is bringing back memories of their college-roommate days, and the night their relationship went too far. Turns out Hunter has never forgotten it either.

Now Devon can’t help but be drawn in all over again by the only guy who’s ever gotten close enough to break his heart. Maybe one more night together would be enough for both of them to finally move on. Or maybe one night will change everything…

Tracy’s review of Yours All Along (Loving on the Edge #7.5) by Roni Loren

Hunter feels like he’s suffocating. His fiancé is constantly talking about wedding arrangements and the wedding is still 3 months away. She finally realizes that he needs a break and decides to send him to a resort where a friend of hers works. He heads down there but ends up at the restaurant where his one time best friend, Devon, works. Hunter gets drunk on wine and Devon ends up driving him to his hotel. While in the car Hunter thinks back on their friendship and its abrupt ending four years before.

Back in college they had been in the same fraternity. Devon was gay and out and Hunter had no problem with that, unlike the other guys in the house. Hunter volunteered to room with Devon and from there their friendship grew. With their easy relationship and kidding around soon the other guys in the house were treating Devon like one of the guys. Devon loved his best friend but he was also in love with him. One night sharing the same bed (after another frat house pranked them) the walls came down between them and soon they were sharing more than a bed.

I’ve only read one story by Roni Loren and that was an m/f romance novella. I really liked her style so when I saw Yours All Along I had to see what it had to offer. I’m so glad I read it because it was just a sweet story.

I really liked both Hunter and Devon as characters. While most of the book was a flashback to college there was enough in present time to satisfy my curiosity about them. I liked them as young men and as full grown adults as well. I felt they were perfect for each other and adored the chemistry between them. Even when Devon was pissed off at his friend you could tell he cared about him.

I didn’t think the ending was abrupt exactly, but it ended with Hunter’s decision to be who he was. I wish we would have gotten a little bit more at the end of the book with regard to the fall out that was bound to occur from Hunter’s revelation about his love for Devon. I would have loved to have had Hunters father’s expression described when he found out he couldn’t control his sons decisions any longer. That would have been awesome. lol

In the end I thought it was a very sweet and lovely story. I love friends to lovers stories and this sexy little novella hit the spot.

Rating: 4 out of 5

This title is available from InterMix. You can buy it here or here in e-format. This book was provided by the publisher in exchange for an honest review.

four-stars


Tagged: , , , , , , , , ,