Author: Rebecca Zanetti

Guest Review: Lethal Lies by Rebecca Zanetti

Posted June 22, 2017 by Jen in Reviews | 0 Comments

Guest Review: Lethal Lies by Rebecca ZanettiReviewer: Jen
Lethal Lies by Rebecca Zanetti
Series: Blood Brothers #2
Also in this series: Deadly Silence, Deadly Silence, Lethal Lies
Published by Hachette Books, Forever
Publication Date: May 16th 2017
Genres: Contemporary, Romantic Suspense
Pages: 416
Buy on Amazon | Barnes & Noble
Goodreads
three-half-stars

New York Times bestselling author Rebecca Zanetti brings us the second book in a thrilling romantic suspense series.

A deadly secret can't stay buried forever . . .

Revenge. It's the only thing that will help Anya Best sleep at night. The serial killer who murdered her sister is on the loose, and Anya will stop at nothing to put him behind bars-even use herself as bait to lure him out of hiding. But she can't do this alone.

Private investigator Heath Jones's job is to bring bastards to justice. This time it's personal. He knew the Copper Killer's latest victim so when her sister asks for his help, he's all in. But when Anya uses the media to taunt the killer, she exposes Heath's identity, putting them both in jeopardy. Now, secrets buried long ago are coming to light and the forces determined to destroy him are watching Heath's every move, waiting to exact their own revenge. And they'll use anything and anyone to get to Heath.

With twists and turns that will take your breath away, LETHAL LIES is sexy, action-packed suspense at its very best from New York Times bestselling author Rebecca Zanetti.

In this next Blood Brothers book, we meet Anya Best, who’s out for revenge against her sister’s killer. She decides to use herself as bait to catch the killer, but unfortunately she entangles Heath Jones in her plot. Heath is a PI already investigating the killer so he’s game, plus he’s majorly drawn to Anya, but the ploy puts Heath and his brothers at risk. Can they stop the killer and get justice for Anya’s sister before the other people after the Jones brothers catch up?

I love Zanetti’s Sin Brothers series (loooooove it), and I was pretty into the first Blood Brothers book, but I felt like Lethal Lies was a bit less exciting for me. I enjoyed it and had a good time while reading it, but it didn’t really stick with me.

Anya in particular got on my nerves. She concocts a half-assed plan to catch her sister’s killer, but she never thinks through the ramifications, and doesn’t really have any serious plan for how she will stop this horrific killer that even her FBI-trained sister couldn’t handle. She doesn’t know anything about self-defense or catching a criminal. I just…couldn’t get behind her. Even worse, she barely knows Heath but involves him in her dangerous public plot. I get that she didn’t fully understand the risk she put Heath and his brothers in. She didn’t know their history and couldn’t know how her throwaway comment naming him in the press could literally kill him and his brothers. Fair enough! But she never really deals with that fact, even once she does know the truth. It felt glossed over but never explored. Her selfish need for “justice” could have killed them all! I definitely wanted some remorse or at least clear understanding from her, but we never got that, and Heath never holds her accountable either. I didn’t like it.

I did like Heath and Anya together, though. Heath is so damaged, so unhappy. All the Jones Brothers (and all the Gray Brothers, for that matter), feel such love and responsibility for their family that it just melts your heart. Even though Heath thinks he’s a lone wolf, Anya shows him what it means to truly be alone, and I liked his own newfound appreciation for his family after he is reminded of all the support he does have. He is also a great support for Anya, and he backs her up no matter what. Their relationship was super steamy, too, and the sexual tension was great.

I loved seeing the Gray Brothers a bit, though I admittedly didn’t understand why they didn’t jump in all the way when the Jones Brothers were clearly in a pickle. Still, I always enjoy being in this world, and I look forward to more installments from Zanetti.

Grade: 3.5 out of 5

three-half-stars

Review: Lethal Lies by Rebecca Zanetti

Posted May 15, 2017 by Casee in Reviews | 3 Comments

Review: Lethal Lies by Rebecca ZanettiReviewer: Casee
Lethal Lies by Rebecca Zanetti
Series: Blood Brothers #2
Also in this series: Deadly Silence, Deadly Silence, Lethal Lies
Published by Forever
Publication Date: May 16th 2017
Genres: Romantic Suspense
Buy on Amazon | Barnes & Noble
Goodreads
four-stars

A deadly secret can't stay buried forever . . . Revenge. It's the only thing that will help Anya Best sleep at night. The serial killer who murdered her sister is on the loose, and Anya will stop at nothing to put him behind bars-even use herself as bait to lure him out of hiding. But she can't do this alone.
Private investigator Heath Jones's job is to bring bastards to justice. This time it's personal. He knew the Copper Killer's latest victim so when her sister asks for his help, he's all in. But when Anya uses the media to taunt the killer, she exposes Heath's identity, putting them both in jeopardy. Now, secrets buried long ago are coming to light and the forces determined to destroy him are watching Heath's every move, waiting to exact their own revenge. And they'll use anything and anyone to get to Heath.
With twists and turns that will take your breath away, LETHAL LIES is sexy, action-packed suspense at its very best from New York Times bestselling author Rebecca Zanetti.

Anya Best wants revenge on the serial killer that killed her sister and she will do anything to get it. When Heath Jones comes into her life, she doesn’t know if she should trust him. Whether or not she can, she knows that he’s the man that can help her. She feels ultimately responsible for her sister’s death since Anya is the one the Copper Killer really wanted. Loretta wouldn’t even have been involved in the case if it wasn’t for Anya.

Heath wants Anya as far away from the Copper Killer as possible. He lets her think that she’s being used as bait when, in fact, she’s not. Heath has never felt a primal attraction to anyone like he does to Anya and it brings out instincts him that he hasn’t felt since he was a helpless boy in the Boys home that he and his brothers grew up in.

In addition to the Copper Killer case, Heath and his brothers are on the run. Isobel Madison wants them back for her lab. Sheriff Cobb wants to kill them because they killed his brother in self-defense all those years ago. The last thing that Heath wants to do is bring Anya into the middle of everything. When you add in the Copper Killer, the group has quite a plate full.

Anya was borderline TSTL. She refused to go away to a safe house while the Copper Killer was at large. This killer has been contacting her for years. Years. Yet she thinks that she can outsmart him. It was laughable. Still, the romance between these two kept the book going strong. It was visceral and intense and I didn’t want it to end. I’m looking forward to Denver’s book.

Rating: 4 out of 5.

four-stars

Review: Justice Ascending by Rebecca Zanetti

Posted January 27, 2017 by Casee in Reviews | 0 Comments

Review: Justice Ascending by Rebecca ZanettiReviewer: Casee
Justice Ascending by Rebecca Zanetti
Series: The Scorpius Syndrome
Also in this series: Mercury Striking, Shadow Falling
Published by Zebra
Publication Date: January 31, 2017
Genres: Post Apocalyptic, Romance
Pages: 400
Buy on Amazon | Barnes & Noble
Goodreads

Before surviving the Scorpius bacterium, Tace Justice was a good ole Texas cowboy who served his country and loved his mama. After Scorpius, the world became dark, dangerous, and deadly... and so did he. The Vanguard medic is stronger, faster, and smarter than before, but he's lost the line between right and wrong. His passion is absolute, and when he focuses it on one woman, there's no turning back for either of them.

Sami Steel has been fighting to survive right alongside Tace, convincing the Vanguard soldiers she's one of them. In truth, Sami is a former hacker turned government agent who worked at The Bunker, where scientists stored both contaminants and cures. Only she knows the location, and she's not telling. Yet when sexual fire explodes between her and Tace, she'll face even that hell again to save him.

Tace Justice was introduced in Mercury Striking as an affable, yet strong character. He was a down-to-earth good ‘ol boy who landed in the inner circle of Jax Mercury. As a field medic, his skills are in demand in post-apocalypse Los Angeles. When he is infected with the Scorpius Syndrome, he doesn’t get Vitamin B in time to come out on the other side of the virus unscathed. Tace doesn’t much care, but he knows he’s different. He’s not quite a Ripper, but he believes he’s on his way to becoming one.

Sami Steele has secrets. Big secrets. But she’s not sharing the biggest of them all. She knows where the Bunker is. The Bunker that everyone thinks the cure for Scorpius Syndrome is. They might be right, but Sami isn’t leading them into hell, which is exactly what the Bunker is as far as she is concerned. Yet when Tace seems to be one of the few that rejects the Vitamin B, Sami knows she can no longer keep quiet. Only at the Bunker can she find the way to save him.

Tace was happy to remain strictly co-workers with Sami until he was infected with Scorpius. After that, all bets were off. His obsession with sex moved onto an obsession with Sami. Not just with Sami, but with her safety. He is so intent on keeping her safe that he is risking his own safety, something that Jax isn’t so keen on. He doesn’t like his lieutenants fraternizing and he lets them know it. Nothing can keep these two apart, not even Scorpius.

I’m digging this series. Post-apocalypse romances really get to me because you strip everything down to survival. So falling in love in a week doesn’t seem out of the ordinary. Nothing is out of the ordinary when it comes down to it. You’re stripped to your core and it’s survival of the fittest. I can’t wait to see what Zanetti comes up with next.

Rating: 4.25 out of 5.

Review: Deadly Silence by Rebecca Zanetti

Posted November 22, 2016 by Casee in Reviews | 2 Comments

Review: Deadly Silence by Rebecca ZanettiReviewer: Casee
Deadly Silence by Rebecca Zanetti
Series: Blood Brothers #1
Also in this series: Deadly Silence, Lethal Lies, Lethal Lies
Published by Forever
Publication Date: October 4th 2016
Genres: Contemporary Romance, Romantic Suspense
Pages: 400
Buy on Amazon | Barnes & Noble
Goodreads
two-half-stars

DON'T LOOK BACK

Under siege. That's how Ryker Jones feels. The Lost Bastards Investigative Agency he opened up with his blood brothers has lost a client in a brutal way. The past he can't outrun is resurfacing, threatening to drag him down in the undertow. And the beautiful woman he's been trying to keep at arm's length is in danger...and he'll destroy anything and anyone to keep her safe.

Paralegal Zara Remington is in over her head. She's making risky moves at work by day and indulging in an affair with a darkly dangerous PI by night. There's a lot Ryker isn't telling her and the more she uncovers, the less she wants to know. But when all hell breaks loose, Ryker may be the only one to save her. If his past doesn't catch up to them first...

Full of twists and turns you won't see coming, DEADLY SILENCE is New York Times bestselling author Rebecca Zanetti at her suspenseful best...

This book was not my cuppa. First, it took me two weeks to read. Two. weeks. When does it every take any of us two weeks to read? After reading the Sin brothers, I was super excited about this book because it was an extension of that series and I really like Rebecca Zanetti. Not so, this book.

Ryker Jones and his brothers have an uncanny ability to find the lost. Since they escaped the boys home they grew up in, they all have special abilities from unusual hearing to detecting when someone is telling a lie. Using these abilities has helped them find people. Right now they’re working on a case with the FBI. The only catch is that they can’t be caught on camera, have their finger prints taken or anything else that could point anyone to their identities as the boys in the group home.

Ryker has also met Zara, a paralegal that he’s starting to have more than casual feelings for. Of course Ryker never meant to have more than a fling with Zara, but then she started to do sweet things for him like cook for him and make him laugh. Making someone like Ryker laugh isn’t easy and it draws him to Zara even more. He also realizes that Zara has problems of her own. When his brothers start talking about leaving, there is no way that he will leave her until she is safe.

Then there is yet another problem. Someone has hacked their system. Someone that wants their help, but has gone about it in a very unconventional way. They can’t say no because they are being blackmailed, but they never would have said no in the first place.

There are about four plots going at once here. That’s way too many. I couldn’t barely keep up. I felt like I was in a pingpong machine and wondered where to next. Way too much for me.

Rating: 2.5 out of 5.

two-half-stars

Guest Review: Deadly Silence by Rebecca Zanetti

Posted October 3, 2016 by Jen in Reviews | 0 Comments

Guest Review: Deadly Silence by Rebecca ZanettiReviewer: Jen
Deadly Silence by Rebecca Zanetti
Series: Blood Brothers #1
Also in this series: Deadly Silence, Lethal Lies, Lethal Lies
Published by Forever
Publication Date: October 4th 2016
Genres: Romantic Suspense, Contemporary, Romance
Pages: 400
Buy on Amazon | Barnes & Noble
Goodreads
three-half-stars

DON'T LOOK BACK

Under siege. That's how Ryker Jones feels. The Lost Bastards Investigative Agency he opened up with his blood brothers has lost a client in a brutal way. The past he can't outrun is resurfacing, threatening to drag him down in the undertow. And the beautiful woman he's been trying to keep at arm's length is in danger...and he'll destroy anything and anyone to keep her safe.

Paralegal Zara Remington is in over her head. She's making risky moves at work by day and indulging in an affair with a darkly dangerous PI by night. There's a lot Ryker isn't telling her and the more she uncovers, the less she wants to know. But when all hell breaks loose, Ryker may be the only one to save her. If his past doesn't catch up to them first...

Full of twists and turns you won't see coming, DEADLY SILENCE is New York Times bestselling author Rebecca Zanetti at her suspenseful best...

A Blood Brothers Novel

Did you love Rebecca Zanetti’s Sin Brothers series as much as I did? If not, there’s nothing in this book that’s going to convert you. If you enjoyed the previous series too, though, this spin off is more of the same, which might be a good or bad thing depending on your perspective.

The Blood Brothers series focuses on yet another set of brothers, private investigators Ryker, Heath, and Denver. Once again, these brothers have unusually sharp abilities, and once again they are very manly and full of all the broody, brotherly feels. This is Ryker’s book, and he’s the oldest of these brothers of circumstance, not biology. He’s got a fuck buddy, Zara, who he visits whenever he’s in town. They’re both pretty clear about the no-strings part, but when Ryker sees a bruise on Zara’s face during a visit, he starts getting all protective and wanting to know what’s going on in her life. Ryker’s life too is getting complicated, with a frustrating serial killer that keeps eluding him and his brothers and a very strange kid wanting them to find someone from their past. Ryker and Zara can’t help but be drawn together as they try to untangle all the threads.

These books are definitely my particular crack. I usually am not a huge fan of the overbearing alphahole, at least for more than one book in a row, but Zanetti’s brand of alphahole works for me. Or, maybe it’s more accurate to say that the larger story lines grab my attention enough to lessen my usual frustrations with this type of hero. The plot is fast paced and has lots of twisty details (albeit with too many convoluted storylines happening simultaneously). Plus the relationship between the brothers is touching and adds humanity to their backgrounds. There’s no way around it though–Ryker is an arrogant jerk. He’s bossy and pushy to everyone, especially Zara, and several times he deserved a swift kick in the junk. Despite all that, what did redeem him a touch for me was that he does it all in an attempt to keep those he loves safe. As the oldest of the brothers, he was the protector from an early age and takes that responsibility seriously. He is so determined at the start to stay away from Zara because he just can’t handle the immense responsibility of one more person, but of course he can’t help himself and realizes he doesn’t want to live in a world where he doesn’t get to protect Zara.

I could at least understand where Ryker was coming from, but Zara was a little more confusing to me. I desperately wanted her to stand up to Ryker more, but she likes being bossed around. At first it’s a sex thing–she likes Ryker because he’ll take charge in bed and it makes for some hot scenes–but it quickly extends to other areas of life, too. They have a weird antagonistic relationship, and Zara will deliberately pick fights and piss Ryker off. She says things like “you can’t tell me what to do” but then she’ll let him tell her what to do. She really needed a bit more backbone and agency.

If this all sounds like something you’ve read in the Sin Brothers books…you’d be spot on. It certainly felt like same story we’ve already had. Domineering alpha afraid to get involved, heroine in need of protecting, strong brotherly love, secrets and mysteries from the past that have to be uncovered, etc. There’s even a lovable senior citizen, a secret bad-guy base, and the same villain from the other series! I liked all that in the other four books and I liked it here as well, but my enjoyment did dim just slightly as the book went on and it was feeling so familiar. I’m still hooked by the larger storyline and I will happily read the rest of the series, but I’m hoping for some new ground in later books. (Number one on my wish list? Another spin off series about 3 amazing sisters! That would rock my world.)

If you’re new to the Sin Brothers, I wouldn’t start with Deadly Silence or you’ll miss the larger world building. However, if you read the Sin Brothers books and want to revisit the world (and get a small glimpse of my absolute favorite brother Jory, sigh), I think Deadly Silence is a fun, if not exactly unique, addition to that universe.

Grade: 3.75 out of 5

*I received a review copy of this book from the publisher.

 

three-half-stars