Author: Rebecca Zanetti

Review: Justice Ascending by Rebecca Zanetti

Posted January 27, 2017 by Casee in Reviews | 0 Comments

Review: Justice Ascending by Rebecca ZanettiReviewer: Casee
Justice Ascending by Rebecca Zanetti
Series: The Scorpius Syndrome
Also in this series: Mercury Striking, Shadow Falling
Published by Zebra
Publication Date: January 31, 2017
Genres: Post Apocalyptic, Romance
Pages: 400
Buy on Amazon | Barnes & Noble
Goodreads

Before surviving the Scorpius bacterium, Tace Justice was a good ole Texas cowboy who served his country and loved his mama. After Scorpius, the world became dark, dangerous, and deadly... and so did he. The Vanguard medic is stronger, faster, and smarter than before, but he's lost the line between right and wrong. His passion is absolute, and when he focuses it on one woman, there's no turning back for either of them.

Sami Steel has been fighting to survive right alongside Tace, convincing the Vanguard soldiers she's one of them. In truth, Sami is a former hacker turned government agent who worked at The Bunker, where scientists stored both contaminants and cures. Only she knows the location, and she's not telling. Yet when sexual fire explodes between her and Tace, she'll face even that hell again to save him.

Tace Justice was introduced in Mercury Striking as an affable, yet strong character. He was a down-to-earth good ‘ol boy who landed in the inner circle of Jax Mercury. As a field medic, his skills are in demand in post-apocalypse Los Angeles. When he is infected with the Scorpius Syndrome, he doesn’t get Vitamin B in time to come out on the other side of the virus unscathed. Tace doesn’t much care, but he knows he’s different. He’s not quite a Ripper, but he believes he’s on his way to becoming one.

Sami Steele has secrets. Big secrets. But she’s not sharing the biggest of them all. She knows where the Bunker is. The Bunker that everyone thinks the cure for Scorpius Syndrome is. They might be right, but Sami isn’t leading them into hell, which is exactly what the Bunker is as far as she is concerned. Yet when Tace seems to be one of the few that rejects the Vitamin B, Sami knows she can no longer keep quiet. Only at the Bunker can she find the way to save him.

Tace was happy to remain strictly co-workers with Sami until he was infected with Scorpius. After that, all bets were off. His obsession with sex moved onto an obsession with Sami. Not just with Sami, but with her safety. He is so intent on keeping her safe that he is risking his own safety, something that Jax isn’t so keen on. He doesn’t like his lieutenants fraternizing and he lets them know it. Nothing can keep these two apart, not even Scorpius.

I’m digging this series. Post-apocalypse romances really get to me because you strip everything down to survival. So falling in love in a week doesn’t seem out of the ordinary. Nothing is out of the ordinary when it comes down to it. You’re stripped to your core and it’s survival of the fittest. I can’t wait to see what Zanetti comes up with next.

Rating: 4.25 out of 5.

0 Comments
Tags: , , , , , ,


Review: Deadly Silence by Rebecca Zanetti

Posted November 22, 2016 by Casee in Reviews | 2 Comments

Review: Deadly Silence by Rebecca ZanettiReviewer: Casee
Deadly Silence by Rebecca Zanetti
Series: Blood Brothers #1
Also in this series: Deadly Silence
Published by Forever
Publication Date: October 4th 2016
Genres: Contemporary Romance, Romantic Suspense
Pages: 400
Buy on Amazon | Barnes & Noble
Goodreads
two-half-stars

DON'T LOOK BACK

Under siege. That's how Ryker Jones feels. The Lost Bastards Investigative Agency he opened up with his blood brothers has lost a client in a brutal way. The past he can't outrun is resurfacing, threatening to drag him down in the undertow. And the beautiful woman he's been trying to keep at arm's length is in danger...and he'll destroy anything and anyone to keep her safe.

Paralegal Zara Remington is in over her head. She's making risky moves at work by day and indulging in an affair with a darkly dangerous PI by night. There's a lot Ryker isn't telling her and the more she uncovers, the less she wants to know. But when all hell breaks loose, Ryker may be the only one to save her. If his past doesn't catch up to them first...

Full of twists and turns you won't see coming, DEADLY SILENCE is New York Times bestselling author Rebecca Zanetti at her suspenseful best...

This book was not my cuppa. First, it took me two weeks to read. Two. weeks. When does it every take any of us two weeks to read? After reading the Sin brothers, I was super excited about this book because it was an extension of that series and I really like Rebecca Zanetti. Not so, this book.

Ryker Jones and his brothers have an uncanny ability to find the lost. Since they escaped the boys home they grew up in, they all have special abilities from unusual hearing to detecting when someone is telling a lie. Using these abilities has helped them find people. Right now they’re working on a case with the FBI. The only catch is that they can’t be caught on camera, have their finger prints taken or anything else that could point anyone to their identities as the boys in the group home.

Ryker has also met Zara, a paralegal that he’s starting to have more than casual feelings for. Of course Ryker never meant to have more than a fling with Zara, but then she started to do sweet things for him like cook for him and make him laugh. Making someone like Ryker laugh isn’t easy and it draws him to Zara even more. He also realizes that Zara has problems of her own. When his brothers start talking about leaving, there is no way that he will leave her until she is safe.

Then there is yet another problem. Someone has hacked their system. Someone that wants their help, but has gone about it in a very unconventional way. They can’t say no because they are being blackmailed, but they never would have said no in the first place.

There are about four plots going at once here. That’s way too many. I couldn’t barely keep up. I felt like I was in a pingpong machine and wondered where to next. Way too much for me.

Rating: 2.5 out of 5.

two-half-stars

2 Comments
Tags: , , , , , ,


Guest Review: Deadly Silence by Rebecca Zanetti

Posted October 3, 2016 by Jen in Reviews | 0 Comments

Guest Review: Deadly Silence by Rebecca ZanettiReviewer: Jen
Deadly Silence by Rebecca Zanetti
Series: Blood Brothers #1
Also in this series: Deadly Silence
Published by Forever
Publication Date: October 4th 2016
Genres: Romantic Suspense, Contemporary, Romance
Pages: 400
Buy on Amazon | Barnes & Noble
Goodreads
three-half-stars

DON'T LOOK BACK

Under siege. That's how Ryker Jones feels. The Lost Bastards Investigative Agency he opened up with his blood brothers has lost a client in a brutal way. The past he can't outrun is resurfacing, threatening to drag him down in the undertow. And the beautiful woman he's been trying to keep at arm's length is in danger...and he'll destroy anything and anyone to keep her safe.

Paralegal Zara Remington is in over her head. She's making risky moves at work by day and indulging in an affair with a darkly dangerous PI by night. There's a lot Ryker isn't telling her and the more she uncovers, the less she wants to know. But when all hell breaks loose, Ryker may be the only one to save her. If his past doesn't catch up to them first...

Full of twists and turns you won't see coming, DEADLY SILENCE is New York Times bestselling author Rebecca Zanetti at her suspenseful best...

A Blood Brothers Novel

Did you love Rebecca Zanetti’s Sin Brothers series as much as I did? If not, there’s nothing in this book that’s going to convert you. If you enjoyed the previous series too, though, this spin off is more of the same, which might be a good or bad thing depending on your perspective.

The Blood Brothers series focuses on yet another set of brothers, private investigators Ryker, Heath, and Denver. Once again, these brothers have unusually sharp abilities, and once again they are very manly and full of all the broody, brotherly feels. This is Ryker’s book, and he’s the oldest of these brothers of circumstance, not biology. He’s got a fuck buddy, Zara, who he visits whenever he’s in town. They’re both pretty clear about the no-strings part, but when Ryker sees a bruise on Zara’s face during a visit, he starts getting all protective and wanting to know what’s going on in her life. Ryker’s life too is getting complicated, with a frustrating serial killer that keeps eluding him and his brothers and a very strange kid wanting them to find someone from their past. Ryker and Zara can’t help but be drawn together as they try to untangle all the threads.

These books are definitely my particular crack. I usually am not a huge fan of the overbearing alphahole, at least for more than one book in a row, but Zanetti’s brand of alphahole works for me. Or, maybe it’s more accurate to say that the larger story lines grab my attention enough to lessen my usual frustrations with this type of hero. The plot is fast paced and has lots of twisty details (albeit with too many convoluted storylines happening simultaneously). Plus the relationship between the brothers is touching and adds humanity to their backgrounds. There’s no way around it though–Ryker is an arrogant jerk. He’s bossy and pushy to everyone, especially Zara, and several times he deserved a swift kick in the junk. Despite all that, what did redeem him a touch for me was that he does it all in an attempt to keep those he loves safe. As the oldest of the brothers, he was the protector from an early age and takes that responsibility seriously. He is so determined at the start to stay away from Zara because he just can’t handle the immense responsibility of one more person, but of course he can’t help himself and realizes he doesn’t want to live in a world where he doesn’t get to protect Zara.

I could at least understand where Ryker was coming from, but Zara was a little more confusing to me. I desperately wanted her to stand up to Ryker more, but she likes being bossed around. At first it’s a sex thing–she likes Ryker because he’ll take charge in bed and it makes for some hot scenes–but it quickly extends to other areas of life, too. They have a weird antagonistic relationship, and Zara will deliberately pick fights and piss Ryker off. She says things like “you can’t tell me what to do” but then she’ll let him tell her what to do. She really needed a bit more backbone and agency.

If this all sounds like something you’ve read in the Sin Brothers books…you’d be spot on. It certainly felt like same story we’ve already had. Domineering alpha afraid to get involved, heroine in need of protecting, strong brotherly love, secrets and mysteries from the past that have to be uncovered, etc. There’s even a lovable senior citizen, a secret bad-guy base, and the same villain from the other series! I liked all that in the other four books and I liked it here as well, but my enjoyment did dim just slightly as the book went on and it was feeling so familiar. I’m still hooked by the larger storyline and I will happily read the rest of the series, but I’m hoping for some new ground in later books. (Number one on my wish list? Another spin off series about 3 amazing sisters! That would rock my world.)

If you’re new to the Sin Brothers, I wouldn’t start with Deadly Silence or you’ll miss the larger world building. However, if you read the Sin Brothers books and want to revisit the world (and get a small glimpse of my absolute favorite brother Jory, sigh), I think Deadly Silence is a fun, if not exactly unique, addition to that universe.

Grade: 3.75 out of 5

*I received a review copy of this book from the publisher.

 

three-half-stars

0 Comments
Tags: , , , , , , ,


Review: Shadow Falling by Rebecca Zanetti

Posted September 23, 2016 by Casee in Reviews | 0 Comments

Review: Shadow Falling by Rebecca ZanettiReviewer: Casee
Shadow Falling by Rebecca Zanetti
Series: The Scorpius Syndrome #2
Also in this series: Mercury Striking, Justice Ascending
Published by Zebra Books
Publication Date: August 30th 2016
Genres: Apocalyptic & Post-Apocalyptic, Dystopian, Romance
Pages: 400
Buy on Amazon | Barnes & Noble
Goodreads
four-stars

Before the Scorpius Syndrome tore through North America and nearly wiped out the population, Vivienne Kennedy was the FBI’s best profiler. The bacteria got her anyway. But she survived. She recovered. And when she woke up from a drug-nightmare of captivity, her skills as a hunter of men had gone from merely brilliant to full-on uncanny. Her mysterious rescuer wants her to put them to the test. But no matter how tempting he is, with his angel’s eyes and devil’s tongue, Vinnie knows she shouldn’t trust him.
If the FBI were still around they would rate Raze Shadow as one of the bad guys. His military training can’t wipe out his association with the Mercenaries, the most feared gang in a thousand miles. His loyalties are compromised. He won’t even tell Vinnie his real name. But there’s no FBI in the new America of fear and firepower, only instinct and risk.
And the way his arms wrap around Vinnie tells its own story. Whatever else Raze is concealing, he can’t hide his desire . . .

I am really loving this series. I love post-apocalyptic books. How would I be in a post-apocalypse world? How would you be? I think I would die in the first wave of deaths. Holly wouldn’t. I’ve seen the survival gear in her trunk. Maybe I wouldn’t. I would just need to find her car. Which would be hard considering we love several states away from each other.

Back to the review. I really enjoyed this book, but I liked Mercury Striking more. That’s where we are first introduced to Raze. He was as shady in that book as he is in his own book. When Vanguard goes to rescue Lynne from the Ripper President of the United States in Mercury Rising, Raze finds Vivienne Kennedy. Vinnie has been held prisoner by the President because he thinks she knows where the Bunker is. The Bunker is thought to have supplies and hold the cure for the Scorpius Syndrome. The problem is that Vinnie has no idea where the Bunker is. By the time she’s rescued, she’s been abused and drugged beyond imagining.

Raze is immediately drawn to Vinnie. She is vulnerable and his protective instincts immediately come to the forefront. It’s almost too bad for Vinnie that Raze is going to turn her over to the Mercenaries.

The next part of the review contains spoilers, so read on at your own risk…

View Spoiler »

Vinnie knows that Raze isn’t what he seems, but she can’t help but be attracted to his need to protect her. Feeling safe is a precious commodity in this new world and the only time she feels safe is when she is with Raze. Vinnie also knows that the drugs have done something to her brain, but Raze doesn’t seem concerned that she’s going crazy. Talking to her dead aunt is something that is of great concern to Vinnie, but Raze thinks nothing of it.

When Raze’s betrayal does come to life, Raze fights like hell to keep his place in Vanguard, keep the girl, and get his sister to safety. I would have respected him much more if he would have gone to Jax from the beginning, but he redeemed himself when he finally manned up and did it after View Spoiler ».

It’s official, I’m hooked on this series. I can’t wait until the next book comes out.

Rating: 4 out of 5.

four-stars

0 Comments
Tags: , , , , , , ,


Guest Review: Mercury Striking by Rebecca Zanetti

Posted January 25, 2016 by Tracy in Reviews | 0 Comments

Guest Review: Mercury Striking by Rebecca ZanettiReviewer: Tracy
Mercury Striking by Rebecca Zanetti
Series: The Scorpius Syndrome #1
Also in this series: Shadow Falling, Justice Ascending
Published by Kensington, Zebra
Publication Date: January 26th 2016
Genres: Science Fiction, Apocalyptic & Post-Apocalyptic, Suspense, Fantasy
Buy on Amazon | Barnes & Noble
Goodreads
four-stars

With nothing but rumors to lead her, Lynne Harmony has trekked across a nightmare landscape to find one man—a mysterious, damaged legend who protects the weak and leads the strong. He’s more than muscle and firepower—and in post-plague L.A., he’s her only hope. As the one woman who could cure the disease, Lynne is the single most volatile—and vulnerable—creature in this new and ruthless world. But face to face with Jax Mercury…   Danger has never looked quite so delicious…

A bacterium has hit the world and people are dying right and left.  The doctors at the CDC try their hardest to find a cure or prevention so that they can save the lives of millions.  The bacterium creates a fever and then a coma – if the patient survives they could be ok or they could turn into what they call Rippers who are basically serial killers as the bacteria messes with the person’s ability to empathize with…anything.  America is not a safe place to be.

Jax Mercury survived the fever and still has his head on straight.  Lynn Harmony, a doctor from the CDC seeks his help in trying to find a hidden research facility in the LA area.  From the moment that Jax sees Lynn he’s attracted to her but he doesn’t exactly trust her.  She just walked into their area and sought refuge and he thinks there are hidden motivations.  She’s wanted by the government, supposedly because she’s highly infected with a new strain of bacteria, but that’s a lie told by her boyfriend to get her back.

Jax agrees let her stay because he wants the cure that she may be able to find but he doesn’t plan on falling for her like he does.  She certainly doesn’t plan on falling for him.  What starts out as just some sex to pass the time turns into so much more and it may the death of both of them.

I read Rebecca Zanetti’s Sin Brothers series and liked it a lot.  When I saw this one I knew that I had to snap it up because her writing and story-telling is always intriguing.  I wasn’t wrong.  This story was fast paced and definitely a different take on a post-apocalyptic world.

Jax was one tough man.  He had been a gang member and then entered the Army rather than go to prison.  He ended up being a man with principles and when the Scorpius bacteria hit he was one to help and protect others.  He was a nurturer at heat even though he wasn’t afraid to kill if necessary to save his people.  He was always thinking of others and I loved that about him.

Lynn was definitely a quiet woman but was incredibly smart and she wasn’t afraid to go for what she wanted.  She was targeted by her ex-boyfriend and lived in fear of him but she still powered on and traveled across the states to try and find a cure.  I loved her tenacity and her understanding of Jax and his true self was pretty cool.  The two of them together was incredibly hot and refreshing respite from the world that was falling apart around them.

I really liked this book!  I liked the main characters, the secondary characters and the whole premise and plot.  I’m curious about the character, Raze, as he’s such a mystery and can’t wait for the next book, which is his, to find out what’s up with that man.  If you like post-apocalyptic stories, or even if you like a good action story than this one is definitely one you won’t want to miss.

Rating: 4 out of 5

four-stars

0 Comments
Tags: , , , , , , , ,