Author: Rachel Gibson

Throwback Thursday Review: Rescue Me by Rachel Gibson.

Posted October 25, 2018 by Rowena in Reviews | 8 Comments

Throwback Thursday Review: Rescue Me by Rachel Gibson.Reviewer: Rowena
Rescue Me (Lovett, Texas, #3) by Rachel Gibson
Series: Lovett, Texas #3
Publisher: Avon
Publication Date: May 29, 2012
Source: Publisher
Point-of-View: Third
Genres: Contemporary Romance
Pages: 384
Amazon | Barnes & Noble | The Ripped Bodice | Google Play Books
Goodreads
four-half-stars

She’s 33, unmarried, and stuffed into a Bubble Yum pink bridesmaid dress. And the whole town wants to fix her up with anyone with a dental plan...

Who’s going to rescue Sadie Hollowell now? Everyone in Lovett, Texas knows Sadie has always been a ‘notional’ kind of gal. She got a notion to leave town ASAP and never visit her daddy (bless his heart). Now, she’s back and got the notion to invite a good-looking, hard-muscled, total stranger to her cousin’s wedding. Better a stranger than some of the losers she’s dated.

Vince Haven got his muscles the hard way -- as a Navy SEAL in Afghanistan. He’s staying in Lovett to visit his crazy aunt -- the proprietor of the local Gas N Go. Before he can get the heck back out of the small town, his aunt makes him an offer he can’t refuse. Maybe he’ll stick around Lovett for a while. Maybe he’ll make a ‘go’ of the Gas N Go. Maybe he’ll rescue Sadie out of that pink dress!

Every Thursday, we’ll be posting throwback reviews of our favorite and not-so-favorite books. Enjoy!

This review was originally posted on May 30, 2012.

This book features a hero that if you read Any Man of Mine will remember. Autumn’s brother, Vince is the star of this show. If you’ll remember back to AMoM, Vince was Autumn’s brother that was a Navy SEAL who came back to help her take care of her young son, Connor. In this book, Vince goes to the Lone Star state to see what his Aunt wants and to get away for a little bit. He’s not a fan of Autumn’s fiance Sam and he’s not looking forward to the wedding. He’s in Texas, a long way from Seattle and before he knows what’s what, he’s bought his Aunts Gas and Go mart and he’s in the process of fixing it up.

On his way into town, he runs into a bit of car trouble and finds himself stranded, until a cute blonde comes to save the day. Her name is Sadie and her being back in town is sure to cause some talk.

Seeing Vince in action and getting into his head in this book was a treat for me since I became a fan of his in his sister’s book, Any Man of Mine. I was looking forward to getting to know him and I loved him, just like I knew I would. He was such a man’s man and I ate his character up. Him and Becca’s relationship had me cracking up. What he thought, what Becca thought, what they really thought of each other and then Sadie’s reaction to it all? Was the exact same reaction I had.

It was also good to see him to come to terms with Autumn’s relationship with Sam. It was nice to see that played out in this book as well because I felt like it was brought up in AMoM and then just dropped. I loved the little pieces of Autumn, Sam and Connor in this book.

Rachel Gibson does a great job of writing a humorous contemporary romance with just enough steam to keep you turning the pages and not need to take a shower. I’m a total fan of the way she writes her stories, the way that she fleshes out her characters and still keep us laughing the whole way through. She created a new world for us in this book and I can’t wait for more. I’m mighty curious to see who’s next to get their story from this town in Texas. I love stories set in Texas because the people from around there are so colorful and just too funny.

I’m glad that I read this book, I enjoyed the romance between Vince and Sadie, I enjoyed getting to know the people from Sadie’s past and I’m glad that she was able to make friends in a place where she didn’t have very many friends. I even enjoyed getting to know Sadie’s Dad. It was all wrapped up nicely in an entertaining story and I will definitely be back for more.

Grade: 4.5 out of 5.

Lovett, Texas

four-half-stars


Tagged: , , , , , , ,

Retro Review: True Love and Other Disasters by Rachel Gibson.

Posted July 26, 2017 by Rowena in Reviews | 21 Comments

Retro Review: True Love and Other Disasters by Rachel Gibson.Reviewer: Rowena
True Love and Other Disasters (Chinooks Hockey Team #4) by Rachel Gibson
Series: Chinooks Hockey Team #4
Also in this series: See Jane Score
Publisher: Avon
Publication Date: April 28th 2009
Genres: Contemporary Romance
Pages: 345
Amazon | Barnes & Noble | The Ripped Bodice | Google Play Books
Goodreads
four-half-stars

Disaster Number One: MEN

Hard knocks and hunger taught Faith Duffy not to believe in love. Still, when she married her very wealthy—and very old—husband, she became the perfect wife. And then he went to that big bank in the sky, leaving Faith with lonely nights, a pile of money, and a total mess of a pro hockey team. Heck, Faith doesn't even watch hockey!

Disaster Number Two: PASSION

But most of America and half of Canada is watching Ty Savage. His lethal sex appeal and deadly right hook make him the favorite of fans. For most of Ty's life, he's dreamed of winning the Stanley Cup. The last thing he needs is a bimbo messing up his plans.

Disaster Number Three: LOVE

Faith loathes Ty on sight, but she can't stop thinking about him all day ... and night. Then a moment of temptation ends with Faith in Ty's bed, and she begins to see there's more to him than sex appeal. Ty discovers there's far more to Faith than beauty and billions. But a relationship with Faith is impossible, and falling in love—that would be a disaster.

*****As part of our 10 year anniversary celebration, we’ll be re-posting old reviews that make us cringe, laugh or sigh all over again.

Holly: Oh man, did we all love Rachel Gibson back in the day. I have several of her more recent releases in my TBR pile, but for some reason I haven’t read them. I think I’m afraid the magic of these earlier works will be missing.

This review was originally published April 29, 2009

One of the main reasons I read Rachel Gibson is she writes engaging stories with characters that fall right off the pages and keeps me entertained from the first page all the way to the last page. I don’t have to plow my way through that first part of the book that can sometimes bore the ever living snot out of me. Her books take off right from the beginning and keeps me plugged in.

This book was no exception. I was on board with this story right from the first chapter. In the first chapter, we meet the hero and the heroine at the heroine’s husband’s funeral or wake. Right off the bat, this book reminded me of Susan Elizabeth Phillip’s It Had To Be You and I was eagerly waiting to see how Rachel Gibson would tell her version of that storyline.

For me, she knocked it out of the park.

There is no doubt that Rachel Gibson is a gifted writer. She writes these quirky little romances that makes you smile and entertains the socks right off of you and she did just that in this book. This story is about Faith Duffy inheriting her late husband’s hockey team, the Seattle Chinooks. You’ll remember The Chinooks from See Jane Score, as that was the team that Luc Martineau and his sexy “I want to lick his tatoo” self played for. In this book, Lucky is retired and there’s a new hunky captain on the prowl.

His name is Ty Savage.

Man, I could feast for days off of that man. I really like hockey men and I really love Rachel Gibson’s hockey men. I didn’t think I could love an RG hockey man as much as I loved Luc Martineau but I do now.

I love Ty, just wanted to tell you that..in case you missed it. =P It’s funny how I don’t watch hockey in real life but after reading this book, it’s made me curious enough to check a hockey game out.

Faith was a great heroine. She was one of those heroines that is easy to relate to even if you don’t have anything in common with her. Faith was such a likeable character that I found it very easy to sympathize with her. She was so likeable that I wasn’t mad one bit at her after two weeks passes after her husband death and she starts wanting to sleep with another man. I had very big issues with this in Robyn Carr’s book, Second Chance Pass but because Faith’s relationship with her husband was so different from Vanessa’s relationship with Matt, it didn’t bother me one bit when Faith started sleeping with Ty.

I thought they were perfect together and I loved watching these two fall in love with each other. I loved seeing Ty’s insecurities and I loved watching him bulldoze his way into Faith’s heart. It was a delight to read about and I would definitely recommend this book to anyone who is looking to enjoy another RG hockey book, for me, this is definitely a keeper.

4.5 out of 5

This book is available from Avon. You can buy it here or here in e-format.

four-half-stars


Tagged: , , , , , , ,

Review: Just Kiss Me by Rachel Gibson

Posted July 28, 2016 by Rowena in Reviews | 3 Comments

Review: Just Kiss Me by Rachel GibsonReviewer: Rowena
Just Kiss Me by Rachel Gibson
Publisher: Harper Collins, Avon
Publication Date: July 26th 2016
Format: eARC
Genres: Contemporary Romance
Pages: 384
Amazon | Barnes & Noble | The Ripped Bodice | Google Play Books
Goodreads
three-half-stars

New York Times bestselling author Rachel Gibson returns with this dazzling love story filled with sizzle, sass, and just a bit of southern charm . . .
"Hello, Ms. Vivian . . . it's been a long time."

And with those words, Vivian Leigh Rochet nearly melted. It's been years since she last saw Harrison Whitley-Shuler. She was a teenager scrubbing houses for a living. He was the gorgeous son of rich parents, not fit for the likes of her.

Vivian had vowed to get out of Charleston, become a big Hollywood star, and stick it to the snooty girls who made her cry.

She got what she wanted—and more—but why does her glamorous life seem so trivial?

Harrison got out too . . . making it all the way to Wall Street, until a heart attack forced him to trade in his cufflinks for a good set of hand tools.

Making furniture soothes his soul, but escaping the Whitley-Shuler heritage is nearly impossible. And now he's come face-to-face with the one who got away. He's not looking for love. He's not even looking for sex . . . so why is resisting her the hardest thing he's ever done?

It’s been a while since I’ve read anything by Rachel Gibson and this book was a nice treat after being away for a while.

Vivian Leigh Rochet (pronounced Ro-shay) is back in her hometown of Charleston to bury her mother. She hasn’t been home for at least three years and being back in town to put her mother to rest has put her in total grief mode. She was close to her mother and with her gone, Vivian realizes that she’s got nobody left. She’s all alone in the world and that doesn’t sit well with her.

She grew up in the carriage house across the way from the big house that her mother was a housekeeper at. She grew up cleaning up after Henry (his name was Henry in my ARC) and Spencer Whitley-Shuler and their judgmental and very mean mother, Nonnie. She had dreams to become rich and famous and a big super star actress. She was going to be become famous and come back to town to shove her success in everyone who was ever mean to her’s face. #1 on that list? Henry Whitley-Shuler.

But when she comes back to town to pack up her mother’s belongings, it’s to find a very different Henry from the one she remembers. It’s Henry that becomes her closest confidant and it’s Henry that she turns to for most everything.

Henry has changed a lot in the years that Vivian has known him but Vivian has changed too. Henry remembers the brat she used to be when they were kids. He remembers catching her snooping in his room. He remembers the secret he threatened her to keep. He remembered plenty but he didn’t understand her as a kid. He understands her plenty now. The more time that they spend together, the closer they get and the deeper they both fall.

There are secrets in this book and I’m not a fan of those in my romances. I didn’t like Henry’s secret and I didn’t like Vivian’s secret. I rolled my eyes more than a few times but in the end, I liked the way that these two came together. Vivian’s secret keeping was worse because she kept her secret to spite Henry and I didn’t like that. The way that they worked their issues out made me satisfied with the story and I’m glad that I read it. It’s not my favorite Rachel Gibson but it was still enjoyable. It was one of those slow to build romances that worked for me and despite the secrets, I did end up liking the book anyway.

Grade: 3.75 out of 5

three-half-stars


Tagged: , , , , , ,

Review: Not Another Bad Date by Rachel Gibson

Posted May 27, 2008 by Holly in Reviews | 5 Comments

Review: Not Another Bad Date by Rachel GibsonReviewer: Holly
Not Another Bad Date by Rachel Gibson
Series: Writer Friends #4
Also in this series: Tangled Up in You (Writer Friends #3)
Publisher: Harper Collins
Publication Date: March 17th 2009
Genres: Fiction
Pages: 384
Amazon | Barnes & Noble | The Ripped Bodice | Google Play Books
Goodreads
four-stars

What does a gal have to do to get a good date in this town?

Adele Harris can't even begin to answer that question. She's had so many lousy dates that she's sure she's cursed. Why else would every man she goes out with suddenly act like he's lost his mind—and his manners? Adele thought life couldn't get any more confusing . . . until she learns the marriage of her seemingly Miss Perfect sister is on the rocks. So she goes back to their hometown to give her a shoulder to cry on, only to run smack into Zach Zemaitis . . . the one who got away.

Texans love God, family, and football, though not always in that order
Zach, a former pro star, knows all about football. As for the other two, well, he's doing his best. But when Adele comes charging back into his life—still all lush curves and beautiful, big blue eyes—he wonders if his best is good enough. After all, he did her wrong. Can a woman with her track record ever really believe that he's serious this time . . . or is he destined to be another bad date?

Not Another Bad Date is the fourth book in Rachel Gibson‘s Writer Friends Series.

Just a warning, there will be spoilers in the review, but I’ve marked them.

I’m sort of on the fence about this book. On the one hand, I really enjoyed it. It was a quick, light, fun read. But on the other hand, I really didn’t care much for the hero. Well, ok, I liked the hero, but I didn’t like his past. I had a really hard time separating who he was then from who he is now, which made his HEA suspect.

Adele is shocked when her sister calls her out of the blue and says her marriage is over and she needs Adele to come back to their hometown with her. Although hesitant, she agrees because her sister never asks her for anything. But shorty after Adele arrives, her sister has complications with her pregnancy and is ordered into the hospital on bed rest for the remainder of her term – four full months. That means Adele’s trip isn’t going to be a quick one, because she needs to take care of her niece. And doesn’t it just figure that her niece’s new best friend is none other than her old college flame’s daughter.

Zach did the right thing back in the day by dumping Adele and marrying his pregnant ex-girlfriend, Devon, Adele’s archenemy. Ten years of bad marriage later, Zach can’t take it any more and serves Devon with divorce papers. But shortly after, she’s killed in a car accident. Three years later, Zach has given up his dream at ESPN so he can be home with his daughter, and is coaching High School football.

Being the single parent of a teenager isn’t really conducive to having a sex life, so when Adele suddenly shows up back in town, he’s surprised and pleased, thinking she’s the answer to every need he has. Adele’s guarding her heart, because she’s suffered through three years of bad dates and because Zach broke it once already.

Here’s what I liked: Adele. She was a great character. Kind of fun and typical Rachel Gibson. Even though she suffered through three years of bad dates, she still has a good sense of humor and wasn’t too cynical. Her relationship with her niece was cute, and I like how she tried hard to be the “cool” Aunt, but still tried to be an adult about it.

I really liked the romance between Adele and Zach. The sexual tension between them was very well done. I loved their bantering back and forth and the way Adele fought her attraction to Zach, but then gave in and just went with it.

SPOILER ALERT There will be spoilers from this point on.

View Spoiler »

I just don’t know how to explain my feelings on this aspect of the book. I guess I’ll just say I should have hated Zach but couldn’t, but it will detract from my overall grade.

I did like how he was with his daughter, though. When Devon died he came home and changed everything about his life for her. I really think he was a good father and it was nice to see him in that role.

Like with all Gibson’s novels, it ended rather abruptly, but I was prepared for that and it didn’t bother me.

Overall it was well written, light and fun, but I had some issues with it. I’d recommend reading it, partly because it rounds out the series, and partly because I think it’s one of those books you need to form your own opinion of. I’m conflicted, but for now I’m going to give it a:

4.0 out of 5

That might change once I re-read it.

This book is available from Avon. You can buy it here or here in e-format.

four-stars


Tagged: , , , , , , ,

Review: It Must Be Love by Rachel Gibson.

Posted March 7, 2008 by Rowena in Reviews | 1 Comment

Review: It Must Be Love by Rachel Gibson.Reviewer: Rowena
It Must Be Love by Rachel Gibson
Publisher: Harper Collins
Publication Date: March 20th 2012
Pages: 384
Amazon | Barnes & Noble | The Ripped Bodice | Google Play Books
Goodreads
four-stars

Undercover cop Joe Shanahan's bad luck hit bottom the morning he stared up into the face of sexy suspect Gabrielle Breedlove. She'd blown his cover—brought him down with a can of hairspray—and now his new assignment was to pose as her boyfriend. But spending as much time as possible with the utterly irresistible New Age beauty caused unexpected complications. To make matters worse, his matchmaking sisters are picking out china patterns.

Joe's brooding good looks and T-shirt-straining muscles might be easy on the eyes, but how could Gabrielle be attracted to a straight-laced detective who's determined to find evidence to arrest her? Still, he invades her dreams and when they share a transcendent lovemaking experience, Gabrielle knows it must be love.

Undercover cop Joe Shanahan's bad luck hit bottom the morning he stared up into the face of sexy suspect Gabrielle Breedlove. She'd blown his cover—brought him down with a can of hairspray—and now his new assignment was to pose as her boyfriend. But spending as much time as possible with the utterly irresistible New Age beauty caused unexpected complications. To make matters worse, his matchmaking sisters are picking out china patterns.

Joe's brooding good looks and T-shirt-straining muscles might be easy on the eyes, but how could Gabrielle be attracted to a straight-laced detective who's determined to find evidence to arrest her? Still, he invades her dreams and when they share a transcendent lovemaking experience, Gabrielle knows it must be love.

In my attempt to read as many Rachel Gibson books that I can, this book came up and I read it pretty fast. That’s what I like about Rachel Gibson’s books, they’re not these long, drawn out dramatic books that I have to invest all of this time in to enjoy…with Rachel Gibson, I get a great storyline with funny characters and hot studly heroes. That is a total win win for me and this story was no different.

This book starts off with Joe trailing Gabrielle because he thinks that following her will lead her to the Hillard painting. You see, Joe is an undercover cop that has some making up to do before he gets demoted…again. His last undercover informant turned on him and when Joe went to grab him, he tried to shoot Joe and Joe ended up killing him and the story hit the media and everyone around town started thinking that maybe the cops in Boise were trigger happy.

Joe’s gotta find the Hillard painting so that he can get his rep under control again. His #1 suspect is Kevin Carter and he knew that by tailing Kevin’s business partner, Gabrielle Breedlove, he would get closer to finding the Hillard painting, which is an expensive painting that was stolen from the Hillards. He knew that he was on to something when Gabrielle changed her routine one morning and went running in the park. Joe followed her over to the park and prepared to run behind her and keep an eye on her and see where she was leading him.

She led him right into a can of hairspray and an antique pistol.

This part of the story, where Joe and Gabrielle finally met had me cracking the heck up. There Joe was, thinking he was just tailing some girl who he thought had a great backside when BAM! She hits him with hairspray and his cover is blown and he’s got to bring her in to the station where everyone will know that his cover was blown and that he was taken down by a can of hairspray and a very old pistol that wasn’t even loaded.

HA!

Gabrielle Breedlove is part owner of a curio shop where her specialty is oils and aromatherapy. She comes from a family of psychics and people with “the sight” and though she’s got her own beliefs, she’s not your normal 9-5 all american woman, she’s actually a woman who marches to her own tune but she’s beautiful and she’s a pacifist…or so she thought until she met Joe Shannahan.

She swears she’s innocent and she’s willing to cooperate with the police in order to prove that she’s innocent so she signs an undercover informant agreement where Joe will pose as her new boyfriend who will be working at the shop, doing maintenance over there so that he can have free reign over the shop in order to try to snoop on Kevin Carter and to find the missing painting.

Gabrielle is nothing that Joe would ever date himself and Joe is the exact opposite of what Gabrielle likes and yet, she can’t stop thinking about him and he can’t stop thinking about her.

Her psychic mother told her that he was her destiny and that she couldn’t stand in the way of fate but just because he was her fate didn’t mean that she had to go after him. Fight all she wanted, she couldn’t change the fact that he was the ying to her yang and no matter how much she fought it or he fought it, in the end, they were going to end up together.

This is one of those light and fluffy books that you read in one sitting and after you’ve finished it, you’re left with that sappy smile on your face that you can’t erase for a few hours. It’s one of those feel good books that leaves you sighing while you’re reading this and even though there’s a scene in this book that is reminiscent of the scene in Marriage Most Scandalous by Johanna Lindsey where Sebastian left Maggie hanging, I was far more forgiving of Joe than I was of Sebastian.

You see, in this book Gabrielle professed her undying love for Joe and what does he do? He tells her that she’s confused and he leaves her hanging…and then doesn’t contact her for a month. A WHOLE MONTH, but RG did a fantastic job of making me believe that he regretted his actions from that night and she made me feel bad for Joe and she made me forgive him right from the jump because I felt that he was truly sorry for what he did and that he really wanted to spend the rest of his life making it up to Gabrielle.

There were times when I wanted to smack the ever living crap out of Joe…like every time he went to see Ann over at the deli…I kept asking myself, what the heck are you doing over there? Why are you even trying to get with her when you know good and well that Gabrielle is your lobster? I swear, there were times when I wondered about Joe’s sanity.

Joe got on my hot damn nerves more than Gabrielle did but I didn’t not like Joe. I still thought he was a sexy stud muffin who I wanted a piece of. For me, Joe can best be described as a man. He wasn’t your typical hero in the fact that he was so far from being perfect but he still worked and I still loved the hell out of him. He messed up and he learned from his mistakes and he went after what he wanted at the end and he ended up with the girl which is as it should be in romance novels and in this book, I was just so hot damn happy for Joe to finally get it right.

This book was great, the plot and the pacing were great, the characters meshed well and the bad guys got what they deserved and the good guys came out on top, just the way I like it and I would like to thank Rachel Gibson for entertaining the socks off of me with this story for the few hours that it took me to read this book.

It’s a great read, I definitely recommend it.

four-stars


Tagged: , , , , ,