Author: Rachel Gibson

Throwback Thursday Review: Rescue Me by Rachel Gibson.

Posted October 25, 2018 by Rowena in Reviews | 8 Comments

Throwback Thursday Review: Rescue Me by Rachel Gibson.Reviewer: Rowena
Rescue Me by Rachel Gibson
Series: Lovett Texas #3
Also in this series: Daisy's Back In Town, Crazy On You (Lovett Texas, #2)
Publisher: Avon
Publication Date: May 29, 2012
Source: Publisher
Point-of-View: Third
Genres: Contemporary Romance
Pages: 384
Add It: Goodreads
Amazon | Barnes & Noble | The Ripped Bodice | Google Play Books
four-half-stars
Series Rating: four-stars

She’s 33, unmarried, and stuffed into a Bubble Yum pink bridesmaid dress. And the whole town wants to fix her up with anyone with a dental plan...

Who’s going to rescue Sadie Hollowell now? Everyone in Lovett, Texas knows Sadie has always been a ‘notional’ kind of gal. She got a notion to leave town ASAP and never visit her daddy (bless his heart). Now, she’s back and got the notion to invite a good-looking, hard-muscled, total stranger to her cousin’s wedding. Better a stranger than some of the losers she’s dated.

Vince Haven got his muscles the hard way -- as a Navy SEAL in Afghanistan. He’s staying in Lovett to visit his crazy aunt -- the proprietor of the local Gas N Go. Before he can get the heck back out of the small town, his aunt makes him an offer he can’t refuse. Maybe he’ll stick around Lovett for a while. Maybe he’ll make a ‘go’ of the Gas N Go. Maybe he’ll rescue Sadie out of that pink dress!

Every Thursday, we’ll be posting throwback reviews of our favorite and not-so-favorite books. Enjoy!

This review was originally posted on May 30, 2012.

This book features a hero that if you read Any Man of Mine will remember. Autumn’s brother, Vince is the star of this show. If you’ll remember back to AMoM, Vince was Autumn’s brother that was a Navy SEAL who came back to help her take care of her young son, Connor. In this book, Vince goes to the Lone Star state to see what his Aunt wants and to get away for a little bit. He’s not a fan of Autumn’s fiance Sam and he’s not looking forward to the wedding. He’s in Texas, a long way from Seattle and before he knows what’s what, he’s bought his Aunts Gas and Go mart and he’s in the process of fixing it up.

On his way into town, he runs into a bit of car trouble and finds himself stranded, until a cute blonde comes to save the day. Her name is Sadie and her being back in town is sure to cause some talk.

Seeing Vince in action and getting into his head in this book was a treat for me since I became a fan of his in his sister’s book, Any Man of Mine. I was looking forward to getting to know him and I loved him, just like I knew I would. He was such a man’s man and I ate his character up. Him and Becca’s relationship had me cracking up. What he thought, what Becca thought, what they really thought of each other and then Sadie’s reaction to it all? Was the exact same reaction I had.

It was also good to see him to come to terms with Autumn’s relationship with Sam. It was nice to see that played out in this book as well because I felt like it was brought up in AMoM and then just dropped. I loved the little pieces of Autumn, Sam and Connor in this book.

Rachel Gibson does a great job of writing a humorous contemporary romance with just enough steam to keep you turning the pages and not need to take a shower. I’m a total fan of the way she writes her stories, the way that she fleshes out her characters and still keep us laughing the whole way through. She created a new world for us in this book and I can’t wait for more. I’m mighty curious to see who’s next to get their story from this town in Texas. I love stories set in Texas because the people from around there are so colorful and just too funny.

I’m glad that I read this book, I enjoyed the romance between Vince and Sadie, I enjoyed getting to know the people from Sadie’s past and I’m glad that she was able to make friends in a place where she didn’t have very many friends. I even enjoyed getting to know Sadie’s Dad. It was all wrapped up nicely in an entertaining story and I will definitely be back for more.

Grade: 4.5 out of 5.

Lovett, Texas

four-half-stars


Tagged: , , , , , , ,

Retro Review: True Love and Other Disasters by Rachel Gibson.

Posted July 26, 2017 by Rowena in Reviews | 21 Comments

Retro Review: True Love and Other Disasters by Rachel Gibson.Reviewer: Rowena
True Love and Other Disasters (Chinooks Hockey Team #4) by Rachel Gibson
Series: Chinooks Hockey Team #4
Also in this series: See Jane Score
Publisher: Avon
Publication Date: April 28th 2009
Genres: Contemporary Romance
Pages: 345
Add It: Goodreads
Amazon | Barnes & Noble | The Ripped Bodice | Google Play Books
four-half-stars
Series Rating: five-stars

Disaster Number One: MEN

Hard knocks and hunger taught Faith Duffy not to believe in love. Still, when she married her very wealthy—and very old—husband, she became the perfect wife. And then he went to that big bank in the sky, leaving Faith with lonely nights, a pile of money, and a total mess of a pro hockey team. Heck, Faith doesn't even watch hockey!

Disaster Number Two: PASSION

But most of America and half of Canada is watching Ty Savage. His lethal sex appeal and deadly right hook make him the favorite of fans. For most of Ty's life, he's dreamed of winning the Stanley Cup. The last thing he needs is a bimbo messing up his plans.

Disaster Number Three: LOVE

Faith loathes Ty on sight, but she can't stop thinking about him all day ... and night. Then a moment of temptation ends with Faith in Ty's bed, and she begins to see there's more to him than sex appeal. Ty discovers there's far more to Faith than beauty and billions. But a relationship with Faith is impossible, and falling in love—that would be a disaster.

*****As part of our 10 year anniversary celebration, we’ll be re-posting old reviews that make us cringe, laugh or sigh all over again.

Holly: Oh man, did we all love Rachel Gibson back in the day. I have several of her more recent releases in my TBR pile, but for some reason I haven’t read them. I think I’m afraid the magic of these earlier works will be missing.

This review was originally published April 29, 2009

One of the main reasons I read Rachel Gibson is she writes engaging stories with characters that fall right off the pages and keeps me entertained from the first page all the way to the last page. I don’t have to plow my way through that first part of the book that can sometimes bore the ever living snot out of me. Her books take off right from the beginning and keeps me plugged in.

This book was no exception. I was on board with this story right from the first chapter. In the first chapter, we meet the hero and the heroine at the heroine’s husband’s funeral or wake. Right off the bat, this book reminded me of Susan Elizabeth Phillip’s It Had To Be You and I was eagerly waiting to see how Rachel Gibson would tell her version of that storyline.

For me, she knocked it out of the park.

There is no doubt that Rachel Gibson is a gifted writer. She writes these quirky little romances that makes you smile and entertains the socks right off of you and she did just that in this book. This story is about Faith Duffy inheriting her late husband’s hockey team, the Seattle Chinooks. You’ll remember The Chinooks from See Jane Score, as that was the team that Luc Martineau and his sexy “I want to lick his tatoo” self played for. In this book, Lucky is retired and there’s a new hunky captain on the prowl.

His name is Ty Savage.

Man, I could feast for days off of that man. I really like hockey men and I really love Rachel Gibson’s hockey men. I didn’t think I could love an RG hockey man as much as I loved Luc Martineau but I do now.

I love Ty, just wanted to tell you that..in case you missed it. =P It’s funny how I don’t watch hockey in real life but after reading this book, it’s made me curious enough to check a hockey game out.

Faith was a great heroine. She was one of those heroines that is easy to relate to even if you don’t have anything in common with her. Faith was such a likeable character that I found it very easy to sympathize with her. She was so likeable that I wasn’t mad one bit at her after two weeks passes after her husband death and she starts wanting to sleep with another man. I had very big issues with this in Robyn Carr’s book, Second Chance Pass but because Faith’s relationship with her husband was so different from Vanessa’s relationship with Matt, it didn’t bother me one bit when Faith started sleeping with Ty.

I thought they were perfect together and I loved watching these two fall in love with each other. I loved seeing Ty’s insecurities and I loved watching him bulldoze his way into Faith’s heart. It was a delight to read about and I would definitely recommend this book to anyone who is looking to enjoy another RG hockey book, for me, this is definitely a keeper.

4.5 out of 5

This book is available from Avon. You can buy it here or here in e-format.

four-half-stars


Tagged: , , , , , , ,

Review: Just Kiss Me by Rachel Gibson

Posted July 28, 2016 by Rowena in Reviews | 3 Comments

Review: Just Kiss Me by Rachel GibsonReviewer: Rowena
Just Kiss Me by Rachel Gibson
Publisher: Harper Collins, Avon
Publication Date: July 26th 2016
Format: eARC
Genres: Contemporary Romance
Pages: 384
Add It: Goodreads
Amazon | Barnes & Noble | The Ripped Bodice | Google Play Books
three-half-stars

New York Times bestselling author Rachel Gibson returns with this dazzling love story filled with sizzle, sass, and just a bit of southern charm . . .
"Hello, Ms. Vivian . . . it's been a long time."

And with those words, Vivian Leigh Rochet nearly melted. It's been years since she last saw Harrison Whitley-Shuler. She was a teenager scrubbing houses for a living. He was the gorgeous son of rich parents, not fit for the likes of her.

Vivian had vowed to get out of Charleston, become a big Hollywood star, and stick it to the snooty girls who made her cry.

She got what she wanted—and more—but why does her glamorous life seem so trivial?

Harrison got out too . . . making it all the way to Wall Street, until a heart attack forced him to trade in his cufflinks for a good set of hand tools.

Making furniture soothes his soul, but escaping the Whitley-Shuler heritage is nearly impossible. And now he's come face-to-face with the one who got away. He's not looking for love. He's not even looking for sex . . . so why is resisting her the hardest thing he's ever done?

It’s been a while since I’ve read anything by Rachel Gibson and this book was a nice treat after being away for a while.

Vivian Leigh Rochet (pronounced Ro-shay) is back in her hometown of Charleston to bury her mother. She hasn’t been home for at least three years and being back in town to put her mother to rest has put her in total grief mode. She was close to her mother and with her gone, Vivian realizes that she’s got nobody left. She’s all alone in the world and that doesn’t sit well with her.

She grew up in the carriage house across the way from the big house that her mother was a housekeeper at. She grew up cleaning up after Henry (his name was Henry in my ARC) and Spencer Whitley-Shuler and their judgmental and very mean mother, Nonnie. She had dreams to become rich and famous and a big super star actress. She was going to be become famous and come back to town to shove her success in everyone who was ever mean to her’s face. #1 on that list? Henry Whitley-Shuler.

But when she comes back to town to pack up her mother’s belongings, it’s to find a very different Henry from the one she remembers. It’s Henry that becomes her closest confidant and it’s Henry that she turns to for most everything.

Henry has changed a lot in the years that Vivian has known him but Vivian has changed too. Henry remembers the brat she used to be when they were kids. He remembers catching her snooping in his room. He remembers the secret he threatened her to keep. He remembered plenty but he didn’t understand her as a kid. He understands her plenty now. The more time that they spend together, the closer they get and the deeper they both fall.

There are secrets in this book and I’m not a fan of those in my romances. I didn’t like Henry’s secret and I didn’t like Vivian’s secret. I rolled my eyes more than a few times but in the end, I liked the way that these two came together. Vivian’s secret keeping was worse because she kept her secret to spite Henry and I didn’t like that. The way that they worked their issues out made me satisfied with the story and I’m glad that I read it. It’s not my favorite Rachel Gibson but it was still enjoyable. It was one of those slow to build romances that worked for me and despite the secrets, I did end up liking the book anyway.

Grade: 3.75 out of 5

three-half-stars


Tagged: , , , , , ,

#DFRAT Review: Crazy on You by Rachel Gibson

Posted June 10, 2012 by Holly in Reviews | 3 Comments

#DFRAT Review: Crazy on You by Rachel GibsonReviewer: Holly
Crazy On You (Lovett Texas, #2) by Rachel Gibson
Series: Lovett Texas #2
Also in this series: Daisy's Back In Town, Rescue Me
Publisher: Harper Collins, Avon Impulse
Publication Date: May 1, 2012
Format: eARC
Source: Publisher
Point-of-View: Alternating Third
Genres: Contemporary Romance
Pages: 128
Add It: Goodreads
Amazon | Barnes & Noble | The Ripped Bodice | Google Play Books
two-half-stars
Series Rating: four-stars

Return to Lovett, Texas, the setting of Daisy's Back in Town, in this smart and sexy new story from Rachel Gibson, the New York Times bestselling author of Rescue Me and the Seattle Chinooks books.

Lily Darlington's been called crazy in her day-and, yeah, driving her car into her ex-husband's living room probably wasn't the smartest move ever made-but the louse deserved it. Now Lily is happily single, and she's turned it all around. She knows she's a good mom, a homeowner, and a businesswoman, all wrapped up in one good-looking package.

A package that police officer Tucker Matthews is dying to unwrap. This ex-military man sure doesn't need another woman in his life. His last girlfriend left him with nothing but memories and a cat named Pinky! But living next door to Lily has been driving him nuts. He dreams about her long blonde hair and even longer legs. And maybe it's time to go a little crazy . . . and fall in love.

This was just ok. The short page count didn’t allow much for character or relationship development. While Lily was fairly well fleshed out (maybe because she was introduced in Daisy’s Back in Town, a book I recently re-read), we didn’t learn enough about Tucker. That he went from “hmm, Lily might be crazy but she’s hot” to “I want everything with you” after one conversation didn’t make sense. I mean, literally one conversation. He goes over to talk to her about playing basketball with her son, thinks she’s hot, goes to work and hears a bunch of rumors about how crazy she is, then knocks on her door and says “I want everything with you”? Uh, no.

I did laugh a couple times and I thought it was sweet how both Tucker and Lily dealt with Pippen. If there hadn’t been a declaration of love 5 days in, I think I’d have enjoyed it more.

2.5 out of 5

This book is available from Avon. You can buy it here in e-format.

two-half-stars


Tagged: , , , , , ,

Author Spotlight Review: Daisy’s Back in Town by Rachel Gibson

Posted October 19, 2010 by Holly in Features, Reviews | 8 Comments

Author Spotlight Review: Daisy’s Back in Town by Rachel GibsonReviewer: Holly
Daisy's Back In Town by Rachel Gibson
Series: Lovett Texas #1
Also in this series: Crazy On You (Lovett Texas, #2), Rescue Me
Publisher: Avon
Publication Date: January 1, 2004
Point-of-View: Alternating Third
Genres: Contemporary Romance
Pages: 390
Add It: Goodreads
Amazon | Barnes & Noble | The Ripped Bodice | Google Play Books
five-stars
Series Rating: four-stars

Daisy Lee Monroe thought she'd brushed the dust of Lovett, Texas, off her high-heeled shoes years ago, but she's come back home only to find that little has changed. Her sister is still crazy, and her mom still has pink plastic flamingos in her front yard. And Jackson Lamott Parrish, the bad boy she'd left behind, is still so sexy it hurts. She'd like nothing better than to avoid this particular man, but she can't. Daisy has something to say to Jackson, and she's not going anywhere until he listens.

Jackson learned his lesson about Daisy the hard way, and now the only word he's interested in hearing from Daisy's red lips is good-bye. But she's popping up everywhere, and he doesn't believe in coincidence. It seems the only way to keep her quiet is with his mouth, but kissing Daisy had once been his downfall. Is he strong enough to resist her now? Strong enough to watch her walk out of his life again? Is he strong enough to make her stay?

This is a hard novel to read at times. The secret baby plot is a lot harder to swallow here, because the baby in question isn’t really a baby – he’s 15. For me, it’s easy to forgive and forget when the heroine doesn’t tell the hero right away about a baby, but only if it’s cleared up early on. It’s a lot harder to justify after 15 years of silence.

I remember having an argument with a friend about Daisy’s actions several years ago. She couldn’t accept that Daisy had kept her son a secret for so long. I, on the other hand, understood Daisy’s reasons for not telling him in the beginning. I also understood how the longer she went without telling, the easier it was not to. I can’t say I agree with it or condone it, but I understand.

Daisy, Jack and Steven were the best of friends growing up. From 4th grade all the way through high school the three were inseparable. Although Daisy didn’t know it, both Jack and Steven were madly in love with her. For the sake of their friendship, they agreed neither would have her. Until Daisy turned 17 and fell in love with Jack, that is. Try as he might, he couldn’t resist her.

Their relationship was like a crazy roller coaster with high-highs and low-lows. Daisy would freak out and get jealous over nothing, then cling like crazy. Jack would push her away, then devour her. They continued on this way until Jack’s parents died. The months leading up to that Daisy was even worse than usual, clingy and insecure, and Jack kept pushing her away. What he didn’t know what that Daisy was pregnant. So when his parents died and he told her he needed to take a break from her, he wasn’t doing it to be mean, he just needed some space.

But in Daisy’s scared, pregnant 17yo mind, that meant he didn’t love her. So she did what she always did when she and Jack had a falling out – she ran and cried on Steven’s shoulder. Steven, being the upstanding best friend that he was, convinced Daisy she should marry him and let him take care of her baby. So she did.

On the night of Jack’s parent’s funeral, Daisy and Steven confronted him to tell him they’d gotten married – leaving out the part about the baby.

15 years go by. Steven dies and Daisy realizes she must tell Jack the truth about their son. She goes back to Lovett, TX (her hometown, where Jack still lives) to tell Jack the news, leaving Nathan (her son) behind in Seattle. All along Daisy always thought she did the right thing by not telling Jack, something Steven always fed into. But once she’s back she realizes she made a mistake – that she robbed both Jack and Nathan of a relationship.

I think one of the reasons this works for me is that Daisy realizes she made a mistake and tries her best to make it right. She doesn’t let Jack run all over her, but she understands his anger.

Jack is one of those over-the-top alphas who oozes sexual menace. While that can be off-putting in a lot of ways, it really worked here. I can’t exactly say why it worked, but it did. His anger at Daisy is completely and totally justified, as is his anger at Steven. When he realizes the enormity of their betrayal..well, my heart broke for him. Not only did he lose the woman he loved and his son, but he lost his best friends as well.

Watching Daisy and Jack move forward with their lives and come back together was really hard at times. I wanted them to work things out, but I wasn’t sure how Jack could let go of his anger. I worried that the resolution would come too easily, or that the true conflict would be brushed aside. But that wasn’t the case. Gibson did a credible job of showing us how that anger can eat at a person.

I was also impressed with the way Jack and Nathan’s relationship progressed. Although Jack knew nothing about Nathan, Nathan has known his whole life that Steven wasn’t his real father. That made it easier for him to accept Jack, but he was angry at his mother for not preparing Jack ahead of time and also standoff-ish with Jack because of his anger. Even so, they interacted really well. Nathan was glad to have a man to talk to, and Jack was glad to be able to act like a real dad.

“I know about safe sex,” Nathan said, interrupting Jack’s thoughts.
Jack swallowed. “That’s good.” He smiled at his son, vastly relieved that there would be no hard questions about his own sex life.
“What I want to know is…” Nathan stole a quick look back at the tent. “Where is the clitoris exactly?”
Jack’s smile fell and he opened his mouth. No words came out so he closed it.
Nathan had no problem forming his words, though. “And what the heck is a G-spot?”

Although the overall tone of this novel is serious, there is quite a bit of humor laced throughout.

“Mom,” Nathan called to her.
Daisy pulled her gaze from the tent and the fleeting glimpse of Jack’s bare back, the smooth planes and indent of his spine, the sliver of the white elastic just above the blue waistband of his jeans…”Hmm?”
“What’s a faaar ant?” he asked just above a whisper.
“Fire.” She chuckled and shook her head. “Fire ant. They have a nasty bite that burns.”
Nathan smiled. “Well, why didn’t he just say fire?”
“He thinks he did.”

The secondary characters really round out the story. Not only was I wrapped up in Daisy, Jack and Nathan, but also in Daisy’s mother and sister, Jack’s brother and all the other residents of Lovett. Daisy’s sister, Lily, and her man-hating troubles really added the perfect touch of small-town-Texas-Crazy to the story.

“I’m going to concentrate on getting better and raising Pippen. I’m over feeling bad about Ronnie. I don’t need a man in my life to make me feel important.”
“That’s true.” Lily really did sound as if she were on the road to complete mental health.
“Why should I base my self-worth on a man who counts his hard-ons as personal growth?”
Daisy laughed. “You shouldn’t.”
Lily pulled off a piece of tape holding a cotton ball to the side of her elbow. “Men are the scum of the earth and should be killed.”
Well, maybe not complete mental health.

Steven and his actions were really the only thing that marred my enjoyment of this novel. Gibson tries to make him an sympathetic character because of the way he died, but I had a really hard time feeling sorry for him. Although Jack and Daisy were sneaking around behind his back in high school, his betrayal was 50x worse. He deliberately stole Daisy and her child away from Jack, then continued to push Daisy toward not telling Jack the truth. Not that I’m saying Daisy was blameless, but I really felt like Steven was the villain of the piece. I was glad to see Jack get over his anger in the end, but I don’t know if I would have been able to. Steven’s betrayal was too big.

Although parts of this novel are tough to get through, it’s well worth reading. The individual struggles and hardships of the characters just make them that much more rounded and believable.

Rating: 4.75 out of 5

Lovett, Texas

five-stars


Tagged: , , , , , , , ,