Author: Meghan March

Series Review: Mount Trilogy by Meghan March

Posted September 27, 2019 by Casee in Reviews | 1 Comment

I really enjoyed this trilogy, but it will not be everyone’s cup of tea.

Series Review: Mount Trilogy by Meghan MarchReviewer: Casee
Ruthless King by Meghan March
Narrator: Grace Grant, Joe Arden
Series: Mount Trilogy #1
Publisher: Self-Published
Publication Date: October 17, 2017
Format: Audiobook
Source: Purchased
Point-of-View: Alternating First
Content Warning: View Spoiler »
Genres: Contemporary Romance
Pages: 350
Length: 5 hours and 49 minutes
Add It: Goodreads
Reading Challenges: Casee's 2019 GoodReads Challenge, GoodReads Challenge
Amazon | Barnes & Noble | The Ripped Bodice | Google Play Books
four-stars
Series Rating: four-stars

Get ready for the darker and dirtier side of New Orleans with a brand new alpha romance from USA Today bestselling author Meghan March.

New Orleans belongs to me. You don’t know my name, but I control everything you see—and all the things you don’t. My reach knows no bounds, and my demands are always met. I didn’t need to loan money to a failing family distillery, but it amuses me to have them in my debt. To have her in my debt. She doesn’t know she caught my attention. She should’ve been more careful. I’m going to own her. Consume her. Maybe even keep her. It’s time to collect what I’m owed. Keira Kilgore, you’re now the property of Lachlan Mount.

*Ruthless King is book 1 of the Mount Trilogy. Mount and Keira’s story is anticipated to be completed in Fall 2017 with Defiant Queen and Sinful Empire.*

But tell me the truth about one thing. When was the last time you were fucked by a real man? Someone who knows what you need. Someone who’ll take control from you and give you what you’ve been dying for.

Lachlan Mount is the most feared man in all of New Orleans. He rules the city with an iron fist. He gets what he wants, when he wants. What he wants is Keira Kilgore. Keira runs her family’s whiskey distillery. After she is widowed (right before her divorce was finalized), Keira knows her business is in trouble. Hundreds of thousands of dollars in debt, Keira is not sure how she will keep the doors open. Then Lachlan Mount shows up at her door. He paid off her loans. What he expects in return is her.

What was hard about this books is that Keira was so unwilling to do what Mount wanted. Yet her body responded to him. Kiera has always had her head in the clouds about the person she would fall in love with. One of her stipulations to herself is that the chemistry be off the charts. Though Mount invokes that response in her, it’s something she doesn’t want.

This book was different that the usual March books. I did enjoy it because I enjoyed the strength of both characters. Mount literally pulled himself out of the gutter. He doesn’t know how to ask for what he wants, he just takes it. He thought he would have Keira until he tired of her, but that’s not happening. If anything, his feelings grow.

Rating: 3.75 out of 5.

Series Review: Mount Trilogy by Meghan MarchReviewer: Casee
Defiant Queen by Meghan March
Narrator: Grace Grant, Joe Arden
Series: Mount Trilogy #2
Publisher: Self-Published
Publication Date: November 14, 2017
Format: Audiobook
Source: Purchased
Point-of-View: Alternating First
Content Warning: View Spoiler »
Genres: Contemporary Romance
Pages: 252
Length: 5 hours and 30 minutes
Add It: Goodreads
Reading Challenges: Casee's 2019 GoodReads Challenge, GoodReads Challenge
Amazon | Barnes & Noble | The Ripped Bodice | Google Play Books
four-stars
Series Rating: four-stars

The Mount Trilogy continues with Defiant Queen...

I’m his entertainment. His toy. Payment on a debt. I tell myself I hate him, but every time he walks into the room, my body betrays me. How can I want him and fear him in the same moment? They told me he’d mess with my head. Make it go to war with my body. But I didn’t realize it would be complete anarchy. I should’ve known better. When Mount’s involved, there are no rules. I will not surrender. I will not show weakness. I’ll stand my ground and make it out of this bargain with my heart and soul intact. But he has other plans . . .

Defiant Queen is the second book of the Mount Trilogy. Mount and Keira's story concludes in Sinful Empire.

This was only ever supposed to be sex. Repayment on a debt owed. But it has spiraled out of control, and now I’m terrified it’s becoming something else entirely—which is impossible.

In Defiant Queen, Mount is running into a problem. He doesn’t want to let Kiera go. Ever. The problem is that he doesn’t know how to change their relationship. Mount made her come to him through manipulation, but now Mount wants her to want to be with him. Which is easier said than done. He is up for the challenge. He’s never lost something he’s wanted and he’s not starting now.

I really enjoyed Kiera’s growth in this book. Although she’s not happy with her current situation, she’s willing to do anything to keep her family’s business running. When she starts developing feelings for Mount outside their usual chemistry, she’s taken aback. Still, she faces it like the strong person she is.

Rating: 3.75 out of 5.

Series Review: Mount Trilogy by Meghan MarchReviewer: Casee
Sinful Empire (Mount Trilogy, #3) by Meghan March
Narrator: Grace Grant, Joe Arden
Series: Mount Trilogy #3
Publisher: Self-Published
Publication Date: December 19, 2017
Format: Audiobook
Source: Purchased
Point-of-View: Alternating First
Content Warning: View Spoiler »
Genres: Contemporary Romance
Pages: 243
Length: 5 hours and 28 minutes
Add It: Goodreads
Reading Challenges: Casee's 2019 GoodReads Challenge, GoodReads Challenge
Amazon | Barnes & Noble | The Ripped Bodice | Google Play Books
Series Rating: four-stars

The Mount Trilogy concludes with Sinful Empire!

What’s mine, I keep, and that includes Keira Kilgore.It’s no longer enough to have her in my debt. No longer enough to own her body.I want something more.She can try to resist, but I’ll never give her up.Nothing will keep us apart.Not her. Not my enemies. No one.Her debt will only be paid one way—with her heart.

Sinful Empire is the third and final book in the Mount Trilogy.

She’s mine. She’s staying mine. Even my black heart couldn’t handle losing her. I will keep her safe with my very last breath, if necessary.

This is the final book in the trilogy and the best one, in my opinion. Mount and Kiera have both finally accepted the unexpected. They are in love. It’s the kind of love that is once in a lifetime and something they would both kill to keep.

What I loved so much about this series is how Mount and Kiera’s relationship evolved. Mount is an anti-hero while Kiera is your quintessential heroine. The way they made it work just did something for me. I wasn’t going to continue this series after book one, but I couldn’t stop myself. I was obsessed with finding out what happened.

Rating: 4 out of 5.

four-stars


Tagged: , , , , , , ,

Series Review: The Dirty Billionaire Trilogy by Meghan March

Posted September 25, 2019 by Casee in Reviews | 0 Comments

I cannot stop reading/listening to Meghan March. Her stories are compelling. At the same time, they can be train wrecks. She just has something special.

Series Review: The Dirty Billionaire Trilogy by Meghan MarchReviewer: Casee
Dirty Billionaire by Meghan March
Narrator: Elena Wolfe, Sebastian York
Series: Dirty Billionaire Trilogy #1
Publisher: Self-Published
Publication Date: December 8, 2015
Format: Audiobook
Point-of-View: Alternating First
Content Warning: View Spoiler »
Genres: Contemporary Romance
Length: 4 hours and 24 minutes
Add It: Goodreads
Reading Challenges: Casee's 2019 GoodReads Challenge, GoodReads Challenge
Amazon | Barnes & Noble | The Ripped Bodice | Google Play Books
four-stars
Series Rating: four-stars

I've got a big dick and an even bigger bank account. That's pretty much where my bio ends. Honestly, I don't need to say anything else. I've just sold 99% of women on going home with me. Do I sound like an asshole to you? That's because I am. And guess what? It works for me just fine. Or at least it did. Until I met her. Books talk about sparks flying. Fuck that shit. With her, it was like emergency flares mixed with jet fuel. Or maybe just straight up napalm. Only one problem. She wouldn't tell me her name or her number when she disappeared from the hotel room after the hottest fucking night of my life. Now I've had a taste of unicorn pussy-the sweetest, rarest of all pussy-and I need it again. So what's an asshole to do? I took this problem to the street. A missed connection gone viral. And when I find her? I'm keeping her. Dirty Billionaire is the first book in The Dirty Billionaire Trilogy and is not a standalone. The story continues in Dirty Pleasures, which will release 12/29/2015, and Dirty Together, which will release on 1/12/2016. WARNING: If you can't handle a dirty-talking, dominant alpha male, The Dirty Billionaire Trilogy may not be for you. If you're looking for your newest filthy billionaire book boyfriend, I'd love to introduce you to Creighton Karas.

Creighton and Holly meet and have a steamy night together. Then Holly disappears. Creighton is an over-the-top alpha. When he decides he wants to see her again, he makes sure he finds her. When they meet again, it’s clear to Creighton that Holly needs a protector. So he does what he does…he protects what’s “his”.

Holly has enough problems of her own without adding Creighton Karas to the mix. Too bad he won’t take no for an answer.

I enjoyed this book even though Creighton was a little much. This book is trashy, which was exactly what I was in the mood to read at the time.

Rating: 4 out of 5.

Series Review: The Dirty Billionaire Trilogy by Meghan MarchReviewer: Casee
Dirty Pleasures by Meghan March
Narrator: Elena Wolfe, Sebastian York
Series: Dirty Billionaire Trilogy #2
Publisher: Self-Published
Publication Date: December 29, 2015
Format: Audiobook
Point-of-View: Alternating First
Content Warning: View Spoiler »
Genres: Contemporary Romance
Pages: 177
Length: 3 hours and 51 minutes
Add It: Goodreads
Reading Challenges: GoodReads Challenge
Amazon | Barnes & Noble | The Ripped Bodice | Google Play Books
three-half-stars
Series Rating: four-stars

I did it. I married a billionaire.

My reasons are my own, but the last thing I expected was to feel owned.

I may have taken vows, but I’m still determined to be me.

Now his rules are taking over my world, but I’m not the kind of girl to just obey.

There’s only one problem: I might actually be falling for him…

I have no idea how this marriage is going to go, but holding onto a piece of myself while succumbing to his dirty pleasures is shaping up to be the ride of a lifetime.

Dirty Pleasures is the second book in The Dirty Billionaire Trilogy. Dirty Together, the conclusion of this filthy trilogy, will release on 1/12/2016.

Holly, this is your fucking husband. Where the fuck are you? And if you think you’re fucking done with me, you’re dead wrong, sweetheart. Better get ready, because I’m fucking coming for you.”

Holly has decided that she’s had enough of Creighton. He claims that he wants to make their marriage work, but only seems to tell her what to do. That doesn’t work for her. When Creighton discovers Holly has left him, he’s not having it (see above).

This was a good second book in the trilogy. Holly hadn’t started to drive me crazy quite yet.

Rating: 3.75 out of 5.

Series Review: The Dirty Billionaire Trilogy by Meghan MarchReviewer: Casee
Dirty Together by Meghan March
Series: Dirty Billionaire Trilogy #3
Publisher: Self-Published
Publication Date: January 12, 2016
Format: Audiobook
Point-of-View: Alternating First
Genres: Contemporary Romance
Length: 4 hours and 36 minutes
Add It: Goodreads
Reading Challenges: Casee's 2019 GoodReads Challenge, GoodReads Challenge
Amazon | Barnes & Noble | The Ripped Bodice | Google Play Books
three-half-stars
Series Rating: four-stars

My wife.

I love saying those words.

She’s mine, and if she thinks I’m going to let her run without tracking her down and bringing her back to where she belongs—with me—then she’s about to be introduced to a new reality.

Because I’ll fight dirty to give her the happily ever after she deserves.

Dirty Together is the final book in The Dirty Billionaire Trilogy and should be read following Dirty Billionaire and Dirty Pleasures.

Holly decides (once again) that she’s going to leave Creighton. He’s everything she doesn’t want in a man. He’s pushy, bossy, and expects her to follow his rules. She’s not having it. Creighton (once again) has to track Holly down. Now he has everything to lose unless he convinces her that they were meant to be.

Holly drove me batty in this book. She just kept running. Get a spine, girl. Geez. Creighton was still his bad-ass self.

Rating: 3.5 out of 5.

four-stars


Tagged: , , , , , , , ,

Series Review: Real Dirty Duet by Meghan March

Posted September 24, 2019 by Casee in Reviews | 1 Comment

Another series down by Meghan March. These books are such quick reads that I all of a sudden have a billion reviews to write. So I’m giving you short, quick reviews to hopefully get you interested.

Series Review: Real Dirty Duet by Meghan MarchReviewer: Casee
Real Dirty by Meghan March
Narrator: Elena Wolfe, Sebastian York
Series: Real Dirty Duet
Publisher: Self-Published
Publication Date: May 9, 2017
Format: Audiobook
Source: Audible Escape
Point-of-View: Alternating First
Genres: Contemporary Romance
Pages: 257
Length: 5 hours and 25 minutes
Add It: Goodreads
Reading Challenges: Casee's 2019 GoodReads Challenge, GoodReads Challenge
Amazon | Barnes & Noble | The Ripped Bodice | Google Play Books
four-stars
Series Rating: four-stars

Country music's bad boy, Boone Thrasher, takes center stage in USA Today bestselling author Meghan March's brand new stand alone Real Dirty Duet!

I have everything a guy could want—a new single burning up the charts, more money than a simple country boy could spend, and a woman I’m planning to marry. Until she doesn’t show up for my proposal. The life I thought was so perfect, isn’t. The guy who thought he had everything, doesn’t. I’ve got my heart on lockdown, but life sends me straight into the path of a mouthy bartender who puts me in my place. Now the only place I want to put her is under me.I thought I was done with love, but maybe I’m just getting started.

Real Dirty is the first book of the Real Dirty Duet. Boone's story concludes in Real Sexy.

I really enjoyed the beginning of Boone and Ripley’s story. Boone was an ass of the highest order when they first met, which was understandable but not welcome. Ripley has lived under the shadow of her mother’s murder since she was a child. Running her family bar, she doesn’t have much other than that. When she meets Boone, she wants nothing to do with the high profile country star.

The big problem I had with this book is that Boone’s relationship with his ex-girlfriend of many years ended, then he immediately started an affair with Ripley. Even with that, I really liked this book.

Rating: 4 out of 5.

Series Review: Real Dirty Duet by Meghan MarchReviewer: Casee
Real Sexy by Meghan March
Narrator: Elena Wolfe, Sebastian York
Series: Real Dirty Duet #2
Publisher: Self-Published
Publication Date: May 23, 2017
Format: Audiobook
Source: Audible Escape
Point-of-View: Alternating First
Genres: Contemporary Romance
Pages: 262
Length: 5 hours and 34 minutes
Add It: Goodreads
Reading Challenges: Casee's 2019 GoodReads Challenge, GoodReads Challenge
Amazon | Barnes & Noble | The Ripped Bodice | Google Play Books
four-stars
Series Rating: four-stars

Country music star Boone Thrasher has never walked away from a fight, and he’s willing to put everything on the line to win the woman he can’t live without in the conclusion to the Real Dirty Duet by USA Today bestselling author Meghan March.

In Nashville, country stars are a dime a dozen.
I swore I’d never get caught up with one, but Boone Thrasher made a liar out of me.
I said I’d never put my heart on the line, but he didn’t ask before he stole it.
Now we’re facing my worst fears, and we'll see if this country boy is tough enough to see it through.
Girls like me don’t get happily ever afters… but maybe he’ll prove that wrong too.

In book two of the Real Dirty Duet, Boone and Ripley are navigating a new relationship. It doesn’t help that Ripley’s family is certifiable and wants nothing but to see her fail. With Boone by her side, Ripley realizes she can accomplish anything, especially the dream that she’s always wanted.

This was a good ending to the duet. I really enjoyed both Boone and Ripley. The humor in this book was welcome. I just really liked it.

Rating: 4 out of 5.

four-stars


Tagged: , , , , , ,

Review: Black Sheep by Meghan March

Posted September 4, 2019 by Casee in Reviews | 0 Comments

Review: Black Sheep by Meghan MarchReviewer: Case
Black Sheep by Meghan March
Narrator: Andi Arndt, Sebastian York
Series: The Dirty Mafia Duet #1
Publisher: Audible Studios
Publication Date: July 2, 2019
Format: Audiobook
Source: Audible Escape
Point-of-View: Alternating First
Cliffhanger: View Spoiler »
Content Warning: View Spoiler »
Genres: Contemporary Romance
Length: 6 hours and 28 minutes
Add It: Goodreads
Reading Challenges: Casee's 2019 GoodReads Challenge, Casee's 2019 New to Me Challenge, GoodReads Challenge, New to Me Challenge
Amazon | Barnes & Noble | The Ripped Bodice | Google Play Books
four-stars
Series Rating: four-stars

From New York Times bestselling author Meghan March comes a story of untold truths and one man’s redemption in the Dirty Mafia Duet.

Every family has a black sheep. In the infamous Casso crime family, that black sheep is me—Cannon Freeman. Except I’m not a free man. I’ve never been free. Not since the day I was born. I owe my loyalty to my father, Dominic Casso, even if he won’t publicly acknowledge me as his blood. I’ve never had a reason to go against his wishes… until I met her. Drew Carson turned my world upside when she walked into my club looking for a job. Now, my honor and my life are on the line. Going against my father’s wishes might buy me a bullet straight from his gun, but black sheep or not, it’s time to make my stand. She's worth the fallout.

This is the first book I’ve read by Meghan March. It was available on Audible Escape, so I thought what the hell. I’ll try it. I’m so glad I did because I am really loving this author even though I want to strangle the heroes. Meghan March has something special, that’s for sure.

Cannon Freeman was born into the mob. His father, Dominic Casso, runs the mafia with an iron fist. Dom treats Cannon like a pile of poo, yet Cannon feels loyalty to him for taking him into his home after his mother was murdered. It’s pretty messed up, but Cannon can do nothing but be there for his father. Cannon runs a club for the elite. It’s about the only legit business that the Casso’s own. When Drew Carson comes in for an interview, Cannon knows he’s pretty much screwed.

Drew Carson is working at the club for one reason and one reason only: to bring down the Casso family. Her father was found hanging in his apartment, but Drew has never believed it was a suicide. It’s confirmed when she finds a file full of facts and pictures of Dominic Casso. Now she has her finger on the Casso family and she’s not letting any of them get away with her father’s murder. Not even the man she’s found herself wanting.

Now that Drew is in his life, Cannon finds himself standing up to his father for the first time in his life. He’s going to protect Drew from Dom, no matter what the cost. As Cannon and Drew begin an affair, Cannon begins to realize that Drew has something to hide. He’s determined to find out what it is. He doesn’t care about her secret, he just wants to protect her.

So the fact that Cannon has almost a blind loyalty to Dom, I’m making it sound like he’s a doormat. Not so. Cannon is a strong man that has been dealt an impossible hand. All he is trying to do is be a part of the family. Drew becomes his family and Cannon will die to protect her.

I really enjoyed this book from the beginning to the end. There are a lot of obstacles that Cannon and Drew had to overcome and I found myself impatiently waiting for the next book.

Rating: 4 out of 5.

The Dirty Mafia Duet

four-stars


Tagged: , , , , , ,