Author: Meg Cabot

Retro Review: Queen of Babble in the Big City by Meg Cabot.

Posted August 23, 2017 by Rowena in Reviews | 4 Comments

Retro Review: Queen of Babble in the Big City by Meg Cabot.Reviewer: Rowena
Queen of Babble in the Big City (Queen of Babble #2) by Meg Cabot
Series: Queen of Babble #2
Published by Harper Collins
Publication Date: June 26th 2007
Genres: New Adult
Pages: 320
Buy on Amazon | Barnes & Noble
Goodreads
four-half-stars

Lizzie Nichols is back, pounding the New York City pavement and looking for a job, a place to live, and her proper place in the universe (not necessarily in that order).

When "Summer Fling" Luke uses the L word (Living Together), Lizzie is only too happy to give up her plan of being postgrad roomies with best friend, Shari, in a one-room walk-up in exchange for cohabitation with the love of her life in his mother's Fifth Avenue pied-à-terre, complete with doorman and resident Renoir.

But Lizzie's not as lucky in her employment search. As Shari finds the perfect job, Lizzie struggles through one humiliating interview after another, being judged overqualified for the jobs in her chosen field—vintage-gown rehab—and underqualified for everything else. It's Shari's boyfriend Chaz to the rescue when he recommends Lizzie for a receptionist's position at his father's posh law firm. The nonpaying gig at a local wedding-gown shop Lizzie manages to land all on her own.

But Lizzie's notoriously big mouth begins to get her into trouble at work and at home almost at once—first at the law firm, where she becomes too chummy with Jill Higgins, a New York society bride with a troublesome future mother-in-law, and then back on Fifth Avenue, when she makes the mistake of bringing up the M word (Marriage) with commitment-shy Luke.

Soon Lizzie finds herself jobless as well as homeless all over again. Can Lizzie save herself—and the hapless Jill—and find career security (not to mention a mutually satisfying committed relationship) at last?

****As part of our 10 year anniversary celebration, we’ll be re-posting old reviews that make us cringe, laugh or sigh all over again.****

Rowena: Oh man, this series. I have fond memories of the first time that I read this series. It was at the recommendation of my friend Lexi (a friend that I haven’t spoken to in such a long time) and she was head over heels in love with Luke but me? I was Team Chaz. Hahahaha, I totally won that one because Chaz was awesome and so was this book.

This review was originally posted on March 12, 2008

Alright, this is the second book in the Queen of Babble series and I was not disappointed in the least.

Lizzie is back and she’s living in New York, almost going to really graduate from college and she’s living with her boyfriend from the first book, Luke Di Villiers, the very hot and very rich Luke Di Villiers. She’s jobless but determined to pay her part of the rent (and it doesn’t even matter that they don’t have to pay rent because it’s Luke’s Mom’s apartment.) She wants to work in the dress refurbishing business but she can’t get hired to save her life but then she does get a job at Monsieur Henri’s shop but she’s not getting paid to work there so she needs to find a paying job so that she can keep this non paying job that she really really wants.

And in true Lizzie fashion, she makes things happen.

Her and Luke are getting along and she’s loving her life..only not everyone in their life feels the same way. Chaz and Shari (Luke’s best friend and Lizzie’s best friend) are fighting all the time and on the verge of breaking up and then they do break up and things get crazy after all of that. I can’t say why everything gets crazy because you have to read for yourself but I will say that Meg Cabot delivers another winner for me to read through because I thoroughly enjoyed this book.

I loved the storyline, I loved seeing what happened to Luke and Lizzie after they left France, I loved seeing Lizzie make things happen for herself in the Big Apple and I loved seeing my new crush…Chaz.

My friend Lexi is madly in love with Luke Di Villiers and I love him too but I won’t fight her for him because my heart belongs to Charles Pendergrast who cleans up nicely in a monkey suit. Chaz has such a big heart and he’s got so much love to give that he just gives and gives and gives. He’s the perfect boyfriend and I want to see him with the lead in his own series, so Meg Cabot if by chance you’re reading this review, please make that happen…please let Chaz find his happy ending with …a brunette from the islands named Rowena, she’s got a sparkling personality and a love of reading and I’ll read and discuss any hot damn thing Chaz would like to discuss because I heart him…for real. =)

This book was well-written, at the end of the book, loose ends were tied and everything ended really neatly…well if you don’t count the way the book ends, but that just leaves questions for the next and sigh final book to answer.

I can’t wait to see what happens with Chaz, with Luke and Lizzie and with just about every hot damn body….this book was really good and I can’t wait to read the next one!

Must read next book NOW!

four-half-stars


Tagged: , , , , , ,

Review: The Boy is Back by Meg Cabot

Posted October 18, 2016 by Rowena in Reviews | 1 Comment

Review: The Boy is Back by Meg CabotReviewer: Rowena
The Boy is Back by Meg Cabot
Series: Boys Series #4
Also in this series: The Boy Next Door, Boy Meets Girl

Publication Date: October 18th 2016
Pages: 400
Buy on Amazon | Barnes & Noble
Goodreads
four-stars

From New York Times bestselling author Meg Cabot comes the sweetly humorous story of a man who has to face his past in order to find his future.

Sometimes to move forward, you have to go back…

One post. That’s all it took to destroy the care free, glamorous life of pro golfer Reed Stewart. One tiny post on the Internet.

Then again, it’s not like Reed’s been winning many tournaments lately, and his uncle isn’t the only one who says it’s because of the unfinished business he left behind back home in Bloomville, Indiana—namely Reed’s father, the Honorable Judge Richard P. Stewart, and the only girl Reed ever loved, Becky Flowers.

But Reed hasn’t spoken to either his father or Becky in over a decade.
Until that post on the Internet. Suddenly, Reed’s family has become a national laughingstock, his publicist won’t stop calling, his siblings are begging for help, and Reed realizes he has no other choice: He’s got to go home to face his past . . . the Judge and the girl he left behind.

Becky’s worked hard to build her successful senior relocation business, but she’s worked even harder to forget Reed Stewart ever existed—which hasn’t been easy, considering he’s their hometown’s golden boy, and all anyone ever talks about. It was fine while they were thousands of miles apart, but now he’s back in Bloomville. She has absolutely no intention of seeing him—until his family hires her to help save his parents.

Now Reed and Becky can’t avoid one another…or the memories of that one fateful night.

Can the quirky residents of Bloomville bring these two young people back together, or will Reed and Becky continue to allow their pasts to deny them the future they deserve?

This warm, thought-provoking book, told entirely in texts, emails, and journal entries, is as much about the enduring bond of families as it is about second chances at love, and will delight as much as it entertains.

Meg Cabot is back with another book for her Boys series. This series is unique because the entire story is told through text messages, IM’s, newspaper articles and that kind of stuff.

This story follows Becky Flowers and Reed Stewart as they find their ways back to each other after ten years of being apart. Becky and Reed were high school sweethearts who were madly in love with each other until prom night when they got drunk and drove Reed’s fathers golf cart into the pond and Reed skipped town, leaving Becky behind without a goodbye or a fare-thee-well. Becky was left heartbroken but it’s ten years later and she is so over all of that, and over him too…right?

Reed goes on to become a wealthy professional golfer and hasn’t stepped foot in his hometown of Bloomville in ten years. The only people that he keeps in contact with from Bloomville are his siblings and their spouses. He hasn’t seen or heard from Beckly Flowers since he left her behind on prom night and while he’s sorry about it, there’s not much he can do to fix things now. Reed blows back into town when his parents go off the deep end and he’s needed to help fix their lives. He wasn’t expecting to see Becky at all but when her business ends up being the perfect way to help his parents (she owns a senior moving company where they relocate seniors to nursing homes, etc…).

Becky isn’t one to turn away business so of course she signs on to help the senior Stewarts relocate, even if it means spending time with the son that broke her heart and never gave an explanation for why he left her behind. Reading along as these two reconnected and then reunited with one another was a lot of fun. Between the shenanigans between Reed and his siblings and then Becky and her Mom, sister and best friend, I laughed my way through this book. This book has Cabot’s signature humor and the romance really worked for me. I loved Reed, loved Becky and everyone else except Reed’s sister. I hated her. Ha!

This was a fun treat and was perfect for a light weekend read. I definitely recommend to fans of Meg Cabot’s adult books and fans of contemporary romances. Good stuff!

Grade: 4 out of 5

four-stars


Tagged: , , , , , ,

Review: She Went All the Way by Meg Cabot

Posted April 7, 2008 by Rowena in Reviews | 1 Comment

Review: She Went All the Way by Meg CabotReviewer: Rowena
She Went All the Way by Meg Cabot

Publication Date: March 17th 2009
Pages: 368
Buy on Amazon | Barnes & Noble
Goodreads
four-stars

There are a few places screenwriter Lou Calabrese would rather be than crammed into a helicopter with Jack Townsend, star of her claim to fame, Copkiller, and whose ex just ran off with Lou's ex. Talk about uncomfortable. But when, halfway out to the isolated arctic location where Copkiller IV is currently shooting, their pilot turns murderous and their helicopter crashes, Lou realizes her day has just gotten a lot worse.

Now, while family and friends back home fret over her disappearance, Lou is on the run in the arctic wilderness with America's sweetheart Jack Townsend and only the contents of her purse, his pockets, and their mutual knowledge of survival movie trivia to keep them alive. Can these two children of Hollywood put aside their differences and make it back home without killing each other? Or much, much worse, actually start to like one another?

 

Another winner for Meg Cabot. It wasn’t the best book, I still love a lot of MC’s other books more than this one but this was still fun, cute and had one hecka hunky hero.

Jack Townsende is the best action hero in Tinseltown. He may not be the most prettiest man in Hollywood but he most definitely is one of the sexiest. He’s left many a heart’s broken over the past few years and there isn’t a woman that’s been left unTownsendized (well except for Meryl Streep) and Hollywood hotshop screenwriter, Lou Calabrese hates his guts.

She hates his guts because her best friend is one of the heartbreakee’s of Jack Townsende. She hates the way he is with women and she just hates…him because he changed her lines and you don’t do that with a writer. Writers are very touchy about that kind of stuff.

The book starts off with Lou’s man eloping with Jack’s ex. The headlines in all of the papers reported on it. They did it because Lou’s man is an actor who Lou gave his start. Jack’s ex is an actress as well and they just filmed a movie together and now they’re together…and it broke Lou’s heart. It didn’t break Jack’s heart though, come on now…

So Jack Townsende is filming the latest movie in the Copkiller series (which is like one of those Bruce Willis Die Hard movies) and they’re filming in Alaska. The director, Tim Lord is planning on blowing up one of the mines over there and Lou is going to make sure that it doesn’t happen. So she’s flying out to the set (you have to take a plane to it from Anchorage) to try to get Tim to reconsider. It’s while she’s on that flight with Jack Townsende that they get held up and they find out that somebody is out to kill Jack.

Could it be one of his many jilted ex lovers? They don’t know, all they know is that they have to run for their lives in the woods (not the tundra) and they’re taken on this adventure that neither of them want to be apart of and just as Jack is deciding to quit the business, Lou decides that she’s given up on actors….only things don’t always go the way they should because in the midst of all the running away from the bad guys and trying to stay alive, something is happening between Jack and Lou and she might not have what it takes to walk away from something this big.

This book was another great one from Meg Cabot, it’s not my new favorite or anything but I was happy while reading this book. I was happy that Jack was just so extremely hot and Lou wasn’t this dense, argue all the time, it’s my way or the highway attitude lady who I wanted to strangle all the time. She was normal. She was cool and she could shoot to kill when she needed to.

Jack Townsende was one of those actor heroes that you just fell in love with even though he’s a heartbreaker. He’s one of those guys that you know is sexy without even having a picture to look at. He’s cool, sexy, confident and just everything you want in a hero…he’s older too because he had hints of grey in his hair and that was a-okay with me. I want to marry Jack, that’s how fine he is!

Lou was a great heroine, she was loyal to her friends even though it was hard for her to stay loyal and once Jack proved to her that he was in this for the long haul and not just as long as he could find the next best piece of ass, Lou loved with all that she was. It was nice. She was funny, sassy, smart and extremely brave and I enjoyed getting to know her.

There were great secondary characters in this book from Jack’s Mom to Lou’s Dad and her brothers. I would have liked to get to know Lou’s brothers more but it’s okay that they didn’t make a bigger appearance in here, they might have overwhelmed the storyline so I was okay with that. One thing that I thought was lame was the way the story all came together, the bad guys….I totally saw it coming in the middle of the book, it was too easy for me but aside from that little thing, I really enjoyed this read. I think all of you guys should read it when you’re in the mood for something light, funny and cute.

That’s what this book is all about.

4/5

four-stars


Tagged: , , , , , ,

Review: Pants on Fire by Meg Cabot.

Posted February 12, 2008 by Rowena in Reviews | 4 Comments

Review: Pants on Fire by Meg Cabot.Reviewer: Rowena
Pants on Fire by Meg Cabot
Published by Harper Collins
Publication Date: October 6th 2009
Genres: Young Adult
Pages: 288
Buy on Amazon | Barnes & Noble
Goodreads
three-stars

Katie Ellison is not a liar.

It's just that telling the truth is so . . . tricky. She knows she shouldn't be making out with a drama club hottie behind her football-player boyfriend's back. She should probably admit that she can't stand eating quahogs (clams), especially since she's running for Quahog Princess in her hometown's annual Quahog Festival. And it would be a relief to finally tell someone what really happened the night Tommy Sullivan is a freak was spray-painted on the new wall outside the junior high school gymnasium—in neon orange, which still hasn't been sandblasted off. After all, everyone knows that's what drove Tommy out of town four years ago.

But now Tommy Sullivan has come back. Katie is sure he's out for revenge, and she'll do anything to hang on to her perfect (if slightly dishonest) existence. Even if it means telling more lies than ever. Even if, now that Tommy's around, she's actually—no lie—having the time of her life.

Alright, this has got to be the first book, oh no I’m lying because All American Girl was another book by Meg Cabot that I just thought was okay. This book wasn’t a bad book, it wasn’t at all it was just …okay. I mean, I guess a lot of it had to do with the main character, Katie Ellison. She’s the brainiac of her school and yet she’s landed the most popular boy in her school for a boyfriend. She’s liked him for like ever and finally got with him when she was in 8th grade. She’s been with him ever since and they’re about to be seniors in high school. Her life is pretty cool, I mean she’s got a cool and hot boyfriend, she’s got a great job, her parents are decent and her brother is pretty cool.

What’s not to love?

Apparently, there are things Katie doesn’t love. First on that list is …her boyfriend, Seth Turner. Seth is the starting kicker of the Quahogs, her high school football team and the town’s celebrities. If you’re on the football team, you’re treated like royalty and it’s really stupid but hey that’s how their life is. Anyway, so Katie’s got this hot boyfriend who adores her and what is she doing? She’s making out with Eric Flutely, the guy who’s like the Brad Pitt of her school, the “actor”.

It was really hard for me to get into this book because Katie was a stupid little hussy who was making out with every boy in her damn grade, it was so dumb and she kept berating herself for doing it and I just didn’t understand why she was still with Seth if she didn’t want to hurt him but she didn’t want to stop kissing Eric either.

I’ll give her some credit though because by the time a third guy comes into the picture, she realizes that she was never in love with Seth or with Eric because when she’s with this new guy, Tom Sullivan she doesn’t want to kiss anyone else, she wants only to be with him but she’s afraid of why he’s back in town because some crap went down and he was chased out of town. He’s back and she wants to know why because well, nobody forgot about what happened before Tom was chased out and it’s bad enough that the football team wants to beat him up for it.

The whole story revolves around Katie and her trying to get over herself and get over why she feels the need to have TWO boyfriends and it shows her grow into a respectable girl who doesn’t lie all the hot damn time. I didn’t like Katie at all when I first started reading this book but by the end of the book, I forgave her for all of her stupidity, chalked it up to her being a teenager and excused for being so hot damn dumb but she did set things right and I was a happy camper by the end of the book, so would I recommend this book?

Yeah, why not…just don’t expect the fireworks you got when you read her other books, because this isn’t the best best.

Just okay.

But I’m still a Meg Cabot fan girl, FOR real!

three-stars


Tagged: , , , , ,

Review: Big Boned by Meg Cabot.

Posted January 29, 2008 by Rowena in Reviews | 6 Comments

Review: Big Boned by Meg Cabot.Reviewer: Rowena
Big Boned by Meg Cabot
Published by Harper Collins
Publication Date: October 13th 2009
Pages: 304
Buy on Amazon | Barnes & Noble
Goodreads
four-half-stars

Life is reasonably rosy for plus-size ex-pop star turned Assistant Dormitory Director and sometime sleuth Heather Wells. Her freeloading ex-con dad is finally moving out. She still yearns for her hot landlord, Cooper Cartwright, but her relationship with "rebound beau," vigorous vegan math professor Tad Tocco, is more than satisfactory.

Best of all, nobody has died lately in "Death Dorm," the aptly nicknamed student residence that Heather assistant-directs. Of course every silver lining ultimately has some black cloud attached. And when the latest murdered corpse to clutter up her jurisdiction turns out to be her exceedingly unlovable boss, Heather finds herself on the shortlist of prime suspects—along with the rabble-rousing boyfriend of her high-strung student assistant and an indecently handsome young campus minister who's been accused of taking liberties with certain girls' choir members.

With fame beckoning her back into show business (as the star of a new kids' show!) it's a really bad time to get wrapped up in another homicide. Plus Tad's been working himself up to ask her a Big Question, which Heather's not sure she has an answer for . . .

It’s gonna be really hard to review this book without spoiling the heck out of it for you so I’m warning you now, this review is going to be ripe with spoilers so if you’re wanting to read these books (this is book #3) and you don’t want me to spoil the books, then probably you should not read this review until after you’ve read the books.

You’ve been warned.

Seriously, if you don’t want to know what happens in the book (the good juicy bits) then you need to move the party train along.

No joke.

Alright, that’s enough with the warnings, now on with the review.

I thoroughly enjoyed this book which didn’t surprise me one bit since this is a Meg Cabot book and I’m practically her #1 fan, on this site anyway. Meg Cabot fangirl, yeah that’s me.

This book starts off with yet another death at Death Dorm, who just happens to be Heather’s new boss, Dr. Veatch. The boss that Heather didn’t care for and though this is like the same bat channel and same bat time, the difference this time around is Heather is a suspect. HA! Things are different around Heather’s world right now because her Dad is moving out of her and Cooper’s house, she’s got herself a man (because Cooper doesnt’ want to be her rebound guy) and Jordan is going to be a DAD! I know, shock of all shocks, huh?

We see the same characters come back from the last book, like Sarah the grad student worker, Heather’s old boss Tom, Heather’s Dad, Gavin McGoren and I love Gavin just as much in this book as I did in the last book. There’s just something about Gavin that I can’t help but love. His adoration of Heather, the way he has complete faith in her and his sense of humor. Goodness, the scenes that Gavin is in always has me in fits of giggles. He’s such a cutie patootie.

It was so good that Cooper still played a big part of this book which means that he’s still a big part of Heather’s life. The whole Cooper and Heather thing had my heart sighing all over the dang place and I am totally happy with the way that came about. All I can say is:

ITS ABOUT DAMN TIME!

I love me some Cooper Cartwright and hair hairy hands and muscle-y arms and his manly physique, his unkempt hair and just everything, he’s the total package and I just love him to death. LOVE LOVE LOVE HIM! The whole crush that Heather has on Cooper is totally felt by me, I totally know how she feels and I’m crushing on Cooper right alongside Heather throuhgout this whole series, so it did my heart good when they finally did the damn thing, I was one happy camper because this book is just effing great.

This book follows Heather as she plows right into the case that Cooper tells her to stay far away from. It was good to see that Heather hadn’t changed much in the way that she still doesn’t listen to Cooper and still needs to be rescued by Cooper and the jealousy we see from Cooper with Tad (Heather’s boyfriend) and Heather adds the right amount of AWWWWWWW to the whole story. The secondary characaters were fantastic and even though the mystery behind who killed Dr. Veatch was totally obvious right from the jump, I still enjoyed this book quite a bit. I really recommend this series because it’s light, fluffy and cute.

Good stuff, kudos to Meg Cabot on another job well done. I really want to read the popular book she’s got out, the one about being popular or whatever…that looks good too.

four-half-stars


Tagged: , , , , , , ,