Author: Lynsay Sands

Guest Review: Surrender to the Highlander by Lynsay Sands

Posted March 9, 2018 by Tracy in Reviews | 0 Comments

Guest Review: Surrender to the Highlander by Lynsay SandsReviewer: Tracy
Surrender to the Highlander by Lynsay Sands
Series: Highlander Series #5
Published by Avon
Publication Date: January 30th 2018
Genres: Historical Romance
Pages: 384
Buy on Amazon | Barnes & Noble

Edith Drummond owes her life to Niels Buchanan and his brothers. Waking after an illness to a castle overrun by rugged Highlanders is disconcerting, but so is learning that she’s slowly being poisoned. Niels insists on staying by her side, and Edith soon discovers that even more dangerous is her wild attraction to the fierce warrior.

Niels has never met a more courageous—or enticing—woman than Lady Edith. The idea of such a bonny lass being forced to enter a nunnery is more than any red-blooded Scotsman could bear. He’ll gladly marry her himself. But while sweeping her off her feet is easy, it’ll take all his skill to defeat her family’s relentless enemies, and convince her to surrender to his sweet embrace.

Neils Buchanan and his brothers are sent to check on Edith Drummond.  Their sister Saidh had sent several messages to her good friend Edith and hasn’t received word in return, which is not like Edith.  When the brothers arrive, they have a tough time gaining entry into the estate but when they hear that Edith is on her deathbed they manage to get in.  It appears that Edith’s father and two brothers have already died and Edith has been sick for weeks, just hanging on by a thread.  Rory Buchanan, a healer, diagnoses poison and treats accordingly. Soon Edith takes a turn for the better.

The brothers and Edith come to realize that her family has been targeted and they set about trying to figure out who the murderer is, which isn’t easy.  While they investigate, Neils protects Edith.  She believes her brother Brody, who is now Laird, and his wife will send her to a nunnery as soon as he gets back (he thought the castle had a catching illness so he left to avoid it) but after almost acting on their lust for each other, Neils asks Edith to marry him.  They liked each other but never thought they’d fall in love, especially when their fighting for Edith’s life.

This was another great book in the Highlanders series by Sands.  I’ve really enjoyed all of the books so far and this was no different.  I loved both Edith and Neils and thought they were perfect together.

Edith was an amazing woman.  She had been through hell with the deaths in her family and had almost died herself but in the end was looking out for everyone else, not herself.  She was kind, giving, thoughtful, smart.  I just loved her!  Neils was a good man as well and I loved how up front he was with Edith when he proposed.  He told her what he admired about her but admitted he didn’t love her.  That sounds harsh but I was happy to hear that he didn’t try to trick her in any way.  He was just as thoughtful as Edith and I loved watching these two fall in love.

The mystery part of the series was a good one.  I didn’t figure out “who-dun-it” until right before the characters started figuring things out.  Sands did a great job of making us think it was others and I loved that.

Overall a great book and I’m looking forward to reading the next in the series, which will be Neils’ brother Auley’s book.

Rating: 4 out of 5


Tagged: , , , , , , ,

Review: An English Bride in Scotland by Lynsay Sands

Posted January 17, 2018 by Rowena in Reviews | 2 Comments

Review: An English Bride in Scotland by Lynsay SandsReviewer: Rowena
An English Bride In Scotland (Highlanders, #1) by Lynsay Sands
Series: Highlanders Series #1
Published by Harper Collins, Avon
Publication Date: June 25th 2013
Genres: Historical Romance
Pages: 384
Buy on Amazon | Barnes & Noble

The first in a new historical series set in the Highlands of Scotland, from Lynsay Sands, the New York Times bestselling author of the Argeneau vampire series and countless historical romances.

Annabel was about to take the veil to become a nun when her mother suddenly arrives at the Abbey to take her home… so that she can marry the Scottish laird who is betrothed to her runaway sister! She knows nothing about being a wife, nothing about how to run a household, and definitely nothing about the marriage bed!

But from the moment Ross MacKay sets eyes on Annabel, he is taken with his shy sweet bride… and the fact that she's blessed with lush curves only makes him utter his own prayers of thanks. But when an enemy endangers her life, he'll move the Highlands themselves to save her. For though Annabel's not the bride he planned for, she's the only woman he desires…

An English Bride in Scotland is my first book by Lynsay Sands and I’m happy to report that it was an enjoyable romance with charming characters and a sweet romance between the hero and heroine. This book has an old school Julie Garwood feel to it and that was enough for me to enjoy the heck out of it.

Ross MacKay is in England to collect his bride, an engagement that his father brought about after his intended’s father saved his father’s life. He’s there to honor the promise that his father made, no matter how he feels about it.

Annabel was raised in an abbey and was just about to take her vows to become a nun when her mother rushes to the abbey to whisk Annabel away to keep a promise for her father. She’s to marry a Scotsman in her sister’s place since her sister ran away with the stableman’s son. To say that everything happened so fast, is putting it mildly since Annabel damn near got whiplash from the whirlwind that became her life once her mother came back into it.

It took only one look at Annabel for Ross to be certain that he wanted Annabel for a wife and I really loved seeing him fall head over heels in love with her. Annabel was such a sweet heroine, easy to love that it didn’t take me long at all to fall in love with her myself.

The story follows Ross as he tries to figure out who is trying to harm his wife. On their journey from England back to his home in Scotland, they have been set upon by a mysterious man who seems hellbent on something but nobody knows what. Ross and Annabel are newlyweds and they’re learning each other and Annabel is learning to live in a new place and there’s a lot here to keep the reader interested and I thought Lynsay Sands did a great job of bringing the story together.

I can’t say that this was my absolute favorite book ever but it was a sweet story that I enjoyed and I enjoyed it enough that I want to continue this series in 2018 so I just might do that. Annabel’s sister was awful and she just kept right on being awful with each passing page so that was a bummer because every time she called Annabel “Belly”, I wanted to punch her in the face. I thought the mystery surrounding the stranger that kept popping up around Annabel was pretty weak since I figured it out not very long into the story but even still, the book was fun and the romance was sweet so I didn’t mind much.

Grade: 3.75 out of 5

Highlanders Series


Tagged: , , , , , ,

Guest Review: Immortal Unchained by Lynsay Sands

Posted March 28, 2017 by Tracy in Reviews | 0 Comments

Guest Review: Immortal Unchained by Lynsay SandsReviewer: Tracy
Immortal Unchained by Lynsay Sands
Series: Argeneau #25
Also in this series: Immortal Ever After (Argeneau #18), Runaway Vampire, Immortal Nights
Published by Harper Collins, Avon
Publication Date: March 28th 2017
Pages: 400
Buy on Amazon | Barnes & Noble

Ever since Domitian Argenis recognized Sarita as his life mate, he’s been waiting for the perfect moment to claim her. Those fantasies did not include him being chained to a table in a secret lab or both of them being held hostage by a mad scientist. Somehow, they have to escape…

Sarita has seen some crazy things as a cop, but nothing to rival Domitian. A vampire? Seriously? But his healing ability, incredible powers, and their mind-blowing physical connection—none of it should be possible, yet her body knows differently. Now, not only do they have to save each other, but other innocent lives are at stake. Failure is not an option, for Sarita intends that Domitian show her exactly what an eternity of pleasure feels like…

Domitian is an Immortal but also a chef.  He takes a job with Dr. Dressler thinking that he can get onto the doctor’s island and find all the Immortal’s who have gone missing.  Unfortunately he ends up on a small island with his life mate, Sarita.

Sarita’s grandmother has worked for Dr. Dressler for many, many years.  When the doctor calls and tells her that her grandmother has taken a fall she heads straight from Canada to Venezuela to see her grandmother.  After hanging out at Dressler’s house for a few days thinking he’s off-island she finds out he’s on-island and in his labs.  She heads into the labs and finds a what looks like a corpse cut in half.  When Dressler comes in and brings the man back to life she’s shocked but doesn’t have time to voice this as she’s then sedated.  She too wakes up on a small island with a man chained to a table who is supposedly her life mate.

While Domitian tries to woo Sarita they both try to find a way off the island.  They both know that Dressler wants them for something but they can’t figure out what it is.  When they finally do make it to the doctor’s island once again they must try to find a way to save the kidnapped immortals, the innocents who are on the island along with each other.

I can’t believe this is book 25 in the Argeneau series!  How Sands keeps coming up with good stories is amazing to me.  This one was definitely a keeper.  I really liked both the romance portion of the book as well as the bit of mystery that was involved with Dressler and what he was doing with the Immortals and others on the island.

Sarita was a bit of a stubborn woman but she was tough cop so I didn’t hold it against her.  She had been told that Domitian had known she was his life mate for 15 years and had been having her followed so she was a little leery of him.  When he explained about that she was much more open.  I liked how they talked about themselves and got to know each other.  Of course they’d had sex by that time but…ok, it worked.  The thing that really didn’t work for me was the sex.  Not that the description of the sex was bad just that I wasn’t feeling the attraction between the pair at that time and that’s what felt off about it.  They didn’t seem like two people who would jump into it like that but yet they did.  I would have loved to have seen that the author made them wait, but that’s me. 🙂

The issues with the Island and the horrific things that Dressler was doing on it were written really well. Dressler was a monster and Sands didn’t sugar coat anything for us – she went for it and I liked that.  We really needed to see what a bastard the man was to appreciate all the horrible things he’d done.

Overall it was a good addition to the series and a good PNR in general.  I’m not sure where the series is headed next but wherever it goes I’m looking forward to it.

Rating: 4 out of 5


Tagged: , , , , , , , ,

Guest Review: Falling for the Highlander by Lynsay Sands

Posted December 30, 2016 by Tracy in Reviews | 0 Comments

Guest Review: Falling for the Highlander by Lynsay SandsReviewer: Tracy
Falling for the Highlander by Lynsay Sands
Series: Highlander Series #4
Published by Avon
Publication Date: January 31st 2017
Buy on Amazon | Barnes & Noble

Lady Murine Carmichael has known her share of bad luck. But when her debt-ridden half-brother tries to sell her off in exchange for a few Scottish horses, it’s the final straw. If keeping her freedom means escaping through harsh countryside alone, so be it. She has barely begun her journey when she lands an unlikely escort—the brawny Highlander who just refused to buy her virtue.

Dougall Buchanan was disgusted by Lord Danvries’ shameful offer, but Murine herself tempts him beyond measure. Even bedraggled and dusty, the lass glows with beauty and bravery. Dougall wants to do more than just help her flee. He wants to protect her—with his life and his heart—if she’ll only let him. For Murine may be pursued by a powerful foe, but nothing compares to the fiery courage of a Highlander in love.

Murine Carmichael has seen a lot of death in the past few years.  Her brothers and her betrothed were killed then her mother died not long after that.  Her father then was ill and but had died just when she thought he was getting better.  Her half-brother, Montrose, picked her up and told her that he was now her guardian.  While Murine wasn’t thrilled with the idea she dealt with it.  She even managed to deal with it when Montrose gambled away her dower.  When Dougall Buchanan and his brothers show Montrose fine horses and he can’t pay for them he tries to bargain with them.  Dougall’s not interested.  Then Montrose gets desperate and offers his sister as payment – to use until he gets tired of her.  Dougall, his brothers and Murine are all shocked and disgusted at this suggestion.  Obviously Dougall refuses and leaves.

After hearing another suggestion by Montrose about offering her up to one of his neighbors for coin, Murine decides it’s time to get the hell out of dodge.  She knows that traveling alone is extremely dangerous but figures facing death is better than what Montrose has planned for her. She heads off on her pet bull, Henry, to try to reach one of her friends.  Not far from her brother’s house she runs into the Buchanan brothers.  They are nice enough to hide her from his brothers and agree to take her to her friend, their sister, Saidh. Along the road there are many perils and accidents that beset the group and mostly directed at Murine. During the course of the travel Dougall and Murine get close and lust ensues that soon turns to more.  Unfortunately with Montrose trailing the Buchanan’s and Murine will they be able to stay together?

This was a cute story.  I really liked a lot of the book and was pulling for Dougall and Murine throughout.  The camaraderie between the Buchanan brothers was another plus to this book as they were close but still had scuffles like most brothers do.

I really liked Dougall in this book.  He was stubborn and strong-willed but protective and kind as well.  He had morals and was a decent guy whose parents had raised him right.  Murine took a bit of getting used to.  She was kind of oblivious a lot of the time which annoyed me.  She didn’t seem the type to be oblivious so when it happened it was frustrating. Examples…she was running from her brother but when she was traveling and saw people in the woods, she never said anything? She thought she heard someone in the house she was in by herself but never mentions it to Dougall when he comes in right after?  There were so many things that she questioned to herself but never once said anything to Dougall or his brothers.  What the hell?  Why not? She was trying to get away from her brother but she sees random people or hears random things and shrugs it off? Uh, no, don’t believe it for a minute. In most Sands historicals the heroine always ends up doing some crazy things but this just takes the cake. Now, that being said she was strong when she needed to be.  She saved lives when there was a fire as she had saved Saidh’s life in a previous book.  She kept getting hit in the head and kept getting up.  She got shot by an arrow but took it like a trooper.  She was a good person for the most part, really.

Overall it was a good story that I had some issues with.  It certainly won’t stop me from reading more of Sands’ historical novels as their more on the fun/slapstick fun side and I like that about them.

Rating: 3.5 out of 5


Tagged: , , , , , , , , ,

Guest Review: Immortal Nights by Lynsay Sands

Posted September 20, 2016 by Tracy in Reviews | 2 Comments

Guest Review: Immortal Nights by Lynsay SandsReviewer: Tracy
Immortal Nights by Lynsay Sands
Series: Argeneau #24
Also in this series: Immortal Ever After (Argeneau #18), Runaway Vampire, Immortal Unchained
Published by Avon
Publication Date: September 20th 2016
Buy on Amazon | Barnes & Noble

Abigail Forsythe’s life hasn’t been easy lately. Still, if there’s one thing guaranteed to take her mind off an empty bank account and abandoned dreams, it’s a naked man locked in a plane’s cargo hold. A very big, incredibly gorgeous naked man. And when instinct prompts her to free him, Abigail must rely on this stranger for survival…a stranger who leaves her thrumming with need every time they touch.

Tomasso Notte knows he’s found his life mate in Abigail. Now he just has to hold on to her. They’re miles from civilization, hunted by his kidnappers. Abigail has no idea of Tomasso’s abilities, or of how intensely pleasurable their unique connection can be. But he’s about to show her, beginning with one wild, hot, immortal night…

Tomasso Notte is being kidnapped – for what reason he has no idea.  He is drugged and put into a cage then onto a plane.  On that plane is Abigail.  She’s with her friend, who is the pilot of the plane, just so they can have a little vacation.  Abs needs one desperately as she’s been taking care of her mother – who just recently died.

The men who chartered the plane stated that they wanted no one on the plane but the pilot, but Abs was already on it.  She hides in the cargo hold but when she looks under the tarp and discovers a naked man with an IV she’s shocked.  She takes out the IV and helps him but she wasn’t prepared for him to jump out of the plane with her in his arms.

Tomasso gets Abigail safely to a beach but he really has no idea where he is.  Abigail had hit her head on the way out of the plane so she’s not with it.  Tomasso needs to get to a phone to contact the Argeneau’s and to get blood.  Unfortunately there are no villages in site and he has no idea if the kidnappers will come after him.  He wants to keep Abigail safe because he’s a nice person but also because he’s realized that she’s his life mate.

When the pair finally get to civilization – after some pretty funny things happening – Tomasso is able to contact his people and get what he needs.  Unfortunately the kidnappers aren’t about to give up on their quest to kidnap immortals.

This was another cute story in the Argeneau series.  I thought that Abigail and Tomasso were very sweet together and I loved their interactions.  Tomasso, as we’ve read in previous books in the series, is a huge guy but he isn’t a brute.  He’s kind and caring and I loved how well he treated Abigail.

Abigail was in med school at one point in her life before she dropped out to take care of her mother.  She is a care-taker by nature and likes to take charge of a situation.  When Tomasso pulls some stupid stunts to stop himself from getting excited when he’s with her (prior to reaching civilization) Abigail is there to take care of him.  It’s so ridiculous but hilarious at the same time.  I also loved how Abigail handled the whole immortal thing.  She realized quickly that she wasn’t a soulless monster and dealt with it.  I liked that about her because she was so practical about it all.

The thing I didn’t care for about the story is that there just wasn’t a ton of depth to it.  Yes, it was a fun book and I understand that’s what it was supposed to be but I just wanted more.  I guess I’m greedy that way.

The story was a nice addition to the series.  We got to hear a bit more about why the immortals are being kidnapped (only a bit though!) and then we were left hanging without knowing anything in depth.  I guess I’ll just have to wait and read the next book in the series to find out the info – which definitely won’t be a chore. 🙂

Rating: 3.5 out of 5


Tagged: , , , , , , ,