Author: Lynsay Sands

Guest Review: The Trouble with Vampires by Lynsay Sands

Posted May 21, 2019 by Tracy in Reviews | 0 Comments

Guest Review: The Trouble with Vampires by Lynsay SandsReviewer: Tracy
The Trouble With Vampires by Lynsay Sands
Series: Argeneau #29
Also in this series: Immortal Ever After (Argeneau #18), Runaway Vampire, Immortal Nights, Immortal Unchained, Twice Bitten
Publisher: Avon
Publication Date: April 23, 2019
Format: eARC
Source: Edelweiss
Point-of-View: Third
Content Warning: View Spoiler »
Genres: Paranormal Romance
Pages: 380
Add It: Goodreads
Amazon | Barnes & Noble | The Ripped Bodice | Google Play Books
three-stars
Series Rating: four-stars

For close to three thousand years the imposing, impossibly handsome Santo Notte has fought in armies across the world and battled his own, more personal enemies. Of all the places he might expect to encounter his life mate, a quiet corner of upstate New York doesn’t seem likely. But as soon as he makes contact with history professor Petronella Stone, while hunting down a suspected rogue immortal, he knows that she will be the greatest adventure of his eternal life.

He expects her to be surprised, confused, even overwhelmed. What he doesn’t expect is that Pet has a secret history of her own. There’s no mistaking the mind-blowing, mutual pleasure they share. But as Pet struggles to protect her nephew from a danger lurking too close to home, Santo realizes there’s another threat to her safety—him. And claiming their passionate future will be impossible until he leaves his past behind, forever…

Petronella is babysitting her nephew when someone tries to break into her sister’s house.  She is saved by the guests staying at the house next door, but she recognizes them as immortals and doesn’t trust them at all.  What she really doesn’t expect is that the immortal named Santo would really be someone she fell in love with.

The immortals are at the house next door because they have followed a rogue vampire to a house on that street. When Santo can’t “read” Pet he’s shocked that he’s finally found his life-mate.  He’s even more shocked when he finds out that she knows about immortals.  Unfortunately the only experience she’s had with immortals is bad.  It takes some time to convince Pet that not all immortals are evil like the ones she experienced and that he can protect her and his nephew from the rogue.  What he can’t do is woo her properly because he has no experience.  He may fumble his way through but Santo finally wins the girl.

This was a cute story in the Argeneau series.  I liked the fact that Pet knew about immortals – even though she didn’t have all the facts.  Some things needed to be explained to her but for the most part she was in the know.  This was something different in the series and I liked that.  Santo and Pet were cute together.  I liked how protective they both were of her young nephew.

What I didn’t care for in this book, and what shocked me, was how dark a part of it was.  I’ve never read a Sands book that has dark undertones, and I truly don’t want to again.  It not only described the horrible way in which Pet’s sister & mother died, which was absolutely horrible, but then it went onto Santo and how his entire family was murdered.  OMG, both stories were horrific, but getting both in one book? No, thank you.  I read Sands because I know I’m going to get light romance – that was not this book and I didn’t care for it.

Except for those two parts of the book the rest was pretty light and I liked it.

Rating: 3 out of 5

Argeneau

three-stars


Tagged: , , , , , , ,

Guest Review: Vampires Like It Hot by Lynsay Sands

Posted September 11, 2018 by Tracy in Reviews | 1 Comment

Guest Review: Vampires Like It Hot by Lynsay SandsReviewer: Tracy
Vampires Like It Hot (Argeneau #28) by Lynsay Sands
Series: Argeneau #28
Also in this series: Immortal Ever After (Argeneau #18), Runaway Vampire, Immortal Nights, Immortal Unchained, Twice Bitten, The Trouble With Vampires
Publisher: Avon
Publication Date: September 18, 2018
Format: eARC
Point-of-View: Third
Genres: Paranormal Romance
Pages: 384
Add It: Goodreads
Amazon | Barnes & Noble | The Ripped Bodice | Google Play Books
three-stars
Series Rating: four-stars

New York Times bestselling author Lynsay Sands brings the heat in this new Argeneau novel, as one woman is rescued by an irresistible immortal …

“Vampires...”

When Raffaele Notte pulls a barely dressed, disoriented woman from the ocean, the last thing he expects is for her to utter that word. The immortal has come to the island resort to help his cousin, but now, it seems, there are rogue vampires dining on unsuspecting tourists. And he soon realizes that not only is Jess a target, she’s also the life mate he’s been waiting for…

Vampires are real. Jess would’ve never believed it until she saw them with her own eyes. She knows she has to get off the island, and her gallant rescuer has offered to help. There’s something about Raffaele that’s unlike any man she has ever met, and his touch sends pleasure through her that is beyond all imagining. But when Jess discovers who he really is, will she risk life as she knows it for a chance of forever by his side?

Jess is at an island resort for her cousin’s destination wedding when the bride’s sister drags her on to a pirate ship.  Supposedly they were going to go feed sharks.  She’s not thrilled to be there and the people on the boat seem to be acting really weird.  When she walks in on what looks like a vampire feeding on a man’s private parts she’s horrified.  She’s then corralled into the captain’s quarters and pretty much told that the captain wants her all for himself.  She manages to squeeze out the window and ends up swimming for hours to get back to shore.

Raffaele Notte and his cousins, Zanipolo and Santo, are in Punta Cana to try and get Santo “back to normal.”  Santo had been kidnapped by the evil Dr. Dressler (see previous books) and had been experimented on.  He’d not been the same since and his cousins are looking out for him.  The trio is at dinner when Jess washes up on shore and they run to her rescue.

Jess is freaked out and focusing on the fact that vampires are real, but Raffaele is fascinated by the fact that Jess is his Life Mate.  When he finds out that she’s had contact with other Immortals that are on the island, that are obviously feeding on a ton of people (as he sees the teeth marks on just about everyone), he’s obviously concerned.  When he finds out that the captain of the pirate ship might also be Jess’s Life Mate Raffaele is determined to win her affections.

This was a cute book.  This is another in the Argeneau series and while the stories may be formulaic, I find them fun.  Raffaele and Jess were so cute together.  I hated that Jess was being pulled in different directions between Raffaele and Vasco.  As in most Sands novels there was a fair amount of ridiculous hijinks that happened with Jess, but I found them more funny side than the eye-rolling side.

I did feel sad for poor Santo as he was just so sad and after having read the previous books in the series knew what he had gone through.  I hope that he gets his HEA soon so that he can be happy again.

Overall a fun story.  There was not a lot of depth, but a good quick read none-the-less.

Rating: 3 out of 5

Argeneau

three-stars


Tagged: , , , , , , ,

What Are You Reading? (+ Lynsay Sands Giveaway)

Posted August 3, 2018 by Rowena in Giveaways, Reviews | 9 Comments

WAYR-New

Casee: I am currently reading Dark Sentinel by Christine Feehan. This book is different from the others in this series in good ways and not-so-good ways. I always wonder if it’s just going to be the same old thing since this is something like the 147th book in this series, but I’m usually surprised. I have some really good books waiting in the wings. I hope to finish Dark Sentinel tonight so I can move on.

Holly: I finished my reread of the Hidden Legacy series by Ilona Andrews with White Hot and Wildfire. I finally got to read The Kiss Quotient, which was wonderful. Rowena was right. That book was so freaking good. Then I read Wild Like the Wind by Kristen Ashley. I enjoyed the romance, but the rest of the story was meh. I’m pretty much over the overreaching story arc from the last 5 books. I listened to Duke Most Wanted by Celeste Bradley. I really liked it. There was a plot twist at the end I did not see coming. For those of you who know me, that’s a huge thing. I always figure it out.

I’m not sure what I’m going to read next. I’ll be honest, I’m putting off reading the next two books in the Summer Reading Challenge. I might suck it up and try one, but neither sounds very good to me. Sigh.

Rowena: I finally finished A Duke by Default by Alyssa Cole and it was such an enjoyable romance that I am pretty anxious for the next book in the series, Johan’s book. I also want to go back and read Ledi & Thabiso’s book because they were adorable in this one. Portia and Tav were the bomb! After I finished that book, I started my second Summer Reading Challenge book, Midnight Rainbow by Linda Howard. I’m still reading that (so far, so good) but I plan to finish that today so I’ll be jumping into The Other Side of Lost by Jessi Kirby next.

Giveaway Alert

We are very fortunate here at Book Binge. We have loads and loads of books to read and we want to share the wealth so each week, we’ll be tacking on a Freebie Friday giveaway to our What Are You Reading posts. This week, we’re giving away…

What Are You Reading? (+ Lynsay Sands Giveaway)The Highlander's Promise (Highland Brides #6) by Lynsay Sands
Series: Highland Brides #6
Also in this series: His Bonnie Bride, Highland Wedding
Publisher: Avon
Publication Date: June 26, 2018
Point-of-View: Third
Genres: Historical Romance
Pages: 384
Add It: Goodreads
Amazon | Barnes & Noble | The Ripped Bodice | Google Play Books
Series Rating: four-stars

In a spellbinding new Highlands story from New York Times bestselling author Lynsay Sands, the laird of the Buchanans finds the one woman who is his equal in passion and courage...

Aulay Buchanan has retreated to his clan’s hunting lodge for a few days of relaxation. But the raven-haired beauty he pulls from the ocean puts an end to any chance of rest. Though he christens her Jetta, she knows nothing of her real identity, save that someone is trying to kill her. As she recovers, it will not be easy for Aulay to protect her and keep her honor intact when she mistakenly believes they are man and wife.

Jetta sees beyond Aulay’s scars to the brave, loyal warrior she’s proud to call her own. But as the attempts on her life grow more brazen, Jetta realizes that not all is as she believes. And if Aulay is not her husband, can she trust the desire flaring in his eyes, or his promise to defend her with his life?

What are you reading this week? Any new favorites or books that drove you crazy? Share!

What Are You Reading: The Highlander’s Promise


Tagged: , , , ,

Guest Review: The Highlander’s Promise by Lynsay Sands

Posted July 3, 2018 by Tracy in Reviews | 3 Comments

Guest Review: The Highlander’s Promise by Lynsay SandsReviewer: Tracy
The Highlander's Promise (Highlanders Series #6) by Lynsay Sands
Series: Highlanders Series #6
Also in this series: An English Bride In Scotland, An English Bride In Scotland (Highlanders, #1), An English Bride In Scotland (Highlanders, #1), Surrender to the Highlander, Spell of the Highlander (Highlanders #7)
Publisher: Avon
Publication Date: June 26, 2018
Format: eARC
Point-of-View: Third
Genres: Historical Romance
Pages: 384
Add It: Goodreads
Amazon | Barnes & Noble | The Ripped Bodice | Google Play Books
four-stars
Series Rating: four-stars

Aulay Buchanan has retreated to his clan’s hunting lodge for a few days of relaxation. But the raven-haired beauty he pulls from the ocean puts an end to any chance of rest. Though he christens her Jetta, she knows nothing of her real identity, save that someone is trying to kill her. As she recovers, it will not be easy for Aulay to protect her and keep her honor intact when she mistakenly believes they are man and wife.

Jetta sees beyond Aulay’s scars to the brave, loyal warrior she’s proud to call her own. But as the attempts on her life grow more brazen, Jetta realizes that not all is as she believes. And if Aulay is not her husband, can she trust the desire flaring in his eyes, or his promise to defend her with his life?

Aulay Buchanan was wounded in battle and his face severely scarred – the same battle that killed his twin brother.  Aulay’s betrothed at the time screamed in horror after looking at him and his facial scar and refused to marry him.  It’s been years since then, but Aulay is still effected by the thought of his ex-betrothed and the averted eyes he sees in his own keep from the female servants.

Aulay goes away for a couple of weeks each year to his hunting lodge because his mood gets black around the time his brother died.  This year his brother Alick goes with him, despite his wishes, and they go out fishing in the ocean.  They quickly come across a mast from a ship and there’s actually a woman tied to it!  She’s alive and they take her back and try to heal her with help from others.  She’s out for about three weeks but when she awakens she doesn’t know who she is.  She sees Aulay beside her bed and when she asks if he’s her brother, he tells her no.  She surmises that the only other people who would be in her room would be a father and a husband and since he was too young to be her father, he was her husband!  Aulay’s brother, Rory tells Aulay that it’s better for him to let her think that she’s married to him as it will ease her mind.

When Jetta (the name they give the mysterious woman because she has jet black hair) had awoken when first found she mentioned that someone was trying to kill her.  Because of this Aulay makes it his duty to protect her, but when she doesn’t cringe from him and tells him how handsome he is, Aulay starts falling hard and fast for the unknown woman.

We read about Aulay in the previous books with the Buchanan’s and my heart always went out to him because of his scar and his feelings about the way he looked.  It had to be hard on him, but the scar had improved over the years and by the time Jetta “meets” him, it’s much improved. She looks beyond the scar to the man inside and she likes what she sees.  I loved that Sands paired Aulay with a woman who didn’t just put up with his scar but found the beauty in him as well.  I had no doubt that’s what she’d do, but she did it in a really great way and I found myself liking Jetta’s a lot.

The romance was good and the small suspense plot had me guessing, which was good.  I enjoyed getting to meet all the Buchanans again and seeing what they were up to.

Overall this was a great book and one I really enjoyed reading.

Rating: 4 out of 5

Highlanders

four-stars


Tagged: , , , , , , ,

Guest Review: Twice Bitten by Lynsay Sands

Posted March 28, 2018 by Tracy in Reviews | 0 Comments

Guest Review: Twice Bitten by Lynsay SandsReviewer: Tracy
Twice Bitten by Lynsay Sands
Series: Argeneau #27
Also in this series: Immortal Ever After (Argeneau #18), Runaway Vampire, Immortal Nights, Immortal Unchained, The Trouble With Vampires
Publisher: Avon
Publication Date: March 27th 2018
Format: eARC
Genres: Paranormal Romance
Pages: 384
Add It: Goodreads
Amazon | Barnes & Noble | The Ripped Bodice | Google Play Books
four-stars
Series Rating: four-stars

For someone who’s been around for over a hundred and forty years, immortal Elspeth Argeneau hasn’t done a whole lot of living. Now that she’s moved away from her controlling mother, she’s tracking down rogue vampires and enjoying some overdue freedom. A fling would be fun. A life mate can wait. Yet to Elspeth’s surprise, her landlady’s hot grandson checks both boxes.

Wyatt fell instantly in love with Elspeth four years ago. He’s stunned to run into her again, especially as she has no memory of him. Then again, there are a lot of things about Elspeth that don’t make sense, like the miraculous speed with which her wounds heal. And the chemistry that transforms every touch into an explosion of desire. But with mysterious “accidents” besieging Elspeth, the ex-Special Forces soldier appoints himself her bodyguard. But time is running out to uncover the truth about her enemies—and rediscover the man determined to love her for eternity.

Elspeth moved to Canada from England six weeks ago and she’s loving it.  Her mother is a control freak and she hardly let her daughters out of her site.  When Ellie comes home one day and her two younger sisters and her mother are there she’s ready to bail.

Unfortunately she has responsibilities but she can’t take care of them or herself because her mother is constantly taking control of her and making her do what she wants!  When she tries to make her break the Immortal law by drinking from the neck of a human, Ellie gets out of there as fast as she can. Unfortunately for her she’s then pushed off of a sidewalk and gets pretty beat up after being run over by a car.  That’s when Wyatt, her life mate, learns about Immortals.  Now Wyatt and a whole host of people are trying to protect Ellie from the person who is trying to kill them as well as her mother who will really stop at nothing to get her daughter back to England permanently.

In some ways this was a typical Argeneau series book in that the heroine is in danger and the life mate comes along and tries to protect her.  On the other hand there was the issue of Elspeth’s mother and her control issues that really put a different spin on everything.

When Mom has control issues to the point where she’s actually forcing her daughters to do things they don’t want to do, and they can’t fight back, it’s bad.  Ellie finally figured out that pain would be able to cloud her head so much that her mother couldn’t control her so she ended up stabbing herself quite a bit throughout the story which took a bit of getting used to. Lol I was happy when all of that was worked out in the end.

The romance with Wyatt wasn’t necessarily a romance but it was good.  There was actually an extenuating circumstance to their meeting (that I won’t tell you about) that made things interesting.  I admired Wyatt for his fortitude in the light of everything that was happening, and how his life was changing by being a life mate of an Immortal.  He was a good guy who had a good heart and I thought him and Elspeth were perfect for each other.

Argeneau Series

Rating: 4 out of 5

four-stars


Tagged: , , , , , , ,