Author: Lynsay Sands

What Are You Reading? (+ Lynsay Sands Giveaway)

Posted August 3, 2018 by Rowena in Giveaways, Reviews | 9 Comments

WAYR-New

Casee: I am currently reading Dark Sentinel by Christine Feehan. This book is different from the others in this series in good ways and not-so-good ways. I always wonder if it’s just going to be the same old thing since this is something like the 147th book in this series, but I’m usually surprised. I have some really good books waiting in the wings. I hope to finish Dark Sentinel tonight so I can move on.

Holly: I finished my reread of the Hidden Legacy series by Ilona Andrews with White Hot and Wildfire. I finally got to read The Kiss Quotient, which was wonderful. Rowena was right. That book was so freaking good. Then I read Wild Like the Wind by Kristen Ashley. I enjoyed the romance, but the rest of the story was meh. I’m pretty much over the overreaching story arc from the last 5 books. I listened to Duke Most Wanted by Celeste Bradley. I really liked it. There was a plot twist at the end I did not see coming. For those of you who know me, that’s a huge thing. I always figure it out.

I’m not sure what I’m going to read next. I’ll be honest, I’m putting off reading the next two books in the Summer Reading Challenge. I might suck it up and try one, but neither sounds very good to me. Sigh.

Rowena: I finally finished A Duke by Default by Alyssa Cole and it was such an enjoyable romance that I am pretty anxious for the next book in the series, Johan’s book. I also want to go back and read Ledi & Thabiso’s book because they were adorable in this one. Portia and Tav were the bomb! After I finished that book, I started my second Summer Reading Challenge book, Midnight Rainbow by Linda Howard. I’m still reading that (so far, so good) but I plan to finish that today so I’ll be jumping into The Other Side of Lost by Jessi Kirby next.

Giveaway Alert

We are very fortunate here at Book Binge. We have loads and loads of books to read and we want to share the wealth so each week, we’ll be tacking on a Freebie Friday giveaway to our What Are You Reading posts. This week, we’re giving away…

What Are You Reading? (+ Lynsay Sands Giveaway)The Highlander's Promise (Highland Brides #6) by Lynsay Sands
Series: Highland Brides #6
Also in this series: His Bonnie Bride, Highland Wedding
Published by Avon
Publication Date: June 26, 2018
Point-of-View: Third
Genres: Historical Romance
Pages: 384
Amazon | Barnes & Noble | The Ripped Bodice | Google Play Books
Goodreads

In a spellbinding new Highlands story from New York Times bestselling author Lynsay Sands, the laird of the Buchanans finds the one woman who is his equal in passion and courage...

Aulay Buchanan has retreated to his clan’s hunting lodge for a few days of relaxation. But the raven-haired beauty he pulls from the ocean puts an end to any chance of rest. Though he christens her Jetta, she knows nothing of her real identity, save that someone is trying to kill her. As she recovers, it will not be easy for Aulay to protect her and keep her honor intact when she mistakenly believes they are man and wife.

Jetta sees beyond Aulay’s scars to the brave, loyal warrior she’s proud to call her own. But as the attempts on her life grow more brazen, Jetta realizes that not all is as she believes. And if Aulay is not her husband, can she trust the desire flaring in his eyes, or his promise to defend her with his life?

What are you reading this week? Any new favorites or books that drove you crazy? Share!

What Are You Reading: The Highlander’s Promise


Tagged: , , , ,

Guest Review: The Highlander’s Promise by Lynsay Sands

Posted July 3, 2018 by Tracy in Reviews | 3 Comments

Guest Review: The Highlander’s Promise by Lynsay SandsReviewer: Tracy
The Highlander's Promise (Highlanders Series #6) by Lynsay Sands
Series: Highlanders Series #6
Also in this series: An English Bride In Scotland, An English Bride In Scotland (Highlanders, #1), The Highlander Takes a Bride, Falling for the Highlander, An English Bride In Scotland (Highlanders, #1), Surrender to the Highlander, Spell of the Highlander (Highlanders #7)
Published by Avon
Publication Date: June 26, 2018
Point-of-View: Third
Genres: Historical Romance
Pages: 384
Amazon | Barnes & Noble | The Ripped Bodice | Google Play Books
Goodreads
four-stars

Aulay Buchanan has retreated to his clan’s hunting lodge for a few days of relaxation. But the raven-haired beauty he pulls from the ocean puts an end to any chance of rest. Though he christens her Jetta, she knows nothing of her real identity, save that someone is trying to kill her. As she recovers, it will not be easy for Aulay to protect her and keep her honor intact when she mistakenly believes they are man and wife.

Jetta sees beyond Aulay’s scars to the brave, loyal warrior she’s proud to call her own. But as the attempts on her life grow more brazen, Jetta realizes that not all is as she believes. And if Aulay is not her husband, can she trust the desire flaring in his eyes, or his promise to defend her with his life?

Aulay Buchanan was wounded in battle and his face severely scarred – the same battle that killed his twin brother.  Aulay’s betrothed at the time screamed in horror after looking at him and his facial scar and refused to marry him.  It’s been years since then, but Aulay is still effected by the thought of his ex-betrothed and the averted eyes he sees in his own keep from the female servants.

Aulay goes away for a couple of weeks each year to his hunting lodge because his mood gets black around the time his brother died.  This year his brother Alick goes with him, despite his wishes, and they go out fishing in the ocean.  They quickly come across a mast from a ship and there’s actually a woman tied to it!  She’s alive and they take her back and try to heal her with help from others.  She’s out for about three weeks but when she awakens she doesn’t know who she is.  She sees Aulay beside her bed and when she asks if he’s her brother, he tells her no.  She surmises that the only other people who would be in her room would be a father and a husband and since he was too young to be her father, he was her husband!  Aulay’s brother, Rory tells Aulay that it’s better for him to let her think that she’s married to him as it will ease her mind.

When Jetta (the name they give the mysterious woman because she has jet black hair) had awoken when first found she mentioned that someone was trying to kill her.  Because of this Aulay makes it his duty to protect her, but when she doesn’t cringe from him and tells him how handsome he is, Aulay starts falling hard and fast for the unknown woman.

We read about Aulay in the previous books with the Buchanan’s and my heart always went out to him because of his scar and his feelings about the way he looked.  It had to be hard on him, but the scar had improved over the years and by the time Jetta “meets” him, it’s much improved. She looks beyond the scar to the man inside and she likes what she sees.  I loved that Sands paired Aulay with a woman who didn’t just put up with his scar but found the beauty in him as well.  I had no doubt that’s what she’d do, but she did it in a really great way and I found myself liking Jetta’s a lot.

The romance was good and the small suspense plot had me guessing, which was good.  I enjoyed getting to meet all the Buchanans again and seeing what they were up to.

Overall this was a great book and one I really enjoyed reading.

Rating: 4 out of 5

Highlanders

four-stars


Tagged: , , , , , , ,

Guest Review: Twice Bitten by Lynsay Sands

Posted March 28, 2018 by Tracy in Reviews | 0 Comments

Guest Review: Twice Bitten by Lynsay SandsReviewer: Tracy
Twice Bitten by Lynsay Sands
Series: Argeneau #27
Also in this series: Immortal Ever After (Argeneau #18), Runaway Vampire, Immortal Nights, Immortal Unchained
Published by Avon
Publication Date: March 27th 2018
Genres: Paranormal Romance
Pages: 384
Amazon | Barnes & Noble | The Ripped Bodice | Google Play Books
Goodreads
four-stars

For someone who’s been around for over a hundred and forty years, immortal Elspeth Argeneau hasn’t done a whole lot of living. Now that she’s moved away from her controlling mother, she’s tracking down rogue vampires and enjoying some overdue freedom. A fling would be fun. A life mate can wait. Yet to Elspeth’s surprise, her landlady’s hot grandson checks both boxes.

Wyatt fell instantly in love with Elspeth four years ago. He’s stunned to run into her again, especially as she has no memory of him. Then again, there are a lot of things about Elspeth that don’t make sense, like the miraculous speed with which her wounds heal. And the chemistry that transforms every touch into an explosion of desire. But with mysterious “accidents” besieging Elspeth, the ex-Special Forces soldier appoints himself her bodyguard. But time is running out to uncover the truth about her enemies—and rediscover the man determined to love her for eternity.

Elspeth moved to Canada from England six weeks ago and she’s loving it.  Her mother is a control freak and she hardly let her daughters out of her site.  When Ellie comes home one day and her two younger sisters and her mother are there she’s ready to bail.

Unfortunately she has responsibilities but she can’t take care of them or herself because her mother is constantly taking control of her and making her do what she wants!  When she tries to make her break the Immortal law by drinking from the neck of a human, Ellie gets out of there as fast as she can. Unfortunately for her she’s then pushed off of a sidewalk and gets pretty beat up after being run over by a car.  That’s when Wyatt, her life mate, learns about Immortals.  Now Wyatt and a whole host of people are trying to protect Ellie from the person who is trying to kill them as well as her mother who will really stop at nothing to get her daughter back to England permanently.

In some ways this was a typical Argeneau series book in that the heroine is in danger and the life mate comes along and tries to protect her.  On the other hand there was the issue of Elspeth’s mother and her control issues that really put a different spin on everything.

When Mom has control issues to the point where she’s actually forcing her daughters to do things they don’t want to do, and they can’t fight back, it’s bad.  Ellie finally figured out that pain would be able to cloud her head so much that her mother couldn’t control her so she ended up stabbing herself quite a bit throughout the story which took a bit of getting used to. Lol I was happy when all of that was worked out in the end.

The romance with Wyatt wasn’t necessarily a romance but it was good.  There was actually an extenuating circumstance to their meeting (that I won’t tell you about) that made things interesting.  I admired Wyatt for his fortitude in the light of everything that was happening, and how his life was changing by being a life mate of an Immortal.  He was a good guy who had a good heart and I thought him and Elspeth were perfect for each other.

Argeneau Series

Rating: 4 out of 5

four-stars


Tagged: , , , , , , ,

Guest Review: Surrender to the Highlander by Lynsay Sands

Posted March 9, 2018 by Tracy in Reviews | 0 Comments

Guest Review: Surrender to the Highlander by Lynsay SandsReviewer: Tracy
Surrender to the Highlander by Lynsay Sands
Published by Avon
Publication Date: January 30th 2018
Genres: Historical Romance
Pages: 384
Amazon | Barnes & Noble | The Ripped Bodice | Google Play Books
Goodreads
four-stars

Edith Drummond owes her life to Niels Buchanan and his brothers. Waking after an illness to a castle overrun by rugged Highlanders is disconcerting, but so is learning that she’s slowly being poisoned. Niels insists on staying by her side, and Edith soon discovers that even more dangerous is her wild attraction to the fierce warrior.

Niels has never met a more courageous—or enticing—woman than Lady Edith. The idea of such a bonny lass being forced to enter a nunnery is more than any red-blooded Scotsman could bear. He’ll gladly marry her himself. But while sweeping her off her feet is easy, it’ll take all his skill to defeat her family’s relentless enemies, and convince her to surrender to his sweet embrace.

Neils Buchanan and his brothers are sent to check on Edith Drummond.  Their sister Saidh had sent several messages to her good friend Edith and hasn’t received word in return, which is not like Edith.  When the brothers arrive, they have a tough time gaining entry into the estate but when they hear that Edith is on her deathbed they manage to get in.  It appears that Edith’s father and two brothers have already died and Edith has been sick for weeks, just hanging on by a thread.  Rory Buchanan, a healer, diagnoses poison and treats accordingly. Soon Edith takes a turn for the better.

The brothers and Edith come to realize that her family has been targeted and they set about trying to figure out who the murderer is, which isn’t easy.  While they investigate, Neils protects Edith.  She believes her brother Brody, who is now Laird, and his wife will send her to a nunnery as soon as he gets back (he thought the castle had a catching illness so he left to avoid it) but after almost acting on their lust for each other, Neils asks Edith to marry him.  They liked each other but never thought they’d fall in love, especially when their fighting for Edith’s life.

This was another great book in the Highlanders series by Sands.  I’ve really enjoyed all of the books so far and this was no different.  I loved both Edith and Neils and thought they were perfect together.

Edith was an amazing woman.  She had been through hell with the deaths in her family and had almost died herself but in the end was looking out for everyone else, not herself.  She was kind, giving, thoughtful, smart.  I just loved her!  Neils was a good man as well and I loved how up front he was with Edith when he proposed.  He told her what he admired about her but admitted he didn’t love her.  That sounds harsh but I was happy to hear that he didn’t try to trick her in any way.  He was just as thoughtful as Edith and I loved watching these two fall in love.

The mystery part of the series was a good one.  I didn’t figure out “who-dun-it” until right before the characters started figuring things out.  Sands did a great job of making us think it was others and I loved that.

Overall a great book and I’m looking forward to reading the next in the series, which will be Neils’ brother Auley’s book.

Rating: 4 out of 5

four-stars


Tagged: , , , , , , ,

Review: An English Bride in Scotland by Lynsay Sands

Posted January 17, 2018 by Rowena in Reviews | 2 Comments

Review: An English Bride in Scotland by Lynsay SandsReviewer: Rowena
An English Bride In Scotland (Highlanders, #1) by Lynsay Sands
Series: Highlanders Series #1
Also in this series: An English Bride In Scotland (Highlanders, #1), The Highlander's Promise (Highlanders Series #6)
Published by Harper Collins, Avon
Publication Date: June 25th 2013
Genres: Historical Romance
Pages: 384
Amazon | Barnes & Noble | The Ripped Bodice | Google Play Books
Goodreads
four-stars

The first in a new historical series set in the Highlands of Scotland, from Lynsay Sands, the New York Times bestselling author of the Argeneau vampire series and countless historical romances.

Annabel was about to take the veil to become a nun when her mother suddenly arrives at the Abbey to take her home… so that she can marry the Scottish laird who is betrothed to her runaway sister! She knows nothing about being a wife, nothing about how to run a household, and definitely nothing about the marriage bed!

But from the moment Ross MacKay sets eyes on Annabel, he is taken with his shy sweet bride… and the fact that she's blessed with lush curves only makes him utter his own prayers of thanks. But when an enemy endangers her life, he'll move the Highlands themselves to save her. For though Annabel's not the bride he planned for, she's the only woman he desires…

An English Bride in Scotland is my first book by Lynsay Sands and I’m happy to report that it was an enjoyable romance with charming characters and a sweet romance between the hero and heroine. This book has an old school Julie Garwood feel to it and that was enough for me to enjoy the heck out of it.

Ross MacKay is in England to collect his bride, an engagement that his father brought about after his intended’s father saved his father’s life. He’s there to honor the promise that his father made, no matter how he feels about it.

Annabel was raised in an abbey and was just about to take her vows to become a nun when her mother rushes to the abbey to whisk Annabel away to keep a promise for her father. She’s to marry a Scotsman in her sister’s place since her sister ran away with the stableman’s son. To say that everything happened so fast, is putting it mildly since Annabel damn near got whiplash from the whirlwind that became her life once her mother came back into it.

It took only one look at Annabel for Ross to be certain that he wanted Annabel for a wife and I really loved seeing him fall head over heels in love with her. Annabel was such a sweet heroine, easy to love that it didn’t take me long at all to fall in love with her myself.

The story follows Ross as he tries to figure out who is trying to harm his wife. On their journey from England back to his home in Scotland, they have been set upon by a mysterious man who seems hellbent on something but nobody knows what. Ross and Annabel are newlyweds and they’re learning each other and Annabel is learning to live in a new place and there’s a lot here to keep the reader interested and I thought Lynsay Sands did a great job of bringing the story together.

I can’t say that this was my absolute favorite book ever but it was a sweet story that I enjoyed and I enjoyed it enough that I want to continue this series in 2018 so I just might do that. Annabel’s sister was awful and she just kept right on being awful with each passing page so that was a bummer because every time she called Annabel “Belly”, I wanted to punch her in the face. I thought the mystery surrounding the stranger that kept popping up around Annabel was pretty weak since I figured it out not very long into the story but even still, the book was fun and the romance was sweet so I didn’t mind much.

Grade: 3.75 out of 5

Highlanders Series

four-stars


Tagged: , , , , , ,