Author: Lucy Monroe

Lightning Review: The Billionaire’s Pregnant Mistress by Lucy Monroe

Posted January 5, 2018 by Holly in Reviews | 0 Comments

Lightning Review: The Billionaire’s Pregnant Mistress by Lucy MonroeReviewer: Holly
The Billionaire's Pregnant Mistress (Petronides Brothers Duo #1; Greek Tycoons #4) by Lucy Monroe
Series: Petronides Brothers Duo #1, Greek Tycoons #4
Also in this series: The Markonos Bride
Published by Harlequin Books
Publication Date: December 2004
Genres: Contemporary Romance
Pages: 184
Buy on Amazon | Barnes & Noble
Goodreads
three-half-stars

When Greek billionaire Dimitri Petronides is forced to give up Xandra Fortune, his beautiful mistress, he's certain she won't be too distraught. For all the intense passion they've shared she's never let him into her heart, and such a commitment-shy woman could never be his wife...

But after their split, Dimitri discovers that Xandra Fortune is not who he thought she was - and she is also pregnant with his child. Now he has to track her down and claim his mistress as his wife!

*Disclaimer: This review was written ages ago. I was doing some routine maintenance and found it hidden in a folder. I don’t know how I’d feel if I read this book now.

Dimitri was an awesome hero. Seemingly cold and unfeeling, he had the perfect constitution for a tortured hero..which he was. Though I was EXTREMELY angry at him for his mistreatment of the heroine early in the book, LM is wonderful at turning characters around and making me love them…despite their idiotic actions.

I loved that Xandra didn’t just fall at his feet, either. She really stuck to her guns and refused to be cowed by him. I love that in a heroine.

Overall it was a great read. I liked the interaction between the h/h and I loved watching the story play out. I love it when a story gets me tied up emotionally, as this one did.

Petronides Brothers Duo

3.75 out of 5

three-half-stars


Tagged: , , , , , , , ,

Review: Touch Me by Lucy Monroe

Posted December 22, 2017 by Holly in Reviews | 2 Comments

Review: Touch Me by Lucy MonroeReviewer: Holly
Touch Me (Langley Family Trilogy, #1) by Lucy Monroe
Series: Langley Family Trilogy #1
Published by Berkley Sensation
Publication Date: September 6th 2005
Genres: Historical Romance
Pages: 317
Buy on Amazon | Barnes & Noble
Goodreads
four-stars

Outspoken, opinionated Thea Selwyn is no ordinary lady. Raised in the exotic West Indies, she has none of the starchy propriety Pierson Drake is accustomed to—rather, there is a lush sensuality about this impulsive beauty that tempts him unmercifully. Her delectable curves and wide, innocent eyes are enticing enough, but her breathless response to his touch is a lure he can't resist.

On a voyage that takes them from a tropical paradise to the glittering ballrooms of London, Thea and Drake are pulled into a firestorm of illicit passion. Thea knows that once they reach England, the secrets she's been keeping will kill whatever Drake feels for her. But Drake's own history has taught him the value of acceptance and the desolation of loss. Thea is the one woman Drake has ever trusted with his heart, and he ha no intention of losing her—not to the ghosts of the past or the threats of the present. But can he convince Thea to forget the hard lessons she's learned and take a chance on love?

Together, Thea Selwyn and Pierson Drake embark on an extraordinary voyage from a tropical paradise to the glittering ballrooms of London. But will Thea’s dark secrets destroy their illicit passion?

In 1797 England, angry aristocrat Geoffrey Selwyn believes his wife was unfaithful to him, though she swears she was not. When Anna gives birth to a boy, Geoffrey immediatly takes the baby away with him, determined to keep her away from her son. Heartbroken, Anna gives birth a few minutes later to a twin a girl she names Althea.

Anna makes several attempts to see her small son and keep her daughters presence a secret from her heartless husband, but, after almost being caught with her daughter, flees to the exotic West Indies to raise her daughter alone. And pine for her missing son.

Twenty-three years later, Thea is a partner in Merewether Shipping with her Uncle Ashby, a sweet man who helped Anna when she first arrived on the Island. Though her mother died ten years before, Thea is still haunted by her mother’s continued heartbreak over her missing son and the promises she made to Anna on her deathbed.

Pierson Drake arrives on the Island in desperate need of a blacksmith to fix his steam engine, so that he can sail back to England in a timely manner and ensure his investors make a return on the money they invested on his behalf. He ignores Thea at first, refusing to deal with a “mere” woman regarding matters of business. He finally realizes it is she, not her Uncle, that can help him and she agrees, under the condition that he takes her to London with him, so she can investigate some discrepancies in the books from their London office. He is blackmailed into agreeing.

On the voyage, tempers ingnite, wills clash and a fierce attraction develops between the two. Though Pierson wants to marry Thea, she refuses, afraid of loving a man and ending up in the same position as her mother.

I generally dislike a stubborn heroine, because so many times she tends to be stupid as well as mule-headed. I’m happy to report, however, that Thea Selwyn didn’t fall fall into this category. She was perhaps a bit too obsessed with staying unwed, but Monroe did an awesome job of explaining her reasons.

Pierson Drake is hot, tortured and a total Alpha-Male…my favorite combination. He has his own issues – illigetimate birth – but he doesn’t let that stop him from making Thea his.

As with all of Lucy Monroe’s books, I was touched, angered and in love by the time I finished reading it.

4 out of 5

Langley Family Series

four-stars


Tagged: , , , , , ,

Lightning Review: Willing by Lucy Monroe

Posted March 17, 2016 by Holly in Reviews | 0 Comments

Lightning Review: Willing by Lucy MonroeReviewer: Holly
Willing by Lucy Monroe
Series: Mercenary Trilogy #2
Also in this series: And Able
Published by Kensington Publishing Corp.
Publication Date: August 1st 2008
Genres: Fiction
Pages: 320
Buy on Amazon | Barnes & Noble
Goodreads
three-stars

Meet three sexy men who individually are Ready, Willing, and Able to go the distance--and together, are unstoppable. . .
Josie McCall left her dad's mercenary school for a normal job in computers. But now that someone has torched the school and her dad is MIA, Josie's going to use every bit of her training to hunt down the culprits who took him. Josie knows a lot about explosives, hand-to-hand combat, and tracking. What she doesn't know about is sex. She has no idea what to do with the volcanic attraction she feels for her dad's new partner, Daniel Black Eagle. And that feels more dangerous than any bomb. . .
Daniel knows exactly what he'd like to do about that attraction. He can't get within five feet of Josie without wanting to touch, taste, and protect her. But right now he's got his hands full figuring out who set that bomb and took Josie's dad. Daniel's sure of one thing, though--he's not letting Josie McCall out of his sight for a single second. . .

Willing is the second book in Lucy Monroe’s Mercenary series and I loved it. Willing was hot, steamy, romantic and action packed. Monroe is really good at getting into the technical side of things without boring her readers.

Josie is tough, but still very vulnerable. I loved that she was one of the best trained mercs in the business but still very feminine. My heart went out to her when she was talking about how hard it was to grow up with a father who demanded she be a better soldier than all the rest.

It also broke my heart to hear about Daniel’s past. His upbringing was sad and violent and I just wanted to wrap him up in cotton and keep him safe.

Overall a very enjoyable read.

3.25 out of 5

The series:

Merry Christmas Baby: Silver Bella (anthology)
Three Brides for Three Bad Boys
Ready
Willing
And Able

 

*This review was originally published at Sanctuary’s Finest

three-stars


Tagged: , , , , , , ,

Review: and Able by Lucy Monroe

Posted June 26, 2013 by Holly in Reviews | 1 Comment

Review: and Able by Lucy MonroeReviewer: Holly
And Able by Lucy Monroe
Series: Mercenary Trilogy #3
Also in this series: Willing
Published by Kensington Books
Publication Date: 2006
Genres: Fiction
Pages: 342
Buy on Amazon | Barnes & Noble
Goodreads
four-stars

Claire Sharp suddenly finds herself involved in the fight for her life. She enlists the help of Brett Adams and the attraction is immediate. Claire struggles with her undeniable attraction to Brett though her logic warns her to stay away. Meanwhile, Brett is determined to not only to help Claire but to seduce her into a passion she has never known before.

And Able is the final book in Lucy Monroe’s Mercenary Trilogy.

Brett “Hotwire” Adams is a former merc turned security expert who’s not too keen on the commitment thing, but is very keen on getting into Claire Sharp’s bed. He’s been avoiding her, but when she’s attacked in her home, he’s forced into her company. Which isn’t very good for his self control. Aside from his attraction to her, the protective alpha-male needs her to be safe. Trying to discover who’s after her isn’t easy when he’s always got sex on the brain.

As for Claire, she can’t figure out what an ex-merc with the body of a Greek god wants with her. She understands that they have a love of all things computer in common, but as far as she can tell, that’s the only thing they have in common. She certainly doesn’t understand why he’d be attracted to her. She does know, however, that she trusts him to keep her safe. So when he informs her that he’ll be staying with her until things are resolved, she reluctantly agrees. She’s not sure she can handle being in close proximity to him all the time, but she doesn’t doubt he’ll keep her alive. As the story unfolds, and certain truths come to light, Claire leans on Hotwire more and more, both emotionally and for safety.

I think this was a great end to Monroe’s trilogy. Hotwire was everything I expected him to be: Charming, amazing to look at, an excellent lover and lethal when protecting Claire. I thought he was a bit of a moron for taking so long to realize his true feelings for Claire, but I didn’t begrudge him his thick-headedness. How could I, when he was putting another thick head to use so well? (har har)

Claire was a great heroine, too. One of the things I love best about Monroe’s heroines are how grounded they are. Claire knew she wasn’t qualified to handle the threats to her life alone, so she trusted Hotwire to do it for her. That isn’t to say she just turned a blind eye and didn’t help where she could, but she didn’t rush head first into danger to prove she was tough, either. She kept a level head and did what she could to help, but stood back and let Hotwire handle the things he knew how to handle best.

Their arguments over her being a Pacifist had me snickering. The suspense plot took a backseat to the romance, which worked here.

I found myself irritated with Hotwire several times, like when he refused to see what he really felt for Claire and hid behind a promise he made to a dead woman, but he was redeemed in the end. I just love how once he made a commitment, that was the end of it. There was no going back and forth, wondering if things were right or not. He realized his feelings and that was that.

I was very disappointed that we didn’t hear anything about Wolf’s sister Daisy, or any of the other characters from her Three Brides for Three Bad Boys anthology. I realize that this series was simply a spin off of that one, but I would still have loved to hear about how things were with them.

The series isn’t without its flaws, but I enjoyed it.

4 out of 5

Book Cover Book Cover Book Cover

This book is available from Kensington. You can buy it here or here in e-format.

This review was originally published at Sanctuary’s Finest

four-stars


Tagged: , , , , , , ,

Review: Hired: The Sheikh’s Secretary Mistress by Lucy Monroe

Posted September 26, 2008 by Holly in Reviews | 12 Comments

Review: Hired: The Sheikh’s Secretary Mistress by Lucy MonroeReviewer: Holly
Hired: The Sheikh's Secretary Mistress by Lucy Monroe
Series: Royal Brides #8
Published by Harlequin
Publication Date: August 1st 2008
Genres: Fiction
Pages: 192
Buy on Amazon | Barnes & Noble
Goodreads
three-stars

Sheikh Amir bin Faruq al Zorha lives in New York, but the desert is where his heart lies. Now it's time for him to marry….
Grace Brown, Amir's plain but indispensable assistant, isn't exactly queen material. No matter how tempted Amir is to take her innocence, she's off-limits. Until he returns to his homeland, where the barbarian prince replaces the businessman—and resolves that Grace will be his!

 

I love Harlequin Presents novels and Lucy Monroe is generally my favorite HP author, but unfortunately my inner feminist decided this was the story she was going to stand up and rebel against. The characters were as expected: a somewhat limp heroine and an extremely controlling, alpha male. The story engaging, if a bit predictable. The writing as beautiful as always (I do so love LM’s writing style), but honestly the longer I read, the more frustrated I became. The more I wanted to scream, “Girl, make a stand! Walk away from his highhanded ways and stand on your own two feet. You’re a woman, ACT LIKE IT!” Sadly, she never did stand up and act like a woman, and therefore the story didn’t work for me.

Grace has been Amir’s personal assistant for five years, and during all that time she’s loved him. Amir has recently become attracted to his assistant, but he knows she’s completely innocent and wouldn’t be able to do a light affair. Then Amir’s father demands that he marry and Grace’s heart breaks. Only the wedding never happens, because the princess he was supposed to marry eloped with someone else. Then Amir asks Grace to find a wife for him, which she refuses to do, then agrees because she knows she can choose better than anyone else, because she knows him better than anyone. Of course, she doesn’t include herself because she’s tall and skinny and men don’t like that – not men like Amir, anyway.

I think there were just too many stereotypical things here to work for me.

  • She’s a secretary
  • She’s totally innocent at 25 – hasn’t ever even been kissed
  • She’s in love with her boss
  • He’s attracted to her but refuses to act on the attraction
  • She knows she isn’t good enough for him because she’s tall and skinny with a small chest

I think the worst thing, however, is that Grace totally lived for Amir. She had no life outside of him, no friends, no family close by, nothing. She lived and breathed Amir. That seemed more creepy than anything. For a 25 year old woman to have no one but her boss? The boss she happens to be in love with?

By the end of the story, I wasn’t invested enough in either of them to care one way or the other what happened.

3 out of 5

This book is available from Harlequin Presents. You can buy it here or here in e-format.

three-stars


Tagged: , , , , , , ,