Author: Lorraine Heath

What Are You Reading? (+ Historical Giveaway)

Posted June 15, 2018 by Holly in Features | 12 Comments

WAYR-New

Casee: I haven’t read a word since I finished Ocean Light a few days ago. I am so relieved that I finished that book. Which upsets me because it’s Nalini Singh. I’m heading back to the world of the Dark Protectors. I have Consumed by Rebecca Zanetti waiting for me. I can’t wait to start it.

Holly: I’m still finishing my Kate Daniels re-read. This week I read Magic Rises, Dabwaha, Curran Twitter (free), Magic Steals, Magic Breaks, Magic Shifts, Magic Stars, and I just started Iron and Magic. Magic Binds is up next.

I also read Hot Single Dad and Her Best Friend by Claire Kingsley (Free if you subscribe to her newsletter). Her Best Friend is a short story that follows Hot Single Dad and features the kids of the h/h. I really liked both stories. They were cute.

I’m going to start The Kiss Quotient today. Rowena has been raving about it.

Rowena: It’s been a great reading week for me and I’m still going strong so that makes me one happy camper. I’ve had too many suck reading weeks lately so this is a welcome change. I started the week off finishing up Always Never Yours by Emily Wibberley & Austin Siegemund-Broka. It was a cute story but ran a little on the slow side. It felt like I was waiting too long for something to happen but I’m glad that I finished it because it did end up being cute and I adored the love interest. After that, Holly and I were talking about single dads and looking for books featuring them and came across Hot Single Dad by Claire Kingsley so I read that. It was super cute so after I read that, I read Her Best Friend by Claire Kingsley, which was the kid from Hot Single Dad’s story and that was super cute too.

Right now, I’m reading The Kiss Quotient by Helen Hoang and everything that I’ve read so far online has been true for me too. This book is awesome and I’m so looking forward to lunchtime so that I can finish it. I really want a Michael Phan. He’s so yummy. After this book, I’ll be jumping into a quick re-read of Burn for Me by Ilona Andrews for book club and then after that, I’ll be reading Ocean Light by Nalini Singh.

Giveaway Alert

We are very fortunate here at Book Binge. We have loads and loads of books to read and we want to share the wealth so each week, we’ll be tacking on a Freebie Friday giveaway to our What Are You Reading posts. This week, we’re giving away…

What Are You Reading? (+ Historical Giveaway)Beyond Scandal and Desire (Sins for All Seasons, #1) by Lorraine Heath
Series: Sins for All Seasons #1
Also in this series: Beyond Scandal and Desire, Beyond Scandal and Desire (Sins for All Seasons, #1)
Published by Avon
Publication Date: January 30, 2018
Point-of-View: Third
Genres: Historical Romance
Pages: 384
Amazon | Barnes & Noble | The Ripped Bodice | Google Play Books
Goodreads

At birth, Mick Trewlove, the illegitimate son of a duke, was handed over to a commoner. Despite his lowly upbringing, Mick has become a successful businessman, but all his wealth hasn’t satisfied his need for revenge against the man who still won’t acknowledge him. What else can Mick do but destroy the duke’s legitimate son—and woo the heir’s betrothed into his own unloving arms . . .

Orphaned and sheltered, Lady Aslyn Hastings longs for a bit of adventure. With her intended often preoccupied, Aslyn finds herself drawn to a darkly handsome entrepreneur who seems to understand her so well. Surely a lady of her station should avoid Mick Trewlove. If only he weren’t so irresistible . . .

As secrets are about to be exposed, Mick must decide if his plan for vengeance is worth risking what his heart truly desires.

What Are You Reading: Beyond Scandal and Desire

What are you reading this week? Any new favorites or books that drove you crazy? Share!


Tagged: , , ,

Joint Review: Beyond Scandal and Desire by Lorraine Heath

Posted February 12, 2018 by Rowena in Reviews | 7 Comments

Joint Review: Beyond Scandal and Desire by Lorraine HeathReviewer: Holly & Rowena
Beyond Scandal and Desire (Sins for All Seasons, #1) by Lorraine Heath
Series: Sins for All Seasons #1
Also in this series: Beyond Scandal and Desire
Published by Harper Collins, Avon
Publication Date: January 30th 2018
Genres: Historical Romance
Pages: 384
Amazon | Barnes & Noble | The Ripped Bodice | Google Play Books
Goodreads
four-stars

At birth, Mick Trewlove, the illegitimate son of a duke, was handed over to a commoner. Despite his lowly upbringing, Mick has become a successful businessman, but all his wealth hasn’t satisfied his need for revenge against the man who still won’t acknowledge him. What else can Mick do but destroy the duke’s legitimate son—and woo the heir’s betrothed into his own unloving arms . . .

Orphaned and sheltered, Lady Aslyn Hastings longs for a bit of adventure. With her intended often preoccupied, Aslyn finds herself drawn to a darkly handsome entrepreneur who seems to understand her so well. Surely a lady of her station should avoid Mick Trewlove. If only he weren’t so irresistible . . .

As secrets are about to be exposed, Mick must decide if his plan for vengeance is worth risking what his heart truly desires.

Holly: I haven’t had a lot of reading time lately, but Rowena raved about this book and forced me to read it for this review. I’m glad I picked it up. I really enjoyed it.

What did you think?

Rowena: I really enjoyed this book. From Mick to Aslyn and everyone else, there was much to love. The revenge thing isn’t my favorite but in this book, I thought it was written well. Mick’s reasons, his feelings on the whole thing were understandable and I loved that he fell in love with Lady Aslyn in the process. The baby farming deal added more to the story to reel me in because I haven’t ever really read much about that kind of stuff in historical romances so Lorraine Heath hooked me with just about everything.

Holly: I tend to avoid revenge stories, because all too often the secrets and lies just make me angry. I really liked the way this one played out, though. Maybe because I really liked how Mick came to care for Lady Aslyn in spite of his plans.

Rowena: I really liked the way that the revenge plot was carried out. That whole thing brought a modern family twist to a historical romance that I quite enjoyed. I don’t know that I would have enjoyed it as much in a different kind of historical romance but for this one, I dug it.

Holly: The revenge plot really worked for me. I liked the turn it took and I appreciated the new twist on an old trope.

Rowena: What were your favorite things about this book?

Holly: I really liked Aslyn. She started out kind of timid, but she really came into her own. I like how she stood up for herself and, once she understood exactly what she wanted, refused to settle.

I also really liked how noble Mick was. He took care of his family and wanted to make the world a better place. He had his revenge plans, but he wasn’t just out for himself. He truly wanted to lift people up.

Rowena: I really liked that about Mick too. He cared about those that were left behind. The ones that couldn’t protect themselves, he stepped up and protected them. Took care of them and the loyalty he had from everyone around him was nice to witness.

Are you interested in reading Gillie’s (one of Mick’s sisters) book?

Holly: I’m not sure about Gillie. I didn’t really connect with her in this book, but we didn’t spend a lot of time with her, either. I am curious to see how her tomboy self does with a Duke as a suitor.

What did you think of Kip (Aslyn’s intended)? I wish we’d seen more about his struggle to recover. Maybe we’ll get a book for him later and that’s why we did, ‘t, but honestly that part of the book felt unfinished.

Rowena: I think the series will follow each of Mick’s siblings and Kip is going to be Fancy’s hero.

Holly: I think Kip will be Fancy’s (another of Mick’s sisters) hero, as well.

Rowena: Same. All around, this book just worked for me. From the romance to the characters to Mick’s family life and the background stories. There wasn’t anything that I wasn’t interested in. All in all, this was a solid romance and I can’t wait for Gillie’s book. I’m interested in seeing how a Duke falls in love with a female bar owner. I’m mighty curious about that.

I give this book a 4.25 out of 5, what about you?

Holly: I enjoyed the story. There were some questions left unanswered, but I’m sure they’ll be cleared up in time. I really liked the overall plot, the characters and the romance. I’ll definitely be reading more from this author in the future.

I, too, give it 4.25 out of 5.

Final Grades

Holly: 4.25 out of 5
Rowena: 4.25 out of 5

four-stars


Tagged: , , , , , , , ,

Sunday Spotlight: Beyond Scandal and Desire by Lorraine Heath

Posted February 11, 2018 by Rowena in Features, Giveaways | 11 Comments

Sunday Spotlight is a feature we began in 2016. This year we’re spotlighting our favorite books, old and new. We’ll be raving about the books we love and being total fangirls. You’ve been warned. 🙂

Sunday Spotlight

Lorraine Heath is a favorite historical romance author of mine so every time that she’s got a release coming out, I’m excited. So many of her books have made me cry or rejoice. They’ve made me feel something and this latest release is no different. Beyond Scandal and Desire tells the story of Mick Trewlove and Lady Aslyn Hastings and it’s a story that will stay with you long after you’ve finished the book.

Sunday Spotlight: Beyond Scandal and Desire by Lorraine HeathBeyond Scandal and Desire (Sins for All Seasons, #1) by Lorraine Heath
Series: Sins for All Seasons #1
Also in this series: Beyond Scandal and Desire, Beyond Scandal and Desire (Sins for All Seasons, #1)
Published by Harper Collins, Avon
Publication Date: January 30th 2018
Genres: Historical Romance
Pages: 384
Amazon | Barnes & Noble | The Ripped Bodice | Google Play Books
Goodreads

At birth, Mick Trewlove, the illegitimate son of a duke, was handed over to a commoner. Despite his lowly upbringing, Mick has become a successful businessman, but all his wealth hasn’t satisfied his need for revenge against the man who still won’t acknowledge him. What else can Mick do but destroy the duke’s legitimate son—and woo the heir’s betrothed into his own unloving arms . . .

Orphaned and sheltered, Lady Aslyn Hastings longs for a bit of adventure. With her intended often preoccupied, Aslyn finds herself drawn to a darkly handsome entrepreneur who seems to understand her so well. Surely a lady of her station should avoid Mick Trewlove. If only he weren’t so irresistible . . .

As secrets are about to be exposed, Mick must decide if his plan for vengeance is worth risking what his heart truly desires.

Holly and I are reviewing this book together so you’ll be reading that on the blog soon but you should know that we both…loved it.

Order the Book:

AMAZON || BARNES AND NOBLE || KOBO

Excerpt

“Sometimes I yearn to rebel against proper behavior . . .”

“Why don’t you?” Mick asked.

“Scandal would serve me no good. Lord Kipwick would be disappointed in me.”

“Why is he not here?”

“The park bores him.”

“I would suffer through any dull activity to be at the side of a woman who interests me.”

That blush again, accompanied by a fluttering of her eyelashes that he suspected had nothing at all to do with flirtation.

“Is there not some part of you, some deep dark part of you, that longs for scandal?” Mick asked, watching in fascination as she swallowed.

Giveaway Alert

We’re giving one lucky winner their choice of one of our Sunday Spotlight books. Use the Rafflecopter widget below to enter for one of this month’s features.

a Rafflecopter giveaway

Are you as excited for this release as we are? Let us know how excited you are and what other books you’re looking forward to this year!

About the Author

Lorraine Heath

WEBSITE | TWITTER | FACEBOOK | INSTAGRAM | GOODREADS

Lorraine Heath has always had a soft spot for emotional love stories. No doubt because growing up, watching movies with her mom, she was taught that the best movies “won’t half make you cry.”

She is the daughter of a British beauty (her mom won second place in a beauty contest sponsored by Max Factor® during which she received a kiss from Caesar Romero–Joker on the original Batman TV series) and a Texan who was stationed at Bovingdon while serving in the air force. Lorraine was born in Watford, Hertfordshire, England, but soon after moved to Texas. Her “dual” nationality has given her a love for all things British and Texan, and she enjoys weaving both heritages through her stories.

When she received her BA degree in psychology from the University of Texas, she had no idea she had gained a foundation that would help her to create believable characters—characters that are often described as “real people.” Her novels have appeared on bestseller lists, including USA Today, Waldenbooks, and most recently, the New York Times.


Tagged: , , ,

Guest Review: Beyond Scandal and Desire by Lorraine Heath

Posted January 25, 2018 by Tracy in Reviews | 0 Comments

Guest Review: Beyond Scandal and Desire by Lorraine HeathReviewer: Tracy
Beyond Scandal and Desire by Lorraine Heath
Series: Sins for All Seasons #1
Also in this series: Beyond Scandal and Desire (Sins for All Seasons, #1)
Published by Avon
Publication Date: January 30th 2018
Genres: Historical Romance
Pages: 384
Amazon | Barnes & Noble | The Ripped Bodice | Google Play Books
Goodreads
five-stars

At birth, Mick Trewlove, the illegitimate son of a duke, was handed over to a commoner. Despite his lowly upbringing, Mick has become a successful businessman, but all his wealth hasn’t satisfied his need for revenge against the man who still won’t acknowledge him. What else can Mick do but destroy the duke’s legitimate son—and woo the heir’s betrothed into his own unloving arms . . .

Orphaned and sheltered, Lady Aslyn Hastings longs for a bit of adventure. With her intended often preoccupied, Aslyn finds herself drawn to a darkly handsome entrepreneur who seems to understand her so well. Surely a lady of her station should avoid Mick Trewlove. If only he weren’t so irresistible . . .

As secrets are about to be exposed, Mick must decide if his plan for vengeance is worth risking what his heart truly desires.

Mick, the bastard son of a duke, has made a name for himself.  He’s gone from living in complete poverty to owning large amounts of land in London and has become a successful businessman.  Now that he’s financially set he’s asked his father to acknowledge his birth.  The duke has ignored him. This, of course, pissed Mick off and he’s decided to take matters into his own hands.  He plans on ruining his half-brother, the heir-apparent to the dukedom.  Once he has the heir, Kip, on the brink of ruin he’ll get the duke to acknowledge him in order to save his son.

Aslyn’s parents died and she grew up as the Duke of Hedley’s ward. It had always been assumed that Aslyn and Kip, Hedley’s son, would marry, though Kip hadn’t asked her yet.  Aslyn wants more adventure in her life but she’s been kept sheltered for much of it.  The duchess rarely left the house and was afraid to let Aslyn leave.  When she meets Mick Trewlove she’s fascinated by him and wants to spend more time with him.

Mick plans on using Aslyn to further his plans as well.  He plans on seducing her but once he get to know her he realizes that he doesn’t want to use her for his plan.  He wants her for himself – forever.

This book was…awesome!  I loved almost every moment of the story and Heath’s writing just didn’t let down.  She kept me engaged and I found myself turning pages faster and faster.

Once Mick falls for Aslyn he knows that they can never be together.  He’s illegitimate and she’s sheltered.  He’s in trade and she’s the daughter of an Earl.  He also knows that once she finds out about his plans she’ll drop him like a hot potato.  He’s not stupid but he did make changes in his plans eventually and I loved that about him.  He realized that nothing was more important than Aslyn’s feelings about him and changed everything.  It was a pretty poignant moment in the book.

I didn’t particularly care for Kip, although he play a pretty big role in the story.  He acted the gentleman for the most part but he was SO addicted to gambling and drinking it was ridiculous.  He was a bit of an ass to Aslyn at times and I didn’t like that at all.

I loved Mick’s brothers and sisters!  I love how they interacted with one another and the genuine love they had for each other – as well as their mother.  Most weren’t blood related but you would never know that from how they acted – I loved it.

The story had a huge twist at the end that I didn’t see coming at all and I loved that it caught me by surprise.  That doesn’t happen very often so I was pleasantly surprised.  I can’t wait to see what Heath will bring us next in this series.

In the end this was a fabulous book and I highly recommend it.

Rating: 5 out of 5

five-stars


Tagged: , , , , , , ,

Review: Gentlemen Prefer Heiresses by Lorraine Heath

Posted September 7, 2017 by Rowena in Reviews | 1 Comment

Review: Gentlemen Prefer Heiresses by Lorraine HeathReviewer: Rowena
Gentlemen Prefer Heiresses (Scandalous Gentlemen of St. James #4.5) by Lorraine Heath
Series: Scandalous Gentlemen of St. James #4.5
Also in this series: An Affair with a Notorious Heiress
Published by Avon Impulse
Publication Date: August 22nd 2017
Genres: Historical Romance
Pages: 112
Amazon | Barnes & Noble | The Ripped Bodice | Google Play Books
Goodreads
four-half-stars

Lord Andrew Mabry, the second son of the Duke of Greystone, has no desire to marry. As the spare, he has no obligation to provide an heir and he rather enjoys spending his days and nights in play with the demimonde. But more and more of late, he finds himself wanting to play naughty games with the American heiress, Gina Hammersley.

After her scandalous older sister marries a marquess, Gina Hammersley suddenly finds herself the darling of London with beaux a plenty calling on her, sending flowers, and filling her dance cards. Unfortunately, the one she desires most is the one who has no wish to be caught in the marriage trap: Lord Andrew Mabry.

But when they are discovered in a compromising situation, this unlikely pair must decide whether to face scandal or discover if the passion they’ve always felt is strong enough to lead them into love.

I was a bit bummed when I found out that Gina and Mabry’s book was a novella and not a full novel. I liked both of these guys in the previous books that they were in and was all for them getting their happily ever after in a full-length story but I went into this story confident that I would love their story whatever way I got it and I wasn’t wrong.

Lorraine Heath writes such great historical romances and it’s no wonder I won’t ever pass up anything she releases.

So Gina and Andrew know each other through their siblings. Gina’s sister married Andrew’s brother. Gina is thrilled for her sister and wants to find what Tillie has for herself. She wants love and the whole nine yards but the guy that she’s interested in has no plans to ever marry so she’s not about to get caught up with Andrew Mabry, no matter how hot he is. Andrew never planned on getting married because he didn’t have to. He’s the spare and now that his brother is married and will probably knock his wife up soon, he really doesn’t have to get married so why should he? He’s free to live the life that he’s always led. A happy and carefree one with no strings attached. He’s annoyed that he can’t seem to stop thinking about Gina Hammersley and wanting her. She was not part of his plans but a future with her is starting to look better and better the more time he spends with her. Too bad he doesn’t have the title she wants in a husband.

These two and their adventures had me laughing and sighing and just enjoying the heck out of reading their story. Lorraine Heath does a great job of stringing the reader along, making them a part of the story and not just a bystander.

Andrew was a great hero who really came to care for Gina and I really enjoyed getting to know him. I loved seeing him try to do right by Gina while at the same time helping her have adventures without getting caught. Gina was a great match for Andrew and I thought that their romance was super sweet without the lengthy drama of a full-length novel. Their chemistry was strong and the writing and pacing was well done and I just enjoyed it all.

I definitely recommend this one.

Grade: 4.5 out of 5

four-half-stars


Tagged: , , , , ,