Author: Lorraine Heath

What Are You Reading? (+ Lorraine Heath Giveaway)

Posted October 12, 2018 by Casee in Features | 19 Comments

WAYR-New

Casee: I have been reading some great books this past week. I’m currently reading Seduction in Session by Shayla Black and Lexi Blake. This is book number two in their Perfect Gentlemen series. Holy crap, this series is so good. The heroes are alpha, the women are strong. Throw in a good mystery on top of that? I’m hooked. There are two more books in the series, with the fifth book coming out next year. I’m going to be traveling today so I know I’ll finish it and move onto Big Easy Temptation, the third book. I can’t wait!

I’ve also been listening to Sarina Bowen’s True North series on audio. I’m currently listening to Bountiful, which is book four of the series and probably the most boring. I had extremely high expectations for this book, but it’s just turned out to be meh. The book isn’t bad, just not what I was hoping for. Only two more books to listen to then I’m going to move on to her Brooklyn Bruisers series.

Holly: I had another slow reading week. I wanted to read, but I didn’t have a lot of time. I listened to Steadfast by Sarina Bowen this week after Casee was talking about it. I love Jude. The narrators were good (it was my first time in audio, though I’ve read it several times). I also listened to If He’s Daring by Hannah Howell. It was just okay. I didn’t love the way things played out in the end, but the romance and overall story line were pretty good.

I reread the last half of Phoenix Unbound by Grace Draven, because I couldn’t stop thinking about it. I’m currently reading Archangel’s Prophecy by Nalini Singh, Shadow and Ice by Gena Showalter and I’m listening to Speakeasy by Sarina Bowen (currently $3.99 for Kindle, and $1.99 for the audio add-on).

Rowena: This week was for reading Shadow and Ice by Gena Showalter so that Casee, Holly and I can review it together and that’s going to be an interesting review because I spent most of the book bored. shrugs After that, I jumped into Phoenix Unbound by Grace Draven and enjoyed that book heaps more than I did Shadow and Ice. Now, I’m finishing up Fireworks by Sarina Bowen, which I’m enjoying a lot before I jump into my book club book, Never Seduce a Scot by Maya Banks. I also hope to finally jump into Kill the Queen by Jennifer Estep. Wish me luck!

Giveaway Alert

We are very fortunate here at Book Binge. We have loads and loads of books to read and we want to share the wealth so each week, we’ll be tacking on a Freebie Friday giveaway to our What Are You Reading posts. This week, we’re giving away…

What Are You Reading? (+ Lorraine Heath Giveaway)When a Duke Loves a Woman (Sins for All Seasons, #2) by Lorraine Heath
Series: Sins for All Seasons #2
Also in this series: Beyond Scandal and Desire, Beyond Scandal and Desire (Sins for All Seasons, #1), When a Duke Loves a Woman, When a Duke Loves a Woman (Sins for All Seasons, #2)
Publisher: Avon
Publication Date: August 21, 2018
Format: Print
Source: Publisher
Point-of-View: Third
Genres: Historical Romance
Pages: 400
Amazon | Barnes & Noble | The Ripped Bodice | Google Play Books
Goodreads

Gillie Trewlove knows what a stranger's kindness can mean, having been abandoned on a doorstep as a baby and raised by the woman who found her there. So, when suddenly faced with a soul in need at her door—or the alleyway by her tavern—Gillie doesn't hesitate. But he's no infant. He's a grievously injured, distractingly handsome gentleman who doesn't belong in Whitechapel, much less recuperating in Gillie's bed.

Being left at the altar is humiliating; being rescued from thugs by a woman—albeit a brave and beautiful one—is the pièce de résistance to the Duke of Thornley's extraordinarily bad day. After nursing him back from the brink, Gillie agrees to help him comb London's darker corners for his wayward bride. But every moment together is edged with desire and has Thorne rethinking his choice of wife. Yet Gillie knows the aristocracy would never accept a duchess born in sin. Thorne, however, is determined to prove to her that no obstacle is insurmountable when a duke loves a woman.

What Are You Reading: When a Duke Loves a Woman

What are you reading this week? Any new favorites or books that drove you crazy? Share!


Tagged: , , , ,

Joint Review: When a Duke Loves a Woman by Lorraine Heath

Posted September 19, 2018 by Rowena in Reviews | 2 Comments

Joint Review: When a Duke Loves a Woman by Lorraine HeathReviewer: Holly & Rowena
When a Duke Loves a Woman (Sins for All Seasons, #2) by Lorraine Heath
Series: Sins for All Seasons #2
Also in this series: Beyond Scandal and Desire, Beyond Scandal and Desire (Sins for All Seasons, #1), When a Duke Loves a Woman
Publisher: Avon
Publication Date: August 21, 2018
Point-of-View: Third
Genres: Historical Romance
Pages: 400
Amazon | Barnes & Noble | The Ripped Bodice | Google Play Books
Goodreads

Gillie Trewlove knows what a stranger's kindness can mean, having been abandoned on a doorstep as a baby and raised by the woman who found her there. So, when suddenly faced with a soul in need at her door—or the alleyway by her tavern—Gillie doesn't hesitate. But he's no infant. He's a grievously injured, distractingly handsome gentleman who doesn't belong in Whitechapel, much less recuperating in Gillie's bed.

Being left at the altar is humiliating; being rescued from thugs by a woman—albeit a brave and beautiful one—is the pièce de résistance to the Duke of Thornley's extraordinarily bad day. After nursing him back from the brink, Gillie agrees to help him comb London's darker corners for his wayward bride. But every moment together is edged with desire and has Thorne rethinking his choice of wife. Yet Gillie knows the aristocracy would never accept a duchess born in sin. Thorne, however, is determined to prove to her that no obstacle is insurmountable when a duke loves a woman.

We were first introduced to the Trewlove family in Beyond Scandal and Desire, book 1 of the Sins for All Seasons series. The six siblings are all bastards who were taken in by a kind woman and raised as siblings. Gillie Trewlove was a total tomboy growing up who eventually opened her own tavern. One night she interrupts a mugging in the alley behind her tavern and saves a man’s life.

Thorne, Duke of Thornley, is in Whitechapel chasing after the woman who left him at the alter when he’s jumped by four thugs. Had he not been in his cups, he may have been able to fight them off. As it is, Gillie runs them off and, thanks to her quick thinking, surely saved him from death. As she nurses him back to health, and later helps him with his search for his errant bride, they become friends. Both would like more, but Gillie is a commoner and he’s a Duke. They realize marriage is not an option for them.

Holly: This is only the second Lorraine Heath book I’ve read (Beyond Scandal and Desire was the first). I really like her writing. She had me wrapped up in the story from page one. Sadly, I had limited reading time so it took me a week to get through it, but it wasn’t because the story was lacking.

What did you think?

Rowena: I adored the book. Lorraine Heath really writes my kind of historical romance and I enjoyed this book just as much as I enjoyed the first book in this series, Beyond Scandal and Desire. Thorne and Gillie were fabulous characters and their romance worked for me. I adored seeing Thorne set roots in Gillie’s life, I enjoyed seeing him get to know her through the people in her life and I enjoyed seeing him get to know Robin as well. Everything just worked for me.

What about you? What did you think?

Holly: I really liked both Thorne and Gillie. Together and on their own. Every single time Thorne pitched in to help Gillie my heart melted a little. I loved how accepting and supportive of her he was. He told her multiple times she didn’t need to change for him, and he proved he meant it. I loved that. I also loved how capable Gillie was. It was a nice switch that Thorne needed her help, and not the other way around.

Rowena: I also really loved how patient Thorne was with Gillie. He wanted her, but he waited until she was ready to take their relationship to the next level. All of the times that they relaxed together and made out like teenagers after they closed the tavern together was so cute to me.

Holly: I loved how patient Thorne was with her. Patient isn’t even the right word. It’s not like he expected she’d let him into her bed and was being patient. He just enjoyed being with her and taking it slow. You know what I mean?

Rowena: The romance was sweet and I was on board from the moment Gillie took Thorne into her apartment to nurse him back to health. I laughed out loud when she turned the nurse away and was mad at herself for doing it. There were so many moments in this book that just melted me a little and I just liked the entire book. I loved seeing Gillie’s family though I wish we got a little more Fancy and Ettie. There wasn’t enough of them to suit me but still, I really loved when Gillie’s brothers tried to step up for her. Her brothers are such winners. 🙂

Holly: Their romance was great. It was just so fabulous how accepting he was of her. I smiled when he gave her his jacket at the ball, and stood up for her to others.

Rowena: Yes, I loved that he wanted to take care of her. I loved that she didn’t have to change one bit for him to fall in love with her. He fell in love with Gillie as she was and that made me happy. So as you can see, this book is going to get a good grade from me because it wasn’t just Thorne that accepted and loved Gillie as she was. Her entire family loved and supported her and that was great. Her talk with Mick and him making sure she understood that there was nothing she could do that would make him turn his back on her just melted me.

Holly: I loved that Gillie was capable of taking care of herself, yet she made herself vulnerable to him.

Rowena: Did you want to know who Gillie’s real parents were?

Holly: I kind of did, but honestly, I was hoping we wouldn’t find out. I was afraid it would be a case of Gillie learning she was some aristocrat’s by-blow and that making her “acceptable” for marriage to a Duke. I was really happy when that didn’t end up being the case.

Rowena: Yes! That’s exactly how I felt. The more accepting Thorne was with Gillie and who she was, I didn’t want to know that Gillie was actually a Princess and finally an acceptable Duchess for Thorne. I loved that she was acceptable to him no matter what. I think that’s why I am loving this series. The characters know their duty and yet, they follow their hearts anyway.
Holly: I loved it when Thorne called Gillie Princess and, at first, she got all angry, thinking he was mocking her. Then she realized he meant it. Sniffle.

Rowena: I can’t wait for Finn’s book. I can’t wait to find out where Livinia’s been this whole time. I can’t wait for Finn to see her again after all of these years and I’m so here for all of the angst that their romance is going to bring.

Holly: I won’t lie, the Dowager Duchess kind of made the book for me. I was loving it anyway, but toward the end? She totally upped my enjoyment.

Rowena: Thorne and Olivia’s book was a wonderfully romantic historical that I couldn’t get enough of. Their love for each other was sweet and I loved that no matter how much it hurt her, Gillie helped Thorne any way that she could to find Livinia. I also loved that she never gave up on finding the timepiece that was so important to Thorne. I loved that Thorne showed up every night to be there for Gillie, no matter what his duties were. They were a great team and their story warmed my heart. I have fallen in love with all of the characters that Lorraine Heath has introduced us to in this world and I’m super anxious for more. I give this one a 4.5 out of 5.

Holly: This was a really great romance. I sighed, I laughed, my heart got all melty…it had it all. I really loved how Thorne fit himself into Gillie’s life. I loved how independent Gillie was, without being ridiculously stubborn about it. I loved how Thorne accepted her for who she was, without hoping she’d change a bit.

I did struggle a bit to get into the book. I’m not sure if it was the book itself, or just that I kept coming at it in bits, and therefore wasn’t able to focus. I also got somewhat impatient to see how it would end. So I’m giving a 4.25 out of 5. I really loved the romance, but some bits pulled it down for me.

Holly’s Grade: 4.25 out of 5
Rowena’s Grade: 4.5 out of 5

Sins for All Seasons


Tagged: , , , , , , , , , ,

Sunday Spotlight: When a Duke Loves a Woman by Lorraine Heath

Posted August 26, 2018 by Rowena in Features | 8 Comments

Sunday Spotlight is a feature we began in 2016. This year we’re spotlighting our favorite books, old and new. We’ll be raving about the books we love and being total fangirls. You’ve been warned. 🙂

Sunday Spotlight

I’m super excited about the release of this book so I’m thrilled to be featuring the second book in Lorraine Heath’s Sins for All Seasons series, When a Duke Loves a Woman. We’re finally getting Gillie’s book and we’re going to see her do awesome things. I can’t wait!

Sunday Spotlight: When a Duke Loves a Woman by Lorraine HeathWhen a Duke Loves a Woman (Sins for All Seasons, #2) by Lorraine Heath
Series: Sins for All Seasons #2
Also in this series: Beyond Scandal and Desire, Beyond Scandal and Desire (Sins for All Seasons, #1), When a Duke Loves a Woman, When a Duke Loves a Woman (Sins for All Seasons, #2)
Publisher: Avon
Publication Date: August 21, 2018
Point-of-View: Third
Genres: Historical Romance
Pages: 400
Amazon | Barnes & Noble | The Ripped Bodice | Google Play Books
Goodreads

Gillie Trewlove knows what a stranger's kindness can mean, having been abandoned on a doorstep as a baby and raised by the woman who found her there. So, when suddenly faced with a soul in need at her door—or the alleyway by her tavern—Gillie doesn't hesitate. But he's no infant. He's a grievously injured, distractingly handsome gentleman who doesn't belong in Whitechapel, much less recuperating in Gillie's bed.

Being left at the altar is humiliating; being rescued from thugs by a woman—albeit a brave and beautiful one—is the pièce de résistance to the Duke of Thornley's extraordinarily bad day. After nursing him back from the brink, Gillie agrees to help him comb London's darker corners for his wayward bride. But every moment together is edged with desire and has Thorne rethinking his choice of wife. Yet Gillie knows the aristocracy would never accept a duchess born in sin. Thorne, however, is determined to prove to her that no obstacle is insurmountable when a duke loves a woman.

Order the Book:

AMAZON || BARNES AND NOBLE || KOBO

Excerpt

“What are you doing?”

“As I intend to be here through the night, I decided to get comfortable.”

The slow unknotting and unwinding of his neck cloth was next. Then he began rolling up the sleeves of his shirt. She’d seen him naked. Why was it the baring of only his forearms was so much more provocative?

Loosening the top two buttons of his shirt, he returned to the bed, sat on its edge, and reached for the tray, picking up a cloth she hadn’t noticed.

“You’re not going to wash me.”

He arched a brow at her. “Do you really want to engage in a battle you can’t possibly win?”

“You shouldn’t assume just because I’m a woman that I would lose.”

“I’m not assuming that at all,” he said, his voice low and raspy, sending warm tingles along her spine even as she recognized the threat of a challenge when it was being delivered. He leaned in until she could almost see her reflection in his dark eyes. “But I am assuming, as much as you pretend otherwise, that there is a measure of feminine vanity in you and you will be in want of a clean face when I kiss you.”

Sins for All Seasons

Giveaway Alert

We’re giving one lucky winner their choice of one of our Sunday Spotlight books. Use the Rafflecopter widget below to enter for one of this month’s features.

Sunday Spotlight: August 2018

Are you as excited for this release as we are? Let us know how excited you are and what other books you’re looking forward to this year!

About the Author

Lorraine Heath

WEBSITE | TWITTER | FACEBOOK | INSTAGRAM | GOODREADS

Lorraine Heath has always had a soft spot for emotional love stories. No doubt because growing up, watching movies with her mom, she was taught that the best movies “won’t half make you cry.”

She is the daughter of a British beauty (her mom won second place in a beauty contest sponsored by Max Factor® during which she received a kiss from Caesar Romero–Joker on the original Batman TV series) and a Texan who was stationed at Bovingdon while serving in the air force. Lorraine was born in Watford, Hertfordshire, England, but soon after moved to Texas. Her “dual” nationality has given her a love for all things British and Texan, and she enjoys weaving both heritages through her stories.

When she received her BA degree in psychology from the University of Texas, she had no idea she had gained a foundation that would help her to create believable characters—characters that are often described as “real people.” Her novels have appeared on bestseller lists, including USA Today, Waldenbooks, and most recently, the New York Times.


Tagged: , , , ,

Guest Review: When a Duke Loves a Woman by Lorraine Heath

Posted August 21, 2018 by Tracy in Reviews | 3 Comments

Guest Review: When a Duke Loves a Woman by Lorraine HeathReviewer: Tracy
When a Duke Loves a Woman by Lorraine Heath
Series: Sins for All Seasons #2
Also in this series: Beyond Scandal and Desire, Beyond Scandal and Desire (Sins for All Seasons, #1), When a Duke Loves a Woman (Sins for All Seasons, #2)
Publisher: Avon
Publication Date: August 21, 2018
Format: eARC
Point-of-View: Third
Genres: Historical Romance
Pages: 400
Amazon | Barnes & Noble | The Ripped Bodice | Google Play Books
Goodreads
five-stars

Gillie Trewlove knows what a stranger's kindness can mean, having been abandoned on a doorstep as a baby and raised by the woman who found her there. So, when suddenly faced with a soul in need at her door—or the alleyway by her tavern—Gillie doesn't hesitate. But he's no infant. He's a grievously injured, distractingly handsome gentleman who doesn't belong in Whitechapel, much less recuperating in Gillie's bed.

Being left at the altar is humiliating; being rescued from thugs by a woman—albeit a brave and beautiful one—is the pièce de résistance to the Duke of Thornley's extraordinarily bad day. After nursing him back from the brink, Gillie agrees to help him comb London's darker corners for his wayward bride. But every moment together is edged with desire and has Thorne rethinking his choice of wife. Yet Gillie knows the aristocracy would never accept a duchess born in sin. Thorne, however, is determined to prove to her that no obstacle is insurmountable when a duke loves a woman.

Gillie Trewlove is a tavern owner in Whitechapel with no plans to ever marry.  She loves her tavern and she knows if she got married it would be handed over to her husband. Not happening.  One night she’s taking out the trash in the back alley and comes across a man being robbed and assaulted. She scares off the attackers but the man is in no shape to be moved.  She calls for a physician and takes the man to her flat above the tavern.  She tries everything she can to talk the doctor into letting her put the man in a cab to cart him away, but the doctor says he can’t be moved.  Despite Gillie’s misgivings of having a man in her sacred space she finds that she enjoys taking care of him.  When he wakes up the two talk and find that they like each other a great deal.  A bond is formed while the man, who identifies himself as Thorne, is recovering and Gillie finds herself attracted to him in a way that she’s never been attracted to a man before.

Thorne was left at the altar the morning he was attacked.  He was told that his bride, when she ran, took a cab to Whitechapel.  He was there trying to find her but was also drowning his sorrows along the way – that’s why the ruffians got the better of him in the alley. While he hated being left at the altar he wasn’t in love with his bride-to-be, it was a marriage contract made when she was born.  That doesn’t mean that Thorne doesn’t want to find her to find out what the heck happened.

Once Thorne is recovered Gillie sends him on his way never expecting to see him again. She’s surprised when he returns to her tavern the next night and shocked when he identifies himself as Antony Coventry, the ninth Duke of Thornley.  Thorne keeps returning to the tavern and the two build a friendship but there’s something always underneath it – attraction and admiration. Gillie starts to help Thorne look for his runaway bride and this forces them to spend more time together.  After a while they can’t deny their attraction to each other any longer and end up in bed.  Gillie knows that she can never be with Thorne permanently and she refuses to be his mistress, which he wouldn’t want anyway.  Thorne loves Gillie but he made a promise years ago to his dying father that he would marry and add land to the dukedom.  Both want what they can never have.

Ok, I wasn’t all that thrilled with Gillie’s character in the previous book so I truly didn’t know what to expect when I started WaDLaW.  I’m happy to say that I was pleasantly surprised.  I absolutely loved Gillie in this book!  She was strong and independent, yes, but she was also a woman who could be vulnerable and hurt.  She tried to hide that fact but it came out.  She was also an amazingly giving person.  She would walk through Whitechapel and give out wooden coins to those who she thought needed it which they could trade for soup if they came to her tavern. But she also said she’d never turn anyone away who was hungry – even if they didn’t have a wooden coin.  I loved that! I loved that this career-minded woman was also open-hearted and thoughtful.

Thorne was a good guy and perfect for Gillie, imho.  He was aware of his own responsibilities and didn’t shirk them, but he always made time to be with Gillie even if that included serving pints in her tavern and cleaning up after closing.  The relationship between the two was so strong but I honestly couldn’t see how Heath was going to get them together.  I’m happy to say that she gave me a wonderful HEA that was completely believable!

I definitely recommend this book.  I’ve only had 3 5-star reads in 2018 so far and two of them were the books in this series – what does that tell you?

Rating: 5 out of 5

Sins for All Seasons

five-stars


Tagged: , , , , , , ,

What Are You Reading? (+ Historical Giveaway)

Posted June 15, 2018 by Holly in Features | 12 Comments

WAYR-New

Casee: I haven’t read a word since I finished Ocean Light a few days ago. I am so relieved that I finished that book. Which upsets me because it’s Nalini Singh. I’m heading back to the world of the Dark Protectors. I have Consumed by Rebecca Zanetti waiting for me. I can’t wait to start it.

Holly: I’m still finishing my Kate Daniels re-read. This week I read Magic Rises, Dabwaha, Curran Twitter (free), Magic Steals, Magic Breaks, Magic Shifts, Magic Stars, and I just started Iron and Magic. Magic Binds is up next.

I also read Hot Single Dad and Her Best Friend by Claire Kingsley (Free if you subscribe to her newsletter). Her Best Friend is a short story that follows Hot Single Dad and features the kids of the h/h. I really liked both stories. They were cute.

I’m going to start The Kiss Quotient today. Rowena has been raving about it.

Rowena: It’s been a great reading week for me and I’m still going strong so that makes me one happy camper. I’ve had too many suck reading weeks lately so this is a welcome change. I started the week off finishing up Always Never Yours by Emily Wibberley & Austin Siegemund-Broka. It was a cute story but ran a little on the slow side. It felt like I was waiting too long for something to happen but I’m glad that I finished it because it did end up being cute and I adored the love interest. After that, Holly and I were talking about single dads and looking for books featuring them and came across Hot Single Dad by Claire Kingsley so I read that. It was super cute so after I read that, I read Her Best Friend by Claire Kingsley, which was the kid from Hot Single Dad’s story and that was super cute too.

Right now, I’m reading The Kiss Quotient by Helen Hoang and everything that I’ve read so far online has been true for me too. This book is awesome and I’m so looking forward to lunchtime so that I can finish it. I really want a Michael Phan. He’s so yummy. After this book, I’ll be jumping into a quick re-read of Burn for Me by Ilona Andrews for book club and then after that, I’ll be reading Ocean Light by Nalini Singh.

Giveaway Alert

We are very fortunate here at Book Binge. We have loads and loads of books to read and we want to share the wealth so each week, we’ll be tacking on a Freebie Friday giveaway to our What Are You Reading posts. This week, we’re giving away…

What Are You Reading? (+ Historical Giveaway)Beyond Scandal and Desire (Sins for All Seasons, #1) by Lorraine Heath
Series: Sins for All Seasons #1
Also in this series: Beyond Scandal and Desire, Beyond Scandal and Desire (Sins for All Seasons, #1), When a Duke Loves a Woman, When a Duke Loves a Woman (Sins for All Seasons, #2)
Publisher: Avon
Publication Date: January 30, 2018
Point-of-View: Third
Genres: Historical Romance
Pages: 384
Amazon | Barnes & Noble | The Ripped Bodice | Google Play Books
Goodreads

At birth, Mick Trewlove, the illegitimate son of a duke, was handed over to a commoner. Despite his lowly upbringing, Mick has become a successful businessman, but all his wealth hasn’t satisfied his need for revenge against the man who still won’t acknowledge him. What else can Mick do but destroy the duke’s legitimate son—and woo the heir’s betrothed into his own unloving arms . . .

Orphaned and sheltered, Lady Aslyn Hastings longs for a bit of adventure. With her intended often preoccupied, Aslyn finds herself drawn to a darkly handsome entrepreneur who seems to understand her so well. Surely a lady of her station should avoid Mick Trewlove. If only he weren’t so irresistible . . .

As secrets are about to be exposed, Mick must decide if his plan for vengeance is worth risking what his heart truly desires.

What Are You Reading: Beyond Scandal and Desire

What are you reading this week? Any new favorites or books that drove you crazy? Share!


Tagged: , , ,