Author: Loretta Chase

Guest Review: A Duke in Shining Armor by Loretta Chase

Posted December 13, 2017 by Tracy in Reviews | 1 Comment

Guest Review: A Duke in Shining Armor by Loretta ChaseReviewer: Tracy
A Duke in Shining Armor by Loretta Chase
Series: Difficult Dukes #1
Also in this series: A Duke in Shining Armor (Difficult Dukes, #1)
Published by Avon
Publication Date: November 28th 2017
Genres: Historical Romance
Pages: 400
Buy on Amazon | Barnes & Noble
Goodreads
five-stars

Not all dukes are created equal. Most are upstanding members of Society. And then there’s the trio known as Their Dis-Graces.

Hugh Philemon Ancaster, seventh Duke of Ripley, will never win prizes for virtue. But even he draws the line at running off with his best friend’s bride. All he’s trying to do is recapture the slightly inebriated Lady Olympia Hightower and return her to her intended bridegroom.

For reasons that elude her, bookish, bespectacled Olympia is supposed to marry a gorgeous rake of a duke. The ton is flabbergasted. Her family’s ecstatic. And Olympia? She’s climbing out of a window, bent on a getaway. But tall, dark, and exasperating Ripley is hot on her trail, determined to bring her back to his friend. For once, the world-famous hellion is trying to do the honorable thing.

So why does Olympia have to make it so deliciously difficult for him . . . ?

Olympia is a girl who should be quite happy to be marrying a duke.  She knows that she needs to do this because her parents have no idea how to handle money and she wants to make sure that her 5 brothers are cared for.  Unfortunately, on her wedding day, the more she thinks about marrying the Duke of  Ashmont the more she realizes she just can’t do.  Olympia, the bookish girl who nobody thinks will step out of line, does a runner.

The Duke of Ripley, on of the Duke of Ashmont’s best friends, sees Olympia run for it and follows.  He tries to get her to return to her wedding but the farther away they get the more Ripley realizes that he doesn’t want her to return.  He wants her for himself but he knows he can’t betray his best friend like that.  He and Ashmont have been best friends for years and Ripley’s loyal to him.  So how come he can’t get Olympia out of his head.

Loretta Chase does it again!  She’s written a fun, entertaining, humorous romance with a premise I never expected.  The charm that Chase stuffed into ADiSA was amazing.  I was smiling or laughing throughout most of the story and I loved it.

Both Ripley and Olympia were great characters and I loved them together.  I loved that Olympia wasn’t afraid to speak her mind about Their Dis-graces (Ripley, Ashmont and their friend the Duke of Blackwood) and her disdain for them.  Of course the more that Olympia got to know Ripley she realized that there wasn’t just fluff in his head.  She truly didn’t want to hurt Ashmont but she felt he was immature enough to get over it quickly. Lol  Of course Chase wrote some incredible secondary characters as well with Blackwood, Ashmont, and Ripley’s aunt Julia.

The overall story is one that I loved and highly recommend.  If you like fun, irreverent historical romances then this is one you should definitely read.

Rating: 5 out of 5

five-stars


Tagged: , , , , , , ,

Review: A Duke in Shining Armor by Loretta Chase

Posted November 30, 2017 by Rowena in Reviews | 5 Comments

Review: A Duke in Shining Armor by Loretta ChaseReviewer: Rowena
A Duke in Shining Armor (Difficult Dukes, #1) by Loretta Chase
Series: Difficult Dukes #1
Also in this series: A Duke in Shining Armor
Published by Avon
Publication Date: November 28th 2017
Genres: Historical Romance
Pages: 400
Buy on Amazon | Barnes & Noble
Goodreads
four-stars

Not all dukes are created equal. Most are upstanding members of Society. And then there’s the trio known as Their Dis-Graces.

Hugh Philemon Ancaster, seventh Duke of Ripley, will never win prizes for virtue. But even he draws the line at running off with his best friend’s bride. All he’s trying to do is recapture the slightly inebriated Lady Olympia Hightower and return her to her intended bridegroom.

For reasons that elude her, bookish, bespectacled Olympia is supposed to marry a gorgeous rake of a duke. The ton is flabbergasted. Her family’s ecstatic. And Olympia? She’s climbing out of a window, bent on a getaway. But tall, dark, and exasperating Ripley is hot on her trail, determined to bring her back to his friend. For once, the world-famous hellion is trying to do the honorable thing.

So why does Olympia have to make it so deliciously difficult for him . . . ?

A Duke in Shining Armor is the first book in Loretta Chase’s new Difficult Dukes series. It follows runaway bride, Lady Ophelia Hightower as she runs from one wedding and finds herself heading toward a new one with her ex-fiance’s best friend.

The day of her wedding to the Duke of Ashmont, she panics and flees the scene only to be chased down by the best man, Hugh Philemon, the Duke of Ripley. Ripley has always known that Ophelia is not for him. She was everything that was good in the world while he was a Dis-Grace. Now she’s engaged to his best friend and he’s trying his best to keep her in sight so that he can return her to his friend, only she doesn’t want to be returned. No matter how hard he tries, shit keeps happening and his hold on her and his sanity is rapidly disappearing and feelings are creeping up and keeping his distance from her is proving difficult as is staying un-injured.

What an adventure this story was! Loretta Chase pens another wonderfully charming romance between two people who begin a journey to one place and end up in a totally different place…in love with each other.

Ophelia was a riot. I completely adored her personality and how she was so adamant that she was a boring person who was sensible and didn’t do outrageous things and yet every single turn her journey took, she was in one pickle after another. I loved how fiercely she loved her family even though they worked her nerves and the responsibility she felt toward them was understandable. I loved seeing her life spin out of control and watching her fumble her way around until she made sense of her feelings, her future, and her heart. She was a great character and a strong heroine and I seriously loved the romance between her and Ripley.

Ripley, oh Ripley. I loved him. I thought he was so much fun and when he finally jumps all in with Ophelia and is like, “Fuck it. Let’s do this. I’ll handle Ashmont.” I about swooned with delight because gah…they were perfect for each other. Ripley and Ophelia’s bickering kept me mighty entertained and I just could not imagine either of them with other people. There were times when I wanted to wring both of their necks but for the most part, I just flat out liked them.

I’m mighty curious about who is next. I’m not thinking Ashmont since he has a lot of growing up to do and I confess that I’m much more intrigued with Alice and Blackwood. What is their deal? Where the heck is Alice?

Overall, this was a delightful romance with characters that won me the hell over and the book left me wanting more from this world. I can’t wait for the next one. Ripley and Ophelia were an awesome couple that kept the laughs coming and really, you won’t want to miss this one. It’s good.

Grade: 4.25 out of 5

four-stars


Tagged: , , , , , , ,

Review: Dukes Prefer Blondes by Loretta Chase

Posted January 14, 2016 by Rowena in Reviews | 0 Comments

Review: Dukes Prefer Blondes by Loretta ChaseReviewer: Rowena
Dukes Prefer Blondes by Loretta Chase
Published by Avon
Publication Date: December 29th 2015
Pages: 384
Buy on Amazon | Barnes & Noble
Goodreads
four-half-stars

Biweekly marriage proposals from men who can't see beyond her (admittedly breathtaking) looks are starting to get on Lady Clara Fairfax's nerves. Desperate to be something more than ornamental, she escapes to her favorite charity. When a child is in trouble, she turns to tall, dark, and annoying barrister Oliver Radford.

Though he's unexpectedly found himself in line to inherit a dukedom, Radford's never been part of fashionable society, and the blonde beauty, though not entirely bereft of brains, isn't part of his plans. But Clara overwhelms even his infallible logic, and when wedlock looms, all he can do is try not to lose his head over her . . .

It's an inconvenient marriage by ordinary standards, but these two are far from ordinary. Can the ton's most adored heiress and London's most difficult bachelor fall victim to their own unruly desires?

I loved the other books in this series so I was really looking forward to this one and I was not disappointed one bit.

Lady Clara is finally getting her happy ending and I couldn’t be more excited for her. I liked seeing her blossom over the course of the series and I thought her book fit her personality well. I laughed a lot while reading this book and it reminded me of how I was when reading Lord of Scoundrels way back in the day.

The humor in this book is really dry but it completely worked for me. I guess because I worked with a lot of really smart guys who had no filter and spoke their minds, no matter how mean or obnoxious they sounded that Raven’s personality won me over. I read a couple of reviews before reading the book and thought that I would have a little trouble getting into the book but that didn’t happen at all.

Lady Clara is swayed into helping a young woman find her younger brother and save him from the gang life (I almost typed out thug life) but being a Lady of aristocratic birth, there’s not much she could do to help so she hires Oliver, one of the best barristers in England to help her. She remembers Oliver from her childhood and he remembers her. Lots of years have passed but their interaction at Lady Clara’s house when they were kids is pretty memorable so their shared history intrigues Oliver into helping Clara find young Toby and save him from the gang life.

The sparks that fly between Oliver and Lady Clara was great. I loved seeing them battle wits, loved seeing them argue over anything and everything under the sun. I loved how Lady Clara kept surprising Oliver at every turn and I loved that Lady Clara didn’t back down or hide her intelligence from Oliver. They really came together and ended up being a really strong unit.

There were some parts in the story that I thought dragged but for the most part, the story itself was entertaining. The romance won me over and while I would have liked more from the recurring characters, I didn’t feel like we missed out much not having the gang in the book more. Loretta Chase wrote a fantastic historical romance with great characters, witty banter and a story line that kept me invested throughout the entire story so I don’t have much to complain about. I definitely recommend this one.

Grade: 4.5 out of 5

Reading Order:

Silk is for Seduction
Scandal Wears Satin
Vixen in Velvet
Dukes Prefer Blondes

four-half-stars


Tagged: , , , , , , ,

Guest Review: Dukes Prefer Blondes by Loretta Chase

Posted December 30, 2015 by Tracy in Reviews | 3 Comments

Guest Review: Dukes Prefer Blondes by Loretta ChaseReviewer: Tracy
Dukes Prefer Blondes by Loretta Chase
Series: The Dressmakers series #4

Publication Date: December 29, 2015
Buy on Amazon | Barnes & Noble
Goodreads
five-stars

Biweekly marriage proposals from men who can't see beyond her (admittedly breathtaking) looks are starting to get on Lady Clara Fairfax's nerves. Desperate to be something more than ornamental, she escapes to her favorite charity. When a child is in trouble, she turns to tall, dark, and annoying barrister Oliver Radford.

Though he's unexpectedly found himself in line to inherit a dukedom, Radford's never been part of fashionable society, and the blonde beauty, though not entirely bereft of brains, isn't part of his plans. But Clara overwhelms even his infallible logic, and when wedlock looms, all he can do is try not to lose his head over her.

It's an inconvenient marriage by ordinary standards, but these two are far from ordinary. Can the ton's most adored heiress and London's most difficult bachelor fall victim to their own unruly desires?

Clara is a beautiful woman and the daughter of an earl who was raised to marry a duke. Her mother will settle for no less! Clara almost married a duke at one time but now she’s glad she didn’t as she just didn’t feel for him what she felt she should. Clara is involved in the Milliners’ Society for the Education of Indigent Females and one of the girls there, Bridget, seeks Clara’s help as her brother has gone missing and she fears that he’s been taken into a street gang. Clara takes it upon herself to seek assistance from a barrister that is known for helping paupers. It turns out that Clara kind of, sort of knows the barrister, Raven Radford, from when she was just a child. Raven, despite his better judgment, decides to help Clara and in ensuing events starts to fall for her. Unfortunately her mother and father won’t agree to the match and Raven and Clara have to fight her parents to be together.

This is one of my favorite books of the year. There are those times when the characters, the story, the humor, the romance in a book…everything just falls into place for the reader and it’s magic. This happened for me with Dukes Prefer Blondes and I just can’t say how much I enjoyed reading it.

Raven Radford was a surly yet highly intelligent man who had no time or patience for those who couldn’t use their brains. He was an advocate for those of the lower class and I loved that about him. He was determined to put away thieves and gang leaders and he had made a good dent in them during his career. He loved Clara’s brain as much as he loved her beauty and I adored that about him. He was a hard man to get along with but he softened when Clara was around and would do just about anything for her- sometimes against his better judgment.

Clara was a bright woman. She was enthralled with Raven as he was a fine looking man, but she was also fascinated by his big brain. He makes her think and recognizes her intelligence. Since everyone else thinks she’s a vapid woman it’s definitely an allure for her. I loved the banter that Clara and Raven shot back at each other. SO entertaining! I especially loved it when she would throw his own words back at him – he didn’t think it was so great but still loved that she remembered what he’d said.

Overall this was a wonderful book that I can’t say enough good things about. I know that some people won’t enjoy the very dry humor of Clara and Raven but if that’s your thing then you will love this one as much as I did.

Rating: 5 out of 5

five-stars


Tagged: , , , , , , ,

Review: Don’t Tempt Me by Loretta Chase

Posted August 25, 2009 by Holly in Reviews | 6 Comments

Review: Don’t Tempt Me by Loretta ChaseReviewer: Holly
Don't Tempt Me by Loretta Chase
Series: Fallen Women #2
Also in this series: Your Scandalous Ways
Published by Harper Collins
Publication Date: June 30th 2009
Pages: 384
Buy on Amazon | Barnes & Noble
Goodreads
three-half-stars

Spunky English girl overcomes impossible odds and outsmarts heathen villains.
That's the headline when Zoe Lexham returns to England. After twelve years in the exotic east, she's shockingly adept in the sensual arts. She knows everything a young lady shouldn't and nothing she ought to know. She's a walking scandal, with no hope of a future . . . unless someone can civilize her.
Lucien de Grey, the Duke of Marchmont, is no knight in shining armor. He's cynical, easily bored, and dangerous to women. He charms, seduces, and leaves them—with parting gifts of expensive jewelry to dry their tears. But good looks, combined with money and rank, makes him welcome everywhere. The most popular bachelor in the Beau Monde can easily save Zoe's risqué reputation . . . if the wayward beauty doesn't lead him into temptation, and a passion that could ruin them both.

 

For some reason, books by Loretta Chase are really hard for me to review. I don’t know why that is, exactly, but I’ve had this one sitting here for a month and haven’t been able to finish it. Instead of slaving over it anymore, I’m just going ramble on and see what happens.

One of the things Chase does extremely well is dialogue. There is always excellent dialogue between her characters. Not just between Zoe and Marchmont in this case, but also between Zoe and her maid, her sisters and her father, plus Marchmont with his friends and the members of Zoe’s family. Their quick-witted banter often saved this from becoming long or drawn out.

I really adored Zoe. She was a no-nonsense girl who had grown up in an unconventional world. As a result she isn’t afraid to stand up for what she wants or speak her mind. As this is a historical novel, that was rather refreshing. Even more so since Marchmont didn’t know what to do with her half the time; generally he struggled between wanting to kiss her and wanting to kill her.

Marchmont was harder to pin down. I think the problem with him is that he was a study in contradictions. In the beginninng we’e led to believe he’s a lost, tortured soul. But as the novel progresses he seems more lazy and indolent than anything else. Toward the end Chase tried to bring him back to the darkness of the beginning, but it fell kind of flat for me.

That isn’t to say I didn’t like him. Because I did. Quite a bit, actually. He was sweet and sensitive, and the way he couldn’t resist Zoe was priceless. I just didn’t buy that he was a dark, tortured soul in need of saving. More one who needed to grow up and accept responsibility for his actions.

In that I think Zoe and Marchmont really complimented each other. She was able to give him the push he needed to stand up and do the right thing and he was able to support her and show her that she was safe. I really loved their chemistry and how well they fit together – both in the bedroom and out of it.

The secondary characters really added extra flavor to the story. Zoe’s sisters especially cracked me up. I wouldn’t have wanted to live with them, but reading about their hysterics and theatrics was priceless.

The mystery angle that popped up toward the end just seemed like filler. I honestly don’t think it served a purpose other than adding more conflict to Zoe and Marchmont’s relationship and forcing him to grow up a bit. Otherwise it seemed more over the top than anything. (Though I will say that bathtub scene toward the end really got me.)

Overall I enjoyed the witty banter and sweetness of Zoe and Marchmont’s relationship, though this wasn’t the best Chase has to offer.

3.5 out of 5

This book is available from Avon. You can buy it here or here in e-format.

three-half-stars


Tagged: , , , , , ,